Search Results: MCHLine

Items in this list may be obtained from the sources cited. Contact information reflects the most current data about the source that has been provided to the MCH Digital Library.

Displaying records 1 through 20 (45 total).

National Center on Early Childhood Health and Wellness. 2025. Head Start oral health forms. [Elk Grove Village, IL]: National Center on Early Childhood Health and Wellness, 3 items.

Annotation: These forms are designed for oral health professionals to record key information from dental visits with children and pregnant women enrolled in Head Start. The forms include space to record dental home status, oral health status, and what oral health care services were delivered during the dental visit (e.g., diagnostic and preventive, counseling, restorative and emergency, referral to a specialist for care). The forms also serve as records of what oral health care services are needed and of information to share with others. They re available in English and Spanish.

Contact: National Center on Early Childhood Health and Wellness, American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (888) 227-5125 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://headstart.gov/about-us/article/national-center-health-behavioral-health-safety-nchbhs Available from the website.

Keywords: Spanish language materials, Children, Forms, Head Start, Oral health, Patient care management, Pregnant women, Screening

Holt K, Kolo S, Louie R. 2025. Title V national performance measure on preventive dental visit: Strategies for success. Washington, DC: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, 23 pp.

Annotation: This practice guide provides information to help state Title V maternal and child health programs in their implementation of the national performance measure on preventive dental visit. It also provides sample evidence-based or evidence-informed strategy measures (ESMs), possible data sources for ESMs, and a list of resources. Programs can also use this information to assist in the implementation of oral-health-related state performance measures. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Oral health, Pregnant women, Prevention, Quality improvement, State programs, Telehealth, Title V programs

American Academy of Pediatrics, Silver Diamine Fluoride Work Group. [2024]. AAP guidance brief: SDF application in the pediatric medical setting. Itasca, IL: American Academy of Pediatrics, 4 pp.

Annotation: This guidance brief provides American Academy of Pediatrics members and other primary care health professionals with steps to determine a child's eligibility for tooth decay management with silver diamine fluoride (SDF) in the medical setting. Topic include why children need treatment in the pediatric medical home, advantages and disadvantages of SDF, contraindications to SDF, shared decision-making, referral, and follow up. An SDF-options diagram is included, along with steps for applying SDF.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Dental caries, Oral health, Primary care, Referrals, Silver diamine fluoride, Treatment

Herndon J, Ojha D, Layman S, Colangelo E, Shimpi N, Aravamudhan K. 2024. Selected quality measures of oral health care for children. Chicago, IL: Dental Quality Alliance; Washington, DC: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, 6 pp.

Annotation: This brief provides a national summary of selected oral health care quality measures for children developed by the Dental Quality Alliance (DQA) and displayed in DQA's State Oral Healthcare Quality Dashboard. The brief offers information on the following selected measures: Oral Evaluation, Dental Services (by or under the supervision of a dentist); Topical Fluoride for Children; and Sealant Receipt on Permanent First Molars. Data is presented on these three measures for the period 2016–2020.

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Data, Dental sealants, Fluoride, Health care utilization, Medical evaluation, Oral health

Dental Quality Alliance. 2023. User guide for pediatric measures calculated using administrative claims data. Chicago, IL: American Dental Association on behalf of the Dental Quality Alliance, 55 pp.

Annotation: This guide provides information about pediatric measures designed for use by public programs (e.g., Medicaid, Children's Health Insurance Program), state marketplaces, dental benefits administrators, and managed care organizations and developed by the Dental Quality Alliance. The guide provides background and discusses measure-implementation considerations; data collection, preparation, and reporting measures implemented using administrative enrollment and claims/encounter data; and measure-score interpretation relative to overall utilization. Frequently asked questions are also addressed.

Contact: American Dental Association, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Fax: (312) 440-7494 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ada.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Child health, Data collection, Oral health, Quality improvement, Surveillance

Davis M, Holt K, Kolo S. 2022. Title V national performance measure 13 (oral health): Fiscal Year 2021 snapshot. Washington, DC: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, 30 pp.

Annotation: This report offers a snapshot of states’ experiences with implementing strategies to address NPM 13. It presents challenges, lessons learned, and accomplishments in promoting preventive dental visits for pregnant women and children and adolescents, ages 1 through 17. The report introduces the topic and provides background; presents information about the Title V Maternal and Child Health Services Block Grant Program; and discusses methods, limitations, results, and next steps for states.

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Dental care, Oral health, Pregnant women, Prevention, State information

Midwest Network for Oral Health Integration. 2022. Midwest Network for Oral Health Integration (MNOHI): Instructions for accessing the MNOHI training modules. [Lansing, MI]: Midwest Network for Oral Health Integration, 1 p.

Annotation: These instructions explain how to access two online trainings: Oral Health in the Well Child Visit and Condensed Smiles for Life: National Oral Health Curriculum, modules 2 and 6, intended for use by the Midwest Network for Oral Health Integration project, part of the federally funded Networks for Oral Health Integration (NOHI) Within the Maternal and Child Health Safety Net program. The well child training focuses on five clinical competencies for children ages 6–11. The Smiles for Life: National Oral Health Curriculum modules focus on child oral health, caries risk assessment, fluoride varnish, and counseling. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Collaboration, Communication, Community health centers, Counseling, Dental caries, Fluoride, Health education, Oral health, Prevention, Primary care, Risk assessment, School age children, Service integration, Training

American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry. 2022. Periodicity of examination, preventive dental services, anticipatory guidance/counseling, and oral treatment for infants, children, and adolescents. Chicago, IL: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, 13 pp. (Reference Manual of Pediatric Dentistry)

Annotation: This best practice guide from the American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry contains recommendations for oral health care for children and youth by age group (six to twelve months, twelve to twenty-four months, two to six years, six to twelve years, and twelve years and older). Information was gathered via database and hand searches, as well as recommendations based upon expert and/or consensus opinion by experienced researchers and clinicians. [This document was developed by the Clinical Affairs Committee, adopted in 1991, and last revised by the Council on Clinical Affairs in 2018.]

Contact: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Suite 1600, Chicago, IL 60611-2637, Telephone: (312) 337-2169 Fax: (312) 337-6329 Web Site: http://www.aapd.org

Keywords: Guidelines, Oral health, Pediatric dentistry

Delta Dental Plans Association. 2021. The state of America's oral health report. Oak Brook, I: Delta Dental Plans Association, 13 pp.

Annotation: This report presents data about consumers’ oral-health-related behaviors throughout 2020. It provides insights into the public’s awareness of the connection between oral health and overall health. Topics include the importance of oral health to overall health, oral hygiene practices, prioritization of preventive dental visits, and the relationship between having dental insurance and oral health status.

Contact: Delta Dental Plans Association, 1515 West 22nd Street, Suite 450, Oak Brook, IL 60523, Web Site: https://www.deltadental.com Available from the website.

Keywords: Dental hygiene, Health behavior, Health insurance, Oral health, Prevention, Statistical data

Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs and National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center. [2020]. AMCHP's implementation toolkit for National performance measure 13: 13.1: Percent of women who had a preventive dental visit during pregnancy; 13.2: Percent of children and adolescents, ages 1 through 17, who had a preventive dental visit in the past year. Washington, DC: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs,

Annotation: This toolkit for Title V program staff and other stakeholders provides information to help address national performance measure 13.1 (preventive dental visits for pregnant women) and 13.2 (preventive dental visits for children and adolescents ages 1–17). The strategic approaches described in the toolkit are informed by evidence and include resources from national and state organizations. The approaches are divided into categories, with relevant resources listed for each. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Oral health, Pregnant women, Prevention, Title V programs

Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs. 2020. AMCHP's implementation toolkit for performance measure 13: 13.1: Percent of women who had a preventive dental visit during pregnancy; 13.2: Percent of children and adolescents, ages 1 through 17, who had a preventive dental visit in the past year. Washington, DC: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1 web resource.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

Link

Keywords: Adolescent health, Oral health, Pregnant women, Prevention, Title V programs

National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center. 2020. Preventive dental visits for children and adolescents are important!. Washington, DC: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, 2 pp.

Annotation: This infographic provides information about benefits of and barriers to receiving preventive dental visits for children and adolescents. It emphasizes the importance of these visits to reduce oral health problems and promote overall health throughout life. It discusses integration of oral health care into primary care, the cost savings that early intervention can confer, and disparities in oral health status and in access to oral health services. The infographic is available in English and in Spanish. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Washington, DC 20057, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Early intervention, Income factors, Low income groups, Medicaid, Non English language materials, Oral health, Prevention, Racial factors, Service integration, Spanish language materials

University of Colorado, Public Health and Dental Medicine. 2020. Children's oral health: Demonstration of the five oral health clinical core competencies. Denver, CO: CU Productions, 1 video (6:14 min.).

Annotation: This video shows a health professional performing the five oral health clinical competencies, as recommended by the Health Resources and Services Administration, during a well-child visit. The competencies include risk assessment; oral health evaluation; preventive intervention, including fluoride varnish application; communication and education, including patient engagement and self-management goal-setting; and interprofessional collaboration and practice, including dental referral and care coordination. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: CU Productions, University of Colorado, 1380 Lawrence Street, Suite 1220, Denver, CO 80204, Web Site: https://cuproductions.tv Available from the website.

Keywords: Care coordination, Fluoride, Oral health, Prevention, Service integration, Videotapes, Young children

California Department of Public Health, Office of Oral Health. 2020. School-linked dental program: A guide for local oral health programs. Sacramento, CA: California Department of Public Health, Office of Oral Health, 7 pp.

Annotation: This guide provides information about California’s school-linked oral health program for local oral health programs. Topics include the state’s oral health plan goals and objectives, the California Dental Disease Prevention Program, and steps for implementing a school-linked oral health program.

Contact: California Oral Health Technical Assistance Center, University of California, San Francisco, 707 Parnassus Avenue, Box 0758, San Francisco, CA Web Site: https://oralhealthsupport.ucsf.edu Available from the website.

Keywords: California, Oral health, Prevention programs, Programs, School health, State programs, Strategic plans

Michigan Oral Health Coalition. 2017. Check-up on oral health: Age one dental visits–Michigan county profile 2017. Lansing, MI: Michigan Oral Health Coalition, 4 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information about age 1 oral health services in Michigan. It includes background about the importance of good oral health in early childhood and offers statistics, by county, on infants and children under age 2 who participate in Medicaid who had at least one dental visit in 2017. Factors contributing to lack of access to oral health care are presented. Information about Michigan Perinatal Oral Health Guidelines and a dental periodicity chart are included.

Contact: Michigan Oral Health Coalition, 106 W. Allegan Street, Suite 310, Lansing, MI 48933, Telephone: (517) 827-0466 Fax: (517) 381-8008 Web Site: http://www.mohc.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Health care utilization, Infants, Local initiatives, Medicaid, Michigan, Oral health, Preventive health visits, State programs

Virginia Department of Health, Dental Health Program. 2017. Oral health during pregnancy/Baby's first dental visit. Richmond, VA: Virginia Department of Health, Dental Health Program, 1 p.

Annotation: This bookmark for pregnant women provides information about nutrition and oral health during pregnancy and infancy. The bookmark offers tips on oral hygiene, nutrition, and dental visits during pregnancy on one side and during infancy on the other. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Virginia Department of Health, Dental Health Program, 109 Governor Street, Ninth Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, Telephone: (804) 864-7775 Fax: (804) 864-7783 Web Site: http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/oral-health Available from the website.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Dental care, Disease prevention, Infants, Nutrition, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Preventive health services

Lai YH, Garcia S, Strobino D, Minkovitz C. 2017. Strengthen the evidence base for maternal and child health programs: NPM 13b: Oral health in childhood. Baltimore, MD: Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Women's and Children's Health Policy Center, 4 pp.

Annotation: This brief identifies evidence-informed strategies for state Title V programs to consider to increase the percentage of infants and children ages 1–17 who had a preventive dental visit in the last year. Contents include information about the evidence continuum and the approach to the review, including examples of each type of intervention and its evidence rating; key findings; and implications. The full review is also available. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Women's and Children's Health Policy Center, 615 North Wolfe Street, Room E4143, Baltimore, MD 21205, Telephone: (410) 502-5450 Fax: (410) 502-5831 Web Site: http://www.jhsph.edu/wchpc Available from the website.

Review

Keywords: Adolescents, Block grants, Children, Dental care, Evidence-based practice, Literature reviews, Measures, Model programs, Oral health, Policy development, Program planning, Resources for professionals, State MCH programs, Title V programs

Lai Y-H, Garcia S, Strobino D, Minkovitz C. 2017. Strengthen the evidence for maternal and child health programs: National performance measure 13b oral health in childhood evidence review. Baltimore, MD: Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Women's and Children's Health Policy Center, 40 pp. (brief 4 pp.).

Annotation: This document identifies evidence-informed strategies that state Title V programs might consider implementing to increase the percent of infants and children, ages 1 through 17 years, who had a preventive dental visit in the last year. Contents include an introduction and background; review methods and results, including search results, characteristics of studies reviewed, intervention components, summary of study results, and evidence rating and evidence continuum; and implications of the review. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, Women's and Children's Health Policy Center, 615 North Wolfe Street, Room E4143, Baltimore, MD 21205, Telephone: (410) 502-5450 Fax: (410) 502-5831 Web Site: http://www.jhsph.edu/wchpc Available from the website.

Keywords: , Block grants, Children, Dental care, Evidence-based practice, Literature reviews, Measures, Model programs, Oral health, Policy development, Program planning, Resources for professionals, State MCH programs, Title V programs

Ohio Department of Health, Oral Health Program. 2016. Fluoride mouthrinse program manual (rev.). Columbus, OH: Ohio Department of Health, Oral Health Program, 28 pp.

Annotation: This manual provides school personnel and volunteers with procedures and requirements for administering and implementing a school-based fluoride mouthrinse program in Ohio. Topics include program roles, responsibilities, and operation; administration guidelines; recommendations for teachers; and program implementation and site visits. Forms and procedural options, including adaptations for students with special health care needs, are included.

Contact: Ohio Department of Health, Oral Health Program, 246 North High Street, Columbus, OH 43215, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://odh.ohio.gov/wps/portal/gov/odh/know-our-programs/oral-health-program/welcome-to Available from the website.

Keywords: Dental caries, Disease prevention, Fluorides, Ohio, Oral health, Preventive health services, School age children, School based management, School health services, State programs

Vracar C, Holicky A, Wahby J, Calhoun J. 2016. Oral health status of Florida's Early Head Start and Head Start children 2014–2015. Tallahassee, FL: Florida Department of Health, 21 pp.

Annotation: This report summarizes results from a statewide survey of young children enrolled in Early Head Start and Head Start centers in Florida. Topics include dental caries experience, untreated tooth decay, and dental sealants. The appendices contain the consent and questionnaire forms for parents, a screening form, a screening results letter to parents, and information about other indicators from the parent questionnaire including toothache, last dental visit, follow-up care, reason for last dental visit, and dental insurance. [Survey funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Florida Department of Health, Public Health Dental Program, 4052 Bald Cypress Way, Bin A14, Tallahassee, FL 32399-1724, Telephone: (850) 245-4333 Web Site: http://www.floridahealth.gov/programs-and-services/community-health/dental-health/index.html Available from the website.

Keywords: Dental care, Dental caries, Dental insurance, Dental sealants, Early Head Start, Florida, Head Start, Health status, Oral health, Population surveillance, Preventive health services, Screening, State surveys, Statistical data, Young children