Skip Navigation

Strengthening the evidence for maternal and child health programs

Statistics Sources - Organizations

Statistics Sources

Annotated Lists of Organizations on Key Topics in Maternal and Child Health

This list of 30 organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations online database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library. To identify additional materials on this topic, search the Organizations database using our online search form.

The MCH Organizations Database lists government, professional, and voluntary organizations involved in maternal and child health activities, primarily at a national level. Information available to consumers is indicated where known.

Displaying 30 records.

American Association of Poison Control Centers (AAPCC)

Annotation: The American Association of Poison Control Centers (AAPCC) is a professional organization for poison control centers and individuals involved in clinical toxicology and poison prevention. Association activities include maintaining the nationwide toll-free number (800/222-1222) which reaches all U.S. Poison Centers. Other activities include an annual scientific meeting, certification specialists, data collection, and toxicosurveillance. AAPCC provides access to the New Core System Database (NCSBeta) -- a comprehensive poisoning surveillance database -- and annual reports (summaries) of data from the National Poisoning and Exposure Database -- which contains detailed toxicological information on more than 24 million poison exposures reported to U.S. poison centers.from 1983-2006.

Keywords: Poisons, Certification, Emergency medical services, Hotlines, Poison control centers, Population surveillance, Prevention, Professional societies, Public awareness campaigns, Publications, Resource centers, Toxicology

Center for Studying Health System Change (HSC)

Annotation: The Center for Studying Health System Change (HSC) is a research organization dedicated to studying changes in the country's health care system and how those changes affect people at the community level. HSC provides analyses of these changes to policy makers, public and private health care industry leaders, and journalists. These analyses are based on short-term studies of issues of national significance and on data collected from longitudinal surveys of major components of the health system, including hospitals, health plans, insurers, physicians, purchasers, government, public health agencies, and consumer organizations. In addition to producing and disseminating its own work via publications and conferences, HSC also provides leadership in stimulating and facilitating others' efforts to track health system change. HSC is funded exclusively by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and is affiliated with Mathematica Policy Research, Inc.

Keywords: Health care systems, Research

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)

Annotation: The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), a part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is the primary Federal agency responsible for conducting and supporting public health activities in the United States, including the prevention and control of infectious and chronic disease. The primary goals of the agency are to reduce health risks during every stage of life; spearhead efforts to improve global health; ensure that the places people live, work, and play have safe, healthy environments; and prepare for emerging health threats from mental health to environmental health. The Public Inquiries Office responds to inquiries in the areas of preventive medicine, immunization, disease control, and health education. The Web site covers a wide range of health & safety topics, including diseases & conditions, emergency preparedness, environmental health, life stages & populations, healthy living, injury and violence; travelers' health, and workplace health and safety. Also included are links to data and statistics, online access to CDC's journals and other publications; and tools & resources such as an image library, podcasts, and a Body Mass Index (BMI) calculator. A Spanish-language version of the Web site is available, and some materials are available in Spanish, French, Asian languages and other languages. CDC also sponsors conferences, training seminars and workshops.

Keywords: Preventive health services, Adolescents, Data analysis, Data collection, Disease prevention, Environmental health, Federal agencies, Guidelines, Health education, Health promotion, Immunization, Listservs, Nutrition, Occupational safety and health, Online databases, Population surveillance, Publications, Safety, Spanish language materials, Spanish language website, Standards, Technical assistance, Training

Child Trends

Annotation: Child Trends is a nonprofit research organization that works to improve the lives and prospects of children and youth through high-quality research. Clients include researchers, policymakers, funders, and practitioners. Services include high-level analyses and helping organizations make their direct services more effective. Resources include indicators of children's well-being, a searchable database of evaluated programs serving children and youth and research based on those evaluations, and a national knowledge center providing insight on U.S. Latino children and families. Child Trends also hosts a newsroom and blog.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent pregnancy, Child health, Community programs, Data analysis, Data collection, Family relations, Health statistics, Information sources, Model programs, Program descriptions, Research, Statistical analysis

Children's Defense Fund (CDF)

Annotation: The Children's Defense Fund (CDF) is a research and advocacy group for children and youth. It gathers data and disseminates information on key issues affecting children and adolescents, including development and implementation of federal and state policies. CDF provides information, technical assistance, and support to a network of state and local child advocates, service providers, and public and private sector officials and leaders. Initiatives have included adolescent pregnancy prevention programs, prenatal care campaigns, universal immunization programs, promotion of the Head Start program, and the State Children's Health Insurance Program (SCHIP). Publications include a monthly newsletter, CDF Reports. A publications list is available. CDF also coordinates the Black Community Crusade for Children, an effort to strengthen black community support for children, and publishes a newsletter of Crusade activities, Necessary. In addition, it coordinates the Student Heath Outreach (SHOUT) project, a student-run project whose goal is to reach all eligible children and sign them up for health insurance by engaging students, as well as school administrators, in the effort to spread the word about Medicaid and CHIP.

Keywords: Child health, Adolescent pregnancy, Blacks, Child advocacy, Child care, Child safety, Children, Data collection, Homeless persons, Infant mortality, Legislation, Minority groups, Prenatal care, State children's heatlh insurance program, Statistics

Disability Statistics Center (DSRRTC)

Annotation: The Disability Statistics Center is a program funded by the National Institute on Disability and Rehabilitation Research to train individuals and develop statistical information on disability in the United States. It provides statistical information on a wide variety of topics concerning disability in the United States, and responds to questions using a library of books, reports, research papers, and technical information on surveys and databases. The center produces a catalog and a journal, provides publications and reference information for consumers, and sponsors conferences.

Keywords: Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Disabilities, Statistics

Guttmacher Institute ( )

Annotation: The Guttmacher Institute is a nonprofit corporation for research, policy analysis, and public education in the field of reproductive health. Services to consumers include publications and reference information. The institute publishes Perspectives on Sexual and Reproductive Health, International Family Planning Perspectives, The Guttmacher Policy Review, fact sheets, briefing papers, and special reports. A publications catalog is available. Some materials are available in Spanish, French, Asian, and other languages. The institute also has a list service, accessible through its Web site. The International Data Center allows users to build, download, and print custom tables, graphs, and maps using information from countries and regions.

Keywords: Pregnancy, Adolescent pregnancy, Data, Family planning, Foreign language materials, Information services, Listservs, Medical research, Online systems, Policy analysis, Prenatal care, Public education, Publications, Reproductive health, Sexuality education

Jacobs Institute of Women's Health (JIWH)

Annotation: The Jacobs Institute of Women's Health is a nonprofit organization working to improve health care for women through research, dialogue, and information dissemination. The Institute works to continuously improve the health care of women across their lifespan and in all populations. Through its publications and conferences, the Institute provides information and analysis on a wide range of issues that affect women's health care. Publications include the Women's Health Data Book and Women's Health Issues, the official peer-reviewed journal of the Jacobs Institute of Women's Health devoted to women's health issues at the medical/social interface.

Keywords: Health promotion, Women's health

Maternal and Child Health Information Resource Center (MCHIRC)

Annotation: The Maternal and Child Health Information Resource Center (MCHIRC) helps MCH practitioners on the federal, state, and local levels improve their capacity to gather, analyze, and use data for planning and policymaking. The MCHIRC is funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau. Publications include The Health and Wellbeing of Children: A Portrait of States and the Nation, The National Survey of Children with Special Health Care Needs Chartbook, Child Health USA, and Women's Health USA. The resource center also sponsors a graduate student internship program and the DataSpeak web conference series, and provides technical assistance for state and local MCH agencies in published journal articles.

Keywords: Health statistics, Block grants, Child health, Conferences, Information services, Management, Policy development, Program descriptions, Public health, Publications, Research, Resource centers, Title V programs

Metropolitan Washington Public Health Assessment Center (MWPHAC)

Annotation: The Metropolitan Washington Public Health Assessment Center (MWPHAC) aims to improve the health of the population of the Washington metropolitan region by contributing to efforts to enhance the quality and availability of population-based health data, including developing Web-based access to data and analytic tools. MWPHAC is pursuing long-term objectives to improve the availability, timeliness, accuracy, and comparability of local population-based health data; to develop statistical and epidemiological methods relevant to local public health assessment efforts; and to serve as a model of cooperation between local health agencies and schools of public health to promote education of students and faculty in local public health practice. Health data, health indicators, reports, and links are posted on the center's Web site.

Keywords: District of Columbia, Data, Models, Public health

National Adolescent and Young Adult Health Information Center (NAHIC)

Annotation: The National Adolescent and Young Adult Health Information Center (NAHIC) is based within the University of California, San Francisco’s Division of Adolescent and Young Adult Medicine, Department of Pediatrics and the Philip R. Lee Institute for Health Policy Studies. In its efforts to improve adolescent and young adult health, NAHIC focuses on the intersection of public health, systems of care, and clinical practice through research, synthesis, dissemination, networking, and partnering. As part of its work, NAHIC supports state efforts to improve care for adolescents and young adults. Current efforts are linked to the transformation of the MCH/Title V block grant program. In September 2014, MCHB awarded UCSF funding for two new projects to be carried out by NAHIC: the Adolescent and Young Adult Health National Resource Center (AYAH-NRC) and the Adolescent and Young Adult Health Research Network.

Keywords: Adolescent health, National MCH resource center, Policy, Programs, Resource centers

National Association of Health Data Organizations (NAHDO)

Annotation: The National Association of Health Data Organizations (NAHDO) is a nonprofit national membership and educational organization dedicated to improving health care data systems for public health, research, policy, and market applications. Established in 1986, the association serves as an advocate for state health care data programs and provides technical support on collecting, analyzing, and disseminating health care data. NAHDO's Quality Reporting Workgroup provides state-to-state technical assistance and guidance on state quality initiatives. NAHDO produces a newsletter and white papers, provides online resources, and maintains listservs for members, quality reporting, web-based data query systems, and standards. NAHDO hosts one Annual meeting in D.C. the first week of December each year, webinars on topics related to data collection and dissemination, and regional workshops and meetings.

Keywords: Data analysis, Data collection, Health services

National Center for Children in Poverty (NCCP)

Annotation: The National Center for Children in Poverty (NCCP) is a non-profit, non-partisan policy research organization whose mission is to identify and promote strategies to reduce child poverty and improve the well-being of low-income children and their families. NCCP alerts the public to demographic statistics about child poverty and to the scientific research on the impact of poverty; designs and conducts studies to identify programs, policies, and practices that work best; disseminates information about economic security, early care and learning, and family stability; brings together public and private groups; and challenges policymakers and opinion leaders to change the adverse consequences of poverty on young children. NCCP maintains a web site of information and resources and publishes newsletters, reports, issue briefs, and fact sheets, and maintains an e-newsletter. In partnership with the Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research at the Institute for Social Research, the University of Michigan; and the U.S. Child Care Bureau, it provides the Web resource Child Care and Early Education Research Connections.

Keywords: Child health, Child care, Conferences, Early childhood education, Economic factors, Education, Family child care, Family support, Information dissemination, Information sources, Libraries, Maternal health, Poverty, Public policies, Publications, Statistics, Young children

National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)

Annotation: The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) provides consumers with referrals, publications, and reference information. It publishes a catalog and sponsors conferences and training seminars. Materials are available in Spanish, French, Asian, and other languages.

Keywords: Data, Education, Statistical surveys, Statistics

National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)

Annotation: The National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) is a national resource for vital statistics and health-related information and is part of the National Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. The center collects and disseminates data on major health and nutrition indicators affecting the population. Data are presented so that specific groups, such as children and adolescents, can be isolated. Publications include statistical reports and information on morbidity and mortality, use of health resources, nutritional status, and survey research.

Keywords: Health statistics, Data, Injury prevention, Nutrition, Public health, Publications, Research

National Fetal-Infant Mortality Review Program (NFIMR)

Annotation: The National Fetal and Infant Mortality Review Program (NFIMR) started in 1990 as a collaborative effort between the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (The College) and the Health Resources and Services Administration's Maternal and Child Health Bureau. The College has worked together with partners to refine and promote the FIMR process by funding demonstration projects, providing training and technical assistance, and developing the NFIMR resource center. The NFIMR resource center provides online resources that provide technical assistance in many aspects of developing and carrying out a FIMR prgoram. The resource center is available to help a start-up FIMR or assist well-established programs fine-tune specific aspects of the process. It links programs with peers who can share insights and strategies. NFIMR works with states to explore methods to manage multiple reviews and to identify models that integrate local FIMR recommendations into regional or statewide assessments. In 2016 it was combined with the National Fetal, Infant, and Child Death Review Center to become the National Center for Fatality Review and Prevention.

Keywords: Infant health, Conferences, Data analysis, Data collection, Federal programs, Fetal mortality, Infant mortality, Listservs, Mortality, Mortality rates, National MCH resource center, Neonatal mortality, Online systems, Perinatal mortality, Public private partnerships, Publications, Research, Resource centers, Spanish language materials, State programs, Statistics

National Institute of Justice (NIJ)

Annotation: The National Institute of Justice (NIJ) is the research and development agency of the U.S. Department of Justice, established to prevent and reduce crime and to improve the criminal justice system. The institute supports research and development programs and special projects that will improve and strengthen the criminal justice system and reduce or prevent crime; conducts national demonstration projects that employ innovative or promising approaches for improving criminal justice; evaluates the effectiveness of criminal justice programs and identifies programs that promise to be successful if continued or repeated; and develops new methods of crime prevention and reduction of crime and delinquency. Services include an electronic bulletin board, a reference service, and an information exchange as well as research programs on gangs, human development and criminal behavior, drug use forecasting, and data resources. Publications include a journal. The NIJ operates that National Criminal Justice Reference Service, a clearinghouse for criminal justice information and referral services

Keywords: Crime prevention, Criminal justice system, Injury prevention, Research

National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA)

Annotation: The National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA) conducts and supports biomedical and behavioral research on the causes, consequences, treatment, and prevention of alcohol-related problems. The institute disseminates research results through the Alcohol Epidemiologic Data System and ETOH, a bibliographic database of more than 100,000 records of alcohol research findings. Publications include the quarterly journal Alcohol Research and Health and reports, monographs, and bulletins such as Alcohol Alert for clinicians and other health professionals. Some materials are available in Spanish. A catalog is also available. The organization sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Substance abuse, Alcohol related injuries, Alcoholism, Information dissemination, Medical research, Spanish language materials

National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA)

Annotation: The National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA) responds to inquiries from the community, professionals, and the media. NIDA supports more than 85 percent of the world's research on the health aspects of drug abuse and addiction. The institute produces and distributes information based on its own drug abuse research, maintains statistics and information on drug exposed infants, and provides support and technical assistance for efforts to increase public and professional awareness of the relationship between drug abuse and AIDS. Some materials are available in Spanish. The Web site includes a section, NIDA for Teens, that is geared to adolescents ages 11 to 15. The institute also sponsors conferences, training seminars, and workshops and publishes a catalog and a newsletter. The website and publications are available in English and Spanish.

Keywords: Drug abuse, AIDS, Adolescents, Research, Spanish language materials, Spanish language website, Statistics, Substance abuse prevention, Substance dependance, Technical assistance

National Pesticide Information Center (NPIC)

Annotation: The National Pesticide Information Center (NPIC) provides information on a variety of pesticide-related topics, including toxicology, health and environmental effects, pesticide product information, information on the recognition and management of pesticide poisonings, treferrals for laboratroy analyses, investigation of pesticide incidents, emergency treatment information, safety information, and clean-up and disposal procedures. NPIC provides a toll-free telephone service available to anyone in the United States, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands including the general public, the hearing impaired, Spanish speakers and medical, veterinary, and other health care professionals.

Keywords: Insecticides, Environmental exposures, Hotlines, Information services, Non English language materials, Spanish language materials, Teratogens, Teratology

Population Reference Bureau (PRB)

Annotation: The Population Reference Bureau (PRB) is a private, nonprofit organization that gathers, interprets, and disseminates information about population. The goal of the bureau is to increase awareness and understanding of population trends and their implications by presenting information that is reliable, unbiased, and up-to-date. Its audience includes legislators and public officials, teachers and students, the business community, and individuals with interest and concern about U.S. and world affairs. Publications include a catalog, a newsletter, a journal, and special reports. Materials are available in Spanish and French. The bureau also sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Demography, Developing countries, International health, Statistics, Trends

Program Archive on Adolescent Pregnancy and Pregnancy Prevention (PASHA)

Annotation: The Program Archive on Sexuality, Health, and Adolescence (PASHA), funded by the National Institute of Child Health and Human Development and the Office of Adolescent Health in the Department of Health and Human Services, is a collection of effective program replication kits designed to reduce adolescent pregnancy and sexually transmitted infections (including HIV and AIDS) in adolescents. Each kit includes materials needed to implement and evaluate the intervention. PASHA's website includes a search assistant for finding programs, an overview table of replication kits, scientific papers related to the collection, and program selection criteria.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Archives, Diffusion of innovation, Health behavior, Model programs, Program evaluation, Risk taking, Sexually transmitted diseases

Public Health Data Standards Consortium (PHDSC)

Annotation: The Public Health Data Standards Consortium is a non-profit membership-based organization of federal, state and local health agencies; national and local professional associations; academia, public and private sector organizations; international members, and individuals. The consortium's goal is to empower the agents of health and healthcare with public health information standards to improve individual and community health. The Consortium provides an organized common voice from public health in the national healthcare standardization efforts. It serves as a mechanism for ongoing representation of public health interests in the implementation of HIPAA and for other data standards setting processes.

Keywords: Consortia, Health statistics, Public health

Sociometrics Corporation

Annotation: Sociometrics Corporation is a for-profit research and development firm specializing in social science research applications. Sociometrics produces research-based products and services for researchers and practitioners. Products and services fall into five primary product lines: exemplary data, effective programs, health education, evaluation, and online subscriptions. Topics include sexually transmitted infections, adolescent pregnancy, aging, family, child poverty, alternative medicine, contextual, disability, and maternal drug abuse.

Keywords: Data, Evaluation, Health behavior, Health education, Maternal and child health research, Model programs

Sociometrics Corporation, Data Archive on Adolescent Pregnancy and Pregnancy Prevention (DAAPPP)

Annotation: Sociometrics Corporation's Data Archive on Adolescent Pregnancy and Pregnancy Prevention (DAAPPP) includes studies focused on adolescent sexual health issues. Studies address a variety of topics including the incidence, prevalence, antecedents, and consequences of adolescent pregnancy and family planning; and behavioral factors related to sexually transmitted infections.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Archives, Data, Family planning, Health behavior, Outcome and process assessment, Predisposing factors, Sexually transmitted diseases, Surveys

U.S. Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS)

Annotation: The Bureau of Justice Statistics (BJS) is a component of the Department of Justice. The bureau is the nation's primary source for criminal justice statistics. Activities include collecting, analyzing, publishing, and disseminating information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government. The data collected by the bureau is used by Federal, State, and local policymakers in combating crime and ensuring that justice is both efficient and evenhanded. BJS also sponsors conferences, hosts a List Service (Juststats), and provides consumers with publications and reference information. A catalog is available.

Keywords: Crime, Crime prevention, Criminal justice system, Statistics

U.S. Census Bureau

Annotation: The U.S. Census Bureau collects, tabulates, and disseminates data on the social and economic characteristics of the United States, including demographic, socioeconomic, and housing data for metropolitan statistical areas. It provides publications and reference information to consumers. It informs its customers about the full range of products on the Internet and in newsletters and an annual catalog. Most data are available either on the internet or on CD-ROM products.

Keywords: Statistics, CD-Roms, Data analysis, Data collection, Data sources, Databases, Federal agencies, Information for professionals, Information sources, Online databases, Population, Publications, Reference materials

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation, Policy Information Center (PIC)

Annotation: The Policy Information Center (PIC) is a centralized source of information on in-process, completed, and on-going evaluations; short-term evaluative research; and policy-oriented projects conducted by the Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) as well as other federal departments and agencies. The PIC on-line database, which is updated daily, provides project descriptions of these studies. From the DHHS Internet home page, choose research and data selection to search abstracts. Publications include a newsletter.

Keywords: Federal agencies, Health policy, Information sources, Internet, Online database, Program evaluation

U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)

Annotation: The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) is the agency within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services that leads public health efforts to advance the behavioral health of the nation. SAMHSA's mission is to reduce the impact of substance abuse and mental illness on America's communities. The website provides information about strategic initiatives, health reform, prevention, treatment, and recovery;publications in English and Spanish; data; and grants.

Keywords: Alcohol abuse, Drug abuse, Mental health, Model programs, Substance abuse prevention programs, Substance abuse treatment services

Youth Indicators, 2005: Trends in the Well-Being of American Youth

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.