Skip Navigation

Strengthening the evidence for maternal and child health programs

Prenatal Care - Organizations

Prenatal Care

Annotated Lists of Organizations on Key Topics in Maternal and Child Health

This list of 63 organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations online database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library. To identify additional materials on this topic, search the Organizations database using our online search form.

The MCH Organizations Database lists government, professional, and voluntary organizations involved in maternal and child health activities, primarily at a national level. Information available to consumers is indicated where known.

Displaying 63 records.

Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics (AND)

Annotation: The Academy of Nutrition of Dietetics (AND) is the advocate of the dietetics profession serving the public through the promotion of optimal nutrition, health, and well being. The association is involved in the credentialing of competent nutrition and dietetic professionals and provides continuing education for nearly 70,000 members. Key areas of interest include obesity and overweight (with a focus on children); healthy aging; nutrigenetics and nutrigenomics; Integrative medicine (including supplements and alternative medicine; and safe, sustainable, and nutritious food supply. Through its Knowledge Center, ADA provides current food and nutrition information for consumers, health professionals, and ADA members. Until 2012 it was known as the American Dietetic Association (ADA)

Keywords: Nutrition, Child nutrition, Consumer education, Dietetic technicians, Health promotion, Hotlines, Information sources, Maternal nutrition, Professional societies, Public health nutrition, Publications, Spanish language materials

American Academy of Husband-Coached Childbirth (Bradley Method) (AAHCC)

Annotation: The American Academy of Husband-Coached Childbirth (AAHCC) was founded to disseminate childbirth education information. The standard Bradley® series is designed for small classes and provides individual attention; it consists of 12 weeks of instruction covering 12 units of preparation. AAHCC provides referrals, publications, and reference information and sponsors conferences, training seminars, and workshops.

Keywords: Bradley Method, Childbirth education

American Association of Birth Centers (AABC)

Annotation: The American Association of Birth Centers (AABC) educates women and families about the birth center alternative, promotes standards for quality care through licensure and certification, and provides a forum for communication among birth centers. The association has a resource center of statistical information and publishes standards, reports, a membership directory, and audiovisual materials. Services to consumers include referrals. ABCC offers a multimedia Web site with information, stories, statistics and directories for all (clinicians and consumers). The association also publishes a newsletter and sponsors workshops and conferences. AABC was formerly called the National Association of Childbearing Centers (NACC).

Keywords: Childbirth, Birthing centers, Information services, Pregnancy, Statistics

American College of Nurse-Midwives (ACNM)

Annotation: The American College of Nurse-Midwives (ACNM) is the professional organization for nurse-midwives in the United States. It works to improve services for mothers and babies in cooperation with other allied groups. The organization publishes the Journal of Nurse-Midwifery and Women's Health and provides a list of accredited, university-affiliated nurse-midwifery education programs. Information is available in Spanish, French, and Asian languages, and ACNM sponsors an annual conference. ACNM also provides a Web site for consumers called mymidwife.org.

Keywords: Nurse midwives, Childbirth, Conferences, Ethics, Family planning, Foreign language materials, Labor, Postpartum care, Prenatal care, Professional societies, Publications, Reproductive health, Standards

American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG)

Annotation: The American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG) provides educational materials on pregnancy, birth, contraception, reproductive health, and women's issues such as violence against women, smoking cessation, and underserved women. Members and invited experts serve on various ACOG committees focusing on adolescent health care, gynecologic practice, obstetrics, American Indian affairs, and other topics. Statistics from a variety of resources are posted on the Web site, along with guides to selected internet resources on topics such as vaccines, cultural competency, adolescent/pediatric health, pregnancy, sexuality, and smoking cessation. Services to consumers include inquiry responses and publications. A resource catalog is also available. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Prenatal care, American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, Childbirth, Contraception, Domestic violence, Gynecology, Legislation, Obstetrics, Pregnancy, Professional education, Professional ethics, Professional societies, Publications, Reproductive health, Women's health

American Institute of Ultrasound in Medicine (AIUM)

Annotation: The American Institute of Ultrasound in Medicine (AIUM) was founded in 1951 to advance the art and science of ultrasound in medicine and research. Its annual convention offers educational courses, scientific sessions, and commercial and scientific exhibits. Publications include the monthly Journal of Ultrasound in Medicine, a monthly newsletter, guidelines for ultrasound examinations, catalogs, journals, and educational videotapes. AIUM provides some Spanish materials and sponsors conferences, seminars, and workshops.

Keywords: Medical research , Prenatal diagnosis, Ultrasonography

American Lung Association (ALA)

Annotation: The American Lung Association (ALA) is a voluntary health organization dedicated to the prevention, cure, and control of all types of lung disease through public health education, advocacy, and research. ALA monitors air quality and publishes reports that detail the effects of tobacco, pollutants, and other environmental factors on the air, our communities, and our world. The Web site provides access to downloadable reports; indepth resources related to lung health, lung disease, and air quality at home, at school, outdoors, and at work. Anyone can register to receive ALA's free electronic newsletters.

Keywords: Asthma, Infants, Public health education, Lung diseases, Prevention, Respiratory distress syndrome, SIDS, Smoking during pregnancy

American Red Cross (ARC)

Annotation: The American Red Cross (ARC) and its local chapters provide blood services, volunteer training for hospitals and other community agencies, and services for children and youth. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. Publications include pamphlets, brochures, and books on health and safety education, community disaster preparedness, babysitting, and baby and child care. Some materials are available in Spanish. Local chapters offer water safety programs, first aid and emergency training, birth classes, adult and youth health and safety courses, and community involvement activities.

Keywords: Blood banks, Child care, Childbirth education, Educational materials, Emergency medical services for children, Emergency services, Health education, Information services, Training

American Sexual Health Association (ASHA)

Annotation: The American Sexual Health Association (ASHA) is a nonprofit organization that works to improve the health of individuals, families, and communities, with a focus on sexual health and sexually transmitted diseases (STDs). Through education, research, and public policy the association produces multifaceted programs addressing the most prevalent STDs. ASHA produces a variety of books, pamphlets, information packets, and other educational materials for patients, health providers, parents, teachers, and organizations.

Keywords: Sexually transmitted diseases, AIDS, Herpes genitalis, Hotlines, Human papillomavirus, Immunization, Prevention programs, Public health, Public policy, Sexual health

American Society for Reproductive Medicine (ASRM)

Annotation: The American Society for Reproductive Medicine (ASRM), formerly known as the American Fertility Society, seeks to extend knowledge of all aspects of fertility and reproduction. Members include gynecologists, obstetricians, urologists, reproductive endocrinologists, veterinarians, research workers, and others interested in the reproductive health of humans and animals. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. ASRM sponsors conferences, training seminars, and workshops and publishes a newsletter and a journal. Some materials are available n Spanish.

Keywords: Fertility, Infertility, Pregnancy, Reproduction, Reproductive technologies

Association of Labor Assistants and Childbirth Educators (ALACE)

Annotation: The Association of Labor Assistants and Childbirth Educators (ALACE) is a professional organization offering services to help childbirth educators and labor assistants and birth doulas provide pregnant women with information and practical alternatives so that they may give birth with confidence, strength, and joy. The association provides training and certification, publishes a quarterly journal, and posts links to related internet sources. The Web site also provides access to the ALACE online bookstore and a directory of labor assistants and childbirth educators.

Keywords: Childbirth, Alternative birth styles, Certification, Childbirth education, Childbirth educators, Labor, Pregnancy, Professional education, Professional training, Publications

Association of Professors of Gynecology and Obstetrics (APGO)

Annotation: The mission of the Association of Professors of Gynecology and Obstetrics (APGO) is to promote excellence in women's health care education and provide an exchange of information on programs of study, teaching methods and research activities among gynecologic and obstetric programs. The APGO Women's Healthcare Education Office (WHEO) is invloved in activities to strengthen undergraduate women's health education for all medical students, including a women's health care competencies project. APGO provides reference information to consumers, publishes a catalog of available publications, and sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Gynecology, Obstetrics, Pregnancy, Prenatal care, Reproductive health

Association of Women's Health, Obstetric and Neonatal Nurses (AWHONN)

Annotation: The Association of Women's Health, Obstetric and Neonatal Nurses (AWHONN) is a not for profit association of 22,000 health care professionals who are dedicated to establishing and promoting the highest standards of nursing practice, education, and research to improve the health and health care of women and newborns. The association sponsors conferences and training seminars, and produces professional and consumer journals, publications, and other resources. Its Web site includes a Prematurity Resource Center which links to information about prematurity.

Keywords: Gynecology, Neonatal nursing, Nursing, Nursing specialties, Obstetrical nursing, Perinatal care, Premature infants, Prenatal care, Reproductive health

Child Welfare Information Gateway (CWIG)

Annotation: The Child Welfare Information Gateway provides information services to child welfare and related professionals and the public as the clearinghouse for the Children’s Bureau, compiling, synthesizing, and disseminating resources to promote the safety, permanency, and well-being of children and families. The Information Gateway provides access to publications, websites, and online databases covering a range of topics, including child welfare, child abuse and neglect, foster care, adoption, and the content areas for which the Children's Bureau Training and Technical Assistance Network (TTA) members provide support.

Keywords: Adopted children, Adoptive parents, Biological parents, Child abuse, Child neglect, Children with special health care needs, Clearinghouses, Databases, Family violence, Information services, Information dissemination, Adoption, Injury prevention, Spanish language materials, Support groups

Children's Defense Fund (CDF)

Annotation: The Children's Defense Fund (CDF) is a research and advocacy group for children and youth. It gathers data and disseminates information on key issues affecting children and adolescents, including development and implementation of federal and state policies. CDF provides information, technical assistance, and support to a network of state and local child advocates, service providers, and public and private sector officials and leaders. Initiatives have included adolescent pregnancy prevention programs, prenatal care campaigns, universal immunization programs, promotion of the Head Start program, and the State Children's Health Insurance Program (SCHIP). Publications include a monthly newsletter, CDF Reports. A publications list is available. CDF also coordinates the Black Community Crusade for Children, an effort to strengthen black community support for children, and publishes a newsletter of Crusade activities, Necessary. In addition, it coordinates the Student Heath Outreach (SHOUT) project, a student-run project whose goal is to reach all eligible children and sign them up for health insurance by engaging students, as well as school administrators, in the effort to spread the word about Medicaid and CHIP.

Keywords: Child health, Adolescent pregnancy, Blacks, Child advocacy, Child care, Child safety, Children, Data collection, Homeless persons, Infant mortality, Legislation, Minority groups, Prenatal care, State children's heatlh insurance program, Statistics

CHOICE

Annotation: CHOICE is a community-based organization dedicated to increasing awareness of and access to sexual health services, especially among underserved populations who traditionally experience barriers to care. CHOICE operates five bi-lingual (Spanish-English) hotlines and programs of community education and outreach. The hotlines include: the CHOICE Hotline for general reproductive and women's health information, serving the five-county Philadelphia area; the Pennsylvania Department of Public Health AIDS Fact Line for information about HIV/AIDS related issues which serves the entire state; the Children's Health Line which helps families obtain free or low cost health care and insurance coverage for their children; the CHOICE Teen Line, which provides sexual health counseling and education to young callers; and the Blueprint for a Safer Philadelphia Community Hotline that is part of a local effort to reduce youth homicides through a public health model. CHOICE is on the list of instructional resources recommended and approved by the Philadelphia School District to provide sexual health education in the City's public schools. CHOICE is currently active in 180 schools, after-school programs, community sites, hospitals, and churches. CHOICE offers online resources in English and Spanish.

Keywords: Gynecology, AIDS, Advocacy, Advocacy, Child care, Children, Family planning, HIV, Health education, Health insurance programs, Hotlines, Information services, Maternal care, Reproductive health, Sexuality education

Choices in Childbirth

Annotation: Choices in Childbirth (CIC) is an organization advocating for the improvement of maternity care by providing the public, especially childbearing women and their families, with the information necessary to make fully informed decisions relating to how, where, and with whom they will give birth.

Keywords: Advocacy, Alternative birth styles, Childbirth education, Pregnant women

Coalition for Improving Maternity Services (CIMS)

Annotation: The Coalition for Improving Maternity Services (CIMS) comprises individuals and organizations with concern for the care and wellbeing of mothers, infants, and families. The coalition's consensus Mother Friendly Childbirth Initiative promotes a prevention and wellness model of maternity care to improve birth outcomes and reduce costs. The website features information on the coalition's nurse recognition program, advocacy and committees, events, a newsletter, fact sheets, and other products and publications.

Keywords: Evidence based medicine, Prenatal care, Childbirth, Family-centered maternity services, Health care reform, Health promotion, Maternal health, Midwifery, Pregnancy outcome, Public awareness campaigns, Women health

Coalition for Positive Outcomes in Pregnancy (CPOP)

DES Action

Annotation: DES Action is a consumer advocacy group for people exposed to diethylstilbestrol (DES) in utero, for the mothers given this drug during pregnancy and also for the 3rd Generation exposed (grandchildren of women prescribed the drug). DES was prescribed to prevent miscarriage. DES Action provides inquiry responses, medical and legal referral lists and a quarterly newsletter, DES Action Voice.

Keywords: Adenosis, Breast cancer, Cervical cancer, Clear-cell adenocarcinoma, Diethylstilbestrol, Infertility, Pregnancy complications, Preterm birth, Spontaneous abortion, Tubal pregnancy, Vaginal cancer

ETR Associates (ETR)

Annotation: ETR Associates is a private, nonprofit health education organization, and one of the largest publishers of health education materials in the country. It develops and distributes maternal and child health pamphlets, booklets, videos, and charts, including more than 46 pamphlets on pregnancy and childbirth. Other topics include family life education, abstinence, birth control, reproductive health, sexual responsibility, self-esteem, drug use, and sexually transmitted disease. Publications include two baby care booklets in both English and Spanish; the Have a Healthy Baby bilingual pamphlet series,which is an innovative bilingual approach to prenatal education, with English on one side and Spanish on the reverse; a pamphlet on fetal alcohol syndrome; a series of Kid Care pamphlets for parents and caregivers of children ages 2 to 5; and illustrated childbirth charts and displays. A publication catalog is available.

Keywords: Adolescents, Reproductive health, Sexually transmitted diseases

Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD)

Annotation: The Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD) -- renamed by Congress in 2008 in honor of the Institute's founder -- supports and conducts research on topics related to the health of children, adults, families, and populations. The mission of the NICHD is to ensure that every person is born healthy and wanted; that women suffer no harmful effects from reproductive processes; that all children have the chance to achieve their full potential for healthy and productive lives, free from disease or disability; and to ensure the health, productivity, independence, and well-being of all people through optimal rehabilitation. Areas of emphasis include: events that happen prior to and throughout pregnancy and childhood, including infertility, pre-term birth, birth defects, developmental disabilities, and human learning and behavior; human growth and development across the lifespan, including nutrition, developmental biology, and congenital diseases; reproductive health and education about reproductive practices, including disorders affecting fertility and infertility, contraception, and sexually transmitted diseases/HIV/AIDS; and medical rehabilitation interventions for those affected by disabilities, including technology and assistive-device development, intervention evaluation, and health promotion and prevention of disabilities. The Center for Research for Mothers and Children, the Center for Population Research, the National Center for Medical Rehabilitation Research, the Division of Epidemiology, Statistics, and Prevention Research, and the Division of Intramural Research comprise the NICHD. The Institute offers a wide range of materials for various audiences, from researchers to parents; many publications are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Congenital abnormalities, Infant health, Infant mortality, Maternal health, Medical research, Mental retardation, National Institutes of Health, Nutrition, Population dynamics, Publications, Reproductive health, Spanish language materials, Training

Group B Strep Association (GBSA)

Annotation: The Group B Strep Association is a nonprofit organization that educates the public about Group B strep (GBS) infections during pregnancy and promotes routine screening of mothers. The association offers medical contacts and parent support networking for parents of GBS handicapped babies. The association publishes an educational pamphlet and two to three newsletters per year. Services to consumers include referrals, publications and reference information. Materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: High risk pregnancy, Infections, Parent groups, Prevention, Strep infections

Guttmacher Institute ( )

Annotation: The Guttmacher Institute is a nonprofit corporation for research, policy analysis, and public education in the field of reproductive health. Services to consumers include publications and reference information. The institute publishes Perspectives on Sexual and Reproductive Health, International Family Planning Perspectives, The Guttmacher Policy Review, fact sheets, briefing papers, and special reports. A publications catalog is available. Some materials are available in Spanish, French, Asian, and other languages. The institute also has a list service, accessible through its Web site. The International Data Center allows users to build, download, and print custom tables, graphs, and maps using information from countries and regions.

Keywords: Pregnancy, Adolescent pregnancy, Data, Family planning, Foreign language materials, Information services, Listservs, Medical research, Online systems, Policy analysis, Prenatal care, Public education, Publications, Reproductive health, Sexuality education

HealthyWomen ( HW)

Annotation: HealthyWomen (HW) -- formerly known as the National Women's Health Resource Center -- is a not-for-profit, national clearinghouse for women's health information, an advocate for women's health issues, and a source of professional support and education programs. The website includes health news updates, health tips, resources ,and ind epth coverage of hundreds of health topics. HealthyWomen also produces print publications in both English and Spanish. The Women’s Health Updates, Fast Facts for Your Health and specialty brochures offer information and guidance on topics ranging from cervical cancer to skin health to flu. In addition, HW publishes a monthly, lifestyle-focused e-newsletter and updates on new health programs and resources. The National Women’s Health Report provides an additional online, interactive resource for women that takes an in-depth look at specific health issues.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Menopause, Spanish language materials, Women's health

International Cesarean Awareness Network (ICAN)

Annotation: The International Cesarean Awareness Network (ICAN) is a nonprofit organization founded in 1982 that works to prevent unnecessary cesarean births and to promote vaginal birth after cesarean delivery. Several U.S. chapters provide local support. ICAN sponsors conferences and provides information, resources, encouragement and support for consumers and professionals. ICAN maintains a listserv and publishes a quarterly newsletter, The Clarion.

Keywords: Cesarean section, Childbirth, Pregnancy, Vaginal birth after cesarean

International Childbirth Education Association (ICEA)

Annotation: The International Childbirth Education Association (ICEA) consists of groups and individuals interested in family-centered maternity and infant services. The association publishes a journal and pamphlets on topics relating to the childbearing years, certifies teachers, provides referrals, sponsors conventions and training seminars, and sells books and pamphlets on a wide range of topics, including pregnancy loss and bereavement. Some materials are available in Spanish, Asian languages and other languages. A catalog is available.

Keywords: Bereavement, Childbirth education, Family centered services, Pregnancy, Pregnancy loss

Lamaze International

Annotation: The mission of Lamaze International is to promote, support and protect normal birth through education and advocacy. The organization’s vision is “a world of confident women choosing normal birth”. Lamaze International offers free educational information on normal birth on its Web site, including: (1) easy to read, evidenced-based information on the six care practices that support normal birth at the Lamaze Institute for Normal Birth web site link.; (2) recommended books on pregnancy, birth and early parenting; (3) tips for a healthy pregnancy and normal birth; and (4) information on birth networks developing in many communities. Consumers can locate an Lamaze Certified Childbirth Educator (LCCE) or a Lamaze Approved Provider in their area using the online locator service or by calling the administrative office at (800) 368-4404. The Lamaze Certification Program is accredited by the National Commission for Certifying Agencies (NCCA), the accrediting body of the National Organization for Competency Assurance (NOCA). Lamaze International provides referrals, inquiry responses, publications, reference information, and searchable databases to consumers; some materialis available in Spanish, Chinese and Korean. The organization publishes a newsletter and a journal, and offers conferences, training seminars, workshops, and other activities.

Keywords: Asian language materials, Childbirth education, Lamaze method, Pregnancy, Spanish language materials

Lyme Disease Foundation (LDF)

Annotation: The Lyme Disease Foundation (LDF) operates the National Lyme Disease 24 hour Hotline for people with Lyme disease, their families and friends, and concerned health professionals. The foundation serves as a patient and health care referral network, distributes educational materials in English and Spanish, sponsors scientific conferences and national public forums, trains community educators, conducts public awareness campaigns, and funds research to develop direct detection methods and a vaccine. The foundation has sponsored the National Tick Testing Project, the national Lyme Disease and Pregnancy Registry, and the Congenital Lyme Disease Registry. Publications include a newsletter and a peer reviewed scientific journal.

Keywords: Bacterial diseases, Infectious arthritis, Lyme borreliosis, Lyme disease

Midwives' Alliance of North America (MANA)

Mother, Child & Adolescent HIV Program

Annotation: The UCSD Mother-Child-Adolescent HIV Program provides a comprehensive multidisciplinary approach to HIV disease in women, pregnant women, children, and adolescents. The program provides perinatal HIV consultation, comprehensive obstetric care, infant screening, comprehensive HIV care for women, children and adolescents, counseling and education. The program offers perinatal transmission studies and therapeutic clinical trials. As a Title IV Ryan White program, the UCSD Mother, Child & Adolescent HIV Program is an active participant in a community-wide partnership that advocates services for children, adolescents, and families. Resources are available in Spanish. The program sponsors conferences, training seminars, and workshops.

Keywords: AIDS, HIV, Pediatric AIDS, Pediatric HIV

Motherisk

Annotation: The Motherisk Program answers questions from women and health professionals who are concerned about potential reproductive risks from exposure to drugs, chemicals, radiation, and infections during pregnancy and lactation. The Web site provides access to pregnancy and breastfeeding resources for parents and professionals, including fact sheets, video tutorials, and links to additional resources. A telephone service handles questions about uncomplicated exposures. The service primarily receives inquiries from Ontario but will answer those from any center in Canada or the United States. Motherisk also offers three topic specific hotlines: Morning sickness, (800) 436-8477; HIV Healthline and Network, (888) 246-5840; Alcohol and Substance Use Line, (877) 327-I4636. The program also publishes a newsletter and maintains an online bookstore.

Keywords: Reproductive hazards, Alcohol abuse, Canada, Drug use during pregnancy, Gynecology, High risk pregnancy, Hotlines, Lactation, Maternal fetal exchange, Nausea, Obstetrics, Occupational safety and health, Pregnancy, Public health, Publications, Reproductive health, Substance abuse, Teratogens, Teratology, Vomiting

MotherNet America

Annotation: MotherNet America (formerly The Resource Mothers Development Project) is a national support network for community-based maternal and child programs. It works to strengthen at-risk families, help parents give their children a healthy start in life, and increase the capacity of underserved communities to sustain positive change. MotherNet America's own model programs -- MotherNet L.A. in Compton, California and MotherNet Loudoun in Loudoun County, Virginia -- offer culturally and linguistically appropriate programs including intensive perinatal home visiting and case manangement; case management for chronic conditions including asthma, obesity and diabetes; mentoring for children with a parent in prison; center-based classes on parenting, nutrition, family strengthening, domestic violence, health-focused English as a Second Language and health literacy-focused computer skills; school-based adolescent sexual health classes; community health fairs; immunization outreach; and health coverage application assistance. Publications produced by MotherNet America include the Women's Wellness Sourcebook, a guide for training outreach workers about a broad range of women's health issues; Curriculum Sourcebook, a guide for training outreach workers; and Home Visitors Handbook, a training text and field resource for outreach workers. The Home Visitors Handbook is available in Spanish and English.

Keywords: Home visiting, Outreach, Pregnancy, Resource mothers

Mothers of Supertwins (MOST)

Annotation: Mothers of Supertwins (MOST) is a national nonprofit organization founded in 1987 as a support network for families who have or are expecting triplets or higher numbers of babies. MOST provides information, education, resources, and support during pregnancy, infancy, and childhood. Services include a medical and educational advisory board, a quarterly journal, referrals for families with special needs, parenting packages for a variety of topics, and local networking within the U.S. A resource catalog is available.

Keywords: Child health, Infant health, Multiple births, Parenting, Triplets

NARAL, Pro-Choice America (NARAL)

Annotation: NARAL, Pro-Choice America (formerly the National Abortion and Reproductive Rights Action League) fights to secure and protect the freedom to choose. The organization works to effect policies that ensure all women the ability to make informed and deliberate decisions about their reproductive health, including preventing unintended pregnancy, bearing healthy children, and choosing legal abortion. Publications include a newsletter.

Keywords: Abortion, Reproductive health, Women

National Center for Nutrition and Dietetics (NCND)

Annotation: As the American Dietetic Association's public education center, the National Center for Nutrition and Dietetics (NCND) was established in 1990 to provide objective food and nutrition information to the public. NCND provides consumers with direct access to reliable food and nutrition information. Some materials are available in Spanish. Callers to (800) 366-1655 may listen to food and nutrition messages in English or Spanish or receive a referral to a registered dietitian in their area.

Keywords: Dietetics, Nutrition

National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities (NCBDDD)

Annotation: The National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities (NCBDDD) is a federal agency within the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Activities include surveillance, research, technical assistance to states, and provision of information and education to the public. Topics include: causes of birth defects (including causes, having a healthy pregnancy, folic acid, and fetal alcohol syndrome); developmental disabilities (austism spectrum disorders, cerebal palsy, vision impairment, hearing loss, mental retardation), helping children develop and reach their full potential (child development, early hearing detection and intervention, attention deficit hyperactivity disorder, Duchenne Becker Muscular Dystrophy), and promoting health and well-being among people of all ages with disabilities (disability and health, hereditary blood disorders, and woment with disability). NCBDDD publishes a newsletter and a journal and sponsors conferences, training seminars, and workshops. Some publications and the Web site are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Congenital abnormalities, Data, Developmental disabilities, Disease prevention, Environmental health, Human development, Pregnancy, Prenatal care, Teratology

National Healthy Mothers, Healthy Babies Coalition (HMHB)

Annotation: The National Healthy Mothers, Healthy Babies Coalition (HMHB) improves the health and safety of mothers, infants, and families through education and collaborative partnerships of public and private organizations. Enhanced by a network of state and local coalitions, HMHB creates partnerships among community groups, nonprofit organizations, professional associations, businesses, and government agencies. Products include a weekly newsletter; educational materials on family planning, pregnancy, and parenting; Q &A articles with various authorities on health; and a maternal and child health webinar series. HMHB also sponsors the national public awareness campaigns Healthy Beginnings for Babies and text4baby -- free weekly messages delivered by mobile device in English or Spanish to help pregnant women and new parents through pregnancy and their baby's first year.

Keywords: Infant health, Advocacy, Child health, Health education, Maternal health, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Spanish language materials

National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH)

Annotation: The National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH) is the federal agency responsible for conducting research and making recommendations for the prevention of work-related injury and illness. NIOSH responds to inquiries from consumers for referrals and reference information and provides technical assistance for its research programs. Publications include an electronic newsletter, a science blog, and a variety of downloadable brochures and other documents (many materials are available in Spanish). The Institute also maintains a listserv and sponsors conferences, workshops, and training seminars.

Keywords: Occupational safety and health, Agricultural injuries, Data, Environmental exposure, Federal initiatives, Injury prevention, Prenatal care, Public education, Regulations, Reproductive hazards, Reproductive health, Resources for professionals, Women's health, Workplace health promotion

National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA)

Annotation: The National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA) responds to inquiries from the community, professionals, and the media. NIDA supports more than 85 percent of the world's research on the health aspects of drug abuse and addiction. The institute produces and distributes information based on its own drug abuse research, maintains statistics and information on drug exposed infants, and provides support and technical assistance for efforts to increase public and professional awareness of the relationship between drug abuse and AIDS. Some materials are available in Spanish. The Web site includes a section, NIDA for Teens, that is geared to adolescents ages 11 to 15. The institute also sponsors conferences, training seminars, and workshops and publishes a catalog and a newsletter. The website and publications are available in English and Spanish.

Keywords: Drug abuse, AIDS, Adolescents, Research, Spanish language materials, Spanish language website, Statistics, Substance abuse prevention, Substance dependance, Technical assistance

National Partnership for Women and Families, Childbirth Connection Programs

Annotation: Childbirth Connection was founded in 1918 as the Maternity Center Association; its mission is to improve the quality, value, and outcomes of maternity care through consumer engagement and health system transformation. The program promotes safe, effective, and satisfying evidence-based maternity care and serves as a voice for childbearing families. Childbirth Connection is a core program of the National Partnership for Women and Families.

Keywords: Birthing centers, Childbirth, Evidence based medicine, Family-centered maternity services, Prenatal care

National Partnership to Help Pregnant Smokers Quit

Annotation: The National Partnership to Help Pregnant Smokers Quit is a coalition of diverse organizations that have joined forces to increase the number of pregnant smokers who quit smoking. The partnership offers a broad range of resources for health care professionals, advocates, and consumers, including research findings, fact sheets, and cessation tips and techniques. Media campaigns, community outreach, and increased funding opportunities are among the strategic elements outlined in the coalition's Action Plan.

Keywords: Coalitions, Pregnancy counseling, Pregnant women, Prevention programs, Public awareness campaigns, Smoking cessation, Tobacco use, Women's health

National Perinatal Association (NPA)

Annotation: The National Perinatal Association (NPA) is a multidisciplinary membership organization concerned with perinatal health issues from preconception through infancy, within a multicultural perspective. The association works to foster optimal perinatal health and quality health care by promoting education, supporting research, influencing national priorities, and encouraging collaboration among all concerned constituencies, including health care providers and consumers. NPA sponsors conferences and training seminars, and publishes a newsletter. It provides a map of state perinatal associations and a list of these associations' conferences. It also has a database of support groups across the United States.

Keywords: Access to prenatal care, Patient education, Perinatal care, Preconception care, Prenatal care

National Perinatal Information Center / Quality Analytic Services (NPIC / QAS)

Annotation: NPIC/QAS is a non-profit organization which began in 1985 with a charter membership of major perinatal centers across the United States. NPIC/QAS has expertise in the analysis of large data sets, development of comparative benchmarking quality and utilization reports and evaluation of direct service programs. NPIC / QAS's mission is the improvement of reproductive and family health through comparative analysis, program evaluation, health services research and education.

Keywords: Medical research, Education, Perinatal care

National Pesticide Information Center (NPIC)

Annotation: The National Pesticide Information Center (NPIC) provides information on a variety of pesticide-related topics, including toxicology, health and environmental effects, pesticide product information, information on the recognition and management of pesticide poisonings, treferrals for laboratroy analyses, investigation of pesticide incidents, emergency treatment information, safety information, and clean-up and disposal procedures. NPIC provides a toll-free telephone service available to anyone in the United States, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands including the general public, the hearing impaired, Spanish speakers and medical, veterinary, and other health care professionals.

Keywords: Insecticides, Environmental exposures, Hotlines, Information services, Non English language materials, Spanish language materials, Teratogens, Teratology

National Women's Health Network (NWHN)

Annotation: The National Women's Health Network (NWHN) works to ensure that women's voices are heard and that their health priorities and concerns are taken seriously. NWHN educates people about health care; helps to create legislation to protect women's rights; and provides information on reproductive health and other topics of importance to women. The Network's advocacy campaigns focus on women’s access to affordable care; reliable information on the safety of drugs, devices, and services; and and women’s autonomy to make decisions about her sexual and reproductive health. Online resources include fact sheets, a bimonthly newsletter, a blog, and links to outside resources.

Keywords: AIDS, Abortion, Breast cancer, Cervical cancer, Contraception, HIV, Infertility, Occupational safety and health, Pregnancy, Reproductive technologies, Sexually Transmitted Diseases, Women's health

Native American Women's Health Education Resource Center

Annotation: The Native American Women's Health Education Resource Center works to improve the overall health and economic status of Native Americans, especially women. The center provides programs on domestic violence, diabetic nutrition, reproductive health, Fetal Alcohol Syndrome, AIDS education and counseling, adult learning, and child development. The center maintains a clearinghouse; provides educational materials, a women's health books, and a teen dating violence prevention curriculum; sponsors conferences, training seminars, and webinars; and hosts a radio talk show and a YouTube channel. Some materials are available in the Dakota language.

Keywords: American Indians, Health education, Minority Health, Minority groups, Non English language materials, Women's Health

New Parents Network (NPN)

Annotation: New Parents Network is a non-profit organization founded in 1988 to serve as an engine to gather and to disseminate local and general parenting information. NPN's mission is to help children by increasing the distribution of local and general parenting information to all, but especially to those most in need and hardest to reach. New Parents Network maintains an Internet site giving parenting information in English and Spanish in multi-media formats specifically geared towards providing public health nurses and hospital doctors and nurses with localized and universal parenting information. Services to consumers include referrals, reference information, and access to searchable databases.

Keywords: Child health, First time parents, Infant health, Maternity care, Parent education, Parenting, Postpartum care

Pacific Post Partum Support Society (PPPSS)

Annotation: The Pacific Post Partum Support Society offers support, referrals, and information for women and their families who are experiencing depression and/or anxiety during pregnancy or after the birth or adoption of a child. The society also works to promote public awareness of postpartum depression and its treatment. Publications include a newsletter, a book(Postpartum Depression and Anxiety: A Self-Help Guide for Mothers), and a training manual for those who want specific support information or are interested in facilitating a group. Some materials are available in Spanish, French, and Punjabi.

Keywords: Postpartum depression, Adoption, Anxiety, Childbirth, Health education, Health promotion, Pregnancy, Support groups

Postpartum Support, International (PSI)

Annotation: Postpartum Support, International (PSI) focuses on the mental health and social support needs of pregnant and postpartum women. The organization works to increase public and professional awareness of the emotional changes women often experience during pregnancy and after the birth of a baby. PSI provides referrals, reference information, and online resources for consumers, as well as training materials and tools for professionals. The organization also sponsors conferences, training seminars, and workshops. Materials are available in Spanish, French, German, and other languages.

Keywords: Postpartum depression

Pregnancy Risk Network

Annotation: The Pregnancy Risk Network is a telephone service that provides medical information to pregnant women and their health care providers on the possible risk of birth defects after prenatal exposure to medications, occupational exposures, alcohol, and other agents. This service is available Monday through Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. Calls received from outside the upstate New York area are answered on an as-available basis. Pregnancy Risk Network sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Teratology

Reproductive Toxicology Center (RTC)

Annotation: The Reproductive Toxicology Center (RTC), a nonprofit foundation, collects and disseminates information on the impact of drugs, chemical and physical agents, or other environmental factors on human fertility, pregnancy, and development. Unlimited access to the Reprotox database of fact sheets is available with an annual membership. Members can access Reprotox on the Internet at http://reprotox.org.

Keywords: Teratology, Drug use during pregnancy, Environmental exposures, Fertility, Information services, Nonprescription drugs, Prescription drugs, Radiation, Recreational drug use, Teratogens, Toxicology

Sidelines National Support Network (Sidelines)

Annotation: The Sidelines National Support Network is a nonprofit organization offering education, referral, support, and advocacy services to women with complicated pregnancies. Services include trained peer telephone and e-mail counselors, information and suggestions for families and friends, and support for families experiencing pregnancy complications. Publications include a national magazine and information packets on high-risk pregnancy. Some materials are available in Spanish, and some bilingual volunteers are available to help consumers. Sidelines sponsors training for volunteers.

Keywords: Bed rest, High risk pregnancy, Pregnancy complications, Support groups

Teratology Society

Annotation: The Teratology Society supports researchers in the emerging field of teratology through conferences, symposia, and publications. The Society produces Birth Defects Reserch (formerly known asTeratology), a monthly international journal of abnormal development. The Society offers education courses, symposia, and workshops during the annual meeting held in June each year.

Keywords: Teratology, Developmental disabilities, Teratogens

Through the Looking Glass (TLG)

Annotation: Through the Looking Glass (TLG) is a non-profit agency that provides services, training, materials, and research concerning families in which a child, parent or grandparent has a disability or medical issue. Direct services to local Bay Area families include in-home clinical intervention services, development of adaptive parenting equipment, parent support groups and other services geared to each family's unmet needs. Services provided at the national level include training, publications, scholarships, a parent blog, and a legal program that promotes justice and human rights for parents with disabilities and their children in child care custody cases.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Parenting, Pregnancy, Special health care needs, Women

Triplet Connection

Annotation: The Triplet Connection is a not-for-profit organization that assists families who are preparing for multiple births or raising multiple babies, particularly triplets, quadruplets and higher-order multiples. It provides referrals and distributes information on promoting healthy pregnancies and reducing risks, caring for multiple babies at home, and sharing feelings and concerns with other families raising multiple babies. The organization has an advisory board of obstetricians, perinatologists, obstetric nurses, dietitians, and family therapists. Services include a quarterly magazine and information packets, workshops, an annual convention, online forums, and two publications, Exceptional Pregnancies, A Survival Guide to Parents Expecting Twins and Exceptional Pregnancies, A Survival Guide to Parents Expecting Triplets or More.

Keywords: Child health, Health promotion, Information dissemination, Listservs, Multiple births, Parenting, Support groups, Triplets

Twin Services Consulting (TSC)

Annotation: Twin Services Consulting is a service provided by Patricia Malmstrom, founder and director of the former non-profit agency, Twin Services, Inc. (TSI). Twin Services Consulting (TSC) offers e-mail referral to national multiple birth resources and consultation regarding program development. Its Web site offers free parenting education materials about twin care and development.

Keywords: Child health, California, Childbirth, Educational materials, Multiple births, Pregnancy, Referrals, Support groups, Technical assistance, Training, Triplets, Twins

U.S. Center for Substance Abuse Prevention (CSAP)

Annotation: The Center for Substance Abuse Prevention (CSAP) works with federal, state, public, and private organizations to develop comprehensive prevention systems. CSAP provides national leadership in the development of policies, programs, and services to prevent the onset of illegal drug use, prescription drug misuse and abuse, alcohol misuse and abuse, and underage alcohol and tobacco use. CSAP also promotes effective substance abuse prevention practices that enable states, communities, and other organizations to apply prevention knowledge effectively.

Keywords: Substance abuse, Alcoholic beverages, Alcoholism, Drugs, High risk adolescents, Prevention programs, Self help clearinghouses

U.S. Department of Labor, Women's Bureau

Annotation: The Women's Bureau develops policies and standards and conducts inquiries to safeguard the interests of working women; to advocate for their equality and economic security for themselves and their families; and to promote quality work environments. The website provides data, statistics, publications, and resources such topics such as age, wages, and pregnancy discrimination, sexual harassment, women of color, the Family Medical Leave Act, employer sponsored child care, and eldercare programs.

Keywords: Child care, Family support programs, Working parents

U.S. Food and Nutrition Information Center (FNIC)

Annotation: The Food and Nutrition Information Center (FNIC) provides on-line global nutrition information. FNIC is one of several information centers located at the National Agricultural Library (NAL), part of the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Agricultural Research Service (ARS). FNIC staff provide information on food, human nutrition, and food safety. FNIC's 1800+ links to nutrition information and databases can be accessed from the FNIC Web site. The organization also produces subject-specific bibliographies called Resource Lists that are available online at: http://www.nal.usda.gov/fnic/pubs_and_db.html. Services to consumers include inquiry responses, publications, reference information, and searchable databases. Some materials are available in Spanish and other languages.

Keywords: Nutrition, Adolescent pregnancy, Child nutrition, Food service, Food technology, Information services, Spanish language materials, Young children

U.S. Food and Nutrition Service (FNS)

Annotation: The U.S. Department of Agriculture Food and Nutrition Service (FNS), formerly called Food and Consumer Service, responds to inquiries and provides information and publications on federal maternal and child nutrition programs, including the Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants and Children (WIC), Child Nutrition Programs, Food Stamp Program, and Commodity Supplemental Food Program (CSFP). Some materials are available in Spanish. FNS publishes a newsletter, sponsors conferences, training seminars, and workshops, and offers a variety of resources and information online, including links to related nutrition programs and access to e-mail discussion groups.

Keywords: Nutrition, Child nutrition programs, Commodity food supplemental programs, Conferences, Federal programs, Maternal nutrition programs, Public awareness campaigns, Publications, Spanish language materials, Supplemental food programs, Training, WIC program

U.S. Occupational Safety and Health Administration, Office of Information and Consumer Affairs (OSHA)

Annotation: Occupational Safety and Health Administration responds to inquires from consumers and professionals and prepares and distributes publications on a range of health and safety topics, including environmental exposures during pregnancy as they occur in the workplace. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. Materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Injury prevention, Occupational safety and health, Prenatal care, Workplace health promotion

Women's International Network (WIN)

Annotation: The Women's International Network (WIN) is a charitable organization that teaches about women's reproductive health and development worldwide. Publications include WIN News, a participatory quarterly journal and resource for women's development, and the Childbirth Picture Book Program (books and a flip chart in English, French, Arabic, Spanish, and other languages, including color slides).

Keywords: Childbirth, Reproductive health

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.