Skip Navigation

Strengthening the evidence for maternal and child health programs

Minority Health - Organizations

Minority Health

Annotated Lists of Organizations on Key Topics in Maternal and Child Health

This list of 39 organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations online database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library. To identify additional materials on this topic, search the Organizations database using our online search form.

The MCH Organizations Database lists government, professional, and voluntary organizations involved in maternal and child health activities, primarily at a national level. Information available to consumers is indicated where known.

Displaying 39 records.

American Indian Institute (AII)

Annotation: The American Indian Institute (AIII) was established in 1951 as a nonprofit American Indian service, training, and research organization. The institute provides assistance to American Indian, Alaska Native, and Canadian First Nation tribes and bands in the areas of health and wellness, education, culture and language preservation, tribal leadership, and business and economic development. The institute delivers its services through publications, references information, workshops, seminars, conferences, referrals, on-site consultation, and technical assistance on a state, regional, national, and international basis.

Keywords: American Indians, Education, Minority groups, Minority health, Research

Asian and Pacific Islander American Health Forum (APIAHF)

Annotation: The Asian and Pacific Islander American Health Forum (APIAHF) works to influence policy, mobilizes communities, and strengthens programs and organizations to improve the health of Asian Americans, Native Hawaiians, and Pacific Islanders. The forum advocates for accurate representation of the health needs of Asian and Pacific Islander communities; performs community sensitive research to better inform health policy makers and providers; forges coalitions for the development of national health policies and programs; empowers individuals and communities to pursue parity in health status, to ensure a multicultural and multilingual approach to health services delivery; and fosters strategic linkages to promote improvement in the health of Asian and Pacific Islander Americans. APIAHF sponsors conferences, maintains an online resource database, hosts listservs, and publishes public health alerts. Materials are available in Asian and Pacific Islander languages.

Keywords: Advocacy, Asian Americans, Minority groups, Pacific Islanders, Public health programs

Asian Pacific American Medical Students Association (APAMSA)

Annotation: The Asian Pacific American Medical Students Association (APAMSA) is a national organization that aims to address those issues important to Asian-American medical students. APAMSA works to bring together Asians and others interested in the health issues that affect Asians. The association is interested in promoting the health and well-being of the Asian community and in helping all health care workers who work with these communities understand how to care for the Asian patient in a culturally sensitive manner. APAMSA also provides a forum for APA medical students to meet, exchange information and experiences, and develop personally and professionally.

Keywords: Medical education, Medical students, Asian Americans, Minority health

ASPIRA Association

Annotation: ASPIRA Association is a national Hispanic leadership development organization that offers leadership and educational opportunities to Puerto Rican and other Latino adolescents. It sponsors a national health careers program that encourages Hispanic youth to prepare for careers in health-related fields, operates demonstration projects in Hispanic communities and has designed and implemented afterschool educational programs. Materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Adolescents, Child care, Hispanic Americans, Minority groups, Outreach

Association of American Indian Physicians (AAIP)

Annotation: The Association of American Indian Physicians (AAIP) strives to improve the overall health of American Indian and Alaskan Native Communities through a variety of programs that directly address widely acknowledged health disparities. AAIP hosts educational forums, workshops, and conferences in different regions throughout the year and strives to motivate American Indian and Alaskan Native students to remain in the academic pipeline and to pursue a career in the health professions.

Keywords: American Indians, Minority groups

Association of Asian Pacific Community Health Organizations (AAPCHO)

Annotation: The Association of Asian Pacific Community Health Organizations (AAPCHO) is a not-for-profit national association representing community health organizations that serve Asian Americans, Native Hawaiians, and oher Pacific Islanders in the United States (particularly those who are medically underserved). The organization works to promote advocacy, collaboration, and leadership and to provide community responsive, financially affordable, and culturally appropriate primary health care services through member community health clinics. AAPCHO's resources and services range from translated health education materials for patients, to maps detailing areas with medically underserved AAPIs, to listservs that electronically link individuals from across the country. Materials are available in Asian languages.

Keywords: Asian Americans, Minority groups, Minority health promotion, Minority health, Access to health care, Information dissemination, Pacific Islanders

Black Community Crusade for Children (BCCC)

Annotation: The Black Community Crusade for Children (BCCC), coordinated by the Children's Defense Fund, works to mobilize the African American community on behalf of children and families. The organization promotes local, state, and national initiatives and policies that ensure a healthy start for every child and that support efforts to revitalize communities. Activities include public education campaigns, leadership training programs, and the dissemination of data, information, and research findings in print and multimedia formats. News updates, BCCC publications, and resources are available on the website.

Keywords: Blacks, Leadership training, Minority health

Black Women's Health Imperative (Imperative)

Annotation: The Black Women's Health Imperative seeks to improve the health and wellness of Black women by providing health resources and information, community health and wellness education, promoting advocacy and health policies, and interpreting and issuing reports on relevant research about the health status of America's Black women. Topics of interest include access to care, breast and cervical cancer, diabetes, HIV/AIDS, heart disease, obesity, and reproductive health. The website includes women's health news and healthy living resources, including publications, podcasts, videos, and a blog.

Keywords: Public health programs, Blacks, Developing countries, Health promotion, Information services, Minority groups, Women's health

California Pan-Ethnic Health Network (CPEHN)

Annotation: The California Pan-Ethnic Health Network (CPEHN) works to eliminate health disparities by advocating for public policies and sufficient resources to address the health needs of all communities of color in the state of California. The network consists of four organizations representing different ethnic groups—the California Black Health Network, Asian & Pacific Islander American Health Forum, The California Rural Indian Health Board, Inc. and the Latino Coalition for a Healthy California. CPEHN's website provides access to policy briefs, webinars, race and ethnicity data, and a multicultural health library.

Keywords: Advocacy, California, Health care reform, Minority groups, State organizations

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Office of Minority Health and Health Equity (CDC OMHHE)

Annotation: CDC;s Office of Minority Health and Health Equity (formerly the Office of Minority Health and Health Disparities) aims to accelerate CDC’s health impact in the U.S population and to eliminate health disparities for vulnerable populations as defined by race/ethnicity, socio-economic status, geography, gender, age, disability status, risk status related to sex and gender, and among other populations identified as at-risk for health disparities.

Keywords: Minority health, Federal agencies, Health policy, Health programs, Information services, Minority groups, Technical assistance

EthnoMed

Annotation: EthnoMed is an ethnic medicine website related to cross-cultural and refuge health topics, including health screening, cultural competence, breastfeeding, domestic violence, mental health, nutrition, oral health, women's health, and infant/child care The website contains information about cultural beliefs, medical issues, and related topics pertinent to the health care of immigrants to the United States, many of whom are refugees fleeing war-torn parts of the world.

Keywords: Cultural competence, Immigrants, Minority health, Non English language materials, Patient education materials, Refugees, Resources for professionals

First Nations Behavioral Health Association (FNBHA)

Annotation: First Nations Behavioral Health Association (FNBHA) was established to provide an organization for Native American indigenous people to advocate for the mental well being of native peoples by increasing the knowledge and awareness of issues impacting Native mental health. The purpose of FNBHA is to provide national leadership to all groups, institutions, and individuals that plan, provide, and access Native American behavioral health services. The association maintains an online resource library.

Keywords: Advocacy, American Indians, Health education, Library services, Mental health, Minority groups

Inter-University Program for Latino Research (IUPLR)

Annotation: The Inter-University Program for Latino Research (IUPLR) is a national consortium of Latino research centers based at major universities across the United States. The primary objectives of IUPLR are to expand the pool of scholars and leaders, strengthen the capacity of Latino research centers, and facilitate the availability of policy-relevant, Latino-focused research. IUPLR offers training programs, sponsors interdisciplinary research, and creates links between scholars, policy experts, public officials, and community advocates.

Keywords: Hispanic Americans, Minority health, Puerto Ricans

Joint Center for Political and Economic Studies

Annotation: The Joint Center for Political and Economic Studies, a nonpartisan, nonprofit institution founded in 1970, contributes to the nation's major public policy debates through research, analysis, and information dissemination in order to: improve the socioeconomic status of black Americans and other minorities; expand their effective participation in the political and public policy arenas; and promote communications and relationships across racial and ethnic lines to strengthen the nation's pluralistic society.

Keywords: Minority health, Blacks, Public policies, Socioeconomic factors

Latino Medical Students Association

Annotation: The Latino Medical Students Association (LMSA) strives to promote the recruitment, retention, academic success and support of Latinos in health profession careers that will help improve the delivery of health care services to Latinos and other medically underserved populations. The association promotes the development of a communication network for Latino medical and other health care students; fosters students' interests in improving health care for underserved communities; and offers educational enrichment programs for the recruitment of Latino medical school applicants. LMSA sponsors an annual conference and publishes an annual journal and a quarterly newsletter.

Keywords: Medical students, Hispanic Americans , Medical education, Minority health, Underserved communities

Migrant Clinicians Network (MCN)

Annotation: The Migrant Clinicians Network (MCN) engages in research, develops appropriate resources, advocates for migrants and clinicians, engages outside partners, and runs programs that support clinical care on the frontline of migrant health. The website provides resources on a variety of topics including children's health, family violence, immunizations, oral health, and women's health. A resource database includes downloadable resources as well as links on a wide variety of primary care issues, including links to other organizations, patient education tools, clinical guidelines, MCN program materials, multilingual resources, research guidelines, a toolbox of best practices, and more.

Keywords: Community health centers, Migrants, Minority groups

National Alliance for Hispanic Health (NAHH)

Annotation: The National Alliance for Hispanic Health (NAHH) is a network of Hispanic health and human service providers that focuses on improving the health and well being of Hispanics. The alliance maintains the National Hispanic Family Health Helpline (866-783-2645) which offers Hispanic consumers free reliable and confidential health information in Spanish and English.Services to consumers includes referrals to local sources of information and medical services, inquiry responses, publications, and reference information.

Keywords: Hispanic Americans, Adolescent health, Child abuse, Child health, Education, Information services, Injury prevention, Minority health, Minority health promotion, Resources for professionals, Spanish language materials, Substance abuse, Training

National Alliance of Black School Educators (NABSE)

Annotation: The National Alliance of Black School Educators (NABSE) is a professional organization that helps educators and administrators to improve educational programs for African American youth. Members include school administrators, education associations, institutions of higher education, and students. The alliance provides legislation and policy initiatives, sponsors an annual conference, and publishes a journal.

Keywords: Adolescents, Blacks, Education, Minority groups, Professional training, Youth

National Asian Women's Health Organization (NAWHO)

National Association of Black Social Workers (NABSW)

Annotation: The National Association of Black Social Workers (NABSW) is committed to enhancing the quality of life and empowering people of African ancestry through advocacy, human services delivery, and research. The association appoints task forces to study topics such as family preservation, health and wellness, social justice and civil liberty; family preservation; health wellness; and youth development. NABSW publishes position papers exploring the preservation of families; domestic violence; welfare reform; and kinship care. The association also sponsors an annual conference.

Keywords: Social workers, Blacks, Minority groups, Professional societies

National Association of Hispanic Nurses (NAHN)

Annotation: The National Association of Hispanic Nurses (NAHN) works to improve the health and nursing care of Hispanic consumers and toward providing equal access to educational, professional, and economic opportunities for Hispanic nurses. The association provides a forum for nurses to explore, research, and evaluate the health care needs of the Hispanic community; identifies barriers to the delivery of health services to Hispanic consumers; and recommends appropriate solutions to local, state, and federal agencies. NAHN also disseminates research findings; develops, tests and promotes culturally sensitive models of intervention; collaborates with (and provides assistance to) other Hispanic health care professionals; and works toward recruitment and retention of Hispanic nurses. The association offers scholarships and wards, sponsors an annual conference, and publishes a journal and a quarterly newsletter.

Keywords: Community health services, Minority groups, Nurses

National Black Child Development Institute (NBCDI)

Annotation: The National Black Child Development Institute (NBCDI) works to improve the quality of life for African-American children and their families through direct services, public education, leadership training, and research. NBCDI focuses primarily on issues and services that fall within the areas of health, child welfare, education, and child care/early childhood education. The organization monitors public policy issues that affect African American children, strengthens and promotes cross-cultural partnerships, and educates the public through publications, conferences, and other public education forums. NBCDI is supported by a nationwide network of affiliate chapters.

Keywords: Blacks, Child care, Health promotion, Minority groups

National Black Nurses Association (NBNA)

Annotation: The National Black Nurses Association (NBNA) is a professional support and advocacy group for the black community and its need for equitable health care access and quality. The association recruits and assists blacks interested in pursuing nursing careers and offers scholarships to student nurses. Members include registered nurses, licensed practical nurses, licensed vocational nurses, and student nurses. Publications include a newsletter and journal. The association sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Advocacy, Support groups, Blacks, Community health services, Minority groups, Nurses, Women's health

National Council of La Raza (NCLR)

Annotation: The National Council of La Raza (NCLR) is a civil rights and advocacy organization that works to improve the lives of Hispanic Americans, including their access to health care, education, financial independence, and home ownership. NCLR's activities include public policy analysis; applied research; health education; advocacy to influence policies and program that equitably address the needs of the Hispanic community; and public information efforts that present accurate, positive images of Hispanic Americans. The council sponsors conferences and training seminars,; publishes issue briefs, fact sheets, and reports; and provides referrals to consumers. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Minority groups, Advocacy, Health promotion, Hispanic Americans, Information services, Mexican-Americans, Public policies

National Council of Negro Women (NCNW)

Annotation: The National Council for Negro Women (NCNW) is a council of domestic and international organizations and individuals interested in issues that affect African-American women. The council encourages the development and participation of African-American women in society and sponsors programs on family health care, obesity, adolescent pregnancy prevention, and education, among others.

Keywords: Minority groups, Adolescents pregnancy, Blacks, Child care, Health services, Minority Health, Women health

National Hispanic Medical Association (NHMA)

Annotation: the National Hispanic Medical Association (NHMA) in a non profit association addressing the interests and concerns of licensed Hispanic physicians in the United States. NHMA provides policymakers and health care providers with information and support in strengthening health service delivery to Hispanic communities across the nation. The association hosts conferences, offers leadership programs and initiatives;,and provides access to online information and resources for health professionals and patients. NHMA also participates in an obesity and diabetes initiative in partnership with the Office of Minority Health, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

Keywords: Professional societies, Hispanic Americans, Medical education, Physicians, Spanish language materials

National Indian Health Board (NIHB)

Annotation: The National Indian Health Board (NIHB) is a nonprofit organization that advocates on behalf of tribal governments and and American Indians/Alaska Natives in their efforts to provide quality health care. NIHB provides a variety of services to tribes, tribal organizations, area health boards, federal agencies, and provide foundations, including policy analysis and formation, training and technical assistance programs, communication with tribes, legislative tracking, program development, and project management. The Board publishes a variety of electronic newsletters and hosts health summits and conferences.

Keywords: Health promotion, Minority groups, Native Americans

National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities (NCMHD)

Annotation: The National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities (NIMHD), a part of the National Institutes of Health, promotes minority health; conducts and supports research, training, and research infrastructure; fosters emerging programs; disseminates information; and reaches out to minority and other health disparity communities. Priorities for the institute are the social determinants of health, patient-centered outcomes research; faith-based approaches to health disparities; and improving the participation of health disparity populations in clinical trials.

Keywords: Access to health care, Ethnic factors, Federal grants, Government programs, Health promotion, Information dissemination, Minority health, Model programs, Racial discrimination, Racial factors, Research, Sociocultural factors

National Latino Alliance for the Elimination of Domestic Violence

Annotation: The National Latino Alliance for the Elimination of Domestic Violence (Alianza) is part of a national effort to address the domestic violence needs and concerns of Latino communities and other underserved population. The alliance' work to promote understanding, initiate and sustain dialogue, and generate solutions that move toward the elimination of domestic violence affecting underserved populations. Services include training and technical assistance, research, community education and development, and policy development. Alianza publications include brochures, fact sheets, informational booklets, manuals, positions papers, a national directory, and an annotated bibliography of literature on the topic of domestic violence in Latino/Latina communities.

Keywords: Culturally competent services, Domestic violence, Hispanic Americans, Prevention programs, Spanish language materials

National Medical Association (NMA)

Annotation: The National Medical Association (NMA) represents the interests of physicians and patients of African descent. NMA publications include consensus panel reports and a peer reviewed journal. The association also sponsors conferences on regional, state, local, and national levels that address health issues affecting Blacks and other underserved communities. Outreach programs and public health campaigns have focused on AIDS, breastfeeding, Diabetes, SIDS, immunization, Lupus, and other health-related topics.

Keywords: Blacks, Minority health, Physicians, Professional societies

National Minority AIDS Council (NMAC)

Annotation: The National Minority AIDS Council (NMAC) was founded in 1987 to develop leadership within communities of color to address the challenges of HIV/AIDS. NMAC has developed programs aimed at enhancing the skills necessary to confront this health crisis, including a public policy education program, national and regional training conferences, a treatment research program and numerous publications. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: AIDS, Minority groups, Public policies

National Puerto Rican Coalition (NPRC)

Annotation: The National Puerto Rican Coalition (NPRC) works to strengthen and enhance the soecial, political, and economic well-being of Puerto Ricans throughout the United States. NPRC sponsors conferences and training seminars, hosts a blog, and publishes an electronic newsletter. Materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Minority groups, Minority Health, Puerto Ricans

National Urban League (NUL)

Annotation: The National Urban League (NUL) is a civil rights and social welfare organization whose mission is to eliminate racial segregation and discrimination in the United States and to achieve parity for African Americans and other minorities in every phase of American life. NUL works to eliminate institutional racism and to provide direct services to minorities in the areas of employment, housing, education, social welfare, health, family planning, mental retardation, law and consumer affairs, youth and student affairs, labor affairs, veterans' affairs, and community and minority business development.

Keywords: Blacks, Injury prevention, Minority health, Racial discrimination, Racism, Access to health care, Urban population

Native American Women's Health Education Resource Center

Annotation: The Native American Women's Health Education Resource Center works to improve the overall health and economic status of Native Americans, especially women. The center provides programs on domestic violence, diabetic nutrition, reproductive health, Fetal Alcohol Syndrome, AIDS education and counseling, adult learning, and child development. The center maintains a clearinghouse; provides educational materials, a women's health books, and a teen dating violence prevention curriculum; sponsors conferences, training seminars, and webinars; and hosts a radio talk show and a YouTube channel. Some materials are available in the Dakota language.

Keywords: American Indians, Health education, Minority Health, Minority groups, Non English language materials, Women's Health

U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)

Annotation: The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) supports research designed to improve the quality of health care, reduce its cost, and broaden access to essential services. AHRQ supports the National Guideline Clearinghouse, a public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines; the National Quality Measures Clearinghouse, a public resource for evidence-based quality measures and measure sets; the Patient Safety Network, a collection of patient safety news, literature, tools, and resources; and the Effective Health Care Program, a collection of research centers working to provide evidence on health care interventions.

Keywords: Health care delivery, Safety, Clearinghouses, Clinical medicine, Foreign language materials, Guidelines, Health disparities , Health policy, Medical technology, Patient care management, Program evaluation, Referrals, Research, Research, Service delivery, Spanish language materials, State Children's Health Insurance Program, Training, Treatment outcomes

U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, Office of Minority Health

Annotation: The U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration's Office of Minority Health (OMH) is dedicated to improving the health of racial and ethnic minority populations through the development of health policies and programs that will help eliminate health disparities. OMH provides leadership agency-wide for programs and activities that address the health needs of racial and ethnic minority populations to eliminate disparities, while improving health status. The Office (1) promotes the collection of health data by racial, ethnic, and primary language categories and strengthens infrastructures for data collection, reporting, and sharing; (2) works to increase awareness of the major health problems of racial and ethnic minorities and factors that influence health; (3) establishes and strengthens networks, coalitions, and partnerships to identify and solve health problems; (4) develops and promotes policies, programs, and practices to eliminate health disparities and achieve health equity; (5) fosters research, demonstrations, scientific investigations, and evaluations aimed at improving health; and (6) funds demonstration programs that can inform health policy and the effectiveness of strategies for improving health. The office provides information, minority health literature, research, and referrals through its OMH Resource Center

Keywords: Federal government, Minority health

U.S. Indian Health Service (IHS)

Annotation: The Indian Health Service (IHS) is responsible for providing federal health services to American Indians and Alaska Natives. The IHS provides a comprehensive health service delivery system for American Indians and Alaska Natives who belong to federally recognized tribes. The Web site provides an A-to-Z guide to IHS divisions, programs, tools, and health topics, along with information on IHS staff, area offices and facilities, jobs and student opportunities, initiatives and collaborations, legal and policy issues, training opportunities, conferences and events, and councils and workgroups. Information on medical programs, information technology, jobs and student opportunities, support (non-Medical) programs, and area offices and facilities is also provided.

Keywords: Access to health care, Alaska Natives, American Indians, Contract services, Federal agencies, Health promotion, Online databases, Preventive health services, Work force

U.S. Office of Minority Health Resource Center (OMHRC)

Annotation: The Office of Minority Health Resource Center (OMHRC) serves as a repository of information on health issues specific to African Americans, American Indians and Alaska Natives, Asian Americans, Hispanic Americans, Native Hawaiians, and Pacific Islanders. The resource center collects and distributes information on a wide variety of health topics, including cardiovascular disease and stroke, diabetes, homicide, suicide, unintentional injuries, HIV/AIDS, infant mortality, and substance abuse. OMHRC offers customized responses to telephone, e-mail and mail inquiries. The resource center can provide database searches, funding searches, and current data and statistics on a variety of health conditions and issues affecting racial and ethnic minorities. The center also disseminates targeted publications, and provides referrals to local, state and national organizations.

Keywords: Minority groups, AIDS, Access to health care, Asian Americans, Blacks, Cancer, Cardiovascular diseases, Diabetes, Ethnic groups, Hispanic Americans, Homicide, Infant mortality, Information sources, Injury prevention, Minority health, Native Americans, Pacific Islanders, Publications, Spanish language materials, Substance dependence, Suicide, Violence prevention

University of Pittsburgh Graduate School of Public Health, Center for Health Equity (CHE)

Annotation: The Center for Health Equity (formerly the Center for Minority Health) at the University of Pittsburgh Graduate School of Public Health aims to understand and reduce health disparities in underserved populations, particularly in western Pennsylvania. Through community engagement, research, education, and training, the center focuses on reducing the major causes of high mortality in the region.

Keywords: Arizona, Ethnic groups, Minority health

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.