Skip Navigation

Strengthening the evidence for maternal and child health programs

Maternal Morbidity and Mortality - Organizations

Maternal Morbidity and Mortality

Annotated Lists of Organizations on Key Topics in Maternal and Child Health

This list of 17 organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations online database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library. To identify additional materials on this topic, search the Organizations database using our online search form.

The MCH Organizations Database lists government, professional, and voluntary organizations involved in maternal and child health activities, primarily at a national level. Information available to consumers is indicated where known.

Displaying 17 records.

American College of Nurse-Midwives (ACNM)

Annotation: The American College of Nurse-Midwives (ACNM) is the professional organization for nurse-midwives in the United States. It works to improve services for mothers and babies in cooperation with other allied groups. The organization publishes the Journal of Nurse-Midwifery and Women's Health and provides a list of accredited, university-affiliated nurse-midwifery education programs. Information is available in Spanish, French, and Asian languages, and ACNM sponsors an annual conference. ACNM also provides a Web site for consumers called mymidwife.org.

Keywords: Nurse midwives, Childbirth, Conferences, Ethics, Family planning, Foreign language materials, Labor, Postpartum care, Prenatal care, Professional societies, Publications, Reproductive health, Standards

American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG)

Annotation: The American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG) provides educational materials on pregnancy, birth, contraception, reproductive health, and women's issues such as violence against women, smoking cessation, and underserved women. Members and invited experts serve on various ACOG committees focusing on adolescent health care, gynecologic practice, obstetrics, American Indian affairs, and other topics. Statistics from a variety of resources are posted on the Web site, along with guides to selected internet resources on topics such as vaccines, cultural competency, adolescent/pediatric health, pregnancy, sexuality, and smoking cessation. Services to consumers include inquiry responses and publications. A resource catalog is also available. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Prenatal care, American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, Childbirth, Contraception, Domestic violence, Gynecology, Legislation, Obstetrics, Pregnancy, Professional education, Professional ethics, Professional societies, Publications, Reproductive health, Women's health

American Public Health Association (APHA)

Annotation: The American Public Health Association (APHA) is the oldest and largest organization of public health professionals in the world, representing members from a broad array of occupations in public health. APHA brings together researchers, health service providers, administrators, teachers, and other health workers in a multidisciplinary environment of professional exchange, study, and action. APHA is concerned with a broad set of issues affecting personal and environmental health, including federal and state funding for health programs, pollution control, programs and policies related to chronic and infectious diseases, a smoke-free society, and professional education in public health. The association actively serves the public, its members, and the public health profession through its scientific programs, publications, annual meeting, awards program, educational service, and advocacy efforts. Its Web site includes a wide variety of resources, including the Community Solutions to Health Disparities database. Publications include the monthly American Journal of Public Health, manuals, directories, books, pamphlets, and a newspaper, The Nation's Health. Services to consumers include referrals, reference information, and access to searchable databases.

Keywords: Public health, Access to health care, Community programs, Consumer education, Environmental health, Guidelines, Health promotion, Information sources, Mental health, Minority health, Model programs, Professional societies, Program evaluation, Publications, Standards

Centering Corporation

Annotation: The Centering Corporation provides grief literature, videotapes, workshops and referrals. The Centering Corporation offers literature through their publications catalog on a number of topics including premature infants, adoption, miscarriage, newborn and child death, and death of a parent. Some materials are available in Spanish. The organization also sponsors workshops and conferences, publishes a magazine, Grief Digest, and provides materials for children.

Keywords: Bereavement, Fetal death, Grief, Perinatal bereavement, Pregnancy loss, Premature infants, Spontaneous abortion

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)

Annotation: The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), a part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is the primary Federal agency responsible for conducting and supporting public health activities in the United States, including the prevention and control of infectious and chronic disease. The primary goals of the agency are to reduce health risks during every stage of life; spearhead efforts to improve global health; ensure that the places people live, work, and play have safe, healthy environments; and prepare for emerging health threats from mental health to environmental health. The Public Inquiries Office responds to inquiries in the areas of preventive medicine, immunization, disease control, and health education. The Web site covers a wide range of health & safety topics, including diseases & conditions, emergency preparedness, environmental health, life stages & populations, healthy living, injury and violence; travelers' health, and workplace health and safety. Also included are links to data and statistics, online access to CDC's journals and other publications; and tools & resources such as an image library, podcasts, and a Body Mass Index (BMI) calculator. A Spanish-language version of the Web site is available, and some materials are available in Spanish, French, Asian languages and other languages. CDC also sponsors conferences, training seminars and workshops.

Keywords: Preventive health services, Adolescents, Data analysis, Data collection, Disease prevention, Environmental health, Federal agencies, Guidelines, Health education, Health promotion, Immunization, Listservs, Nutrition, Occupational safety and health, Online databases, Population surveillance, Publications, Safety, Spanish language materials, Spanish language website, Standards, Technical assistance, Training

Guttmacher Institute ( )

Annotation: The Guttmacher Institute is a nonprofit corporation for research, policy analysis, and public education in the field of reproductive health. Services to consumers include publications and reference information. The institute publishes Perspectives on Sexual and Reproductive Health, International Family Planning Perspectives, The Guttmacher Policy Review, fact sheets, briefing papers, and special reports. A publications catalog is available. Some materials are available in Spanish, French, Asian, and other languages. The institute also has a list service, accessible through its Web site. The International Data Center allows users to build, download, and print custom tables, graphs, and maps using information from countries and regions.

Keywords: Pregnancy, Adolescent pregnancy, Data, Family planning, Foreign language materials, Information services, Listservs, Medical research, Online systems, Policy analysis, Prenatal care, Public education, Publications, Reproductive health, Sexuality education

March of Dimes (MOD)

Annotation: The March of Dimes (MOD) works to prevent birth defects and infant mortality through research, education, and advocacy programs. MOD's Pregnancy and Newborn Health Education Center provides information and referral services for the general public and professionals on topics such as preconception health, pregnancy, childbirth, genetics, and birth defects. MOD also produces educational materials on these and other topics such as prematurity, baby care, adolescent pregnancy, folic acid, nursing, and bereavement. A publications catalog is available, and some materials are available in Spanish. Anyone can subscribe to MOD's free electronic newsletter. MOD also sponsors the Prematurity Research Initiative, which provides funding for research into the causes of prematurity, and has developed PeriStats -- an online source for maternal, infant, and child health-related data at the state level and for many indicators at the county and national level (available at http://peristats.modimes.org/). The website can be viewed in English and Spanish.

Keywords: Congenital abnormalities, Adolescent pregnancy, Advocacy, Childbirth education, Genetic disorders, Genetics education, Infant mortality, Information services, Medical research, Patient education, Prenatal care, Preterm birth, Professional education, Public awareness materials, Spanish language materials, Spanish language website

Merck for Mothers

Annotation: Merck for Mothers is a 10-year, $500 million initiative focused on creating a world where no woman dies giving life. Merck for Mothers works in more than 20 countries around the world, including the U.S.

Keywords: International health, Maternal mortality, Prevention programs

National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)

Annotation: The National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) is a national resource for vital statistics and health-related information and is part of the National Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. The center collects and disseminates data on major health and nutrition indicators affecting the population. Data are presented so that specific groups, such as children and adolescents, can be isolated. Publications include statistical reports and information on morbidity and mortality, use of health resources, nutritional status, and survey research.

Keywords: Health statistics, Data, Injury prevention, Nutrition, Public health, Publications, Research

Pan American Health Organization (PAHO)

Annotation: The Pan American Health Organization is an agency of the United Nations that works to promote health and prevent disease, to support country efforts to control or eradicate communicable diseases, to extend health services to underserved populations of its member countries, and to promote cooperation among governments in solving public health problems. The organization serves as the World Health Organization's regional office for the Americas. It sponsors conferences and seminars and publishes a catalog and a journal. Materials are available in Spanish, French, and Portuguese.

Keywords: Health education, Health promotion, International organizations

Planned Parenthood Federation of America (PPFA)

Annotation: The Planned Parenthood Federation of America (PPFA) is dedicated to the principle that every person has the fundamental right to choose whether or when to have children. The federation works to ensure access to sexuality education and family planning services. Planned Parenthood health centers offer sexual and reproductive health care, including family planning, gynecological care, STI/STD testing and treatment, pregnancy testing, and abortion services. Its Web site offers information on birth control, emergency contraception, abortion, pregnancy, sexually transmitted infections and diseases, gynecological exams, teens, and sexuality. The website provides an A-to-Z guide to health information and services, which can be viewed in English or Spanish.

Keywords: Family planning, Abortion, Adolescent pregnancy, Advocacy, Contraception, Health education, Internet, Online databases, Public awareness materials, Publications, Reproductive health, Reproductive rights, Sexuality education, Spanish language materials

Population Reference Bureau (PRB)

Annotation: The Population Reference Bureau (PRB) is a private, nonprofit organization that gathers, interprets, and disseminates information about population. The goal of the bureau is to increase awareness and understanding of population trends and their implications by presenting information that is reliable, unbiased, and up-to-date. Its audience includes legislators and public officials, teachers and students, the business community, and individuals with interest and concern about U.S. and world affairs. Publications include a catalog, a newsletter, a journal, and special reports. Materials are available in Spanish and French. The bureau also sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Demography, Developing countries, International health, Statistics, Trends

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health (OWH)

Annotation: The Office on Women's Health within the Department of Health and Human Services (OWH) was established in 1991 to improve the health of American women by advancing and coordinating a comprehensive women's health agenda throughout the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS). OWH activities and programs are focusing on two priority areas: (1) reducing racial and ethnic gaps in health care for women and (2) supporting culturally sensitive educational and communications initiatives that encourage women to take an increasing role in their own health and wellness. OWH maintains the National Women's Health Information Center (NWHIC) which provides health information and referrals to consumers of health care services, health professionals, researchers, educators, and students. Publications include brochures, fact sheets, reports, and a set of frequently asked questions (many in easy reading formats and all consumer materials in Spanish).

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Spanish language materials, Women's health

U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB)

Annotation: The Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB) is charged with primary responsibility for promoting and improving the health of our Nation's mothers and children. As part of the Health Resources and Services Administration, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, MCHB administers Title V of the Social Security Act. MCHB's mission is to provide national leadership and to work in partnership with States, communities, public-private partners, and families to strengthen the maternal and child infrastructure, assure the availability and use of medical homes, and build knowledge and human resources in order to assure continued improvement in the health, safety, and well-being of the maternal and child health population. MCHB administers major programs including the Maternal and Child Health Services Block Grant, the Healthy Start Initiative, the Emergency Medical Services for Children Program, Traumatic Brain Injury, and the Universal Newborn Hearing Screening Program. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. MCHB also provides a national hotline for prenatal care information.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Block grants, Brain injuries, Child health, Children with special health care needs, Emergency medical services for children, Federal agencies, Healthy Start, Hearing screening, Hotlines, Infant health, MCH programs, MCH services, Maternal health, Perinatal health, Title V programs

UNICEF, the United Nation's Children's Fund

Annotation: UNICEF, the United Nation's Children's Fund, works with others around the globe to overcome the obstacles caused by poverty, violence, disease, and discrimination. UNICEF promotes immunization, works to prevent the spread of HIV/Aids among young people, promotes girls' education and gender equality, and advocates for children. Information by country, contained on the Web site, includes basic health indicators such as mortality and life expectancy; efforts in advocacy, education, and fundraising; and guidelines for becoming involved. UNICEF's Innocenti Research Centre helps to identify and research areas that are vital to the current and future work of the organization. A publications catalog is available online. Interested individuals are invited to subscribe to receive electronic news alerts.

Keywords: Immunization, AIDS, Adolescents, Child advocacy, Child health, Developing countries, Fundraising, Gender discrimination, Health promotion, International health, Mortality, Preventive health services

United Nations Population Fund (UNFPA)

Annotation: The United Nations Population Fund (UNFPA) is an international source of funding for population and reproductive health programs that help women, men and young people plan their families and avoid unwanted pregnancies, undergo pregnancy and childbirth safely, avoid sexually transmitted infections(STIs), including HIV/AIDS, and combat violence against women. UNFPA also helps governments in the world's poorest countries and in other countries in need, to formulate population policies and strategies in support of sustainable development. UNFPA publications, exploring topics such as reproductive health, maternal mortality, gender equality and population and development strategies, can be downloaded from the Web site.

Keywords: Population dynamics, International health, Maternal health, AIDS, Funding, Gender discrimination, Health promotion, International development, Maternal mortality, Prevention, Preventive health services, Reproductive health, Sexuality education, advocacy

World Health Organization (WHO)

Annotation: The maternal and child health activities of the World Health Organization (WHO) are coordinated by the Department of Reproductive Health and Research. The Web side provides links to WHO projects, initiatives, activities, information products (including databases), and contacts, organized by health and developmental topic. In 2005 WHO initiated a Global Observatory for eHealth, which provides information and guidance on effective practices, policies, and standards in the use of information and communication technologies for health. WHO also provides a Global Health Library that points to resources around the world on many health topics.

Keywords: Computers, Overseas organization, Child health, Communication, Developing countries, Environmental health, Information networks, International health, Maternal health, Professional societies

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.