Skip Navigation

Strengthening the evidence for maternal and child health programs

Non-English Language Materials - Organizations

Non-English Language Materials

Annotated Lists of Organizations on Key Topics in Maternal and Child Health

This list of 71 organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations online database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library. To identify additional materials on this topic, search the Organizations database using our online search form.

The MCH Organizations Database lists government, professional, and voluntary organizations involved in maternal and child health activities, primarily at a national level. Information available to consumers is indicated where known.

Displaying 71 records.

Advocates for Youth (AFY)

Annotation: Advocates for Youth is dedicated to creating programs and advocating for policies that help young people make informed and responsible decisions about their reproductive and sexual health. Advocates provides information, training, and strategic assistance to youth-serving organizations, policy makers, youth activists, and the media in the United States and the developing world. Advocates publishes newsletters, as well as provider- and consumer-oriented publications on adolescent reproductive health. A publications catalog is available. Some materials are available in French, Spanish, and Portuguese.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescents, Decision making skills, Information sources, Life skills, Peer education, Programs, Publications, Reproductive health, Sexual behavior, Sexuality education, Spanish language materials, Women

American College of Nurse-Midwives (ACNM)

Annotation: The American College of Nurse-Midwives (ACNM) is the professional organization for nurse-midwives in the United States. It works to improve services for mothers and babies in cooperation with other allied groups. The organization publishes the Journal of Nurse-Midwifery and Women's Health and provides a list of accredited, university-affiliated nurse-midwifery education programs. Information is available in Spanish, French, and Asian languages, and ACNM sponsors an annual conference. ACNM also provides a Web site for consumers called mymidwife.org.

Keywords: Nurse midwives, Childbirth, Conferences, Ethics, Family planning, Foreign language materials, Labor, Postpartum care, Prenatal care, Professional societies, Publications, Reproductive health, Standards

Asian and Pacific Islander American Health Forum (APIAHF)

Annotation: The Asian and Pacific Islander American Health Forum (APIAHF) works to influence policy, mobilizes communities, and strengthens programs and organizations to improve the health of Asian Americans, Native Hawaiians, and Pacific Islanders. The forum advocates for accurate representation of the health needs of Asian and Pacific Islander communities; performs community sensitive research to better inform health policy makers and providers; forges coalitions for the development of national health policies and programs; empowers individuals and communities to pursue parity in health status, to ensure a multicultural and multilingual approach to health services delivery; and fosters strategic linkages to promote improvement in the health of Asian and Pacific Islander Americans. APIAHF sponsors conferences, maintains an online resource database, hosts listservs, and publishes public health alerts. Materials are available in Asian and Pacific Islander languages.

Keywords: Advocacy, Asian Americans, Minority groups, Pacific Islanders, Public health programs

Association of Asian Pacific Community Health Organizations (AAPCHO)

Annotation: The Association of Asian Pacific Community Health Organizations (AAPCHO) is a not-for-profit national association representing community health organizations that serve Asian Americans, Native Hawaiians, and oher Pacific Islanders in the United States (particularly those who are medically underserved). The organization works to promote advocacy, collaboration, and leadership and to provide community responsive, financially affordable, and culturally appropriate primary health care services through member community health clinics. AAPCHO's resources and services range from translated health education materials for patients, to maps detailing areas with medically underserved AAPIs, to listservs that electronically link individuals from across the country. Materials are available in Asian languages.

Keywords: Asian Americans, Minority groups, Minority health promotion, Minority health, Access to health care, Information dissemination, Pacific Islanders

Beach Center on Disability

Annotation: The Beach Center on Disability is a research and training center that focuses on families of people with disabilities. The center is funded in part by the National Institute on Disability and Rehabilitation Research, Office of Special Education and Rehabilitative Services, U.S. Department of Education, and by private endowments. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. The center publishes a catalog and newsletter and sponsors conferences and training seminars. Some materials are available in Spanish and Asian languages. The center's Web site provides lists of groups and organizations in each state.

Keywords: Family support, Children, Developmental disabilities, Family resource centers, Technology dependence

Boston Women's Health Book Collective (BWHBC)

Annotation: The Boston Women's Health Book Collective (also known as Our Bodies Ourselves) is a non-profit education, advocacy, and consulting organization. Its Women's Health Information Center maintains a resource directory of local and international feminist and women's health groups, offers links to health information via its Web site, publishes a newsletter, and has developed a Women and Health Thesaurus used in several libraries. Materials are available in Spanish, French, Chinese (Mandarin), and Vietnamese.

Keywords: Women, Disabilities, Women's health

Center for Injury Prevention Policy and Practice (CIPPP)

Annotation: The Center for Injury Prevention Policy & Practice (CIPPP) serves as a resource center for childhood injury prevention and is located within the Maternal and Child Health Division of the Graduate School of Public Health at San Diego University. The Center focuses on reducing child and adolescent injury, mortality, morbidity, and cost by facilitating increased capacity for childhood injury prevention at the state and local level. CIPPP hosts the Injury Prevention Web family of sites (see http://www.injuryprevention.org); provides a weekly update of injury research and prevention literature (see http://safetylit.org); provides technical assistance; conducts training workshops on injuries and prevention strategies; hosts an annual conference; and develops materials to assist government agencies, community organizations, and others with the development and implementation of injury prevention programs. Some materials are available in Spanish, Asian, and other languages.

Keywords: Injury prevention, Adolescent health, California, Child health, Data, Educational materials, Prevention programs, Program development, Research, Resources for professionals

Center for Oral Health (COH)

Annotation: The Center for Oral Health (COH) is a nonprofit, California-based organization, founded in 1985, dedicated to promoting public oral health, with a focus on children and vulnerable populations. Activities include elevating the importance of oral health among all populations, establishing a comprehensive dental public health infrastructure in California, advocating for policies and practices that improve oral health, eliminating barriers to care, and preventing disease. The website contains information on current oral health issues, programs, and legislation; news and events; products for public health dentistry; publications; and research. Topics include continuum of care, early intervention, fluoridation and fluoride varnish, health reform, needs assessment, oral health access, and school policy. It was formerly the Dental Health Foundation.

Keywords: Advocacy, California, Health promotion, Oral health, Public health infrastructure, Vulnerability, Young children

Center for Reproductive Rights ( )

Annotation: The Center for Reproductive Rights (formerely the Center for Reproductive Law and Policy) is an independent, non-profit legal organization dedicated to promoting women's reproductive health and rights. Through litigation, research, policy analysis, and public education, The center's domestic and international programs seek to ensure that all women have access to appropriate and freely chosen reproductive health services. Areas of concern include abortion laws, access to new contraceptives and reproductive technologies, availability of age-appropriate and non-biased sex education for minors, and the pregnant woman's rights to privacy and bodily integrity. Publications include a newsletter, Reproductive Freedom News, and a variety of reports and updates on relevant issues and court cases. Some materials are available in Spanish and French.

Keywords: Women's health, Reproductive rights

Center for the Improvement of Child Caring (CICC)

Annotation: The Center for the Improvement of Child Caring (CICC), a nonprofit organization founded in 1974, works to give parents the education and support they need, and to give the professionals who work with parents and children the latest continuing education to enable them to provide high quality parenting and child development services. CICC creates, evaluates, delivers and disseminates a variety of parenting skill-building programs that are taught in communities in the form of parenting classes, seminars and workshops. The Center delivers classes and seminars in these programs in Los Angeles and other cities throughout the United States, and it does this in cooperation with schools, childcare centers, Head Start agencies, hospitals, and civic, cultural religious and other local institutions. CICC offers a variety of books, videos, and other materials on parenting and child development issues and has an online methodology for parents and service providers to help determine whether children under five may have special needs (The CICC Discovery Tool).

Keywords: Child health, Parent education programs, Parent support services, Parenting

Center on Human Policy, Law, and Disabilities Studies

Annotation: The Center on Human Policy, Law, and Disabilities Studies is an advocacy and research organization that promotes the rights of people with disabilities to be fully included in community life. The Center provides parents, consumers, and professionals with information on costs of local services and resources for parents of children with disabilities, deinstitutionalization research, and other related issues. Through its funded projects, the Center provides referrals, reference information, and publications, including a resource catalog. Some materials are available in Spanish and French. The Center also sponsors conferences, training seminars, and workshops.

Keywords: Inclusion, Public policies, Special health care needs

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)

Annotation: The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), a part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is the primary Federal agency responsible for conducting and supporting public health activities in the United States, including the prevention and control of infectious and chronic disease. The primary goals of the agency are to reduce health risks during every stage of life; spearhead efforts to improve global health; ensure that the places people live, work, and play have safe, healthy environments; and prepare for emerging health threats from mental health to environmental health. The Public Inquiries Office responds to inquiries in the areas of preventive medicine, immunization, disease control, and health education. The Web site covers a wide range of health & safety topics, including diseases & conditions, emergency preparedness, environmental health, life stages & populations, healthy living, injury and violence; travelers' health, and workplace health and safety. Also included are links to data and statistics, online access to CDC's journals and other publications; and tools & resources such as an image library, podcasts, and a Body Mass Index (BMI) calculator. A Spanish-language version of the Web site is available, and some materials are available in Spanish, French, Asian languages and other languages. CDC also sponsors conferences, training seminars and workshops.

Keywords: Preventive health services, Adolescents, Data analysis, Data collection, Disease prevention, Environmental health, Federal agencies, Guidelines, Health education, Health promotion, Immunization, Listservs, Nutrition, Occupational safety and health, Online databases, Population surveillance, Publications, Safety, Spanish language materials, Spanish language website, Standards, Technical assistance, Training

Child Care Law Center (CCLC)

Annotation: The Child Care Law Center (CCLC) is a national non-profit legal services organization that focuses exclusively on complex legal issues concerning the establishment and provision of child care services. The Center's primary objective is to use legal tools to foster the development of quality, affordable child care programs. CCLC combines expert legal services with policy development, advocacy, training, and technical assistance education. The Center publishes a newsletter and sponsors workshops and training seminars. Referrals and publications are provided to consumers. Some materials are available in Spanish and Asian languages.

Keywords: Child care, Legal aid, Legal issues, Policy, Special health care needs

Children's Hospice International (CHI)

Annotation: Children's Hospice International (CHI) is a non-profit organization foundered in 1983 to promote hospice support through pediatric care facilities, to encourage the inclusion of children in existing and developing hospice and home care programs, and to include the hospice perspectives in all areas of pediatric care, education and the public arena. CHI provides referrals, inquiry responses and publications for consumers. The organizations produces and newsletter and also sponsors conferences.

Keywords: Bereavement, Grief, Hospice services, Terminally ill children

Couple to Couple League, International (CCL)

Annotation: The Couple to Couple League, International (CCL) is an interfaith, nonprofit organization that helps couples develop the art of natural family planning. The League teaches the symptothermal method (STM), in which measurements of the cervix, cervical mucus, and basal body temperature are cross-checked to determine fertility or infertility. Publications include a bimonthly newsletter, CCL Family Foundations, and CCL Manual: The Art of Natural Family Planning. Printed and online catalogs are available, and materials are available in Spanish, Slovak, Polish, and Russian. The organization also sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Natural family planning, Pregnancy, Contraception, Fertility, Infertility

Education Resources Information Center (ERIC)

Annotation: The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) is an internet-based digital library of education research and information sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. ERIC provides access to bibliographic records of journal and non-journal literature from 1966 to the present. ERIC also contains a growing collection of materials in Adobe PDF format. ERIC's mission is to provide a comprehensive, easy-to-use, searchable Internet-based bibliographic and full-text database of education research and information for educators, researchers, and the general public. Activities that fulfill the ERIC mission are broadly categorized as collection development, content authorizations and agreements, acquisitions and processing, database and website operations, and communications.

Keywords: Continuing education, Curricula, Education, Educational programs, Evaluation methods, Online databases, Professional education, Teachers

EngenderHealth ( )

Annotation: EngenderHealth is an international reproductive health organization working to improve the quality of health care in the world's poorest communities. EngenderHealth empowers people to make informed choices about contraception, trains health professionals to make motherhood safer, promotes gender equity, enhances the quality of HIV and AIDS services, and advocates for policy change. Publications and resources include training curricula, clinical guidelines, instructional videos, brochures, working papers, articles, and online information. The Maternal Health Task Force contributes to shaping collective efforts to improve maternal health worldwide.

Keywords: Contraception, Reproductive health, Sterilization, Vasectomy

Federation for Children with Special Needs (FCSN)

Georgetown University, Institute for Reproductive Health (IRH)

Annotation: The Institute for Reproductive Health, formerly the Institute for International Studies in Natural Family Planning, located at Georgetown University, conducts research and provides technical assistance on improving access to natural methods and expanding family planning options for women and couples worldwide. The Institute's work focuses on developing simple new natural methods, providing technical assistance to strengthen service provision, developing appropriate training programs and teaching aids, conducting clinical and operations research, and collaborating with international organizations. The Institute has developed the "Standard Days Method" (SDM) - a natural method of family planning developed for women with menstrual cycles between 26 and 32 days (described in the results of a clinical trial published in the May 2003 issue of the journal Contraception). The Institute provides referrals and maintains an online resource library. Some materials are available in French and Spanish.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Family planning, Family planning, Family planning education, Information services, Medical research, Natural family planning, Resource centers

Guttmacher Institute ( )

Annotation: The Guttmacher Institute is a nonprofit corporation for research, policy analysis, and public education in the field of reproductive health. Services to consumers include publications and reference information. The institute publishes Perspectives on Sexual and Reproductive Health, International Family Planning Perspectives, The Guttmacher Policy Review, fact sheets, briefing papers, and special reports. A publications catalog is available. Some materials are available in Spanish, French, Asian, and other languages. The institute also has a list service, accessible through its Web site. The International Data Center allows users to build, download, and print custom tables, graphs, and maps using information from countries and regions.

Keywords: Pregnancy, Adolescent pregnancy, Data, Family planning, Foreign language materials, Information services, Listservs, Medical research, Online systems, Policy analysis, Prenatal care, Public education, Publications, Reproductive health, Sexuality education

Harvard Law School, Program on Negotiation (PON)

Annotation: The Program on Negotiation at Harvard Law School is an applied research center committed to improving the theory and practice of negotiation and conflict resolution. The program strives to change the way people, organizations, and nations resolve their disputes. Activities include research and theory building; postgraduate education and training; development of teaching materials; and publication of a newsletter, a quarterly journal, books, and papers. A variety of materials are available from the Program Clearinghouse. Spanish and French materials may be obtained.

Keywords: Conflict resolution, Negotiation, Research

Health Information Translations

Annotation: This Web site provides health information in these languages: American Sign Language, Arabic, Bosnian, Chinese Simplified, Chinese Traditional, English, French, Hindi, Japanese, Korean, Marshallese, Portuguese Brazilian, Russian, Somali, Spanish, Tagalog, Ukrainian, and Vietnamese. Topics include disaster preparedness, diagnostic tests, diseases and conditions, exercise and rehabilitation, food and diet, general information, health and wellness, home care, pain and comfort, pediatrics, pregnancy and baby care, safety, stress and coping, and surgeries and treatments. It has been developed by nine Ohio-based and national health organizations.

Keywords: Asian language materials, Consumer health information, Non-English language materials, Spanish language materials

HMA Associates

Annotation: HMA Associates provides immunization and other public health messages to major media networks that serve the information needs of the Spanish-speaking public. These culturally relevant public service announcements are also available to local community-based organizations and health departments. Publications are also provided to consumers, and some materials are available in Asian languages, as well as Spanish. HMA Associates also sponsors conferences.

Keywords: Hispanic Americans, Immunization, Minority groups, Public service announcements

Hmong Health Education Network

Annotation: The Hmong Health Education Network provides access to health information for Hmong people and those who provide health, education, and social services to the Hmong community. The Network's bilingual Web site provides links to resources on preventive health care, cultural healing traditions, and family health topics such as asthma, mental health, and dental surgery. The project is funded by the National Library of Medicine and managed by the Northern Wisconsin Area Health Education Center (NAHEC). The network also provides an online discussion list.

Keywords: Asian language materials, Cultural competence, Cultural sensitivity, Foreign language materials, Health promotion, Hmong, Hmong people, Information sources, Listserves, Preventive health services, Publications

International Center for Research on Women (ICRW)

Annotation: Founded in 1976, the International Center for Research on Women (ICRW) is a private nonprofit organization dedicated to improving the lives of women in poverty, advancing women's equality and human rights, and contributing to broader economic and social well being. We accomplish this, in partnership with others, through research, capacity building, and advocacy on issues affecting women's economic, health, and social status in low- and middle-income countries. ICRW's advocacy agenda is driven by research; currently the center is focusing on three policy areas: Child Marriage, Gender and AIDS, and Millennium Development Goals. Services to consumers include referrals and publications (with materials available in Spanish and French). ICRW also sponsors seminars and publishes a newsletter and research reports.

Keywords: Women's health

International Childbirth Education Association (ICEA)

Annotation: The International Childbirth Education Association (ICEA) consists of groups and individuals interested in family-centered maternity and infant services. The association publishes a journal and pamphlets on topics relating to the childbearing years, certifies teachers, provides referrals, sponsors conventions and training seminars, and sells books and pamphlets on a wide range of topics, including pregnancy loss and bereavement. Some materials are available in Spanish, Asian languages and other languages. A catalog is available.

Keywords: Bereavement, Childbirth education, Family centered services, Pregnancy, Pregnancy loss

International Women's Health Coalition (IWHC)

Annotation: The International Women’s Health Coalition (IWHC) is a nonprofit organization that seeks to promote the health and rights of women and girls worldwide. Motivated by the belief that social and economic justice can only be achieved by ensuring women’s rights, IWHC’s work is focused on three main priorities: adolescent health and rights, access to safe abortion, and sexual rights for women and girls. IWHC provides sustained technical and financial support to non-governmental organizations in selected countries of Africa, Asia, and Latin America, helping them not only to provide services, but also to build networks for advocacy and support within and across borders. On an international level, IWHC mobilizes groups and individuals for participation in UN conferences related to women, children, and population, and seeks to promote global health initiatives beneficial to women and girls through collaboration with UN agencies such as the World Health Organization, the World Bank, and UNFPA. IWHC also produces multilingual articles, reports, fact sheets, bibliographies, and videos, and informs public debate through its web site, media involvement, and educational events for influential individuals.

Keywords: Advocacy, International organizations, Reproductive health, Women's health

Jewish Children's Adoption Network (JCAN)

Annotation: Jewish Children's Adoption Network works to find Jewish adoptive homes for Jewish children, primarily those with special needs. No-fee services include helping a birth family parent a child, locating resources for help with personal problems or coping with a child's limitations, helping an adoptive family find resources for adoption or parenting, helping families negotiate adoption subsidies, and helping biological and adoptive triad members in getting a search started. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. Oral information can be provided in Hebrew or Yiddish. JCAN publishes a newsletter and sponsors training seminars.

Keywords: Adoption, Children with special health care needs

Job Accommodation Network (JAN)

Annotation: The Job Accommodation Network (JAN) is an national information network and consulting resource for individuals with disabilities. The network provides information on compliance with the Americans With Disabilities Act and on the equipment and methods that have proven effective for a wide range of accommodations for employees and applicants with disabilities. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. The network offers a variety of publications, and materials are available in Spanish and alternative formats.

Keywords: Disabilities, Personnel,

Job Corps

Annotation: The Job Corps is a national training and employment program administered by the Department of Labor to address barriers to employment faced by disadvantaged youth ages 16-24 throughout the United States. The purpose of Job Corps is to assist young people who need and can benefit from an intensive program, operated primarily in the residential setting of a Job Corps center, to become more responsible, employable, and productive citizens. The program targets severely disadvantaged youth and provides total support, including basic education and vocational classes; dental, medical, mental health and vision care; social and recreational programs; counseling; and student leadership activities. Services to consumers include referrals, publications and reference information. Some materials are available in Spanish, and some Asian languages. The program publishes an annual report. The program also sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Adolescents, Education, Employment, Training

Kiwanis International, Young Children: Priority One

Annotation: Young Children: Priority One is a program of Kiwanis International that supports children ages 0–5 years in the areas of maternal and infant health, child care and development, parent education and support, and safety and pediatric trauma. Local clubs conduct projects on topics such as prenatal care, immunization, child care, and parenting. Some Kiwanis clubs provide services to consumers that include referrals, publications, and reference information. Some materials are available in Spanish, French, Italian and other languages. A catalog is available.

Keywords: Outreach, Public awareness, Public health

La Leche League International (LLLI)

Annotation: La Leche League International (LLLI) offers a variety of services for parents and professionals. Monthly support group meetings are available for pregnant women and nursing mothers and babies. A phone line, 800 LA LECHE, helps callers find ttheir local La Leche Leader who can answer questions and provide meeting information. International conferences, lactation specialist workshops, physicians' seminars, and area conferences are available. Products include books, pamphlets, nursing supplies, gifts, and more. All or parts of the website have been translated into Chinese, Dutch, French, German, Hebrew, Japanese, Italian, Russian, Spanish, Turkish, and Ukrainian. Membership is available to mothers, families, and health professionals. The Center for Breastfeeding Information (CBI) provides research help on lactation topics. Peer counselor training is available and independent study modules for at-home professional learning. Subscriptions to member publications are available as well. LLLI's Web site provides information about services and contact information for groups all over the world.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Infant nutrition, Lactation, Mothers, Spanish language materials

Lamaze International

Annotation: The mission of Lamaze International is to promote, support and protect normal birth through education and advocacy. The organization’s vision is “a world of confident women choosing normal birth”. Lamaze International offers free educational information on normal birth on its Web site, including: (1) easy to read, evidenced-based information on the six care practices that support normal birth at the Lamaze Institute for Normal Birth web site link.; (2) recommended books on pregnancy, birth and early parenting; (3) tips for a healthy pregnancy and normal birth; and (4) information on birth networks developing in many communities. Consumers can locate an Lamaze Certified Childbirth Educator (LCCE) or a Lamaze Approved Provider in their area using the online locator service or by calling the administrative office at (800) 368-4404. The Lamaze Certification Program is accredited by the National Commission for Certifying Agencies (NCCA), the accrediting body of the National Organization for Competency Assurance (NOCA). Lamaze International provides referrals, inquiry responses, publications, reference information, and searchable databases to consumers; some materialis available in Spanish, Chinese and Korean. The organization publishes a newsletter and a journal, and offers conferences, training seminars, workshops, and other activities.

Keywords: Asian language materials, Childbirth education, Lamaze method, Pregnancy, Spanish language materials

National Center for Fathering

Annotation: National Center for Fathering (NCF) seeks to inspire and equip men to be better fathers through seminars and small groups. It provides fathering resources through its newsletter and web page. NCF provides direct father training and resources as well as train-the-trainer seminars and resources for those who work with dads. Materials are available in Spanish and Asian languages.

Keywords: Fathers

National Center for Immunization and Respiratory Diseases (NCIRD)

National Center for Missing and Exploited Children (NCMEC)

Annotation: The National Center for Missing and Exploited Children (NCMEC) provides professionals and the public with information and publications concerning missing children, child molestation, child pornography, and child prostitution. The center sponsors a hotline to assist the public in reporting missing and exploited children and in providing information leading to the location of these children. The center also maintains national statistics and information on the incidence of abductions; conducts a training and technical assistance programs; and provides news bulletins, fact sheets, and other resources for parents and guardians, childcare providers, law enforcement officers, and the media. Materials are available in Spanish, Asian languages, and other languages.

Keywords: Intentional injuries, Assault, Child abuse, Child pornography, Child sexual abuse, Family violence, Homicide, Information services, Injury prevention, Missing children, Public education

National Center for Victims of Crime (NCVC)

Annotation: The National Center for Victims of Crime (NCVC) is a nonprofit organization that works to promote the rights and needs of victims of a crime and to educate the public about the devastating effect crime has on society. Training activities and programs developed and executed by the Center include the Stalking Resource Center, which provides training, technical assistance, and information for professionals working with and responding to stalking victims and offenders; the DNA Resource Center, which is a source for training, technical assistance, and information about the use of DNA in the criminal justice system; and a youth initiative, which builds the nation's capacity to support youth victims while working to advance their rights and to ensure youth leadership on issues that affect youth. The center also hosts national conferences and maintains a library of online resource materials.

Keywords: Advocacy, Crime, Technical assistance, Victims

National Council on Patient Information and Education (NCPIE)

Annotation: The National Council on Patient Information and Education (NCPIE) is a nonprofit coalition of organizations working to stimulate and improve communication on the appropriate use of medicines to consumers and health care professionals. The Council provides materials in Spanish and Asian languages, publishes a catalog and a newsletter, and sponsors conferences.

Keywords: Drug education, Medicine, Prescription drugs

National Fire Protection Association (NFPA)

Annotation: The National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) is a nonprofit organization dedicated to reducing the worldwide burden of fire and other hazards on the quality of life. The association produces fire and life safety publications for sale to the general public. Some materials are available in Spanish and French. NFPA publishes curriculum materials for classroom use including the Learn Not to Burn Curriculum, teaching fire and burn safety for preschool through grade eight, and Risk Watch, a curriculum designed to teach unintential injury prevention for preschool through grade eight. A catalog of materials and implementation tools for Risk Watch can be found on NFPA's Web site.

Keywords: Fire prevention, Safety

National Health Law Program (NHeLP)

Annotation: The National Health Law Program (NHeLP) is a national support center that provides technical assistance to advocates of low-income adults, minorities, the elderly, and people with disabilities. Attorneys provide expertise on Medicaid, managed care, EPSDT, rights of AIDS patients, insuring the uninsured, maternal and infant care access, and state and local government responsibility for care. Many of NHeLP's publications can be downloaded free of charge from the Web site. Services for consumers include referrals, reference information, and publications. Materials are available in Spanish and some Asian languages. NHeLP also maintains a consumer-oriented Web site, http://www.healthcarecoach.com, which provides information on keeping health care costs down, dealing with health insurance issues, and numerous health care issues. The program also has offices in Los Angeles, California (main office) and in Chapel Hill, North Carolina.

Keywords: EPSDT, Legislation, Managed care, Medicaid, Medicare, Public policies

National Health Law Program (NHeLP)

Annotation: The National Health Law Program (NHeLP) is a national support center that provides technical assistance to advocates of low-income adults, minorities, the elderly, and people with disabilities. Attorneys provide expertise on Medicaid, managed care, EPSDT, rights of AIDS patients, insuring the uninsured, maternal and infant care access, and state and local government responsibility for care. Many of NHeLP's publications can be downloaded free of charge from the Web site. Services for consumers include referrals, reference information, and publications. Materials are available in Spanish and some Asian languages. NHeLP also maintains a consumer-oriented Web site, http://www.healthcarecoach.com, which provides information on keeping health care costs down, dealing with health insurance issues, and numerous health care issues. The program also has offices in Chapel Hill, North Carolina and in Washington, DC.

Keywords: EPSDT, Legislation, Managed care, Medicaid, Medicare, Public policies

National Health Law Program, North Carolina Office (NHeLP)

Annotation: The National Health Law Program (NHeLP) is a national support center that provides technical assistance to advocates of low-income adults, minorities, the elderly, and people with disabilities. Attorneys provide expertise on Medicaid, managed care, EPSDT, rights of AIDS patients, insuring the uninsured, maternal and infant care access, and state and local government responsibility for care. Many of NHeLP's publications can be downloaded free of charge from the Web site. Services for consumers include referrals, reference information, and publications. Materials are available in Spanish and some Asian languages. NHeLP also maintains a consumer-oriented Web site, http://www.healthcarecoach.com, which provides information on keeping health care costs down, dealing with health insurance issues, and numerous health care issues. The program also has offices in Los Angeles, California (main office) and in Washington, DC.

Keywords: EPSDT, Legislation, Managed care, Medicaid, Medicare, Public policies

National Health Resource Center on Domestic Violence

Annotation: The National Health Resource Center on Domestic Violence focuses on strengthening health care response to domestic violence. The Center provides resources, training materials, and technical assistance to health care professionals, domestic violence experts, survivors, and policy makers at all levels. The center provides an online toolkit for health care providers and DV advocates to prepare a clinical practice to address domestic and sexual violence, including screening instruments, sample scripts for providers, patient and provider educational resources. The Center also hosts national conferences and produces an e-bulletin, an online materials index, and a webinar series. Materials are available in Spanish, Asian, and other languages.

Keywords: Asian language materials, Domestic violence, Foreign language materials, Information services, Injury prevention, Spanish language materials, Women's health

National Healthy Mothers, Healthy Babies Coalition (HMHB)

Annotation: The National Healthy Mothers, Healthy Babies Coalition (HMHB) improves the health and safety of mothers, infants, and families through education and collaborative partnerships of public and private organizations. Enhanced by a network of state and local coalitions, HMHB creates partnerships among community groups, nonprofit organizations, professional associations, businesses, and government agencies. Products include a weekly newsletter; educational materials on family planning, pregnancy, and parenting; Q &A articles with various authorities on health; and a maternal and child health webinar series. HMHB also sponsors the national public awareness campaigns Healthy Beginnings for Babies and text4baby -- free weekly messages delivered by mobile device in English or Spanish to help pregnant women and new parents through pregnancy and their baby's first year.

Keywords: Infant health, Advocacy, Child health, Health education, Maternal health, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Spanish language materials

National Information Center on Health Services Research and Health Care Technology (NICHSR)

Annotation: The National Information Center on Health Services Research and Health Care Technology (NICHSR) at National Library of Medicine (NLM) coordinates NLM's activities in health services research (HSR) by improving access to HSR results, including practice guidelines and technology assessments; by improving access to data and other information needed by the creators of HSR; and by contributing to the information infrastructure needed to foster computer-based patient record systems. The HealthSTAR (Health Services, Technology, Administration, and Research) database contains references to the published literature of health services research. The HSRProj (Health Services Research Projects in Progress) database contains data on research in progress, before results are available in published form. HSTAT (Health Services Technology Assessment Text) provides free electronic access to the full text of clinical practice guidelines, technology assessments, and related documents. Services to consumers include referrals, publications and reference information. Some materials available in Spanish, French, Asian and other languages.

Keywords: Health services, Information dissemination, Research

National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center (OHRC)

Annotation: The National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center (OHRC) responds to the needs of health professionals, program administrators, educators, policymakers, and others working in states and communities to address current and emerging public oral health issues with the goal of improving oral health services for infants, children, and adolescents, including those with special health care needs. The OHRC Web site contains distance learning curricula, fact and tip sheets, resource bulletins, resource guides, and practice guidelines on a variety of oral health issues. The center is funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau.

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Infants, National MCH resource center, Oral health, Resource centers

New York State Genetic Services Program and Newborn Screening Program ( )

Annotation: New York State Genetic Services Program and Newborn Screening Program coordinates state grants to comprehensive and noncategorical clinical genetics units throughout the state. This assures that all residents of the state can access genetic diagnosis, testing, counseling and treatment regardless of their social, economic, or geographic circumstances. The state newborn screening program tests all newborns born in New York State for 40 congenital diseases and HIV. Program follow-up assures that all children identified by the program are properly referred to specialty care centers. These centers are approved by New York state to provide quality medical care to all children identified by the program. Educational materials are available in Spanish, French, Chinese, and other languages.

Keywords: Regional genetics networks, Genetic counseling, Genetic services, Genetics, Health education, Medical research, New York, Spanish language materials, Virgin islands

Operation Lifesaver (OLI)

Annotation: Operation Lifesaver is a non-profit, international, public education program, begun in 1972, to reduce the number of crashes, deaths, and injuries at highway-rail grade crossings and on railroad rights-of-way. Operation Lifesaver coordinators are located in every state and the District of Columbia. There also are Operation Lifesaver programs in Canada, Mexico, England, Argentina and Estonia. Operation Lifesaver's trained and certified volunteer speakers are available to provide free safety presentations for people of all professions and age groups to help them make safe decisions around tracks and trains. Services to consumers include referrals to safety speakers, safety publications, and safety speaker training. Materials are available in Spanish and French. For more information and to find newsletters and conference schedules, visit www.oli.org.

Keywords: Drivers, Injury prevention, Pedestrian safety, Railroads, Traffic safety

PACER Center

Annotation: The PACER Center is a parent training and information center for families of children and youth with all disabilities from birth through 21 years old. Located in Minneapolis, PACER provides information, support, workshops, and referrals to families and professionals in Minnesota and across the country. The organization sponsors conferences, produces a variety of publications (with some materials available in Spanish and Asian languages), and develops and develops specialized websites. PACER’s National Bullying Prevention Center provides resources designed to benefit all students, including those with disabilities.

Keywords: Assistive devices, Affective disorders, Behavior disorders, Children, Disabilities, Family resource centers, Mainstreaming, Parent education, Parenting, Parents, Special education, Supported employment, Training, Transitions, Young children

Pacific Post Partum Support Society (PPPSS)

Annotation: The Pacific Post Partum Support Society offers support, referrals, and information for women and their families who are experiencing depression and/or anxiety during pregnancy or after the birth or adoption of a child. The society also works to promote public awareness of postpartum depression and its treatment. Publications include a newsletter, a book(Postpartum Depression and Anxiety: A Self-Help Guide for Mothers), and a training manual for those who want specific support information or are interested in facilitating a group. Some materials are available in Spanish, French, and Punjabi.

Keywords: Postpartum depression, Adoption, Anxiety, Childbirth, Health education, Health promotion, Pregnancy, Support groups

Parent Educational Advocacy Training Center (PEATC)

Annotation: The Parent Educational Advocacy Training Center (PEATC) is an independent nonprofit organization that provides training programs, information, referrals, and consultation services for parents of children with special educational needs in Virginia. Training program sponsors include state departments of education, local education agencies, community mental health and mental retardation services boards, private schools, and disability interest groups. Publications include Negotiating the Special Education Maze: A Guide for Parents and Teachers, Beginning with Families 3rd Edition, A Parent's Guide to Early Intervention Services, Managed Care Maze? What About the Children (video), Infusing Cultural Competence in Early Childhood Programs , A Challenge for Teen Parents: video and guide books, Fostering Health in the Foster Care Maze: video and guide books and The PEATC Press, a quarterly newsletter. Some materials are available in Spanish. The center receives funding from the Office of Special Education and Rehabilitative Services, U.S. Department of Education.

Keywords: Special education, Advocacy, Children with special health care needs, Education, Individualized education programs, PL 94-142, Referrals, Training

Parents Helping Parents (PHP)

Annotation: Parents Helping Parents (PHP) is a nonprofit, family resource center that benefits children with special needs. This includes children of all ages (birth through life) and all backgrounds who have a need for special services due to any special need, including but not limited to illness, cancer, accidents, birth defects, neurological conditions, premature birth, learning or physical disabilities, mental health issues, and attention deficit (hyperactivity) disorder. PHP's mission is to help children with special needs receive the resources, love, hope, respect, health care, education, and other services they need to reach their full potential by providing them with strong families, dedicated professionals, and responsive systems to serve them. PHP provides assistive technology services through its iTech Center, hosts an online resource directory, and maintains the PHP Community Disability Library, which includes an online catalog.

Keywords: Disabilities, Children with special health care needs, Family resource centers, Health educaton, Learning disabilities, Mental disorders, Parent groups, Parents, Siblings, Spanish language materials, Support groups

Park Ridge Center for the Study of Health, Faith, and Ethics (PRC)

Annotation: The Park Ridge Center for the Study of Health, Faith, and Ethics is an independent not-for-profit organization supported by grants, foundations, and private and corporate contributors. The center explores the relationship between religious beliefs and health-related issues in collaboration with representatives from diverse cultures, religious communities, health care fields, and academic disciplines. Services provided to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. Some materials are available in Spanish, French, and Asian languages. The center also publishes a bulletin and a catalog and sponsors workshops.

Keywords: Bioethics, Ethics, Faith, Health, Information services, Religion, Religious organizations

Peace Education Foundation (PEF)

Population Reference Bureau (PRB)

Annotation: The Population Reference Bureau (PRB) is a private, nonprofit organization that gathers, interprets, and disseminates information about population. The goal of the bureau is to increase awareness and understanding of population trends and their implications by presenting information that is reliable, unbiased, and up-to-date. Its audience includes legislators and public officials, teachers and students, the business community, and individuals with interest and concern about U.S. and world affairs. Publications include a catalog, a newsletter, a journal, and special reports. Materials are available in Spanish and French. The bureau also sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Demography, Developing countries, International health, Statistics, Trends

Postpartum Support, International (PSI)

Annotation: Postpartum Support, International (PSI) focuses on the mental health and social support needs of pregnant and postpartum women. The organization works to increase public and professional awareness of the emotional changes women often experience during pregnancy and after the birth of a baby. PSI provides referrals, reference information, and online resources for consumers, as well as training materials and tools for professionals. The organization also sponsors conferences, training seminars, and workshops. Materials are available in Spanish, French, German, and other languages.

Keywords: Postpartum depression

Rehabilitation International (RI)

Annotation: Rehabilitation International is a federation of 185 organizations in 85 countries whose programs assist people with disabilities. The federation works to prevent disability and offers support for rehabilitation and community integration of people with disabilities. Some materials are available in Spanish, French, and Arabic. The organization publishes a newsletter, catalog and journal and sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: Rehabilitation, Disabilities, Support groups

Resolve Through Sharing Bereavement Services (RTS)

Annotation: Resolve Through Sharing (RTS), also operated with the name Bereavement Services, is a comprehensive approach to caring for families whose babies have died during pregnancy or shortly after birth. RTS provides workshops and training, videos, and other educational materials. A free catalog is available that explains the program's history, support materials, and bereavement education programs. Some materials are available in French and Spanish.

Keywords: Fetal death, Grief, Perinatal bereavement, Perinatal mortality, Pregnancy loss, Spontaneous abortion

SafetyBeltSafe U.S.A. (SBS USA)

Annotation: SafetyBeltSafe U.S.A. (SBS USA) is a national nonprofit organization that works to reduce the number of passengers, especially children, killed or injured as motor vehicle occupants. As a national resource center, the organization provides program and technical consultation, technical training, a speakers' bureau, and an audiovisual library. Other activities include the Safe Ride Helpline and a special annual event, Safety Seat Checkup Week. The Web site provides technically accurate material for both parents and professionals and offers subscription to a list service. Publications include a bimonthly newsletter,SafetyBeltSafe News, training materials, public information pieces, and other documents covering various aspects of child passenger safety. Some materials are available in other languages, including Spanish, Armenian, Asian languages, Farsi, and Russian.

Keywords: Occupant protection, Car seats, Injury prevention, Listservs, Seat belts

Save the Children (SC/US)

Annotation: Save the Children Federation/US (SC/US) is a nonprofit, nonsectarian organization with a mission to make lasting, positive change in the lives of children in need, both in the United States and abroad. SC/US's core development philosophy stresses the importance of engaging community members in problem analysis, action planning, and concerted community and family efforts to address the variety of obstacles inhibiting the successful development of children and society, working through these program areas: child protection, education, health and nutrition, HIV/AIDS, and livelihoods. Services to consumers include publications and reference information. Some materials are provided in Spanish, French and Asian languages. The organization also sponsors training seminars.

Keywords: Child health, Developing countries

Special Olympics (SO)

Annotation: Special Olympics (SO) is an international organization that promotes understanding, acceptance, and inclusion between people with and without intellectual disabilities through year-round sports training and athletic competition and other related programming. SO provides children and adults with intellectual disabilities continuing opportunities to realize their potential, develop physical fitness, demonstrate courage, and experience joy and friendship. Resources include research reports, an e-newsletter, a fellowship program, and schools and youth outreach. SO also offers free health screenings and health information at local, regional, and World Games. SO's Project Unify is a school-based initiative in the United States that focuses on social inclusion, bringing youth with and without intellectual disabilities together through sports and related activities.

Keywords: Physical fitness, Children with special health care needs, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Developmental disabilities, Inclusive schools, Information services, Mental retardation, School health programs, Sports

STAND! Against Domestic Violence

Annotation: STAND! Against Domestic Violence, (formerly the Battered Women's Alternatives) serves battered women and their families and strives to eliminate domestic violence and help families flourish. The organization provides technical assistance and resources to other programs across the country and offers referrals, reference information, and other services to battered women, their children, and abusive partners. Some of the services offered include legal assistance, family/couples counseling, employment assistance, transitional housing, emergency shelter, and treatment for abusive men. Publications include a newsletter, and resources are available in Spanish and some Asian languages. The organization also sponsors training seminars.

Keywords: Battered women, Domestic violence, Technical assistance, Violence prevention

ThinkFirst National Injury Prevention Foundation (ThinkFirst)

Annotation: ThinkFirst National Injury Prevention Foundation works to prevent brain, spinal cord, and other traumatic injuries through education, research, and advocacy. The foundation offers theory-based, evidence-based injury prevention programs for children, adolescents, and young adults; presentations through a chapter network; injury prevention facts; educational materials and resources; training for physicians and other health professionals; and speaker, volunteer, and support opportunities.

Keywords: Advocacy, Brain injuries, Child safety, Educational materials, Injury prevention, Multimedia, Prevention programs, Research, Resources for professionals, Spinal cord injuries, Traffic safety, Training

U.S Pharmacopeia (USP)

Annotation: The United States Pharmacopeia (USP), formerly the United States Pharmacopeial Convention, is a non-government nonprofit organization that promotes the public health by establishing standards to ensure the quality of medicines and other health care technologies. These standards are developed by a unique process of public involvement and are recognized worldwide. USP has three additional public health programs focusing on promoting optimal health care, including the Dietary Supplement Verification Program (DSVP), Health Care Information, and Patient Safety. USP also conducts verification programs for dietary supplement ingredients and products. These programs involve independent testing and review to verify ingredient and product integrity, purity, and potency for manufacturers who choose to participate. USP publishes a catalog (some materials are available in Spanish) and sponsors conferences.

Keywords: Pharmaceutical societies

U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)

Annotation: The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) supports research designed to improve the quality of health care, reduce its cost, and broaden access to essential services. AHRQ supports the National Guideline Clearinghouse, a public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines; the National Quality Measures Clearinghouse, a public resource for evidence-based quality measures and measure sets; the Patient Safety Network, a collection of patient safety news, literature, tools, and resources; and the Effective Health Care Program, a collection of research centers working to provide evidence on health care interventions.

Keywords: Health care delivery, Safety, Clearinghouses, Clinical medicine, Foreign language materials, Guidelines, Health disparities , Health policy, Medical technology, Patient care management, Program evaluation, Referrals, Research, Research, Service delivery, Spanish language materials, State Children's Health Insurance Program, Training, Treatment outcomes

U.S. Department of Justice, Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention (OJJDP)

Annotation: The Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention (OJJDP), a component of the Office of Justice Programs, U.S. Department of Justice, collaborates with professionals from diverse disciplines to improve juvenile justice policies and practices. OJJDP supports states, local communities, and tribal jurisdictions in their efforts to develop and implement effective programs for juveniles. The Office strives to strengthen the juvenile justice system's efforts to protect public safety, hold offenders accountable, and provide services that address the needs of youth and their families. Through its components, OJJDP sponsors research, program, and training initiatives; develops priorities and goals and sets policies to guide federal juvenile justice issues; disseminates information about juvenile justice issues; and awards funds to states to support local programming.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent parents, Homeless persons, Information services, Injury prevention, Juvenile delinquency, Runaways, School dropouts, Spanish language materials, Substance abuse, Violence prevention

U.S. Expanded Food and Nutrition Education Program (USDA)

Annotation: The Expanded Food and Nutrition Education Program (EFNEP) is a federally funded nutrition education program designed to assist low-income families and youth acquire the knowledge, skills, attitudes, and changed behaviors necessary for nutritionally sound diets and to contribute to their personal development and the improvement of total family diet and nutritional welfare. Extension professionals train and supervise paraprofessionals and volunteers who then teach food and nutrition information and skills to the participants. All nutrition education is tailored to the needs, interests, financial resources, ethnic backgrounds, and learning capabilities of EFNEP participants. Publications are available for consumers, and materials are available in Spanish, Asian languages, and other languages.

Keywords: Nutrition, Adolescent health, Diet, Education programs, Food handling, Health education, Infants, Low income groups, Maternal nutrition, Training

U.S. Office of Adolescent Health, Teen Pregnancy Prevention Program

Annotation: The Office of Adolescent Health (OAH) Teen Pregnancy Prevention (TPP) grant program is an evidence-based initiative to reduce adolescent pregnancy, HIV and other sexually transmitted diseases, and risky sexual behavior among adolescents by working in concert with closely aligned programs supported by other federal agencies. OAH funds replications of program models from the U.S. Health and Human Services Teen Pregnancy Prevention Evidence Review. OAH also funds TPP research and demonstration programs and provides funds for the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention to implement and test community-wide approaches to TPP.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent pregnancy, Contraception, Dating, Delayed childbearing, Demonstration programs, Federal grants, Financial support, Health behavior, Prevention programs, Program development, Program evaluation, Program planning, Reproductive health, Research, Risk taking, Sexual health, Sexually transmitted diseases

U.S. Office of Minority Health Resource Center (OMHRC)

Annotation: The Office of Minority Health Resource Center (OMHRC) serves as a repository of information on health issues specific to African Americans, American Indians and Alaska Natives, Asian Americans, Hispanic Americans, Native Hawaiians, and Pacific Islanders. The resource center collects and distributes information on a wide variety of health topics, including cardiovascular disease and stroke, diabetes, homicide, suicide, unintentional injuries, HIV/AIDS, infant mortality, and substance abuse. OMHRC offers customized responses to telephone, e-mail and mail inquiries. The resource center can provide database searches, funding searches, and current data and statistics on a variety of health conditions and issues affecting racial and ethnic minorities. The center also disseminates targeted publications, and provides referrals to local, state and national organizations.

Keywords: Minority groups, AIDS, Access to health care, Asian Americans, Blacks, Cancer, Cardiovascular diseases, Diabetes, Ethnic groups, Hispanic Americans, Homicide, Infant mortality, Information sources, Injury prevention, Minority health, Native Americans, Pacific Islanders, Publications, Spanish language materials, Substance dependence, Suicide, Violence prevention

VSA ( )

Annotation: VSA arts is an international nonprofit organization founded in 1974 by Jean Kennedy Smith to promote education and lifelong learning opportunities in the arts for people with disabilities. Through a worldwide affiliate network, nearly 5 million people participate in VSA arts programming annually. VSA arts programs in music, dance, drama, creative writing, and the visual arts develop learning skills, encourage independence, and promote access and inclusion. VSA provides referrals, publishes a newsletter, and sponsors training seminars.

Keywords: Art, CSHN programs, Education, Mental retardation

Women's International Network (WIN)

Annotation: The Women's International Network (WIN) is a charitable organization that teaches about women's reproductive health and development worldwide. Publications include WIN News, a participatory quarterly journal and resource for women's development, and the Childbirth Picture Book Program (books and a flip chart in English, French, Arabic, Spanish, and other languages, including color slides).

Keywords: Childbirth, Reproductive health

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.