Skip Navigation

Strengthening the evidence for maternal and child health programs

AIDS/HIV - Organizations

AIDS/HIV

Annotated Lists of Organizations on Key Topics in Maternal and Child Health

This list of 27 organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations online database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library. To identify additional materials on this topic, search the Organizations database using our online search form.

The MCH Organizations Database lists government, professional, and voluntary organizations involved in maternal and child health activities, primarily at a national level. Information available to consumers is indicated where known.

Displaying 27 records.

AIDS Alliance for Children, Youth and Families

Annotation: The AIDS Alliance for Children, Youth, and Families, founded in 1994 as the AIDS Policy Center for Children, Youth and Families, is a national organization focused on the needs of children, youth, and families living with, affected by, or at risk for HIV and AIDS. Since its founding, the organization has been an advocate for children, youth, and families affected by HIV/AIDS. While continuing with policy analysis and advocacy activities, the organization has expanded its mission to include education and training for consumers and providers. The organization offers local and national training, technical assistance, and publications.

Keywords: AIDS, Advocacy, Children, Education, Families, HIV, Listservs, Training, Youth

AIDSinfo

Annotation: AIDSinfo, formerly the AIDS Clinical Trials and Treatment Information Service, is a central resource for current information on federally and privately funded clinical trials for AIDS patients and others infected with HIV. AIDSinfo is a service of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. AIDS clinical trials evaluate experimental drugs and other therapies for adults and children at all stages of HIV infection -- from patients who are HIV positive with no symptoms to those with various symptoms of AIDS. As the main dissemination point for federally approved HIV treatment and prevention guidelines, AIDSinfo provides information about the current treatment regimens for HIV infection and AIDS-related illnesses, including the prevention of HIV transmission from occupational exposure and mother-to-child transmission during pregnancy. The website can be viewed in English or Spanish.

Keywords: AIDS, AIDS related complex , HIV, Spanish language materials

American Foundation for AIDS Research (AmfAR)

Annotation: The American Foundation for AIDS Research (amfAR), founded in 1985, is an independent nonprofit organization dedicated to supporting AIDS research, AIDS prevention and treatment education initiatives, and advocacy for sound AIDS-related public policy. The public policy program is currently engaged in efforts to secure necessary increases in funding for HIV/AIDS research, including vaccine and microbicide research; implement a comprehensive national prevention strategy, including repeal of the current ban on federal funding for syringe exchange programs; expand access to care and treatment; and protect the civil rights of all people affected by HIV/AIDS. amfAR has awarded grants to research teams worldwide. It is funded by voluntary contributions from individuals, foundation, and corporations. The foundation publishes the twice-yearly amfAR Global Link, a comprehensive source of information on HIV/AIDS treatments and clinical trials, available in paperback and in an online interactive database format at amfAR's Web site. amfAR also sponsors conferences, seminars, and "think tanks." Materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: AIDS, AIDS related complex , Foundations, HIV

Evaluation Center for HIV and Oral Health (ECHO)

Annotation: The Evaluation Center for HIV and Oral Health (ECHO) develops and implements models of oral health care designed to increase access to quality oral health services serving HIV-positive and underserved populations in both urban and rural settings nationally. Activities include technical assistance, evaluation, research, and dissemination. The website contains information on projects, a newsletter, events, webcasts, and other resources.

Keywords: Access to health care, Evaluation, HIV infected patients, Information dissemination, Oral health, Research, Technical assistance

FIMR/HIV Prevention Methodology National Resource Center

Annotation: The FIMR/HIV Prevention Methodology National Resource Center aims to support the improvement of local perinatal HIV systems. The resource center offers information, training, and expert guidance to communities currently implementing, or interested in implementing, the fetal and infant mortality (FIMR) case review and community action process known as the FIMR/HIV Prevention Methodology Protocol.

Keywords: Case assessment, Community action, Disease prevention, HIV, Infant mortality, Perinatal influences, Resource centers

Health Initiatives for Youth (HIFY)

Annotation: Health Initiatives for Youth (HIFY) provides training, technical assistance, and informational resources to health and social service providers who work with youth. It publishes Bridges, a quarterly newsletter for organizations and individuals who work with HIV-affected youth; the Adolescent Providers Guide, a directory of youth services in San Francisco; Reality, a quarterly magazine by and for HIV-positive youth; and a health guide for young women. It also sponsors comprehensive network of services for HIV-affected youth in San Francisco. Publications and referrals are also available to consumers.

Keywords: AIDS, Adolescent health, HIV

Hemophilia and AIDS/HIV Network for the Dissemination of Information (HANDI)

Annotation: The Hemophilia and AIDS/HIV Network for the Dissemination of Information (HANDI) is a resource center of the National Hemophilia Foundation. Handi maintains a comprehensive resource collection of educational materials on hemophilia and AIDS/HIV. Areas of emphasis are HIV risk reduction (including outreach and strategies for promoting and maintaining behavioral change in people at risk), living with hemophilia and AIDS/HIV, treatments for HIV infection, and finance and reimbursement issues. Publications include HANDI Resource Update, HIV Treatment Information Exchange, and various bibliographies, resource packets, and fact sheets. Publications are available in Spanish.

Keywords: Hemophilia, AIDS, Educational materials, HIV, HIV infected patients, Information dessimination, Outreach

HIV.gov

Mother, Child & Adolescent HIV Program

Annotation: The UCSD Mother-Child-Adolescent HIV Program provides a comprehensive multidisciplinary approach to HIV disease in women, pregnant women, children, and adolescents. The program provides perinatal HIV consultation, comprehensive obstetric care, infant screening, comprehensive HIV care for women, children and adolescents, counseling and education. The program offers perinatal transmission studies and therapeutic clinical trials. As a Title IV Ryan White program, the UCSD Mother, Child & Adolescent HIV Program is an active participant in a community-wide partnership that advocates services for children, adolescents, and families. Resources are available in Spanish. The program sponsors conferences, training seminars, and workshops.

Keywords: AIDS, HIV, Pediatric AIDS, Pediatric HIV

National Abandoned Infants Assistance Resource Center (AIA)

Annotation: The National Abandoned Infants Assistance (AIA) Resource Center works to enhance the quality of social and health services delivered to drug- and HIV- affected children and their families. The resource center provides training, technical assistance, research, and information to service providers who assist these families. Publications include fact sheets, issue briefs, monographs and reports on the topics of abandoned infants, drug abuse, alcohol, HIV, child safety and well-being, and family well-being. Online training tools, including webinars, online tutorials, and a blog, are hosted on the website. The National AIA Resource Center, a member of the Training and Technical Assistance Network (TTA), is a service of the Children’s Bureau.

Keywords: Abandoned children, Child welfare, HIV, High risk infants, Resource centers, Technical assistance, Training

National AIDS Fund

Annotation: AIDS United (formed when the National AIDS Fund, a grantmaking public charity, and AIDS Action, a nonprofit advocacy organization, merged) is a national organization that works to connect funding, advocacy, and capacity-building programs in the fight against HIV/AIDS in the United States. AIDS United advocates for people living with or affected by HIV/AIDS and the organizations that serve them. It supports more than 400 grassroots organizations that provide HIV prevention, care and support services to underserved individuals, and populations most impacted by the HIV/AIDS epidemic.

Keywords: AIDS, Advocacy, Education, HIV, Workplace

National Association of People with AIDS (NAPWA)

Annotation: This organization is in bankruptcy as of 2013 and has ceased operation. The website is still available as of 3/19/13.

National Center for HIV/AIDS, Viral Hepatitis, STD, and TB Prevention (NCHHSTP)

Annotation: The National Center for HIV/AIDS, Viral Hepatitis, STD, and TB Prevention (NCHSTP) is responsible for public health surveillance, prevention research, and programs to prevent and control HIV, AIDS, other sexually transmitted diseases, and tuberculosis. NCHSTP works in collaboration with governmental and nongovernmental partners at the community, state, national, and international levels conducting research, surveillance, technical assistance, and evaluation. It includes the Division of HIV/AIDS Prevention, the Division of Viral Hepatitis, the Division of STD Prevention, the Division of TB Elimination, and the Division of Adolescent and School Health.

Keywords: AIDS, Data, HIV, HIV screening, Preventive health services, Sexually transmitted diseases, Tuberculosis

National Foundation for Infectious Diseases (NFID)

Annotation: Established in 1973, the National Foundation for Infectious Diseases (NFID) is a nonprofit, nongovernmental organization that supports research and educational efforts to prevent infectious diseases. Provides information on Meningitis, Pertussis, Tetanus, Diphtheria, Influenza, Pneumococcal, and other infectious diseases; downloadable fact sheets on immunization and vaccinations for infants children, adolescents, and adults; online access to NFID publications including a newsletter and journal; and links to other resources. Some materials are available in Spanish. The foundation also sponsors conferences, workshops, and training seminars.

Keywords: AIDS, Communicable diseases, Hepatitis, Immunization, Infections

National Hemophilia Foundation (NHF)

Annotation: The National Hemophilia Foundation (NHF) helps people affected by hemophilia and related bleeding disorders to improve their quality of life. The foundation supports research programs, professional and public education, and services for patients, families, and communities. It also operates as an information center, the Hemophilia and AIDS/HIV Network for the Dissemination of Information (HANDI), which provides resource information on hemophilia and AIDS/HIV to the general public and health professionals. Publications include NHF e*Notes(a monthly electronic publication) and the magazine HemAware (bimonthly). Video and resource listings and article reprints are also available from HANDI.

Keywords: AIDS, HIV, Hemophilia

National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID)

Annotation: The National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) conducts and supports research on allergic, immunologic, and infectious diseases and conditions, including those caused by possible agents of bioterrorism. Institute staff responds to inquiries from consumers and professionals and distributes information materials. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: AIDS, Allergies, Asthma, Communicable diseases, HIV, Immunology, Information dissemination, Medical research, Sexually transmitted diseases

National Minority AIDS Council (NMAC)

Annotation: The National Minority AIDS Council (NMAC) was founded in 1987 to develop leadership within communities of color to address the challenges of HIV/AIDS. NMAC has developed programs aimed at enhancing the skills necessary to confront this health crisis, including a public policy education program, national and regional training conferences, a treatment research program and numerous publications. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: AIDS, Minority groups, Public policies

National Native American AIDS Prevention Center (NNAAPC)

Annotation: The National Native American AIDS Prevention Center (NNAAPC) strives to stop the spread of HIV and related diseases among American Indians, Alaskan Natives, and Native Hawaiians, and to improve the quality of life for those infected and affected by HIV/AIDS. NNAAPC provides referrals, printed materials, and information about AIDS and AIDS prevention in the Native American communities. Publications include a newsletter, guidebooks and training materials. The agency also hosts a list serve and sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Keywords: AIDS, Advocacy, Health services, Minority groups, Native Americans

National Prevention Information Network (NPIN)

Annotation: The National Prevention Information Network (NPIN) is the U.S. reference and referral service for information on HIV/AIDS, viral hepatitis, sexually transmitted diseases (STDs), and tuberculosis (TB). NPIN is a clearinghouse and collaborative community that collects and disseminates data and materials and enables prevention professionals on the international, national, state, and local levels to connect and share. Services are designed to facilitate program collaboration in sharing information, resources, published materials, research, and trends among the four diseases. Services include a social community, a database of providers, education materials, funding opportunities, research on health communication campaigns, campaign planning resources, training resources, and digital media tools.

Keywords: AIDS, Disease prevention, HIV, Hepatitis, Sexually transmitted diseases, Information services, Online databases, Resources for professionals, Spanish language materials, Tuberculosis

Project Inform National HIV/AIDS Treatment Hotline

Annotation: The Project Inform National HIV/AIDS Treatment Hotline provides referrals, printed information, and verbal information on treatments and clinical trials for people with HIV and their friends and families. The organization also sponsors conferences, training seminars and workshops and provides access to searchable databases. Publications include a newsletter and a list service. Spanish materials are available.

Keywords: AIDS, AIDS related complex , HIV, Listservs

Project Inform, Project WISE

Annotation: Project Wise is a program of Project Inform focused on HIV/AIDS treatment, information, and advocacy for women. The program includes the three-times yearly publication Wise Words, and provides regular contributions to the PI Perspective, the journal of Project Inform, as well as relevant fact sheets and discussion papers of interest to women living with HIV/AIDS. Materials are available in Spanish. Project Wise also sponsors conferences and workshops.

Keywords: AIDS, HIV, Women, Women's health

Prototypes, Centers for Innovations in Health, Mental Health and Social Services

Annotation: Prototypes, Centers for Innovations in Health, Mental Health and Social Services, is a nonprofit organization that provides services to over 10,000 women and children each year, including women who are homeless, those addicted to drugs and alcohol, those living with and at-risk for contracting HIV/AIDS, those who are diagnosed with mental illness, and women who are victims of violence. Prototypes demonstrates model outreach programs on AIDS education, prevention, and intervention, and provides services such as individual and group counseling, drop-in groups, networking, and behavioral research. Services to consumers include referrals, publications (some can be downloaded in pdf format from the Web site) and reference information and sponsors conferences, training seminars and workshops. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: AIDS, Education, Outreach

Rural Center for AIDS/STD Prevention (RCAP)

Annotation: The Rural Center for AIDS/STD Prevention (RCAP) promotes the prevention of HIV and sexually transmitted diseases (STD) in rural America. RCAP develops and evaluates educational materials and approaches, examines the behavioral and social barriers to HIV/STD prevention which can be applied to prevention programming, and provides prevention resources to professionals and the public. The center is a joint project of Indiana University, Purdue University, and Texas A&M University.

Keywords: HIV, Sexually transmitted diseases, AIDS, Communicable diseases, Preventive health services, Rural health

San Francisco AIDS Foundation (SFAF)

Annotation: The San Francisco AIDS Foundation (SFAF) works to end the HIV epidemic and to mitigate its impact on society. The foundation educates the public on prevention of HIV transmission, helps people to make informed choices about HIV-related concerns and defends the human rights of people with HIV disease. The Foundation also provides client services, for people with HIV disease in San Francisco, that include housing, financial benefits counseling, treatment advocacy and support. In cooperation with other agencies, it provides leadership in the creation of direct services, public policy initiatives, and innovative, non duplicative educational programs. The Foundation also publishes a journal. Services to consumers include referrals and publications. Some materials are available in Spanish and Asian languages.

Keywords: AIDS, AIDS related complex, Financial support, HIV, Health education, Policy development, Prevention programs, Public education, Support groups

U.S. HIV/AIDS Bureau (HAB)

Annotation: The HIV/AIDS Bureau provides federal funding for HIV/AIDS care for low-income, uninsured and underinsured individuals. The bureau has developed programs that focus on managed care, HIV/AIDS drugs, treatment adherence, data and evaluation, measuring outcomes and reaching vulnerable populations. It also funds the Ryan White Comprehensive AIDS Resources Emergency (CARE) Act for individuals with the HIV disease who do not have the resources to pay for needed care. Publications include the HRSA CareACTION newsletter, fact sheets, staff authored journal articles, and press releases. Technical assistance materials are also available to grantees.

Keywords: AIDS, Access to health care, Federal agencies, HIV

Whitman-Walker Clinic

Annotation: The Whitman-Walker Clinic is the primary provider of community-based HIV/AIDS services in the Washington, DC metropolitan area. Volunteer and professional staff members provide medical, legal, mental health, housing, food bank, support, and education and prevention services in coordination with local government agencies. The clinic provides workshops, referrals, reference information, and publications (including a newsletter). Materials are available in Spanish.

Keywords: AIDS, HIV, Healtheducation, Prevention

Women, Children, and HIV ( )

Annotation: Women, Children, and HIV is the result of a collaboration between the Center for HIV Information at the University of California San Franciscoand the François-Xavier Bagnoud Center at the University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey. The goals of the Web site are to disseminate clinical information and training resources on perinatally-acquired pediatric HIV infection and mother-to-child transmission of HIV (MTCT) and related topics; communicate the best practices in preventing mother-to-child transmission of HIV (PMTCT) and caring for infected children; disseminate PMTCT program resource materials; and implement services responsive to the needs of the CDC Global AIDS Program (CDC/GAP).

Keywords: Pediatric AIDS, Collaboration, Disease Prevention Information dissemination Electronic publications Training, HIV, Health services

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.