Skip Navigation

Strengthening the evidence for maternal and child health programs

MCH Links: State Information

These links have been evaluated for the usefulness, reliability, and timeliness of the maternal and child health (MCH) information they present, and the ease with which visitors can access information and navigate in them. This list is not intended to be comprehensive; rather, it offers a sample of quality sites that are useful starting points for those interested in MCH topics.

15 links found.


ASTHO State and Territorial Links
Links to all state and territorial health agencies. This is a service of the Association of State and Territorial Health Officials (ASTHO).


Every Child Matters Education Fund
Data on children's issues in all 50 states, listing of federal and state elected and appointed officials, information on assistance programs in each state.


FastStats State and Territorial Data
Health, demographic, and other data by state; links to state health departments and data tools. FastStats is compiled by the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS).


HRSA In Your State
Overview of Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) current programs and grants, and demographic and infant birth/death data at the state and county level. State maps show counties that have received funding.


Individual States' Child Care Licensure Regulations
Access to child care regulations and child care contacts in each state. This resource is provided by the National Resource Center for Health and Safety in Child Care and Early Education.


InsureKidsNow
Information on each state's child health insurance program. Links to program and implementation resources, including Spanish-language resources. This national campaign is sponsored by the Health Resources and Services Administration.


Links to SUID and SIDS Partners
State and national agencies and organizations that provide information and support related to sudden infant death, bereavement services, and child death review, including resources from Project Impact and First Candle. This compilation is provided by the National Sudden and Unexpected Infant / Child Death and Pregnancy Loss Resource Center.


National Association of State Directors of Developmental Disabilities Services (NASDDDS)
Directory of state intellectual/developmental disabilities agency contacts and websites.


NICHCY State Resources
Lists of organizations and agencies that address child disability issues and parent resources within each state. The listings are provided by the National Dissemination Center for Children with Disabilities (NICHCY).


Public Health Snapshots by State
Selected public health data for each state, including education and training sources, community health statistics, public health partnerships, board of health state statutes, and more. This resource is provided by the National Association of Local Boards of Health.


State Health Departments
Links to all state health department websites. This resource is provided by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).


State Snapshots
Summary measures of quality of care and states' performances relative to all states and the region by: (a) overall health care quality; (b) types of care (preventive, acute, and chronic); (c) settings of care (hospitals, ambulatory care, nursing home, and home health); (d) five clinical conditions (cancer, diabetes, heart disease, maternal and child health, and respiratory diseases); and (5) special focus areas on diabetes, asthma, Healthy People 2020, clinical preventive services, disparities, payer, and variation over time. This resource is developed by the U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality.


State Women's Health Profiles
Profiles of each U. S. state and jurisdiction's women's health related priority needs, state performance and outcome measures, and additional women's health related data supplied by states in the 2010 Title V 5-year needs assessment. The profiles are provided by the U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau.


Statehealthfacts.org
State-level data on demographics, health, and health policy, including health coverage, access, financing, and state legislation. Includes 50 state comparison data on demographics and the economy, health status, health coverage and uninsured, Medicaid and SCHIP, Medicare, health costs and budgets, managed care and health insurance, providers and service use, minority health, women's health, and HIV/AIDS. Also provides individual state profiles for states and territories. The site is provided by the Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation.


Title V Information System, State MCH Applications and Contact Information
Narratives and data forms from each state's Title V program application. Searchable listings of state MCH and CSHCN directors and state MCH hotline phone numbers. TVIS is supported by the U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau.


To find further resources, you can search the MCH Organizations Database, which contains information on more than 2,000 organizations that focus on MCH-related topics. Many of the organizations have Web sites that you can link to directly.

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.