Skip Navigation

Strengthening the evidence for maternal and child health programs

MCH Links: National MCH Resource Centers

These links have been evaluated for the usefulness, reliability, and timeliness of the maternal and child health (MCH) information they present, and the ease with which visitors can access information and navigate in them. This list is not intended to be comprehensive; rather, it offers a sample of quality sites that are useful starting points for those interested in MCH topics.

42 links found.


Bright Futures at Georgetown University
Offers publications, training tools, and distance education materials for providing health supervision for infants, children, and adolescents. Materials include a set of guidelines; specialized guides in oral health, nutrition, mental health, and physical activity; tools to use in implementing the guides; training materials for health professionals; and materials for families. Bright Futures also provides distance education for Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic and Treatment (EPSDT) services. Some of the materials are available in Spanish.


Bright Futures for Families
Provides materials for families related to the Bright Futures guidelines for health supervision for infants, children, and adolescents. Includes a pocket guide covering stages of child development from birth through age 21, health visit check lists, and child health and development tips. Bright Futures for Families is a project of Family Voices.


Center for Health Care Strategies (CHCS)
Provides program and grant information and resources for policymakers, researchers, consumer groups, and others involved in the design, implementation, and monitoring of managed care health plans for Medicaid and the State Children's Health Insurance Program (SCHIP). Resources include a series of publications about managed care best practices. CHCS is a nonprofit policy resource center that promotes high-quality health care services for low-income populations and people with special health care needs.


Center for Healthier Children, Families and Communities
Offers program information and publications to improve health services for children, train health professionals to meet child and family needs, and improve policies affecting children and their families. The center is located at the University of California, Los Angeles.


Center for the Study and Prevention of Violence (CSPV)
Provides publications, databases, and program information to assist with the development and evaluation of effective violence prevention programs. Offers a set of fact sheets that focuses on a range of topics including school violence, bullying, gangs, and firearms. CSPV is a research center at the University of Colorado at Boulder.


CLAS Institute (CLAS)
Comprises a database of materials describing culturally and linguistically appropriate practices for early childhood and early intervention services, including books, videotapes, articles, manuals, brochures and audiotapes; guidelines, reports, and other publications by CLAS; program descriptions, child find brochures, and evaluation tools, many in full text; and Web links. Each page of the site may be read in Spanish or English, and some of the materials listed are available in Spanish. CLAS is located at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.


Early Childhood Research Institute on Culturally and Linguistically Appropriate Services (CLAS)
Comprises a database of materials describing culturally and linguistically appropriate practices for early childhood and early intervention services, including books, videotapes, articles, manuals, brochures and audiotapes; guidelines, reports, and other publications by CLAS; program descriptions, child find brochures, and evaluation tools, many in full text; and Web links. Each page of the site may be read in Spanish or English, and some of the materials listed are available in Spanish. CLAS is located at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.


Fathers' Network
Resources for fathers and families of children with special health care needs and for the professionals who serve them. Contains articles by fathers, information about the network's books and videotapes, a newsletter, and information for professionals about father-friendly services. Spanish resources are available. Developed by the National Fathers Network and funded by the U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA).


Food and Nutrition Information Center (FNIC)
Comprises databases and resource lists with links to reports, policy statements, bibliographies, Web sites, and other information tools on food and nutrition topics for health professionals, school personnel, and consumers. Also links to dietary guidelines and food guide pyramid materials. FNIC is one of several information centers at the National Agricultural Library (NAL).


Gaining and Growing: Assuring Nutritional Care of Preterm Infants
Offers checklists for nutrition assessment, decision trees, case studies, and other resources for community health professionals who work with premature infants, especially those with very low birthweight. Gaining and Growing is funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB).


Genetic and Rare Diseases Information Center (GARD)
Responds to questions from consumers and health professionals about genetic and rare disorders. The center is part of the Office of Rare Diseases (ORD) at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).


Genetic Tools ( )
Provides background information, teaching cases, and links to other resources, to facilitate teaching about genetics in primary care settings. This Web site is produced by the University of Washington and funded by the U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau.


Genetics Resources on the Web (GROW)
Search engine that finds information on human genetics, with a particular focus on genetic medicine and health, from Web sites of member organizations. GROW is maintained by the National Coalition for Health Professional Education in Genetics.


Head Start Information and Publication Center (HSIPC)
Distributes information to parents and child care professionals, particularly those from the Head Start community, about providing quality care for young children. Materials include resource and training guides, conference reports, child assessment forms, fact sheets, program information, and toolkits. HSIPC is a service of the Head Start Bureau.


Healthy Meals Resource System
Offers resources for school food service and child nutrition professionals including education and training materials, reports, recipes and menus, regulatory information, online discussion groups, and downloadable software. Childhood obesity, school meal programs, nutrition and child care, nutrition and learning, and food safety are among some of the topics addressed. HSMRS also contains links to the Web sites for each states' child nutrition agency, and many of these sites offer their own child nutrition education and training materials. HSMRS is a service of the National Agricultural Library (NAL).


Information and Knowledge for Optimal Health Project (INFO Project)
Offers a range of information for health professionals, policymakers, researchers, and the media about family planning and reproductive health internationally. Includes a bibliographic database, publications, a database of photos, radio spots, links to information about best practices, e-learning courses and other resources. The INFO Project is located at the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health.



March of Dimes (MOD)
Contains resources for health professionals and consumers about prenatal care, childbirth education, birth defects, maternal and infant health statistics, and how to get involved in improving the health of babies by reducing birth defects and infant mortality. MOD also provides information in Spanish.


MCH Managed Care Resources
Provides online training modules and publications about managed care for those engaged in maternal and child health policy and provision. This Web site is developed by the Center for Advancement of Distance Education at the University of Illinois School of Public Health.


Mental Health America
Contains fact sheets, position statements, discussion groups, legislative alerts, and other resources for health professionals and consumers about mental health topics, including those related to children and adolescents.


Motherisk
Provides evidence-based information for consumers and health professionals about the safety or risk of drugs, chemicals, and disease during pregnancy and breastfeeding. Motherisk is a service of the Hospital for Sick Children in Toronto, Canada.


National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy = Power to Decide (NCPTUP)
Contains data, research and survey results, conference materials, and other resources about adolescent pregnancy for parents, adolescents, health professionals, and policymakers. Spanish language resources are available.


National Center for Children Exposed to Violence (NCCEV)
Offers an online library containing abstracts of journal articles and other literature, program information, publications, and other resources about children and violence. Developed by the Yale University Child Study Center, NCCEV also provides training, technical assistance, and consultation to community programs.



National Child Care Information and Technical Assistance Center (NCCIC)
Offers an online library containing summaries and availability information for materials about child care and child development. Also provides national and state profiles on child care funding, licensing, enrollment, and demographics; directories of state child care contacts; and links to resources on a variety of child care topics. NCCIC is a project of the Child Care Bureau.


National Children's Center for Rural and Agricultural Health and Safety
Contains newsletters, fact sheets, and other resources for health professionals and child safety advocates on the health and safety of children exposed to rural and agricultural hazards. The center is based in the National Farm Medicine Center at Marshfield Clinic.


National Dissemination Center for Children with Disabilities (NICHCY)
Provides a wealth of resources for families, educators, and other professionals on disabilities and disability-related issues that include early intervention, special education and related services, individualized education plans, family issues, education rights, and transition to adult life. Publications include fact sheets, parent guides, student guides, and bibliographies. State resource sheets list the organizations and agencies within each state that address disability-related issues. Materials are available in English and Spanish. NICHCY is a project of the Academy of Educational Development and is funded by the Department of Education (ED).


National Institute for Health Care Management Foundation (NIHCM Foundation)
Offers research and conference information and publications about the health care system to health professionals, policymakers, administrators, and consumers. Maternal and child health topics include children's health insurance and access to care and childhood obesity. The NIHCM Foundation is a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization dedicated to improving the American health care system.


National Organization for Rare Disorders (NORD)
Provides newsletters, position papers, and other information for patients, families, and health professionals. Operates medication assistance programs and a patient networking program for those affected by rare disorders and for whom no organized support groups exist. Maintains online databases about rare disorders, organizations that assist people affected by rare disorders, and drugs developed to treat rare disorders. NORD is a federation of voluntary health organizations committed to the identification, treatment, and cure of rare disorders.


National Prevention Information Network (NPIN)
Contains publications, online databases, news, conference and funding information, statistics, and other resources for health professionals and researchers about HIV/AIDS, hepatitis, sexually transmitted diseases (STDs), and tuberculosis (TB). Spanish language resources are also provided. NPIN is a service of the National Center for HIV, STD, and TB Prevention at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).


National Rehabilitation Information Center (NARIC)
Provides access to databases of information about literature, organizations, and Web resources on rehabilitation, disability, and assistive technology. NARIC is funded by the National Institute on Disability and Rehabilitation Research (NIDRR).


National School Safety Center (NSSC)
Presents information about school violence and school crime for parents, educators, and the media. Resources include a school safety assessment, school violence and crime statistics, and training information. NSSC is a nonprofit organization dedicated to creating safe schools for all of America's children.


National Women's Health Information Center (NWHIC)
Offers a wealth of women's and girls' health information for health professionals and consumers on topics such as adolescent health, breastfeeding, pregnancy, violence, nutrition, sexually transmitted diseases, disabilities, and minority health. Spanish language resources are available. NWHIC is a project of the Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS).


National Youth Violence Prevention Resource Center (NYVPRC)
Contains information about adolescent violence prevention and intervention programs, publications, research, and statistics for parents, professionals, and adolescents. Includes an extensive collection of annotated links to information on the topic from federal agencies, professional groups, and other sources. NYVPRC is sponsored by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and the Federal Working Group on Youth Violence.


Pavnet (Partnerships Against Violence Network) Online
Contains information on programs, resources, and funding sources for violence prevention and at-risk children and adolescents. Pavnet draws on data from seven federal agencies.


PE Central
Includes lesson and assessment ideas and instructional resources for health and physical education teachers and parents to help children and adolescents become physically active. PE Central was developed by faculty and doctoral students in Virginia Tech's Health and Physical Education Program.


Power to Decide: The Campaign to Prevent Unplanned Pregnancy
Contains data, research and survey results, conference materials, and other resources about adolescent pregnancy for parents, adolescents, health professionals, and policymakers. Spanish language resources are available.


President's Council on Fitness, Sports, and Nutrition (PCFSN)
Contains resources for coaches, teachers, health and fitness professionals, students, and the general public about physical fitness. Includes program information and materials for the Presidential Physical Fitness Award Program, which is aimed at encouraging children and adolescents ages 6 to 17 to become more physically active. Also offers a quarterly summary of recent research on specific physical activity topics and an online resource to help all Americans build a regular physical activity routine.


Promoting Responsible Fatherhood
Contains research program evaluations, reports, and other publications focusing on fatherhood. Also provides information on demonstration projects and outreach programs as well as links to other federal and national efforts to support fathers. Contains the Responsible Fatherhood Management Information System (RFMIS), a database and guidebook designed to help fatherhood programs across the country maintain information on the services needed by and delivered to fathers. The Initiative is a program of the Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS).


Resource Center for Adolescent Pregnancy Prevention (ReCAPP)
Tools and information on reducing sexual risk-taking behaviors among adolescents. Includes information on evidence-based programs that change sexual risk-taking behavior, skill-building activities, education and facilitation tips, statistics, current research, and a database of educational materials.


USDA Healthy Meals Resource System
Training materials, bibliographies, recipes, and other resources for persons working in the USDA's child nutrition programs about preparing nutritious meals and food safety. USDA Healthy Meals System is one of several information centers at the National Agricultural Library (NAL).


ZERO TO THREE: National Center for Infants, Toddlers and Families
Resources for parents, child care providers, and health professionals for promoting the healthy development of infants and toddlers.


To find further resources, you can search the MCH Organizations Database, which contains information on more than 2,000 organizations that focus on MCH-related topics. Many of the organizations have Web sites that you can link to directly.

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.