Skip Navigation

Strengthening the evidence for maternal and child health programs

MCH Links: Federal Government

These links have been evaluated for the usefulness, reliability, and timeliness of the maternal and child health (MCH) information they present, and the ease with which visitors can access information and navigate in them. This list is not intended to be comprehensive; rather, it offers a sample of quality sites that are useful starting points for those interested in MCH topics.

29 links found.


Administration for Children and Families (ACF)
Describes ACF's programs and services that promote the economic and social well-being of families and children. Resources include research reports and statistics about child care and child welfare. ACF is part of the Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS).


Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)
Contains information about research activities in areas such as children's health and women's health; clinical practice guidelines; quality assessment publications and tools; patient safety; and data and surveys, such as the results from the Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS). The agency is part of the Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS).


Bureau of Primary Health Care (BPHC)
Contains program information and publications about primary health care for the underserved. Offers several online databases with information about drug pricing, health professional shortage areas, primary care practice areas, BPHC-supported health centers, medically underserved areas, and successful program models. BPHC is part of the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA).


Center for Nutrition Policy and Promotion (CNPP)
Contains nutrition-related reports, journal articles, symposium proceedings, and dietary guidance materials for health professionals and consumers. Child and adolescent nutrition topics include obesity, diet quality, and expenditures on children by families. CNPP is part of the Department of Agriculture (USDA).


Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
Offers a wealth of information for health professionals, policymakers, and consumers to promote health and quality of life by preventing and controlling disease, injury, and disability. Resources are provided in English and Spanish and include publications, databases, and other online products, such as CDC Wonder CDC is an agency of the Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS).


Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Office for State, Tribal, Local, and Territorial Support (OSTLTS)
Contains publications, training information, databases, and other resources for public health professionals for strengthening the community practice of public health by creating an effective workforce, building information networks, conducting practice research, and ensuring laboratory quality. PHPPO is part of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).


Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS)
Offers program information, publications, forms, and data about Medicare, Medicaid, the State Children's Health Insurance Program (SCHIP), and the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA). CMS is an agency of the Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS).


Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD)
Contains resources for health professionals, researchers, and consumers that include publications related to NICHD research, information about the Milk Matters and Back to Sleep public health campaigns, news releases, and funding and research information. NICHD is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH).


Food and Nutrition Service (FNS)
Provides information about the nutrition assistance programs that FNS administers, including the child nutrition programs which provide healthy, nutritious meals and snacks to the nation's children. These programs are run by FNS for the Department of Agriculture (USDA).


Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA)
Describes its key program areas and grant programs aimed at improving the nation's health by expanding access to comprehensive, quality health care for all Americans. Resources include publications, data and statistics, and information about events and initiatives. The Maternal and Child Health Bureau is part of HRSA, which is part of the Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS).


HealthyPeople.gov
Describes this national health promotion and disease prevention initiative created by a broad coalition of experts from many sectors to improve the health of all Americans, eliminate disparities in health, and improve years and quality of healthy life. Includes background information on the initiative; the complete text (online and searchable), Healthy People 2010: Understanding and improving health (2nd ed.) (2000); data and statistics, a list of Healthy People partners and related sites; and other publications. It is coordinated by the Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion (ODPHP).


HRSA Managed Care and Health Services Financing Technical Assistance Center (MCTAC)
Contains information about programs, conferences, distance learning opportunities, and other resources for health professionals about providing access to quality health care for underserved and special needs populations.


Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB)
Describes MCHB's projects and initiatives on behalf of America's women, infants, children, adolescents, and their families. Programs include the Title V block grant to states. Information about funding opportunities, data, and publications is also provided. MCHB is part of the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA).


National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion (NCCDPHP)
Offers a wealth of information for health professionals and families about preventing premature death and disability from chronic diseases and promoting healthy personal behaviors. Topics include oral health, physical activity, nutrition, reproductive health, and school health. Resources include publications, information about exemplary state programs, the Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System and the Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System. NCCDPHP is part of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).


National Center for Environmental Health (NCEH)
Provides publications and program information to health professionals and families about environmental hazards and health effects on topics that include asthma, lead poisoning, and emergency preparedness. NCEH is part of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).


National Center for HIV/AIDS, Viral Hepatitis, STD, and TB Prevention (NCHHSTP)
Offers information for health professionals, educators, and families about preventing and controlling HIV/AIDS, sexually transmitted diseases, and tuberculosis. Resources include publications, statistics, facts, hotline information, and databases with information about organizations, funding opportunities, news, educational materials, and conferences. NCHHSTP is part of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).


National Center for Immunization and Respiratory Diseases (NCIRD)
Provides immunization information for health care providers, families, the media, and travelers about vaccine preventable diseases, the benefits of immunization, and the risks of immunization versus the risk of disease. Resources include the childhood immunization schedule, data, educational materials, information in Spanish, news, and other publications. NCIRD is part of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).


National Center for Injury Prevention and Control (NCIPC)
Offers information for health professionals, educators, and families about injury care, violence, and unintentional injuries. Resources include publications, data, and information about programs, conferences, and funding opportunities. NCIPC's Injury Maps provide the geographic distribution of injury-related mortality rates in the U.S. and allows users to create county-level and state-level maps. NCIPC is part of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).


National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities (NCBDDD)
Contains information for families and health professionals to promote optimal fetal, infant, child and adolescent development; prevent birth defects and childhood developmental disabilities; and enhance the quality of life and prevent secondary conditions among children, adolescents, and adults who are living with a disability. Resources are available in English and Spanish and include publications and information about research and surveillance activities, programs, and funding and training opportunities. NCBDDD is part of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).




National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH)
Offers information for health care providers, employees, and employers about workplace safety and health. Resources include publications, databases, health hazard evaluations, training and funding opportunities, and conference information. MCH-related topics include childhood agricultural injury and reproductive health. Information is available in Spanish. NIOSH is part of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).


National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities (NCMHD)
Contains the National Institutes of Health strategic research plan and budget to reduce and ultimately eliminate health disparities. Also includes grant and conference information. NCMHD is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH).


Office of Minority Health Resource Center (OMHRC)
Offers links to publications, programs, funding databases, conference information, and news updates on minority health-related topics. OMHRC is part of the Office of Minority Health.


Office of Population Affairs (OPA)
Includes grant program and legislative information about the Title X National Family Planning Program and Title XX Adolescent Family Life Program. Also includes links to data and publications about reproductive health. OPA is part of the Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS).


Office of the Surgeon General
Includes reports, calls to action, and conference proceedings about important public health issues. Also describes the duties of the Surgeon General and a history of the office. The Surgeon General's Office is part of the Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS).


Policy Information Center (PIC)
Includes a database and set of reports describing completed and ongoing health and human services evaluations, short-term evaluative research, and policy-oriented projects conducted by the Department of Health and Human Services and other federal agencies. PIC includes projects from the Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB). PIC is part of the Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation (ASPE) at the Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS).


Reports of the Surgeon General
Official reports, conference and workshop reports, and proceedings from the Office of the Surgeon General from 1964 to present. The National Library of Medicine digitized this collection in collaboration with the Office of the Surgeon General.


SaferProducts.gov
An online searchable database allowing consumers to report harm or risk from products or substances, to review manufacturers' comments, and to search for product safety information. This site is provided by the Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC).


To find further resources, you can search the MCH Organizations Database, which contains information on more than 2,000 organizations that focus on MCH-related topics. Many of the organizations have Web sites that you can link to directly.

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.