Skip Navigation

Strengthening the evidence for maternal and child health programs

MCH Links: All

These links have been evaluated for the usefulness, reliability, and timeliness of the maternal and child health (MCH) information they present, and the ease with which visitors can access information and navigate in them. This list is not intended to be comprehensive; rather, it offers a sample of quality sites that are useful starting points for those interested in MCH topics.

235 links found.


Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University (MCH Library)
Serves as a repository of significant MCH literature, provides current awareness tools, and provides a variety of information products for professionals and the public that highlight key knowledge on a breadth of topics. It is supported by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB).


CAPHIS Top 100
Brief descriptions of 100 quality consumer health websites. This list is produced by the Consumer and Patient Health Information Section of the Medical Library Association (MLA).


Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC)
Publications and online information on safety topics, product recalls, a mechanism for reporting unsafe products, and a special children's section on safety. Includes bilingual consumer hotline and Spanish-language materials. CPSC is an independent federal regulatory agency.


CYFERNet: Children, Youth, and Families Education and Research Network
Research information available through a network of land grant colleges, to support community-based educational programs for children, youth, and families. Topics include child care, child and youth development, behavior, health and safety, nutrition, and parenting. Some materials in Spanish.


Easy-to-Read Health and Medical Information
Easy-to-read information for consumers on health and medical topics. MCH topics include pregnancy, breastfeeding, immunizations, child safety, and parenting. Most can be printed as handouts, many available in Spanish. This resource is provided by the National Library of Medicine.


Family Voices
Information and resources on issues affecting children and adolescents with special health care needs. Includes publications in English and Spanish, legislative updates, family-to-family health information centers, state programs and resources, and tips on advocacy and grassroots organizing.


FamilyDoctor.org
Consumer materials for adults and children, including a Parents & Kids section. Topics include healthy living, a smart patient guide, A to Z list of conditions, comprehensive online health dictionary, and over-the-counter guide to medications. The site is provided by the American Academy of Family Physicians.


Genetic Alliance
A nonprofit organization whose network includes more than 1,000 disease-specific advocacy organizations, universities, private companies, government agencies, and public policy organizations. Resources include bulletins, newsletters, the online family health history tool, "Does It Run in the Family?" and the Disease InfoSearch database of advocacy organizations and resources.


Genetics Home Reference (GHR)
Information on more than 500 genetic conditions, on how genes work, and on how mutations cause genetic disorders. Includes a genetic handbook on genetic testing, counseling, gene therapy, and the Human Genome Project; a glossary of terms; and links to other genetic resources. This site is a service of the National Library of Medicine.


Hardin MD
Extensive A to Z listing of health conditions and diseases, including children's diseases. The site features a unique gallery of medical photographs. This resource is a service of the Hardin Library for the Health Sciences at the University of Iowa.


Health Hotlines
Online database of toll-free telephone numbers for health-related organizations. Includes Spanish-language resources. This database is provided by the National Library of Medicine (NLM).


Health Information
A to Z index of health resources for professionals and consumers, with quick links to children's, teens', women's, men's, and minorities' health. Comprehensive A to Z list includes health conditions, clinical trials, drugs, and special programs such as rare diseases. The index is a service of the National Institutes of Health (NIH).


Healthy Children
Information for parents about children's ages and stages (prenatal through young adult), healthy living, safety and prevention, family life, health issues, and news. Includes growth charts, immunization schedules, safety checklists, and tools such as a symptom checker. This site is provided by the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP).


Healthy Mom & Baby
News and articles for moms-to-be and new moms. Also provides nurses and other health professionals with information and resources for clients. Features members of the Association of Women's Health, Obstetric and Neonatal Nurses as experts.


HIV.gov
Information gateway to federal domestic HIV and AIDS information and resources. Topical links include news and events, basic HIV and AIDS information, prevention and education, testing, treatment, research, agencies and programs, and funding opportunities. The site is provided by the Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS).


Kaiser Health News
A nonprofit news organization covering a range of topics such as health care delivery, Medicare and Medicaid, health disparities, health policy and health care reform, and insurance. The web site features daily summaries of major health care news, original videos, and commentary from contributing writers.


KidsHealth
Information about health from before birth through adolescence, in separate sections for parents, for kids, and for teens. Topics include infections, emotions and behavior, growth and development, nutrition and fitness, pregnancy and newborns, medical problems, positive parenting, first aid and safety, and medication.Spanish language information and resources are included. KidsHealth is a service of the Nemours children's health system.


Know Your Teeth
Provides dental care and oral health information for families. Resources include the Dental Diary widget, a personalized interface that provides news and calendar reminders to keep track of dental care. Additional features include InfoBites, The Life of a Tooth, Patient Advisor, and Find a General Dentist. It is provided by the Academy of General Dentistry.


Mayo Clinic
Consumer health and medical information, including facts and advice about common ailments, treatments, medications, and healthy habits. Contains sections on children's and women's health.


MedlinePlus
Selective list of authoritative health information sources for consumers and health professionals on over 600 diseases and conditions. Also contains lists of hospitals and physicians, a medical encyclopedia and a medical dictionary, information in Spanish, drug information, health news, and clinical trial information. Mobile versions are available in English and Spanish. MedlinePlus is a service of the National Library of Medicine (NLM).


Merck Manual Home Edition
Consumer information about diseases, diagnoses, prevention, and treatment. Includes sections on women's, men's, and children's health. The resource section features multimedia, including photographs and videos. This online manual is provided free of charge as a service of Merck & Co., Inc.


National Consumer Protection Week
Tips and information from federal and state government and non-profit partner organizations to help consumers take advantage of their consumer rights and make better-informed decisions. Some materials are in Spanish.


Nutrition.gov
Online access to government information on food and nutrition for consumers. Includes information on what is in food, smart nutrition, life states, weight management, health issues, shopping, cooking, meal planning, dietary supplements, and food assistance programs. The site is a service of the National Agricultural Library (NAL).


Parent's Journal
A series of web-based podcasts for parents features interviews with pediatric, child development, and pregnancy experts. Includes practical parenting tips on timely topics about raising children. Topics range from children's basic sleeping and eating challenges to how children develop moral intelligence.


PubMed Health
Information on diseases, conditions, drugs, treatment options, and healthy living, with a special focus on comparative effectiveness research from institutions around the world. It provides easy-to-read summaries for consumers as well as technical reports. PubMed Health is a service of the National Center for Biotechnology Information, a division of the National Library of Medicine (NLM).


Smokefree.gov
Evidence-based information and professional assistance to help support the immediate and long-term needs of people trying to quit smoking, including a quit plan, and information for women, teens, and in Spanish. It is provided by the National Cancer Institute.


Womenshealth.gov
Health information for women and girls, provided by the Office on Women's Health, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.


Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (H-CUP)
A family of health care databases and related software tools and products comprising the largest collection of longitudinal hospital care data in the United States. The website is provided by the U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality.


Census Bureau
Provides social, demographic, and economic information; publications that include current survey reports and historical time-series tables; and data on MCH-related topics, including births, child care, children's health insurance, and fertility. Special features include data from the American Community Survey, the "Statistical Abstract of the United States", and Fedstats, a gateway to statistics from over 100 federal agencies. The Census Bureau is part of the Department of Commerce.


Child and Adolescent Health Measurement Initiative (CAHMI)
Provides information about surveys of various aspects of child and adolescent health, including data collection instruments, instructions, articles and presentations, focusing on the quality of preventive and developmental care for children and adolescents, including those with special health care needs.


Child Health USA
Offers an annual compilation of data on the health status and service needs of infants, children, and adolescents in the United States. This report is provided by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB).


Child Trends
Reports on national trends and research on key indicators of child and adolescent well-being. Resources include research briefs, reports, fact sheets, and presentations on issues, such as health; social and emotional development; income, assets, and work; education and skills; demographics; and family and community. The Child Trends Databank offers data briefs, a newsletter, and What Works, which contains information for indicators about the types of programs and interventions that may influence particular outcomes for children and adolescents. Child Trends is a nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization providing research and data to inform decision-making that affects children and adolescents.


Childstats.gov
Offers access to federal and state statistics and reports on children and their families, including population and family characteristics, economic security, health, behavior and social environment, and education. Publications include America's children: Key national indicators of well-being. ChildStats.gov is a service of the Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics.


Consolidated Federal Funds Report
Presents federal government expenditures or obligations in state, county, and sub-county areas of the United States, the District of Columbia, and U.S. outlying areas. Interactive searches may be performed according to geographic location, object category, Federal agency and Federal program. For Federal program searches, output can be displayed for multiple years and/or multiple states or counties. Data are available for the Federal fiscal years 1993 to 2010. Although this program has terminated, some of the data may be found in the newer USAspending.gov.


CPONDER
Provides access to data collected through the Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System (PRAMS) surveys. The web-based query system contains data that may be analyzed by state, by year, and by topic. Results are returned in the form of a table and graph that users can copy into a document or spreadsheet. It is provided by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.


Data.gov
Provides public access to datasets that are generated and held by the federal government. It provides descriptions of the datasets (metadata), information about how to access the datasets, and tools that leverage government datasets.


Data2010: The Healthy People 2010 Database
Comprises an interactive database for tracking the 467 objectives and 28 focus areas of Healthy People 2010, our national health promotion and disease prevention initiative. Database users may sort the data by focus areas, objectives, or by demographic categories such as race, gender, education level, or income. A keyword search is also available. This data set was closed in October 2011; it is provided by the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS). The Healthy People 2010 site can also be accessed at Healthy People 2010.


Directory of Health and Human Services Data Resources
Offers a compilation of information about and links to most major data collection systems sponsored by the Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS). This directory is a product of the HHS Data Council.


FedStats
Serves as a gateway to statistical information produced by more than 100 federal agencies for public use. Links to data on MCH-related topics, including births, child care, prenatal care, and pregnancy risk factors


Health Data Tools and Statistics
Links to health statistics and national, state, and local public health data sets as well as resources to support data collection. This Web site is a service of the Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce, a collaboration of U.S. government agencies, public health organizations, and health sciences libraries.


KIDS COUNT
Offers databases and publications containing state-by-state and national indicators of child well-being. A separate system offers selected county, city, and community level data. KIDS COUNT is a project of the Annie E. Casey Foundation.


Maternal and Child Health Information Resource Center (MCHIRC)
Provides policy reports and and audioconferences for MCH professionals about collecting, analyzing, and using data for planning and policymaking. Also includes information about its Graduate Student Internship Program. MCHIRC is funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB).


MCH Data Connect
Provides an extensive online database catalog of maternal and child health datasets, interactive tools, and other data resources for public health professionals, researchers, practitioners, policy makers, and students. Topic categories include diseases and conditions; education; environment; geographic units; health behaviors, attitudes and risk factors; health care; injury, violence and safety; life stages and populations; mental health; programs, policies and practice; resource type; sexual and reproductive health; social policy; vaccines, and workplace/employment. It is provided by the Harvard School of Public Health.


National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)
Provides a rich source of information about America's health by compiling surveillance data that helps identify and address critical health problems. Pregnancy, birth, infant mortality, and child health data are included along with pediatric growth charts. NCHS also presents statistical fact sheets about health conditions, the health status of the population and important subgroups, and the health care delivery system in addition to information about surveys and data collection systems, such as the Health Data for All Ages Web site and the National Maternal and Infant Health Survey. Publications include Health, United States and


PeriStats
Offers birth, infant death, and risk indicator data nationally or by state. PeriStats is a service of the March of Dimes.


Profile-IQ
An online data query system containing statistics on local health department finance, workforce, and activities. The system is based on information collected by the National Association of County and City Health Officials' National Profile of Local Health Departments (Profile) study.


Title V Information System (TVIS)
Electronically captures data from annual Title V Block Grant applications and reports submitted by all 59 U.S. states, territories, and jurisdictions and provides information on key measures of maternal and child health (MCH) in the United States. The site provides a description of the Title V program, a searchable database, program materials, state needs assessments, state contact information, a glossary, information about state hotlines, and state snapshots of maternal and child health. TVIS is supported by the U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau.


Trends in the Well-Being of America's Children and Youth
More than 90 indicators of well-being among our nation's children and youth organized by 5 areas: population, family, and neighborhood; economic security; health conditions and health care; social development and behavioral health; and education and achievement. Developed by the Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS).


U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, Data Warehouse
Provides a single point of access to current Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) information, health resources, and demographic data for reporting on HRSA activities. Features include charts, maps, reports, tables, tools, widgets, and news and updates through RSS feeds.


USAspending.gov
Provides data about all federal obligations (amounts awarded for federally sponsored projects during a given budget period from 2000 to the current year), as required by the Federal Funding Accountability and Transparency Act (FFATA) of 2006. Types of spending include contracts, grants, loans, direct payments, insurance, and other. Extensive customized searches are available on the website. It is provided by the Office of Management and Budget.


Women's Health USA
An annual statistical report on the health of America's women. Includes current and historical data about population characteristics, health status, and health services utilization. Compiled by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA).


World Health Organization Statistical Information System (WHOSIS)
International health information and data on topics such as child health and fertility. Includes data from the annual World health report.


Youth Indicators, 2005: Trends in the Well-Being of American Youth
Data about American youth pertaining to topics such as demographics and family composition, family income, school, health, citizenship, and future goals. Developed by the U.S. Department of Education. National Center for Education Statistics.


State Women's Health Profiles
Profiles of each U. S. state and jurisdiction's women's health related priority needs, state performance and outcome measures, and additional women's health related data supplied by states in the 2010 Title V 5-year needs assessment. The profiles are provided by the U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau.


Statehealthfacts.org
State-level data on demographics, health, and health policy, including health coverage, access, financing, and state legislation. Includes 50 state comparison data on demographics and the economy, health status, health coverage and uninsured, Medicaid and SCHIP, Medicare, health costs and budgets, managed care and health insurance, providers and service use, minority health, women's health, and HIV/AIDS. Also provides individual state profiles for states and territories. The site is provided by the Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation.


Administration for Children and Families (ACF)
Describes ACF's programs and services that promote the economic and social well-being of families and children. Resources include research reports and statistics about child care and child welfare. ACF is part of the Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS).


Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)
Contains information about research activities in areas such as children's health and women's health; clinical practice guidelines; quality assessment publications and tools; patient safety; and data and surveys, such as the results from the Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS). The agency is part of the Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS).


Bureau of Primary Health Care (BPHC)
Contains program information and publications about primary health care for the underserved. Offers several online databases with information about drug pricing, health professional shortage areas, primary care practice areas, BPHC-supported health centers, medically underserved areas, and successful program models. BPHC is part of the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA).


Center for Nutrition Policy and Promotion (CNPP)
Contains nutrition-related reports, journal articles, symposium proceedings, and dietary guidance materials for health professionals and consumers. Child and adolescent nutrition topics include obesity, diet quality, and expenditures on children by families. CNPP is part of the Department of Agriculture (USDA).


Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
Offers a wealth of information for health professionals, policymakers, and consumers to promote health and quality of life by preventing and controlling disease, injury, and disability. Resources are provided in English and Spanish and include publications, databases, and other online products, such as CDC Wonder CDC is an agency of the Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS).


Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Office for State, Tribal, Local, and Territorial Support (OSTLTS)
Contains publications, training information, databases, and other resources for public health professionals for strengthening the community practice of public health by creating an effective workforce, building information networks, conducting practice research, and ensuring laboratory quality. PHPPO is part of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).


Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS)
Offers program information, publications, forms, and data about Medicare, Medicaid, the State Children's Health Insurance Program (SCHIP), and the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA). CMS is an agency of the Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS).


Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD)
Contains resources for health professionals, researchers, and consumers that include publications related to NICHD research, information about the Milk Matters and Back to Sleep public health campaigns, news releases, and funding and research information. NICHD is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH).


Food and Nutrition Service (FNS)
Provides information about the nutrition assistance programs that FNS administers, including the child nutrition programs which provide healthy, nutritious meals and snacks to the nation's children. These programs are run by FNS for the Department of Agriculture (USDA).


Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA)
Describes its key program areas and grant programs aimed at improving the nation's health by expanding access to comprehensive, quality health care for all Americans. Resources include publications, data and statistics, and information about events and initiatives. The Maternal and Child Health Bureau is part of HRSA, which is part of the Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS).


HealthyPeople.gov
Describes this national health promotion and disease prevention initiative created by a broad coalition of experts from many sectors to improve the health of all Americans, eliminate disparities in health, and improve years and quality of healthy life. Includes background information on the initiative; the complete text (online and searchable), Healthy People 2010: Understanding and improving health (2nd ed.) (2000); data and statistics, a list of Healthy People partners and related sites; and other publications. It is coordinated by the Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion (ODPHP).


HRSA Managed Care and Health Services Financing Technical Assistance Center (MCTAC)
Contains information about programs, conferences, distance learning opportunities, and other resources for health professionals about providing access to quality health care for underserved and special needs populations.


Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB)
Describes MCHB's projects and initiatives on behalf of America's women, infants, children, adolescents, and their families. Programs include the Title V block grant to states. Information about funding opportunities, data, and publications is also provided. MCHB is part of the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA).


National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion (NCCDPHP)
Offers a wealth of information for health professionals and families about preventing premature death and disability from chronic diseases and promoting healthy personal behaviors. Topics include oral health, physical activity, nutrition, reproductive health, and school health. Resources include publications, information about exemplary state programs, the Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System and the Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System. NCCDPHP is part of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).


National Center for Environmental Health (NCEH)
Provides publications and program information to health professionals and families about environmental hazards and health effects on topics that include asthma, lead poisoning, and emergency preparedness. NCEH is part of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).


National Center for HIV/AIDS, Viral Hepatitis, STD, and TB Prevention (NCHHSTP)
Offers information for health professionals, educators, and families about preventing and controlling HIV/AIDS, sexually transmitted diseases, and tuberculosis. Resources include publications, statistics, facts, hotline information, and databases with information about organizations, funding opportunities, news, educational materials, and conferences. NCHHSTP is part of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).


National Center for Immunization and Respiratory Diseases (NCIRD)
Provides immunization information for health care providers, families, the media, and travelers about vaccine preventable diseases, the benefits of immunization, and the risks of immunization versus the risk of disease. Resources include the childhood immunization schedule, data, educational materials, information in Spanish, news, and other publications. NCIRD is part of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).


National Center for Injury Prevention and Control (NCIPC)
Offers information for health professionals, educators, and families about injury care, violence, and unintentional injuries. Resources include publications, data, and information about programs, conferences, and funding opportunities. NCIPC's Injury Maps provide the geographic distribution of injury-related mortality rates in the U.S. and allows users to create county-level and state-level maps. NCIPC is part of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).


National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities (NCBDDD)
Contains information for families and health professionals to promote optimal fetal, infant, child and adolescent development; prevent birth defects and childhood developmental disabilities; and enhance the quality of life and prevent secondary conditions among children, adolescents, and adults who are living with a disability. Resources are available in English and Spanish and include publications and information about research and surveillance activities, programs, and funding and training opportunities. NCBDDD is part of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).




National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH)
Offers information for health care providers, employees, and employers about workplace safety and health. Resources include publications, databases, health hazard evaluations, training and funding opportunities, and conference information. MCH-related topics include childhood agricultural injury and reproductive health. Information is available in Spanish. NIOSH is part of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).


National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities (NCMHD)
Contains the National Institutes of Health strategic research plan and budget to reduce and ultimately eliminate health disparities. Also includes grant and conference information. NCMHD is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH).


Office of Minority Health Resource Center (OMHRC)
Offers links to publications, programs, funding databases, conference information, and news updates on minority health-related topics. OMHRC is part of the Office of Minority Health.


Office of Population Affairs (OPA)
Includes grant program and legislative information about the Title X National Family Planning Program and Title XX Adolescent Family Life Program. Also includes links to data and publications about reproductive health. OPA is part of the Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS).


Office of the Surgeon General
Includes reports, calls to action, and conference proceedings about important public health issues. Also describes the duties of the Surgeon General and a history of the office. The Surgeon General's Office is part of the Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS).


Policy Information Center (PIC)
Includes a database and set of reports describing completed and ongoing health and human services evaluations, short-term evaluative research, and policy-oriented projects conducted by the Department of Health and Human Services and other federal agencies. PIC includes projects from the Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB). PIC is part of the Office of the Assistant Secretary for Planning and Evaluation (ASPE) at the Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS).


Reports of the Surgeon General
Official reports, conference and workshop reports, and proceedings from the Office of the Surgeon General from 1964 to present. The National Library of Medicine digitized this collection in collaboration with the Office of the Surgeon General.


SaferProducts.gov
An online searchable database allowing consumers to report harm or risk from products or substances, to review manufacturers' comments, and to search for product safety information. This site is provided by the Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC).



AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access)
Comprises a searchable database of bibliographic records created by the National Agricultural Library. AGRICOLA is organized into two bibliographic data sets (books and journal articles) which must be searched separately. AGRICOLA contains information about many child nutrition publications from state child nutrition agencies, Nutrition Education and Training Program products, Team Nutrition grantees, cooperative extension programs, associations, universities, and the Food and Nutrition Service (FNS).


GeneTests
A medical genetics information resource developed for physicians, other health care providers, and researchers that includes GeneReviews (expert-authored disease reviews); an international directory of genetic testing laboratories; an internatinoal directory of genetics and prenatal diagnosis clinics; fact sheets about genetics; and an illustrated glossary with case examples. GeneTests is funded by the National Institutes of Health.


Medical/Health Sciences Libraries on the Web
Offers a list of links to many Web sites for U.S. and international medical/health sciences libraries. This list is provided by the Hardin Library for the Health Sciences at the University of Iowa.


National Library of Medicine (NLM)
Offers databases and electronic health information sources from the world's largest medical library. Includes free access to MEDLINE via PubMed. NLM is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH).


National Network of Libraries of Medicine (NN/LM)
Offers tools for health professionals and consumers about finding high quality health information. Also offers resources for librarians and health educators for identifying and providing health information to the public and managing and evaluating health sciences libraries and health information programs. NN/LM is coordinated by the National Library of Medicine (NLM).


Public Health Image Library (PHIL)
Comprises a database of public health still images, image sets, and multimedia files organized by categories of people, places, and science, including diseases. PHIL can be searched by category or keyword and is available for use by health professionals, scientists, educators, and the general public. PHIL is sponsored by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).


Public Health InfoLinks
Offers links to many public health resources on the World Wide Web, including government, professional association, and nongovernmental organization Web sites. Also contains links to foundation and grant resources, journals and publications, library and research tools, educational resources, and materials on the history of public health. This resource is provided by the Rollins School of Public Health at Emory University.


Schools of Public Health
A list of schools of public health and public health programs accredited by the Council on Education for Public Health in the United States and abroad.


Thomas
Includes the full text of Congressional bills and information about Congressional committees, floor activities, members of Congress, historical documents, the legislative process, and U.S. government Internet resources. Developed by the Library of Congress (LOC).


World Health News
Online weekly news digest covering national and international public health issues. Maternal and child health-related topics have included child mental health, AIDS testing in newborns, and adolescents and tobacco. Published by the Center for Health Communication of the Harvard School of Public Health.


Baby's First Test: the Newborn Screening Clearinghouse (NBSC)
Is funded to increase awareness of newborn screening, and to improve the understanding and informed decision-making capacity of expectant and new parents, health professionals, industry representatives, and the public. Information available in the NBSC includes: condition-specific information, contact information for the condition-specific advocacy organizations, information about what conditions each state screens for, data supplied by the public health laboratories, and general information about the process of newborn screening. It is funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB).


Catalyst Center, the National Center for Health Insurance and Financing for Children and Youth with Special Health Care Needs
Focuses on ensuring that all families of children and youth with special health care needs have access to adequate public and/or private insurance to pay for the services they need. Activities include the development of a tool kit of health insurance financing strategies, in-depth technical assistance to selected state teams, dissemination of existing research on health insurance and financing, short-term technical assistance to diverse stakeholders, a series of national “summit” meetings, and new research on key health insurance and financing topics. The center produces publications, conference calls, and an electronic newsletter. It is funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB).


Center for Mental Health in Schools
Works to improve outcomes for young people by enhancing policies, programs, and practices for addressing barriers to learning and promoting the field of mental health in schools. Publishes newsletters and reports, maintains an open listserv, and sponsors conferences and training seminars. It is supported in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB).


Center for School Mental Health (CSMH)
Offers program information, education and training materials, and other resources about developing and improving school-based mental health programs. CSMH is located at the University of Maryland School of Medicine and is supported by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB).


Child Care Health Partnership Program
Provides information for professionals and families, including health and safety fact sheets, a list of child care contacts for the American Academy of Pediatrics, policy materials and an online resource library. It is partially funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB) and the Office of Child Care


Children's Safety Network (CSN)
Provides technical assistance, publications on a wide range of injury topics, and an electronic newsletter. It is supported by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB).


Data Resource Center for Child and Adolescent Health (DRC)
Provides data from the National Survey of Children with Special Health Care Needs (http://www.cshcndata.org) and the National Survey of Children's Health (http://www.nschdata.org). It is funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB).


Emergency Medical Services for Children (EMSC) National Resource Center (EMSCNRC)
Provides technical assistance to Emergency Medical Services for Children (EMSC) projects in the areas of communication strategies, cooperation with advisory boards and task forces, conversion of grant proposal objectives into action plans, identification of potential collaborators among relevant national organizations, and networking to promote awareness and advocacy of EMSC issues, injury prevention strategies, programs for children with special health care needs, public awareness strategies, and issues associated with various health insurance models.It is supported by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB).


Got Transition™/Center for Health Care Transition Improvement
Advances access to effective transition support from pediatric to adult health care for all youth including those with special needs. Facilitates the implementation and dissemination of best practices in pediatric and adult medical homes and specialty settings. It is a national resource supported by a cooperative agreement between the Maternal and Child Bureau (MCHB) and the National Alliance to Advance Adolescent Health (NAAAH).


Interdisciplinary Technical Assistance Center on Autism and Development Disabilities (ITAC)
Works to improve the health of infants, children, and adolescents who have, or are at risk for developing, Autism Spectrum Disorders (ASDs) and other developmental disabilities. The Center provides technical assistance to interdisciplinary programs that will better train professionals to use valid and reliable screening and diagnostic tools and provide evidence-based interventions for children with ASD and other developmental disabilities. The Web site provides links to related resources and materials plus a state-by-state directory of related programs. It is funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB).


MCH Training and Research Resource Center (MCHTRRC)
Provides technical support to the Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB) Division of MCH Workforce Development, and the MCHB Extramural Research Program. Activities of the MCHTRRC focus on: (1) strategic planning and partnerships development; (2) communications and information dissemination; (3) performance measure reporting; and (4) data analysis and information management. It is funded by the U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau.


National Adolescent and Young Adult Health Information Center (NAHIC)
Provides fact sheets and a monograph on the importance of clinical preventive services (CPS); presentations, checklists, and other tools that aim to improve the delivery of CPS; research tools including information about major data sets and published articles on CPS; and national and state profiles of key measures of adolescent and young adult health. Also provides resources to help professionals and lay audiences understand the Affordable Care Act’s potential impact on adolescents and young adults and resources to help achieve Healthy People 2020 objectives related to adolescents and young adults. It is supported by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB).


National Center for Children's Vision and Eye Health
Supports the development of a public health infrastructure to promote and ensure a comprehensive, multi-tiered continuum of vision care and eye health for young children. Serves as a central resource for health promotion and leadership development. It is also a resource for education and training on children's vision and eye health for public and private entities throughout the United States. It is funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB).


National Center for Cultural Competence (NCCC)
Provides information for health professionals and policymakers about designing, implementing, and evaluating culturally competent health services, including services for children with special health care needs and their families. Includes policy briefs, checklists, a newsletter, Spanish language resources, and publication and conference information. Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB) and is located at the Georgetown University Center for Child and Human Development.


National Center for Ease of Use of Community-Based Services
Provides information on policy and practice solutions that improve the ease of use of community-based services for families with a child with special health care needs. It is funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB).


National Center for Family / Professional Partnerships (NCFPP)
Provides technical assistance, training, and connections among Family to Family Health Information Centers (F2F HICs), Family Voices network members, and other partnering organizations. Services include electronic newsletters for the public and list services for grantees of the F2F HIC grantees. It is supported by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB).


National Center for Fatality Review and Prevention (National CFRP)
Promotes, supports, and enhances fetal, infant, and child death review methodology and activities at the state, community, and national levels. It is supported by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB).


National Center for Hearing Assessment and Management (NCHAM)
Serves as the national resource center for the implementation and improvement of comprehensive and effective Early Hearing Detection and Intervention (EHDI) systems to ensure that all infants and toddlers with hearing loss are identified as early as possible and provided with timely and appropriate audiological, educational, and medical intervention.


National Center for Medical Home Implementation (NCMHI)
Provides educational, resource, and advocacy materials, guidelines for care, practice tools, and technical assistance to physicians, parents, administrators and other health professionals. It is supported by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB).


National Center for Project Access (NCPA)
Provides technical assistance that supports the implementation of Project Access, which focuses on improving access to health services and encouraging early detection and treatment for children with epilepsy and seizure disorders. The center works in the areas of social marketing, outreach, and communicating with diverse communities. It coordinates meetings, promotes best practices, provides training, develops materials, and conducts focus groups. It is funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB).


National Consumer Center for Genetics Resources and Services (NCCGRS)
Offers access to a variety of user-generated online tools, including WikiGenetics (wikigenetics.org) and WikiAdvocacy (wikiadvocacy.org) and develops and makes accessible informational materials and educational programs for consumers. It is supported by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB).


National Coordinating and Evaluation Center for the Sickle Cell Disease Newborn Screening Program (NCEC SCDAA )
Works with grantees of the national Sickle Cell Disease and Newborn Screening Program to provide support to infants screened positive for SCD and trait and their families. SCDAA NCEC is funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB).


National Coordinating Center for the Regional Genetic and Newborn Screening Service Collaboratives
Provides infrastructure, coordination, technical assistance, and resources to the regional collaborative groups to help promote the translation of genetic medicine into public health and health care services. Topics include telemedicine, legal issues, and the assessment of state and federal legislation that may affect the delivery of genetic and newborn screening services. Offers Webcasts, online resources, newsletters, and support group information. It is funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB).


National Emergency Medical Services for Children (EMSC) Data Analysis Resource Center (NEDARC)
Assists managers of Emergency Medical Services (EMS) and Emergency Medical Services for Children (EMSC) programs in developing the capability to collect, analyze, and utilize EMS data. Provides online tutorials and a resource library of templates, state fact sheets, publications, research resources, statistics, and other materials. It is supported by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB).


National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center (OHRC)
Provides information and materials to assist health professionals, program administrators, policymakers, and others in improving oral health services for infants, children, adolescents and their families. Also offers an oral health programs database and information about and links to many oral health-related materials and Web sites. Publications include conference materials, fact sheets, learning modules, resource guides, and policy briefs. OHRC is supported by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB).


National Resource Center for Early Hearing Detection and Intervention (NRC EHDI)
Assists state agencies and other federal and non-federal partners in the development and operation of sustainable statewide Early Hearting Detection and Intervention (EHDI) systems by providing technical assistance, educational and training videos and information about state programs. It is supported by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB).


National Resource Center for Health and Safety in Child Care and Early Education (NRC)
Contains individual states' child care licensure regulations; publications, including the full set of National health and safety performance standards: Guidelines for out-of-home child care programs; health and safety tips for child care providers; and a parent's guide for choosing child care. NRC is funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB).


National Sudden and Unexpected Infant/Child Death and Pregnancy Loss Program Support Center (NSIDPSC)
Provides information and technical assistance to national, state, and community organizations on SIDS and infant death. It is supported by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB).


National Sudden and Unexpected Infant/Child Death and Pregnancy Loss Project IMPACT
Supports state and local infant death programs by sharing information and resources, fostering partnerships and communication, and promoting policy and legislative changes. It is supported by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB).


National SUID/SIDS Resource Center (NSIDRC)
Includes information for health professionals, policymakers, and families about SIDS, other causes of infant mortality, and bereavement. Resources include fact sheets, booklets, bibliographies, and a list of links to other electronic resources. NSIDRC is supported by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB).


Newborn Screening Technical Assistance and Evaluation Program (NewSTEPS)
Aims to be a comprehensive resource center for state newborn screening programs and stakeholders. It provides data, technical assistance, and training to newborn screening programs across the country and assists state with quality improvement initiatives. It is developing a newborn screening data repository and interactive website that will debut in 2013. It is funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB).


Project Thrive
Promotes healthy child development and to provides policy support to the State Early Childhood Comprehensive Systems (ECCS) initiatives funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau. It focuses on integrated high-quality health care and medical homes; early care and education; social-emotional and mental health programs; family support; and parenting education. It provides Webinars and conference calls; conferences and meetings; and downloadable resources and materials. It is funded through a cooperative agreement with the Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB).


State Adolescent Health Resource Center for State MCH Personnel (SAHRC)
Works primarily with the State Adolescent Health Coordinators (SAHCs) on two strategies: (1)  strengthen states' capacity to address Healthy People 2010 Critical Objectives for Adolescents and Young Adults through approaches grounded in best practices; and (2) increase states' capacity to develop and strengthen mechanisms to promote healthy youth development and respond to adolescent health-related needs. The center publishes newsletters, resource alerts, and other materials. It is supported by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB).


State Public Health Autism Resource Center (SPHARC)
Provides state snapshots, promising practices, and other resources to support states as they develop and implement systems to improve the health and well-being of infants, children, and adolescents with autism spectrum disorders and other developmental disabilities. It is funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB).


Traumatic Brain Injury Technical Assistance Center (TBITAC)
Provides information on traumatic brain injury (TBI), maintains searchable databases and an interactive list serve, develops information products and exhibits, facilitates an annual leadership meeting and identifies experts in the areas of TBI. It is funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB).


Advocates for Youth (AFY)
Contains information for adolescents, parents, and health professionals about sexual and reproductive health. Among its fact sheets, newsletters, and reports are publications written by teens for teens. Also offers information about successful pregnancy prevention strategies, interventions, and initiatives throughout the country.


Child Welfare League of America (CWLA)
Offers program information, legislative news, statistics, publications, and other resources about abused and neglected infants, children, and adolescents and their families. Topics include adolescent pregnancy and parenting, children's mental health, child care, managed care, and domestic violence.


Children Now
Provides information about improving the lives of America's children. Program areas include children and the media, improving access to quality health care for children and adolescents, family economic security, and communicating effectively with children. Resources include reports, news releases, and electronic newsletters.


Children's Defense Fund (CDF)
Presents data, legislative news, reports, advocacy opportunities, electronic newsletters, and other resources about issues affecting infants, children, and adolescents. Topics include child care, child welfare and mental health, violence prevention and youth development, and family income.


Clearinghouse on International Developments in Child, Youth and Family Policies
Provides cross-national, comparative information and links about the policies, programs, benefits, and services available in advanced industrialized countries to address child, adolescent, and family needs. Topics include family leave, child care, immunization, child poverty, educational attainment, and adolescent substance abuse. The clearinghouse is part of the Columbia University Institute for Child and Family Policy.


Families USA
Provides reports, legislative news, advocacy tools, data, electronic newsletters, and other resources about efforts to achieve quality, affordable health care for all Americans.


Future of Children
Includes the full text of the journal, Future of children, which describes current research and policy issues relating to the well-being of children.


Guttmacher Institute ( )
Includes policy papers, fact sheets, statistics, and periodicals about reproductive health research and analysis.


Healthy Child Healthy World ( )
Offers information for families and policymakers about environmental toxins that affect children's health. Includes facts about limiting exposures to toxic substances in and around the home; legislative information and advocacy opportunities; list services; and links to additional resources. HCHW is a national organization advised by a panel of pediatricians, scientists, and researchers.


Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation (KFF)
Provides facts and analyses to policymakers, the media, and the public on health policy issues. MCH-related topics include children's health insurance and access to care, reproductive and sexual health, and minority health. KFF is an independent philanthropy focusing on major U.S. health care issues. The related site www.kaiseredu.org provides issue modules, reference libraries, tutorials on policy topics and research methods, and a syllabus library.


Institute for Child Health Policy (ICHP)
Includes program information, publications, and other resources focusing on the organization and financing of health care for children and adolescents, particularly those with special health care needs, and child health systems in Florida. Also contains resources for distance outreach and education. ICHP is a statewide institution of Florida's state university system.


Maternal and Child Health Policy Research Center
Offers publications and project information about the financing, delivery, and quality of health services to pregnant women, infants, children, and adolescents including those with special health care needs and those from low income families.


National Center for Children in Poverty (NCCP)
Offers fact sheets, news releases, reports, and a newsletter about preventing child poverty and improving the lives of low-income children and their families. NCCP is part of the Columbia University School of Public Health.


National PTA (PTA)
Provides information and tools for parents, educators, and students for improving the health and well-being of children and adolescents. Health and safety topics include sexuality education, violence prevention, and playground safety.


Planned Parenthood Federation of America (PPFA)
Provides information for health professionals, advocates, and consumers about family planning, sexual health, and sexuality education. Includes fact sheets, brochures, guides for parents, and access to its online library. PPFA also has a Web site for adolescents that explores topics such as pregnancy prevention and human sexuality through feature articles, quizzes, charts, and experts' answers to often-asked questions.


Bright Futures at Georgetown University
Offers publications, training tools, and distance education materials for providing health supervision for infants, children, and adolescents. Materials include a set of guidelines; specialized guides in oral health, nutrition, mental health, and physical activity; tools to use in implementing the guides; training materials for health professionals; and materials for families. Bright Futures also provides distance education for Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnostic and Treatment (EPSDT) services. Some of the materials are available in Spanish.


Bright Futures for Families
Provides materials for families related to the Bright Futures guidelines for health supervision for infants, children, and adolescents. Includes a pocket guide covering stages of child development from birth through age 21, health visit check lists, and child health and development tips. Bright Futures for Families is a project of Family Voices.


Center for Health Care Strategies (CHCS)
Provides program and grant information and resources for policymakers, researchers, consumer groups, and others involved in the design, implementation, and monitoring of managed care health plans for Medicaid and the State Children's Health Insurance Program (SCHIP). Resources include a series of publications about managed care best practices. CHCS is a nonprofit policy resource center that promotes high-quality health care services for low-income populations and people with special health care needs.


Center for Healthier Children, Families and Communities
Offers program information and publications to improve health services for children, train health professionals to meet child and family needs, and improve policies affecting children and their families. The center is located at the University of California, Los Angeles.


Center for the Study and Prevention of Violence (CSPV)
Provides publications, databases, and program information to assist with the development and evaluation of effective violence prevention programs. Offers a set of fact sheets that focuses on a range of topics including school violence, bullying, gangs, and firearms. CSPV is a research center at the University of Colorado at Boulder.


CLAS Institute (CLAS)
Comprises a database of materials describing culturally and linguistically appropriate practices for early childhood and early intervention services, including books, videotapes, articles, manuals, brochures and audiotapes; guidelines, reports, and other publications by CLAS; program descriptions, child find brochures, and evaluation tools, many in full text; and Web links. Each page of the site may be read in Spanish or English, and some of the materials listed are available in Spanish. CLAS is located at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.


Early Childhood Research Institute on Culturally and Linguistically Appropriate Services (CLAS)
Comprises a database of materials describing culturally and linguistically appropriate practices for early childhood and early intervention services, including books, videotapes, articles, manuals, brochures and audiotapes; guidelines, reports, and other publications by CLAS; program descriptions, child find brochures, and evaluation tools, many in full text; and Web links. Each page of the site may be read in Spanish or English, and some of the materials listed are available in Spanish. CLAS is located at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.


Fathers' Network
Resources for fathers and families of children with special health care needs and for the professionals who serve them. Contains articles by fathers, information about the network's books and videotapes, a newsletter, and information for professionals about father-friendly services. Spanish resources are available. Developed by the National Fathers Network and funded by the U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA).


Food and Nutrition Information Center (FNIC)
Comprises databases and resource lists with links to reports, policy statements, bibliographies, Web sites, and other information tools on food and nutrition topics for health professionals, school personnel, and consumers. Also links to dietary guidelines and food guide pyramid materials. FNIC is one of several information centers at the National Agricultural Library (NAL).


Gaining and Growing: Assuring Nutritional Care of Preterm Infants
Offers checklists for nutrition assessment, decision trees, case studies, and other resources for community health professionals who work with premature infants, especially those with very low birthweight. Gaining and Growing is funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB).


Genetic and Rare Diseases Information Center (GARD)
Responds to questions from consumers and health professionals about genetic and rare disorders. The center is part of the Office of Rare Diseases (ORD) at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).


Genetic Tools ( )
Provides background information, teaching cases, and links to other resources, to facilitate teaching about genetics in primary care settings. This Web site is produced by the University of Washington and funded by the U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau.


Genetics Resources on the Web (GROW)
Search engine that finds information on human genetics, with a particular focus on genetic medicine and health, from Web sites of member organizations. GROW is maintained by the National Coalition for Health Professional Education in Genetics.


Head Start Information and Publication Center (HSIPC)
Distributes information to parents and child care professionals, particularly those from the Head Start community, about providing quality care for young children. Materials include resource and training guides, conference reports, child assessment forms, fact sheets, program information, and toolkits. HSIPC is a service of the Head Start Bureau.


Healthy Meals Resource System
Offers resources for school food service and child nutrition professionals including education and training materials, reports, recipes and menus, regulatory information, online discussion groups, and downloadable software. Childhood obesity, school meal programs, nutrition and child care, nutrition and learning, and food safety are among some of the topics addressed. HSMRS also contains links to the Web sites for each states' child nutrition agency, and many of these sites offer their own child nutrition education and training materials. HSMRS is a service of the National Agricultural Library (NAL).


Information and Knowledge for Optimal Health Project (INFO Project)
Offers a range of information for health professionals, policymakers, researchers, and the media about family planning and reproductive health internationally. Includes a bibliographic database, publications, a database of photos, radio spots, links to information about best practices, e-learning courses and other resources. The INFO Project is located at the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health.



March of Dimes (MOD)
Contains resources for health professionals and consumers about prenatal care, childbirth education, birth defects, maternal and infant health statistics, and how to get involved in improving the health of babies by reducing birth defects and infant mortality. MOD also provides information in Spanish.


MCH Managed Care Resources
Provides online training modules and publications about managed care for those engaged in maternal and child health policy and provision. This Web site is developed by the Center for Advancement of Distance Education at the University of Illinois School of Public Health.


Mental Health America
Contains fact sheets, position statements, discussion groups, legislative alerts, and other resources for health professionals and consumers about mental health topics, including those related to children and adolescents.


Motherisk
Provides evidence-based information for consumers and health professionals about the safety or risk of drugs, chemicals, and disease during pregnancy and breastfeeding. Motherisk is a service of the Hospital for Sick Children in Toronto, Canada.


National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy = Power to Decide (NCPTUP)
Contains data, research and survey results, conference materials, and other resources about adolescent pregnancy for parents, adolescents, health professionals, and policymakers. Spanish language resources are available.


National Center for Children Exposed to Violence (NCCEV)
Offers an online library containing abstracts of journal articles and other literature, program information, publications, and other resources about children and violence. Developed by the Yale University Child Study Center, NCCEV also provides training, technical assistance, and consultation to community programs.



National Child Care Information and Technical Assistance Center (NCCIC)
Offers an online library containing summaries and availability information for materials about child care and child development. Also provides national and state profiles on child care funding, licensing, enrollment, and demographics; directories of state child care contacts; and links to resources on a variety of child care topics. NCCIC is a project of the Child Care Bureau.


National Children's Center for Rural and Agricultural Health and Safety
Contains newsletters, fact sheets, and other resources for health professionals and child safety advocates on the health and safety of children exposed to rural and agricultural hazards. The center is based in the National Farm Medicine Center at Marshfield Clinic.


National Dissemination Center for Children with Disabilities (NICHCY)
Provides a wealth of resources for families, educators, and other professionals on disabilities and disability-related issues that include early intervention, special education and related services, individualized education plans, family issues, education rights, and transition to adult life. Publications include fact sheets, parent guides, student guides, and bibliographies. State resource sheets list the organizations and agencies within each state that address disability-related issues. Materials are available in English and Spanish. NICHCY is a project of the Academy of Educational Development and is funded by the Department of Education (ED).


National Institute for Health Care Management Foundation (NIHCM Foundation)
Offers research and conference information and publications about the health care system to health professionals, policymakers, administrators, and consumers. Maternal and child health topics include children's health insurance and access to care and childhood obesity. The NIHCM Foundation is a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization dedicated to improving the American health care system.


National Organization for Rare Disorders (NORD)
Provides newsletters, position papers, and other information for patients, families, and health professionals. Operates medication assistance programs and a patient networking program for those affected by rare disorders and for whom no organized support groups exist. Maintains online databases about rare disorders, organizations that assist people affected by rare disorders, and drugs developed to treat rare disorders. NORD is a federation of voluntary health organizations committed to the identification, treatment, and cure of rare disorders.


National Prevention Information Network (NPIN)
Contains publications, online databases, news, conference and funding information, statistics, and other resources for health professionals and researchers about HIV/AIDS, hepatitis, sexually transmitted diseases (STDs), and tuberculosis (TB). Spanish language resources are also provided. NPIN is a service of the National Center for HIV, STD, and TB Prevention at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).


National Rehabilitation Information Center (NARIC)
Provides access to databases of information about literature, organizations, and Web resources on rehabilitation, disability, and assistive technology. NARIC is funded by the National Institute on Disability and Rehabilitation Research (NIDRR).


National School Safety Center (NSSC)
Presents information about school violence and school crime for parents, educators, and the media. Resources include a school safety assessment, school violence and crime statistics, and training information. NSSC is a nonprofit organization dedicated to creating safe schools for all of America's children.


National Women's Health Information Center (NWHIC)
Offers a wealth of women's and girls' health information for health professionals and consumers on topics such as adolescent health, breastfeeding, pregnancy, violence, nutrition, sexually transmitted diseases, disabilities, and minority health. Spanish language resources are available. NWHIC is a project of the Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS).


National Youth Violence Prevention Resource Center (NYVPRC)
Contains information about adolescent violence prevention and intervention programs, publications, research, and statistics for parents, professionals, and adolescents. Includes an extensive collection of annotated links to information on the topic from federal agencies, professional groups, and other sources. NYVPRC is sponsored by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and the Federal Working Group on Youth Violence.


Pavnet (Partnerships Against Violence Network) Online
Contains information on programs, resources, and funding sources for violence prevention and at-risk children and adolescents. Pavnet draws on data from seven federal agencies.


PE Central
Includes lesson and assessment ideas and instructional resources for health and physical education teachers and parents to help children and adolescents become physically active. PE Central was developed by faculty and doctoral students in Virginia Tech's Health and Physical Education Program.


Power to Decide: The Campaign to Prevent Unplanned Pregnancy
Contains data, research and survey results, conference materials, and other resources about adolescent pregnancy for parents, adolescents, health professionals, and policymakers. Spanish language resources are available.


President's Council on Fitness, Sports, and Nutrition (PCFSN)
Contains resources for coaches, teachers, health and fitness professionals, students, and the general public about physical fitness. Includes program information and materials for the Presidential Physical Fitness Award Program, which is aimed at encouraging children and adolescents ages 6 to 17 to become more physically active. Also offers a quarterly summary of recent research on specific physical activity topics and an online resource to help all Americans build a regular physical activity routine.


Promoting Responsible Fatherhood
Contains research program evaluations, reports, and other publications focusing on fatherhood. Also provides information on demonstration projects and outreach programs as well as links to other federal and national efforts to support fathers. Contains the Responsible Fatherhood Management Information System (RFMIS), a database and guidebook designed to help fatherhood programs across the country maintain information on the services needed by and delivered to fathers. The Initiative is a program of the Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS).


Resource Center for Adolescent Pregnancy Prevention (ReCAPP)
Tools and information on reducing sexual risk-taking behaviors among adolescents. Includes information on evidence-based programs that change sexual risk-taking behavior, skill-building activities, education and facilitation tips, statistics, current research, and a database of educational materials.


USDA Healthy Meals Resource System
Training materials, bibliographies, recipes, and other resources for persons working in the USDA's child nutrition programs about preparing nutritious meals and food safety. USDA Healthy Meals System is one of several information centers at the National Agricultural Library (NAL).


ZERO TO THREE: National Center for Infants, Toddlers and Families
Resources for parents, child care providers, and health professionals for promoting the healthy development of infants and toddlers.


Academic Pediatric Association (APA)
Educational guidelines for pediatric residency programs; information about APA's research, special interest groups, meetings, newsletter, and journal.


Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics (AND)
Nutrition resources for health professionals and consumers, including childhood obesity and weight loss, food safety, and career resources. Some materials are available in Chinese and Spanish.


American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry (AACAP)
Resources for families, medical students and residents, and practitioners about developmental, behavioral, emotional, and mental disorders affecting children and adolescents. Some family materials are available in Arabic, Hebrew, Icelandic, Malaysian, Polish, Spanish, and Urdu.


American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP)
Professional resources including clinical and research, running a practice, policy and advocacy, training, and careers. Information on public health issues, immunization, disaster preparedness, genomics, and Medicare Part D drug benefits.


American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry (AAPD)
Guidelines, journals, brochures, and other resources for health professionals and parents about improving oral health for infants, children, and adolescents, including those with special health care needs.


American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP)
Resources for parents and professionals regarding the physical, mental, and social health of infants, children, adolescents, and young adults, as well as information about AAP's advocacy work, research, publications, membership, and meetings.


American Academy of Physician Assistants (AAPA)
Information about physician assistant programs and the physician assistant profession.


American Association of Poison Control Centers (AAPCC)
Map of U.S. poison centers, guidelines on managing suspected exposures to poisons, prevention resources for consumers, poison statistics.


American College of Nurse-Midwives (ACNM)
Information on finding and becoming a midwife, continuing education, practice resources, publications and research, consumer information.


American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists (ACOG)
Resources for advocacy, professional education, practice management, and women's issues. Quick guides to Web information on selected topics.


American Dental Association (ADA)
Activities for kids, classroom activity resources, A-Z oral health topics, directory of member dentists, and professional resources.


American Dental Hygienists' Association (ADHA)
Information for health professionals and consumers on the oral health of children and adolescents, including an oral health education section for children, education and career information for hygienists, advocacy and legislative tracking, and professional issues.


American Hospital Association (AHA)
Resources on advocacy, health systems issues, research and trends, news. Links for consumers and health leaders.


American Medical Association (AMA)
Resources for physicians and consumers on a variety of health topics affecting families. Also contains information about AMA's policy and advocacy work, accreditation, education opportunities, products, services, and publications.


American Medical Women's Association (AMWA)
Professional resources on advocacy, career development, meetings, and a professional journal.


American Nurses Association (ANA)
Resources on careers and credentialing, professional nursing practice and ethics, health care policy, government affairs, and occupational and environment.


American Occupational Therapy Association (AOTA)
Resources for practitioners, students, and researchers, and consumer information about how occupational therapy helps various age groups and those with varying conditions.


American Psychological Association (APA)
Resources for health professionals, educators, and parents about child, adolescent, and family mental health.


American Public Health Association (APHA)
Resources on advocacy and on public health issues such as health insurance, disaster preparedness, the environment, and school-based health care. Annual conference and bookstore.


American School Health Association (ASHA)
Describes an optimal school health program and offers information about its membership, conferences, and publications.


Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs (AMCHP)
Advocacy resources on federally-funded maternal and child health programs and links to resources on current MCH topics from adolescent health through workforce development. Conferences, webinars, and publications.


Association of Schools and Programs of Public Health (ASPPH)
Definition of public health, list of member schools, curriculum and public health practice resources, and advocacy materials.


Association of State and Territorial Health Officials (ASTHO)
Program information, publications, and other resources for public health professionals on topics such as access to health care, immunizations, and environmental health. Provides a list of state health officials and links to state health departments.


CityMatCH
Resources about urban maternal and child health (MCH) issues. Initiatives include the Perinatal Periods of Risk (PPOR) collaborative and the MCH Life Course Toolbox. CityMatCH is a national membership organization for city and county health departments' MCH programs and leaders representing urban communities in the United States.


National Academy for State Health Policy (NASHP)
Program, research, and conference information; publications; and news about state health policy and practice. Topics include children's health insurance, early childhood health and development, oral health, and others


National Association of County and City Health Officials (NACCHO)
Program information, publications, assessment tools, advocacy, and other resources for local public health officials on topics such as health reform implementation and radiation and nuclear preparedness.


National Association of Pediatric Nurse Practitioners (NAPNAP)
Resources on advocacy and legislation, continuing education, programs and initiatives, practice resources, patient education, and research updates.


National Association of School Nurses (NASN)
Resources on continuing education, professional development, policy and advocacy, and research. Links to educational campaigns and other resources on topics of interest to school nurses such as childhood obesity, promoting non-violence, environmental health, and meningitis.


National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL)
State legislative information, policy analysis, publications, and news about current issues affecting states.


National Governors Association (NGA)
State and federal legislative news and policy analysis on issues affecting states. Issue briefs and other publications on maternal and child health topics including health reform implementation, early childhood care and education, and obesity prevention.


National Medical Association (NMA)
Resources for professionals including a journal, calendar of events, and the Cobb Health Institute which conducts data-driven research and makes policy recommendations. Consumer resources on diabetes education, smoking cessation, HIV/AIDS prevention and other topics.


National School Boards Association (NSBA)
Legislative issues, advocacy, promising school district practices, and resources on school health and school law.


National WIC Association (NWA)
Information about the Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants, and Children (WIC) including legislative priorities, research, the National Food and Nutrition questionnaire, national campaigns on hunger and breastfeeding, and a list of state WIC agencies.


School Nutrition Association (SNA)
Resources related to school food services including running school food service programs, educating kids about nutrition, preparing school meals, journals and newsletters, continuing education and professional development, legislative and regulatory information.


Society for Adolescent Health and Medicine (SAHM)
Resources for professionals including position papers, a list service, continuing education, and annual conferences. Links to sites for professionals and youth.


ASTHO State and Territorial Links
Links to all state and territorial health agencies. This is a service of the Association of State and Territorial Health Officials (ASTHO).


Every Child Matters Education Fund
Data on children's issues in all 50 states, listing of federal and state elected and appointed officials, information on assistance programs in each state.


FastStats State and Territorial Data
Health, demographic, and other data by state; links to state health departments and data tools. FastStats is compiled by the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS).


HRSA In Your State
Overview of Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) current programs and grants, and demographic and infant birth/death data at the state and county level. State maps show counties that have received funding.


Individual States' Child Care Licensure Regulations
Access to child care regulations and child care contacts in each state. This resource is provided by the National Resource Center for Health and Safety in Child Care and Early Education.


InsureKidsNow
Information on each state's child health insurance program. Links to program and implementation resources, including Spanish-language resources. This national campaign is sponsored by the Health Resources and Services Administration.


Links to SUID and SIDS Partners
State and national agencies and organizations that provide information and support related to sudden infant death, bereavement services, and child death review, including resources from Project Impact and First Candle. This compilation is provided by the National Sudden and Unexpected Infant / Child Death and Pregnancy Loss Resource Center.


National Association of State Directors of Developmental Disabilities Services (NASDDDS)
Directory of state intellectual/developmental disabilities agency contacts and websites.


NICHCY State Resources
Lists of organizations and agencies that address child disability issues and parent resources within each state. The listings are provided by the National Dissemination Center for Children with Disabilities (NICHCY).


Public Health Snapshots by State
Selected public health data for each state, including education and training sources, community health statistics, public health partnerships, board of health state statutes, and more. This resource is provided by the National Association of Local Boards of Health.


State Health Departments
Links to all state health department websites. This resource is provided by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).


State Snapshots
Summary measures of quality of care and states' performances relative to all states and the region by: (a) overall health care quality; (b) types of care (preventive, acute, and chronic); (c) settings of care (hospitals, ambulatory care, nursing home, and home health); (d) five clinical conditions (cancer, diabetes, heart disease, maternal and child health, and respiratory diseases); and (5) special focus areas on diabetes, asthma, Healthy People 2020, clinical preventive services, disparities, payer, and variation over time. This resource is developed by the U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality.


Title V Information System, State MCH Applications and Contact Information
Narratives and data forms from each state's Title V program application. Searchable listings of state MCH and CSHCN directors and state MCH hotline phone numbers. TVIS is supported by the U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau.


To find further resources, you can search the MCH Organizations Database, which contains information on more than 2,000 organizations that focus on MCH-related topics. Many of the organizations have Web sites that you can link to directly.

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.