Skip Navigation

Strengthening the evidence for maternal and child health programs

Nutrition During Pregnancy Bibliography

Nutrition During Pregnancy

Bibliography of Materials from MCHLine®

This bibliography of 20 items is drawn from MCHLine®, the MCH Digital Library online catalog. This bibliography includes selected materials published in the last ten years on proper nutrition during pregnancy for professionals, pregnant women, and pregnant adolescents.

The MCH Digital Library focuses on publications from federal and state agencies, from grantees of federal and state agencies, and from professional and voluntary organizations. It contains unique materials on the history of maternal and child health in the United States, policy papers, reports, conference proceedings, manuals, survey instruments, guidelines, and curricula. The library does not collect materials on clinical medicine. Consumer health materials and commercially published materials are collected very selectively.

Displaying 20 records.

Lorenzo SB, Wilhite BC. 2017. Nutrition during preconception and pregnancy: Resource brief (upd. ed.). Washington, DC: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, 1 p.

Annotation: This resource brief is designed to help consumers and professionals find nutrition assistance and information about good nutrition during pregnancy. Contents include evidence-based guidelines; training materials; and information on food safety, foods to avoid, folic acid, and WIC. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Bibliographies, Consumer education materials, Electronic publications, Nutrition, Preconceptional nutrition, Pregnancy, Women

U.S. Department of Agriculture. 2016. Pregnancy and breastfeeding. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Agriculture,

Annotation: This resource provides information about special nutritional needs and healthy weight gain during pregnancy and breastfeeeding. Contents include a daily checklist for estimating what and how much to eat. Information about dietary supplements; medical conditions, allergies, and food intolerances; food safety; and other topics is included.

Contact: U.S. Department of Agriculture, 1400 Independence Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20250, Telephone: (202) 720-2791 Fax: E-mail: Web Site: http://www.usda.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Federal programs, Nutrition, Pregnant women, Special health care needs, Supplements, Weight gain

Bellows, Moore R. 2013. Nutrition and oral health (rev.). Fort Collins, CO: Colorado State University Extension, 1 v.

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information on nutrition and oral health, including facts about bacteria and foods that may act to increase or decrease risk for tooth decay. Additional topics include the tooth decay process; fluoridated water and sources of fluoride; oral health during pregnancy, infancy, and childhood; early childhood caries; and oral health and older adults. Tips to reduce tooth decay risk are included.

Contact: Colorado State University, Extension, Campus Delivery 4040, Fort Collins, CO 80523-4040, Telephone: (970) 491-7334 Fax: (970) 491-7252 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.ext.colostate.edu Available from the website.

Keywords: Children, Dental caries, Dental hygiene, Disease prevention, Fluorides, Infants, Nutrition, Oral health, Pregnant women

Institute of Medicine, Food and Nutrition Board and National Research Council. 2013. Implementing guidelines on weight gain and pregnancy. Washington, DC: National Academies Press, 20 pp.

Annotation: This booklet for health professionals highlights key points from the new guidelines on weight gain and pregnancy published in 2009 by the Institute of Medicine and the National Research Council. Based on evidence that a woman's health and weight before pregnancy and after delivery are just as important as her health and weight during pregnancy, the booklet explains that beginning pregnancy at a healthy weight is key; that some weight gain during pregnancy (but not too much) is important; and that returning to a healthy weight after pregnancy will help set the stage for a healthy future pregnancy. A list of things that health professionals can do to help their patients achieve a healthy pregnancy is included.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: customer_service@nap.edu Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 978-0-309-27239-1.

Keywords: Body weight, Gestational weight gain, Guidelines, Infant health, Maternal health, Obesity, Pregnancy, Pregnancy outcome, Weight gain, Weight management

National Center on Early Childhood Health and Wellness. 2012–. Brush up on oral health. Elk Grove Village, IL: National Center on Early Childhood Health and Wellness, monthly.

Annotation: This tip sheet series provides Head Start staff with information on current practice, practical tips for promoting oral health to share with parents, and recipes for healthy snacks that children can make with Head Start staff or at home with their parents. Topics include children with special health care needs, community water fluoridation, dental caries, dental home, fluoride varnish, health literacy, home visiting, injury, nutrition, pregnancy, school readiness, and tobacco.

Contact: Early Childhood Learning and Knowledge Center, Telephone: (866) 763-6481 E-mail: health@ecetta.info Web Site: https://eclkc.ohs.acf.hhs.gov/hslc Available from the website.

Keywords: Dental care, Head Start, Health promotion, Infants, Nutrition, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Pregnant women, Resources for professionals, Spanish language materials, Special health care needs, Tobacco, Young children

Oral Health During Pregnancy Expert Workgroup. 2012–. Tips for good oral health during pregnancy. Washington, DC: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, 2 pp.

Annotation: This tip sheet provides information and resources to help women take care of their oral health during pregnancy. Topics include getting oral health care, practicing good oral hygiene, eating healthy foods, and practicing other healthy behaviors. The tip sheet also encourages women to take care of their infant’s gums and teeth and ask their pediatric health professional to check their infant’s mouth starting at age 6 months. The tip sheet is available in Arabic, Chinese, Chuukese, English, German, Korean, Portuguese, Russian, Samoan, Spanish, and Vietnamese. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9771 E-mail: OHRCinfo@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Dental care, Health behavior, Infants, Non English language materials, Nutrition, Oral health, Oral hygiene, Pregnancy, Pregnant women

Gardner DB. 2012. Vitamin D supplementation among women of childbearing age: Prevalence and disparities. [Seattle, WA]: University of Washington, 20 pp.

National Healthy Mothers, Healthy Babies Coalition. 2012. Powerhouse nutrients for optimal growth and development: Evidence based guidelines for optimum growth and development. Alexandria, VA: National Healthy Mothers, Healthy Babies Coalition, (Maternal and child health webinar series: Webinar 12)

Annotation: This webinar reviews the importance of major nutrients in pregnancy outcomes and infant cognitive and neurological development. Focusing on three of the major nutrients -- folic acid, vitamin D and omega-3 DHA -- the presenter provides evidence-based guidelines on appropriate levels of intake and identifies the health benefits during pregnancy and lactation and upon infant visual, social, cognitive, and psychomotor development. The presenter discusses the best sources for major nutrients and offers guidelines on food safety for pregnant women.

Contact: National Healthy Mothers, Healthy Babies Coalition, 4401 Ford Avenue, Suite 300***OPERATIONS MOVED TO ZERO TO THREE*** 5/5/2015, Alexandria, VA 22302, Telephone: (703) 837-4792 Fax: (703) 664-0485 E-mail: info@hmhb.org Web Site: http://www.hmhb.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Guidelines, Infant development, Maternal nutrition, Multimedia, Nutrition education, Nutrition research, Pregnant outcome, Pregnant women

Perinatal Nutrition Working Group. 2012. Benefits of seafood consumption and Omega-3 DHA during pregnancy and early post-natal development: White paper. Alexandria, VA: National Healthy Mothers, Healthy Babies Coalition, 12 pp.

Annotation: This paper provides information about seafood consumption and omega-3 DHA during pregnancy and breastfeeding to promote optimal fetal and neonatal congnitive development. Topics include benefits of seafood consumption during pregnancy, concerns about mercury consumption, and the trend toward consuming insufficient quantities of seafood.

Contact: National Healthy Mothers, Healthy Babies Coalition, 4401 Ford Avenue, Suite 300***OPERATIONS MOVED TO ZERO TO THREE*** 5/5/2015, Alexandria, VA 22302, Telephone: (703) 837-4792 Fax: (703) 664-0485 E-mail: info@hmhb.org Web Site: http://www.hmhb.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Infant development, Infant nutrition, Pregnancy, Research, Safety, Trends

U.S. Food and Drug Administration. 2012. Food safety for moms-to-be. Rockville, MD: U.S. Food and Drug Administration,

Annotation: This website provides information on food safety and preventing foodborne illness for pregnant women. Advice is provided for women before they get pregnant, during pregnancy, in addition to over a whole life cycle. More contents include a food-by-food guide, revised food handling guidelines, educator tools, resources for professionals, and brochures.

Contact: U.S. Food and Drug Administration, 10903 New Hampshire Ave., Silver Spring, MD 20993, Telephone: (888) 463-6332 Fax: (301) 443-3100 Web Site: http://www.fda.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Disease prevention, Food safety, Maternal nutrition, Preconceptional nutrition, Pregnant women, Resources for professionals

Ohio State University Extension and Colorado State University Extension. 2011. Healthy baby, healthy me: A curriculum on safe food handling for pregnant women. Columbus, OH: Ohio State University Extension,

Annotation: This curriculum on safe food handling for pregnant women includes four lesson plans, handouts, a teachers0' guide, evaluation forms, and slides that can be projected or used as flip charts. Lesson one explains why pregnant women are at increased risk for foodborne illness; lesson two provides information about Toxoplasma gondii and how to prevent infection by this parasite; lesson three is about the foods that can be contaminated with Salmonella; and lesson four talks about using thermometers to take the temperatures of cooked foods to prevent Camplyobacter. Also included are marketing materials to promote the course and a certificate of completion.

Contact: Ohio State University Extension, 2120 Fyffe Rd., Room 3 Ag Admin, Columbus, OH 43210, Telephone: 614-292-6181 Fax: 618-688-3807 Web Site: http://extension.osu.edu Available from the website.

Keywords: Curricula, Educational materials, Food handling, Pregnant women, Safety

Ohio State University Extension and Colorado State University Extension. 2011. Healthy baby, healthy me: A curriculum on safe food handling for pregnant women. Columbus, OH: Ohio State University Extension,

Annotation: This curriculum on safe food handling for pregnant women includes four lesson plans, handouts, a teachers guide, evaluation forms, and slides that can be projected or used as flip charts. Lesson one explains why pregnant women are at increased risk for foodborne illness; lesson two provides information about Toxoplasma gondii and how to prevent infection by this parasite; lesson three is about the foods that can be contaminated with salmonella; and lesson four talks about using thermometers to take the temperatures of cooked foods to prevent Camplyobacter. Also included are marketing materials to promote the course and a certificate of completion for the course.

Contact: Ohio State University Extension, 2120 Fyffe Rd., Room 3 Ag Admin, Columbus, OH 43210, Telephone: 614-292-6181 Fax: 618-688-3807 Web Site: http://extension.osu.edu Available from the website.

Keywords: Curricula, Food handling, Food safety, Pregnant women, Prenatal care

U.S. Food and Nutrition Information Center. 2010. Nutrition during pregnancy resource list. Beltsville, MD: U.S. Food and Nutrition Information Center, 11 pp.

Annotation: This publication is a collection of resources on nutrition during pregnancy. Topics covered include general nutrition during pregnancy, folic acid, food safety, and gestational or preexisting diabetes. Pamphlets, booklets, Web sites, audiovisual materials, and books published in 2008 or later are included in the resource list. Resource descriptions, ordering information, and electronic links (where available) are provided.

Contact: U.S. Food and Nutrition Information Center, National Agricultural Library, 10301 Baltimore Avenue, Room 105, Beltsville, MD 20705-2351, Telephone: (301) 504-5719 Secondary Telephone: (301) 504-5248 Fax: (301) 504-6409 E-mail: fnic@nal.usda.gov Web Site: http://fnic.nal.usda.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Bibliographies, Nutrition, Pregnancy, Pregnant women, Prenatal nutrition, Resource materials

Hoynes HW, Page ME, Stevens AH. 2009. Is a WIC Start a better start?: Evaluating WIC's impact on infant health using program introduction. Cambridge, MA: National Bureau of Economic Research, 40 pp. (NBER working paper series no. 15589)

Annotation: This working paper evaluates how the introduction of WIC (the Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants and Children) across U.S. counties has impacted the health of infants. Since a major goal of the WIC program is to improve the nutritional well-being and health of low income families, the study focused largely on changes in the birth weight of infants in counties that have implemented WIC. Significant findings are summarized in the study.

Contact: National Bureau of Economic Research, 1050 Massachusetts Avenue, Cambridge, MA 02138-5398, Telephone: (617) 868-3900 Fax: (617) 868-2742 E-mail: info@nber.org Web Site: http://www.nber.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Infant health, Low income groups, Nutrition programs, Pregnancy outcome , Program evaluation, WIC program

Oliveira V, Frazåo E. 2009. The WIC program: Background, trends, and economic issues. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Agriculture, Economic Research Service, 82 pp. (Economic research report, no. 27)

Annotation: This report presents background information on the Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants, and Children (WIC), including how it works, its history, program trends, and the characteristics of the population it serves. It also examines issues related to program outcomes and administration.

Contact: U.S. Department of Agriculture, Economic Research Service, 1800 M Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20036-5831, Telephone: (202) 694-5050 E-mail: infocenterers.usda.gov Web Site: http://www.ers.usda.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Children, Infants, Mothers, Nutrition, Pregnant women, Program descriptions, WIC Program

Weight-control Information Network. 2009. Fit for two: Tips for pregnancy. Bethesda, MD: National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases, 25 pp. (Healthy eating and physical activity across your lifespan)

Annotation: This Web site, which is geared toward pregnant women, offers information about how to have a healthier pregnancy by eating healthy foods and engaging in physical activity. The information is divided into three main sections: healthy eating, physical activity, and after the baby is born. Each section includes answers to common questions. A list of resources is included, as well.

Contact: Weight-Control Information Network, National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases, One Win Way, Bethesda, MD 20892-3665, Telephone: (877) 946-4627 Fax: (202) 828-1028 E-mail: WIN@info.niddk.nih.gov Web Site: http://win.niddk.nih.gov/index.htm Available at no charge; also available from the website. Document Number: NIH Pub no. 06-5130.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Food habits, Physical activity, Pregnancy, Prenatal education, Women's health

Finegold K, Kramer FD, Saloner B, Parnes J. 2008. The role of the Commodity Supplemental Food Program (CSFP) in nutritional assistance to mothers, infants, children, and seniors. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Agriculture, Economic Research Service, 71 pp. (Contractor and cooperator report no. 48)

Annotation: This report looks at how the Commodity Supplemental Food Program (which provides supplemental food packages to about half a million low-income pregnant and postpartum women) operates, who participates in it, how it fits into the overall food assistance landscape, and what are states' expectations for its future use, in relation to other food assistance programs and target populations. Program eligibility and participation are also addressed.

Contact: U.S. Department of Agriculture, Economic Research Service, 1800 M Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20036-5831, Telephone: (202) 694-5050 E-mail: infocenterers.usda.gov Web Site: http://www.ers.usda.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Commodity Supplemental Food Program, Eligibility, Enrollment, Federal programs, Low income groups, Nutrition, Postpartum women, Pregnant women

Minnesota Department of Health, Environmental Impacts Analysis Unit - Birth Defects. 2008. Minnesota's folic acid guidelines for the prevention of neural tube defects (NTDs). St. Paul, MN: Minnesota Department of Health, 2 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet recommends that all women of childbearing age maintain a proper level of folic acid since statistics indicate that folic acid can prevent 50 to 70 percent of neural tube defects (NTD's) and that 50 percent of pregnancies are unplanned. The fact sheet offers general recommendations on the amount of folic acid women need based on their health history and provides answers to commonly asked questions about folic acid supplementation.

Contact: Minnesota Department of Health, P.O. Box 64975, St. Paul, MN 55164-0975, Telephone: (651) 201-5000 Secondary Telephone: (888) 345-0823 Web Site: http://www.health.state.mn.us Available from the website.

Keywords: Folic acid, Guidelines, Minnesota, Pregnancy, Prenatal care, Prenatal nutrition, Prevention programs, State initiatives, Women's health

Illinois Department of Public Health, Division of Oral Health. [2007]. Dental health during pregnancy. Springfield, IL: Illinois Department of Public Health, Division of Oral Health, 2 pp. (Fact sheet)

Annotation: This fact sheet presents messages designed to help women maintain or improve their oral health before and during pregnancy. Oral health problems that women may experience during pregnancy are discussed, including problems that may result from hormonal changes, poor diet and nutrition, or lack of oral health care. Guidance on establishing and maintaining oral hygiene practices (toothbrushing and flossing) and oral health care (routine and emergency visits, oral x-rays, and prescriptions) is given.

Contact: Illinois Department of Public Health, Division of Oral Health, 535 West Jefferson Street, Third Floor, Springfield, IL 62761, Telephone: (217) 785-4899 Secondary Telephone: (800) 547-0466 Fax: (217) 524-4201 Web Site: http://www.dph.illinois.gov/topics-services/prevention-wellness/oral-health Available from the website.

Keywords: Nutrition, Consumer education materials, Dental care, Dental hygiene, Diet, Disease prevention, Gingivitis, Oral health, Pregnant women

Joyce T, Racine AD, Yunzal-Butler C. 2007. Reassessing the WIC effect: Evidence from the Pregnancy Nutrition Surveillance System. Cambridge, MA: National Bureau of Economic Research, 45 pp. (NBER working paper series no. 13441)

Annotation: This study described in this paper tested whether great exposure to the WIC program is associated with less smoking, improved weight gain during pregnancy, better birth outcomes, and greater likelihood of breastfeeding. The paper discusses the background and issues, empirical implementation, results, and conclusions. References are included. Statistical information is presented in figures and tables throughout the report.

Contact: National Bureau of Economic Research, 1050 Massachusetts Avenue, Cambridge, MA 02138-5398, Telephone: (617) 868-3900 Fax: (617) 868-2742 E-mail: info@nber.org Web Site: http://www.nber.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Gestational weight gain, Infant health, MCH research, Smoking during pregnancy, WIC program

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.