Skip Navigation

Strengthening the evidence for maternal and child health programs

Nutrition and Physical Activity for Women Bibliography

Nutrition and Physical Activity for Women

Bibliography of Materials from MCHLine®

This bibliography of 14 items is drawn from MCHLine®, the MCH Digital Library online catalog. It includes selected materials published in the last ten years that focus on promoting women's health through good nutrition and physical activity. It does not cover nutrition and physical activity during pregnancy (see separate bibliography).

The MCH Digital Library focuses on publications from federal and state agencies, from grantees of federal and state agencies, and from professional and voluntary organizations. It contains unique materials on the history of maternal and child health in the United States, policy papers, reports, conference proceedings, manuals, survey instruments, guidelines, and curricula. The library does not collect materials on clinical medicine. Consumer health materials and commercially published materials are collected very selectively.

Displaying 14 records.

U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration. n.d.. Mi futuro será brillante: Actividad física y alimentación saludable—para mujeres adultas. Rockville, MD: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, 22 pp.

Annotation: This guide is designed to encourage Spanish-speaking adult women to increase current levels of physical activity, healthy eating, and to communicate with their health care providers to set goals for behavioral changes. It is a companion to the online guide, a set of 10 tip sheets which expand on the topics and provide practical information, ideas, and activities to help women adopt healthy behaviors to reach their goals.

Keywords: Bright Futures, Consumer education materials, Exercise, Nutrition, Physical activity, Physical fitness, Spanish language materials, Women's health

Baltimore Healthy Start. 2014-. Baby buggy walk in the park. Rockville, MD: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, Office of Minority Health,

Annotation: This resource describes a national infant mortality awareness initiative that provides park activities to empower women of reproductive age and new mothers to take charge of their health and the health of their children through activities on eating right, making time for exercise, and other topics for Healthy Start families. The site provides a toolkit to help communities plan a similar event, with resources on getting started, recruiting sponsors, and other steps, along with sample documents and campaign materials.

Contact: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, Office of Minority Health, The Tower Building , 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite 600, Rockville, MD 20852, Telephone: (240) 453-2882 Secondary Telephone: (800)444-6472 Fax: (301)251-2160 E-mail: info@minorityhealth.hhs.gov Web Site: http://minorityhealth.hhs.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Public awareness campaign, Children, Community participation, Community programs, Families, Health fairs, Health promotion, Infant mortality, Prevention programs, Recreational programs, Women

U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration. 2013. My bright future: Physical activity and healthy eating—For adolescent girls and young women (upd.). [Rockville, MD]: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, 15 pp. (Bright futures for women's health and wellness)

Annotation: This booklet is designed to help adolescent girls and young women learn more about the importance of physical activity and healthy eating in their daily lives. It also offers advice to help girls and young women identify areas for improvement and set and reach their health goals. The booklet provides ideas on how to start a conversation with health professionals and examples of questions to ask, a section for the health professional to fill out during a visit, a goal-setting chart for girls and young women to use with their health professional or on their own, information on why physical activity and nutrition are important for girls and young women, and tips to help them reach their goals. A wallet card is also available.

Contact: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (888) 275-4772 Secondary Telephone: (877) 464-4772 Fax: (301) 443-1246 E-mail: ask@hrsa.gov Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Consumer education materials, Food habits, Goals, Nutrition, Physical activity, Weight management, Women's health, Young adults

U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, Office of Women's Health. 2013. Counseling support tool: BFWHW guide for adolescent girls and young women (upd. ed.). [Rockville, MD]: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, Office of Women's Health, 3 pp.

Annotation: This support tool helps providers make physical activity and healthy eating recommendations to adolescent girls and young women based on their answers to the “Getting Started” questionnaire in the guide My Bright Future: Physical Activity and Health Eating for Adolescent Girls and Young Women. It provides a set of questions that assess current behaviors on a typical day, based on the general recommendations and guidelines from the Physical Activity Guidelines for Americans, 2008 and the Dietary Guidelines for Americans, 2010. The support tool refers to the guide and the wallet card for additional information.

Contact: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (888) 275-4772 Secondary Telephone: (877) 464-4772 Fax: (301) 443-1246 E-mail: ask@hrsa.gov Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent females, Guidelines, Nutrition, Physical activity, Young women

U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, Office of Women's Health. 2013. Counseling support tool: BFWHW guide for adult women (upd. ed.). [Rockville, MD]: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, Office of Women's Health, 3 pp.

Annotation: This support tool helps providers make physical activity and healthy eating recommendations to adult women based on their answers to the “Getting Started” questionnaire in the guide My Bright Future: Physical Activity and Health Eating for Adult Women. It provides a set of questions, assessing current behaviors on a typical day, based on the general recommendations and guidelines from the Physical Activity Guidelines for Americans, 2008 and the Dietary Guidelines for Americans, 2010. The support tool refers to the guide and the wallet card for additional information.

Contact: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (888) 275-4772 Secondary Telephone: (877) 464-4772 Fax: (301) 443-1246 E-mail: ask@hrsa.gov Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Guidelines, Nutrition, Physical activity, Women's health

U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, Office of Women's Health. 2013. My bright future: Physical activity and healthy eating for adult women (upd.). Rockville, MD: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, Office of Women's Health, 14 pp. (Bright futures for women's health and wellness)

Annotation: This booklet is designed to help women learn more about the importance of physical activity and healthy eating in their daily lives. It also offers advice to help women set healthy goals and to talk with their health professional about nutrition and exercise. The booklet provides examples of questions for women to ask their health professional, a section for the health professional to fill out during a visit, a goal-setting chart for women to use with their health professional or on their own, information on why physical activity and nutrition are important for women, and tips to help women reach their goals. A wallet card is also available.

Contact: U.S. Health Resources and Services Administration, Office of Women's Health, Parklawn Building, Room 18-46, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-8664 Fax: (301) 443-8587 E-mail: smatoff-stepp@hrsa.gov Web Site: http://www.hrsa.gov/WomensHealth Available from the website.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Nutrition, Physical activity, Women's health

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health. 2011. A lifetime of good health: Your guide to staying healthy. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health, 67 pp.

Annotation: This guide offers a plan for women's health at all stages of life. It outlines healthy behaviors to prevent and manage many health conditions that can affect women, and specifically addresses pregnancy, breastfeeding, healthy eating, physical activity, menopause, and breast cancer. Topics include risk factors, screening tests and immunizations, and talking with a health professional. The guide is available in Chinese, English, and Spanish..

Contact: National Women's Health Information Center, 8270 Willow Oaks Corporate Drive, Fairfax, VA 22031, Telephone: (800) 994-9662 Secondary Telephone: (888) 220-5446 Fax: (703) 560-6598 Web Site: http://www.womenshealth.gov Available at no charge; also available from the website.

Keywords: , Asian language materials, Disease management, Educational materials, Health behavior, Health promotion, Oral Health, Preventive health services, Spanish language materials, Women

Maternal and Child Health Nutrition Council. [2010]. Improving the nutritional well-being of women, children and families. Johnstown, PA: Association of State and Territorial Public Health Nutrition Directors, 12 pp.

Annotation: This brief provides information about strengthening the nutritional status of women, children, adolescents, and their families, including children with special health care needs. Topics include monitoring the nutritional well-being of maternal and child health (MCH) populations, public health nutrition work force, unmet state needs related to population-based MCH nutrition, MCH public health nutrition tasks and responsibilities, life course health development model, the MCH pyramid, the socio-ecologic model, and block grant opportunities.

Contact: Association of State Public Health Nutritionists, P.O. Box 1001, Johnstown, PA 15907-1001, Telephone: (814) 255-2829 Secondary Telephone: Fax: (814) 255-6514 Web Site: http://www.asphn.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Block grants, Child health, Children with special health care needs, Families, MCH services, Nutrition, Public health, States, Women's health

Association of Reproductive Health Professionals. 2008. What you need to know: Counseling postpartum patients about diet and exercise. (Upd. ed.). Washington, DC: Association of Reproductive Health Professionals, 2 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet for health professionals provides information about counseling women regarding nutrition and exercise during the 4- or 6-week postpartum visit. The fact sheet discusses dietary recommendations based on The Dietary Guidelines for Americans, including information about fish consumption, alcohol, and caffeine. Also included are guidelines for postpartum weight loss and excercise, including guidelines for women who had a cesarean delivery.

Contact: Association of Reproductive Health Professionals, 1901 L Street, N.W., Suite 300, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 466-3825 E-mail: arhp@arhp.org Web Site: http://www.arhp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Alcohol consumption behavior, Caffeine, Counseling, Nutrition, Physical activity, Postnatal care, Reproductive health, Weight loss, Women's health

Sandmaier M. 2007. The healthy heart handbook for women. (Rev. ed.). Bethesda, MD: National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute, 122 pp.

Annotation: This book provides information to women about cardiovascular disease prevention. Contents include a summary of the new edition, heart disease prevention promotion and risk factors, patient and physician communication and partnership, major risk factors for cardiovascular disease, other risk factors, taking control and health planning, tips for women with heart disease, getting help for a heart attack, and how to estimate risk. Additional Web site resources are provided for further information.

Contact: National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute Health Information Center, P.O. Box 30105, Bethesda, MD 20824-0105, Telephone: (301) 592-8573 Secondary Telephone: (240) 629-3255 Fax: (301) 592-8563 E-mail: NHLBIinfo@nhlbi.nih.gov Web Site: http://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/infoctr/index.htm Available from the website. Document Number: NIH 07-2720.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Cardiovascular diseases, Health promotion, Heart diseases, Maternal health, Nutrition, Nutrition education, Patient education, Physician patient relations, Prevention programs, Women's health

Kent H, Skala J, Desmaris J. 2006. Promoting healthy weight among women of reproductive age. Washington, DC: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs; Omaha, NE: CityMatCH, 21 pp.

Annotation: This document outlines factors that influence weight, demographics of weight among women of reproductive age, and the impact of overweight and obesity on perinatal outcomes. The paper was produced by the Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs and CityMatCH Women's Health Partnership, a project to build state and local capacity to promote safe motherhood and enhance women's health before, during, and after pregnancy. A description of the theoretical frameworks underpinning the AMCHP/CityMaTCH project efforts are presented, along with resources and community-based interventions for assisting women of reproductive age to maintain a healthy weight. Several charts illustrate frameworks for the importance of weight management of women of reproductive age. References are also provided. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: info@amchp.org Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Guidelines, Health promotion, Models, Nutrition, Perinatal health, Physical activity, Weight management, Women's health

Bright Futures for Women's Health and Wellness Initiative. [2005]. Healthy women build healthy communities toolkit: For physical activity and healthy eating. [Rockville, MD]: Bright Futures for Women's Health and Wellness Initiative, 77 pp.

Annotation: This tool kit is geared toward women who want to improve the health of their communities by helping people become more physically active and eat healthier foods. The tool kit is divided into the following sections: (1) where to start, (2) what to do, (3) who can help, (4) when to do it, (5) how to do it, (6) how to get the word out, (7) how did it go, (8) what to use, (9) where to go for more help, and (10) what is your story. The sections include checklists and sample letters, timelines, fliers, posters, news releases, and public service announcements, as well as many tips and suggestions for planning a successful program.

Keywords: Communities, Community programs, Consumer education materials, Health, Nutrition, Physical activity, Women

National Heart Lung and Blood Institute. 2005. We Can! (Ways to Enhance Children's Activity and Nutrition): Energize our families—Curriculum for parents and caregivers. Bethesda, MD: National Heart Lung and Blood Institute, 165 pp.

Annotation: This curriculum is designed to help parents and caregivers encourage healthy weight in children and adolescents ages 8-13. Contents include six lessons focused on building skills for increasing access and availability of healthy foods and making healthy food choices, increasing physical activity, and reducing recreational screen time.

Contact: National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute Health Information Center, P.O. Box 30105, Bethesda, MD 20824-0105, Telephone: (301) 592-8573 Secondary Telephone: (240) 629-3255 Fax: (301) 592-8563 E-mail: NHLBIinfo@nhlbi.nih.gov Web Site: http://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/infoctr/index.htm Available from the website.

Keywords: Children, Curricula, Families, Health education, Nutrition, Obesity, Physical activity

National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. 2005. We Can! (Ways to Enhance Children's Activity and Nutrition): Families finding the balance—A parent handbook. Bethesda, MD: National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute, 26 pp.

Annotation: This handbook for parents provides information about overweight in children and offers strategies for enhancing parents' and children's activity and nutrition. Topics covered include (1) why should we care about our weight, (2) what can my family and I do to encourage a healthy weight? (3) energy balance: the heart of the matter, (4) energy in: focusing on food choices and portion sizes, and (5) energy out: physical activity and screen time. Also included are estimated calorie requirements, a table of foods to encourage and foods to avoid, a table showing how portion sizes have grown over the past 20 years, and a guide to calories burned in common activities. The handbook concludes with a list of resources.

Contact: National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute Health Information Center, P.O. Box 30105, Bethesda, MD 20824-0105, Telephone: (301) 592-8573 Secondary Telephone: (240) 629-3255 Fax: (301) 592-8563 E-mail: NHLBIinfo@nhlbi.nih.gov Web Site: http://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/infoctr/index.htm Available at no charge; also available from the website. Document Number: NIH pub. no. 05-5273.

Keywords: Body weight, Calories, Children, Consumer education materials, Nutrition, Obesity, Parents, Physical activity, Weight management

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.