Skip Navigation

Strengthening the evidence for maternal and child health programs

Mental Health in Primary Care Bibliography

Mental Health in Primary Care

Bibliography of Materials from MCHLine®

This bibliography of 33 items is drawn from MCHLine®, the MCH Digital Library online catalog. It includes selected materials published in the last ten years that focus on the provision of mental health services within primary care.   Material on integrated systems for children and adolescents with severe emotional disorders that do not specifically address primary care are not included. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library. To identify additional materials on this topic, search MCHLine® using our online search form. Also see our related bibliographies on children's mental health, adolescent mental health, and early childhood development.

The MCH Digital Library focuses on publications from federal and state agencies, from grantees of federal and state agencies, and from professional and voluntary organizations. It contains unique materials on the history of maternal and child health in the United States, policy papers, reports, conference proceedings, manuals, survey instruments, guidelines, and curricula. The library does not collect materials on clinical medicine. Consumer health materials and commercially published materials are collected very selectively.

Displaying 33 records.

SAMHSA-HRSA Center for Integrated Health Solutions. 2014. Paying for primary care and behavioral health services provided in integrated care settings. Washington, DC: SAMHSA-HRSA Center for Integrated Health Solutions, multiple items.

Annotation: These worksheets are designed to help clinic managers, integrated care project directors, and billing/coding staff at community mental health centers and community health centers identify available current procedural terminology (CPT) codes they can use in their state to bill for services related to integrated primary and behavioral health care. The worksheets link CPT codes with state-specific diagnostic codes and associated professional credentials needed to submit a successful, payable claim. Links to instructional videos covering a range of billing and coding topics and an archived webinar on billing for integrated health services are also available.

Contact: SAMHSA-HRSA Center for Integrated Health Solutions, National Council for Community Behavioral Healthcare, 1701 K Street, N.W., Suite 400, Washington, DC 20006, E-mail: integration@thenational council.org Web Site: http://www.integration.samhsa.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Community health centers, Medicaid, Mental health services, Primary care, Regulations, Reimbursement, Resources for professionals, Service integration, State programs, Training

U.S. Government Accountability Office. 2012. Children's mental health: Concerns remain about appropriate services for children in Medicaid and foster care. Washington, DC: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 54 pp.

Annotation: This report, which focuses on child mental health services for children enrolled in Medicaid and in foster care, examines (1) the use of psychotropic medications and other mental health services for children enrolled in Medicaid nationwide, as well as other related Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services initiatives; (2) Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) information on the use of psychotropic medications and other mental health services for children in foster care nationwide, and related DHHS initiatives; and (3) the amount that DHHS has invested in research on children's mental health.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 Secondary Telephone: E-mail: contact@gao.gov Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Children, Costs, Foster care, Initiatives, Medicaid, Mental health, Mental health services, Prescription drugs, Research

TeenScreen National Center for Mental Health Checkups at Columbia University. [2011]. Managing pediatric mental health in primary care. New York, NY: TeenScreen National Center for Mental Health Checkups at Columbia University, 4 pp.

Annotation: This paper provides information about managing adolescent mental health in primary care. The paper discusses what percentages of adolescents receive mental health care, from where, and of what type; primary care health professionals' concerns related to providing adolescent mental health care; the need for additional training; payment policies; and resources and programs that improve access to mental health care.

Contact: TeenScreen National Center for Mental Health Checkups, Columbia University, 1775 Broadway, Suite 610, New York, NY 10019, Telephone: (212) 265-4453 Fax: (212) 265-4454 Web Site: http://www.teenscreen.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent mental health, Costs, Mental health services, Prevention, Primary care, Programs, Reimbursement, Resource materials, Training, Treatment

Georgetown University Center for Child and Human Development. 2011. Linking and integrating with primary care: The medical home model for children's mental health. Washington, DC: Georgetown University Center for Child and Human Development, (National TA Center webinar series)

Annotation: This webcast focuses on using the medical home to link primary care and mental health care for children with mental health challenges. Presenters describe the concept of medical home as it applies to children with mental health challenges, discuss barriers encountered in providing medical homes to this population, and begin to identify challenges to linking primary care and mental health through the medical home, highlighting opportunities presented by the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act of 2010.

Contact: Georgetown University Center for Child and Human Development, Box 571485, Washington, DC 20057-1485, Telephone: (202) 687-5503 Secondary Telephone: (202) 687-5000 Fax: (202) 687-8899 E-mail: gucdc@georgetown.edu Web Site: http://gucchd.georgetown.edu Available from the website.

Keywords: Child health, Child mental health, Collaboration, Costs, Legislation, Medical home, Mental disorders, Primary care

Gruttadaro D, Markey D. 2011. A family guide: Integrating mental health and pediatric primary care. Arlington, VA: National Alliance on Mental Illness, 36 pp.

Annotation: This guide for families on integrating mental health and pediatric primary care provides families with practical information about integration to help them get involved in the integrated care movement and improve the quality of care their children in pediatric primary care settings. The guide describes what integrated care is and why it makes sense for families, and explains how families can become more involved in the integrated care movement. Examples of model programs in Massachusetts, North Carolina, and Cherokee Health Systems (a federally-qualified health center) are included.

Contact: National Alliance on Mental Illness, 3803 N. Fairfax Drive, Suite 100, Arlington, VA 22203, Telephone: (703) 524-7600 Secondary Telephone: (800) 950-6264 Fax: (703) 524-9094 E-mail: info@nami.org Web Site: http://www.nami.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Advocacy, Child mental health, Families, Models, Pediatric care, Primary care, Service integration

Gruttadaro D, Markey D. 2011. The family experience with primary care physicians and staff. Arlington, VA: National Alliance on Mental Illness, 14 pp.

Annotation: This report focuses on the experiences of parents and caregivers of children and adolescents living with mental illness related to discussing mental health concerns about their child with primary care physicians and staff. Topics include demographics, background information, primary care setting, initiating communication, effective communication and dialogue, and actions steps.

Contact: National Alliance on Mental Illness, 3803 N. Fairfax Drive, Suite 100, Arlington, VA 22203, Telephone: (703) 524-7600 Secondary Telephone: (800) 950-6264 Fax: (703) 524-9094 E-mail: info@nami.org Web Site: http://www.nami.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent mental health, Child mental health, Communication, Mental disorders, Parent professional relations, Parents, Primary care

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Gillings School of Global Public Health, Women's Integrated Systems for Health (WISH). 2011. Integration of mental health and substance abuse services for women of reproductive age in clinical and hospital settings . Chapel Hill, NC: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Gillings School of Global Public Health, 1 video. (60 min.). (Webinar #1 of six)

Annotation: This webinar focuses on screening and treating women of reproductive age, particularly those who are planning a pregnancy, are pregnant or are new mothers, for mental health and substance abuse issues. Program examples of in- and out-patient services at the UNC Healthcare System are discussed including a perinatal mood disorders clinic, a psychiatric nurse practitioner to the prenatal clinic, and supporting an in-patient psychiatric unit for pregnant women. Also discussed are two UNC out-patient programs (Beacon and Horizons) that provide services to women with substance abuse, domestic violence, and mental health concerns. This program is available for continuing education credits. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Gillings School of Global Public Health, 170 Rosenau Hall, CB #5400, 135 Dauer Drive, Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7400, E-mail: sphcomm@listserv.unc.edu Web Site: http://www.sph.unc.edu Available from the website.

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Continuing education, Distance education, MCH training programs, Mental health, Postpartum care, Postpartum depression, Preconception care, Prenatal education, Prevention services, Screening, Substance abuse prevention, Women's health services

Hoffman SM. 2010. Healthy Tomorrows Partnership for Children Program: Final report. Boise, ID: Treasure Valley Children's Mental Health Project [dba MATCH], 6 pp.

Annotation: This report describes a 2004-2010 program to improve access to mental health services, particularly psychiatric services for low income children, by increasing and strengthening the capacity of primary care physicians in the provision of medical care for children with emotional and mental disorders. Report contents include a description of the purpose of the project, goals and objectives, methodology, evaluation, results and outcomes, dissemination or utilization of the results, and future plans and followup. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: http://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Affective disorders, Children, Final reports, Idaho, Low income groups, Mental disorders, Primary care, Professional training, Referrals

Holt W. 2010. The Massachusetts Child Psychiatry Access Project: Supporting mental health treatment in primary care. New York, NY: Commonwealth Fund, 18 pp. (Case study: High performing health care organization, vol. 41)

Annotation: This paper presents information about the Massachusetts Child Psychiatry Access Project (MCPAP), which provides timely telephonic psychiatric and clinical guidance to primary care health professionals treating children with mental health problems. The paper offers background on the problem of insufficient access to child psychiatry, describes MCPAP, and discusses the target population and how MCPAP works, how it was developed and implemented, financing and sustainability, result and next steps, and lessons learned.

Contact: Commonwealth Fund, One East 75th Street, New York, NY 10021, Telephone: (212) 606-3800 Fax: (212) 606-3500 E-mail: info@cmwf.org Web Site: http://www.commonwealthfund.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Child health, Financing, Massachusetts, Mental health, Primary care, Programs

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health. [2009]. Women's mental health: What it means to you. Washington, DC: Office on Women's Health, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 16 pp.

Annotation: This booklet discusses the unique mental health needs of women and girls and provides tips on recognizing signs of mental problems and where to seek help. Topics include the continuing stigma related to mental illness or disorders, adolescent suicide prevention, eating disorders, pregnancy and postpartum depression, menopause, trauma, violence, and abuse. A resource guide lists agencies and organizations as well as helplines.

Contact: National Clearinghouse for Alcohol and Drug Information, Telephone: (800) 729-6686 Secondary Telephone: (800) 487-4889 Web Site: http://ncadi.samhsa.gov Available at no charge; also available from the website.

Keywords: Abuse, Adolescent mental health, Brochures, Consumer education materials, Eating disorders, Hotlines, Maternal mental health, Mental disorders, Postpartum depression, Suicide prevention, Trauma, Violence, Women's health

Ginsburg S, Foster S, Santoro K, Schoenman J, eds. 2009. Strategies to support the integration of mental health into pediatric primary care. Washington, DC: National Institute for Health Care Management Research and Educational Foundation, 36 pp. (Issue paper)

Annotation: This paper provides an overview of research advances and policy trends that support integration of mental health into primary care and explores various strategies primary care providers and health plans can employ to achieve more coordinated and integrated mental health care in the pediatric primary care setting. Topics include the mental health landscape and strategies to improve early identification and treatment for children in primary care. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Institute for Health Care Management Foundation, 1225 19th Street, N.W., Suite 710, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 296-4426 Fax: (202) 296-4319 E-mail: http://www.nihcm.org/contact Web Site: http://www.nihcm.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Care coordination, Child health, Early Intervention, Mental health, Primary care, Public policy, Research, Treatment, Trends

Butler M, Kane RL, McAlpine D, Kathol RG, Fu, SS, Hagedorn H, Wilt TJ. 2008. Integration of mental health/substance abuse and primary care. Rockville, MD: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, ca. 270 pp. (Evidence report/technology assessment; no. 173)

Annotation: This report describes models of integrated care used in the United States, assesses how integration of mental health services into primary care settings or primary health care into specialty outpatient settings impacts patient outcomes, and describes barriers to sustainable programs, uses of health information technology, and reimbursement structures of integrated care programs within the United States. The report includes thirteen case studies, several policy implications, and a discussion of future research.

Contact: U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 427-1104 Secondary Telephone: (301) 427-1364 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov Available from the website. Document Number: AHRQ Pub. No. 09-E003.

Keywords: Mental health services, Model programs, Outcome evaluation, Primary care, Service integration

Grantmakers in Health. 2008. Critical services for our children: Integrating mental and oral health into primary care. Washington, DC: Grantmakers In Health, 27 pp. (Issue brief no. 30)

Annotation: This issue brief summarizes a discussion among grantmakers and health services researchers about improving the pediatric health care system by better integrating oral and mental health services into primary care. The issue brief is based on a Grantmakers in Health Issue Dialogue held on April 17, 2007, that focused on strategies for reducing fragmentation of services and explored opportunities for health funders. Topics include challenges to an integrated children's health system and examples of how health funders are addressing the problems.

Contact: Grantmakers In Health, 1100 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 1200, Washington, DC 20036-4101, Telephone: (202) 452-8331 Fax: (202) 452-8340 Web Site: http://www.gih.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Children, Financing, Health care systems, Mental health, Oral health, Primary care, Service integration

Ablorh-Odjidja A, Cox E, Ingoglia JN, Joseph J, Persaud N, Phillips C, Valderama C. 2007. Women's mental health: Local health department strategies in addressing depression among pregnant and parenting women. Washington, DC: National Association of County and City Health Officials , 4 pp. (Issue brief)

Annotation: This issue brief highlights strategies in addressing depression and describes the efforts of three local health departments (LHDs) working to integrate women's mental health activities into existing services. The brief also describes challenges LHDs experience and discusses next steps to undertake to ensure the mental health of the women they serve. The LHDs cited are Lawrence-Douglas County (Kansas), Clinton County (New York), and Jefferson County (Washington). [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: info@naccho.org Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Case studies, Community programs, Local initiatives, Maternal depression, Mental health services, Postpartum depression, Women's health

Blount A. 2007. Integrated primary care bibliography. (Rev. ed.). [Auburn, MA: Integrated Primary Care, Inc.],

Fine A, Mayer R. 2006. Beyond referral: Pediatric care linkages to improve developmental health. New York, NY: Commonwealth Fund, 56 pp.

Annotation: This report provides a first step in reviewing the current state of pediatric primary care linkage to developmental services, identifying key strategies, developing linkage typology, and providing recommendations to improve linkage for developmental care. The report, which includes an abstract and an executive summary, describes the context in which pediatric developmental care and linkages take place, provides working definitions and a typology for describing linkage strategies, identifies and discusses key linkage strategies used by exemplary practices, and provides recommendations and next steps for improved linkage. Summary findings and guiding principles and recommendations are included. The report includes endnotes and an appendix that lists practices and programs that were interviewed for the report and key informants from other organizations. A list of related publications is also included.

Contact: Commonwealth Fund, One East 75th Street, New York, NY 10021, Telephone: (212) 606-3800 Fax: (212) 606-3500 E-mail: info@cmwf.org Web Site: http://www.commonwealthfund.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Child development, Children with developmental disabilities, Early childhood development, Infants with developmental disabilities, Pediatrics, Primary care, Service coordination

VanLandeghem K. 2006. Financing strategies for Medicaid reimbursement of maternal depression screening by pediatric providers. Portland, ME: National Academy for State Health Policy, 4 pp. (NASHP news brief)

Annotation: This news brief discusses strategies for financing Medicaid reimbursement of maternal depression screening by pediatric health professionals. The brief explains the relationship between the healthy development of young children and maternal depression, delineates key strategies for reimbursement, and presents a case study of reimbursement in Illinois. A conclusion and endnotes are included.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: info@nashp.org Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Case studies, Child health, Depression, Early childhood development, Financing, Maternal health, Medicaid, Mental health, Mothers, Pediatricians, Reimbursement, Screening, Young children

Alfano E, Carty L, ed. 2005. Integration of primary care and behavioral health: Report on a roundtable discussion of strategies for private health insurance. Washington, DC: Bazelon Center for Mental Health Law, 24 pp.

Annotation: This report reflects the discussions and recommendations put forth by Roundtable members for improving health care quality through integration of primary care and behavioral health care. Section one of the report provides a summary of barriers to the integration of care, including financial barriers, differences in culture and practice, training issues, information systems and privacy protections, and consumer issues and concerns. The second section discusses topics and recommendations such as financial issues, collaboration needed for integration, key characteristics of integrated practices, parity in coverage, how carve-outs discourage integration of care, continuity of care, reimbursement, universal screening, and ways to improve treatment. Section three provides a list of recommendations organized by stakeholder group, and section four includes final analysis and concluding remarks. Notes and a list of roundtable participants are provided.

Contact: Judge David L. Bazelon Center for Mental Health Law, 1101 15th Street, N.W., Suite 1212, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 467-5730 Secondary Telephone: (202) 467-4232 Fax: (202) 223-0409 E-mail: communications@bazelon.org Web Site: http://www.bazelon.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Barriers, Behavior development, Behavioral medicine, Collaboration, Health insurance, Health services delivery, Primary care, Quality assurance, Service integration

Lewin Group. 2005. Assessment of MCHB funded programs' integration of women's, infant's, children's and adolescents' mental health issues: Final literature review report—Annotated bibliography. Falls Church, VA: Lewin Group, 77 pp.

Annotation: This document reviews key literature on current issues, trends, and gaps in providing mental and behavioral health services to the maternal and child health population. It addresses these topic areas: (1) incidence and prevalence of mental/behavioral health disorders; (2) current service delivery system; (3) prevention and promotion strategies; (4) traditional and non-traditional screening and detection of mental/behavioral health; (5) treatment modalities; (6) financing of services; (7) disparities across racial and ethnic groups; and (8) trends in mental/behavioral health. The document includes recommended activities in program and practice, training and education, research, and policy. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Lewin Group, 3130 Fairview Park Drive, Suite 800, Falls Church, VA 22042, Telephone: (703) 269-5500 Fax: (703) 269-5501 E-mail: lisa.chimento@lewin.com Web Site: http://www.lewin.com Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Bibliographies, Child health, Infant health, Literature reviews, Mental health, Service integration, Women's health

Rosman EA, Perry DF, Hepburn KS. 2005. The best beginning: Partnerships between primary health care and mental health and substance abuse services for young children and their families. Washington, DC: National Technical Assistance Center for Children's Mental Health, Georgetown University Center for Child and Human Development, 92 pp.

Annotation: This document provides health professionals and policymakers with an overview of a range of efforts across the country in which health professionals have attempted to treat families as a whole, provide care in the context of a medical home, identify mental health and substance abuse disorders earlier, and make successful referrals and linkages to community-based mental health and substance-abuse services and supports. The document includes a relevant literature section, eight case studies of primary care sites using innovative approaches to serve pregnant women, families with children from birth through age 3, or both; a synthesis of these approaches; lessons learned; and strategies to assist others in replicating these approaches. References are included. The document includes four appendices: (1) a list of export workgroup members, (2) an interview protocol, (3) a list of screening tools referenced, and (4) a list of federal team members.

Contact: National Technical Assistance Center for Children's Mental Health, Georgetown University Center for Child and Human Development, 3300 Whitehaven Street, Suite 3300, Washington, DC 20007, Telephone: (202) 687-5000 Fax: (202) 687-8899 E-mail: childrensmh@georgetown.edu Web Site: http://gucchdtacenter.georgetown.edu/index.html Available from the website.

Keywords: Case studies, Child health, Community programs, Early intervention, Families, Family centered care, Infant health, Medical home, Mental health, Pregnant women, Primary care, Referrals, Service coordination, Substance abuse, Young children

Berson IR, Dailey KA, Vargo AC, Lemrow N, Roggenbaum S, Reyes F. 2004. A study of Medicaid-funded school-based behavioral health services. Tampa, FL: Louis de la Parte Florida Mental Health Institute, 51 pp.

Annotation: This paper describes a study exploring the behavioral services offered via the Medicaid Certified School Match Program in Florida, a program funding services provided or arranged by a school district for Medicaid enrolled students with identified disabilities. The study (1) identifies the service utilization patterns and demographic characteristics of children who access behavioral health interventions through school settings; (2) examines how the system currently links Medicaid services with school identified needs; and (3) explores benefits and challenges to participating school districts. Findings are translated to inform policy recommendations that maximize the quality, effectiveness, and delivery of behavioral health services in schools. Statistical data are provided in charts and graphs throughout the paper.

Contact: Louis de la Parte Florida Mental Health Institute, University of South Florida, 13301 Bruce B. Downs Boulevard, Tampa, FL 33612-3809, Telephone: (813) 974-4602 Fax: (813) 974-7633 E-mail: Web Site: http://www.fmhi.usf.edu/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Behavior, Child behavior, Child mental health, Florida, Health care financing, Medicaid, Mental health services, School age children, School health services, School linked services, State programs

Center for Mental Health in Schools. 2004. Mental health of children and youth: The important role of primary care health professionals. Los Angeles, CA: Center for Mental Health in Schools, 16 pp. (A Center brief report)

Annotation: This report highlights the following: (1) why child and adolescent mental health is a major public health concern, (2) the importance of viewing causal factors from a broad perspective, (3) a continuum of intervention strategies for addressing the range of problems, (4) some considerations related to prevention, (5) a note about screening for mental health problems, and (6) the value of connecting with schools. The report contains one appendix: what schools do related to mental health. The report also contains a works cited list and one exhibit: delivery mechanisms and formats for mental health in schools.[Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Center for Mental Health in Schools, UCLA School Mental Health Project, Box 951563, Los Angeles, CA 90095-1563, Telephone: (310) 825-3634 Secondary Telephone: (866) 846-4843 Fax: (310) 206-8716 E-mail: smhp@ucla.edu Web Site: http://smhp.psych.ucla.edu Available at no charge; also available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent mental health, Child mental health, Intervention, Prevention, Primary care, Public health, School health programs, Schools, Screening

Pollack D. [2003]. Suggested model for integration of behavioral health into primary care. Alexandria, VA: National Association of State Mental Health Program Directors, 3 pp.

Annotation: This paper provides guidance for the development of integrated behavioral health services in primary care settings. It lists preliminary tasks or questions to be addressed, describes components of the integrated model, and describes staffing for the functions listed.

Contact: National Association of State Mental Health Program Directors, 66 Canal Center Plaza, Suite 302, Alexandria, VA 22314, Telephone: (703) 739-9333 Fax: (703) 548-9517 Web Site: http://www.nasmhpd.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Behavior, Behavioral sciences, Health care systems, Mental health, Primary care, Service integration

Halfon N, Regalado M, McLearn KT, Kuo AA, Wright K. 2003. Building a bridge from birth to school: Improving developmental and behavioral health services for young children. New York, NY: Commonwealth Fund, 38 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information about the provision of primary health care services that promote the development of infants and young children in the United States. In addition, the report addresses opportunities to improve the content and quality of developmental health services as part of routine primary child health care. An appendix identifies several programs identified as best practice models.

Contact: Commonwealth Fund, One East 75th Street, New York, NY 10021, Telephone: (212) 606-3800 Fax: (212) 606-3500 E-mail: info@cmwf.org Web Site: http://www.commonwealthfund.org Available at no charge; also available from the website.

Keywords: Child behavior, Child development, Community programs, Health supervision, Model programs, Primary care, Young children

Hepburn K, McCarthy J. 2003. Making interagency initiatives work for children and families in the child welfare system. Washington, DC: Georgetown University Center for Child and Human Development, 66 pp. (Promising approaches for behavioral health services to children and adolescents and their families in managed care systems; no. 3)

Annotation: One in a series of issue papers by the Health Care Reform Tracking Project, this paper describes how the child welfare system is participating in collaborative interagency initiatives designed to serve children with serious and complex behavioral health disorders and which are are using some managed care technologies. It focuses on three sites: Partnership for Children, New Jersey; The Dawn Project, Marion County (Indianapolis), Indiana; and Massachusetts Mental Health Services Program for Youth, Cambridge and Somerville, Massachusetts.

Contact: Georgetown University Center for Child and Human Development, Box 571485, Washington, DC 20057-1485, Telephone: (202) 687-5503 Secondary Telephone: (202) 687-5000 Fax: (202) 687-8899 E-mail: gucdc@georgetown.edu Web Site: http://gucchd.georgetown.edu Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Behavior disorders, Child welfare, Children, Community programs, Health services, Interagency cooperation, Managed care, Mental disorders, Primary care, Service integration

McCarthy J, McCullough C. 2003. A view from the child welfare system. Washington, DC: Georgetown University Center for Child and Human Development, 63 pp. (Promising approaches for behavioral health services to children and adolescents and their families in managed care systems; no. 2)

Annotation: One in a series of issue papers by the Health Care Reform Tracking Project, this paper is intended to assist states and communities interested in strategies for meeting the behavioral health needs of children in the child welfare system and their families within managed care systems. It presents information to consider when designing public managed care and presents examples of promising approaches from four states and communities (Philadelphia, Pennsylvania; Kinship Center in Monterey County, California, which focuses on adoption; Special Kids, Special Care in Massachusetts, which focuses on children in foster care with special health care needs; and Riverside County, California).

Contact: Georgetown University Center for Child and Human Development, Box 571485, Washington, DC 20057-1485, Telephone: (202) 687-5503 Secondary Telephone: (202) 687-5000 Fax: (202) 687-8899 E-mail: gucdc@georgetown.edu Web Site: http://gucchd.georgetown.edu plus shipping and handling.

Keywords: Adolescents, Behavior disorders, Child welfare, Children, Community programs, Health services, Managed care, Mental disorders, Primary care, Service integration

President's New Freedom Commission on Mental Health. 2003. Achieving the promise: Transforming mental health care in America—Final report. Washington, DC: President's New Freedom Commission on Mental Health, 105 pp., exec. summ. (36 pp.).

Annotation: This report makes recommendations that would enable adults with serious mental illnesses and children with serious emotional disturbance to live, work, learn, and participate fully in their communities. The reports lists six goals and provides information for understanding each goal and recommendations for achieving the goals. The goals cover these topics: (1) that mental health is essential to overall health; (2) that mental health care is consumer and family driven; (3) that disparities in mental health services should be eliminated; (4) that early mental health screening, assessment, and referral to services should be common practice; (5) that excellent mental health care should be delivered and research accelerated; and (6) that technology is used to access mental health care and information. The report describes several model programs.

Contact: SAMHSA's National Mental Health Information Center, Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, P.O. Box 42557, Washington, DC 20015, Telephone: (800) 789-2647 Secondary Telephone: (866) 889-2647 Fax: (240) 221-4295 E-mail: info@mentalhealth.org Web Site: http://store.samhsa.gov/home Available from the website. Document Number: DHHS SMA-03-3832 (full report), SMA-03-3831 (summary).

Keywords: Adults, Children, Inclusion, Mental disorders, Mental health services, Model programs

Pumariega AJ, Winters NC, eds. 2003. The handbook of child and adolescent systems of care: The new community psychiatry. San Francisco, CA: Jossey-Bass, 547 pp.

Annotation: This book, a publication of the Work Group on Community-Based Systems of Care of the American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry, discusses helping at-risk children and adolescents with community-based systems of care that incorporate an interagency integration of services based on a client-centered and family-empowering orientation. Written for mental health professionals, the book is divided into four parts: (1) conceptual foundations of systems of care, (2) integrating clinical modalities into systems of care, (3) working across populations and settings, and (4) administration and evaluation of systems of care. Topics include community children's mental health care, family advocacy, collaboration, pharmacotherapy, case management, youth in the juvenile justice system, school-based mental health services, foster children in the child welfare system, managed care, demonstration projects, and training child and adolescent mental health professionals for systems of care. The book concludes with name and subject indexes.

Contact: Jossey-Bass Publishers, John Wiley & Sons, Inc. Corporate Headquarters, 111 River Street, Hoboken, NJ 07030, Telephone: (201) 748-6000 Fax: (201) 748-6088 E-mail: info@wiley.com Web Site: http://www.JosseyBass.com Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 0-7879-6239-2.

Keywords: Adolescents, Advocacy, Case studies, Children, Community based services, Interagency cooperation, Interdisciplinary training, Mental health, Psychiatry, Service delivery systems

Rosen R, Jenkins C. 2003. Mental health services in primary care: A review of recent developments in London. London, England: King's Fund, 58 pp. (Working paper)

Annotation: This working paper revisits findings from the 1997 King's Fund Inquiry on Mental Health and examines the extent to which primary care mental health services have developed in line with recommendations made at that time. The main focus is on general practice-based services for people with common mental health problems and the role of primary care trusts in developing them. The paper describes the postal questionnaire and the telephone survey that were undertaken, and describes conclusions and recommendations for next steps.

Contact: King's Fund, 11-13 Cavendish Square, London, England W1G 0AN, Telephone: 020 7307-2400 Fax: 020 7307-2801 E-mail: library@kingsfund.org.uk Web Site: http://www.kingsfund.org.uk Available from the website.

Keywords: England, Health services, International health, Mental disorders, Mental health, Primary care

Jellinek M, Patel BP, Froehle MC, eds. 2002. Bright Futures in practice: Mental health—Volume I. Practice guide. Arlington, VA: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, 388 pp.

Annotation: This book, written for primary practitioners, offers comprehensive guidelines for the mental health supervision of infants, children, and adolescents from birth through age 21. It is organized into several parts: making mental health supervision accessible, developmental chapters, and bridge topics. The first part on accessibility issues discusses the management of time and reimbursement issues, continuity of care, training, cultural competence, attitudes about mental health, and coordination and referral tools for the health professional. The second part is organized into subsections by the developmental periods of infancy, early-, middle-childhood, and adolescence; and includes age-appropriate topics on self, family, friends, and community. Each subsection provides recommended office and community practices, tools, and checklists. Part three contains "bridge topics" that address the most common mental health problems and mental disorders occurring in childhood and adolescence. The appendix contains diagnostic criteria from Diagnostics and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders and The Classification of Child and Adolescent Mental Diagnoses in Primary Care: Diagnostic and Statistical Manual for Primary Care (DSM-PC) Child and Adolescent Version. The book concludes with an index. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau].

Contact: Bright Futures at Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1242, Telephone: (202) 784-9772 E-mail: brightfutures@ncemch.org Web Site: http://www.brightfutures.org/georgetown.html Available from the website. Document Number: BF0900-003 (2 v. set); ISBN 1-57285-072-8.

Keywords: Adolescent mental health, Adolescents, Bright Futures, Child health supervision, Child mental health, Developmental stages, Diagnosis, Family relations, Guidelines, Infants, Mental health, Primary care, Psychosocial development, Self concept, Socialization, Young children

Jellinek MJ, Patel BP, Froehle MC, eds. 2002. Bright Futures in practice: Mental health—Volume II. Tool kit. Arlington, VA: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, 148 pp.

Annotation: This companion volume to the Bright Futures in Practice: Mental Health -- Volume 1. Practice Guide contains tools to assist in mental health screening, education, and health care management for infants, children, and adolescents from birth to age 21. The toolkit is divided into two sections, for health professionals and for families, and contains items such as assessment tools, checklists, sample forms and questions, and other tools. Each section is organized developmentally with tools to address specific problems and disorders. Topics covered include documentation for reimbursement, helping siblings adjust to a new baby, preparing children for school, the stages of substance and other abuse, child maltreatment, learning problems and disorders, and mood disorders.

Contact: Bright Futures at Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1242, Telephone: (202) 784-9772 E-mail: brightfutures@ncemch.org Web Site: http://www.brightfutures.org/georgetown.html Available from the website. Document Number: BF0900-003 (2 v. set); ISBN 1-57285-073-6.

Keywords: Adolescent mental health, Adolescents, Assessment, Bright Futures, Child health supervision, Child health supervision, Child mental health, Consumer education materials, Developmental stages, Diagnosis, Guidelines, Infants, Mental health, Primary care, Psychosocial development, Resources for professionals, Socialization, Young children

VanLandeghem K, Curtis D, Abrams M. 2002. Reasons and strategies for strengthening childhood development services in the healthcare system. Portland, ME: National Academy for State Health Policy, 30 pp.

Annotation: This document provides a framework for the provision of child development services in the health care system, offers strategies for strengthening child development services, and identifies examples of promising practices at the state, community, and primary care levels. Additional topics include an outline of preventive child development and challenges to integrating child development services in the health care system. The appendix provides an overview of eight developmental screening tools including age, staff requirements, cost, languages, and reading levels.

Contact: National Academy for State Health Policy, 10 Free Street, Second Floor, Portland, ME 04101, Telephone: (207) 874-6524 Secondary Telephone: (202) 903-0101 Fax: (207) 874-6527 E-mail: info@nashp.org Web Site: http://www.nashp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Case studies, Child development screening, Child development services, Early childhood development, Local initiatives, Primary care, Screening tests, State programs, Young children

National Technical Assistance Center for State Mental Health Planning. Building bridges: A status report on the integration of public health and public mental health. Networks 8(1 and 2, Special Edition):1-20. Summer 2003,

Annotation: This double issue of Networks revisits the discussion on the integration of public mental health and primary care services, illustrates current examples of successful integration measures, and offers counsel, examples, and resources for those interested in further integrating systems.

Contact: National Association of State Mental Health Program Directors, 66 Canal Center Plaza, Suite 302, Alexandria, VA 22314, Telephone: (703) 739-9333 Fax: (703) 548-9517 Web Site: http://www.nasmhpd.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Health services, Mental disorders, Mental health, Primary care, Public health, Service integration

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.