Skip Navigation

Strengthening the evidence for maternal and child health programs

Healthy People 2010: Maternal, Child, and Infant Health Bibliography

Healthy People 2010: Maternal, Child, and Infant Health

Bibliography of Materials from MCHLine®

This bibliography of 54 items is drawn from MCHLine®, the MCH Digital Library online catalog. It includes selected materials published primarily in the last ten years.   Also see our page on Information Products that address HP 2010 objectives. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Digital Library. To identify additional materials on this topic, search MCHLine® using our online search form.

The MCH Digital Library focuses on publications from federal and state agencies, from grantees of federal and state agencies, and from professional and voluntary organizations. It contains unique materials on the history of maternal and child health in the United States, policy papers, reports, conference proceedings, manuals, survey instruments, guidelines, and curricula. The library does not collect materials on clinical medicine. Consumer health materials and commercially published materials are collected very selectively.

Displaying 54 records.

South Dakota Department of Health, Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion. 2014. 2014 oral health survey of South Dakota children. Pierre, SD: South Dakota Department of Health, Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, 31 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information about the oral health status and oral health care needs of children in third grade in South Dakota. Topics include the importance of oral health, tooth decay experience, untreated decay, dental sealants, need for oral health care, dental insurance coverage, and time since last dental visit. Contents include key survey findings, oral health resources in South Dakota, information about the survey methods, and data tables. A letter to parents, screening form, consent form, and parent questionnaire are also included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: South Dakota Department of Health, Oral Health Program, 600 East Capitol Avenue, Pierre, SD 57501-2536, Telephone: (605) 773-3361 Secondary Telephone: (800) 733-2301 Web Site: http://doh.sd.gov/prevention/oralhealth Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Dental care, Dental caries, Dental insurance, Dental sealants, Elementary schools, Health status, Oral health, Population surveillance, Preventive health services, School age children, Screening, South Dakota, State surveys, Statistical data, Trends

Nevada State Health Division, Oral Health Program. 2013. 2011–2012 Head Start oral health survey Nevada. Carson City, NV: Nevada State Health Division, Oral Health Program, 19 pp.

Annotation: This report presents findings from an oral health survey of students in Head Start in Nevada. Topics include population estimates on four indicators: untreated tooth decay, treated decay, dental caries experience, and early childhood caries. Estimates are also presented relative to Healthy People 2020 targets. Additional topics include demographics, affordability and accessibility of oral health care, and the relationship between body mass index and overall oral health. A summary of key findings is also available.

Contact: Nevada Division of Public and Behavioral Health, Oral Health Initiative, 4150 Technology Way, Carson City, NV 89706, Telephone: (775) 684-3479 Fax: (775) 684-4245 Web Site: http://dpbh.nv.gov/Programs/OH/OH-Home Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Child health, Data, Dental care, Dental caries, Early childhood caries, Head Start, Healthy People 2020, Nevada, Oral health, State surveys, Young children

Washington State Department of Health. 2011. Smile survey 2010. Olympia, WA: Washington State Department of Health, 41 pp.

Annotation: This report presents findings from a statewide oral health screening survey of children enrolled in Head Start and related programs for young children from families with low incomes, as well as for students in kindergarten and third grade in public schools in Washington. Contents include facts about childhood tooth decay; survey methodology; and key findings on disparities, untreated decay and treatment needs, dental sealants, and Healthy People 2010 oral health objectives. State oral health plan strategies are included. A fact sheet summarizing the report is also available.

Contact: Washington State Department of Health, P.O. Box 47890, Olympia, WA 98504-7890, Telephone: (800) 525-0127 Secondary Telephone: (360) 236-4030 Web Site: http://www.doh.wa.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Head Start, Health status, Healthy People 2010, Oral health, Population surveillance, School age children, Screening, State surveys, Statistical data, Trends, Washington, Young children

National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Division of Nutrition, Physical Activity and Obesity. 2010-. State indicator report on physical activity. Atlanta, GA: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, irregular.

Annotation: This report presents state-level information on physical activity and on environmental and policy supports for physical activity. Contents include key findings, information on using the report, and implications for public health practice. Stories from state and local programs are included.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: cdcinfo@cdc.gov Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Adults, Guidelines, Health behavior, Local initiatives, Measures, Physical activity, Public policy, State programs, Statistical data, Surveys

Leff M, Gujral I, Ricketts S. 2010. The health status of Colorado's maternal and child health population. Denver, CO: Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment, Maternal and Child Health, 130 pp.

Annotation: This report describes the health and well being of reproductive‐age women, infants, children, adolescents, and children with special health care needs in Colorado. The report is organized according to “critical periods” in the life course including chapters on preconception, prenatal, infant and postpartum health, as well as child and adolescent health. Issues specific to children and youth with special health care needs, oral health, and access to health care are included in each chapter where appropriate. A variety of data are used to provide an in‐depth analysis of the health of the state’s maternal and child population.

Contact: Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment, 4300 Cherry Creek Drive, South, Denver, CO 80246, Telephone: (303) 692-2000 Secondary Telephone: (800) 886-7689 E-mail: cdphe.information@state.co.us Web Site: https://www.colorado.gov/cdphe Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Child health, Colorado, Health status, Infant health, Maternal health, Needs assessment, Pregnancy, Prenatal care, State MCH programs, State surveys, Statistical data, Title V programs, Trends

Gluck ME. 2009. Addressing disparities through public health systems and services research and adaptations to public health practice. Washington, DC: AcademyHealth, 5 pp. (Research insights)

Annotation: This brief describes the potential of public health systems and services research (PHSSR) to address disparities in public health practice. Based on a panel discussion titled Addressing Disparities Through Public Health Systems and Services Research (sponsored by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation in 2009), the brief summarizes efforts made to date; discusses the potential of PHSSR to address disparities; and addresses the challenges faced (including competing needs, limited resources, language barriers, and lack of data). The brief also discusses lessons learned and outlines next steps for PHSSR.

Contact: AcademyHealth, 1150 17th Street, N.W., Suite 600, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 292-6700 Fax: (202) 292-6800 E-mail: info@academyhealth.org Web Site: http://www.academyhealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Ethnic factors, Health status disparities, Program improvement, Public health services, Racial factors, Research, Service delivery systems

Conwell LJ, Neuman M, Gold MR. 2008. State efforts to address the Healthy People 2010 goal to eliminate health disparities: Two case studies--Report. Princeton, NJ: Mathematica, 32 pp.

Annotation: This report describes approaches by North Carolina and Washington states in identifying and eliminating disparities in health and health care. Contents are provided in three sections. Section one provides an overview of both cases and context as well as describing the methods and emerging themes of the study. Section two focuses on the North Carolina program, Healthy Carolinians, with topics including political will, forging local partnerships, harnessing data at the local level, and social strategy used in meeting state health objectives. The third section describes Washington's efforts beginning with the Governor's Interagency Council on Health Disparities. It also provides information on political will in creating the the Joint Select Committee on Health Disparities and working with the Governor's Council, creating and analyzing the knowledge base to identify and prioritize health topics, the Healthy People Program, and the social strategy in developing the action plans to eliminate disparities. Appendices include a conceptual framework, sample briefing documents, and a scoring worksheet.

Contact: Mathematica Policy Research, P.O. Box 2393, Princeton, NJ 08543-2393, Telephone: (609) 799-3535 Fax: (609) 799-0005 E-mail: info@mathematica-mpr.com Web Site: http://www.mathematica-mpr.com Available from the website.

Keywords: Barriers, Case studies, Ethnic factors, Health objectives, Health services delivery, Healthy People 2010, North Carolina, Racial factors, Socioeconomic factors, State initiatives, Washington

National Center for Health Statistics. 2007. Tracking Healthy People 2010 (rev.). Hyattsville, MD: National Center for Health Statistics,

Annotation: This electronic resource is designed to serve as a statistical compendium companion to the November 2000 publication of Healthy People 2010 - Understanding and Improving Health - Objectives for Improving Health. The information on data issues, technical specifications, and major data sources reflect changes since November 2000. In addition, the data issues section includes new components on the midcourse review overview, measuring quality and years of healthy life, and measuring health disparities. The technical specifications of the objectives will be updated periodically as specifications change throughout the decade.

Contact: National Center for Health Statistics, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 3311 Toledo Road, Room 5419, Hyattsville, MD 20782, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (301) 458-4020 E-mail: nchsquery@cdc.gov Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/nchs Available from the website.

Keywords: Community role, Data, Demography, Disease prevention, Goals, Health objectives, Health policy, Health promotion, Healthy People 2010, Population surveillance, Program management, Public health, Statistics

Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, Regulation and Licensure. 2006. Open mouth survey of third graders, Nebraska 2005. [Lincoln, NE]: Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, Regulation and Licensure, 21 pp.

Annotation: This report describes the first statewide oral health screening of students in third grade in Nebraska. Topics include caries experience, prevalence of untreated oral disease, and use of dental sealants. Report sections define methods and results, discuss results in comparison to other states and to Healthy People 2010 objectives, and provide recommendations.

Keywords: Dental caries, Dental sealants, Elementary schools, Health status, Healthy People 2010, Nebraska, Oral health, Population surveillance, School age children, State surveys, Statistical data

Washington State Department of Health. 2006. Washington state adolescent needs assessment report. Olympia, WA: Washington State Department of Health, 240 pp.

Annotation: This report provides baseline state level information for the Washington State Partnership for Youth (WSPY) to use in developing a statewide adolescent health plan for the state by 2006. It includes three sections: (1) Data summary of highlights of major health and behavior issues, organized into nine main focus areas; (2) services for the adolescent population, covering several social, medical, and preventive health services targeted for pregnant women, infants, children and adolescents; and (3) findings, including qualitative data from three sets of focus groups. It compares information on the 21 critical health objectives as part of the national Healthy People 2010 project with state results.

Contact: Washington State Department of Health, Office of Maternal and Child Health, Assessment Unit, P.O. Box 47835, Olympia, WA 98504-7835, Telephone: (360) 236-3533 E-mail: mchassess.support@doh.wa.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescent health, Adolescent health services, Adolescents, Health services delivery, Healthy People 2010, Needs assessment, Program development, State initiatives, Statistical data, Strategic plans, Washington

Isman B. [2004]. Healthy People 2010: Oral health toolkit. Bethesda, MD: National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research,

Annotation: This toolkit reviews the Healthy People 2010 (HP 2010) oral health objectives and provides practical advice, methods, resources, and examples to help in planning, implementing, and evaluating oral health objectives at the state, territorial, tribal, or community levels. Chapters include an overview of the toolkit and a history of the Healthy People initiatives and HP 2010 objectives; building the foundation: leadership and structure; setting health priorities, establishing oral health objectives, and obtaining baselines; identifying and leveraging resources; promoting HP 2010 oral health plans and activities; and implementing strategies, managing and sustaining the process, and measuring progress. Each chapter contains a resources section providing Web sites and other sources of information in both electronic and print formats, as well as organization contacts.

Contact: National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research, National Institutes of Health, Bethesda, MD 20892, Telephone: (866) 232-4528 E-mail: nidcrinfo@mail.nih.gov Web Site: https://www.nidcr.nih.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Healthy People 2010, National initiatives, Oral health, Program development, Resources for professionals

Gamm L, Hutchison L, eds. 2004. Rural Healthy People 2010: A companion document to Healthy People 2010—Volume 3. College Station, TX: Southwest Rural Health Research Center, 106 pp.

Annotation: This volume (the third in a three-volume set) presents overviews from research on five new Healthy People 2010 focus areas and accompanying models for practice, as well as detailed literature reviews for these topics. The topics covered include immunizations and infectious diseases; injury and violence prevention; access to quality health services -- access to long-term care; education and community-based programs; and public health infrastructure.

Contact: Southwest Rural Health Research Center, Texas A&M Health Science Center, Department of Health Policy and Management, 1266 TAMU, College Station, TX 77843-1266, Telephone: (979) 862-4238 Fax: (979) 458-0656 Web Site: http://sph.tamhsc.edu/srhrc/index.html Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Communicable diseases, Community programs, Education, Health services, Healthy People 2010, Immunization, Injury, Literature reviews, Long term care, Public health, Rural health, Violence prevention

Oliver L, Park HG. 2004. Maternal and child health: A snapshot for state legislatures. Denver, CO: National Conference of State Legislatures, 36 pp.

Annotation: This booklet provides information to legislators and legislative staff to gain a better understanding of issues, resources, and programs related to maternal and child health. Topics include access to health care and financing issues, barriers, racial factors, infant mortality and low birthweight, prenatal care, breastfeeding, newborn screening, public health nurse home visitation, children's health, and women's health and reproductive health. The appendix highlights selected Healthy People 2010 objectives for maternal and child health. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Conference of State Legislatures, 7700 East First Place, Denver, CO 80230, Telephone: (303) 364-7700 Fax: (303) 364-7800 Web Site: http://www.ncsl.org Available in libraries. Document Number: ISBN 1-58024-337-1.

Keywords: Access to health care, Breastfeeding, Child health, Health care financing, Health insurance, Infant health, Legislation, Maternal health, Prenatal care, Reproductive health, Women's health

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials and National Association of County and City Health Officials. 2003. Health departments take action: Case studies of state and local models addressing racial and ethnic disparities in health. Washington, DC: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, National Association of County and City Health Officials, 26 pp.

Annotation: This document follows up on a previous publication on state and local efforts to reduce disparities in health among racial and ethnic minorities by reporting on focus groups conducted with program leaders and community stakeholders of seven of the programs featured earlier. Participants were interviewed about how their programs were initiated; what priority health issues are being addressed; what key partnerships were formed; what barriers were encountered, overcome, and remain; and what strategies are being employed to promote evaluation and sustainability. The seven focus groups include Collier County (FL) Health Department, Custer (ND) Health District, Los Angeles (CA) County Department of Health, Piedmont (VA) Health District, Rhode Island Department of Health, Spokane (WA) Regional Health District, and Tennessee Department of Health. Each case study includes a brief chart outlining the population, racial and ethnic breakdown, and leading preventable morbidity and mortality disparities. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to care, Case studies, Ethnic factors, Health promotion, Healthy People 2010, Local initiatives, Model programs, Program descriptions, Racial factors, State initiatives, State programs

Gamm L, Hutchison L, Dabney B, Dorsey A, eds. 2003. Rural Healthy People 2010: A companion document to Healthy People 2010—Volume 1. College Station, TX: Southwest Rural Health Research Center, 252 pp.

Annotation: This volume contains brief overviews of the top rural health concerns and objectives associated with Healthy People 2010 focus areas, references to key literature about these concerns, and descriptions of models for practice that rural communities can draw upon to achieve key Healthy People 2010 objectives. Health topics include: (1) access to quality health services, (2) cancer, (3) diabetes, (4) heart disease and stroke, (5) maternal, infant, and child health, (6) mental health and mental disorders, (7) nutrition and overweight concerns, (8) the state of oral health, (9) substance abuse trends, and (10) tobacco use. For each health concern, an overview and various models for practice and contact information are presented.

Contact: Southwest Rural Health Research Center, Texas A&M Health Science Center, Department of Health Policy and Management, 1266 TAMU, College Station, TX 77843-1266, Telephone: (979) 862-4238 Fax: (979) 458-0656 Web Site: http://sph.tamhsc.edu/srhrc/index.html Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Cancer, Community programs, Diabetes mellitus, Families, Health care delivery, Healthy People 2010, Heart diseases, MCH services, Mental health, Nutrition, Obesity, Oral health, Parents, Pregnant women, Program descriptions, Rural health, Strokes, Substance abuse, Tobacco use

Gamm L, Hutchison L, Dabney B, Dorsey A, eds. 2003. Rural Healthy People 2010: A companion document to Healthy People 2010—Volume 2. College Station, TX: Southwest Rural Health Research Center, 166 pp.

Annotation: This volume (the second in a three-volume set) presents literature reviews and associated references for the top rural health priority areas identified in Healthy People 2010. The topics covered include access to quality health services; cancer; diabetes; heart disease and stroke; maternal, infant, and child health; mental health and mental disorders; nutrition and overweight; oral health; substance abuse;and tobacco use. Each chapter includes a list of references.

Contact: Southwest Rural Health Research Center, Texas A&M Health Science Center, Department of Health Policy and Management, 1266 TAMU, College Station, TX 77843-1266, Telephone: (979) 862-4238 Fax: (979) 458-0656 Web Site: http://sph.tamhsc.edu/srhrc/index.html Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescents, Adults, Cancer, Child health, Children, Diabetes mellitus, Health care delivery, Health services, Healthy People 2010, Heart diseases, Infant health, MCH services, Maternal health, Mental disorders, Mental health, Nutrition, Obesity, Oral health, Rural health, Strokes, Substance abuse, Tobacco use

Institute of Medicine, Committee on Assuring the Health of the Public in the 21st Century. 2003. The future of the public's health in the 21st century. Washington, DC: National Academies Press, 509 pp.

Annotation: This book reviews national health achievements and examines the hidden vulnerabilities that undercut health potential. The concept of health as a public good is discussed, as is the fundamental duty of government to promote and protect pubic health. Chapter topics include assuring America's health; understanding population health and its determinants; the governmental public health infrastructure; a description of the public health community; the health care delivery system; and the roles of employers and business, media, and academia. The report also describes major trends that are likely to influence the nation's health in the coming decades. Statistical information is presented in tables and figures throughout the book. Eight appendices include models of health determinants and collaborative planning in communities, recommendations, Healthy People 2010 objectives, competencies for public health workers, data-gathering activities used in preparation of this book, agendas from public committee meetings, and committee member biographies. An index concludes this book.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: customer_service@nap.edu Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 978-0-309-08704-X.

Keywords: Communities, Community programs, Employer initiatives, Health care delivery, National programs, Oral health, Professional education, Professional training, Public health, Public health agencies, Public health infrastructure, Public private partnerships, Trends

Molla MT, Madans JH, Wagener DK, Crimmins EM. 2003. Summary measures of population health: Report of findings on methodologic and data issues. Hyattsville, MD: National Center for Health Statistics, 66 pp.

Annotation: This report presents findings of research that was initiated in response to recommendations made at a workshop titled Identifying Summary Measures for Healthy People 2010, held on September 17-18, 1998, in College Park, Maryland. The report focuses on methodological and data issues. It provides definitions of concepts and methods for calculating the recommended summary measures, evaluates a number of possible measures of morbidity, reviews the trends over a decade for one measure of healthy life expectancy, and examines the effects of combining data from different sources. Statistical information is presented in tables and figures throughout the report. The report includes a reference list.

Contact: National Center for Health Statistics, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 3311 Toledo Road, Room 5419, Hyattsville, MD 20782, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (301) 458-4020 E-mail: nchsquery@cdc.gov Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/nchs Available at no charge; also available from the website.

Keywords: Data, Healthy People 2010, Life expectancy, Morbidity, Research, Trends

National Center for Health Statistics. 2003. Early release of selected estimates based on data from the January-September 2002 National Health Interview Survey. Hyattsville, MD: National Center for Health Statistics, 64 pp.

Annotation: This release provides updated estimates for 13 selected health measures based on new data from the January-September 2002 National Health Interview Survey (NHIS), with comparisons to estimates from the NHIS back to 1997. For each measure, a graph is presented showing the trend over time from 1997 through September 2002 for the total population, followed by graphs and tables showing estimates by sex, age group, and race/ethnicity. Data tables providing values displayed in the graphs are included. This release also provides updates for age-adjusted estimates for those early release measures that are also Healthy People 2010 leading health indicators.

Contact: National Center for Health Statistics, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 3311 Toledo Road, Room 5419, Hyattsville, MD 20782, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (301) 458-4020 E-mail: nchsquery@cdc.gov Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/nchs Available at no charge; also available from the website.

Keywords: Data, Health, Healthy People 2010, Measures, Surveys, Trends

Ngui E, ed. 2003. "From disparity to parity in health": Eliminating health disparities call to action. Raleigh, NC: North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Minority Health and Health Disparities, 146 pp.

Annotation: This report provides a framework for understanding the magnitude of racial and ethnic disparities in North Carolina and some of the social determinants of these disparities. Topics include the role the Department of Health and Human Services in addressing these issues and specific action steps proposed by each division and office in the Department to address these issues, to reduce service barriers, and to provide services in a way that ensures all North Carolinians enjoy good health regardless of race, ethnicity, disability, or socioeconomic status. The document is divided into the following major sections: (1) purpose and vision, (2) North Carolina demographics, (3) overview: health disparities, (4) key areas of disparities in health status, (5) determinants of health, (6) disparities program assessment, (7) current gaps in eliminating health disparities, (8) implementation plans, and (9) external reviewers. Statistical information is presented in tables and figures throughout the document.

Contact: North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Minority Health and Health Disparities, 1110 Navaho Drive, Suite 510, Raleigh, NC 27609, Telephone: (919) 431-1613 Fax: (191) 850-2725 E-mail: OMHHD@ncmail.net Web Site: http://www.ncminorityhealth.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Assessment, Demography, Ethnic factors, Health status, Healthy People 2010, North Carolina, Racial factors, Socioeconomic factors, State surveys

Ozer EM, Park MJ, Paul T, Brindis CD, Irwin CE. 2003. America's adolescents: Are they healthy? (Rev. and upd. ed.). San Francisco, CA: University of California, San Francisco, National Adolescent Health Information Center, 65 pp.

Annotation: This report presents statistics on adolescents and adolescent health in the following areas: demographic features of the adolescent population, health care utilization and access, mortality, risky behavior, and covariation of risk behaviors. A list of references is included. Appendices include data sources for monitoring adolescent health and Healthy People 2010 critical objectives for adolescents and young adults. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Adolescent and Young Adult Health Information Center, University of California, San Francisco, LHTS Suite 245, Box 0503, San Francisco, CA 94143-0503, Telephone: (415) 502-4856 Fax: (415) 502-4858 E-mail: nahic@ucsf.edu Web Site: http://nahic.ucsf.edu Available from the website. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCH00084 (2003), K110 (1998), J060 (1997).

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescent health, Adolescents, Healthy People 2010, Risk taking, Statistics

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. 2003. Progress review: Maternal, infant, and child health. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 4 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet summarizes information from a progress review meeting held October 22, 2003, in Washington, DC to examine the status of the Healthy People 2010 goals for maternal, infant, and child health (focus area 16). Topics include data trends, key challenges and current strategies, and approaches for consideration. A list of contacts for this focus area is included. The fact sheet also provides links to the full text of the Healthy People 2010 goals for focus area 16 and the meeting agenda, data presentation, and other materials for the progress review.

Contact: HealthyPeople.gov, Web Site: http://www.healthypeople.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Child health, Disease prevention, Health promotion, Healthy People 2010, Infant health, Maternal health, Reports

U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion. 2003. Communicating health: Priorities and strategies for progress—Action plans to achieve the health communications objectives in Healthy People 2010. Washington, DC: U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, ca. 100 pp.

Annotation: This document describes for researchers, teachers, practitioners, policymakers, and organizations action plans on the general strategies and specific steps they can take in support of six of the objectives of the Healthy People 2010 program. The six objectives address these topics: Internet access in the home, improvement of health literacy, research and evaluation of health communication programs, disclosure of information to assess the quality of health Web sites, centers for excellence in health communication, and healthcare providers' communication skills. The appendix provides examples of stakeholders involved in technology diffusion and Internet action initiatives.

Contact: U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite LL100, Rockville, MD 20852, Fax: (240) 453-8282 E-mail: odphpinfo@hhs.gov Web Site: https://health.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Communication, Consumer education, Health education, Health literacy, Healthy People 2010, Information networks, Information sources, Internet, Program evaluation, Strategic plans, Technology transfer, World Wide Web

Woodruff TJ, Axelrad DA, Kyle AD, Nweke O, Miller GC. 2003. America's children and the environment: Measures of contaminants, body burdens, and illnesses. (2nd ed.). Washington, DC: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Office of Children's Health Protection, 171 pp.

Annotation: This report brings together quantitative information on trends in levels of environmental contaminants; concentrations of contaminants measured in the bodies of children and women; and childhood illnesses that may be influenced by exposure to environmental contaminants. Report sections discuss environmental contaminants of outdoor and indoor air, drinking water, pesticides, and land contaminants; body burdens of concentrations of lead, mercury, and cotinine; and childhood illnesses such as respiratory diseases, childhood cancer, and neurodevelopmental disorders. Section four of the report discusses emerging issues such as mercury in fish and attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder. Special features, part five of the report, focuses on lead in California schools, pesticides in Minnesota schools, and birth defects in California. Each section contains references. Also included is a section on future directions of measurements used in this report as well as a glossary of terms. The appendices include data tables, data and methods used, and environmental health objectives in Healthy People 2010 and in the Environmental Protection Agency's strategic plan.

Contact: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Office of Children's Health Protection, Room 2512 Ariel Rios North, 1200 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W., Mail Code 1107-T, Washington, DC 20004, Telephone: (202) 564-2188 Fax: (202) 564-2733 Web Site: http://www2.epa.gov/children Available from the website. Document Number: EPA 240-R-03-001.

Keywords: Air pollution, Chemicals, Child health, Congenital abnormalities, Disease, Environmental exposure, Environmental health, Environmental pollution, Lead, Pesticides, Water pollution, Women's health

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Division of Oral Health. [2002]. Preventing dental caries. Atlanta, GA: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 2 pp. (Preventing chronic diseases: Investing wisely in health)

Annotation: This fact sheet presents a snapshot of efforts to reduce dental caries. The fact sheet includes a brief statistical overview of dental caries among children and adults, a description of community-based strategies to prevent tooth decay, and a graph depicting progress in meeting the Healthy People 2010 oral health objectives. Also included is information on the impact of community and school partnerships in Wisconsin; community coalitions in California, New Hampshire, Nevada, Texas, and Utah; and a school-based dental sealant program in Ohio.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Division of Oral Health, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: cdcinfo@cdc.gov Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/OralHealth Available at no charge; also available from the website.

Keywords: Case studies, Children, Community based services, Dental caries, Dental sealants, Fluorides, Healthy People 2010, Ohio, Oral health, School health services, Statistics, Water

National Alliance for Hispanic Health. [2002]. Healthy People 2010: Objectives—Draft for public comment. Washington, DC: National Alliance for Hispanic Health, 36 pp.

Annotation: This report compares Healthy People 2010 objectives with recommendations submitted by Hispanic community leadership about how the objectives can better address the needs of the Hispanic community. The report includes overall comments as well as general and specific comments in the areas of (1) healthy behaviors and (2) healthy and safe communities.

Contact: National Alliance for Hispanic Health, 1501 16th Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20036-1401, Telephone: (202) 387-5000 Secondary Telephone: (866) 783-2645 Fax: E-mail: Web Site: http://www.hispanichealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Communities, Disease prevention, Health, Health behavior, Health objectives, Health promotion, Healthy People 2010, Hispanic Americans, Safety

Casamassimo PS. 2002. Children with special health care needs: Patient, professional and systems issues. Washington, DC: Children's Dental Health Project, 22 pp. (Pediatric oral health interfaces background paper)

Annotation: This paper describes the state of oral health care for children with special health care needs in the United States and provides background information on the evolution of the health care system available in 2003 to these children and their families. The paper includes a scorecard indicating how well the system is addressing Healthy People 2010 oral health objectives and describing major issues and obstacles impeding improvement. Additionally, the paper presents recommendations for changes in financing and professional education and provides extensive references. Tables throughout the paper outline problems identified by children and their families, potential roles for health professionals in improving the system, and desirable characteristics of a family-centered oral health care system for children and their families.

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Children, Children with special health care needs, Dental care, Families, Healthy People 2010, National surveys, Oral health, Parents, Program descriptions, Program improvement, Service delivery systems

Connors KM, Seifer SD. 2002. A toolkit for health professional faculty, students, and community leaders committed to achieving the nation's health objectives through community-campus partnerships. San Francisco, CA: Community-Campus Partnerships for Health, University of California, San Francisco, 32 pp.

Annotation: This tool kit provides leaders involved in community-campus partnerships with the knowledge and resources to support their activities in fulfilling the Healthy People 2010 objectives. The kit contains the following: an overview of the Healthy People 2010 objectives; examples of community-campus partnerships in improving the nation's health at the national, state, and local levels; a discussion of what it means for students, faculty, and institutional and community leaders to commit to achieving the Healthy People 2010 objectives, the Healthy People 2010 assessment tool, including 7 indicators of success; declaration and commitment forms; and a resource section of publications and organizations. References conclude the toolkit.

Contact: Community-Campus Partnerships for Health, University of Washington, Box 354809, Seattle, WA 98195-4809, Telephone: (206) 666-3406 E-mail: ccphuw@u.washington.edu Web Site: http://www.ccph.info $12.00, including shipping and handling.

Keywords: Assessment, Case studies, Collaboration, Healthy People 2010, Program descriptions, Program evaluation, Resource materials

Ireys HT, Humensky J, Peterson E, Wickstrom S, Manda B, Rheault P. 2002. Children with special health care needs in commercial managed care: Patterns of use and cost—Final report. Washington, DC: Mathematica Policy Research, 68 pp.

Annotation: This final report describes findings on patterns of service use and cost of care for a large sample of children with special health care needs enrolled in employer-based managed care plans in order to clarify their service needs and measure progress toward the Healthy People 2010 objectives. The report contains five sections including an executive summary, an introduction on the need for the study, the methodology, the results, conclusions, and recommendations for the next steps. The two appendices describe the selection of UnitedHealth Group as a study partner and service use variable definitions. References are provided. Statistical information is provided in table format throughout the report. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Mathematica Policy Research, P.O. Box 2393, Princeton, NJ 08543-2393, Telephone: (609) 799-3535 Fax: (609) 799-0005 E-mail: info@mathematica-mpr.com Web Site: http://www.mathematica-mpr.com Available from the website.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Costs, Final reports, Health care utilization, Health insurance, Health services delivery, Healthy People 2010, Managed care, Private sector, Research

U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau. 2002. All aboard the 2010 Express: A 10-year action plan for children with special health care needs and their families—Draft. Rockville, MD: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, 48 pp.

Annotation: This draft document presents a blueprint for the organization, financing, and delivery of family-centered services for children and youth with special health care needs in a national program called "All Aboard the 2010 Express." It sets forth a framework for effective partnerships between families and professionals; among professions; between the private healthcare system and public health; among agencies and officials at the federal, state, and community levels; and among public agencies, businesses, and voluntary organizations in the private sector. The report also discusses how to measure program success, how to develop a successful plan, six goals, and three action steps. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Division of Services for Children with Special Health Needs, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Secondary Telephone: (301) 945-9842 Contact Phone: (301) 443-2350 Contact E-mail: GWeissman@hrsa.gov Web Site: http://mchb.hrsa.gov/maternal-child-health-topics/children-and-youth-special-health-needs Available from the website.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Community based services, Family centered services, Federal initiatives, Health care delivery, Health care financing, Healthy People 2010, National programs, Public private partnerships

Wisconsin Department of Health and Family Services, Oral Health Program. 2002. Make Your Smile Count survey. Madison, WI: Wisconsin Department of Health and Family Services, Oral Health Program, 34 pp.

Annotation: This report presents key findings from the Make Your Smile Count survey conducted to learn about the oral health status of children in third grade in Wisconsin. The survey was designed to (1) establish a baseline for monitoring children's oral health status; (2) assess the extent of children's oral health needs; and (3) focus the efforts of prevention programs, policies, and funding. Information on dental caries experience, the prevalence of dental sealants, and the need for urgent treatment is presented. Comparisons of the survey findings to Healthy People 2010 objectives and to other state survey findings are also provided.

Keywords: Benchmarking, Children, Elementary schools, Health status, Healthy People 2010, Oral health, School age children, State surveys, Statistical data, Wisconsin

Public Health Foundation. [2001]. The key ingredient of the National Prevention Agenda: Workforce development—A companion document to Healthy People 2010. Rockville, MD: National Center for Health Workforce Information and Management, 47 pp.

Annotation: This report assists states in addressing the national workforce development objectives for the health professions and for employees of public health agencies. It is divided into four sections. The first section is a "how to" resource for planners providing seven strategy options for including workforce objectives in state Healthy People or other state health plans. The second two sections focus on national Healthy People 2010 workforce objectives involving minority representation in the health professions and continuing education for public health employees. Each section includes an issue summary, a strategy summary, and strategy examples and resources. The fourth section provides a list of Healthy People 2010 workforce-related objectives. Two appendices include a bibliography of articles and resources, and a draft list of core public health competencies from the Council on Linkages Between Academia and Public Health Practice. Endnotes conclude the report.

Contact: National Center for Health Workforce Analysis, Health Resource and Services Administration, Bureau of Health Workforce, Rockvillle, MD Telephone: (301) 443-9256 Web Site: http://bhpr.hrsa.gov/healthworkforce Available at no charge; also available from the website.

Keywords: Work force, Continuing education, Federal initiatives, Health occupations, Health personnel, Healthy People 2010, Minority groups, Oral health, Parents, Planning, Professional personnel, Public health, Public health agencies, State programs

U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau. [2001]. All aboard the 2010 Express: A 10-year action plan for children with special health care needs and their families. Rockville, MD: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, 8 pp.

Annotation: This brochure summarizes a new initiative called the 2010 Express, which is sponsored by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau for children with special health care needs. Included is a history of the new model of care for these children, a new definition of children with special health care needs, a plan of action, and a list of the six core goals around which the plan is organized. Also included is information on the national summit to discuss this initiative as well as a call for partners.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Community based services, Family centered services, Federal initiatives, Health care delivery, Health care financing, Healthy People 2010, National programs, Public private partnerships

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials and National Association of County and City Health Officials. 2001. Health departments take action: A compendium of state and local models addressing racial and ethnic disparities in health. Washington, DC: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, National Association of County and City Health Officials, 102 pp.

Annotation: This compendium for policy makers and program administrators outlines selected state and local initiatives for addressing racial and ethnic disparities in health as outlined in the Healthy People 2010 program. Programs are described under the following topics: chronic disease prevention; other health issues; health professional training; community assessment and development; general health promotion; needs assessment and data capacity; preventive health care; and summary of state and local health disparities programs. Also included is an index of programs by geographic location, and two appendices listing federal and national programs and other resources on health disparities. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available in libraries.

Keywords: Access to care, Ethnic factors, Health promotion, Healthy People 2010, Model programs, Program descriptions, Racial factors, State initiatives, State programs, Violence prevention

Gay and Lesbian Medical Association. 2001. Healthy People 2010: Companion document for lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) health. San Francisco, CA: Gay and Lesbian Medical Association, 481 pp.

Annotation: This document contains most of the existing quantitative and qualitative research and information specific to lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) health in the areas defined and discusses the overall health issues of LGBT people. The document describes barriers LGBT people face and recommends changes that will facilitate success in overcoming them. Topics covered include access to quality health care services, cancer, educational and community-based programs, health communication, HIV/AIDS, immunization and infectious diseases, mental health and mental disorders, nutrition and weight, public health infrastructure, sexually transmitted diseases, substance abuse, tobacco use, and violence prevention. The document includes five appendices that contain recommendations, acronyms, LGBT definitions, resources, and contributors.

Contact: Gay and Lesbian Medical Association, 459 Fulton Street, Suite 107, San Francisco, CA 94102, Telephone: (415) 255-4547 Fax: (415) 255-4784 E-mail: info@glma.org Web Site: http://www.glma.org Available from the website.

Keywords: AIDS, Access to health care, Barriers, Cancer, Communicable diseases, Community based services, Community programs, Educational programs, HIV, Health, Healthy People 2010, Homosexuality, Infections, Mental disorders, Mental health, Nutrition, Public health, Research, Sexuality, Sexually transmitted diseases, Substance abuse, Tobacco use, Violence prevention, Weight management

Guidry M, Vischi T, Han R, Passons O, and U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion. 2001. Healthy people in healthy communities: A community planning guide using Healthy People 2010. Washington, DC: U.S. Government Printing Office, 36 pp.

Annotation: This guide provides information about the steps involved in forming and running a healthy community coalition. It is written for the general public. It includes strategies, resources, and references for designing and implementing programs in accordance with Healthy People 2010 goals. Additional topics include mobilizing key individuals and organizations; assessing needs, strengths, and resources; tracking progress and outcomes; and partnerships. Appendices provide information on Healthy People 2010 health indicators, select objectives for communities, access to health care, work sites, schools, environmental health, and health communication.

Contact: HealthyPeople.gov, Web Site: http://www.healthypeople.gov Available from the website. Document Number: GPO 017-001-00546-1.

Keywords: Coalitions, Community programs, Disease prevention, Health objectives, Health promotion, Healthy People 2010, Needs assessment, Program development, Program evaluation, Program planning

Hutchins VL. 2001. Maternal and child health at the millennium: Looking back, moving forward. Rockville, MD: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, 62 pp.

Annotation: This publication provides an overview of the federal Maternal and Child Health (MCH) program's evolution in consultation, technical assistance, policy development and dissemination, and data collection and analysis, from the establishment of the Children's Bureau in 1912 to the present. The publication uses four selected areas—newborn screening, mental retardation, heart disease, and school health/health of school age children—to illustrate how the MCH program development principles have incorporated scientific and technological advances into promoting the health of the nation's children and families. The publication discusses the problems that the MCH program will face in the future, including unresolved problems from the 20th century and new problems. References are included in the document. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9771 E-mail: OHRCinfo@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.mchoralhealth.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Child health, Children, Children's Bureau, Families, Fathers, Health promotion, Healthy People 2010, Heart diseases, History, Infants, MCH programs, Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Mental retardation, Neonatal screening, Parents, Pregnant women, Program development, School age children, School health, Social Security Act, Title V, Title V programs

National Alliance for Hispanic Health. 2001. Hispanic health needs assessment: A community guide for documenting health status and establishing priorities. (3rd. ed.). Washington, DC: National Alliance for Hispanic Health, 207 pp.

Annotation: This needs assessment is designed to help readers identify the health issues of greatest concern to Hispanics in their communities and to provide a framework to use for assessing the data that describe the populations in their areas. The needs assessment also provides questions to ask for determining what resources exist. The findings presented in the needs assessment are intended to help communities establish goals for disease prevention and health promotion. Most of the information in the needs assessment is presented in tables. The needs assessment is divided into three main sections: (1) demographic overview of the community, (2) mortality overview of the community, and (3) Healthy People 2010 objectives for improving health. Eight appendices include sample forms and letters (some in Spanish); information about health departments, data centers, offices, and clearinghouses; a glossary (in English and Spanish); and flash cards for a community leadership health care priorities survey.

Contact: National Alliance for Hispanic Health, 1501 16th Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20036-1401, Telephone: (202) 387-5000 Secondary Telephone: (866) 783-2645 Fax: E-mail: Web Site: http://www.hispanichealth.org First edition available in libraries.

Keywords: Communities, Demography, Disease prevention, Health, Health promotion, Healthy People 2010, Hispanic Americans, Mortality, Needs assessment, Resource allocation, Spanish language materials

National Center for Health Statistics. 2001. Healthy People 2000 final review. Hyattsville, MD: National Center for Health Statistics, 378 pp.

Annotation: This report presents the final data collected for the 376 objectives that comprise Healthy People 2000. It is organized in three major sections. The introduction provides a brief discussion of the history of the Healthy People initiative, the current effort, and the transition to the next decade in Healthy People 2010. The first section presents information on 22 Healthy People 2000 priority areas in three goal areas: 1) increasing the span of life; 2) reducing health disparities; and 3) achieving access to preventive services. The second section consists of 22 chapters providing a progress report for each of the priority areas containing progress quotient charts, summaries of progress for each objective and its significance, major results, transition to Healthy People 2010, data issues, a summary data table, and the full-text of the objectives. Section 3 contains the appendix and technical notes which present data and analysis issues involved in monitoring the objectives and subobjectives. Additional information is provided for understanding and interpreting the data. Data are presented throughout the report in graph, table, chart, and map formats.

Contact: National Center for Health Statistics, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 3311 Toledo Road, Room 5419, Hyattsville, MD 20782, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 Fax: (301) 458-4020 E-mail: nchsquery@cdc.gov Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/nchs Available from the website. Document Number: DHHS 01-0256.

Keywords: Data analysis, Disease prevention, Federal programs, Health programs, Health promotion, Healthy People 2000, National programs, Prevention programs, Program descriptions, Program evaluation, Statistics

State Family Planning Administrators and Center for Health Training. 2001. Healthy People 2010 - Reproductive health. Seattle, WA: Center for Health Training, 310 pp.

Annotation: This report is a compilation of all the Healthy People 2010 objectives that directly address reproductive health. These objectives are organized according to the following topics: access to quality health services; cancer; educational and community-based programs; family planning; health communication; HIV; immunization and infectious diseases; injury and violence prevention; maternal, infant, and child health; nutrition and overweight; sexually transmitted diseases; and substance abuse. In addition to discussing these objectives, the report discusses tracking reproductive health and provides operational definitions and major data sources.

Contact: Office of Population Affairs Clearinghouse, P.O. Box 30686, Bethesda, MD 20824-0686, Telephone: (866) 640-7827 Fax: (866) 592-3299 E-mail: info@opaclearinghouse.org Web Site: http://www.hhs.gov/opa/order-publications/ Available at no charge; also available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Body weight, Cancer, Child health, Communicable diseases, Communication, Community programs, Educational programs, Family planning, HIV, Healthy People 2010, Immunization, Infant health, Injury prevention, Maternal health, Nutrition, Reproductive health, Sexually transmitted diseases, Substance abuse, Violence prevention

U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau. 2001. National Child Health Day October 1, 2001: 2010 Express—All aboard! for children with special health care needs and their families. Rockville, MD: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, 22 items.

Annotation: This kit provides information on National Child Health Day, held on October 1, 2001, which focused on children with special health care needs and their families. The kit includes a promotion guide and poster, fact sheets and reproducibles, and supplemental materials.

Contact: U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Division of Services for Children with Special Health Needs, Health Resources and Services Administration, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (301) 443-2170 Secondary Telephone: (301) 945-9842 Web Site: http://mchb.hrsa.gov/maternal-child-health-topics/children-and-youth-special-health-needs Available at no charge.

Keywords: Child health, Children with special health care needs, Families, Health observances, Posters, Public awareness campaigns

Egypt Ministry of Health and Population. [2000]. Healthy Egyptians in healthy communities. [Cairo, Egypt]: Egypt Ministry of Health and Population, 55 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information on the Healthy Egyptians 2010 initiative, a public health agenda to identify the significant preventable threats to health and to bring together public and private efforts to address these threats. The effort is modeled after the Healthy People 2010 initiative of the United States. Priority areas addressed in the report are maternal and child health, injury control, environmental health, and smoking control. Strategies include health promotion, health protection, and preventive services. The volume is printed with English in the front half and the same text in Arabic in the back half.

Keywords: Egypt, Health objectives, Health promotion, International health, Non English language materials, Public health

Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors. 2000. Building infrastructure and capacity in state and territorial oral health programs. [Jefferson City, MO]: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 44 pp.

Annotation: This document assesses the resources and funding ranges necessary to maintain fully effective dental public health programs at the state and territorial levels. It reviews the Healthy People 2010 oral health objectives, highlights elements of state oral health programs that build infrastructure and capacity, summarizes existing gaps reported by the states, and illustrates funding needed to build infrastructure and capacity.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Dental Directors, 3858 Cashill Boulevard, Reno, NV 89509, Telephone: (775) 626-5008 Fax: (775) 626-9268 E-mail: info@astdd.org Web Site: http://www.astdd.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Children, Health care financing, Oral health, Program improvement, Programs, State MCH programs

Clayton S, Brindis C, Hamor J, Raiden-Wright H, Fong C. 2000. Investing in adolescent health: A social imperative for California's future. San Francisco, CA: University of California, San Francisco, National Adolescent Health Information Center, 97 pp., exec. summ. (8 pp.).

Annotation: This report presents a plan, by the California Adolescent Health Collaborative (ACH), to improve the health of adolescents in California. The report covers three main topics: (1) understanding adolescent health and the issues; (2) eight recommendations for improving adolescent health; and (3) strategies for seven outcome areas--injury prevention; mental health and suicide; nutrition and physical activity ; alcohol, tobacco, and other drugs; pregnancy and sexually transmitted infections; oral health; and environmental and occupational health. Reference are included. An executive summary is available separately. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Adolescent and Young Adult Health Information Center, University of California, San Francisco, LHTS Suite 245, Box 0503, San Francisco, CA 94143-0503, Telephone: (415) 502-4856 Fax: (415) 502-4858 E-mail: nahic@ucsf.edu Web Site: http://nahic.ucsf.edu Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescent health, Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescents, Adolescents, California, Drug use behavior, Environmental health, Health promotion, Healthy People 2010, Injury prevention, Mental health, Nutrition, Occupational safety and health, Oral health, Physical activity, Prevention, Strategic plans, Suicide prevention, Tobacco use

District of Columbia Department of Health. 2000. The District of Columbia Healthy People 2010 plan: A strategy for better health. Washington, DC: District of Columbia Department of Health, 149 pp.

Annotation: This document sets broad goals to improve the health of all District residents by 2010. It was developed in accord with the federal Healthy People 2010 framework with input from local citizens and community agencies. The plan's sections provide objectives in these areas: promoting healthy behaviors; promoting healthy and safe communities; improving access to quality health care services; and preventing and reducing diseases and disorders. The plan includes a focus on eliminating health disparities among racial and ethnic minority populations. Data are presented in charts and tables throughout the report.

Contact: District of Columbia Department of Health, 899 North Capitol Street, N.E., Washington, DC 20002, Telephone: (202) 442-5955 Fax: (202) 442-4795 E-mail: doh@dc.gov Web Site: http://doh.dc.gov/

Keywords: Disease prevention, District of Columbia, Health objectives, Health promotion, Health statistics, Healthy People 2010, Minority groups

Pew Environmental Health Commission. 2000. Attack asthma: Why America needs a public health defense system to battle environmental threats. Baltimore, MD: Pew Environmental Health Commission, 19 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information and statistics on the growing epidemic of asthma and discusses the federal plans to respond, as well as the Pew Environmental Health Commission recommendations for investments in building the public health infrastructure to implement the federal plan. Topics discussed are an overview of the epidemic and the climbing rates of asthma; troubling predictors; an analysis of the federal Healthy People 2010 program regarding asthma, a review of grants awarded by the National Institutes of Health for asthma research; and the need for a national health defense system. Statistical data are presented in charts, tables, and graphs throughout the report.

Keywords: Asthma, Environmental health, Environmental influences, Epidemiology, Federal programs, Healthy People 2010, Public health, Research

Raskin L. 2000. Breathing easy: Solutions in pediatric asthma. Arlington, VA: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, 15 pp.

Annotation: This policy analysis provides an overview of the factors contributing to the prevalence of pediatric asthma and highlights select asthma-prevention and management initiatives. Topics include background information on asthma and its prevalence in the pediatric community; the costs of asthma; federal regulatory and legislative efforts; surveillance and research; the medical community, and asthma program initiatives. Statistical data are provided in several tables. References are included. Appendix A includes initiatives sponsored by the Environmental Protection Agency, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, the Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Health Resources Services Administration, and the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Appendix B provides resources on organizations working in asthma, in advocacy and education, professional associations, governmental organizations, and data and statistics.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: http://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Asthma, Children, Federal programs, Healthy People 2010, Pediatrics, Policy analysis, Statistics

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. 2000. Healthy People 2010 [2nd ed.]. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 2 v.

Annotation: This edition of Healthy People 2010 supercedes the January 2000 Conference Edition. This report is divided into two sections: 1) Understanding and improving health; and 2) Objectives for improving health. The first section explains the history of the Healthy People 2010 and the overall Healthy People initiative, the model on which Healthy People is based, and how to use Healthy People as a systematic approach to health improvement, and the Leading Health Indicators (LHIs). To provide a snapshot of the health of the Nation, Healthy People 2010 identifies 10 Leading Health Indicators. The LHIs highlight major health priorities for the Nation and include the individual behaviors, physical and social environmental factors, and health system issues that affect the health of individuals and communities. Each of the 10 LHIs has one or more Healthy People measures associated with it. The selected objectives will be used to measure progress throughout the decade. The second section provides detailed information on the 28 focus areas of Healthy People 2010. The chapters include the following focus areas: lead agency; contents; goal statement; overview; interim progress toward Year 2000 objectives; and Healthy People 2010 objectives. This edition consists of 2 volumes, Volume 1 contains Understanding and Improving health, and Objectives for Improving Health (Part A: Focus areas 1-14). Volume 2 contains Objectives for Improving Health (Part B: Focus Areas 15-28) and Appendices. The appendices provide information on the process, agencies, and people involved in the Healthy People 2010 program, as well as a list of abbreviations and acronyms. The edition concludes with an index.

Contact: HealthyPeople.gov, Web Site: http://www.healthypeople.gov Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 0-16-050494-5.

Keywords: Community role, Demography, Disease prevention, Federal initiatives, Goals, Health objectives, Health objectives, Health policy, Health promotion, Healthy People 2010, Population surveillance, Program evaluation, Program management, Program planning, Public health

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. 2000. Healthy People 2010 objectives for improving health: Focus area 21—Oral health. Washington, DC: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 1 v.

Annotation: This report presents the oral health promotion and disease prevention agenda of Healthy People 2010. It is a reprint of Chapter 21 of the Healthy People 2010 comprehensive report. Topics addressed in the report include goals; an overview that contains a discussion of issues, trends, disparities, and opportunities; interim progress toward year 2000 objectives; Healthy People 2010 objectives; related objectives from other areas of Healthy People 2010; terminology; and references.

Contact: HealthyPeople.gov, Web Site: http://www.healthypeople.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Disease prevention, Families, Goals, Health objectives, Health objectives, Health policy, Health promotion, Healthy People 2010, Oral health, Pregnant women, Program evaluation, Program management, Program planning, Public health, Young children

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. 2000. Healthy People 2010: Understanding and improving health (2nd ed.). Washington, DC: U.S. Government Printing Office, 62 pp.

Annotation: This report, which supersedes the section with the same title in the Healthy People 2010, January 2000 Conference edition, presents the history of the Healthy People 2010 initiative. The report outlines the overall Healthy People initiative and its leading health indicators. The leading health indicators are: physical activity, overweight and obesity, tobacco use, substance abuse, responsible sexual behavior, mental health, injury and violence, environmental quality, immunization, and access to health care.

Contact: U.S. Government Publishing Office, 732 North Capitol Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20401, Telephone: (202) 512-1800 Secondary Telephone: (866) 512-1800 Fax: (202) 512-2104 E-mail: contactcenter@gpo.gov Web Site: http://www.gpo.gov Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 1-16-050283.

Keywords: Community role, Demography, Disease prevention, Goals, Health objectives, Health objectives, Health policy, Health promotion, Healthy People 2010, Population surveillance, Program evaluation, Program management, Program planning, Public health

Chrvala CA, Bulger RJ, eds. 1999. Leading health indicators for Healthy People 2010: Final report. Washington, DC: National Academy Press, 55 pp.

Annotation: This report describes efforts by an Institute of Medicine committee to develop leading health indicator sets that could focus on health and social issues as well as evoke response and action from the general public and the traditional audiences for Healthy People. Topics include background and significance of the Healthy People initiative, approach to development of leading health indicator sets, the proposed sets, linkage with Healthy People 2010, and cross-cutting data issues. Conclusions, recommendations, and a list of references are included.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: customer_service@nap.edu Web Site: http://www.nap.edu $22.95 plus shipping. Document Number: ISBN 0-309065-39-9.

Keywords: Disease prevention, Health promotion, Health statistics, Healthy People 2010

U.S. Indian Health Service, Division of Oral Health. 1999. An oral health survey of American Indian and Alaska Native dental patients: Findings, regional differences, and national comparisons. Rockville, MD: U.S. Indian Health Service, Division of Oral Health, 107 pp.

Annotation: This report documents the oral health status and treatment needs of American Indian/Alaska Native people. The report is organized by life stages, with each section including information on major oral diseases affecting the specific age group. Findings from Indian Health Service oral health surveys conducted in 1984 and 1991 are compared with findings from the oral health survey conducted in 1990, as well as with the Healthy People 2010 national health objectives and national survey data. Additional sections discuss treatment needs and provide a summary and recommendations. Appendices include information on survey performers, methods and protocols, area-specific data, and treatment-needs data.

Keywords: Adolescents, Adults, Age groups, Alaska natives, American Indians, Children, Dental care, Needs assessment, Older adults, Oral health, Research methodology, Surveys

University of Alabama at Birmingham, University of Florida, Tulane University, and Louisiana State University-Shreveport, Pediatric Pulmonary Centers. 1998. Advances in pediatric pulmonary care: Interdisciplinary approaches to asthma and home care of technology dependent children— Peabody Hotel, Memphis, Tennessee, May 7-8, 1998. Birmingham, AL: University of Alabama, Pediatric Pulmonary Center, ca. 200 pp.

Annotation: These conference proceedings discuss why interdisciplinary teams are needed, a parent's perspective of family centered care, health supervision for children with chronic illnesses, home care of pediatric pulmonary patients, guidelines for diagnosis and management of asthma, Healthy People 2010 Objectives for Children with Special Health Care Needs, asthma medications, guidelines for care of the child with a chronic tracheostomy, administering pediatric asthma medications, pediatric home ventilator care, home options for enteral support, identification and control of asthma triggers, the technology supported child in the community, promoting behavioral change and improving adherence, and smoking cessation. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: University of Alabama at Birmingham, Department of Pediatrics, 1600 Seventh Avenue, South, Suite 620 ACC, Birmingham, AL 35233, Telephone: (205) 939-9100 Web Site: http://www.uab.edu/medicine/peds $15.00, limited quantity available.

Keywords: Asthma, Behavior modification, Children with special health care needs, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Conferences, Drugs, Family centered care, Health supervision, Healthy People 2010, Home care, Interdisciplinary approach, Mechanical ventilators, Parents, Pediatric pulmonary care, Smoking cessation, Tracheostomy

National Center for Health Statistics. Healthy People 2010: Progress reviews. Hyattsville, MD: National Center for Health Statistics,

Annotation: This Web site provides a venue for federal agencies to report on progress toward achieving the Healthy People 2010 goals and objectives for each of the 28 focus areas. The first round of reviews began in June 2002 and ended in December 2005. The second round encompassing the same 28 focus areas began in June 2006 and is ongoing.

Contact: HealthyPeople.gov, Web Site: http://www.healthypeople.gov Available from the website.

Keywords: Disease prevention, Health promotion, Healthy People 2010, Statistics

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.