Breastfeeding Promotion, Support, and Education Bibliography

Annotation: This resource provides information on the importance of breastfeeding and the role of hospitals in breastfeeding success. It describes a program to encourage adoption of five evidence based maternity care practices that have been found to increase breastfeeding rates. Contents include current breastfeeding rates in Kansas, participating hospitals, endorsements, a hospital application agreement and form, and program logos and branding materials.

Contact: United Methodist Health Ministry Fund, P.O. Box 1384, 100 East First, Hutchinson, KS 67504-1384, Telephone: (800) 369-7191 Secondary Telephone: (316) 662-8586 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.healthfund.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Evidence based medicine, Health promotion, Hospital accreditation, Infant health, Kansas, Maternal health, Model programs, State programs

Contact: Alive & Thrive, FHI 360, 1825 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20009, Telephone: (202) 884-8754 Fax: (202) 464-3966 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.aliveandthrive.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Cesarean section

Annotation: This book provides health care professionals and students in all specialties with a teaching and reference aid to enhance their knowledge of breastfeeding physiology and clinical practice to encourage and support breastfeeding. Topics include the rationale for promoting breastfeeding, composition of human milk, anatalomy and physiology of lactation, managing breastfeeding before and after conception, peripartum care, postpartum care in the hospital and at home, infant and mother m=breastfeeding maintenance, supoorting breastfeeding during mother-infant separation, lactation support, medications and breastfeeding, contraception, and breastfeeding and preterm infants and other special circumstances. Appendices provide resources and professional position statements on breastfeeding.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Web Site: https://www.aap.org Document Number: ISBN 978-1-58110-804-0.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Child nutrition, Complementary feeding, Health promotion, Infant feeding, Infant nutrition, Lactation, Lactation management, Maternal health, Resources for professionals

Annotation: This webinar highlights successful strategies and best practices that have been implemented in Nevada and North Dakota state health agencies to encourage breastfeeding and to help new parents return to work. In addition, the Virginia breastfeeding coordinator describes how the Virginia Department of Health has worked with businesses to develop breastfeeding policies.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding promotion, Model programs, State initiatives, Workplace

Annotation: This guide provides state and local community members with information to help them choose the breastfeeding intervention strategy that best meets needs, including hospitals and birth centers, worksites, and communities. This guide builds upon the research evidence demonstrating effective intervention strategies and offers relevant information for each including program examples and resources. Contents include maternity care practices, professional education, access to professional support, peer support programs, support for breastfeeding in the workplace and in early care and education, access to breastfeeding education and information, social marketing, and addressing the marketing of infant formula.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: https://www.cdc.gov/cdc-info/forms/contact-us.html Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Webinar Resources

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding promotion, Intervention, Lactation, Lactation management, MCH programs, Professional education, Resources for professionals

Annotation: This document, which is focused on the importance of breastfeeding and breastfeeding promotion, describes a plan for changing breastfeeding practices in Illinois. The document discusses the evidence base for breastfeeding, including benefits for mothers, psychosocial benefits, and benefits for families and communities. Illinois breastfeeding data are also presented.

Contact: Illinois Breastfeeding Blueprint, E-mail: http://www.ilbreastfeedingblueprint.org/pages/contact_us/12.php Web Site: http://www.ilbreastfeedingblueprint.org Available from the website.

• 2011

Keywords: State surveys, Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding promotion, Communities, Families, Illinois, Infant health, Mental health, Statistical data, Women', s health

Annotation: This toolkit, which contains information about breastfeeding promotion in the inpatient setting, is designed to assist health care organizations and hospital teams in planning and implementing performance-improvement projects. The toolkit is organized around five primary components of performance improvement in hospital-based breastfeeding support: leadership engagement, planning and ongoing improvement, measurement strategy, keeping patients at the center, and sustainability. The toolkit provides information on evidence for breastfeeding benefits, Kaiser Parmanente's journey, building for successful change, and innovative ideas for breastfeeding support and promotion.

Contact: Kaiser Permanente Case Management Institute, 1 Kaiser Plaza, 16L, Oakland, CA 94612, E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://kpcmi.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding promotion, Hospital programs, Infant health, Leadership, Program improvement, Women', s health

Annotation: This curriculum presents competencies and objectives to guide any lactation program, regardless of setting. Topics include communication and counseling; documentation and communication; history taking and assessment; prenatal and perinatal breastfeeding support; extended breastfeeding support; problem-solving skills; newborn/child breastfeeding challenges; maternal breastfeeding challenges' use of techniques and devices; public health; research, legislation, and policy; professional responsibilities and practice; and leadership and teaching. For each topic, information is provided about core competencies, learning objectives, suggested content, and suggested skills and behaviors. [Record in process]

Contact: Lactation Education Accreditation and Approval Review Committee, 2501 Aerial Center Parkway, Suite 103, Morrisville, NC 27560, Telephone: (919) 459-6106 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.leaarc.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Website

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding promotion, Breastfeeding promotion programs, Breastfeeding support, Lactation, Leadership, Legislation, Parent support services, Public health, Public policy, Research, Standards

Annotation: This report presents findings from the 2011 Los Angeles County Health Survey (LACHS) of breastfeeding-related hospital practices and explains how hospital practices can influence breastfeeding outcomes and how breastfeeding benefits both mothers and babies. It also provides a 10-step breastfeeding initiative for hospitals; lists the Healthy People 2020 goals for breastfeeding; and presents statistics from the LACHS on hospital practices and breastfeeding initiation and duration based on the mothers' age, race and ethnicity, education, and poverty level.Included are recommended actions for mothers and families, cities and communities, the health care community, employers, and policy makers. A summary of what Los Angeles County has been doing to advance breastfeeding in hospitals is also provided.

Contact: Los Angeles County Department of Public Health, 313 North Figueroa Street, Room 127, Los Angeles, CA 90012, Telephone: (213) 240-7785 Web Site: http://publichealth.lacounty.gov/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Hospital programs, Hospitals, Outcome evaluation, Statistics, Surveys

Annotation: This issue brief explores how states and communities can capitalize on the opportunities presented by the Affordable Care Act to advance breastfeeding. In particular, it examines state partnerships; financing of breastfeeding support and counseling services; promoting worksite accommodations; and using the Maternal, Infant, and Early Childhood Home Visiting program to improve referral and tracking. The brief also highlights some of the best practices of state Title V maternal and child health programs and their partners and offers strategies for states interested in developing similar efforts.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Financing, Health care reform, Home visiting, Model programs, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Public private partnerships, State MCH programs, Workplace

Annotation: This video presents the stories of four hospitals as they journey toward Baby-Friendly status. The video was produced as part of the Best Fed Beginnings quality-improvement project, a nationwide effort to help hospitals improve maternity care and increase the number of Baby-Friendly hospitals in the United States. The video features the Barnes-Jewish Hospital's (Missouri) work on patient-centered care, the Presbyterian Hospital's (New Mexico) efforts to increase skin-to-skin contact, the Christiana Hospital's (Delaware) focus on staff buy-in, and the University of Alabama at Birmingham Hospital's efforts to catalyze the community by changing misconceptions about breastfeeding.

Contact: National Institute for Children's Health Quality, 30 Winter Street, Sixth Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 391-2700 Secondary Telephone: (866) 787-0832 Fax: (617) 391-2701 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nichq.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Breastfeeding promotion, Breastfeeding promotion programs, Communities, Hospital programs, Infant health, Newborn infants, Quality assurance, Reproductive health, Women', s health

Annotation: This website offers information to help African-American new mothers and their families understand the benefits of breastfeeding, make breastfeeding work, and get the support they need to breastfeed their infants.Topics include planning ahead, breastfeeding myths, overcoming challenges, finding support, and fitting breastfeeding into women's lives. One woman's breastfeeding story is also presented, and links to related information are included.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office on Women's Health, 200 Independence Avenue, S.W., Room 712E, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (800) 690-7650 Fax: (202) 205-2631 Web Site: http://www.womenshealth.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Blacks, Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding promotion, Consumer education materials, Families, Infant health, Mothers, Parent support services, Public awareness campaigns, Women', s health

Annotation: This report provides information about an analysis to assess the political commitment to and priority for breastfeeding interventions globally and in selected countries to determine the need for and potential benefits of a targeted initiative to enhance leadership and advocacy. The report discusses evidence, policies, and strategic frameworks for breastfeeding, including a summary of global evidence on breastfeeding, policy bases for breastfeeding, and commitment to breastfeeding. Key findings from a stakeholder survey are also presented.

Contact: UNICEF, the United Nation's Children's Fund, UNICEF House, Three United Nations Plaza, 44th Street, Between 1st and 2nd Avenues, New York, NY 10017, Telephone: (212) 326-7000 Fax: (212) 887-7465 Web Site: http://www.unicef.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Advocacy, Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding promotion, Initiatives, International health, Intervention, Leadership, Research, Surveys

Annotation: This report explains how hospitals and maternity facilities can implement the core measure on exclusive breast milk feeding which is one of the Perinatal Care core measures that replaced The Joint Commission's Pregnancy and Related Conditions core measures set beginning in April 2010. The report provides guidelines to help health professionals achieve compliance with the new measure by collecting data that supports exclusive breast milk feeding, defined by The Joint Commission as "a newborn receiving only breast milk and no other liquids or solids except for drops or syrups." It explains how compliance may require facilities to modify their paper charts and/or electronic medical records and includes examples from exemplary hospitals that already collect data on exclusive breast milk feeding.

Contact: United States Breastfeeding Committee, 2025 M Street, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 367-1132 Fax: (202) 367-2132 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.usbreastfeeding.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Data collection, Guidelines, Hospital accreditation, Measures, Standards

Annotation: This publication is designed to aid hospitals and maternity facilities in complying with the Joint Commission's exclusive breast milk feeding core measure. Contents include guidelines for data collection and recommendations for documentation including charting samples. The publication also provides information on implementing evidence-based practices that improve exclusive breast milk feeding. Topics include labor and delivery care, postpartum care, facility discharge care, staff training, structural and organizational aspects of care delivery. Additional resources are available from the website. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: United States Breastfeeding Committee, 2025 M Street, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 367-1132 Fax: (202) 367-2132 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.usbreastfeeding.org Available from the website.

• Link
• Toolkit

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Data collection, Evidence-based practice, Guideline adherence, Measures, Perinatal care, Program improvement, Quality assurance

Annotation: This fact sheet explains how physicians and other health professionals can support breastfeeding in clinical care practices. It describes how doctors can support their patients' intentions to breastfeed; provide best practices guidelines and breastfeeding support; avoid serving as advertisers for infant formula; develop skilled lactation care teams; and help create health care systems that guarantee continuity of skilled support for lactation between hospitals and health care settings in the community. Included are key actions steps identified by the Surgeon General to support breastfeeding in clinical care and a call for changes in clinical care practices that promote breastfeeding.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: https://www.cdc.gov/cdc-info/forms/contact-us.html Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Breastfeeding promotion, Breastfeeding promotion campaigns, Family support, Health care systems, Lactation management, Physicians, Public health

Annotation: This fact sheet explains how to support breastfeeding in health care systems by improving maternity care practices, providing breastfeeding support after hospital discharge, improving clinician knowledge and skills, including breastfeeding support as a standard of care, and developing skilled lactation care teams. Included are key actions steps identified by the Surgeon General to support breastfeeding in health care systems and a call for changes in health care that promote breastfeeding.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: https://www.cdc.gov/cdc-info/forms/contact-us.html Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Advocacy, Breastfeeding promotion, Breastfeeding promotion campaigns, Health care systems, Public health

Annotation: This fact sheet explains how nurses can help breastfeeding mothers in clinical care practices. It describes how nurses can support mothers' intentions to breastfeed; promote breastfeeding as a standard of care; seek out opportunities to improve knowledge and skills; develop skilled lactation care teams. and provide breastfeeding support after hospital discharge. Included are key actions steps identified by the Surgeon General to support breastfeeding in clinical care and a call for changes in clinical care practices that promote breastfeeding.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: https://www.cdc.gov/cdc-info/forms/contact-us.html Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Breastfeeding promotion, Breastfeeding promotion campaigns, Family support, Health care systems, Lactation management, Nurse clinicians, Physicians, Public health

Annotation: This fact sheet outlines breastfeeding provisions in the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (ACA) and discusses how maternal and child health programs can use the ACA to strengthen breastfeeding efforts for women. Topics include breastfeeding support, counseling, and equipment, as well as reasonable break time and appropriate space in the workplace. Sources and selected resources for further information are provided.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Health care reform, Legislation, State MCH programs, Women, Working mothers, Workplace health promotion

Annotation: This kit is designed for educating pediatricians, physicians; public health workers; nurses; hospital, clinic, or private practice staff; dentists; and others on the topic of breastfeeding support and promotion. The content is presented in five sections, each of which contains presentation slides and notes. Topics include the benefits, process, management, and advocacy of breastfeeding.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatrics, 345 Park Boulevard, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: 800/433-9016 Secondary Telephone: 202/347-8600 E-mail: https://www.aap.org/en/pages/contact-us/contact-national-headquarters/ Contact E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.aap.org Available from the website.

• Section 1
• Section 2

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding promotion, Breastfeeding promotion programs

Annotation: This report describes steps that mothers and their families, communities, clinicians, employers, researchers, and government leaders can take to participate in a society-wide approach to support mothers and babies who are breastfeeding. Topics include the importance of breastfeeding, rates of breastfeeding, and barriers to breastfeeding in the United States. Recommended actions and their associated implementation strategies are detailed.

Contact: U.S. Office of the Surgeon General, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 200 Independence Ave., SW, Humphrey Bldg., Suite 701H, Washington, DC 20201, Telephone: (240) 276-8853 Fax: (202) 401-7529 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.surgeongeneral.gov/index.html Available from the website.

• Full Report
• Executive Summary

Keywords: Barriers, Breastfeeding promotion, Community action, Infant feeding, Infant nutrition, Lactation management, National initiatives, Public health infrastructure, Public policy, Public private partnerships

Annotation: This report presents the strategic plan of the United States Breastfeeding Committee (USBC) to promote breastfeeding in the United States. It contains sections on the mission and vision of the USBC and details specific goals. These goals are: to ensure that quality breastfeeding services are an essential component of health care for all families, to reduce marketing that undermines optimal breastfeeding, to increase protection, promotion and support for breastfeeding mothers in the workforce, and to ensure the sustainability and effectiveness of the USBC. Strategies for each goal are provided. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: United States Breastfeeding Committee, 2025 M Street, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 367-1132 Fax: (202) 367-2132 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.usbreastfeeding.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Breastfeeding promotion, Infant health, Infant nutrition, Strategic plans

Annotation: This document presents presentations and discussions from a workshop held to provide input on how to effectively build on the successes of the national breastfeeding support and promotion campaign, Loving Support Makes Breastfeeding Work, launched in 1997. The workshop focused on using an evidence-based social marketing strategiy to make the campaign relevant and effective. The document summarizes opening remarks from the president of the National WIC Association; discusses changes over the past 15 years; describes lessons learned from other public health campaigns; and discusses suggestions for moving the social marketing campaign forward, including program components and messages, communication tools, implementation tools for state WIC programs, strategic community-based partnerships, identification of research gaps, and evaluation of program success.

Contact: National Academies Press, 500 Fifth Street, N.W., Keck 360, Washington, DC 20001, Telephone: (202) 334-3313 Secondary Telephone: (888) 624-8373 Fax: (202) 334-2451 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.nap.edu Available from the website. Document Number: ISBN 978-0-309-21919-8.

• Link

Keywords: Breastfeeding promotion, Breastfeeding promotion programs, Communication, Community programs, Program evaluation, Public awareness campaigns, Research, WIC Program

Annotation: This report discusses a study of the Loving Support Peer Counseling Program, an initiative designed to increase breastfeeding initiation and duration rates for WIC participants and to increase community support for WIC participants who breastfeed. The report focuses on the implementation component of the study; an impact component is also being developed. The report summarizes information collected through a Web-based survey on how states, Indian tribal organizations, and territories (ITOT) implement peer counseling programs using the Loving Support model to understand how Loving Support peer counseling is being used at the state and ITOT levels. The report describes the general characteristics of local WIC agencies (LWAs) implementing the program and compares them to those that are not currently implementing it. The report also summarizes information about Loving Support Peer Counseling Program operations from 40 LWAs selected to represent LWAs that implement the program. The report concludes with five local case studies of the Loving Support Peer Counseling Program.

Contact: U.S. Food and Nutrition Service, 3101 Park Center Drive, Alexandria, VA 22302, Web Site: http://www.fns.usda.gov/fns Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Breastfeeding promotion, Case studies, Initiatives, Local programs, Peer counseling, Program evaluation, Programs, State programs, WIC program

Annotation: This report presents core competencies in breastfeeding care and service that provide health professionals with a guideline and framework to integrate evidence-based breastfeeding knowledge, skills, and attitudes into their standard health care deliver practices. The report presents the minimum knowledge, skills, and attitudes that all health professionals need to have in order to provide care that protects, promotes, and supports breastfeeding and also presents a more comprehensive list of core competencies in these three areas. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: United States Breastfeeding Committee, 2025 M Street, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 367-1132 Fax: (202) 367-2132 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.usbreastfeeding.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Attitudes, Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding promotion, Competence, Knowledge level

Annotation: This paper provides a background for understanding the role of lactation breaks in the workplace as a critical way to improve the health and productivity of working women and their children, in compliance with Section 4207 of the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act. Section topics include the public health case; how lactation breaks support the physical process of maintaining milk supply; lactation breaks in the context of other work-family and workplace wellness issues and explores the business case for breastfeeding; U.S. laws about breastfeeding and the workplace; and looks ahead to unfinished business. The appendix offers a quick look at the history of infant feeding and women’s work, in order to provide context for decision-makers in government and business.

Contact: United States Breastfeeding Committee, 2025 M Street, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 367-1132 Fax: (202) 367-2132 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.usbreastfeeding.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Breastfeeding promotion, Infant health, Infant nutrition, Maternal health, Working mothers

Annotation: This report describes findings from focus groups and interviews with a diverse cross section of mothers of infants in MInnesota. The research -- conducted by the Minnesota Department of Health’s Physical Activity and Nutrition Unit and Women, Infants and Children (WIC) Program in partnership with Wilder Research -- is based on questions that centered on the supports for and challenges of breastfeeding infants, particularly in relation to their experiences with health care settings, worksites, and social influences. The report discusses the characteristics of participants; their perceived knowledge of infant feeding; the knowledge and influence of health care providers; and worksite support and other social influences for infant feeding; Included are a summary of findings among specific populations (Native American women; Latina women; Somali women; Hmong women; and women with low levels of education). Recommendations are included.

Contact: Minnesota Department of Health, P.O. Box 64975, St. Paul, MN 55164-0975, Telephone: (651) 201-5000 Secondary Telephone: (888) 345-0823 Web Site: http://www.health.state.mn.us Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Focus groups, Infant feeding, Interviews, Minnesota, Research, State initiatives

Annotation: This breastfeeding promotion kit includes a booklet and 7-minute video to help health professinals and other stakeholders partner with WIC to create a national environment that encourages mothers to breastfeed. The video explains how new mothers need a network of support to continue breasffeeding successfully and how the WIC program is working to promote breastfeeding. The video includes breastfeeding experiences shared by WIC mothers and their partners. The booklet discusses the physical and emotional benefits of breastfeeding for infants, mothers, and families and describes how WIC is reaching out to community partners to build a network of support.

Contact: U.S. Food and Nutrition Service, Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants and Children, 3101 Park Center Drive, Room 520, Alexandria, VA 22302, Telephone: (703) 305-2746 Fax: (703_ 305-2196 Web Site: http://www.fns.usda.gov/wic/ Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding promotion, Breastfeeding promotion programs, Videos, WIC Program

Annotation: This training curriculum was developed to help ensure that all staff attain a level of proficiency in the skills required to promote and support breastfeeding within a WIC (Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants, and Children) setting. The competencies covered in the individual training modules are designed to help staff address questions, conduct assessments, individually tailor food packages that enable mothers to breastfeed exclusively, and provide support to help mothers meet their breastfeeding goals. The curriculum reinforces the message that staff working within a WIC setting play an important role as part of the family’s circle of care.

Contact: U.S. Food and Nutrition Service, Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants and Children, 3101 Park Center Drive, Room 520, Alexandria, VA 22302, Telephone: (703) 305-2746 Fax: (703_ 305-2196 Web Site: http://www.fns.usda.gov/wic/ Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding support, Professional training, Training materials, WIC program

Annotation: This report about exclusive breastfeeding provides information on what exclusive breastfeeding is, why it is important, and who supports it; discusses U.S. rates and trends; presents three areas of influence that have been identified as presenting obstacles and constraints to exclusive breastfeeding (the health care system and health professionals; social, economic, and political factors; and media and marketing practices); discusses methods for selection of materials for the literature review; and presents findings. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: United States Breastfeeding Committee, 2025 M Street, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 367-1132 Fax: (202) 367-2132 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.usbreastfeeding.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Attitudes, Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding promotion, Economic factors, Health care, Infant health, Mass media, Research, Social factors, Women', s health

Annotation: This annual report provides perspectives on state and national trends in breastfeeding. Topics include breastfeeding rates from the U.S. National Immunization Survey, birth facility support, mother-to-mother support, professional support, infrastructure, and support in child care settings. Each report contains information on what's new since the release of the first report in 2007, as well as information on how states can use the report card to improve breastfeeding rates. State-by-state data tables are included.

Contact: National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.cdc.gov/chronicdisease/index.htm Available from the website.

• Link
• Link

Keywords: Breastfeeding promotion, Hospitals, Legislation, Measures, Parent support services, State programs, Statistical data

Annotation: This document contains guidelines outlining evidence-based assessment and intervention parameters designed to assist health care providers who care for breastfeeding mothers and their infants, women who are considering breast-feeding, or those who are planning to breastfeed. The guidelines provide information to support and guide women during the preconception, prenatal, and postpartum periods. Topics include trends in breastfeeding, the benefits to both infant and mother, breastfeeding promotion, and management and research in breastfeeding, and benefits to vulnerable and preterm infants. References are provided along with a continuing nursing education credit application, post test questions, and a participant evaluation form.

Contact: Association of Women's Health, Obstetric and Neonatal Nurses, 1800 M Street, NW, Suite 740S, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 261-2400 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: https://www.awhonn.org/ Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding promotion, Continuing education, Guidelines, Infant health, Maternal health, Nursing education, Resources for professionals, Trends

Annotation: This fact sheet outlines standards of practice for individuals certified by the International Lactation Consultant Association to assure quality practice and service to clients, families, and other health care professionals. It address four areas: (1) professional responsibilities, (2) legal considerations, (3) clinical practice, and (4) breastfeeding education and counseling.

Contact: International Lactation Consultant Association, 2501 Aerial Center Parkway, Suite 103, Morrisville, NC 27560, Telephone: (919) 861-5577 Fax: (919) 459-2075 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.ilca.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Lactation, Lactation specialists, Nutrition counseling, Professional education, Professional training, Resources for professionals

Annotation: This blueprint, which provides information on the importance of breastfeeding for both mothers and infants, incorporates input from a broad spectrum of community, state, and national stakeholders and experts and is intended to serve as a guide for North Carolina communities, health care systems, professional societies, academic and training programs, workplaces, and child care facilities to support, promote, and protect breastfeeding. The document discusses benefits to and barriers of breastfeeding, provides recommendations, and discusses ways to translate recommendations into action.

Contact: North Carolina Division of Public Health, Nutrition Services Branch, 1914 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-1914, Telephone: (919) 707-5799 Fax: (919) 870-4818 Web Site: http://www.nutritionnc.com Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding promotion, Child health, Infant health, Mothers, North Carolina, State initiatives, Women', Working mothers, s health

Annotation: This report describes the findings of a Congressionally requested study to review the potential impact of infant formula marketing on breastfeeding rates, especially for infants in the WIC (Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants, and Children) program. Topics include an estimate of breastfeeding rates for infants in the general population and for infants on WIC, and how these rates compare to recommended breastfeeding rates; how infant formula is marketed to women in general and to women on WIC in particular; and what is known about the impact of infant formula marketing. Topics also include the benefits of breastfeeding, WIC and infant formula, efforts to limit formula advertising, breastfeeding trends, and formula marketing and the use of WIC trademarks. Conclusions and an agency recommendation are provided along with appendices on advertising data and a literature review.

Contact: U.S. Government Accountability Office, 441 G Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20548, Telephone: (202) 512-3000 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.gao.gov Available at no charge; also available from the website. Document Number: GAO-06-282.

• PDF

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Infant feeding, Infant formula, Infant nutrition, Marketing, WIC program

Annotation: This paper provides model hospital hospital recommendations for providing breastfeeding support to new mothers. The paper includes a list of ten policy recommendations that are designed to give basic information and guidance to perinatal professionals who wish to revise policies that affect breastfeeding mothers. Following the list is an expanded explanation of each recommendation, including information on intervention and management, rationales, and references.

Contact: California Department of Public Health, Maternal, Child and Adolescent Health Program, MS 8305, P.O. Box 997420, Sacramento, CA 95899-7420, Telephone: (866) 241-0395 Fax: (916) 650-0305 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.cdph.ca.gov/programs/MCAH/Pages/default.aspx Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Breastfeeding promotion, Guidelines, Hospitals, Infant health, Newborns, Nutrition policy

Annotation: This guide provides state and local community members with information to help them choose a breastfeeding intervention that best meets their needs. Included in the guide are all types of breastfeeding interventions that have been received by the Cochrane Collaboration and published through the Cochrane Library. The chapters in the guide are divided into two sections based on evidence for effectiveness. In the first section, the evidence is significant; in the second, it is limited. Section 1 includes the following categories: (1) maternity care practices, support for breastfeeding in the workplace, (3) peer support, (4) educating mothers, (5) professional support, and (6) media and social marketing. Section 2 includes the following categories:(1) countermarketing and the WHO International Code, (2) professional education, (3) public acceptance, and (4) hotlines and other information resources. A list of references is included. The guide includes two appendices: (1) expert panel and (2) glossary.

Contact: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30329-4027, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 Secondary Telephone: (888) 232-6348 E-mail: https://www.cdc.gov/cdc-info/forms/contact-us.html Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding promotion, Breastfeeding promotion programs, Education, Evidence based medicine, Hotlines, Interventions, Literature reviews, Marketing, Peer support programs, Working mothers

Annotation: This report summarizes federal laws enacted concerning breastfeeding, including breastfeeding promotion and breastfeeding in federal buildings and on federal property, and briefly examines current legislative proposals concerning breastfeeding. Proposed legislation introduced in the 108th and 109th Congresses is reviewed. The report includes footnotes.

Contact: Library of Congress, Congressional Research Service, 101 Independence Avenue, S.E., Washington, DC 20540-7500, Fax: Web Site: http://www.loc.gov/crsinfo Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Federal legislation

Annotation: This paper lists and analyzes state legislation that protects, promotes, and supports breastfeeding. Part 1 discusses state breastfeeding legislation. Part 2 discusses state maternity leave legislation. The paper includes appendices: a state-by-state list of enacted breastfeeding legislation (summarized), a state-by-state list of enacted breastfeeding legislation (by category), and a table showing an analysis of legislation broken down by category.

Contact: United States Breastfeeding Committee, 2025 M Street, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 367-1132 Fax: (202) 367-2132 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://www.usbreastfeeding.org Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding promotion, Parental leave, State legislation

Annotation: This paper uses data from the Fragile Families and Child Wellbeing Study to test the hypothesis that (1) the Hispanic paradox extends to breastfeeding and (2) acculturation accounts for part of the paradox. The Hispanic paradox refers to the fact that Hispanics, especially recent immigrants, have remarkably good health outcomes given their low socioeconomic status and other classic risk factors. The paper provides background; discusses the data, variables, and methods; and includes results and a discussion. Statistical information is presented in tables and figures at the end of paper. The paper includes one appendix: results of pooled-sample logistic regression analyses predicting breastfeeding. References and footnotes are included.

Contact: Princeton University, Bendheim-Thoman Center for Research on Child Wellbeing, Wallace Hall, Princeton, NJ 08544, Telephone: (609) 258-5894 Fax: (609) 258-5804 E-mail: [email protected] Web Site: http://crcw.princeton.edu Available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Acculturation, Breastfeeding, Child health, Cultural factors, Economic factors, Families, Health behavior, Hispanic Americans, Immigrants, Low income groups, Racial factors, Risk factors

Annotation: This report summarizes the various state laws concerning breastfeeding and briefly examines current legislative proposals concerning breastfeeding. The report includes a section for each state; each law is cited and is followed by a brief summary of its provisions. A comparative chart of existing state breastfeeding legislation is also included. The report includes footnotes.

Contact: Library of Congress, Congressional Research Service, 101 Independence Avenue, S.E., Washington, DC 20540-7500, Fax: Web Site: http://www.loc.gov/crsinfo Available at no charge; also available from the website.

• PDF

Keywords: Breastfeeding, State legislation

Annotation: This Web site hosts text, links, and multimedia resources on breastfeeding benefits, methods, myths and facts, as well as breastfeeding advocacy materials, materials for fathers, and links to similar organizations. Materials include brochures for families, a rap DVD and other videos available for purchase, and free videos and materials from the WIC program.

Contact: California Department of Public Health, Sacramento, CA Telephone: (916) 558-1784 Web Site: http://www.cdph.ca.gov Available from the website.

• Link

Keywords: Advocacy, Audiovisual materials, Blacks, Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding promotion programs, Consumer education materials, Infant nutrition, Infants, Information networks, Multimedia