Skip Navigation

Strengthening the evidence for maternal and child health programs

AIM Partners: Products Developed by the National Association of County and City Health Officials (NACCHO) Bibliography

AIM Partners: Products Developed by the National Association of County and City Health Officials (NACCHO)

Bibliography of Materials from MCHLine®

This bibliography of 54 items is drawn from MCHLine®, the MCH Digital Library online catalog. It includes selected materials published in the last ten years that discuss guidelines and standards of care for children with special health care needs.

The MCH Digital Library focuses on publications from federal and state agencies, from grantees of federal and state agencies, and from professional and voluntary organizations. It contains unique materials on the history of maternal and child health in the United States, policy papers, reports, conference proceedings, manuals, survey instruments, guidelines, and curricula. The library does not collect materials on clinical medicine. Consumer health materials and commercially published materials are collected very selectively.

Displaying 54 records.

National Association of County and City Health Officials. 2016. Crosswalk between public health accreditation and health impact assessment. Washington, DC: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 5 pp.

Annotation: This document describes how health impact assessment (HIA) can be used as a tool for local health departments to promote community health improvement while contributing to documentation that demonstrates conformity to the Public Health Accreditation Board's (PHAB) Standards and Measures. Contents include background on HIA and accreditation and a crosswalk between PHAB standards and measures and HIA projects by domain. Examples of health data summaries, committee minutes, dated distribution lists, attendance logs, brochures, flyers, website screen prints, news releases, posters, and policies that can be used during the accreditation process are included.

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: info@naccho.org Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Accreditation, Assessment, City health agencies, County health agencies, Data collection, Health promotion, Measures, Program improvement, Public health agencies, Public health programs, Standards

National Association of County and City Health Officials, National Center for Minority Health and Health Disparities, and the National Institutes of Health. 2016. Roots of health inequity: A web-based course for the public health workforce. Washington, DC: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1 v.

Annotation: This course provides an online learning environment for local public health department staff and others to explore the root causes of inequity in the distribution of disease, illness, and death. Contents include concepts and strategies to address systemic differences in health and wellness that are actionable, unfair, and unjust. Topics include strategically changing organizational culture, engaging community members, and negotiating with political pressures; how values, assumptions, and interests influence public health practice; history and the role of public health and public health practitioners; the root causes of health inequities; and the principles of social justice.

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: info@naccho.org Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Barriers, Continuing education, Cultural competence, Equal opportunities, Public health infrastructure, Work force

National Association of County and City Health Officials. 2015. Adaptive leadership and public health. Washington, DC: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1 video (5 min., 25 sec.).

Annotation: This video examines adaptive leadership as a practical framework for leading consequential change in the midst of significant market and sociopolitical transformation. Topics include how local health officials and their staff are exploring innovative partnerships with other agencies in health care and beyond and identifying new ways of operating within and influencing the economic and social conditions of the health system.

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: info@naccho.org Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Barriers, Community action, Health care reform, Health systems agencies, Leadership, Local health agencies, Organizational change, Policy development, Political systems, Public private partnerships, Social conditions, Socioeconomic factors, Systems development, Transitions

Juliano C, ed. 2015. Big cities health inventory. Washington, DC: National Association of County and City Health Officials, Big Cities Health Coalition, 129 pp.

Annotation: This report provides a snapshot of the health of people living in dense, urban areas in the United States, how successfully they are addressing key health problems, and the challenges they face. Contents include information about the selection of cities and indicators, key themes, data limitations, city-by-city tables, case studies, and recommendations.

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: info@naccho.org Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Barriers, Case studies, Cities, Data sources, Health status, Health status disparities, Healthy People 2020, Public health infrastructure, Systems development

National Association of County and City Health Officials. 2015. Building an ethics infrastructure in local health departments. Washington, DC: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 2 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet for accreditation coordinators and local health department (LHD) practitioners outlines steps to advance public health ethics at LHDs. Topics include why it's important to understand and promote public health ethics, considerations for establishing an ethics committee, and Public Health Accreditation Board ethics requirements.

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: info@naccho.org Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Accreditation, City health agencies, County health agencies, Ethics, Local government, Policy development, Public health infrastructure

Romney S. 2015. EPSDT guide for Triple P practitioners. Washington, DC: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 25 pp.

Annotation: This guide introduces the basic elements of Early Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment (EPSDT) service provision and claiming to practitioners of the Positive Parenting Program (Triple P), a multi-level evidence-based parent training program that is uniquely suited to addressing child behavioral health concerns at the population level and is intended to be implemented as a public health intervention. The guide provides an overview of Medicaid, EPSDT, and Triple P and describes how Triple P goals align with EPSDT, how Triple P activities fit into EPSDT service provision, and how to document Triple P services for EPSDT claiming. Documentation examples are included. A companion billing crosswalk is also available.

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: info@naccho.org Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Children, EPSDT, Health services delivery, Low income groups, Medicaid, Mental health, Model programs, Parent education programs, Preventive health services, Public health programs, Reimbursement, Resources for professionals

National Association of County and City Health Officials. 2015. Guide to HPV resources for local health departments. Washington, DC: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 12 pp.

Annotation: This guide describes educational and communication tools that can be adapted for human papillomavirus vaccination (HPV) campaigns in local health departments and used in HPV project planning. Contents include brochures, continuing education webinars, fact sheets, guidance documents, infographics, letters and opinions, public service announcements, toolkits, video and audio communications, and websites. The guide includes resources for health care professionals to learn about HPV, the benefits of HPV vaccination, tips for talking to parents and adolescents, and strategies to increase vaccination rates. Resources to increase parents' and adolescents' awareness and knowledge about the HPV vaccine and HPV-related cancers are also included.

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: info@naccho.org Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, City health agencies, Communication, County health agencies, Human papillomavirus, Preventive health services, Program planning, Public awareness campaigns, Public health education, Resources for professionals, Vaccines, Young adults

Newman S, Leep C, Ye J, Robin N. 2015. The changing public health landscape: Findings from the 2015 Forces of Change Survey. Washington, DC: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 65 pp.

Annotation: This report presents findings from a survey of local health departments (LHDs) to assess the impact of forces that are affecting change in LHDs including health reform and billing for services. Topics include background and survey methods, budget cuts and job losses, changes in services, billing for clinical services, collaboration with non-profit hospitals, collaboration with primary care providers, and workforce skills.

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: info@naccho.org Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: City health agencies, Collaboration, County health agencies, Educational change, Health care reform, National surveys, Organizational change, Primary care, Reimbursement, Work force

Romney S. 2015. Triple P/EPSDT billing crosswalk. Washington, DC: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 16 pp.

Annotation: This document is designed to assist practitioners in claiming Positive Parenting Program (Triple P) services under the Early Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment (EPSDT) benefit program. Contents include a session-by-session crosswalk between all of the claimable levels of Triple P and the appropriate Medicaid billing codes. It is intended to be used in conjunction with the EPSDT Guide for Triple P Practitioners.

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: info@naccho.org Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Children, EPSDT, Health services delivery, Low income groups, Medicaid, Mental health, Model programs, Parent education programs, Preventive health services, Public health programs, Reimbursement, Resources for professionals

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and National Association of County and City Health Officials. 2014. Building a formal ethics infrastructure at local health departments. Washington, DC: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 14 pp.

Annotation: This report outlines six recommendations for how local health departments should create infrastructure to address ethical issues that arise in public health practice. The appendices contain an in-depth summary of the process used to the develop the recommendations and examples of formal ethics infrastructures.

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: info@naccho.org Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: City health agencies, County health agencies, Ethics, Local government, Policy development, Public health infrastructure

National Association of County and City Health Officials . 2014. Capacity of local health departments to track, administer, and promote seasonal influenza vaccination for pregnant women, children with special health care needs, and adults with disabilities. Washington, DC: National Association of County and City Health Officials , 8 pp.

Annotation: This research brief highlights the extent to which local health departments (LHDs) provide and have the capacity to track, administer, and promote influenza (flu) vaccination for pregnant women, children with special health care needs, and adults with disabilities. Contents include data on the percentage of LHDs providing adult and child immunizations for the period 2005-2013 and findings from key informant interviews on seasonal flu vaccination rates, administering and promoting vaccinations, and partnerships. Reimbursement issues; the emergence of retail pharmacies in the immunization market; strategies used to promote flu vaccination; and opportunities, challenges, and recommendations are also discussed.

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: info@naccho.org Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents with special health care needs, Adults, Children with special health care needs, Disabilities, Health agencies, Influenza, Local government, Pregnant women, Prevention services, Public health infrastructure, Vaccines

National Association of County and City Health Officials . 2014. Compendium of NACCHO policy recommendations. Washington, DC: National Association of County and City Health Officials , 124 pp.

Annotation: This compendium contains the National Association of City and County Health Officials' policy recommendations. Topics include chronic and infectious disease prevention, environmental health, health equity and social justice, public health preparedness, access to care, and raising the visibility of local health departments in the community.

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: info@naccho.org Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: City health agencies, County health agencies, Health policy, Professional societies

Kemmerer C, Runnels L, Calondra T, Snebold L. 2014. Conversations with local health departments: Parenting education and skills-building program implementation capacity. Washington, DC: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 10 pp. (Research brief)

Annotation: This research brief describes local health department (LHDs) readiness and workforce capacity and identifies opportunities and challenges related to supporting and implementing parenting education and skills-building programs, specifically Legacy for Children. Contents include information about the 2012 Maternal, Child, and Adolescent Health Survey, focus groups, and results. Topics include community needs assessment and intervention fit, stakeholder engagement, planning and assessment, workforce development and support, monitoring and evaluation, and sustainability. Discussion, implications, and recommendations are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: info@naccho.org Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available from the website. Document Number: NA581PDF.

Keywords: City health agencies, County health agencies, MCH research, Model programs, National surveys, Parenting education, State programs

Prentice B. 2014. Expanding the boundaries: Health equity and public health practice. Washington, DC: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 64 pp.

Annotation: This book focuses on how the prospects for health and well-being are influenced by social inequalities. Contents include an overview of the early history of public health and how some of the greatest achievements prefigure a contemporary health equity practice; the root causes of health inequities including class, racism, and gender inequity and heterosexism; profiles of health equity practice; elements of health equity practice that have emerged from the work of state and local health departments across the United States; and reflections on a future health equity practice.

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: info@naccho.org Web Site: http://www.naccho.org $9.95 members; $19.95 nonmembers. Document Number: NA614.

Keywords: Civil rights, Equal opportunities, Gender discrimination, Public health agencies, Racial discrimination, Sexism, Social discrimination

National Association of County and City Health Officials. 2014. Maternal, child, and adolescent health (MCAH) champions: The local MCAH capacity building project experience. Washington, DC: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 8 pp.

Annotation: This report describes a multi-year demonstration project to build local health department's (LHD's) technical knowledge and leadership abilities for maternal and child health through blended learning techniques including in-person capacity building trainings and virtual coaching, networking, and peer-to-peer sharing. Contents include information about the project framework and outcomes, participating LHDs, lessons learned, and recommendations for future capacity building projects is included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: info@naccho.org Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: City health agencies, County health agencies, Leadership, Local MCH programs, MCH training, Networking, Organizational change, Peer education, Public health infrastructure, Technical assistance, Work force

National Association of County and City Health Officials. 2014. Staying resilient in hard times: Local programs and services for women, children, youth, and families. Washington, DC: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 8 pp. (Research brief)

Annotation: This research brief presents findings from a survey to determine local health department (LHD) best practices for preserving services and programs to meet the needs of pregnant women, infants, children, and adolescents in light of economic downturn and changing health care system landscape. The brief focuses on the constellation of programs and services provided by LHDs and the overlap of those programs and services with health care services covered as essential benefits under the Affordable Care Act. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: info@naccho.org Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: City health agencies, County health agencies, Health care reform, Health services delivery, MCH research, Model programs, National surveys, Organizational change, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act

National Association of County and City Health Officials, Division of the Civilian Volunteer Medical Reserve Corps. 2014. Stronger together: A national network of volunteers--The 2013 network profile of the Medical Reserve Corps. Washington, DC: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 39 pp.

National Association of County and City Health Officials . 2013. Staying resilient in hard times: Local collaboration for women, children, youth and families . Washington, DC: National Association of County and City Health Officials , 8 pp.

Annotation: This research brief presents findings from the Maternal, Child, and Adolescent Health 2012 Survey, which was conducted as part of a larger research project to determine local health department best practices for implementing services and programs that meet the needs of pregnant women, infants, children, and adolescents in light of the economic downturn and a changing health care system landscape. The brief presents the landscape of existing and potential maternal, child, and adolescent health (MCAH) partners in local jurisdictions, with the goal of providing insight into the extent to which MCAH staff collaborate with partners and their interest in maintaining or expanding these collaborations. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: info@naccho.org Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: City health agencies, Collaboration, County health agencies, Health care reform, MCH research, Model programs, National surveys, Public private partnerships

National Association of County and City Health Officials. 2012. Roadmap to a culture of quality improvement: A guide to leadership and success in local health departments. Washington, DC: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 16 pp.

Annotation: This document provides guidance to local health departments (LHDs) on progressing through six phases or levels of quality improvement (QI) integration until a culture of QI has been reached and can be sustained. For each phase, the document presents common organizational characteristics and incremental strategies for transitioning to the next stage. The document also describes six foundational elements of a QI culture that LHDs should cultivate over time.

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: https://www.ncemch.org

Keywords: City health agencies, County health agencies, Evolution, Leadership, Learning, Local government, Organizational change, Outcome and process assessment, Program improvement, Public health infrastructure, Quality assurance, Sustainability, Systems development, Transitions

National Association for County and City Health Officials. 2011. Local public health workforce benchmarks. Washington, DC: National Association of County and City Health Officials , 49 pp.

Annotation: This report offers a blueprint for the development of benchmarks to assist local health departments in meeting current staffing standards and workforce development needs. The report reviews historical and currently available measures of the local public health workforce, which serves as a context for the assessment of local public health factors that may affect staffing and composition. Tables include statistics on occupational categories relevant to local public health departments; trends in the numbers of state and local health department employees in the United States; and numbers of full-time local health department employees based on population served, clinical service characteristics, and other variables. The report includes descriptions of data and information sources that can be useful in developing benchmarks along with examples of potential workforce benchmarks. Recommendations for developing local public health benchmark applications are included.

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: info@naccho.org Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Benchmarking, Local government, Measures, Public health agencies, Staff development, Standards, Work force

National Association of County and City Health Officials and Safe States Alliance. 2011. Standards and indicators for local health department injury and violence prevention programs. Washington, DC: National Association of County and City Health Officials; Atlanta, GA: Safe States Alliance, 17 pp.

Annotation: These standards and indicators describe what would exist in a model local health department injury and violence program. It covers issues of leadership, core competencies, funding, data capacity, organizational plans, community awareness, technical assistance to community stakeholders, use of evidence-informed interventions, evaluation, policy approaches, and partnerships.

Contact: Safe States Alliance, 2200 Century Parkway , Atlanta, GA 30341, Telephone: (770) 690-9000 Fax: (770) 690-8996 E-mail: info@safestates.org Web Site: http://www.safestates.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Injury prevention, Local health departments, Model programs, Standards, Violence prevention

CityMatCH and National Association of County and City Health Officials. 2011. Strengthening your MCH workforce through cultural competency. [Omaha, NE]: CityMatCH; [Washington, DC]: National Association of County and City Health Officials, (Emerging issues in maternal and child health)

Annotation: This webinar, which was held on March 3, 2011, and hosted by the National Association of County and City Health Officials, focused on how to initiate, strengthen, and apply lessons in cultural competence to local maternal and child public health programs, especially home visiting programs. The webinar defines cultural competence, discusses its role in work force development for local public health professionals and barriers to becoming culturally competent, and provides examples of how to apply cultural competence to a work force development opportunity for a home visiting program.

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Work force, Cultural competence, Culturally competent services, Home visiting, Local programs, Public health, Staff development

National Association of County and City Health Officials . 2011. The impact of the economy on maternal, child, and adolescent health programs and services in urban local health departments. Washington, DC: National Association of County and City Health Officials , 8 pp.

Annotation: This brief details findings from a focus group of urban local health department (LHD) staff that explored how the economic recession has impacted maternal, child, and adolescent health programs and services in urban LHDs. The brief also examines what strategies are being used to ensure that programs and services continue, what support is needed in the future, and what messages need to be heard by decision-makers at the state and national levels. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: info@naccho.org Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Assessment, Economic factors, Health agencies, Urban MCH programs

National Association of County and City Health Officials . 2010. A compendium of local heath department home visitation program case studies. Washington, DC: National Association of County and City Health Officials , 69 pp.

Annotation: This compendium highlights local health department (LHD) home visiting programs (HVPs). The compendium comprises eight case studies developed from information obtained in interviews with LHDs. Each program summary includes information about community dynamics; a program description (staffing and training, participants and home visits, tools and resources); evaluation; community partnerships and resource sharing; successes and challenges; recommendations; future plans; and program contact. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: info@naccho.org Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available from the website. Document Number: NA357PDF.

Keywords: Case studies, Community based services, Community coordination, Community programs, Home visiting, Local programs, Program descriptions, Program development, Program improvement, Program planning

CityMatCH and National Association of County and City Health Officials. 2010. Community journeys to reduce infant mortality by addressing racism: Translating learning into action. [Omaha, NE]: CityMatCH; [Washington, DC]: National Association of County and City Health Officials, (Emerging issues in maternal and child health)

Annotation: This April 22, 2010, webinar describes how three national organizations and six communities across the country worked together to translate research and knowledge into action around racism. It details the Infant Mortality and Racism Action Learning Collaborative, a partnership which aims to decrease racial disparities in infant mortality in urban areas. Webinar topics included (1) key differences between health disparities and health equity, (2) processes by which teams can effectively approach and address racism, (3) the role of local and state health departments and other community organizations in reducing infant mortality by addressing racism, and (4) resources for local health departments. Meeting materials are also available from the website.

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Ethnic factors, Infant mortality, MCH research, Prevention services, Racial factors, Risk factors

National Association of County and City Health Officials. [2009]. Maternal, child, and adolescent health toolkit. Washington, DC: National Association of County and City Health Officials,

Annotation: This online toolkit contains downloadable resources highlighting programs and practices to help local health departments with their work related to maternal and child health and adolescent health. The toolkit is divided into the following categories: programs, publications, toolbox, public health advocacy, press room, and membership. Users may also request help (including help finding a tool), bookmark tools, and submit tools.

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: info@naccho.org Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Advocacy, Child health, City agencies, Community agencies, Internet, MCH, Maternal health, Programs, Public health, Resource materials, World Wide Web

CityMatCH and National Association of County and City Health Officials. 2009. Local health department home visitation programs: Improving health outcomes for children and families. Omaha, NE: CityMatCH; Washington, DC: National Association of County and City Health Officials, (Emerging issues in maternal and child health)

Annotation: This webcast, held on June 18, 2009, focuses on local health department home visiting programs, and in particular the nurse family partnership program. The webcast provides information on (1) general components of the partnership, (2) lesson learned from local health department program development and implementation, (3) strategies for continued evaluation and quality improvement, and (4) identifying potential sources of funding for implementing the program. The presenter was Peggy Hill, director of program development for the Nurse-Family Partnership National Service Office. A recording of the conference and PowerPoint slides are available. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Collaboration, Financing, Home visiting, Local MCH programs, Multimedia, Nurses, Programs, Visiting nurses

Ajayi , Ablorth-Odjidja A, Cox E, Phillips C, Toby T. 2009. Meeting the needs of pregnant and parenting teens: Local health department programs and services. Washington, DC: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 18 pp.

Annotation: This report discusses the importance of addressing the needs of pregnant and parenting adolescents in order to improve their heath and life outcomes and those of their children. The report highlights four local health departments that are implementing promising approaches to providing services for these adolescents and are working to prevent the negative consequences often associated with adolescent childbearing and parenting. Recommendations are provided. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: info@naccho.org Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent parents, Adolescent pregnancy, Child health, Health agencies, Local initiatives, Prevention

CityMatCH and National Association of County and City Health Officials. 2009. The impact of positive youth development programs on teen pregnancy prevention. Omaha, NE: CityMatCH; Washington, DC: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1 webcast (72 min.).

Annotation: This 72-minute webinar discusses PYD (Positive Youth Development) and evidenced-based programs that can impact teen pregnancy prevention, and features presentations by invited speakers from Healthy Teen Network, the Center for Disease Control's (CDC) Division of Adolescent Health and the Minnesota Organization on Adolescent Pregnancy Prevention and Parenting. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescent pregnancy, Audiovisual materials, Models, Prevention programs

CItyMatCH and National Association of County and City Health Officials . 2008. Autism spectrum disorders and the role of public health. Washington, DC: National Association of County and City Health Officials ,

Annotation: This archived audio webcast from April 17, 2008 increases awareness of autism spectrum disorders (ASDs) and highlights opportunities for public health professionals to play a role in helping those affected to reach their full potential. Topics include autism spectrum disorders and their impact on children and families; CDC's ongoing surveillance and research in the area of autism spectrum disorders; CDC's "Learn the Signs. Act Early." campaign and related resources; the important roles public health plays in increasing dialogue about important developmental milestones; identifying children at risk for ASDs, and connecting children and families to appropriate early intervention. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: info@naccho.org Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Autism, Child health, Developmental delays, Multimedia, Public awareness campaigns, Public health

National Association of County and City Health Officials. 2008. Building healthier communities: Integrating mental health and public health. Washington, DC: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 44 pp. (Vol. 4)

Annotation: This report summarizes the work of eight local health departments that are taking a public health approach to addressing the mental health needs of their communities. Each case study includes descriptions of the jurisdiction and population served, mental health related programs, collaborations, unique components of the programs, barriers and challenges encountered, successes experienced, and future plans. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: info@naccho.org Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Collaboration, Community programs, Mental health, Public health, Youth

National Association of County and City Health Officials. 2008. Building healthier communities: Local health department and school collaboration for adolescent HIV/STI prevention. Washington, DC: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 30 pp. (Compendium)

Annotation: This compendium contains summaries of 11 school-based adolescent HIV and sexually transmitted disease programs implemented by local health departments in a variety of jurisdictions across the country. Each entry includes demographic information and a summary of the community dynamics, program implementation, program outcomes, lessons learned, and future program plans. Contact information is also provided. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: info@naccho.org Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: , Adolescent health, Adolescent sexuality, Communities, HIV, Prevention programs, School health programs, Sexually transmitted diseases

CityMatCH and National Association of County and City Health Officials . 2008. Internet-based HIV/STI prevention interventions for adolescents. Omaha, NE: CityMatCH; Washington, DC: National Association of City and County Health Officials, (Emerging issues in maternal and child health)

Annotation: This Webcast hosts Powerpoint and audio files from three presentations. The first examines adolescent and youth sexual activity; what types of technology youth and adolescents use, how, and why; how technology is and can be used for STD/HIV prevention. The second examines the validity of four popular public health mindsets: youth will prioritize the sites public health organizations create for them, offline strategies for STD/HIV prevention will work online, youths' risk for HIV/STD is based on their individual characteristics, and "the problem is the lack of the solution that we already have in mind." The third describes various online STD/HIV prevention programs and explores their use. Online use and techniques and their use in a clinic setting are also discussed. A question and answer session follows. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: info@naccho.org Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, HIV, Internet, Multimedia, Prevention programs, STDs, Sexual behavior, Technology, Telecommunications, Youth

CItyMatCH and National Association of County and City Health Officials . 2008. Prevention of tobacco use and secondhand smoke exposure before, during, and after pregnancy. Washington, DC: National Association of County and City Health Officials ,

Annotation: This site provides access to a June 19, 2008 webcast that highlights national, state, and local initiatives that address tobacco use and exposure and the health of MCH populations. Systems level approaches to smoking cessation among pregnant and parenting women, as well as the connection between environmental tobacco smoke and infant health were discussed. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: info@naccho.org Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Child health, Environmental exposure, Infant health, Local initiatives, National initiatives, Passive smoking, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Prevention, Smoking cessation, Smoking during pregnancy, State initiatives, Tobacco use

CityMatCH and National Association of County and City Health Officials . 2007. Improving birth outcomes: Community strategies to address infant mortality. Omaha, NE: CityMatCH; Washington, DC: National Association of County and City Health Officials , (Emerging issues in maternal and child health)

Annotation: This webinar, held on May 24, 2007, provides examples of how local health departments formed relationships with disciplines and systems to develop strategies to eliminate health inequalities in infant mortality. Contents include the webinar goals and objectives and speaker bios and presentations. Topics include background on the history of infant mortality; how various social, institutional, and environmental factors contribute to infant mortality; and examples of local health department involvement in multi-faceted approaches to reducing infant mortality among African American populations. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: info@naccho.org Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Community role, Infant mortality, MCH research, Multimedia, Pregnancy outcome, Public health

Ablorh-Odjidja A, Cox E, Ingoglia JN, Joseph J, Persaud N, Phillips C, Valderama C. 2007. Women's mental health: Local health department strategies in addressing depression among pregnant and parenting women. Washington, DC: National Association of County and City Health Officials , 4 pp. (Issue brief)

Annotation: This issue brief highlights strategies in addressing depression and describes the efforts of three local health departments (LHDs) working to integrate women's mental health activities into existing services. The brief also describes challenges LHDs experience and discusses next steps to undertake to ensure the mental health of the women they serve. The LHDs cited are Lawrence-Douglas County (Kansas), Clinton County (New York), and Jefferson County (Washington). [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: info@naccho.org Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Case studies, Community programs, Local initiatives, Maternal depression, Mental health services, Postpartum depression, Women's health

CityMatCH and National Association of County and City Health Officials . 2006. Are we ready yet?: Integrating MCH into public health preparedness plans. Washington, DC: National Association of County and City Health Officials , (E-MCH conference call series)

Annotation: This Web conference discusses MCH public health emergency response preparedness via presentations by six experts from national and local organizations that describe plans that they have developed and/or executed in response to natural or man-made disasters in their area. Powerpoint presentations accompany some presentations. An audio file of the conference is available. A list of Web sites and a brief description of their contents allows access to resources described in the presentations. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: info@naccho.org Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Disaster planning, Disasters, Emergencies, MCH services, Program descriptions

Hofrichter R, ed. 2006. Tackling health inequities through public health practice: A handbook for action. Washington, DC: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 252 pp.

Annotation: This book, which is intended for local health departments (LHDs), provides ideas and examples for how LHDs can strengthen their ability to influence the root causes of health inequities. The purposes of the book are to (1) provide a conceptual framework, raise questions, and spur thought for exploring the nature and causes of health inequity and what to do about them and (2) offer a knowledge base, resources, case studies, and suggestions that can help reduce inequities. The book is divided into two main parts. Part 1 presents introductory material, and part 2 provides examples of successessful practices across the country. The book includes six appendices that offer exercises, selected resources and references, and articles on such topics as measuring health equity, communications, and how social injustice becomes embodied in differential disease and mortality rates.

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: info@naccho.org Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Case studies, Ethnic factors, Health, Income factors, Local government, Local programs, Low income groups, Public health, Race factors, Social factors

CityMatCH and National Association of County and City Health Officials . 2005. MCH and social justice. Omaha, NE: CityMatCH, (Emerging issues in maternal and child health)

Annotation: This webcast on social justice and maternal and child health (MCH) was held on January 20, 2005. The webcast featured three presenters: (1) Magda Peck, from the Section on Child Health Policy, Dept. of Pediatrics, CityMatCH in Omaha Nebraska, discussed the concept of social justice within the framework of local public health; (2) Wendell Brunner, from Contra Costa Health Services in Contra Costa California, who provides an overview of social justice and MCH, including definitions of key terms and a discussion of health disparities (3) Mary Ostrem, from the Boston Public Health Commission, who discusses social justice and MCH from the perspective of a fetal and infant mortality review (FIMR) program. The complete audio recording, along with all three powerpoint presentations, are available online. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org

Keywords: Community programs, Cultural factors, Ethnic factors, MCH programs, Multimedia, Policy development, Public health, Racial factors, Social discrimination, Social factors

National Association of County and City Health Officials. 2005. Operational definition of a functional local health department. Washington, DC: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 11 pp.

Annotation: This brochure describes the functions of local health departments to assist citizens, residents, and elected officials understand what can reasonably be expected from governmental public health in their communities and how to hold them accountable. The definitions are divided into ten standards and include monitoring health status, protecting people from health problems and hazards, informing the public, engaging the community, developing public health policies and plans, law and regulation enforcement, helping people receive health services, maintaining a competent public health workforce, evaluating and improving programs and interventions, and contributing to and applying the evidence base of public health. A brief list of references is provided.

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: info@naccho.org Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Brochures, City health agencies, Community health services, Consumer education materials, County health agencies, Health policy, Health promotion, Public health, Public health programs

National Association of County and City Health Officials. 2005. Resolution on children's oral health [upd. ed.]. Washington, DC: National Association of County and City Health Officials,

Annotation: This resolution, adopted by the National Association of County and City Health Officials (NACCHO), recognizes the prevalence of tooth decay in U.S. children, the importance of good oral health to overall health, children's readiness to learn, and their future success in employment; the multiple factors that contribute to oral health problems; barriers to care and poor oral health outcomes among children from families with low incomes; and Healthy People 2010 oral health-related objectives. The resolution identifies NACCHO's resolve to promote preventive activities; support initiatives to increase surveillance, access to care, and education in underserved communities; encourage funders to use opportunities to reduce disparities in the oral health status of children; develop greater system capacity to care for populations in need; and support local health department's efforts to increase service use among children eligible for Medicaid.

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: info@naccho.org Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available from the website. Document Number: Res. 00-09.

Keywords: Advocacy, Child health, Children, Oral health

National Association of County and City Health Officials. [2004]. Share what works: NACCHO's model practice database. Washington, DC: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 2 pp.

Annotation: This brochure describes the Model Practice Database, an online, searchable collection of model practices across public health areas including infectious diseases, emergency preparedness, injury prevention, maternal and child health, and information technology, among others. The brochure provides an overview of the database, explains the awards it presents, discusses eligibility requirements for for the 2005 Model Practice Awards, and defines model practices.

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: info@naccho.org Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Awards, Child health, Communicable diseases, Community programs, Databases, Eligibility, Emergencies, Injury prevention, Local MCH programs, Maternal health, Model programs, Public health

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials and National Association of County and City Health Officials. 2003. Health departments take action: Case studies of state and local models addressing racial and ethnic disparities in health. Washington, DC: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, National Association of County and City Health Officials, 26 pp.

Annotation: This document follows up on a previous publication on state and local efforts to reduce disparities in health among racial and ethnic minorities by reporting on focus groups conducted with program leaders and community stakeholders of seven of the programs featured earlier. Participants were interviewed about how their programs were initiated; what priority health issues are being addressed; what key partnerships were formed; what barriers were encountered, overcome, and remain; and what strategies are being employed to promote evaluation and sustainability. The seven focus groups include Collier County (FL) Health Department, Custer (ND) Health District, Los Angeles (CA) County Department of Health, Piedmont (VA) Health District, Rhode Island Department of Health, Spokane (WA) Regional Health District, and Tennessee Department of Health. Each case study includes a brief chart outlining the population, racial and ethnic breakdown, and leading preventable morbidity and mortality disparities. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to care, Case studies, Ethnic factors, Health promotion, Healthy People 2010, Local initiatives, Model programs, Program descriptions, Racial factors, State initiatives, State programs

National Association of County and City Health Officials. 2002. Making strategic decisions about service delivery: An action tool for assessment and transitioning. Washington, DC: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 202 pp.

Annotation: This workbook is designed to assist public health agencies, officials, and other stakeholders in examining changes in the health care environment, making decisions about the service delivery system, and implementing alternative roles and responsibilities while continuing to carry out essential services. Topics include assessments of community, organizational, and individual services; developing a work plan; transitioning models; developing partnerships; funding ideas to support population-based activities; creating political will; workforce development; labor-management cooperation; and contracts monitoring and performance evaluation. The technical assistance resources section provides organizations and resources that can provide assistance or information on the transitioning process, as well as resources on data use, legal issues, federal agencies, managed care, and other areas. Six appendices contain references, focus group summaries, case study interviews, survey responses, and contact lists. Tables and forms to be completed by the reader appear throughout the report.

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: info@naccho.org Web Site: http://www.naccho.org $50.00, plus shipping and handling of $7.95.

Keywords: Collaboration, Health services delivery, Needs assessment, Program evaluation, Public health agencies, Public health services, Strategic plans

Rhein M, Lafronza V, Bhandari E, Hawes J, Hofrichter R. 2001. Advancing community public health systems in the 21st century: Emerging strategies and innovations from the Turning Point experience. Washington, DC: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 105 pp.

Annotation: This report discusses the strategies and achievements of the 41 community and tribal partnerships in Turning Point, a program to transform and strengthen the public health infrastructure to protect and improve public health at the state and community levels. The report begins with an overview of significant issues historically affecting the public's health and presents a case for the need to improve the functioning of public health systems. This overview is followed by a discussion of Turning Point's genesis and then three sections about the initiative's planning phase. The first section describes experiences related to the development of systems improvement partnerships; section two details planning approaches and methodologies; and section three presents cross-cutting themes from the community action plans geared toward improving public health systems. Also included are profiles on each of the Turning Point communities and tribes, as well as a glossary of terms used throughout the document and a list of related literature.

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: info@naccho.org Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available in libraries.

Keywords: Case studies, Community participation, Program descriptions, Program evaluation, Public health infrastructure, Public health services, Quality assurance, Service coordination, Service delivery systems, State programs

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials and National Association of County and City Health Officials. 2001. Health departments take action: A compendium of state and local models addressing racial and ethnic disparities in health. Washington, DC: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, National Association of County and City Health Officials, 102 pp.

Annotation: This compendium for policy makers and program administrators outlines selected state and local initiatives for addressing racial and ethnic disparities in health as outlined in the Healthy People 2010 program. Programs are described under the following topics: chronic disease prevention; other health issues; health professional training; community assessment and development; general health promotion; needs assessment and data capacity; preventive health care; and summary of state and local health disparities programs. Also included is an index of programs by geographic location, and two appendices listing federal and national programs and other resources on health disparities. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available in libraries.

Keywords: Access to care, Ethnic factors, Health promotion, Healthy People 2010, Model programs, Program descriptions, Racial factors, State initiatives, State programs, Violence prevention

Schenck S. 1997. Unintended pregnancy: Finding common ground, moving to action—Summary proceedings of the Unintended Pregnancy Workgroup Meetings. Washington, DC: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 34 pp.

Annotation: This summary report gives information on two workshops held by the National Association of County and City Health Officials in 1996. The purpose of the workshops was to share information about the extent of unintended pregnancies, to identify elements of constructive dialog and methods of communication, to find common ground among a diverse group of representatives of local health officials, and to develop common strategies for community action to reduce unintended pregnancies. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: info@naccho.org Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Contraception, Local health departments, Policy development, Public policy, Unplanned pregnancy

Schenck S, Troccoli K. 1996. Unintended pregnancy: Prevention strategies for local health departments. Washington, DC: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 11 pp.

Annotation: This report discusses the role of local health departments in preventing unintended pregnancies. It was written as a response to "The Best Intentions: Unintended Pregnancy and the Well-Being of Children and Families, " a study produced in 1995 by the Institute of Medicine, Division of Health Promotion and Disease Prevention, Committee on Unintended Pregnancy. This report summarizes the recommendations and elaborates on how local health departments can: (1) improve knowledge about contraception and reproductive health; (2) increase access to contraception; (3) address the roles that feelings, attitudes, and motivation have upon contraception and avoiding unintended pregnancy; (4) develop and evaluate local programs; and (5) stimulate research on developing new contraceptive methods, organizing contraceptive services, and understanding the determinants and antecedents of unintended pregnancies. The draft of this publication was called "The Best Intentions: Unintended Pregnancy and the Well-being of Children and Families—The Role of Local Health Departments. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: info@naccho.org Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Contraception, Local health departments, Policy development, Public policy, Reproductive health, Unplanned pregnancy

Ferebee A, Sanders M. 1994 (ca.). Providing culturally appropriate services: Local health departments and community-based organizations working together. Washington, DC: National Association of County Health Officials, 30 pp.

Annotation: This report describes the development of the Multicultural Health Demonstration Project established by the National Association of County Health Officials. The authors provide an overview of the project, which paired local health departments with community-based organizations that represented Asians, Hispanics, and Pacific Islanders to increase access to health care for these populations. The report describes programs in Honolulu, Hawaii; Howard County, Maryland; and San Luis Obispo County, California. The authors describe leader training workshops held at each site, include program evaluations, offer recommendations for developing future programs, and provide a list of resources.

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: info@naccho.org Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to care, Asians, California, Community organizations, Cultural diversity, Culturally competent services, Ethnic groups, Hawaii, Hispanic Americans, Local health departments, Maryland, Minority groups, Outreach, Pacific Islanders, Program descriptions

National Association of County Health Officials. 1994. Blueprint for a healthy community: A guide for local health departments. Washington, DC: National Association of County Health Officials, 36 pp.

Annotation: This report provides guidelines for local health departments that are trying to ascertain their role in the provision of public health services and ensure that their communities are healthy. The report defines those characteristics common to healthy communities, and outlines specific activities that local health departments can take to ensure the well-being of local citizens. [Funded by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention]

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: info@naccho.org Web Site: http://www.naccho.org $4.95 members, $9.95 nonmembers; also available in libraries.

Keywords: Guidelines, Local health departments, Public health

National Association of County Health Officials. 1994. Women's health information source book. Washington, DC: National Association of County Health Officials, 173 pp.

Annotation: This notebook contains essays, fact sheets, and contact information designed to inform local health officials about issues relating to women's and children's health. Topics covered include: addictive behaviors, adolescent health, advocacy, chronic diseases, cultural issues, infectious diseases, mature women's health, mental health, occupational health, reproductive health, socioeconomic issues, and violence against women. The essays were written by the staff of the National Association of County Health Officials and the fact sheets describe the activities of the U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau and the U.S. Office of Women's Health. It also contains materials about in-service training, information that can be used in advocacy efforts, supplemental materials for clients, and a resource list of national and regional organizations and programs. The materials are being developed on an on-going basis; not all of the topics included have materials available currently. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: info@naccho.org Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available in libraries.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent health promotion, Child health, Child health promotion, Directories, U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, U.S. Office of Women's Health, Women's health, Women's health promotion

American Public Health Association; Association of Schools of Public Health; Association of State and Territorial Health Officials; U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service, Centers for Disease Control; National Association of County Health Officials; and United States Conference of Local Health Officers. 1991. APEXPH: Assessment protocol for excellence in public health. Washington, DC: National Association of County Health Officials, 109 pp.

Annotation: This workbook is designed to help local health departments enhance their organizational capacity and strengthen their leadership role in the community. It guides officials in improving the organizational capacity and in working with the local community to assess and improve the health status of the citizens. The workbook includes instructions and worksheets to be filled out by participants, models for a community health committee, a bibliography, glossary, and other materials. The project is a cooperative project of the American Public Health Association, the Association of Schools of Public Health, the Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, the Centers for Disease Control, the National Association of County Health Officials, and the United States Conference of Local Health Officials.

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: info@naccho.org Web Site: http://www.naccho.org $9.95 members, $19.95 nonmembers.

Keywords: Assessment, Community health services, Community participation, Local programs, Public health agencies

National Association of County and City Health Officials . Model practices. Washington, DC: National Association of County and City Health Officials ,

Annotation: This website provides information about programs, resources, and tools to support effective collaboration between local health departments and their community partners to address local public health concerns. It includes a database containing best practices on maternal and child health and other public health areas. The database can be searched by state, type, year, and category. A step-by-step video on the database review features is included.

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: info@naccho.org Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Collaboration, Databases, Local programs, Model programs, Multimedia, Public health programs

National Association of County and City Health Officials. National profile of local health departments. Washington, DC: National Association of County and City Health Officials, frequency varies. (National profile of local health departments study series)

Annotation: This series presents information from surveys of local health departments (LHDs) in the United States about LHD infrastructure and practice. Topics include governance, funding, workforce, and services and activities. Technical documentation from 1990 to present, including a guide to the data available and the instruments and codebooks, is also available from the website.

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: info@naccho.org Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Financing, Local government, Public health agencies, Public health infrastructure, Surveys, Work force

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.