Skip Navigation

Strengthening the evidence for maternal and child health programs

AIM Partners: Products Developed by Grantmakers for Children, Youth and Families (GCYF) Bibliography

AIM Partners: Products Developed by Grantmakers for Children, Youth and Families (GCYF)

Bibliography of Materials from MCHLine®

This bibliography of 16 items is drawn from MCHLine®, the MCH Digital Library online catalog. It includes selected materials published in the last ten years that discuss guidelines and standards of care for children with special health care needs.

The MCH Digital Library focuses on publications from federal and state agencies, from grantees of federal and state agencies, and from professional and voluntary organizations. It contains unique materials on the history of maternal and child health in the United States, policy papers, reports, conference proceedings, manuals, survey instruments, guidelines, and curricula. The library does not collect materials on clinical medicine. Consumer health materials and commercially published materials are collected very selectively.

Displaying 16 records.

Grantmakers for Children, Youth, and Families. 2009. Abriendo puertas: A parent leadership training program for Latino parents. Silver Spring, MD: Grantmakers for Children, Youth, and Families, (Conference call series)

Annotation: This conference call focused on the Abriendo Puertas/Opening Doors program, the nation's first evidence-based parent leadership program for Latino parents with children from birth through age 5. The program aims to improve the outcomes of these children by building parents' capacity and confidence to be advocates in their children's lives. Presenters include Maria A Casillas of Families in Schools, Sandra Guttierez of Abriendo Puertas/Opening Doors, and Margaret Bridges of the University of California, Berkeley. The Web site for this call provides a brochure, a summary of the program evaluation, speaker biographies, a summary of the call, and audio recordings of each speaker's remarks as well as the introduction and question and answer session.

Contact: Grantmakers for Children, Youth and Families, 12138 Central Avenue, Suite 422, Mitchellville, MD 20721, Telephone: (301) 589-4293 Fax: (301) 589-4289 E-mail: info@gcyf.org Web Site: http://www.gcyf.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Child advocacy, Early childhood development, Infants, Families, Hispanic Americans, Infant development, Leadership, Multimedia, Parent child relations, Parent education, Parenting skills, Young children

Grantmakers for Children, Youth, and Families. 2009. Missing opportunities in adolescent health. Silver Spring, MD: Grantmakers for Children, Youth, and Families, (Conference call series)

Annotation: This webinar, held on June 2, 2009, summarized the findings and recommendations included in the Institute of Medicine's 2008 report, Adolescent Health Services: Missing Opportunities, which explores adolescent health in the United States. The webinar presented concerns unique to the period of adolescence, a framework for assessing the quality of health services for adolescents, current adolescent health services and financing strategies and the extent to which available health services provide quality health support, and recommendations on ways in which the system of health services for adolescents can and should be improved. Speakers include Robert S. Lawrence, MD, Bloomberg School of Public Health, Johns Hopkins University; Linda Bearinger, Ph.D., School of Nursing, University of Minnesota; Shay Bilchik, JD, Director, Center for Juvenile Justice, Reform and System Integration, Georgetown University; and Charles E. Irwin, Jr., M.D., School of Medicine, University of California, San Francisco.

Contact: Grantmakers for Children, Youth and Families, 12138 Central Avenue, Suite 422, Mitchellville, MD 20721, Telephone: (301) 589-4293 Fax: (301) 589-4289 E-mail: info@gcyf.org Web Site: http://www.gcyf.org Summary available from the web; Access to webinar $35.

Keywords: Access to health care, Adolescent health, Financing, Health care systems, Health services

Grantmakers for Children, Youth, and Families. [2008]. The rearview mirror and the road ahead: Child, youth, and family philanthropy and federal policy, 1992-2008. Silver Spring, MD: Grantmakers for Children, Youth, and Families, 24 pp.

Annotation: This report tracks some changes that have occurred within the areas of philanthropy and federal policy and among vulnerable populations since the 1992 publication of the Grantmakers for Children, Youth, and Families report, Vulnerable Children and Families: Philanthropic Perspectives on New Collaborations: A Memorandum to President-Elect Clinton and the New Administration. The current report also identifies new challenges and opportunities for philanthropy in 2009 and beyond. Topics include President Cllnton's and President Bush's domestic policies, persistence in poverty and growing gaps in income and wealth, brain development and early childhood, results measurement and outcome-based accountability,adolescdent-development and place-based initiatives, investing in communication and evidence-based advocacy, the road ahead, opportunities and challenges, and the range of approaches to policy and advocacy. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Grantmakers for Children, Youth and Families, 12138 Central Avenue, Suite 422, Mitchellville, MD 20721, Telephone: (301) 589-4293 Fax: (301) 589-4289 E-mail: info@gcyf.org Web Site: http://www.gcyf.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescents, Advocacy, Child development, Children, Early childhood development, Families, Income factors, Initiatives, Poverty, Public policy, Vulnerability

Grantmakers for Children, Youth and Families. 2008. Applying a life course perspective to children, youth and families. [Silver Spring, MD]: Grantmakers for Children, Youth and Families, (Learning summits)

Annotation: This website contains three files archiving a meeting held July 16, 2008 to explore the life course development framework and its implications for grantmaking to improve the lives of children, youth, and families at the Colorado Trust in Denver. A summary of a presentation is provided along with links to related reading sources, as well as the meeting agenda.

Contact: Grantmakers for Children, Youth and Families, 12138 Central Avenue, Suite 422, Mitchellville, MD 20721, Telephone: (301) 589-4293 Fax: (301) 589-4289 E-mail: info@gcyf.org Web Site: http://www.gcyf.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Families, Human development, Life course, Life cycle, Meetings, Models, Public private partnerships

Grantmakers for Children, Youth, and Families. 2008. Funding for sustainable change: Linking research, practice, and policy. Silver Spring, MD: Grantmakers for Children, Youth, and Families, 43 pp.

Annotation: This program provides information about the Grantmakers for Children,Youth & Families (GCYF) conference, Funding for Sustainable Change: Linking Research, Practice & Policy, held on October 15-17, 2008, in Chicago, IL. The program lists conference planning committee members, provides information about GCYF, presents a conference schedule and conference highlights, describes conference sessions, presents speaker biographies, and lists board of directors members and exhibitors. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Grantmakers for Children, Youth and Families, 12138 Central Avenue, Suite 422, Mitchellville, MD 20721, Telephone: (301) 589-4293 Fax: (301) 589-4289 E-mail: info@gcyf.org Web Site: http://www.gcyf.org Available from the website.

Keywords: ' Adolescent development, Adolescent, Child development, Children, Communities, Conference proceedings, Early childhood development, Early childhood education, Education, Families, Family support, Financing, Initiatives, Low income groups, Mental health, Programs, Public policy, Service delivery systems, Social services, Vulnerability

Grantmakers for Children, Youth, and Families. 2008. Setting the policy table: The role of children, youth, and family grantmakers in public policy. Insight: A Review of Current GCYF Topics and Issues. 1-23. Spring 2008,

Annotation: This issue examines the role of philanthropy in public policy and a range of strategies foundations have used to advance public policies that support the needs of children and families. Lessons learned and best practices illustrate the benefits of engaging in public policy work.

Contact: Grantmakers for Children, Youth and Families, 12138 Central Avenue, Suite 422, Mitchellville, MD 20721, Telephone: (301) 589-4293 Fax: (301) 589-4289 E-mail: info@gcyf.org Web Site: http://www.gcyf.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Children, Families, Model programs, Philanthropy, Program coordination, Public policy

Grantmakers for Children, Youth, and Families. 2007. Positive pathways: Strength based approaches to youth development. Insight: A Review of Current GCYF Topics and Issues. 1-37. Fall 2007,

Annotation: This issue discusses what is required to improve outcomes for youth through strength based approaches that engage youth. This issue offers a view of the challenges that youth service providers face and the successes some have had in addressing the unique needs of youth, and offers a look at recommendations on how grantmakers can renew their commitment to and focus on older youth. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Grantmakers for Children, Youth and Families, 12138 Central Avenue, Suite 422, Mitchellville, MD 20721, Telephone: (301) 589-4293 Fax: (301) 589-4289 E-mail: info@gcyf.org Web Site: http://www.gcyf.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Youth services, Adolescent development, Adolescent health, Collaboration, Health services, State programs, Underserved communities, Youth development

Grantmakers for Children, Youth, and Families. 2007. The power of partnership: Building capacity, creating opportunities—22nd annual conference. Silver Spring, MD: Grantmakers for Children, Youth, and Families, 3 items.

Annotation: This conference program provides information about the 2007 Grantmakers for Children, Youth & Families annual conference, The Power of Partnership: Building Capacity, Creating Opportunities, held on September 26-27, 2007, in Atlanta, GA. The program provides information about the conference planning team, includes a conference schedule and conference highlights, and presents information about sessions. A list of board of director members and an exhibitor listing are included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Grantmakers for Children, Youth and Families, 12138 Central Avenue, Suite 422, Mitchellville, MD 20721, Telephone: (301) 589-4293 Fax: (301) 589-4289 E-mail: info@gcyf.org Web Site: http://www.gcyf.org Available from the website.

Keywords: , Academic achievement, Adolescent development, Child development, Collaboration, Communities, Conference proceedings, Early childhood development, Early childhood education, Economic factors, Education, Family support, School readiness

Grantmakers for Children, Youth, and Families. 2006. Building constitutencies in diverse communities: Lessons from a learning journey. Insight: A Review of Current GCYF Topics and Issues. 1-38. Summer 2006,

Annotation: This issue describes factors involved in effective grantmaking strategies for working in diverse communities including: changing demographics, disparities, and the limitations of traditional grantmaking models. It analyzes the contextual dynamics through which the work of building constituencies in diverse communities takes place through three lenses: structural racism, racial equality, and inclusionary grantmaking. The issue discusses three work arenas in which the work of building constituencies takes place: internal practices, community engagement, and capacity building.

Contact: Grantmakers for Children, Youth and Families, 12138 Central Avenue, Suite 422, Mitchellville, MD 20721, Telephone: (301) 589-4293 Fax: (301) 589-4289 E-mail: info@gcyf.org Web Site: http://www.gcyf.org Available for members only.

Keywords: Foundations, Grants, Guidelines, Minority groups, Nonprofit organizations, Racism, Underserved communities

Grantmakers for Children, Youth, and Families. 2006. Building the case for increased public investment in early childhood education. Insight: A Review of Current GCYF Topics and Issues. 1-38. Winter 2005/2006,

Annotation: This issue examines how to build the case for increased public investment in early childhood education. It highlights the work of various foundations and explores a range of strategies grantmakers might use to communicate the benefits of increased investment in early childhood with key stake holders including business leaders, foundation trustees, public officials, and community leaders. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Grantmakers for Children, Youth and Families, 12138 Central Avenue, Suite 422, Mitchellville, MD 20721, Telephone: (301) 589-4293 Fax: (301) 589-4289 E-mail: info@gcyf.org Web Site: http://www.gcyf.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Collaboration, Cost effectiveness, Early childhood development, Early childhood education, Grants, Philanthropy

Grantmakers for Children, Youth, and Families. 2006. Forging partnerships in culturally diverse communities. Insight: A Review of Current GCYF Topics and Issues. 1-38. Winter 2006/2007,

Annotation: This issue explore opportunities for collaboration between philanthropy and national African-American and Latino led organizations to address critical health issues affecting African-American and Latino children and families. It reveals trends in foundation giving as well as the context of philanthropy in communities of color, and draws on lessons and expertise of the oldest African-American and Latino civic and fraternal organizations. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Grantmakers for Children, Youth and Families, 12138 Central Avenue, Suite 422, Mitchellville, MD 20721, Telephone: (301) 589-4293 Fax: (301) 589-4289 E-mail: info@gcyf.org Web Site: http://www.gcyf.org requires membership to access full document.

Keywords: Blacks, Community organizations, Grants, Hispanic Americans, Minority health, National organizations, Philanthropy, Underserved communities

Grantmakers for Children, Youth, and Families. 2006. Healthy communities: Strengthening prospects for the well-being of children, youth, and families. Grantmakers for Children, Youth, and Families,

Annotation: This website provides information about a forum held on September 24-27, 2005, in Los Angeles, CA to explore the array of programs and policies necessary to strengthen prospects for children, adolescents, and families to acheive optimal physical, emotional, social, and economic health. Contents include the conference program and lists of confererence sponsors and exhibitors. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Grantmakers for Children, Youth and Families, 12138 Central Avenue, Suite 422, Mitchellville, MD 20721, Telephone: (301) 589-4293 Fax: (301) 589-4289 E-mail: info@gcyf.org Web Site: http://www.gcyf.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Child health, Communities, Conference proceedings, Families

Grantmakers for Children, Youth, and Families. 2006. Systems building and change: Engaging public partners and decision makers to improve early childhood outcomes. Insight: A Review of Current GCYF Topics and Issues. 1-38. Fall 2006,

Annotation: This issue discusses the importance of public partnerships with philanthropy for early childhood development, providing theoretical thinking and real-life profiles of partnerships engaging public programs and grantmakers to build stronger early childhood systems, and create long term systemic change. Articles and profiles provide a snapshot of partnerships at the state and local level, between grantmakers, as well as between grantmakers and early childhood initiatives with state Maternal and Child Health programs. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Grantmakers for Children, Youth and Families, 12138 Central Avenue, Suite 422, Mitchellville, MD 20721, Telephone: (301) 589-4293 Fax: (301) 589-4289 E-mail: info@gcyf.org Web Site: http://www.gcyf.org requires membership to access.

Keywords: Early childhood development, Local initiatives, Model programs, Program descriptions, Service delivery systems, State MCH programs, Young children

Grantmakers for Children, Youth, and Families. 2005. Crossing the great divide: Creating communities for all ages. Silver Spring, MD: Grantmakers for Children, Youth, and Families, 23 pp.

Annotation: This summary is from the conference held September 26-28, 2005 in Denver, CO focusing on socio-economic, racial, gender, educational, and immigration issues that divide our communities and affect children, youth, and families. Topics include new and emerging grantmaking strategies for bridging gaps, cross-cutting issues, youth development, family support, and early childhood issues. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Grantmakers for Children, Youth and Families, 12138 Central Avenue, Suite 422, Mitchellville, MD 20721, Telephone: (301) 589-4293 Fax: (301) 589-4289 E-mail: info@gcyf.org Web Site: http://www.gcyf.org Available from the website.

Keywords: , Community action, Community based services, Early childhood development, Family support, Racial factors, Social services, Socioeconomic factors, Youth development

Grantmakers for Children, Youth, and Families. From risk to opportunity: Philanthropy's role in bringing children of the incarcerated "Into the circle". Insight: A Review of Current GCYF Topics and Issues. Winter 2009,

Annotation: This issue provides a synthesis of the information from three 2008 learning summits and documents the experiences of nine foundations that have varying levels of investment in work on children of the incarcerated. Topics include what foundations can do, uniting generations and program areas around children with incarcerated parents, a case study in Pittsburgh, a statewide program in Vermont, developing collaborations, and engaging incarcerated fathers of children in foster care.

Contact: Grantmakers for Children, Youth and Families, 12138 Central Avenue, Suite 422, Mitchellville, MD 20721, Telephone: (301) 589-4293 Fax: (301) 589-4289 E-mail: info@gcyf.org Web Site: http://www.gcyf.org Contact for cost information.

Keywords: Children, Corrections, Incarcerated women

Grantmakers for Children, Youth, and Families. Improving opportunity paths for boys of color. Insight: A Review of Current GCYF Topics and Issues. Winter '07/'08,

Annotation: This issue of the journal Insight focuses on black male children and adolescents and on what can be done to improve opportunities for them. The articles in this issue discuss (1) making education safe for black male children and adolescents, (2) integrating gender and race to inform strategies focused on this population, (3) the overrepresentation of children of color in the foster care system, and (4) incarceration in the lives of black children and adolescents.

Contact: Grantmakers for Children, Youth and Families, 12138 Central Avenue, Suite 422, Mitchellville, MD 20721, Telephone: (301) 589-4293 Fax: (301) 589-4289 E-mail: info@gcyf.org Web Site: http://www.gcyf.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Blacks, Education, Foster care, Foster children, Incarcerated youth, Male adolescents, Male children, Racial factors, Safety

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.