Skip Navigation

Strengthening the evidence for maternal and child health programs

AIM Partners: Products Developed by CityMatCH Bibliography

AIM Partners: Products Developed by CityMatCH

Bibliography of Materials from MCHLine®

This bibliography of 81 items is drawn from MCHLine®, the MCH Digital Library online catalog. It includes selected materials published in the last ten years that discuss guidelines and standards of care for children with special health care needs.

The MCH Digital Library focuses on publications from federal and state agencies, from grantees of federal and state agencies, and from professional and voluntary organizations. It contains unique materials on the history of maternal and child health in the United States, policy papers, reports, conference proceedings, manuals, survey instruments, guidelines, and curricula. The library does not collect materials on clinical medicine. Consumer health materials and commercially published materials are collected very selectively.

Displaying 81 records.

Perinatal Periods of Risk Work Group. n.d.. Perinatal Periods of Risk approach: The U.S. urban experience—A new community approach to fetal and infant mortality. [Omaha, NE: CityMatCH], 33 pp.

Annotation: These annotated slides outline a presentation on prevention efforts to improve fetal and infant mortality using an approach, called Perinatal Periods of Risk (PPOR), developed by the World Health Organization for developing countries and applying concepts to urban efforts in the United States. It highlights five major steps: (1) engaging community partners, (2) mapping feto-infant mortality, (3) focusing on reducing the overall feto-infant mortality rate, (4) examining potential opportunity gaps, and (5) targeting further investigations and prevention efforts. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Community coordination, Developing countries, Fetal mortality, Infant mortality, International health, Needs assessment, Prevention, Risk assessment, Statistical analysis

CityMatCH, Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, National Healthy Start Association, EveryWoman Southeast. 2013. Addressing racism's impact on infant mortality: Lessons learned from the Partnership to Eliminate Disparities in Infant Mortality. Washington, DC: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1 video (60 min., 24 sec.).

Annotation: This webinar explores the persistent gap in infant mortality between white and black infants and how to address challenges and opportunities. The experiences of 11 community and state teams and partners in addressing racism's impact on infant mortality are shared and lessons learned are described with actionable steps for programs to take. Examples are provided from California, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Ohio, Illinois, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Michigan, Texas, and Wisconsin.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: info@amchp.org Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Blacks, Case studies, Community programs, Infant death, Infant mortality, Multimedia, Racial factors, Racism, State initiatives

CityMatCH, Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, National Healthy Start Association, EveryWoman Southeast. 2013. Putting the life course concept into practice: Lessons from the Northeast Florida Healthy Start Coalition. Washington, DC: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1 video (60 min., 29 sec.). (A lifecourse theory to practice webinar)

Annotation: This webinar, broadcast June 6, 2013, discusses the life course theory and the capacity of the approach to address health inequalities for African American women as experienced by the Northeast Florida Healthy Start Coalition, The Magnolia Project. It also discusses strategies for integrating the life course approach into a community-based program, and describes challenges and opportunities to integrating this approach into daily practice.

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: info@amchp.org Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Blacks, Case studies, Florida, Health care disparities, Health status disparities, Healthy Start, Life cycle, Women's health

CityMatCH. 2013. Strategic work plan . Omaha, NE: CityMatCH, 8 pp.

Annotation: This document is part of a three-year strategic plan to strengthen public health leaders and organizations to promote equity and improve the health of urban women, families, and communities. The plan comprises three goals (equity, science, and leadership) and four objectives within each goal.

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Professional societies, Strategic plans, Urban MCH programs

Isacco M, Pecha D, Grignon A, eds. 2013. The prevention of substance-exposed pregnancies collaborative. Omaha, NE: CityMatCH, 53 pp.

Annotation: This final report describes the work of a collaborative to reduce the number of pregnancies that are exposed to alcohol and other substances within U.S. urban areas. Contents include definitions and background; goals and objectives; the work of the teams in California, Colorado, Florida, Maryland, Ohio, and Oregon; and tips for replicating their advice in other communities. A list of products produced by the 6 teams and other resources are included.

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Collaboration, Pregnant women, State initiatives, Substance use

Cable LP. 2012. Conversations that matter: A how-to guide for hosting discussions about race, racism, and public health. Omaha, NE: CityMatCH; Charlotte NC: Lee Institute, 40 pp.

Annotation: This guide is intended to serve as a resource to assist public health professionals in initiating open and honest conversations about racism's impact on community health. Topics include how to use the guide, conversation essentials, essentials for group meetings, and essentials for planning teams.

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Communication, Communities, Public health, Racial factors, Racism

Hawkins J, Bonzon E, Rough A. 2012. The built environment. Washington, DC: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs; Omaha, NE: CityMaTCH, 4 pp. (Women's health prevention brief; issue 3)

Annotation: This brief focuses on the importance of addressing the built environment to improve maternal health and birth outcomes. Contents include an overview of the built environment and research on the connections between the built environment and health, the biological and social impacts of an unsupportive built environment on maternal health and birth outcomes, and promising programs at the state and local levels.

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Data, Environmental health, Health care systems, Maternal health, Model programs, Pregnancy outcome, Preventive health services, State MCH programs, Urban MCH programs

CityMatCH. 2012. The Perinatal Periods of Risk (PPOR) approach for preventing infant mortality in US urban communities. Omaha, NE: CityMatCH,

Annotation: This fact sheet describes a community approach and an analytic framework for investigating and addressing high infant mortality rates in urban settings. The fact sheet describes the development of the Perinatal Periods of Risk (PPOR) approach and how it is used to monitor progress, (surveillance), guide public health planning, and prioritize prevention activities. Related resources including training materials, a learning network, presentations, data tables, and publications are available from the website.

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Community action, Data analysis, Infant mortality, Interdisciplinary approach, Perinatal influences, Planning, Urban environment

CityMatCH. 2011. CityMatCH abstract compendium: Examples from the field [Urban Maternal and Child Health Leadership Conference 2011]. Omaha, NE: CityMatCH, 140 pp.

Annotation: This compendium contains abstracts from the CityMatCH Urban Materrnal and Child Health Leadership Conference held in September 2011 in San Francisco, California. All the oral presentations from the conference are included. For each one, contact information for all authors is presented along with the abstract.

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Child health, Communities, Conference proceedings, Families, Fathers, Leadership, Mothers, Reproductive health, Women's health

CityMatCH and National Association of County and City Health Officials. 2011. Strengthening your MCH workforce through cultural competency. [Omaha, NE]: CityMatCH; [Washington, DC]: National Association of County and City Health Officials, (Emerging issues in maternal and child health)

Annotation: This webinar, which was held on March 3, 2011, and hosted by the National Association of County and City Health Officials, focused on how to initiate, strengthen, and apply lessons in cultural competence to local maternal and child public health programs, especially home visiting programs. The webinar defines cultural competence, discusses its role in work force development for local public health professionals and barriers to becoming culturally competent, and provides examples of how to apply cultural competence to a work force development opportunity for a home visiting program.

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Work force, Cultural competence, Culturally competent services, Home visiting, Local programs, Public health, Staff development

CityMatCH and Contra Costa Health Services, Family, Maternal and Child Health Programs, Life Course Initiative. [2010]. MCH life course toolbox. Omaha, NE: CityMatCH,

Annotation: This toolbox is an online resource for maternal and child health researchers, academics, practitioners, policy advocates, and others in the field. The toolbox shares information, strategies, and tools related to integrating the life course perspective into MCH research at the local, state, and national levels. The life course perspective looks at health not as disconnected stages by as an integrated continuum. Areas covered include theory and research, practice, education and training, and policy. There are also a life course game, a discussion board, and additional resources.

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Child health, Health, Internet, MCH research, Women's health

CityMatCH and National Association of County and City Health Officials. 2010. Community journeys to reduce infant mortality by addressing racism: Translating learning into action. [Omaha, NE]: CityMatCH; [Washington, DC]: National Association of County and City Health Officials, (Emerging issues in maternal and child health)

Annotation: This April 22, 2010, webinar describes how three national organizations and six communities across the country worked together to translate research and knowledge into action around racism. It details the Infant Mortality and Racism Action Learning Collaborative, a partnership which aims to decrease racial disparities in infant mortality in urban areas. Webinar topics included (1) key differences between health disparities and health equity, (2) processes by which teams can effectively approach and address racism, (3) the role of local and state health departments and other community organizations in reducing infant mortality by addressing racism, and (4) resources for local health departments. Meeting materials are also available from the website.

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Ethnic factors, Infant mortality, MCH research, Prevention services, Racial factors, Risk factors

CityMatCH. 2010. History, highlights and hope: Shattering the U.S. infant mortality glass ceiling. Omaha, NE: CityMatCH, (Emerging issues in maternal and child health)

Annotation: This website contains an audiorecording and presentation slides from a webinar held on June 17, 2010, to discuss the history of U.S. efforts to reduce infant mortality and what can and should be done to eliminate remaining racial and ethnic disparities in infant mortality. It describes some advances and successes in reducing infant mortality; current and emerging science, research, and vision for the future; and the role of local public health and community organizations in infant mortality reduction efforts. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Barriers, Community role, Government role, History, Infant mortality, Local initiatives, Sociocultural factors

Craig J, Conard T, Vaughn S. 2010. Integrating PPOR into MCH programs: Marion County, Indiana = PPOR for the Long Haul in Marion County Indiana. [no place,no publisher], 12 pp.

Annotation: This document presents graphics illustrating results of a Perinatal Periods of Risk (PPOR) analysis of 2001-2005 deaths in Marion County, Indiana. It itemizes risk factors for very low birthweight infants, causes of postneonatal death including sudden unexpected infant death, and strategic actions to improve birth outcomes. It also discusses how PPOR became a part of the fetal and infant mortality review (FIMR) process and Indianapolis Healthy Start, the need for safe sleep education, and the local health systems action plan.

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Fetal mortality, Indiana, Infant mortality, State surveys

Martens J, Thompson BK, eds. 2009. FIMR/HIV pilot project: Overview and lessons learned. [Omaha, NE]: CityMatCH, 45 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information about the FIMR/HIV Pilot Project (FHPP), the goal of which was to adapt the Fetal and Infant Mortality Review process in order to identify and address missed opportunities for perinatal HIV prevention and treatment in pilot sites. The report discusses perinatal HIV, the Fetal and Infant Mortality Review (FIMR), the FIMR/HIV prevention methodology, FHPP, and the experiences of three pilot sites (Baton Rouge, Louisianna; Detroit, Michigan; and Jacksonville, Florida).

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Community programs, Florida, HIV, HIV, HIV infected patients, HIV screening, Infant mortality, Louisiana, Michigan, Perinatal health, Pilot projects, Pregnancy, Prevention, Treatment

CityMatCH and National Association of County and City Health Officials. 2009. Local health department home visitation programs: Improving health outcomes for children and families. Omaha, NE: CityMatCH; Washington, DC: National Association of County and City Health Officials, (Emerging issues in maternal and child health)

Annotation: This webcast, held on June 18, 2009, focuses on local health department home visiting programs, and in particular the nurse family partnership program. The webcast provides information on (1) general components of the partnership, (2) lesson learned from local health department program development and implementation, (3) strategies for continued evaluation and quality improvement, and (4) identifying potential sources of funding for implementing the program. The presenter was Peggy Hill, director of program development for the Nurse-Family Partnership National Service Office. A recording of the conference and PowerPoint slides are available. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Collaboration, Financing, Home visiting, Local MCH programs, Multimedia, Nurses, Programs, Visiting nurses

CityMatCH and National Association of County and City Health Officials. 2009. The impact of positive youth development programs on teen pregnancy prevention. Omaha, NE: CityMatCH; Washington, DC: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1 webcast (72 min.).

Annotation: This 72-minute webinar discusses PYD (Positive Youth Development) and evidenced-based programs that can impact teen pregnancy prevention, and features presentations by invited speakers from Healthy Teen Network, the Center for Disease Control's (CDC) Division of Adolescent Health and the Minnesota Organization on Adolescent Pregnancy Prevention and Parenting. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent development, Adolescent pregnancy, Audiovisual materials, Models, Prevention programs

Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs and CityMatCH. [2008]. AMCHP/CityMatch women's preventive health framework. [Omaha, NE]: CityMatCH, 10 pp.

Annotation: This paper outlines a number of factors that influence women's health and that state and local MCH programs can consider when implementing a women's preventive health framework to improve health for women of reproductive age. The paper lays out a framework for improving preconception and interconception health; introduces relevant conceptional frameworks; and outlines guiding principles, assumptions, and possible activities associated with this work. Finally, the paper offers evidence to support the decision to focus on achieving a healthy weight before pregnancy to improve women's health and promote safe motherhood. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Body weight, Health promotion, Local programs, Preconception care, Pregnancy, Prevention, Reproductive health, State programs, Weight loss, Women's health

CityMatCH. 2008. Annual report, 2008. Omaha, NE: CityMatCH, 11 pp.

Annotation: This report summarizes the activities of CityMatCH for 2008 including commentary from the organization's leadership, descriptions of their major urban based MCH initiatives, and a financial report.

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: National organizations, Urban MCH programs

CItyMatCH and National Association of County and City Health Officials . 2008. Autism spectrum disorders and the role of public health. Washington, DC: National Association of County and City Health Officials ,

Annotation: This archived audio webcast from April 17, 2008 increases awareness of autism spectrum disorders (ASDs) and highlights opportunities for public health professionals to play a role in helping those affected to reach their full potential. Topics include autism spectrum disorders and their impact on children and families; CDC's ongoing surveillance and research in the area of autism spectrum disorders; CDC's "Learn the Signs. Act Early." campaign and related resources; the important roles public health plays in increasing dialogue about important developmental milestones; identifying children at risk for ASDs, and connecting children and families to appropriate early intervention. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: info@naccho.org Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Autism, Child health, Developmental delays, Multimedia, Public awareness campaigns, Public health

CityMatCH. 2008. CityMatCH 2008: Promising practice compendium. Omaha, NE: CityMatCH, 207 pp.

Annotation: This compendium contains materials from the CityMatCH Urban MCH Leadership Conference held on September 20-23, 2008, in Albuquerque, New Mexico, which was entitled A Life-course Perspective: Pathways for Improving Practice in Urban MCH. The compendium includes information from oral presentations on topics such as preventing infant mortality, family planning, weight, men in maternal and child health, preconception health, and adolescent health, among others. Poster presentations are also included.

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: , Adolescent health, Child development, Child health, Community programs, Conference proceedings, Family planning, Infant health, Infant mortality, Leadership, Men’s health, Obesity, Prevention, Women’s health

CityMatCH. 2008. Collaborations between community health centers and public health departments. Omaha, NE: CityMatCH,

Annotation: This site provides access to a January 17, 2008 audio webcast that addresses communication and collaboration between community health centers and public health departments. Topics also include state level policy issues and collaborations that extend beyond traditional boundaries of public health, an overview of local level collaborations throughout Michigan, and the experiences of a collaboration between a community health center and local public health department in Emporia, Kansas. An interactive question and answer period follows. Addition presentation materials are available from the site. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Case studies, Collaboration, Community health centers, Kansas, Michigan, Public health services, State health agencies

CityMatCH. 2008. Health care reform: Preparing local health departments for change on the horizon. Omaha, NE: CityMatCH,

Annotation: This archived webcast from July 17, 2008 discusses current and proposed approaches to health care reform. Topics include implications around workforce shortages and workforce planning, capacity, the safety net, underserved populations (including rural access) and the importance of collaborations and open communication in a changing environment. Also included is a legislative update with highlights of proposed bills, amendments, and laws, along with a discussion of rural public health. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Collaboration, Health care reform, Health services delivery, Multimedia, Rural health, Trends, Underserved communities, Work force

CityMatCH and National Association of County and City Health Officials . 2008. Internet-based HIV/STI prevention interventions for adolescents. Omaha, NE: CityMatCH; Washington, DC: National Association of City and County Health Officials, (Emerging issues in maternal and child health)

Annotation: This Webcast hosts Powerpoint and audio files from three presentations. The first examines adolescent and youth sexual activity; what types of technology youth and adolescents use, how, and why; how technology is and can be used for STD/HIV prevention. The second examines the validity of four popular public health mindsets: youth will prioritize the sites public health organizations create for them, offline strategies for STD/HIV prevention will work online, youths' risk for HIV/STD is based on their individual characteristics, and "the problem is the lack of the solution that we already have in mind." The third describes various online STD/HIV prevention programs and explores their use. Online use and techniques and their use in a clinic setting are also discussed. A question and answer session follows. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: info@naccho.org Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, HIV, Internet, Multimedia, Prevention programs, STDs, Sexual behavior, Technology, Telecommunications, Youth

CityMatCH. 2008. Life-course health development model. Omaha, NE: CityMatCH, (Emerging issues in maternal and child health)

Annotation: This Webcast, held on October 16, 2008, hosts narrated Powerpoint files from three presentations. The first presentation, by Neal Halfon, discusses the Life Course Development (LCHD) Model describing the impact of early life factors in health, psychology, sociology, and environment in the study of health across the lifespan. He shows how the LCHD model can be used to inform new approaches to health promotion, disease prevention and developmental optimization; the organization and delivery of health services, the financing of health services, and relevance to child health policy development. The second presentation, by Dr. Cheri Pies, focuses on applying the LCHD perspective in the local maternal, child, and adolescent health program. She outlines the experience of a local health program, gives suggestions and tips for getting started and achieving goals, and shares lessons learned. The third presentation, by Martha King, outlines efforts to communicate with state legislators about the LCHD Model and its potential in making policy at the state level. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Developmental stages, Early childhood development, Infant development, MCH research, Models, Multimedia, Risk factors, Risk management

CItyMatCH and National Association of County and City Health Officials . 2008. Prevention of tobacco use and secondhand smoke exposure before, during, and after pregnancy. Washington, DC: National Association of County and City Health Officials ,

Annotation: This site provides access to a June 19, 2008 webcast that highlights national, state, and local initiatives that address tobacco use and exposure and the health of MCH populations. Systems level approaches to smoking cessation among pregnant and parenting women, as well as the connection between environmental tobacco smoke and infant health were discussed. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: info@naccho.org Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Child health, Environmental exposure, Infant health, Local initiatives, National initiatives, Passive smoking, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Prevention, Smoking cessation, Smoking during pregnancy, State initiatives, Tobacco use

Cunningham S, Fahey S, Thompson B, eds. 2008. Promoting a healthy weight in women of reproductive age: Experiences and lessons learned from eight state/local health department teams—From the CityMatch/AMCHP Action Learning Collaborative. Omaha, NE: CityMatCH, 37 pp.

Annotation: This monograph details the experiences, strategies developed, and lessons learned of an action learning collaborative convened by the Association of Maternal and Child Health programs and CityMatch, from October 2006 through February 2008, to promote healthy weight in women of reproductive age. For each of the eight programs featured, the report gives a team description, impact of collaborative, project description, lessons learned, and recommendations.

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Body weight, Community programs, Maternal age, Model programs, Obesity, Women's health

CityMatCH. 2008. The AMCHP/CityMatCH Action Learning Collaborative: Building state and local capacity to help women of reproductive age achieve healthy weight before, during and after pregnancy. Omaha, NE: CityMatCH,

Annotation: This archived webcast from March 20, 2008 discusses patterns of women's weight gain before, during, and after pregnancy and how these patterns are associated with poor pregnancy and birth outcomes and contribute to long term negative health outcomes for women and their children. Speakers describe the Action Learning Collaborative and how it has worked to promote a healthy weight in women of reproductive age. Eight multidisciplinary teams from state and local health departments described how they formed effective partnerships, determined activities appropriate for their communities and states, and the lessons learned from their experiences. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Gestational weight gain, Pregnancy outcome, Pregnant women, Reproductive health, Women's health

CityMatCH. 2008. The March of Dimes prematurity campaign and new approaches to the prevention of preterm birth. Omaha, NE: CityMatCH,

Annotation: This archived webcast from November 20, 2008 provides MCH leaders and practitioners with intervention strategies and resources for tackling the prevention of preterm birth in their communities and learning about the successes and challenges from three best practice examples. Topics include medical perspectives of preterm birth, the complexity of the problem, and a summary of prematurity awareness activities; a description of the March of Dimes efforts to address the growing crisis of preterm birth; new approaches to the prevention of preterm birth; how March of Dimes chapters and MCH experts are addressing the growing crisis in their states and communities; and new educational tools and resources for addressing preterm birth interventions. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website after registration.

Keywords: Community participation, Multimedia, Pregnancy outcome, Preterm birth, Prevention services, Program descriptions, Public awareness campaigns, State initiatives

CityMatCH. 2008. The MCH leadership competencies: From theory to local practice. Omaha, NE: CityMatCH, (Emerging issues in maternal and child health)

Annotation: This webcast focused on the application of the MCH leadership competencies to local public health practice. Participants were introduced to an online course targeting MCH leaders, The Maternal and Child Health Leadership Skills Development Series. Local MCH leaders described the integration of the competencies into health department strategies to ensure a competent work force, including retention and succession planning. A question-and-answer session was included. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Leadership, MCH training programs, Public health, Service integration

CityMatCH Best Practices and Policy Action Group. 2008. Toolkit for policy development. Omaha, NE: CityMatCH,

Annotation: This toolkit offers a variety of resources for policy development that can be used at the state and local levels. The toolkit also includes examples of how CityMatCH members are advancing policy development in leading-edge areas of maternal and child health. The resources are identified according to the following five stages of policy development: (1) community assessment, (2) policy strategy, (3) build or broaden coalitions, (4) policy implementation, and (5) policy evaluation.

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Child health, Community programs, Local initiatives, Public policy, Resource materials, State initiatives, Women's health

CityMatCH. 2007. Building the best environments for families and children: XVII Annual CityMatCH Urban MCH Leadership Conference. CityLights 16(3):1-12,

Annotation: This issue of City Lights focuses on the seventeenth Annual CityMatCH Urban MCH Leadership Conference, Building the Best Environment for Families and Children, held in 2007 in Denver, Colorado. The issue provides information about the conference and describes conference sessions; it also includes articles on health impact assessment: tools for moving toward healthier policies, building the best environments for vulnerable families and children: the post-Katrina story; the 2006-2007 DaTA team graduation; and fostering creativity to reach innovative solutions. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Environmental influences, Families, Health, Infants, Public policy, Urban populations, Vulnerability

Fitzgerald M, Sutton Z, eds. 2007. CityMatCH 2007: Promising practices compendium. Omaha, NE: CityMatCH, 216 pp.

Annotation: This compendium includes a summary of oral presentations made at the 2007 CityMatCH Urban Maternal and Child Health Leadership Conference held on August 26-28, 2007, in Denver, Colorado. An abstract is included for oral and poster presentations. Oral presentation topics include adolescent health, community involvement and partnerships, urban women's health, preconception health and health care, effective and promising teen pregnancy prevention programs, healthy weight in women of reproductive age - action learning collaborative, child development, mental health, and health disparities. Descriptions are provided for 43 posters presented at the conference. Two additional abstracts are included for fetal alcohol spectrum disorders. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Conferences, Leadership, Adolescent health, Adolescent pregnancy, Child development, Child health, Community programs, MCH programs, Preconception care, Prenatal care, Prevention programs, Urban health

CityMatCH and National Association of County and City Health Officials . 2007. Improving birth outcomes: Community strategies to address infant mortality. Omaha, NE: CityMatCH; Washington, DC: National Association of County and City Health Officials , (Emerging issues in maternal and child health)

Annotation: This webinar, held on May 24, 2007, provides examples of how local health departments formed relationships with disciplines and systems to develop strategies to eliminate health inequalities in infant mortality. Contents include the webinar goals and objectives and speaker bios and presentations. Topics include background on the history of infant mortality; how various social, institutional, and environmental factors contribute to infant mortality; and examples of local health department involvement in multi-faceted approaches to reducing infant mortality among African American populations. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: info@naccho.org Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Community role, Infant mortality, MCH research, Multimedia, Pregnancy outcome, Public health

CityMatCH. 2007. Maintaining focus on MCH. Omaha, NE: CityMatCH,

Annotation: This archived audio webcast from April 19, 2007 contains two presentation files from speakers for professionals in the maternal and child health field to keep motivated on issues. The audio file of the webcast is also provided. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: MCH services, Multimedia, Resources for professionals, Work force

CityMatCH. 2007. Mental health services and funding in MCH. Omaha, NE: CityMatCH, (Emerging issues in maternal and child health)

Annotation: This webcast includes three presentations: (1) Maternal and Child Health and Mental Health: Time for Action, (2) Integrating Behavioral Health into Primary Care, and (3) A Model for a Collaborative Social Work/Public Health Response to Traumatic and Catastrophic Events, Lessons Learned from Katrina. The first discusses mental health among women and children, especially those from low-income communities; the second discusses the Duvall County health department, in Jacksonville, Florida, and its efforts to integrate mental health services into primary care service; and the third discusses h traumatic and catastrophic events and how to collaboratively respond to them. The webcast includes PowerPoint presentations and audio files. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Child health, Collaboration, Health services, Low income groups, Mental health, Multimedia, Primary care, Public health, Social work, Women's health

CityMatCH. 2007. Sustainability in tight times: Local and state efforts. Omaha, NE: CityMatCH,

Annotation: This Web conference discusses state and local program efforts to continue services in the face of decreased or lost funding. In an audio file, three experts describe strategies which they have employed at specific times in which funding changes occasioned new methods such as outsourcing, collaboration, to continue program services. Powerpoint files accompany the presentations. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Barriers, Collaboration, Financing, Methods, Operating costs, Program descriptions, Strategic plans, Sustainability

CityMatCH and National Association of County and City Health Officials . 2006. Are we ready yet?: Integrating MCH into public health preparedness plans. Washington, DC: National Association of County and City Health Officials , (E-MCH conference call series)

Annotation: This Web conference discusses MCH public health emergency response preparedness via presentations by six experts from national and local organizations that describe plans that they have developed and/or executed in response to natural or man-made disasters in their area. Powerpoint presentations accompany some presentations. An audio file of the conference is available. A list of Web sites and a brief description of their contents allows access to resources described in the presentations. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: info@naccho.org Web Site: http://www.naccho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Disaster planning, Disasters, Emergencies, MCH services, Program descriptions

CityMatCH. 2006. Child passenger safety. Omaha, NE: CityMatCH, (Emerging issues in maternal and child health (EMCH))

Annotation: This site hosts Powerpoint presentations from a Web conference on child passenger safety from three experts. The first describes child passenger safety data at the national level including usage rates and types of misuse. The second describes financing and strategy for a county program that seeks to increase and improve child-safety seat usage. The third presentation describes a county program that distributes car seats and holds car seat check events. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Car seats, Child safety, Motor vehicle safety, Program descriptions

CityMatCH. 2006. CityMatCH 2005: Promising practices compendium. Omaha, NE: CityMatCH, 122 pp.

Annotation: This compendium includes a summary of oral presentations made at the16th Annual CityMatCH Urban Maternal and Child Health Leadership Conference held on August 20-22, 2006, in Providence, Rhode Island. For each presentation, information is provided about the presenters, presentation content area, budget, and key stakeholders. An abstract of each presentation is included. Topics include: addressing obesity through the lifespan, building partnerships for change, child health and development, dealing with disaster, infant morbidity and mortality, integrated data analysis, pre- and inter-conceptional health, reducing disparities, and adolescent pregnancy prevention. Similar information is provided about posters on promising practices and data presented at the conference. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent pregnancy, Child development, Child health, Conferences, Infant health, Infant mortality, Leadership, MCH programs, Model programs, Obesity, Prevention, Women's health

CityMatCH. 2006. CityMatCH 2006: Promising practices compendium. Omaha, NE: CityMatCH, 122 pp.

Annotation: This compendium includes a summary of oral presentations made at the16th Annual CityMatCH Urban Maternal and Child Health Leadership Conference held on August 20-22, 2006, in Providence, Rhode Island. For each presentation, information is provided about the presenters, presentation content area, budget, and key stakeholders. An abstract of each presentation is also included. Presentations are grouped in these topic areas: addressing obesity through the lifespan, building partnerships fir change, child health and development, dealing with disaster, infant morbidity and mortality, integrated data analysis, pre- and inter-conceptional health, reducing disparities, and teen pregnancy prevention. Similar information is provided about posters on promising practices and data presented at the conference. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Conferences, Leadership, MCH programs

CityMatCH. 2006. Evidenced-based approaches to teen pregnancy prevention. Omaha, NE: CityMatCH,

Annotation: This Webcast hosts presentations by three experts in the field of adolescent pregnancy and adolescent sexual risk taking behavior intervention. The first presenter speaks on promoting evidence or science based initiatives at the local level. She defines science based approaches and summarizes program designs and program evaluations. The second speaker overviews the work in Minnesota to promote science based approaches and details three examples of science based approaches to adolescent sexual health. The final speaker discusses adolescent sexual risk-taking intervention at the local level in Nevada including aspects of implementation, collaboration, sustainability and outcomes. Powerpoint presentations accompany the presentations. A question and answer session follows the presentations. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Community programs, Multimedia, Prevention programs, Program descriptions, Program evaluations, Risk taking, Sexual behavior

CityMatCH. 2006. Fetal alcohol spectrum disorders: Prevention, education, intervention, and advocacy. Omaha, NE: CityMatCH,

Annotation: This site provides access to the September 21, 2006 webcast focusing on fetal alcohol spectrum disorders (FASD). Five PowerPoint presentations are provided in addition to the agenda and the audio file. The presentations include: (1) prevention, education, intervention, and advocacy; (2) emerging issues about FASD in Michigan; (3) emerging issues about FASD in Detroit, Michigan; (4) Detroit Department of Health and Wellness promotion; and (5) the presentation from the National Organization on Fetal Alcohol Syndrome. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Advocacy, Conferences, Early intervention, Fetal alcohol syndrome, Infant health, Michigan, Multimedia, Prevention, Substance abusing pregnant women

CityMatCH. 2006. Medicaid: What now?. Omaha, NE: CityMatCH,

Annotation: This Web conference contains presentations by two expert presenters who address Medicaid issues such as: Medicaid basic facts, eligibility issues for children, federal and state roles in Medicaid financing and benefits, Early and Periodic Screening Diagnostic and Treatment (EPSDT), types of case management, and local action. A brief question and answer discussion follows the presentations. A pdf file of slides illustrates the presentations. An audio file of the conference call is available. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Federal programs, Medicaid, Program descriptions

CityMatCH. 2006. Preconception care: Science, recommendations and creative strategies for implementation. Omaha, NE: CityMatCH,

Annotation: This Webcast includes presentations from three experts on preconception care. The first discusses the preconception care initiative of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), gave background information on how poor pregnancy outcome levels are high, summarizes the evidence that pre-birth intervention can improve pregnancy outcomes, and briefly updates the preconception care initiative. The second discusses pre and inter-conception services, and details of the successful model for integration in Florida. The third discusses a study of the feasibility and impact of delivering inter-pregnancy care to mothers of very low birth weight infants at a hospital in Atlanta. A question and answer session follows the presentations. Powerpoint presentations accompany the audio presentations. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Community programs, Federal programs, Multimedia, Preconception care, Pregnancy outcome, Program evaluation, Women's health

CityMatCH. 2006. Reducing health inequities: The impact of neighborhood factors on health. Omaha, NE: CityMatCH,

Annotation: This Web conference site hosts slide presentations from two expert presenters who work on improving health at the community level. The first examines the economic, social, physical, and services factors of the issue. The second identifies the neighborhood factors that can contribute to health inequities, describes national and local health department initiatives addressing neighborhood factors affecting health outcomes, and identifies opportunities for program and policy development addressing these risk factors to reduce health inequities. A link to additional resources is provided. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Community organizations, Community programs, Cultural factors, Economic factors, Environmental influences, Public health, Underserved communities

CityMatCH. 2006. Seeing it through: Preventing fetal and infant deaths. CityLights 14(3-4):1-8,

Annotation: This issue of CityLights focuses on the prevention of fetal and infant deaths in the United States. It includes articles on the revised sudden unexplained infant death investigation (SUIDI) form; the American Academy of Pediatric's revised recommendations for pacifier use and safe sleep; changes to federal Medicaid law and how this will impact child and family health policy; and data highlights from CityMatCH's Perinatal Periods of Risk (PPOR) Framework pointing out where fetal and/or infant mortality interventions may have a primary impact. Included is a data insert with updated PPOR fetal-infant mortality tables for the nation's largest cities and counties, [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Data, Early intervention, Fetal mortality, Forms, Infant mortality, Prevention programs, SIDS

CityMatCH. 2006. The national SUID initiative and its impact on MCH policy, program and planning. Omaha, NE: CityMatCH,

Annotation: This Webcast is a two-part recording of a conference in which three sudden infant death syndrome/sudden unexpected infant death (SIDS/SUID) experts present on the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) SUID death scene investigation initiative, explaining the importance of infant death scene investigation, how new SUID report forms improve the investigation of the process, the SUID reporting system and the national training academy. The second presentation explains why and how the initiative is important for child and maternal health and ways in which MCH leaders can get involved in pushing for improved infant death scene investigation in their own communities. The final presentation speaks to understanding and preventing deaths in Philadelphia. A question and answer session follows the presentations. Powerpoint presentations accompany the audio presentations. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Child death review, Infant death, Infant mortality, MCH programs, Multimedia, SIDS

CityMatCH. 2006. Undoing institutional racism: Defining terms; moving forward. CityLights 15(1):1-8,

Annotation: This issue of City Lights focuses on undoing institutional racism. The issue provides background on how racism affects urban women, children, and families and defines racism-related terms. Articles are also included on the challenge of undoing racism, research on reducing racial disparities in birth outcomes, CityMatch's effort to tackle racism, undoing racism in Seattle and King County, and addressing disparities in premature birth in the wake of the 2005 Gulf Coast hurricanes. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Children, Families, Prevention, Racial discrimination, Racial factors, Racism, Research, State programs, Washington, Women, infants

CityMatCH. 2005. Crystal meth: Interventions for drug-endangered children. Omaha, NE: CityMatCH,

Annotation: This archived webinar from July 21, 2005 discusses efforts to protect children whose parents or caregivers are manufacturing, dealing, or using drugs. The webinar site contains PowerPoint presentations highlighting a national priority to focus on drug endangered children; a public health focus in Washington state, and cleanup of a clandestine drug lab. Additional links to resources are also provided. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Child safety, Children, Drug affected children, Drugs, Multimedia, State programs, Substance abuse, Washington

CityMatCH. 2005. For all it's worth: Leading with values and vision. CityLights. 14(2):1-8. 2005. ,

Annotation: This issue of City Lights focuses on the Annual Urban Maternal and Child Health Leadership conference, For All It's Worth: Leading with Values and Vision, which took place on September 10, 2005, in Forth Worth, TX. The newsletter discusses conference presentations, workshops, and other conference-related topics and activities and includes articles on (1) connecting strategies with maternal and child health vision: the science vs. the practice in perinatal and preconception health and (2) DaTA Institute teams' completion of a yearlong training program. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Child health, Families, Infant health, Leadership, MCH programs, MCH services, Perinatal health, Preconception health, Texas, Training, Urban populations, Women's health

CityMatCH. 2005. For all it's worth: Leading with values and vision—Promising practices: 15th Annual CityMatCH Urban Maternal and Child Health Leadership Conference. [Omaha, NE]: CityMatCH, 101 pp.

Annotation: This publication is a compilation of materials from 15th Annual City MatCH Urban Maternal and Child Health Leadership Conference held on September 10-13, 2005, in Ft. Worth, Texas. Materials cover adolescent pregnancy, racial and ethnic disparities, preconception health, obesity, child development and prevention, child health, prenatal care, and other related topics. The materials are divided into the following categories: (1) oral presentations, (2) promising practice posters, (3) daTA Institute Team's posters, and (4) additional promising practices.

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent pregnancy, Child development, Child health, Community programs, Conference proceedings, Ethnic factors, Leadership, Model programs, Obesity, Prenatal care, Prevention, Racial factors, Urban MCH programs

CityMatCH. 2005. Local public health agencies (LPHAs) involved in implementing coordinated school health programs. Omaha, NE: CityMatCH,

Annotation: This archived webcast from August 15, 2005 focuses on child health services available in the school setting. The site contains PowerPoint presentation slides on the following topics: promoting a coordinated approach for the health and well-being of children and youth. building the case for coordinated school health: Cuyahoga County Board of Health Coordinated School Health Initiatives, and the Healthy Schools Partnership, a coordinated school health program in Harvey, Illinois. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Case studies, Children, Illinois, Multimedia, Ohio, School age children, School based clinics, School health services, State programs

CityMatCH. 2005. Making sustainable social change to achieve healthy weight: Ecological approaches to nutrition and physical activity. Omaha, NE: CityMatCH,

Annotation: This archived webcast from October 27, 2005 discusses the obesity challenge among children and families and suggests strategies for addressing healthier weight. Presentations slides in PowerPoint are made available from the expert and local practice presenters on a nutrition, physical activity, and obesity prevention program; the Get Healthy Kids Club program of Jacksonville, Florida; and a program to assist families preventing diabetes through a community-based, collaborative health model. The audio recording of the call is available. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Body weight, Case studies, Children, Community programs, Families, Florida, Multimedia., Nutrition, Obesity, Physical activity, Prevention programs, State programs, Weight management

CityMatCH. 2005. Maternal depression/women's mental health. Omaha, NE: CityMatCH,

Annotation: This Webcast on maternal depression and women's mental health was held on May 26, 2005. The Webcast includes three presentations: The first presentation, on postpartum depression, presented by Laura Miller, M.D., provides an overview of the topic. The second presentation, on maternal depression and women's mental health, presented by Lisa Kean, R.N., B.S.N., discusses the Healthy Kids Home Visitation Program in Phelps/Maries County, Missouri. The third presentation, on the Maternal Depression Project/ East Baton Rouge Parish, presented by Becky Decker, L.C.S.W., provides information about the program. The webcast has been archived as is no longer posted on the site. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org

Keywords: Depression, Home visiting, Louisiana, Mental health, Missouri, Postpartum depression, Prevention, Programs, Treatment, Women's health

CityMatCH and National Association of County and City Health Officials . 2005. MCH and social justice. Omaha, NE: CityMatCH, (Emerging issues in maternal and child health)

Annotation: This webcast on social justice and maternal and child health (MCH) was held on January 20, 2005. The webcast featured three presenters: (1) Magda Peck, from the Section on Child Health Policy, Dept. of Pediatrics, CityMatCH in Omaha Nebraska, discussed the concept of social justice within the framework of local public health; (2) Wendell Brunner, from Contra Costa Health Services in Contra Costa California, who provides an overview of social justice and MCH, including definitions of key terms and a discussion of health disparities (3) Mary Ostrem, from the Boston Public Health Commission, who discusses social justice and MCH from the perspective of a fetal and infant mortality review (FIMR) program. The complete audio recording, along with all three powerpoint presentations, are available online. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org

Keywords: Community programs, Cultural factors, Ethnic factors, MCH programs, Multimedia, Policy development, Public health, Racial factors, Social discrimination, Social factors

CityMatCH. 2005. Preventing HIV/AIDS in African-American women. Omaha, NE: CityMatCH,

Annotation: This archived webcast from June 16, 2005 discusses topics in preventing the transmission of HIV/AIDS in African-American women. The site contains PowerPoint presentation files from the speakers, a description of the Sister to Sister Program, and the webcast audiorecording. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: AIDS, Blacks, Disease prevention, HIV, Multimedia, Women's health

CityMatCH. 2005. Preventing perinatal transmission of HIV AIDS. Omaha, NE: CityMatCH, (Emerging issues in maternal and child health)

Annotation: This webcast on the prevention of the perinatal transition of HIV AIDS was held on February 17, 2005. The webcast featured three presenters: (1) Margaret Lampe, from the Division of HIV/AIDS Prevention-Epidemiology, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, who discussed Rapid HIV-1 testing for women in labor with unknown HIV status; (2) Ana Rua-Dobles, from the HUG-Me Program in Orlando, FL, who presented on the perinatal nurse's role in the prevention of HIV vertical transmission; and (3) Jackie Nash, Regional HIV/AIDS Prevention Coordinator, Duval County Health Dept. in Jacksonville, FL, who talked about Florida's Targeted Outreach for Pregnant Women Act Program (TOPWA). The complete audio recording, along with all three powerpoint presentations, are available online. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Multimedia, AIDS, Disease prevention, Disease transmission, Florida, HIV, HIV screening, Infant health, Maternal health, Perinatal influences, Pregnancy complications, Prenatal care, State programs

Peck MG, Abreasch CJ, Simpson PS, eds. 2005. Profiles of perinatal HIV prevention: Urban communities share their efforts to prevention mother-to-child transmission of HIV. Omaha, NE: CityMatCH, 44 pp.

Annotation: This publication, which is designed for use by communities as a starting point to implement local systems to prevent perinatal HIV transmission, introduces the Urban Prevention Collaborative (UPC) and the Urban Learning Network, both of which work toward prevention of perinatal HIV transmission. Themes and recommendations from the UPC are presented, along with commentary from City MatCH. A table of prevention strategies is included, and descriptions of programs run by health departments in several states are presented. The publication includes one appendix: a CityMatCH mapping AIDS prevention strategies overview.

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Community programs, Disease transmission, HIV, Perinatal influences, Prevention, Urban MCH programs

CityMatCH. 2005. Toward urban women's health: Leadership. Omaha, NE: CityMatCH, 12 pp. (Urban women's health brief, issue brief no. 3)

Annotation: This paper discusses components of leadership as they relate to maternal and child health (MCH) professionals, shares perspectives on leadership from MCH leaders, examines the importance of political will and explores how effective leadership can have impact, considers the effects of social health policies on women's health, and articulates a vision of women's health that embraces and expands upon the traditional maternal role. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Leadership, MCH training, Professional training, Urban MCH programs, Women's health

Kent HM, Fitzgerald MT. 2005. Toward women's health: A compendium of promising practices to improve urban women's health. Omaha, NE: CityMatCH, 11 pp.

Annotation: This compendium is the first of four issues describing promising practices that City MatCH agencies have employed to improve the health of women in their communities. The issue begins with a description of lessons learned through the process of putting together the compendium, a publication evaluation form, and a CityMatCH publication order form. A table of contents for each of the four issues is then provided, followed by content of the first issue, in which six promising practices are described. For each promising practices, the following questions are answered: (1) what is the promising practice, (2) what are the key strategies and activities of this promising practice, (3) what specific, measurable results have evaluations shown have been achieved, (4) what are the costs associated with this project, (5) what else would you like your colleagues to know about this initiative, (6) what advice do you have for your colleagues wishing to engage in a similar effort, (7) what is the role of the health department in this initiative, and (8) whom can we contact for additional information about this initiative? [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Community programs, Costs, Initiatives, Urban health, Urban population, Women's health

CityMatCH. 2005. Youth smoking prevention. Omaha, NE: CityMatCH,

Annotation: This Web conference discusses methods to prevent adolescents and a youths from using tobacco products. Three expert presenters give an in-depth description of a national or local anti-tobacco program they are involved with. Powerpoint presentations accompany the presentations detailing tobacco use prevalence, effects, and other pertinent data. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Model programs, Program descriptions, Program evaluations, Statistics, Tobacco use, Youth

CityMatCH. [2004]. Expedition 2004: Exploring the Boundaries of Urban MCH—Promising practices from the field: CityMatCH annual urban maternal and child health leadership conference. [Omaha, NE]: CityMatCH, 139 pp.

Annotation: This document includes abstracts accepted for the CityMatCH conference, Expedition 2004: Exploring the Boundaries of Urban MCH. The abstracts accepted for the conference reflect innovative activities, strategies, or lessons learned that have strengthened the conference participant's capacity to serve children and families. Abstracts for which oral presentations are given are grouped into the following categories: (1) advocacy: strategies for local leaders to advance MCH policy and programs, (2) addressing the epidemic of overweight children: practice and policy, (3) assuring access for women and children, (4) creating healthier communities for our children, (5) focusing on preconception health: improving morbidity and mortality, (6) inside or outside our circle:do mental health concerns affect our outcomes?, (7) integrating urban women's health in local health departments, and (8) mentoring fathers, strengthening families. The document also includes a poster section, which includes abstracts that best address the specific review criteria, and a publication only section, which includes abstracts that are published but not presented.

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Advocacy, Child health, Children, Communities, Community programs, Conferences, Families, Fathers, Leadership, MCH programs, Mental health, Morbidity, Mortality, Obesity, Preconception care, Public policy, Urban areas, Women's health

Barnes-Josiah D, Fitzgerald M, ed. 2004. Undoing racism in public health: A blueprint for action in urban MCH. Omaha, NE: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, 55 pp.

Annotation: This report, which focuses on strategies for eliminating racism and racial disparities in public health, is divided into three main sections. Section 1 examines the scientific basis for racism as a determinant of health status and health disparities, and how institutional racism manifests in health care and health departments. Section 2 provides an overview of existing directions, options, and resources for eliminating racism. Section 3 outlines a series of activities for a local public health-based initiative for eliminating racism. The report includes three appendices: (1) assessing institutional readiness and priorities for eliminating racism in local public health agencies, (2) a list of relevant organizations, and (3) a list of workgroup participants.

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Attitude change, Attitudes, Health care, Health status, Initiatives, Public health, Public health agencies, Racial discrimination, Racism, Resource materials

Peck M, Sappenfield B, Haynatzka V. 2003. Perinatal periods of risk analysis: Using local, state and national data. Omaha, NE: CityMatCH, 67 pp.

Annotation: This archived webcast comprises presentation slides and notes from the 2003 MCH Epi Conference. It describes the Perinatal Periods of Risk (PPOR) Approach and the effective use of local, state, and national data. Topics include the strengths and limitations of using National Center for Health Statistics data to assess feto-infant mortality; results from an analysis using PPOR to assess feto-infant mortality in U.S. cities, urban counties, states, and the U.S. as a whole for selected periods of time; and recommendations and options for using PPOR in the future. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Conference proceedings, Data analysis, Epidemiology, Fetal mortality, Infant mortality, Perinatal influences

Fitzgerald M, ed. 1999. Lessons learned 1999: Profiles of leading urban health department initiatives in maternal and child health—From the CityMatCH Urban MCH Leadership Conference. Omaha, NE: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, 183 pp.

Annotation: This directory profiles 72 urban MCH programs of city and county health departments across the nation whose jurisdictions include one or more cities of 100, 000 population; the programs represent one of the health department's most successful MCH efforts during the 1999 year. The profiles are presented in alphabetical order, by city and by state where the local health department is located. Each profile includes contact information, essential MCH functions and initiatives, funding sources, and budget. It also includes a description of objectives, activities, barriers faced and overcome, health department roles, accomplishments, and lessons learned. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org $15.00. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHM019.

Keywords: City health agencies, Initiatives, Local MCH programs, Program descriptions, Urban MCH programs

CityMatCH. 1997-. CITYLIGHTS. Omaha, NE: CityMatCH, irregular.

Annotation: This newsletter focuses on topics of interest to members of CityMatCH -- the national organization of city and county health departments' maternal and child health (MCH) programs and leaders representing urban communities in the United States. The serial includes articles that focus on improving the health and well-being of urban women, children, and families and on strengthening the public health organizations and leaders in communities where these populations are served. Individual editions often highlight specific issues in maternal and child health. Conference updates, statistics, and resource information are also provided. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Community health services, Electronic newsletters, Leadership, MCH programs, Program improvement, Public health, Urban populations

CityMatCH. 1992. Strengthening urban MCH capacity: Urban maternal and child health 1992 leadership conference: Conference program. Arlington, VA: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, ca. 200 pp.

Annotation: This notebook contains materials for participants in the 1992 Urban Maternal and Child Health Leadership Conference. It contains session agendas, synopses of presentations, a list of participants, and profiles of local health departments' successful initiatives in maternal and child health. Topics covered during the sessions included federal and city perspectives, policy development, local partnerships, the Healthy Start program, cultural diversity, and immunizations. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: http://www.mchlibrary.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Child health, Conferences, Maternal health, Urban population

CityMatCH Project. 1989. Resource directory of major urban MCH programs: A directory of maternal and child health programs in major urban health departments in the United States. Boston, MA: University of Nebraska Medical Center, CityMatCH, 138 pp.

Annotation: This resource directory is designed to assist public health practitioners and others concerned about the status of maternal and child health at the local level. It includes current information about the organization, leadership, services, resources, and successes of MCH programs in urban health departments across the country. The directory features a detailed profile of the maternal and child health programs in eighty of the nation's largest cities. Information in the directory is derived principally from a 1989 survey of of local health departments in the United States. The survey was conducted by The City MatCH Project, an initiative funded by the Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 Contact Phone: (402) 559-5138 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available in libraries.

Keywords: Directories, Local MCH programs, Public health

CityMatCH. CityMatCH conference. Omaha, NE: CityMatCH,

CityMatCH. CityView and membership assessment edition. CityLights. 16(4): 1-15. Spring/Summer 2008,

Annotation: This issue of CityMatCH's City LIghts newsletter focuses on forming a new maternal and child health (MCH) alliance to improve the health of women, children, and families. Topics include an overview of the issues and how to identify MCH priorities across all levels (national, state, and local). Also included is the 2007 CityMatCH membership assessment, a discussion of top-ranked health department MCH priorities and how they compare to personal priorities, a report on member representatives, a discussion of training opportunities, and an article about racial and ethnic health disparities, [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Child health, Ethnic factors, Local programs, MCH programs, National programs, Racial factors, State programs, Training, Urban populations, Women's health

CityMatCH. Disparities in urban adolescent health: What do the data tell us? . CityLights. 16(2):1-15. Fall 2007,

Annotation: This issue of City Lights discusses selected adolescent health disparities and highlights selected outcomes related to the 20 Critical Objectives for Adolescents and Young Adults addressing mortality, violence, and unintentional injury. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescent health, Ethnic factors, Income factors, Mortality, Racial factors, Risk factors, Rural populations, Statistical data, Unintentional injuries, Urban populations, Violence, Young adults

CityMatCH. Improving mental health in urban MCH. CityLights. 16(1):1-8. Early Summer 2007,

Annotation: This issue of the City Lights newsletter focuses on improving mental health in urban maternal and child health (MCH). The newsletter includes articles on the MCH influence on the mental health of college students, urban MCH leaders' assessment of local urban mental health services, adolescent suicide prevention strategies and resources, MCH leadership competencies, and 2007-2008 DaTA Institute applications, [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent behavior, Adolescent health, Child health, College students, Families, Health services, Infant health, Local programs, Mental health, Suicide prevention, Urban populations, Women's health

CityMatCH. Leadership and priorities in urban MCH: Findings from the CityMatCH membership assessment. CityLights. 13(4): 1-8. Spring 2005,

Annotation: This issue of City LIghts presents information about CityMatCH provided by members during the 2004 CityMatCH Membership Assessment. The issue describes the assessment methodology, explains who CityMatCH member representatives are, discusses member priorities, provides a snapshot of a member health department, presents a discussion with CityMatCH leaders about addressing priority MCH issues, discusses current and future initiatives, and provides a list of MCH leadership skills, competencies, and capacities. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Initiatives, Leadership, MCH services, Public health, Women's health

CityMatCH. Let's form a new MCH alliance. CityLights. 16(4):1-16. Spring/Summer 2008,

Annotation: This issue of the City Lights newsletter focuses on forming a new maternal and child health (MCH) alliance to better align local, state, and national MCH priorities. The newsletter also presents other articles on identifying MCH priorities across levels, the 2007 CityMarch membership assessment, MCH priorities, member representatives, training opportunities, succession planning, racial and ethnic health disparities, and undoing institutional racism in local public health. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Child health, Collaboration, Families, Infant health, Local program, National programs, Prevention, Public health, Racial factors, State programs, Training, Urban communities, Women's health

CityMatCH. NewsBriefs . Omaha, NE: CityMatch,

Annotation: This newsbrief is one in a series that highlights recent articles and information from maternal and child health-related organizations, publications, and e-mail lists. Topics include women's health; health disparities; overweight and obesity; adolescent health; opportunities; resources, reports, and research; and news. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Electronic newsletters, Obesity, Research, Resource materials, Women's health

CityMatCH. Promoting healthy weight: Local health departments take action . CityLights. 14(1):1-12. Summer 2005,

Annotation: This issue of CityLights focuses on strategies used by local health departments to promote healthy weight. Included are electronic interviews with leaders of local health departments; strategies to address issues related to obesity in America; and state policy efforts related to overweight and obesity. The issue also describes Colorado's program targeting inadequate weight gain in pregnancy through local strategies; the city of Detroit's efforts to promote healthy weight; and a review of data from 1999-2002 National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES), [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Child health, Community programs, Obesity, State MCH programs, State initiatives, Women's health

CityMatCH. Science-based approaches to preventing teen pregnancy . CityLights. 15(2):1-12. Summer 2006.,

Annotation: This issue of City Lights focuses on science-based approaches to preventing adolescent pregnancy. The issue includes articles on the public health challenge of addressing adolescent pregnancy and childbirth, the role of community helpers in solving the problem of unintended pregnancy, promoting science-based approaching to preventing adolescent pregnancy, sex and HIV education programs for adolescents, and promoting science-based approaching to preventing adolescent pregnancy in Massachusetts. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: , Adolescent pregnancy, Childbirth, Community role, Prevention, Public health, Sexuality education, Unwanted pregnancy

CityMatCH. Viewed through the lens: Urban MCH and the life course . CityLights. 17(1):1-12. Summer 2008.,

Annotation: This issue of City Lights focuses on urban maternal and child health and the life course. The issue discusses the life course model and perspectives and includes articles on adolescent pregnancy prevention in Pennsylvania, urban adolescent reproductive health disparities, science-based approach to adolescent pregnancy prevention (including the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's approaches), and an overview and public health implications of autism spectrum disorders, [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescents, Autism, Children, Ethnic factors, Families, Income factors, Infants, Life course, Pennsylvania, Prevention, Public health, Racial factors, Reproductive health, Urban populations, Women's health

CityMatCH. We CAN do better: Reinventing maternal and child health in America. CityLights. 17(2):1-12. Conference 2008.,

Annotation: This issue of City Lights focuses on the 2008 CityMatch Urban MCH Leadership Conference, A Life-Course Perspective: Pathways for Improving Practice in Urban MCH, held in Albuquerque, New Mexico. The issue summarizes key sessions presented at the conference,including reinventing maternal and child health (MCH) in America; the state of urban MCH; the 2008 Magda Peck Leadership Symposium; life-course health development: a transformative framework to improve children's health; moving from life-course research and theory to practice; and racial inequalities, upward mobility, and health across the life course. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Children's health, Families, Infants, Life course, Racial factors, Research, Urban populations, Women's health

CityMatCH. XVI Annual Urban Maternal and Child Health Leadership Conference, Providence 2006: Where obstacles became opportunities . CityLights. 15(3):1-8. Fall-Conference 2006.,

Annotation: This issue of the City Lights newsletter focuses on the 16th annual Urban Maternal and Child Health Leadership conference: Providence 2006: Where Obstacles Become Opportunities, held on August 20-22, 2006, in Providence, Rhode Island. The issue includes articles on the goals of the Maternal and Child Health Bureau and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, the Joint Center Health Policy Institute's efforts to ignite a fair health movement that offers people of color the opportunity to lead healthy lives, preconception health and health care, and navigating the institutional review board process, [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: CityMatCH, University of Nebraska Medical Center, Department of Pediatrics, 982170 Nebraska Medical Center, Omaha, NE 68198-2170, Telephone: (402) 552-9500 E-mail: citymch@unmc.edu Web Site: http://www.citymatch.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Children, Families, Income factors, Infants, Preconception care, Racial factors, Urban population, Women

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.