Skip Navigation

Strengthening the evidence for maternal and child health programs

AIM Partners: Products Developed by the Association of State and Territorial Health Officials (ASTHO) Bibliography

AIM Partners: Products Developed by the Association of State and Territorial Health Officials (ASTHO)

Bibliography of Materials from MCHLine®

This bibliography of 86 items is drawn from MCHLine®, the MCH Digital Library online catalog. It includes selected materials published in the last ten years that discuss guidelines and standards of care for children with special health care needs.

The MCH Digital Library focuses on publications from federal and state agencies, from grantees of federal and state agencies, and from professional and voluntary organizations. It contains unique materials on the history of maternal and child health in the United States, policy papers, reports, conference proceedings, manuals, survey instruments, guidelines, and curricula. The library does not collect materials on clinical medicine. Consumer health materials and commercially published materials are collected very selectively.

Displaying 86 records.

National Organization of State Offices of Rural Health. n.d.. State offices of rural health. [Sterling Heights, MI]: National Organization of State Offices of Rural Health, 1 p.

Annotation: This fact sheet explains what a state office of rural health (SORH) is, goals of a SORH, and why SORHs are important. Topics include how SORHs support and build local capacity and draw attention to the challenges and successes in rural health care and how they support coordination and information sharing on rural health issues within state health agencies.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Health services delivery, Information dissemination, Public health infrastructure, Role, Rural health, Rural population, Service coordination, State health agencies, State programs, Technical assistance

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials. 2016. 6 | 18 Initiative: Accelerating Evidence into Action–State Medicaid & Public Health Convening: Meeting summary. Arlington, VA: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 20 pp.

Annotation: This document summarizes a convening held on February 8–9, 2016, to launch a collaborative engagement with states to help them explore how to translate the evidence on interventions related to controlling asthma, tobacco cessation, and unintended pregnancy prevention into implementation within state Medicaid programs. Contents include pre-convening planning calls, state identified priorities and state convening meeting objectives, an overview of state convening, state team planning summary results, evaluation summary, and next steps. The appendices contain a description of the 6 | 18 Initiative to align evidence-based preventive practices with emerging value-based payment and delivery models, the meeting agenda, the participant list, and the state action plan template.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Asthma, Collaboration, Contraception, Health care delivery, Learning, Medicaid, Meetings, Models, National initiatives, Peer groups, Policy development, Pregnancy prevention, Prevention programs, Preventive health services, Program planning, Reimbursement, State programs, Statewide planning, Teamwork, Tobacco cessation

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials. 2016. State health assessment guidance and resources. Arlington, VA: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 132 pp.

Annotation: This document for state health departments provides guidance on developing a state health assessment. Contents include four modules on identifying and engaging system stakeholders; collecting and analyzing health status data; collecting and analyzing stakeholder and community input data; and summarizing, presenting, and communicating findings. Each module provides information about relevant Public Health Accreditation Board standards, measures, and guidance; ideas for structuring the process and conducting assessment activities; specific examples and lessons learned from states; sample tools and links to additional resources; and a summary of key products, deliverables, or processes resulting from the module activities.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Assessment, Communication, Data analysis, Data collection, Health status, State health agencies, Statewide planning, Systems development

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials and Illinois Public Health Institute. 2015. Developing a state health improvement plan: Guidance and resources. Arlington, VA: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 103 pp.

Annotation: This guide for state health departments provides information and tips for developing and implementing a state health improvement plan (SHIP). The information provided in the guide is consistent with National Public Health Accreditation Board (PHAB) requirements and documentation guidance and includes references to PHAB requirements and documentation guidance. Topics include identifying and engaging stakeholders in planning and implementation; engaging in visioning and systems thinking; leveraging data inputs; establishing priorities and identifying issues through priority setting; communicating SHIP priorities; developing objectives, strategies, and measures; and implementing and monitoring the SHIP.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Assessment, Health status, Program improvement, State health agencies, Statewide planning

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials. 2015. Expanding access for preventive services: Key issues for state public health agencies. Arlington, VA: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 6 pp.

Annotation: This brief provides an overview of the strategies being used to expand preventive services and the opportunities for state public health departments to influence and lead such efforts. Topics include how preventive services are currently provided in the community, understanding the Medicaid landscape in states, Medicaid state plan amendments and waivers, increasing access to preventive services through emerging professions, preventive services rule change (what the rule changes and how the regulatory change can improve community prevention efforts), opportunities to expand preventive services through community benefit program, and key points for state health departments on expanding community-based prevention services. Resources are included.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Community based services, Community health services, Medicaid, Preventive health services, Program development, Program improvement, Regulations, State health agencies

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials. 2015. Federal funding profiles. Arlington, VA: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 1 v.

Annotation: This web map contains selected federal public health funding data for the United States and U.S. territories. The tool allows users to access data for fiscal year 2014, and information related to the activities of public health agencies around the country.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Data sources, Federal programs, Financing, Public health agencies

Association of Schools and Programs of Public Health and Association of State and Territorial Health Officials. 2015. Governmental public health workforce development expert panel. Washington, DC: Association of Schools and Programs of Public Health, 12 pp. (Framing the Future)

Annotation: This report provides guidance to schools and programs of public health on meeting governmental public health agency work force training needs for improving employee's job performance in support of the population's health. Contents include key considerations, design elements, and content considerations related to providing training and support for the governmental health agency work force including those without formal training in public health or a related field.

Contact: Association of Schools and Programs of Public Health, 1900 M Street, NW, Suite 710, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 296-1099 Fax: (202) 296-1252 E-mail: info@aspph.org Web Site: http://www.aspph.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Accreditation, Employee performance appraisal, Professional education, Public health, Public health agencies, Training, Work force

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials. 2015. Medicaid match for state tobacco cessation quitlines. Arlington, VA: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 3 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet for state and territorial health officials describes federal guidance that would allow states to claim tobacco cessation quitline expenditures as a Medicaid administrative cost and receive a 50 percent administrative match rate for services provided to Medicaid beneficiaries. Topics include comprehensive coverage for pregnant women, coverage for individuals who are not pregnant including children, and tobacco cessation telephone quitlines as allowable Medicaid administrative activities. The fact sheet also describes current state status, barriers that have delayed states' implementation of the guideline, and recommendations for how state health agencies can overcome the barriers.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Administrative policy, Adolescents, Barriers, Children, Financing, Health care reform, Health insurance, Hotlines, Pregnant women, Program development, Reimbursement, Smoking cessation, State health agencies, Systems development, Tobacco use

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, de Beaumont Foundation. 2015. PH WINS: Public Health Workforce Interests and Needs Survey . Arlington, VA: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, multiple items.

Annotation: These resources draw from the first nationally representative survey of individual state health agency workers about work force development priorities, the workplace environment, and key national initiatives. Topics include systems thinking; communicating persuasively; and change management, flexibility, and adaptability. Contents include key survey findings, access to the data and a journal supplement, an infographic, and additional resources.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Attitudes, Communication skills, Decision making skills, Environmental influences, Measures, National surveys, Organizational change, Problem solving, Professional development, State health agencies, Transitions, Work force, Workplace

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials and Ohio State University College of Public Health, Center for Public Health Practice. 2015. Workforce development plan toolkit: Guidance and resources to assist state and territorial health agencies to create a workforce training and development plan. Arlington, VA: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 24 pp.

Annotation: This toolkit is designed to assist state and territorial health agencies in developing an agency-wide workforce development (WFD) plan and to facilitate preparation for accreditation through the Public Health Accreditation Board. Topics include key steps in the WFD plan process, competencies, needs assessment, communication and tracking implementation, evaluation and monitoring, WFD plan elements, and sample WFD plans and template. Related tools and resources are included.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Accreditation, Planning, Public health agencies, Staff development, Work force

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials. [2014]. Environmental scan: Best practices for developing and deploying a competency-based training needs assessment. Arlington, VA: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 13 pp.

Annotation: This report documents the results of an environmental scan of best practices for developing and deploying a needs assessment related to current capacity and knowledge of the public health work force and identify gaps in training and technical assistance to better meet the demands of the changing health care climate. Contents include current research and needs assessments conducted since the Affordable Care Act was implemented and interviews from organizations in the field.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Competency based education, Health care reform, Model programs, Needs assessment, Public health infrastructure, Research, Technical assistance, Training, Work force

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials. [2014]. Evidence-based approaches for promoting oral health. Arlington, VA: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2 pp. (Action sheets for evidence-based public health)

Annotation: This document describes state options, opportunities, and resources for implementing evidence-based oral health interventions. Contents include a summary of select recommendations from the Community Preventive Services Task Force; information about partnerships, issues and considerations, and action steps for translating the recommendations into public health practice and policy; and state experiences.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Community action, Community based services, Dental sealants, Fluorides, Oral health, Policy development, Preventive health services, Program planning, Public health, Public private partnerships, State initiatives, Water

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials. 2014. 17 alpha-hydroxyprogesterone caproate (17P). Arlington, VA: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet provides information about preterm birth (PTB) rates and racial disparities in PTB in the United States, the use of 17 alpha-hydroxyprogesterone caproate (17P) to prevent PTB, and the role of state and territorial health agencies in promoting access to 17P. Contents include state examples of 17P interventions in Louisiana, North Carolina, and Ohio. The fact sheet also discusses costs, quality, and other challenges related to the availability of and access to 17P.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Louisiana, North Carolina, Ohio, Pharmaceutical fees, Pregnant women, Preterm birth, Preventive medicine, State agencies

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials. 2014. ASTHO Healthy Babies Initiative. Arlington, VA: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials,

Annotation: This resource provides information to help state and territorial health agencies address the goal of decreasing prematurity in the United States. The resources are categorized in two ways: by life stage, including Preconception, Prenatal, Birth to 28 Days, and First Year; and by scope of resources, including Policy Resources, Community Resources, Organizational Resources, Health IT Resources, Healthcare Provider Resources, and Self-Management Resources.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Infant care, MCH programs, Policy development, Preconception care, Pregnancy outcome, Pregnant women, Prenatal care, Prevention programs, Program improvement, Resources for professionals, State initiatives

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials. 2014. ASTHO profile of state public health. Arlington, VA: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 140 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information about state public health agency activities, structure, and resources. First published in 2007, the report aims to define the scope of state public health services, identify variations in practice among state public health agencies, and contribute to the development of best practices in governmental public health. Topics include governance and structure, work force, activities, planning and quality improvement, health information management, and finance. Individual profiles of responding states; a slide deck with tables and figures from the full report; issue briefs; infographics, information for researchers (survey instrument, codebook, and related materials); and previous reports are also available.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Financing, Management, Program planning, Public health infrastructure, Quality improvement, State health agencies, Statistical data, Surveys, Trends, Work force

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials. 2014. Bright Futures and state implementation. Arlington, VA: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 12 pp.

Annotation: This issue brief provides a history and overview of Bright Futures, a national program to promote children's current and future health through a set of guidelines that aim to improve the quality of health promotion and preventive services for children. The brief discusses the role of Bright Futures in the Affordable Care Act, and provides past and present examples of state health agencies' efforts to implement Bright Futures. Topics include initiation and funding, activities, and lessons learned in Illinois, New York, Virginia, and Washington. Brief descriptions of efforts in Maine, Nevada, North Carolina, North Dakota, and Oregon are also included, as well as recommendations for states.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Bright Futures, Children, Guidelines, Health care reform, Health promotion, Illinois, Infants, National programs, New York, Pediatric care, Preventive health services, Quality assurance, State agencies, Virginia, Washington

2014. Collaboration between MCH and chronic disease. Arlington, VA: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials,

Annotation: This web page provides links to 10 case studies developed by the Association of State and Territorial Health Officials highlighting how state chronic disease directors and MCH programs are working together to deliver chronic disease prevention programs to MCH populations using either preconception health or the lifecourse health perspectives as the theoretical underpinnings. The page also links to slides from a webinar on how collaboration between maternal and child health, chronic disease, and other state and local health divisions can shift departmental focus from treatment to early prevention.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Collaboration, Disease, MCH programs

2014. Disability and health. Arlington, VA: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials,

Annotation: This web page links to resources that provide an overview of the barriers and challenges that people with disabilities face when accessing preventive health and health promotion services. Also included are 10 case studies developed by the Association of State and Territorial Health Officials (ASTHO) that provide a snapshot of what state public health departments are doing to address the health needs of people with disabilities.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to care, Barriers, Community programs, Developmental disabilities, Disabilities, Health promotion, Physical disabilities

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials. 2014. Early elective delivery. Arlington, VA: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 7 pp.

Annotation: This issue brief defines early elective delivery (EED) as a public health concern and describes the role of state health agencies in reducing EEDs. Topics include rates of labor induction, cesarean section, and EEDs; policy options and national initiatives; data collection and reporting; and examples from states.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Cesarean section, Childbirth, Data collection, Government role, Induced labor, National initiatives, Policy development, State agencies

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials. 2014. Improving newborn screening processes. Arlington, VA: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 1 p.

Lee E. 2014. Measuring customer satisfaction: Nine steps to success. Arlington, VA: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 39 pp.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Design, Evaluation, Surveys

Ramakrishnan M. 2014. Neonatal abstinence syndrome: How states can help advance the knowledge base for primary prevention and best practices of care. Arlington, VA: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 24 pp.

Annotation: This report describes opportunities to avert or ameliorate the outcome of neonatal abstinence syndrome (NAS) along a continuum of care spanning timeframes in the mother's and infant's life and the role of state health agencies. Topics include surveillance for NAS-affected infants and the sources of maternal opiate use; reimbursement for using screening protocols to detect substance abuse early in pregnancy and withdrawal signs in newborns; development of measures to ensure follow-up with opioid-dependent women and receipt of comprehensive services; and collaborative efforts to strengthen clinical standards for identification, management, and follow-up with NAS-affected infants and their families. A state index of resources is included.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Comprehensive health care, Intervention, Neonatal abstinence syndrome, Neonatal addiction, Newborn infants, Opiates, Population surveillance, Primary prevention, Screening, State health agencies, Substance use

National Institute for Health Care Management Foundation and Association of State and Territorial Health Officials. 2014. Neonatal abstinence syndrome: Strategies for states and health plans. Washington, DC: National Institute for Health Care Management Foundation, multiple items.

Annotation: These resources, from a webinar held on July 16, 2014, highlight strategies for preventing and treating neonatal abstinence syndrome (NAS). Contents include a recording of the speaker's presentations (1 hour, 27 min., 23 sec.), the webinar agenda and speaker biographies, and related materials. Topics include recent trends in opioid abuse and NAS, with an overview of federally-led prevention efforts; the impact of rising NAS rates across the states, including implications for Medicaid and examples of state-level action; a health plan-led initiative to improve care coordination and social support for pregnant women in treatment for addiction; and the latest in NAS treatment, and an assessment of where public and private investments would be most beneficial.

Contact: National Institute for Health Care Management Foundation, 1225 19th Street, N.W., Suite 710, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 296-4426 Fax: (202) 296-4319 E-mail: http://www.nihcm.org/contact Web Site: http://www.nihcm.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Analgesic drugs, Collaboration, Drug addiction, Drug effects, Federal initiatives, Health care systems, Model programs, Neonatal abstinence syndrome, Newborns, Opiates, Pregnant women, Prevention programs, Public private partnerships, State MCH programs, Substance abuse treatment

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials. 2014. Safe infant sleep. Arlington, VA: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet provides an overview of sudden unexpected infant death (SUID) and sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS), the recommended safe sleep practices to reduce the risk of SIDS and other sleep-related infant deaths, and strategies for state and territorial health agencies to reduce the rates of SIDS and other sleep-related infant deaths. Topics include laws and regulations, Cribs for Kids, safe sleep campaigns, WIC messaging, and public health recommendations.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Consumer education, Environmental influences, Infant death, Infants, Injury prevention, Legislation, Policy development, Public awareness campaigns, Regulations, Risk factors, SIDS, Sleep, Sleep position, State health agencies

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials. 2014. Safe sleep roundtable report. Arlington, VA: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 16 pp.

Annotation: This report summarizes the discussion and recommendations from a meeting held on January 24, 2014, in Arlington, Virginia, to identify priorities around safe infant sleep and develop an action plan to address those priorities. Contents include background on safe sleep; a summary of best practices; and recommendations and next steps for federal partners, state health departments, community organizations, and others. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Community action, Infant death, Infants, Meetings, Model programs, National initiatives, Planning, Policy development, Program improvement, SIDS: Injury prevention, Sleep, Sleep position, State health agencies

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials. 2014. SNAP and WIC side-by-side comparison. Arlington, VA: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 9 pp.

Annotation: This chart compares the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) and the Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants, and Children (WIC) across populations served, methods of resource allocation, and other dimensions. The last page of the document includes a chart of SNAP and WIC program locations within governmental agencies by state or territory including nine jurisdictions where WIC and SNAP are co-located and within the state/territory health agency under the same department.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Comparative analysis, Nutrition programs, Resource allocation, State health agencies, State programs, WIC program

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials. 2014. State levers for change. Arlington, VA: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, Multiple items.

Annotation: This resource for state leaders provides tools and examples from states working to address early elective deliveries. Topics include policy/leadership, increasing capacity/systems of care, partnerships and collaborations/community engagement, messaging, and data.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adverse effects, Cesarean section, Childbirth, Federal initiatives, Health education, Induced labor, Intervention, Pregnant women, Program improvement, Resources for professionals, State initiatives

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials. 2014. The Healthy Babies Initiative resources and case studies. Arlington, VA: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, multiple items.

Annotation: These resources describe state initiatives focused on improving birth outcomes. Contents include fact sheets, issue briefs, and case studies of prevention initiatives and programs that have had a positive economic impact. Topics include smoking cessation for women, maternal and infant disparities, infant mortality, prematurity and low birth weight, early elective deliveries, preconception and interconception care, nutrition and gestational diabetes, training, home visiting, newborn screening, medical home, family planning, breastfeeding, safe sleep, and life course.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Case studies, Economic factors, Infants, MCH programs, Pregnancy outcome, Pregnant women, Prevention programs, Program improvement, Resources for professionals, State initiatives

2013. Birth defects surveillance and tracking. Arlington, VA: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials,

Annotation: This web page provides links to fact sheets that outline the results of a 2009 survey, conducted by the Association of State and Territorial Health Organizations (ASTHO), of 43 state and territorial birth defects programs that assessed approaches to birth defects surveillance and tracking. It includes an overview of the birth defects surveillance programs, together with fact sheets on funding, personnel, data sources, data sharing, data exchange, and data use and dissemination.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Congenial abnormalities, Data, Population surveillance, State programs, Surveys

2013. Breastfeeding in the workplace and hospitals . Arlington, VA: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials,

Annotation: This web page links to resources and case studies that provide examples of how state health agencies have effectively supported breastfeeding in the workplace and hospitals.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding promotion, Hospitals, State initiatives, Workplace

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials. 2013. Critical congenital heart disease. Arlington, VA: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 6 pp.

Annotation: This brief discusses screening newborns for critical congenital heart disease (CCHD), including the role of state and territorial health agencies, and sample state strategies from Indiana and New Jersey. Also provided are a map and chart showing which states have passed CCHD legislation or are considering it.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Barriers, Congenital heart defects, Heart diseases, Newborn screening, State initiatives

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials. 2013. Health in all policies: Strategies to promote innovative leadership. Arlington, VA: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 21 pp.

Annotation: This paper describes a collaborative approach to improving the health of individuals and communities that integrates and articulates health considerations into policymaking across sectors and at all levels. Contents include a description of the National Prevention Strategy and key talking points to explain the Health in All Policies (HiAP) approach to leaders in state and local government. The toolkit also contains a collection of state stories based on the following characteristics of successful cross-sector collaboration: identifying shared goals, engaging partners early and developing partner relationships, defining a common language, activating the community, and leveraging funding. Strategies for implementing HiAP and perspectives on the value of HiAP are included.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Collaboration, Health policy, Health promotion, Policy development, Public policy, Public private partnerships, State initiatives

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials. 2013. Preconception care fact sheet. Washington, DC: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2 pp.

Annotation: This preconception care fact sheet provides an explanation of what preconception care is and why it is necessary and gives examples of preconception interventions and opportunities for state health agencies.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Health education, Health promotion, Infant health, Intervention, Preconception care, Pregnancy, Reproductive health, Screening, State initatives, Women's health

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials. 2013. Smoking cessation strategies for women before, during, and after pregnancy: Recommendations for state and territorial health agencies. Arlington, VA: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 16 pp.

Annotation: This document explores a coordinated health systems approach to long-term cessation outcomes for women. The issue brief contains eight recommendations; key resources; and examples from states including Alabama, California, Colorado, Massachusetts, Michigan, New York, North Carolina, Oklahoma, and Utah. Topics include training and technical assistance to health professionals, quitline services, coordinated media campaigns, customized programs, points of intervention, cessation benefits in health plans, service integration, and tobacco-control policies that augment tobacco cessation for women.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Case studies, Pregnant women, Smoking cessation, Smoking during pregnancy, State initiatives, Tobacco use, Women's health

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials. 2013. Supporting and sustaining the 2008 physical activity guidelines for Americans: The role of state and territorial health agencies. Arlington, VA: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 17 pp.

Annotation: This policy brief summarizes the health and economic benefits of physical activity and provides an overview of The 2008 Physical Activity Guidelines for Americans (PAG) and the PAG Midcourse Report: Strategies to Increase Physical Activity Among Youth. The brief includes recommendations on how state and territorial health agencies can sustain and support the physical activity guidelines and presents case studies on successful state initiatives in West Virginia, North Carolina, Georgia, Michigan, and Wisconsin.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Case studies, Guidelines, Health promotion, Physical activity, State health agencies, State initiatives

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials. 2013. Worksite wellness in state health agencies: Implementation of healthy maternity policies. Arlington, VA: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 1 video (59 min., 41 sec.).

Annotation: This webinar highlights successful strategies and best practices that have been implemented in Nevada and North Dakota state health agencies to encourage breastfeeding and to help new parents return to work. In addition, the Virginia breastfeeding coordinator describes how the Virginia Department of Health has worked with businesses to develop breastfeeding policies.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding promotion, Model programs, State initiatives, Workplace

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials. (2012). Knowing tribal health (primer). Arlington, VA: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 4 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information about tribal health, including background about different tribes and health- and government-related issues, treaties and laws, and working successfully with tribes and tribal organizations.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Alaska natives, American Indians, Culturally competent services, Legislation, Minority groups, Minority health, Public health

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials. 2012. Disabilities and inequalities in maternal and infant health outcomes. Arlington, VA: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 14 pp.

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials. 2012. Disparities and inequities in maternal and infant health outcomes. Arlington, VA: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 14 pp. (Issue brief)

Annotation: This issue brief explores the importance of maternal and infant health disparities as a public health concern. It discusses racial and ethnic disparities, economic impact, infant mortality, maternal disparities, prenatal care, geographical disparities and telemedicine, and breastfeeding, It also highlights programs that states have implemented to deal with these issues.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Case studies, Economic factors, Ethnic factors, Infant health, Infant mortality, Prenatal care, Prevention, Racial factors, State programs, Women's health

Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, Association of State and Territorial Health Officials. 2012. Improving birth outcomes in the U.S.: State efforts to reduce prematurity. [Washington, DC]: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 62 pp.

Annotation: These presentation slides provide examples of how states can move forward in achieving the goal of prematurity reduction. The webinar, held on July 12, 2012, outlines the Healthy Babies Initiative to decrease prematurity in the United States by 8 percent by 2014. Presenters highlight the experience and strategies of two states that have met the challenge goal (Alaska and Vermont) and one state currently working toward that goal (Oklahoma).

Contact: Association of Maternal and Child Health Programs, 1825 K Street, N.W., Suite 250, Washington, DC 20006-1202, Telephone: (202) 775-0436 Fax: (202) 478-5120 E-mail: info@amchp.org Web Site: http://www.amchp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Alaska, Oklahoma, Premature infants, Prematurity, Preterm birth, Prevention programs, State initiatives, Vermont

Meit M, Kronstadt J, Brown A. 2012. Promising practices in the coordination of state and local public health: Final report. Arlington, VA: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 21 pp.

Annotation: This study highlights promising public health practices in nine different states that involve coordination across federal agencies, state health agencies, and tribal, local, and territorial health departments. The study focuses on state and local health departments that have developed structures and processes to facilitate collaboration in Arizona, California, Florida, Massachusetts, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Washington, and Wisconsin. Included are key findings in the areas of communication, alignment of funding, and quality improvement. The study was conducted by NORC at the University of Chicago and is part of the National Public Health Improvement Initiative administered by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Models, Public health, State programs, Studies, service coordination

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials. 2012. State options for enhancing health information exchange for MCH systems. Arlington, VA: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 8 pp.

Annotation: This resource describes what states have done to improve their systems for sharing data through widespread adoption of electronic records, including population screening, programs for infants and children with special health care needs, and registry and data programs.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Health care systems, Information systems, MCH programs, Medical records, Program improvement, State programs, Technology

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials. 2012. Texas and Louisiana: Healthy Start for more infants. Arlington, VA: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 10 pp.

Annotation: This report presents case studies from Texas and Louisiana that illustrate innovative approaches that states are employing to help ensure that more children get a healthy start in life. The report provides background information on the complications often resulting from premature birth and discusses the essential features of Texas's Healthy Babies Initiative and Louisiana's Birth Outcomes Initiative. Resources for more information about the programs are provided.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Child health, Infant health, Initiatives, Louisiana, Premature infants, Prematurity, Prenatal care, Pregnant women, Preterm birth, Prevention, State programs, Texas

2011. Coordinating health services: WIC and public health programs. Arlington, VA: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials,

Annotation: This web page provides links to documents that summarize the successes, challenges encountered, and lessons learned from interviews conducted with Midwest and Mountain region WIC program survey respondents. The interviews were a follow-up to the 2010 survey administered by the National WIC Association (developed by the Association of State and Territorial Health Official (ASTHO) and the National Association of County and City Health Officials (NACCHO)) to identify state and local collaborations with WIC. The site also provides a link to a webcast, presented by ASTHO and NACCHO, highlighted state and local models of collaboration between the Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women and Children (WIC) and other public health programs.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Collaboration, Community programs, State programs, Surveys, WIC program

Barbacci K, Sellers K with Pearsol J, Jarris P. 2010. Chartbook of state public health. Arlington, VA: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 46 pp.

Annotation: This chartbook, which is designed to serve as a volume for statistical reference and as a resource for state and local health departments, policymakers, federal agencies, governing bodies, researchers, and others to help them better understand the U.S. public health infrastructure, contains numeric and tabular data derived from the Association of State and Territorial Health Officials' State Public Health Survey conducted in 2007. The chartbook addresses four major topic areas: public health responsibilities, organization and structure, state health planning and quality improvement, and state health agency work force.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Health care systems, Public health, Quality assurance, State health agencies, Statistical data, Surveys, Work force

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials. 2010. Communicating effectively about vaccines: New communication resources for health officials. Arlington, VA: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 28 pp.

Annotation: This document presents results of a study to identify better ways to communicate with parents, policy makers, media, and the public about the benefits and safety of vaccines. The study was aimed at vaccine-hesitant parents and core influencers of these parents. The document discusses how to understand the target audiences, key messages, and creative advertising concepts. The messages were developed using surveys and focus groups with the target audiences.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Beliefs, Communication, Immunization, National surveys, Parenting attitudes, Public opinion, Trust

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials. 2010. Communicating effectively about vaccines: Summary of a survey of U.S. parents and guardians. Arlington, VA: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 12 pp.

Annotation: This document for state and territorial health officials summarizes results from a survey of U.S. parents and guardians to gather information about reasons for delaying or refusing vaccines. Contents include demographic, geographic and attitudinal profiles of respondents; reasons for opposing or supporting vaccinations; ratings of messages about vaccinations; sources of influence; and discussion and conclusion.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Beliefs, Communication, Immunization, National surveys, Parenting attitudes, Public opinion, Trust

2010. Making the case for maternal and child health programs: Kentucky Homeplace. Arlington, VA: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials , 4 pp.

Annotation: This report summarizes findings from a study of the Kentucky Homeplace program, designed to assist Kentucky residents in need of health care but who lack access to services, especially preventive care. The report provides an overview of the program, which addresses health disparities throughout rural Kentucky, where cancer, diabetes, and heart disease prevalence are high. It summarizes the cost of the program and return on investment, the measures and outcomes of interest, and the key findings from the study. Data taken from the Kentucky Homeplace project database covers the period from July 2001 through October 2009.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Health care disparities, Health status disparities, Kentucky, Prevention, State programs, Studies

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, National Association of City and County Health Officials, and Safe States Alliance. 2010. Policies to prevent bullying in schools. [Atlanta, GA: Safe States,

Annotation: This webcast features presentations by professionals and advocates who are actively involved in shaping policy to prevent bullying. Speakers discuss their experiences with anti-bullying legislation (including legislation related to cyberbullying), describe the process needed to get such policies enacted, and provide insights on how state and local public health professionals can get more involved in the development and implementation of these policies.

Contact: Safe States Alliance, 2200 Century Parkway , Atlanta, GA 30341, Telephone: (770) 690-9000 Fax: (770) 690-8996 E-mail: info@safestates.org Web Site: http://www.safestates.org/ Available from the website.

Keywords: Bullying, Legislation, Policy development, Prevention, Public health, School health

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials. 2010. The 2010 state public health genomics resource guide [2nd ed.]. Arlington, VA: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 80 pp.

Annotation: This guide highlights approaches and challenges by states to integrate genomics into their public health programs. The guide is divided into the following three sections: (1) Overview of Public Health Genomics Today, (2) Promising Practices in Public Health Genomics, and (3) Charting a Path in Your State. The framework features state examples and tools and resources that can be used in other states.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Genomics, Model programs, Public health programs, State health agencies, Statewide planning

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials. 2009. Community water fluoridation. Arlington, VA: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2 pp. (Position statement)

Halfon N. 2008. Life course health development: A framework to guide research, practice and health reform. Los Angeles, CA: UCLA Center for Healthier Children, Families, and Communities, 93 slides.

Annotation: This slide presentation reviews the evidence and potential impact of the developmental origins of health and disease and considers the role that the emerging life course health development role can play. It introduces the life course framework, distinguishes the life course health development (LCHD) framework from lifespan and life course approaches; describes the implications and applications of the LCHD model; and discusses the relevance to child health policy development. The presentation was given during a joint conference of the Association of State and Territorial Health Officials (ASTHO) and the National Association of County and City Health Officials (NACCHO) in September 2008.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Child development, Factors, Health reform, Life course, Models

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials and National Institute for Health Care Management Foundation. 2007. Childhood obesity: Harnessing the power of public and private partnerships. Arlington, VA: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials; Washington, DC: National Institute for Health Care Management Foundation, 22 pp.

Annotation: This report describes leading collaborations between state health agencies and private health plans in addressing childhood obesity. The report profiles three distinct cases of such partnerships and briefly discusses a fourth case involving different but related public and private collaborators.For each case study, the authors conducted in-depth interviews with key representatives from a large health plan in the state and the state health agency to learn about the factors that contributed to the success of these collaborations, as well as the challenges that were encountered. The report begins with an executive summary, an introduction, and a description of the approach. The following collaborations are then profiled: (1) Healthy Choices -- Massachusetts, (2) Highmark Health High 5 Health eTools for Schools -- Pennsylvania, and (3) BlueCross Walking Works for School -- Tennessee. The next section of the report is a table with information on the three programs. Finally, the report considers plural partnerships with a look at successful collaborations in North Carolina. A conclusion, a technical appendix, and references are included.

Contact: National Institute for Health Care Management Foundation, 1225 19th Street, N.W., Suite 710, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 296-4426 Fax: (202) 296-4319 E-mail: http://www.nihcm.org/contact Web Site: http://www.nihcm.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Case studies, Child health, Collaboration, Interviews, Massachusetts, North Carolina, Obesity, Pennsylvania, State programs, Tennessee

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials. 2007. Diabetes and women's health: Evaluating progress and future needs—Assessment for partners of the national Public Health initiatives on Diabetes and Women's Health. Arlington, VA: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 23 pp.

Annotation: This report provides the results of a survey sent to all partners of the National Public Health Initiative on Diabetes and Women's Health. The survey evaluated partners' progress on specific objectives and strategies outlined in the initiative and asked about their future needs. Contents include a description of the Initiative; evaluation methods used for the survey; and results, conclusions, and recommendations. Appendices include action steps,ways to help organizations meet their technical needs, organizations to be included in the initiative, success stories, and a list of organizations participating in the survey.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Diabetes mellitus, National initiatives, Needs assessment, Research, Surveys, Women's health

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials. 2007. Information on state abstinence from abstinence-only education (Section 510) funding. Arlington, VA: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 7 pp. (MCH technical assistance)

Annotation: This document is a response to a member's information reequest. It provides a chart showing which states declined Section 510 Abstinence funds in 2007, whether they had received funding in 2006, which state applied for funding in 2007 but not in 2006, and the amounts these states were eligible to receive. It also provides links to media reports, organizational policy statements on sex education, state program evaluations, and other evaluations.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Abstinence, Legislation, Prevention programs, Program evaluation, Sexuality education, State programs

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials. 2006. Bringing home better birth outcomes. Washington, DC: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 6 pp. (Issue brief)

Annotation: This brief examines home visiting as a strategy employed by state health agencies to deliver public health interventions aimed at improving birth outcomes. It provides an overview of home visiting programs; a discussion of goals, target populations, common service components, outcomes, and financing of state level programs; and examples of programs from four states and one territory. Additional topics include benefits and costs and program challenges. Resources and references conclude the brief. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Case studies, Early intervention, Georgia, Home care services, Home visiting, MCH research, Maine, Montana, Oklahoma, Postpartum care, Pregnancy counseling, Pregnancy outcomes, Prenatal care, Public health services, Puerto Rico, State MCH programs

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials. 2005. Integrating MCH and oral health programs to improve health. Washington, DC: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 12 pp. (Issue brief)

Annotation: This issue brief addresses issues in disparities in the oral health status of the maternal and child health (MCH) population. The brief focuses on children and adolescents from families with low incomes, children and adolescents from minority groups, and the role of state public health agencies in identifying opportunities to integrate oral health into MCH programs. The brief provides examples of ways that state public health agencies are fostering relationships, highlighting efforts in five areas: (1) surveillance (Alaska, Colorado, Nevada, Ohio, and Wisconsin), (2) prenatal (Louisiana, Pennsylvania, Utah, Wisconsin, and Wyoming), (3) early childhood oral health (Alabama, Nevada, Ohio, Rhode Island, and Texas), (4) increasing access to preventive care (Colorado, Connecticut, Oklahoma, Montana, Nebraska, and South Carolina), and (5) injury-prevention (Arkansas and Kentucky). [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Case studies, Disease prevention, Early childhood caries, Injury prevention, MCH services, Oral health, Population surveillance, Prenatal care, Prevention programs, Public health, Service integration, State health agencies, State programs

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials. 2005. Knowledge management for public health professionals. Washington, DC: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 35 pp.

Annotation: This paper provides health officials and other public health practitioners an introduction into the concepts involved in knowledge management (KM) and describes how experts and practitioners have attempted to organize their information. It is organized into three major sections: (1) exploring KM concepts, tracking the evolution of data to knowledge, and identifying key components of KM; (2) relating the concepts of KM to public health activities and goals; and (3) describing key activities that contribute to implementing a KM approach in an organization or community. Appendices include a list of contributors and reviewers, public health KM activities identified by public health professionals, examples of public health KM functions for the essential public health services, and references. Additional KM resources are also provided.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Information dissemination, Information services, Knowledge management, Public health

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials. 2004. Caring for America's forgotten children: Formulating policies and programs to improve HIV and STD prevention education in juvenile justice facilities. Washington, DC: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 30 pp.

Annotation: The purpose of this report is to assist states in implementing policy and program initiatives that can enhance their abilities to implement effective HIV and STD prevention education programs in juvenile justice facilities. The report identifies four areas of opportunity that states may pursue to improve HIV and STD prevention targeting incarcerated youth and describes the potential benefits of pursuing these areas of opportunity. The report also presents action steps that states may take toward improving the health of incarcerated youth. Acknowledgments and references are included.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available in libraries.

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescents, Education, HIV, High risk adolescents, Incarcerated youth, Initiatives, Juvenile justice, Prevention, Public policy, Sexually transmitted diseases, State programs, Youth

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials. 2004. Reducing racial and ethnic health disparities: Five statewide approaches. Washington, DC: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 9 pp. (Issue report)

Annotation: This report, which is geared toward state public health agencies, highlights the work of five states in which the state health agency is leading a statewide approach to raise awareness of health disparities in their communities and to develop policies and programs to address this issue. The states highlighted are Texas, Minnesota, Rhode Island, Tennessee, and Florida. The report contains an executive summary, a section on each of the five states, and a conclusion.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Communities, Economic factors, Ethnic factors, Florida, Health, Low income groups, Minnesota, Minority groups, Public health, Public policy, Racial factors, Rhode Island, State initiatives, State programs, Tennessee, Texas

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials and National Association of County and City Health Officials. 2003. Health departments take action: Case studies of state and local models addressing racial and ethnic disparities in health. Washington, DC: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, National Association of County and City Health Officials, 26 pp.

Annotation: This document follows up on a previous publication on state and local efforts to reduce disparities in health among racial and ethnic minorities by reporting on focus groups conducted with program leaders and community stakeholders of seven of the programs featured earlier. Participants were interviewed about how their programs were initiated; what priority health issues are being addressed; what key partnerships were formed; what barriers were encountered, overcome, and remain; and what strategies are being employed to promote evaluation and sustainability. The seven focus groups include Collier County (FL) Health Department, Custer (ND) Health District, Los Angeles (CA) County Department of Health, Piedmont (VA) Health District, Rhode Island Department of Health, Spokane (WA) Regional Health District, and Tennessee Department of Health. Each case study includes a brief chart outlining the population, racial and ethnic breakdown, and leading preventable morbidity and mortality disparities. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to care, Case studies, Ethnic factors, Health promotion, Healthy People 2010, Local initiatives, Model programs, Program descriptions, Racial factors, State initiatives, State programs

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials. 2003. Integrating information systems to improve MCH. Washington, DC: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 11 pp. (Issue report)

Annotation: This report presents an overview of some key components and challenges related to integrating child health information systems, supplemented by some specific examples. It includes an executive summary and discusses the goals of integrated data systems and how systems got started. It provides descriptions of several existing systems and offers a conclusion. References are included.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Child health, Data, Integrated information systems

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials. 2002. Health disparities collaboratives and Medicaid disease management: Tracking trends affecting public health. Washington, DC: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 7 pp.

Annotation: This report discusses health disparities collaboratives sponsored by the Bureau of Primary Health Care to bring community health center teams together under the guidance of national experts to generate rapid improvements in care with a focus on disease management, specifically on diabetes, cardiovascular disease, asthma, and depression. This report describes health disparities collaboratives, lists outcomes of the collaboratives to date, discusses what state public health agencies can do, discusses Medicaid disease management, describes ways in which state public health agencies have been involved, and offers some suggested areas of involvement. The report concludes with a list of general resources.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Collaboration, Disease management, Low income groups, Medicaid, Primary care, Public health agencies, Racial factors, State health agencies, State programs, Underserved communities

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials. 2002. Preparedness planning for state health officials: Nature's terrorist attack pandemic influenza. Washington, DC: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 14 pp.

Annotation: This report describes the challenges involved in planning and responding to pandemic influenza. The report, which includes an executive summary, also includes a state health official checklist to help health officials determine whether their states are ready for pandemic influenza. Also discussed are sources of authority, policies and protocols, surge capacity, and risk communications. References and a conclusion are included. The report includes one appendix, which contains a list of resources.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Communication, Disaster planning, Disease, Influenza, Protocols, Public policy, State health agencies

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials. 2002. The oral health and chronic disease connection. Washington, DC: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 7 pp.

Annotation: This access brief addresses oral health and the role of state public health. The brief provides an overview of the relationship between oral health and certain chronic diseases, focusing on diabetes, cardiovascular disease, osteoporosis, and obesity. The brief provides examples of innovative national and state programs addressing oral health and chronic diseases, such as the National Network for Oral Health Access and the Missouri Diabetes and Oral Health pilot program.

Keywords: Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Missouri, National programs, Oral health, Prevention programs, Public health, State programs

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials and National Association of County and City Health Officials. 2001. Health departments take action: A compendium of state and local models addressing racial and ethnic disparities in health. Washington, DC: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, National Association of County and City Health Officials, 102 pp.

Annotation: This compendium for policy makers and program administrators outlines selected state and local initiatives for addressing racial and ethnic disparities in health as outlined in the Healthy People 2010 program. Programs are described under the following topics: chronic disease prevention; other health issues; health professional training; community assessment and development; general health promotion; needs assessment and data capacity; preventive health care; and summary of state and local health disparities programs. Also included is an index of programs by geographic location, and two appendices listing federal and national programs and other resources on health disparities. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available in libraries.

Keywords: Access to care, Ethnic factors, Health promotion, Healthy People 2010, Model programs, Program descriptions, Racial factors, State initiatives, State programs, Violence prevention

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials. 1994. Multicultural maternal and child health outreach: Case study of Washington state strategies to assure access for Asian and Pacific Islander communities. Washington, DC: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 32 pp.

Annotation: This report documents the efforts of Washington state's health agency to improve access for Asian and Pacific Islander women and children. The report focuses on policies and program implementation and serves as an example of how state health agencies and MCH programs can assure that public health services meet the changing cultural and linguistic needs of the state's population.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Asian Americans, Access to health care, Case studies, Culturally competent services, Pacific Americans, State initiatives, Washington

Trumpfheller B, Foerster S, Palombo R, eds. 1993. The national action plan to improve the American diet: A public/private partnership. Washington, DC: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 76 pp.

Annotation: This report contains the proposal of the Panel to Develop a National Strategic Plan to Prevent Diet-related Chronic Diseases. The report provides a historical context for the plan; lists the priority actions; and explains the mission, values, vision, and next steps that need to be taken by the public/private partnership proposed in the plan. Two appendices include various background materials and the components of the work plan for the partnership. The panel, an ad hoc group initiated by the Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, included representatives from other public interest groups and the federal government.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Contact Phone: (202) 546-5400 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Disease prevention, Health promotion, Nutrition education, Nutrition policy, Public private partnerships

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials. 1991-. ASTHO access report. Washington, DC: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, eight per year?

Annotation: This newsletter highlights the activities of state health officials, the initiatives taken in their state's health departments, and the development of policies affecting the delivery of health care through public health departments. Each issue contains general articles which frequently feature the activities in individual states and includes information on grants and awards, general notices, and future meetings. Special issues dedicated to single topics of interest are produced periodically. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Contact Phone: (202) 546-5400 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Price unknown.

Keywords: Health care delivery, Health professionals, Newsletters, Policy development, Public health, State government, State initiatives

American Public Health Association; Association of Schools of Public Health; Association of State and Territorial Health Officials; U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service, Centers for Disease Control; National Association of County Health Officials; and United States Conference of Local Health Officers. 1991. APEXPH: Assessment protocol for excellence in public health. Washington, DC: National Association of County Health Officials, 109 pp.

Annotation: This workbook is designed to help local health departments enhance their organizational capacity and strengthen their leadership role in the community. It guides officials in improving the organizational capacity and in working with the local community to assess and improve the health status of the citizens. The workbook includes instructions and worksheets to be filled out by participants, models for a community health committee, a bibliography, glossary, and other materials. The project is a cooperative project of the American Public Health Association, the Association of Schools of Public Health, the Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, the Centers for Disease Control, the National Association of County Health Officials, and the United States Conference of Local Health Officials.

Contact: National Association of County and City Health Officials, 1100 17th Street, N.W., Seventh Floor, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 783-5550 Fax: (202) 783-1583 E-mail: info@naccho.org Web Site: http://www.naccho.org $9.95 members, $19.95 nonmembers.

Keywords: Assessment, Community health services, Community participation, Local programs, Public health agencies

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials and the New Jersey Department of Health. 1991. Recommendations from a workshop on suicide contagion and the reporting of suicides. McLean, VA: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 8 pp.

Annotation: These recommendations were developed at a 1989 workshop sponsored by the Association of State and Territorial Health Officials and the New Jersey Department of Health. Funding was provided by the Bureau of Maternal and Child Health and the Public Health Foundation. The workshop focused on issues facing both the news media and public officials when dealing with an incident of suicide. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Contact Phone: (703) 556-9222 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Injury prevention, Suicide, Violence, Witnesses

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials. 199?-. ASTHO access brief. Washington, DC: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, irregular.

Annotation: These access briefs are part of a series that analyzes and synthesizes prevailing issues in three areas: children's health insurance implementation, maternal and child health, and for-profit conversions. Number 2, which deals with children's health insurance, discusses resources on innovative school-related programs. Number 4 is an outreach and enrollment overview. Number 5 discusses outstationed eligibility workers and innovative programs. Number 6 discusses minimizing welfare stigma and facilitating enrollment. Number 7 discusses ensuring access and developing the capacity of primary care systems. Number 8 discusses quality and performance measurement. On for-profit conversions, the August 1998 issue provides examples of activities of public health–related foundations.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available at no charge.

Keywords: Enrollment, Outreach, Social Security Act, Title XXI, Social workers, State Children's Health Insurance Program

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials and Public Health Foundation. 1988. Developing a plan of action for the 1990s: Proceedings of the first national symposium for maternal and child health. Washington, DC: Public Health Foundation, 30 pp.

Annotation: These proceedings summarize speaker presentations and roundtable recommendations from this symposium to improve communication in the maternal and child health field and to strengthen organizational ties. Topics covered include intra- and interagency collaboration; standard setting, planning, and evaluation for maternal and child health services; utilizing alternative financing methods; working more effectively with the legislature, media, and advocacy groups; followup of high-risk infants; and needs of special population groups. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Public Health Foundation, 1300 L Street, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 218-4400 Fax: (202) 218-4409 E-mail: info@phf.org Web Site: http://www.phf.org Available from the website. Document Number: 109.

Keywords: Child health, Maternal health, Planning

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service, Centers for Disease Control, and Association of State and Territorial Health Officials. 1987. First national conference on chronic disease prevention and control: Identifying effective strategies: Conference summary. Atlanta, GA: Centers for Disease Control, 60 pp.

Annotation: These proceedings provide working group reports from a conference held September 9-11, 1986 in Atlanta, Georgia. They cover three areas: 1) strategies for chronic disease prevention and control, including behavioral, health care, and environmental and occupational; 2) state-based chronic disease control programs, including cancer, cardiovascular disease, and diabetes and related chronic diseases; and 3) program needs on the local, state, and federal levels, including surveillance, applied research, and technology transfer; program organization, implementation, and evaluation; marketing and communications, and training and expertise.

Keywords: Conference proceedings, Health promotion

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials Foundation. 1985. Exemplary and innovative health department programs for service delivery to adolescents. Kensington, MD: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials Foundation, 29 pp.

Annotation: This paper describes a number of exemplary or innovative programs developed by state health agencies to reduce infant mortality. The first part of the paper summarizes programs by state. The second part is a chart of programs by category, which are grouped as follows: 1) low birthweight, preterm birth, and prenatal care programs, 2) perinatal, infant, and child care programs, 3) adolescent pregnancy programs, 4) special programs that don't fit easily into the other three categories.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Price unknown.

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Child health, Directories, Infant health, Infant mortality, Postpartum care, Prenatal care, State MCH programs

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials Foundation. 1985. Profile of 1983 State Health Agency Data Relevant to the 1990 Objectives for the Nation: Special report. Washington, DC: ASTHO Foundation, 121 pp.

Annotation: This special report provides information related to the technical reports entitles, Public Health Agencies 1983, as conveyed to the Association of State and Territorial Health Officials Foundation (ASTHO) Foundation by the state and territorial health agencies. [Funded in part by the Division of Maternal and Child Health]

Keywords: Costs, Financing, Fiscal management, Reports, State health agencies

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials Foundation. 1982-83. Public health agencies 1982-83: An inventory of programs and block grant expenditures. Washington, DC: Public Health Foundation, annual.

Annotation: This report illustrates total expenditures for each public health program operated by the nation's state and territorial health agencies. The document reports the amount of funds from the Prevention Block Grant and the Maternal and Child Health Services Block Grant spent by each program by fiscal year. The appendix includes a detailed state-by-state listing, for each fiscal year, of public health expenditures. A staff directory is provided for state and territorial health officials, state liaison staff and the Public Health Foundation. This report was supported by the Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Centers for Disease Control and the Maternal and Child Health Bureau. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available in libraries.

Keywords: Costs, Nutrition, Public health

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials Foundation. 1982-83. Public health agencies 1982-83: Expenditures and sources of funds. Washington, DC: Public Health Foundation, annual.

Annotation: This report presents a comprehensive overview of the fiscal characteristics and staffs of the nations' State Health Agencies (SHA). It describes the funding and expenditures of the nation's SHAs, and highlights aspects such as sources of funds for SHA personal health programs, SHA expenditures for prevention, and staffing of SHAs. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available in libraries.

Keywords: Costs, Financing, Fiscal management, Reports, State health agencies

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials Foundation. 1982-83. Public health agencies 1982-83: Services and activities. Washington, DC: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials Foundation, annual.

Annotation: This report presents an overview of the services provided through the personal health, environmental health, health resources, and laboratory programs of the Nation's state health agencies. [Funded in part by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available in libraries.

Keywords: Public health, Statistics

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials Foundation. 1982-83. Public health agencies 1982-83: Services for mothers and children. Washington, DC: Public Health Foundation, annual.

Annotation: This report reviews a revised set of data on both maternal and child health and crippled children's services. Part one of the report describes the health services for women of childbearing age and children provided, arranged, and purchased by Maternal and Child Health Units (MCHUs). Services provided, arranged, and purchased for handicapped children through State Crippled Children's Agencies (SCCAs) are reviewed in part two. Appendix A describes the Association of State and Territorial Health Officials Foundation forms revision process and provides background on the data collection methodology. The extent to which MCHUs and SCCAs reported complete data on services provided through local health departments and other service providers is discussed in Appendix B. Appendix C contains supplemental tables from secondary data sources. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available in libraries. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHA298 (1982).

Keywords: Child health services, Children with special health care needs, Data analysis, Maternal health services, Reports, State CSHCN programs, State MCH programs, Statistics

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials Reporting System. 1977?-2002. Selected Title V maternal and child health services fiscal year __. Silver Spring, MD: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 5 v. (ASTHO-NPHPRS publication; no. 44 (FY 1977), no. 54 (FY 1979))

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials. 1977-1981. Selected Title V crippled children's services. Silver Spring, MD: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, annual. (ASTHO-NPHPRS publication; no. 53 (FY 1979), no. 48 (FY 1978), no. 43 (FY 1977))

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials National Public Health Program Reporting System. 1975-1979. Comprehensive NPHPRS report: Services, expenditures and programs of state and territorial health agencies--Fiscal year 19__. Silver Spring, MD: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, National Public Health Reporting System, annual.

Annotation: This report provides information about the expenditures, sources of funds, and services provided by the Nation's official state health agencies in the fiscal year s1978 and succeeding years. The information is intended to aid planning, evaluation, budgetary, and legislative functions at the national level. Program areas described include personal health, environmental health, health resources, laboratory, and Medicaid and social programs.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, National Public Health Program Reporting System, 962 Wayne Avenue, Suite 403, Silver Spring, MD 20910, Telephone: (301) 589-2520 Available in libraries.

Keywords: Costs, Federal government, Government financing, Public health programs, Public health services, State programs

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, National Public Health Program Reporting System. 1970s. Inventory of programs and expenditures of state and territorial health agencies. [Silver Spring, MD]: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, National Public Health Program Reporting System, annual.

Annotation: This annual publication of the Inventory of Health Programs from data of the National Public Health Program Reporting System provides a state-by-state listing of FY public health programs and expenditures. Program areas covered are personal health, environmental health, health resources, laboratory, general andministration and services, and funds to local health departments not allocated to program areas.

Keywords: Costs, Federal grants, Government financing, Public health programs, Public health services, State programs

Association of State and Territorial Health Officials. Making the case for MCH programs. [Arlington, VA]: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, multiple items.

Annotation: This website is a resource for maternal and child health (MCH) and other public health advocates exploring cost-based or economic-based analyses of programs and policies. The site includes sample state cost analyses, a glossary of terms commonly used in cost analysis and business case materials, and annotated bibliographies providing a literature review of peer-reviewed studies regarding cost data and the topics of breastfeeding, contraception, obesity prevention, preterm birth, and prenatal smoking.

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Advocacy, Case studies, Child health, Costs, Economic factors, Maternal health, Model programs, Program evaluation

Cullen B, Boyer A, Greenberg L. Special edition: Public health strategies for Medicaid managed care. ASTHO Access Report. 4(1):1-6. September 1995,

Annotation: This article appears in a special issue of the newsletter and comprises the majority of the issue. The article presents information on ways that state initiatives tested in Medicaid 1115 waivers can be transferred to the operations of public health services. The article focuses on lessons learned regarding quality assurance, direct access to care, and the provision of services to children with special health needs. Each topic is considered in detail, and the features of the state initiatives that can be incorporated into public health delivery systems are emphasized with regard to assessment, policy development, and quality assurance. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Association of State and Territorial Health Officials, 2231 Crystal Drive, Suite 450, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (202) 371-9090 Contact Phone: (202) 546-5400 Fax: (571) 527-3189 Web Site: http://www.astho.org Price unknown.

Keywords: Access to care, Children with special health care needs, Health care delivery, Medicaid managed care, Program development, Public health, Quality assurance, State initiatives, Waiver 1115

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.