Skip Navigation

Strengthening the evidence for maternal and child health programs

AIM Partners: Products Developed by the American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry (AAPD) Bibliography

AIM Partners: Products Developed by the American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry (AAPD)

Bibliography of Materials from MCHLine®

This bibliography of 26 items is drawn from MCHLine®, the MCH Digital Library online catalog. It includes selected materials published primarily in the last ten years.  

The MCH Digital Library focuses on publications from federal and state agencies, from grantees of federal and state agencies, and from professional and voluntary organizations. It contains unique materials on the history of maternal and child health in the United States, policy papers, reports, conference proceedings, manuals, survey instruments, guidelines, and curricula. The library does not collect materials on clinical medicine. Consumer health materials and commercially published materials are collected very selectively.

Displaying 26 records.

Caffrey E, Tate AR, Cashion SW, Lee JY, Casamassimo P, Wright R, Litch CS, Essling M. 2017. Are your kids covered? Medicaid coverage for the essential oral health benefits. Chicago, IL: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, 15 pp.

Annotation: This paper evaluates Medicaid coverage for a group of selected Codes on Dental Procedures and Nomenclature (CDT codes) that address barriers to oral health and extend beyond traditional procedures most commonly covered by dental insurance plans for the management of dental caries in children. For each code, the paper includes a rationale for coverage, recommendations from the American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, and results that could be achieved by expanding coverage to include the code. Determining code coverage processes and criteria is also discussed, and a state-by-state list of codes covered by Medicaid is provided.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Suite 1600, Chicago, IL 60611-2637, Telephone: (312) 337-2169 Fax: (312) 337-6329 Web Site: http://www.aapd.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Dental caries, Disease prevention, Insurance, Medicaid, Oral health

Meeske JA, Brickhouse TH, Casamassimo P, Wright R, Litch CS, Essling M. 2017. Pediatric dentist toolkit for seeing patients with Medicaid: Changing children's lives one smile at a time. Chicago, IL: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, Pediatric Oral Health Research and Policy Center, 19 pp.

Annotation: This toolkit for pediatric dentists offers guidance on providing care to children enrolled in Medicaid within a practice setting. Topics include understanding Medicaid, Medicaid coverage for dental services, why dentists should consider participating in Medicaid, and how to become a Medicaid provider. Additional topics include how to prepare a pediatric dental team to work with the Medicaid system, how to schedule clients, how to find training opportunities for team members, how to administer Medicaid, and how to locate resources.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, Pediatric Oral Health Research and Policy Center, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Suite 1600, Chicago, IL 60611-2637, Telephone: (312) 337-2169 Secondary Telephone: (800) 544-2174 Fax: (312) 337-6329 E-mail: pohrpc@aapd.org Web Site: http://www.aapd.org/policy_center Available from the website.

Keywords: Children, Dental care, EPSDT, Medicaid, Oral health, Pediatric care, Pediatric dentistry, Pediatric dentists, Provider participation, Reimbursement, Resources for professionals, Screening

American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry. 2016. Definitions, oral health policies, and clinical guidelines. Chicago, IL: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, multiple items.

Annotation: This resource comprises definitions, policies, and clinical guidelines of the American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry. New, revised, and reaffirmed policies and guidelines address topics such as medically necessary care, work force issues and delivery of oral health services in a dental home, use of fluoride, use of dental bleaching, infection control, caries-risk assessment and management, restorative dentistry, oral surgery, and informed consent.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Suite 1600, Chicago, IL 60611-2637, Telephone: (312) 337-2169 Fax: (312) 337-6329 Web Site: http://www.aapd.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Children with special health care needs, Dental care, Guidelines, Health policy, Infants, Oral health, Pediatric dentistry, Perinatal health, Professional societies

American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry. 2016. Guideline on perinatal and infant oral health care. Chicago, IL: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, 5 pp.

Annotation: [in process]

Contact: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Suite 1600, Chicago, IL 60611-2637, Telephone: (312) 337-2169 Fax: (312) 337-6329 Web Site: http://www.aapd.org Available from the website.

Frese W, Nowak A, Royston L, Mathew T, Casamassimo P, Wright R, Silverman J, Yin H. [2015]. Caries risk factors for primary care providers based on shared determinants of health. Chicago, IL: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, Pediatric Oral Health Research and Policy Center, 15 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information about a project conducted by the American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry's Pediatric Oral Health Research and Policy Center to develop a new caries risk assessment tool for pediatric health professionals. The report discusses why currently available caries risk assessment tools are not widely used and what methods pediatric health professionals are using to assess risk instead, methods for collecting data (including analyzing retrospective chart reviews and conducting interviews with pediatric health professionals), results, and a discussion.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, Pediatric Oral Health Research and Policy Center, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Suite 1600, Chicago, IL 60611-2637, Telephone: (312) 337-2169 Secondary Telephone: (800) 544-2174 Fax: (312) 337-6329 E-mail: pohrpc@aapd.org Web Site: http://www.aapd.org/policy_center Available from the website.

Keywords: Dental caries, Oral health, Primary care, Service integration, risk assessment

American Dental Association, Health Policy Institute, and American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry Pediatric Oral Health Research & Policy Center. 2015. Dental care in accountable care organizations: Insights from 5 case studies. Chicago, IL: American Dental Association, 27 pp.

Annotation: This report presents case study findings on successes and challenges related to incorporating oral health care into accountable care organizations (ACOs) in Iowa, Minnesota, Oregon, and Southwest Washington. Each case study provides the ACO’s background and market overview and describes payment arrangements and risk-sharing, care coordination, provision of oral health care, challenges to oral health care provision, and results.

Contact: American Dental Association, Health Policy Institute, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Web Site: http://www.ada.org/en/science-research/health-policy-institute Available from the website.

Keywords: Accountability, Case studies, Children, Coordination, Dental care, Health services delivery, Model programs, Oral health, Patient care management, Pregnant women, Primary care, Quality assurance, Reimbursement, Service integration, State programs

Lee J. 2014. Early preventive dental visits. Chicago, IL: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, Pediatric Oral Health Research and Policy Center, 6 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information about the importance of early preventive dental visits. Topics include the consequences of waiting to receive dental care, the rationale for early preventive dental visits in medicine, the cost-effectiveness of early dental intervention, and the effectiveness of early dental visits. Statistical information about average costs of dental care and for average related costs of treatment in the hospital/operating room for children ages 1–5 are provided.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, Pediatric Oral Health Research and Policy Center, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Suite 1600, Chicago, IL 60611-2637, Telephone: (312) 337-2169 Secondary Telephone: (800) 544-2174 Fax: (312) 337-6329 E-mail: pohrpc@aapd.org Web Site: http://www.aapd.org/policy_center Available from the website.

Keywords: Dental care, Early childhood caries, Health care costs, Oral health, Prevention, Young children

Healthy Smiles, Healthy Children: The Foundation of the American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry. 2014. Every child deserves a dental home. Chicago, IL: Healthy Smiles, Healthy Children: The Foundation of the American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, 23 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information about the American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry (AAPD) Foundation's vision, mission, planning objectives, shared accomplishments, progress made, and future plans. Topics include access to care grants, Dental Home Day, Leadership and Advanced Leadership Institutes, contributions, and AAPD member participation.

Contact: Healthy Smiles, Healthy Children: The Foundation of the American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Suite 1600, Chicago, IL 60611-2637, Telephone: (312) 337-2169 Fax: (312) 337-6329 E-mail: hshc@aapd.org Web Site: http://www.aapd.org/foundation Available from the website.

Keywords: Children, Collaboration, Dental care, Family centered care, Financing, Grants, Leadership, Oral health, Participation, Pediatric care, Public private partnerships, Relationships

Mitchell-Royston L, Nowak A, Silverman J. 2014. Interprofessional study of oral health in primary care: Final report. Chicago, IL: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, Pediatric Oral Health Research and Policy Center, 19 pp.

Annotation: This report presents findings from focus groups and practice observations on oral-health-promotion activities in primary care settings. The report identifies drivers to successful implementation of oral health promotion in primary care settings, caries-risk-assessment tools used in primary care and how they might be improved, and what parents and other caregivers think about oral health care information that primary care health professionals present. Recommendations for increasing oral health promotion in the primary care setting are included.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Suite 1600, Chicago, IL 60611-2637, Telephone: (312) 337-2169 Fax: (312) 337-6329 Web Site: http://www.aapd.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Focus groups, Health promotion, Interdisciplinary approach, Observation, Oral health, Primary care, Research

American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry. 2014. The state of little teeth. Chicago, IL: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, 23 pp.

Annotation: This report examines tooth decay among young children. Topics include who is most likely to have tooth decay; the short- and long-term health, social, and economic effects of tooth decay; why tooth decay occurs; and how to halt increases in tooth decay rates among young children. The report also looks at implications of the Affordable Care Act for pediatric oral health.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Suite 1600, Chicago, IL 60611-2637, Telephone: (312) 337-2169 Fax: (312) 337-6329 Web Site: http://www.aapd.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Dental caries, Oral health, Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, Young children

American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry. 2013. AAPD fast facts. Chicago, IL: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, 42 pp.

Annotation: This press kit includes story ideas addressing common pediatric oral health issues. Topics include treating infants in the dental office, fluoride for infants, pacifier and thumb sucking, and how to select a pediatric dentist. Additional topics include cosmetic and restorative dentistry, behavior guidance, diet and oral health, dental sealants, risk assessment, oral health care for individuals with special health care needs, and sports safety and oral health emergencies.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Suite 1600, Chicago, IL 60611-2637, Telephone: (312) 337-2169 Fax: (312) 337-6329 Web Site: http://www.aapd.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Dental care, Health promotion, Infants, Mass media, Oral health, Prevention services, Resources for professionals

Moursi A. 2013. Patient centered care. Chicago, IL: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, Pediatric Oral Health Research and Policy Center, 12 pp.

Annotation: This brief describes principles of and case studies on how patient- and family-centered care fit within the dental home. The brief also addresses health information technology and government programs that promote this care model. Finally, policy recommendations for patient- and family-centered care are presented. Topics include respect and cultural competence, integration and coordination of care, communication and information sharing, quality of care, and whole-person and comprehensive care.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, Pediatric Oral Health Research and Policy Center, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Suite 1600, Chicago, IL 60611-2637, Telephone: (312) 337-2169 Secondary Telephone: (800) 544-2174 Fax: (312) 337-6329 E-mail: pohrpc@aapd.org Web Site: http://www.aapd.org/policy_center Available from the website.

Keywords: Cultural competence, Dental care, Family centered care, Health services delivery, Oral health, Patient care management, Physician patient relations, Service integration

Silverman J, Douglass J, Graham L. 2013. The use of case management to improve dental health in high risk populations. Chicago, IL: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, Pediatric Oral Health Research and Policy Center, 12 pp.

Annotation: This policy brief addresses case management as a way to help families use available oral health services and reduce their risk for dental caries. Topics include oral health disparities, barriers to care, the dental home, and the role of case management in the prevention of oral disease. The brief also describes effective case-management strategies including motivational interviewing, client education and health literacy, care coordination, community outreach and education, and appointment-reminder systems; discusses policy recommendations; and presents a case study.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Suite 1600, Chicago, IL 60611-2637, Telephone: (312) 337-2169 Fax: (312) 337-6329 Web Site: http://www.aapd.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Access to health care, Barriers, Case management, Case studies, Children, Health care utilization, Low income groups, Oral health, Vulnerability

American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry. 2012–. The Mouth Monsters. Chicago, IL: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, multiple items.

Annotation: These resources for parents and young children feature cartoon "monsters" Ginger Bite-Us, Tartar the Terrible, and Tooth D.K. and focus on ways to keep teeth healthy and "monster-free." Contents include tips on creating tooth fairy traditions, promoting oral health in children with special needs, weaning from the pacifier, preparing for common types of childhood tooth injuries, and encouraging healthy habits at the holidays. Videos and information about the role of pediatric dentists are also included. Some materials are available in English and Spanish.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Suite 1600, Chicago, IL 60611-2637, Telephone: (312) 337-2169 Fax: (312) 337-6329 Web Site: http://www.aapd.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Children, Disease prevention, Health promotion, Infants, Materials for children, Media campaigns, Oral health, Public awareness campaigns, Public service announcements, Spanish language materials

Silverman J, Reggiardo P, Litch CS. 2012. An essential health benefit: General anesthesia for treatment of early childhood caries. Chicago, IL: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, Pediatric Oral Health Research and Policy Center, 20 pp. (Technical report 2-2012)

Annotation: This report addresses the use of general anesthesia (GA) in providing medically necessary care for children. Topics include a description of GA and how the use of GA for dental restorations can improve a child’s quality of life, access to care, health behaviors, and health outcomes. Additional topics include cost considerations of GA, a rationale and justification for reimbursement of GA and related facility fee costs in benchmark medical plans, and policy implications.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, Pediatric Oral Health Research and Policy Center, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Suite 1600, Chicago, IL 60611-2637, Telephone: (312) 337-2169 Secondary Telephone: (800) 544-2174 Fax: (312) 337-6329 E-mail: pohrpc@aapd.org Web Site: http://www.aapd.org/policy_center Available from the website.

Keywords: Anesthesia, Children with special health care needs, Early childhood caries, Oral health, Patient care management, Young children

Casamassimo P, Silverman J. 2012. Considerations for caries-risk assessment in an essential health benefits dental plan for children. Chicago, IL: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, Pediatric Oral Health Research and Policy Center, 6 pp. (Technical report 1-2012)

Annotation: This brief provides an overview of research on caries risk assessment and the potential for improving the way such research is used in providing clinical care to children. Topics include recommendations and considerations for the use of risk assessment in allocating preventive and therapeutic services in any dental benefits plan for children.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, Pediatric Oral Health Research and Policy Center, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Suite 1600, Chicago, IL 60611-2637, Telephone: (312) 337-2169 Secondary Telephone: (800) 544-2174 Fax: (312) 337-6329 E-mail: pohrpc@aapd.org Web Site: http://www.aapd.org/policy_center Available from the website.

Keywords: Children, Dental caries, Financing, Health services, Oral health, Research, Risk assessment

American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry. 2011–. Points of light: A resource guide for pediatric and general dentists to successfully establish an infant oral health referral infrastructure in your community and state. Chicago, IL: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, multiple items.

Annotation: This guide outlines a process for establishing an infant oral health referral infrastructure in communities and states. Topics include collaboration among dentists and pediatric health professionals to encourage early dental referrals, risk assessment timing, and establishment of the dental home. Contents include sample referral letters for dentists and physicians, a policy statement, and a handout and presentation on infant oral health care.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Suite 1600, Chicago, IL 60611-2637, Telephone: (312) 337-2169 Fax: (312) 337-6329 Web Site: http://www.aapd.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Collaboration, Infants, Oral health, Public health infrastructure, Public policy, Referrals, Risk assessment, Work force

American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, Pediatric Oral Health Research and Policy Center. 2011–. State dental periodicity schedules. Chicago, IL: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, Pediatric Oral Health Research and Policy Center,

Annotation: The resource comprises a map and related materials on state dental periodicity schedules for infants, children, and adolescents from birth to age 18.The color-coded map links to information on (1) states that have no schedule, (2) states that use a schedule, and (3) states that use the American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry (AAPD) recommended schedule. Related materials include AAPD’s Guideline on Periodicity of Examination, Preventive Dental Services, Anticipatory Guidance/Counseling, and Oral Treatment for Infants, Children, and Adolescents.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, Pediatric Oral Health Research and Policy Center, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Suite 1600, Chicago, IL 60611-2637, Telephone: (312) 337-2169 Secondary Telephone: (800) 544-2174 Fax: (312) 337-6329 E-mail: pohrpc@aapd.org Web Site: http://www.aapd.org/policy_center Available from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Dental care, EPSDT, Health examinations, Infants, Low income groups, Oral health, Preventive health services, State programs

Pediatric Oral Health Research and Policy Center. 2011. Expanded function dental assistant toolkit. Chicago, IL: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry,

Annotation: These resources for oral health professionals provide information about the expanding role dental assistants can play in providing access to oral health services. Contents include articles, reports, and position statements, along with a summary of each item.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Suite 1600, Chicago, IL 60611-2637, Telephone: (312) 337-2169 Fax: (312) 337-6329 Web Site: http://www.aapd.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Dental assistants, Dental care, Health care services, Oral health, Resources for professionals

American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry. 2011. Parent education brochures. Chicago, IL: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, multiple items.

Annotation: These brochures provide information on oral health topics for parents, teachers, school nurses, and others. Topics include oral health care for infants; thumb, finger, and pacifier habits; diet and snacking; fluoride; dental sealants; emergency care; conscious sedation, general anesthesia, and nitrous oxide; pediatric dentists; preventive dentistry; regular dental visits; space maintenance; and X-ray use and safety.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Suite 1600, Chicago, IL 60611-2637, Telephone: (312) 337-2169 Fax: (312) 337-6329 Web Site: http://www.aapd.org $45 per 100 (members); $54 per 100 (nonmembers); also available at no charge from the website.

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Consumer education materials, Dental care: Prevention services, Health promotion, Infants, Oral health, Pediatric dentistry

Healthy Smiles, Healthy Children: The Foundation of the American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry. 2011. Strength in numbers: Five million children in five years. Chicago, IL: Healthy Smiles, Healthy Children: The Foundation of the American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, annual. (Annual reports.)

Annotation: This annual report addresses efforts of the Foundation of the American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry to provide access to quality oral health care for children residing in underserved communities. Topics include investments in service, education, research, development activities, donors, and financing.

Contact: Healthy Smiles, Healthy Children: The Foundation of the American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Suite 1600, Chicago, IL 60611-2637, Telephone: (312) 337-2169 Fax: (312) 337-6329 E-mail: hshc@aapd.org Web Site: http://www.aapd.org/foundation Available from the website.

Keywords: Children, Foundations, Oral health, Pediatric dentistry, Underserved communities

American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry. 2011. The dental home and children's oral health (for parents and caregivers). Chicago, IL: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, 1 DVD (28 min.).

Annotation: This DVD for parents and other caregivers emphasizes the importance of oral health and how to keep a child’s mouth healthy. It focuses on the relationship between oral health and systemic health, how tooth decay happens, the dental home, the importance of fluoride, toothbrushing, a healthy diet, oral health and pregnancy, a child’s first dental visit, and making a child’s dental visit a success.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, Pediatric Oral Health Research and Policy Center, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Suite 1600, Chicago, IL 60611-2637, Telephone: (312) 337-2169 Secondary Telephone: (800) 544-2174 Fax: (312) 337-6329 E-mail: pohrpc@aapd.org Web Site: http://www.aapd.org/policy_center $14.99 for members; $19.99 for nonmembers; discounts for 10 or more copies.

Keywords: Child health, DVDs, Disease prevention, Educational materials, Health promotion, Oral health

American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry and Children's Dental Health Project. 2010. How to protect your baby's teeth from cavities: Como proteger los dientes de su bebe contra las cavidades dentales. [Chicago, IL]: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry; [Washington, DC]: Children's Dental Health Project , 1 p.

Annotation: This fact sheet for new parents addresses how to prevent dental caries in infants. It provides tips on oral hygiene for women during and after pregnancy, as well as tips on taking care of infant gums and teeth. The fact sheet is available in English and Spanish. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Children's Dental Health Project, 1020 19th Street, N.W., Suite 400, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 833-8288 Fax: (202) 331-1432 E-mail: info@cdhp.org Web Site: https://www.cdhp.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Dental caries, Dental hygiene, Disease prevention, Educational materials, Infants, Oral health, Pregnant women, Spanish language materials

Henderson N. 2009. Healthy smiles: A family guide. [no place]: Conrad and Associates, 31 pp.

Annotation: This guidebook provides parents and caregivers with tips on how to ensure a healthy smile and a healthy child. It provides guidance on oral hygiene for infants, toddlers and preschoolers, and children ages 4 years and older. Other topics include healthy eating for healthy teeth, toothbrushing, taking a child to the dentist, and questions to ask the dentist.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Suite 1600, Chicago, IL 60611-2637, Telephone: (312) 337-2169 Fax: (312) 337-6329 Web Site: http://www.aapd.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Dental hygiene, Educational materials, Infants, Oral health, Young children

Casamassimo P. 2007. Expect the best for your child's dental home. Chicago, IL: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, 2 pp.

Annotation: This excerpt from Exceptional Parent magazine provides guidance for families on seeking oral health care for their child and on establishing a relationship with a dentist who can meet the needs of both the child and the parent. Topics include starting early, finding a pediatric dentist, preparing for the dental visit, what to expect of a dentist and a practice, the therapeutic partnership, and linking the dental home to other services. A table shows the application of the principles and characteristics of the medical home as applied to dental practice.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Suite 1600, Chicago, IL 60611-2637, Telephone: (312) 337-2169 Fax: (312) 337-6329 Web Site: http://www.aapd.org $2.95, may be ordered online at http://www.eparent.com/resources_ep_magazine/index.asp; also available from the website.

Keywords: Child health services, Dental care, Families, Infant health services, Medical home, Oral health, Special health care needs

American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry Foundation, Dental Trade Alliance Foundation, and American Dental Association. 2007. The dental home: It's never too early to start. Chicago, IL: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry Foundation, 2 pp.

Annotation: This flyer is designed to provide education about the dental home. It addresses the following topics: (1) the concept of the dental home, (2) how to establish the dental home, (3) how the dental home enhances the oral health professional's ability to provide optimal oral health care, and (4) how parents and oral health professionals can make a difference in a child's oral health. The brochure also contains a list of recommendations for oral health professionals and key messages to share with parents.

Contact: American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Suite 1600, Chicago, IL 60611-2637, Telephone: (312) 337-2169 Fax: (312) 337-6329 Web Site: http://www.aapd.org Available from the website.

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Dental assistants, Dental hygienists, Dentists, Medical home, Oral health, Parents

This project is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) under grant number U02MC31613, MCH Advanced Education Policy, $3.5 M. This information or content and conclusions are those of the author and should not be construed as the official position or policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.