Home Visiting
Resource Brief
Home visitation programs offer a variety of family-focused services to pregnant mothers and families with infants and young children. Research demonstrates that well-designed and well-run programs are effective in many ways, such as in improving parenting skills and the intellectual development of young children at risk (AAP Pediatric Care Update, 2009) as well as reducing child abuse and maternal behavior problems resulting from drug and alcohol use (Zero to Three fact sheet Home Visiting: Supporting Babies and Families Where They Live, January 2007).
Several items of legislation that include home visiting were introduced in Congress in 2009, including the Early Support for Families Act (H.R.2667), Pregnant Women Support Act (S.270, J.R.605, H.R.2035), and a Home Visitation program in the FY2010 budget authorization for the Administration for Children and Families.
Table of Contents
Web
Sites
Related
MCH Library Resources
Web
Sites
American Academy of Pediatrics
The Role of Preschool Home-Visiting Programs in Improving Children’s Developmental and Health Outcomes (AAP policy statement February 2009), Home Visiting Programs to Improve Children’s Developmental and Health Outcomes (AAP pediatric care update 2009). Also use the search box on the home page for articles and other information (use keywords “home visit” or “home visiting” or “home visitation”).
Chapin Hall at the University of Chicago
Testimony from Research Fellow Deborah Daro in support of early childhood home visitation programs (June 2009) along with related issue briefs and reports.
Child Welfare Information Gateway: Home Visitation Programs
Links to selected home visitation programs, evaluation efforts, and additional resources, including state and local program guidelines and examples.
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center)
Journal articles, research syntheses, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers, and other education-related materials. Enter the descriptor “home visits” in the search box, and click on Advanced Search to limit by date or free full-text availability.
Healthy Families America
Guidelines on developing programs, fact sheets on successful program elements, evaluation results, innovative strategies, and training information.
- Emerging issues in maternal and child health series meeting archive: Healthy Families America.
Powerpoint presentation and related documents.
National Center for Children in Poverty (NCCP)
State Based Home Visiting: Strengthening Programs Through State Leadership (March 2009 report) and online Webinar on state-based home visiting, including downloadable slides.
New America Foundation: Early Education Watch Blog
Overview of the home visitation component of the president’s fiscal-year 2010 budget proposal, including proposed payment to states for home visitation programs.
Nurse-Family Partnership (NFP)
Nurse home visiting model program for low-income, first-time parents and their children. Includes research findings, policy statements, legislative updates, evaluative reviews of home visiting programs, and a national map of agencies that have adopted the NFP model.
- Emerging issues in maternal and child health series meeting archive: Nurse Family Partnership.
Powerpoint presentation and related documents.
Parents as Teachers National Center
National parent-education and family-support program serving families throughout pregnancy until their child enters kindergarten, usually at age 5. Provides professional and consumer materials including curricula, trainings, standards, evaluation tools, parenting tips, materials for adolescent parents, suggested books for young children, and a directory of programs by state.
- Emerging issues in maternal and child health series meeting archive: Parents as Teachers
To be held August 6, 2009. Powerpoint presentation and related documents will be posted after the event.
Promising Practices Network: Home Visiting
Descriptions of proven and promising programs on home visiting.
PubMed
Over 18 million citations and abstracts from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles indexed by the National Library of Medicine back to the 1950s, with links to full text articles when available.
Search tips: In the search box, enter the term “house calls” with a population term such as infant, child, mother, parent, or nurse. Click Advanced Search, and choose the box for Humans and the box for English (or other desired language). Limit the search by date to retrieve only more recent items. Click the Search button. Other useful terms are “child health services,” “maternal health services,” and “maternal-child nursing.”
Robert Wood Johnson Foundation
Journal articles, grant results reports, and book chapters, including the Nurse Home Visitation Program (from RWJF Anthology, v. V (2002)) and the Story of David Olds and the Nurse Home Visiting Program (2006). Use the search term “Home Visits” in the search box to locate additional resources.
Wisconsin Home-Visitation Programs
Documents on program development, core competencies, supervision, and program evaluation; links to many resources for parents; list of home visitation and other family-focused programs and training opportunities in Wisconsin.
Zero to Three: Home Visiting/Parent Education
Home visiting issue briefs, testimonies, and research findings. For additional resources, enter “home visiting” in the search box.
Related MCH Library Resources
Authors: Beth DeFrancis Sun; Olivia K. Pickett, M.A., M.L.S., MCH Library
July 2009
|