for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR).
A-to-Z compendium of environmental health and toxic substance information; environmental case studies; online publications and learning tools; and data sources including the Toxic Substances Portal, the National Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS) Registry, and an interactive map of hazardous waste sites.
American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP), Council on Environmental Health
Policy statements, hot topics and articles on environmental health, Council environmental health newsletters, patient education brochures, and other AAP publications and initiatives.
Association of State and Territorial Health Officials
(ASTHO) Environmental Health Program
State and territorial resources on the built and synthetic environment, food safety, the natural environment, tracking environmental health hazards, and water safety. Links to programs, publications, tutorials, webinars, tracking tools, and news sources.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC),
Environmental health and toxic substances studies, reports, and guidelines; education and training materials; data and statistics; environmental health news; links to campaigns and programs; and tools for searching environmental health information by geographic location or contaminant. The National Center for Environmental Health (NCEH)— a related CDC organization that focuses on vulnerable populations )— provides an A-Z index to environmental health information; links to research and environmental health services; and other materials, resources, and related tools.
Environmental Health Resource Sampler
Links to policy and legislation, online learning programs, toxic substance portals, geographic information systems, funding sources, statistics, and other online resources for health professionals and the public on general and specific topics such as asthma, childhood cancer, and food safety.
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
A-to-Z environmental health information, news, educational tools, and links to clearinghouses, databases, dockets, test methods, and a map showing EPA activities and environmental concerns by state. EPA's Children's Health addresses air, water, toxins and poisons, protection from the sun, and school issues.
Healthy Child Healthy World
Headline news stories; environmental safety tips and guidance; articles, reports, videos, a blog, and interactive tools that promote organic lifestyle choices; chemical profiles; a community action kit; materials for health professionals; and the Health eHome (in collaboration with WebMD)— a virtual house designed to help families identify environmental health hazards in the home.
of Dimes, Environmental Risks and Pregnancy
Quick guide to environmental health risks during pregnancy, including risks from lead, mercury, pesticides, solvents, and other potentially hazardous materials. Provides links to more in depth information and resources for pregnant women, health professionals, and researchers.
National Center for Healthy Housing
Green and healthy housing resources; research studies; online training materials; building standards; consumer survey results, local, state, and national policy; the Healthy Housing Clearinghouse of journal articles; and links to additional healthy housing information sources.
National Center for Healthy Housing
Quarterly e-newsletter and downloadable publications on topics related to healthy housing, including lead hazard control and prevention. Through its National Healthy Housing Clearinghouse, the center maintains a searchable database of over 600 documents on topics related to lead and healthy housing.
Progress updates related to the National Children's Study to examine the effects of environmental influences on the health and development of more than 100,000 children across the United States, following them from before birth until age 21. Study details, meeting announcements, related publications and adjunct studies, and a map of study locations are provided.
National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences
Information on health conditions and diseases, environmental agents, exposure routes, population research, and environmental science education, research approaches, and biological processes. Includes links to related clinical trials, health studies, current research, tools for health professionals, an online peer-reviewed journal, learning pages for children in English and Spanish, science-education materials, and links to related topics.
National Library of Medicine (NLM), Toxicology and
Environmental Health Information Program (TEHIP)
Environmental health databases, online guides, tutorials, key-topic coverage, and related scientific and consumer-oriented resources.
National Toxicology Program Center for the Evaluation
of Risks to Human Reproduction (CERHR)
Assessments of reproductive risk factors caused by agents to which humans may be exposed. Includes links to expert-panel reports, monographs, and information on reproductive health topics such as impaired fertility, contraception, genetic counseling, breastfeeding, medications, and recreational drugs. Addresses common concerns during pregnancy such as exposure to caffeine, paints, smoking, and pesticides.
Southwest Pennsylvania Environmental Health Project: Reducing Environmental Exposure
Advice for consumers who live near natural gas extraction facilities.
For more information on this topic, use the MCH Library Advanced Search.
Authors: Olivia K. Pickett, M.A., M.L.S., Beth DeFrancis Sun, M.L.S., MCH
Updated October 2013