In March 2010, President Obama signed into law the Patient Protection and
Affordable Care Act (ACA), enacting national comprehensive health
brief presents resources about the ACA's major provisions, policy developments,
and implementation efforts.
Information about the ACA, the Health Insurance Marketplace, and key features.
About the Law. Brief summary of coverage, costs, and care.
Marketplace. Information on buying health insurance.
Read the Law.
Section-by-section outline of the ACA. Full text of the Patient Protection
Care Act, the Health Care and Education Reconciliation Act of 2010, and the 2012
Supreme Court decision to uphold the health care law.
by State. Summary of the impact of the ACA in each state.
of Maternal and Child Health Programs (AMCHP):
National Center for Health Reform Implementation. Summary of maternal and child health–related provisions in the ACA. Collection of webinars, issue briefs, and fact sheets about ACA implementation, with a focus on maternal and child health.
Center: Health Care Reform: The ACA and Children with Special Health Care
Issue briefs, webinars, fact sheets, and other resources about the impact
of the ACA on children and adolescents with special health care needs and
- Center for Children and
Families (CCF): Affordable Care Act. Resources about ACA policy
developments and implementation efforts. Topics include affordability,
consumer protections, eligibility and coverage, essential health benefits,
health insurance exchanges, and outreach and enrollment. Includes facts
and statistics about state health coverage programs; links to legislation,
regulation, and guidance; and a children's health policy blog.
- Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS)
Center for Consumer Information and Insurance Oversight. Regulations and guidance about the implementation of ACA provisions related to private health insurance.
Health Insurance Marketplace. Training materials and presentations for professionals about the Health Insurance Marketplace and helping people apply. Presents brochures, fact sheets, articles, videoclips, materials in Spanish and other languages, and other resources to raise awareness about the ACA and help people apply.
Medicaid.gov: Affordable Care Act. ACA provisions, timeline, and federal policy guidance related to Medicaid and the Children's Health Insurance Program.
- Commonwealth Fund: Health Reform Resource Center. Timeline with information about the ACA's major provisions and health policy publications about the impact of the ACA on federal programs, states, and specific population groups. Also includes a map depicting the status of state action on state health insurance marketplaces and a blog with analysis and commentary about the ACA and other pressing health policy issues.
America. Resources for health professionals, policymakers, insurers,
and advocates to maximize the number of uninsured Americans who enroll in health
coverage made available by the ACA. Includes an outreach toolkit; best practices
in outreach and enrollment; a map showing where the
uninsured live in each state; an enrollment profile
of each state; and a consumer education campaign in English and Spanish, Get
- Kaiser Family Foundation:
Health Reform. Issue briefs, public polling statistics,
graphics, and interactive tools about the ACA. Includes a summary of
the ACA, timeline for
implementation, answers to
frequently asked questions, calculator for
subsidies in the Health Insurance Marketplace, flowchart about the individual mandate, and profiles of how the ACA changes insurance coverage in each state.
Health Reform Indicators. State-level data about health insurance marketplaces, Medicaid,
health reform grants and loans, essential health benefits, rate review, medical loss ratios, individual and small
group markets, Medicare, pre-existing condition insurance plans, the early retiree reinsurance program, and state positions on the ACA at the Supreme Court.
Academy for State Health Policy (NASHP): ACA Implementation and State Health
Reform. Publications and webinars for state health policymakers about
the ACA and accountable care organizations, benefit design, care coordination,
eligibility and enrollment, health insurance exchanges, health system capacity,
public engagement, quality and efficiency, and medical homes. Includes a map depicting state accountable care activity.
- National Disability Navigator Resource Collaborative (NDNRC). Information to assist Navigators and other health insurance enrollment specialists in helping people with disabilities and their families obtain accurate information when selecting and enrolling in insurance through the ACA Marketplaces.
Reports, Briefs, Webinars, and Other Resources
- Automated search of the MCH Library's online catalog MCHLine®. Find publications, tools, and other electronic resources about the ACA.
- PubMed. Citations for biomedical articles indexed by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), with links to full-text articles when available.
Search tips: In the search box, type affordable
care act. Click on Search. To narrow your search, click on Show
additional filters in the left navigation bar. Choose categories such as
Ages (e.g., Child: birth-18 years). Add terms to the search
box to narrow your search further (e.g., affordable
care act AND disparities, affordable care act AND mental
Related MCH Library Resources
Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (ACA): Resource Brief.
(August 2013). (Updated January 2014).
This resource brief was developed by the University of Miami Leadership Education in Neurodevelopmental Disabilities (LEND), the University of South Florida College of Public Health MCH Leadership Training Program, the University of Florida Pediatric Pulmonary Center (PPC) Leadership Training Program, and the MCH Library at Georgetown University, all of which are funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB).
Authors: Rochelle Baer, L.C.S.W., University of Miami Leadership Education in Neurodevelopmental Disabilities (LEND); Ellen K. Bowser, M.S., R.D., L.D./N, R.N., University of Florida Pediatric Pulmonary Center Leadership Training Program; Cara de la Cruz, Ph.D., M.P.H., University of South Florida College of Public Health MCH Leadership Training Program; Susan Horky, M.S.W, L.C.S.W., University of Florida Pediatric Pulmonary Center Leadership Training Program; Susan Brune Lorenzo, M.L.S., MCH Library; Jennifer Marshall, Ph.D., M.P.H., University of South Florida College of Public Health MCH Leadership Training Program; Angela Miney, B.A., University of Florida Pediatric Pulmonary Center Leadership Training Program; Anthony Panzera, M.P.H., University of South Florida College of Public Health MCH Leadership Training Program; Michelle Schladant, Ph.D., University of Miami Leadership Education in Neurodevelopmental Disabilities (LEND), Maria Toro, B.A., University of Miami Leadership Education in Neurodevelopmental Disabilities (LEND).
Contributor: Tracy Lopez, M.S.L.S., MCH Library.
Reviewer: Olivia K. Pickett, M.A., M.L.S., MCH Library.
Editor: Ruth Barzel, M.A., MCH Library.