Top Pages

A-Z Index (Resources & Services)

Resource Guides:
All | Families | Professionals | Schools | Non-English | Multimedia

MCH Alert Newsletter

Search

Top Pages
Home  ::  A - Z Index: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z   ::  Search

Cambodian

Annotated Lists of Organizations on Key Topics in Maternal and Child Health

OrganizationsThis list of 12 organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations online database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Library. To identify additional materials on this topic, search the Organizations database using our online search form.

The MCH Organizations Database lists government, professional, and voluntary organizations involved in maternal and child health activities, primarily at a national level. Information available to consumers is indicated where known.

Displaying 12 records.

24 Languages Project

Annotation: The 24 Languages Project was founded in 2000 as a joint endeavor of the Spencer S. Eccles Health Sciences Library and the Utah Department of Health, to digitize translated consumer health brochures for online access. The 24 Languages Project is now supported by several organizations and provides information in audio formats as well as pdf documents. Most of the materials are also available as sound recordings for downloading or immediate listening. Native speakers of the respective languages furnish the narrations, which are recorded, encoded, and linked to the project's Web site for access. Languages represented on the site include Arabic, Armenian, Cambodian, Chinese, Croatian, English, Farsi, French, German, Haitian Creole, Hmong, Japanese, Korean, Laotian, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Samoan, Serbo-Croatian, Somali, Spanish, Tagalog, Thai, Tongan, and Vietnamese.

Contact: Spencer S. Eccles Health Sciences Library, 10 North 1900 East, Salt Lake City, UT 84112, Telephone: (866) 581-5534 Web Site: http://medlib.med.utah.edu/24languages E-mail: lworkman@lib.med.utah.edu

Keywords: Asian language materials, Audiovisual materials, Consumer education materials, Foreign language materials, Spanish language materials

more information

Cooley's Anemia Foundation (CAF)

Annotation: The Cooley's Anemia Foundation (CAF) is a national, not-for-profit health organization dedicated to advancing the treatment and cure of Cooley's Anemia (also known as Thalassemia). CAF, which has over 15 chapters throughout the country, conducts national programs that provide medical research, patient services, awareness, and education. The foundation sponsors the Thalassemia Action Group, a support group for patients and their families. CAF provides information about the disease, referrals to local medical sources, discussion forums, brochures, newsletters, and other information. The foundation sponsors conferences and training seminars. The foundation also provides medical supplies to those patients in need. Materials are available in Chinese, Vietnamese, Cambodian, and Korean. (For a complete list of non-English language materials, contact the Foundation.)

Contact: 330 Seventh Avenue, #900, New York, NY 10001, Telephone: (718) 321-2873 toll free: (800) 522-7222 Fax: (212) 279-5999 Web Site: http://www.cooleysanemia.org E-mail: info@cooleysanemia.org

Keywords: Anemia, Beta thalassemia, Hematologic diseases, Support groups, Thalassemia, Thalassemia minor

more information

Cross Cultural Health Care Program (CCHCP)

Annotation: The Cross Cultural Health Care Program (CCHCP) serves as a bridge between communities and health care institutions to help ensure access to quality health care that is culturally and linguistically appropriate. CCHCP collaborates with institutions in outreach efforts to ethnic communities; maintains a center for cultural competence; undertakes and supports community-based research; provides training programs for interpreters and health care providers; and offers support and advocacy to help underserved communities achieve self-directed access and use of health care resources. CCHCP also has a resource center which provides reference services, publishes a newsletter, maintains an online library catalog, and loans materials to borrowers in the Seattle area;. Materials include videos and publications on immigrant communities in the United States and bilingual medical glossaries in these languages: Amharic, Cambodian, Chinese, Korean, Lao, Russian, Somali, Spanish, Tigrignia, and Vietnamese. Community profiles of specific population groups can be downloaded from the Web site.

Contact: 4700 South 42nd Avenue, S.W., Suite 580, Seattle, WA 98116, Telephone: (206) 860-0329 Secondary Telephone: (206) 860-0331 Fax: (206) 860-0334 Web Site: http://www.xculture.org E-mail: resource@xculture.org

Keywords: Asian language materials, Cultural diversity, Cultural sensitivity, Culturally competent services, Foreign language materials, Spanish language materials

more information

Federal Citizen Information Center (FCIC)

Annotation: The Federal Citizen Information Center (FCIC), formerly the Federal Consumer Information Center, publishes the quarterly Consumer Information Catalog. The catalog lists publications on topics such as parenting, nutrition, exercise, weight control, and child safety. In addition, the FCIC publishes the Consumer Action Handbook, which contains consumer advice and listings of contacts in business, trade associations, consumer organizations, and local, state, and federal government. The FCIC's National Contact Center serves as a single point of contact for individuals with questions about federal agencies, programs and services. The specially trained staff can answer questions in English and Spanish about all aspects of the federal government or direct callers to an appropriate contact.

Contact: Federal Citizen Information Center, Pueblo, CO Telephone: (888) 878-3256 Web Site: http://www.pueblo.gsa.gov/

Keywords: Child safety, Nutrition, Parenting, Patient education, Prenatal care, Weight management, Spanish language materials, Consumer education materials

more information

Health and Literacy Special Collection

Annotation: The Health and Literacy Special Collection supports the integration of health and literacy education on adult basic education programs and health literacy awareness in health care settings. The collection also strives to provide direct access to easy-to-read health information , and health resources in languages other than English. The Web site includes links to online listings of health information in 27 different languages: Amharic, Arabic, Bosnian, Cambodian/Khmer, Croatian, Chinese, Farsi/Persian, Filipino, French, Haitian Creole, Hindi, Hmong, Italian, Khmer/Cambodian, Korean, Laotian, Nuer, Portuguese, Punjabi, Russian, Samoan, Somali, Spanish, Tagalog, Thai, Tongan, and Vietnamese.

Contact: World Education, 44 Farnsworth Street, Boston, MA 02210, Telephone: (617) 482-9485 Web Site: http://www.healthliteracy.worlded.org

Keywords: Adult education, Health education, Health literacy, Literacy education, Non English language materials

more information

Immunization Action Coalition (IAC)

Annotation: The Immunization Action Coalition works to increase immunization rates and prevent disease by creating and distributing educational materials for health professionals and the public that enhance the delivery of safe and effective immunization services. The Coalition publishes periodicals for health professionals (Needle Tips, Vaccinate Adults, and Vaccinate Women), and distributes two electronic newsletters (IAC Express provides weekly information about all vaccines and HEP Express is devoted to hepatitis issues). The coalition also develops print materials about immunization for providers and patients and offers these materials free-of-charge (many in multiple languages). The Coalition develops print materials about immunization for providers and patients and offers these materials free-of-charge, some in up to 33 languages. IAC has four websites. The site for health professionals, www.immunize.org, is a source of practical immunization information featuring a collection of vaccine-preventable disease photos and videos. The website for the public, www.vaccineinformation.org, presents straightforward information about vaccine-preventable diseases and their vaccines. The hepatitis prevention programs website, www.hepprograms.org, serves as a national database for model viral hepatitis prevention programs that address the needs of adult and adolescent populations at risk. The fourth website, www.izcoalitions.org, provides access to an interactive database of local, state, regional, national, and international immunization coalitions.

Contact: 1573 Selby Avenue, Suite 234, Saint Paul, MN 55104, Telephone: (651) 647-9009 Fax: (651) 647-9131 Web Site: http://www.immunize.org E-mail: admin@immunize.org

Keywords: Hepatitis B, Immunization

more information

National Newborn Screening and Genetics Resource Center (NNSGRC)

Annotation: The National Newborn Screening and Genetics Resource Center (NNSGRC) is a cooperative agreement between the Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB), Genetic Services Branch and the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio (UTHSCSA), Department of Pediatrics. The mission of the NNSGRC is to: 1) provide a forum for interaction between consumers, health care professionals, researchers, organizations, and policy makers in refining and developing public health newborn screening and genetics programs; and 2) serve as a national resource center for information and education in the areas of newborn screening and genetics. The NNSGRC serves as a focal point for national newborn screening and genetics activities, and provides related resources to benefit health professionals, the public community, consumers, and government officials. The center also provides technical assistance to assist states in refining their newborn screening activities and enhancing their capacity to incorporate new developments in genetics, health promotion, and disease prevention. The NNSGRC coordinates and facilitates national discussions of pertinent topics in the areas of newborn screening and genetics, assists in developing and implementing related demonstration projects of national interest., and produces annual national information reports on state and territorial newborn screening activities. The Web site provides downloadable newborn screening and disease-specific brochures in various languages, a guide to regional genetics and newborn screening collaboratives as well as state-specific contact information; and the National Newborn Screening Information System, which services as a information collection and reporting system for capturing state and territorial newborn screening information. In September 2009 it was funded to create the National Newborn Screening Clearinghouse.

Contact: University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio, 1912 West Anderson Lane, Suite 210, Austin, TX 78757, Telephone: (512) 454-6419 Fax: (512) 454-6509 Web Site: http://genes-r-us.uthscsa.edu E-mail: therrell@uthscsa.edu

Keywords: Genetics, National MCH resource center, Neonatal screening, Online databases, Regional genetics networks, Resource centers

more information

Pacific Northwest Regional Genetics Group (PacNoRGG)

Annotation: The Pacific Northwest Regional Genetics Group is no longer active. PacNoRGG was funded from 1984 - 2002 by grants from the Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB), part of the federal Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA). Staff from the Oregon Health & Science University (OHSU), Child Development and Rehabilitation Center (CDRC) continue to maintain the website and publications. The website and online versions of publications were last reviewed June 2004. Out-of-date materials were either removed or updated. The next review is planned for June 2005. Some materials are available in Spanish, Vietnamese, Cambodian, Chinese, Russian, Korean, Laotian

Contact: Oregon Health & Science University, Child Development and Rehabilitation Center, 901 East 18th Street, Eugene, OR 97403-5254, Telephone: (541) 346-2610 Fax: (541) 346-5844 Web Site: http://www.pacnorgg.org E-mail: ksilvey@uoregon.edu

Keywords: Data analysis, Data collection, Genetic counseling, Genetic services, Genetics, Health education, Professional education, Regional genetics networks

more information

Pregnancy Foresight Project

Annotation: The Pregnancy Foresight Project is a March of Dimes sponsored project administered by Swedish Medical Center aimed at assessing the current practice and improving the nature and scope of Washington State primary care providers (PCPs) education in four key areas: (1) discussion of family history of birth defects/genetic disorders; (2) prenatal testing for birth defects/genetic disorders;  (3) benefits of folic acid in preventing birth defects; and  (4) effects of alcohol and smoking on babies. The project's Web site provides professional resources and patient education materials in numerous languages, including Arabic, Assyrian, Chinese, Croatian, Farsi / Persian, Greek, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Khmer / Cambodian, Korean, Laotian, Macedonian, Polish, Portuguese, Punjabi, Russian, Samoan, Serbian, Somali, Spanish, Thai, Tigrinya, Tongan, Turkish, Ukrainian, and Vietnamese.

Contact: Swedish Medical Center, 747 Broadway, Seattle, WA 98122, Telephone: (206) 386-2101 Fax: (206) 386-3180 Web Site: http://www.swedishmedical.org/PregnancyForesight/Home.html E-mail: pfproj@swedish.org

Keywords: Asian language materials, Consumer education materials, Folic acid, Non English language materials, Preconception care, Prenatal education, Spanish language materials

more information

Refugee Health Information Network (RHIN)

Annotation: The Refugee Health Information Network (RHIN) is a national collaborative partnership managed by refugee health professionals whose objective is to provide quality multilingual, health information resources for those providing care to resettled refugees and asylees.RHIN strives to identify, collect, and make available on its Web site quality materials that have been produced in refugee languages. The emphasis is on materials in the public domain that can be downloaded free of charge (or at low cost); the materials are available in many languages. Sources of these materials include national organizations, health care agencies, community-based organizations, academic institutions, international organizations, and public health agencies. RHIN also strives to identify news and events, as well as other information resources useful to health providers serving refugees.

Contact: Center for Public Service Communications, 3221 North George Mason Drive, Arlington, VA 22207, Web Site: http://www.rhin.org/ E-mail: info@rhin.org

Keywords: Asian language materials, Consumer education materials, Health, Non English language materials, Refugees, Spanish language materials

more information

U.S. Food and Nutrition Service, Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants and Children (WIC)

Annotation: The Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants, and Children - better known as the WIC Program - serves to safeguard the health of low-income women, infants, & children up to age 5 who are at nutritional risk by providing nutritious foods to supplement diets, information on healthy eating, and referrals to health care. The WIC program provides numerous educational materials for consumers and studies and reports for professionals. Materials are available in Arabic, Cambodian, Chinese, Haitian Creole, Croatian, Dakota, English, French, Hmong, Khmer, Korean, Laotian, Mandarin Chinese, Russian, Serbian, Somali, Spanish, Tagalog, Thai, and Vietnamese. Topics include breastfeeding, infant and child nutrition and health, childhood overweight and obesity, counseling and education, dietary guidance, food buying and preparation, food safety, fruits and vegetables, medical and nutritional risk assessment, multicultural audiences, oral health, outreach and marketing, physical activity, pregnancy, and vitamins and minerals.

Contact: Washington, DC 20250, Telephone: (202) 720-7327 TDD: (202) 720-1127 Web Site: http://www.fns.usda.gov/wic/

Keywords: Child nutrition, Federal agencies, Infant nutrition, Maternal nutrition

more information

Wisconsin Clearinghouse For Prevention Resources (WCH)

Annotation: The Wisconsin Clearinghouse For Prevention Resources is an official information and materials resource for the state of Wisconsin that also serves schools, agencies, programs, community groups, and businesses nationwide. Its goal is to strengthen individuals, families, and communities. The Clearinghouse provides a wide range of educational materials and services to prevention specialists, counselors, and other professionals. Topics include alcohol and other drugs, curricula and teacher resources, high-risk youth and high-risk behaviors, resources for programs and professionals, tobacco and smoking, fetal alcohol syndrome, primary prevention and health promotion, mental health, and families and substance abuse prevention. Posters, publications and videotapes are available. Some materials are available in Spanish, plus a few items also available in Chinese, Vietnamese, Cambodian, and Korean. The organization publishes a quarterly newsletter.

Contact: 1552 University Avenue, Madison, WI 53726-4085, Telephone: (608) 262-9157 Toll Free in WI: (800) 248-9244 Fax: (608) 262-6346 Web Site: http://wch.uhs.wisc.edu/ E-mail: wchpr@www.uhs.wisc.edu

Keywords: Alcoholic beverages, Audiovisual materials, Curricula, Educational materials, Fetal alcohol syndrome, Health promotion, High risk adolescents, Mental health, Recreational drug use, Self help clearinghouses, Smoking, Substance abuse, Substance abuse prevention, Teratology, Tobacco, Wisconsin

more information

Return to Previous Page | Go To Cross-Database Search | Advanced MCHLine® Search

Share |