Top Pages

A-Z Index (Resources & Services)

Resource Guides:
All | Families | Professionals | Schools | Non-English | Multimedia

MCH Alert Newsletter

Search

Top Pages
Home  ::  A - Z Index: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z   ::  Search

Asian (multiple languages or unspecified)

Annotated Lists of Organizations on Key Topics in Maternal and Child Health

OrganizationsThis list of 85 organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations online database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Library. To identify additional materials on this topic, search the Organizations database using our online search form.

The MCH Organizations Database lists government, professional, and voluntary organizations involved in maternal and child health activities, primarily at a national level. Information available to consumers is indicated where known.

Displaying 85 records.

Alzeimer's Association

Annotation: The Alzheimer's Association (formerly the Alzeimer's Disease and Related Disorders Association) works to conquer Alzheimer's disease, to increase public awareness of the disease, and to affect related policy decisions. The association's Library and Resource Center collects and disseminates educational materials, scientific journals, research reports, and other information in various formats (print, videotape, audiotape, microfilm, CD-ROM) for professionals in patient care, service delivery, policy development, and medical research. Publications include the quarterly Advances Newsletter. A publications catalog is available. Some publications are available in Spanish and Asian languages. ADRDA also provides referrals, and sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Contact: 225 North Michigan Avenue, Floor 17, Chicago, IL 60601-7633, Telephone: (312) 335-8700 Secondary Telephone: (800) 272-3900 Fax: (866) 699-1246 Web Site: http://www.alz.org E-mail: info@alz.org

Keywords: Alzheimers disease, Information services

more information

American College of Nurse - Midwives (ACNM)

Annotation: The American College of Nurse-Midwives (ACNM) is the professional organization for nurse-midwives in the United States. It works to improve services for mothers and babies in cooperation with other allied groups. The organization publishes the Journal of Nurse-Midwifery and Women's Health and provides a list of accredited, university-affiliated nurse-midwifery education programs. Information is available in Spanish, French, and Asian languages, and ACNM sponsors an annual conference. ACNM also provides a Web site for consumers called mymidwife.org.

Contact: 8403 Colesville Road, Suite 1550, Silver Spring, MD 20910, Telephone: (240) 485-1800 Secondary Telephone: (888) MID-WIFE Fax: (240) 485-1818 Web Site: http://www.midwife.org

Keywords: Childbirth, Conferences, Ethics, Family planning, Foreign language materials, Labor, Nurse midwives, Postpartum care, Prenatal care, Professional societies, Publications, Reproductive health, Standards

more information

American Sickle Cell Anemia Association (ASCAA)

Annotation: The American Sickle Cell Anemia Association (ASCAA) provides education, testing, and counseling to populations at risk for sickle cell anemia and its hemoglobinopathy variants. Counseling, education, and testing are also provided to the bilingual population. Services to consumers include referrals, reference information, and publications. Materials are provided in Spanish and Asian languages.

Contact: 10300 Carnegie Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44106, Telephone: (216) 229-8600 Fax: (216) 229-4500 Web Site: http://www.ascaa.org E-mail: irabragg@ascaa.org

Keywords: Hematologic diseases, Hemoglobinopathies, Sickle cell disease

more information

Asian and Pacific Islander American Health Forum (APIAHF)

Annotation: The Asian and Pacific Islander American Health Forum (APIAHF) is a national advocacy organization dedicated to promoting policy, program, and research efforts for the improvement of health status of all Asian and Pacific Islander Americans. The forum's goals are to advocate for accurate representation of the health needs of the distinct Asian and Pacific Islander communities, to perform community sensitive research to better inform health policy makers and providers, to forge coalitions for the development of national health policies and programs, to empower individuals and communities to pursue parity in health status, to ensure a multicultural and multilingual approach to health services delivery, and to foster strategic linkages to promote improvement in the health of Asian and Pacific Islander Americans. Publications include conference proceedings, reports on mortality in the target populations, and divisional quarterly newsletter. The APIAHF collects materials in Asian and Pacific Islander languages.

Contact: 450 Sutter Street, Suite 600, San Francisco, CA 94108, Telephone: (415) 954-9988 Fax: (415) 954-9999 Web Site: http://www.apiahf.org/ E-mail: healthinfo@apiahf.org

Keywords: Advocacy, Asian Americans, Minority groups, Pacific Islanders, Public health programs

more information

Association for Post-Natal Illness (APNI)

Annotation: The Association for Post-Natal Illness provides information, offers professional advice, and conducts research on the management and treatment of postnatal depression. The association educates women to determine whether they might be experiencing postnatal depression and, if so, to seek early medical advice. Publications include posters, a newsletter produced three times a year, and leaflets on postnatal depression distributed at antenatal clinics and hospital maternity units. Materials are available in Asian languages.

Contact: 145 Dawes Road Fulham, London, England SW6 7EB, Telephone: 020 7386 0868 Fax: 020 7386 8885 Web Site: http://www.apni.org E-mail: info@apni.org

Keywords: Health education, Information services, Medical research, Overseas organization, Postpartum depression, Puerperial disorders, Women

more information

Association of Asian Pacific Community Health Organizations (AAPCHO)

Annotation: The Association of Asian Pacific Community Health Organizations (AAPCHO) is a not-for-profit national association representing community health organizations primarily serving Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders in the United States, particularly the medically underserved. AAPCHO's mission is to promote advocacy, collaboration and leadership that improves the health status and access of Asian Americans, Native Hawaiians and Pacific Islanders within the United States, its territories and freely associated states, through member community health clinics. Association members are located in communities with high concentrations of medically underserved Asian and Pacific Islanders, and work to provide community responsive, financially affordable, and culturally appropriate primary health care services. Services to consumers include referrals and publications. AAPCHO's resources and services range from translated health education materials for patients, to maps detailing areas with medically underserved AAPIs, to listservs that electronically link individuals from across the country. Materials are available in Asian languages.

Contact: 300 Frank H.Ogawa Plaza, Suite 620, Oakland, CA 94612, Telephone: (510) 272-9536 Fax: (510) 272-0817 Web Site: http://www.aapcho.org

Keywords: Asian Americans, Minority groups, Minority health promotion, Minority health, Access to health care, Information dissemination, Pacific Islanders

more information

ASTM International

Annotation: ASTM International is a nonprofit organization founded in 1898 that provides a forum for industry, consumers, government representatives, and academia to develop standards for materials, products, systems, and services. ASTM's consumer products committee develops standards for playground equipment, infant furniture, bunk beds, toys, high chairs, helmets, toy chests, toxicity testing, and safety characteristics for a variety of consumer products. The society publishes a catalog, newsletter and monthly magazine, Standardization News. Some materials are available in Spanish and Asian languages. The society sponsors workshops and training programs.

Contact: 100 Barr Harbor Drive, P.O. Box C700, West Conshohocken, PA 19428-2959, Telephone: (610) 832-9585 Fax: (610) 832-9555 Web Site: http://www.astm.org E-mail: bschindl@astm.org

Keywords: Consumers, Injury prevention, Product safety

more information

Beach Center on Disability

Annotation: The Beach Center on Disability is a research and training center that focuses on families of people with disabilities. The center is funded in part by the National Institute on Disability and Rehabilitation Research, Office of Special Education and Rehabilitative Services, U.S. Department of Education, and by private endowments. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. The center publishes a catalog and newsletter and sponsors conferences and training seminars. Some materials are available in Spanish and Asian languages. The center's Web site provides lists of groups and organizations in each state.

Contact: University of Kansas, Haworth Hall, Room 3136, 1200 Sunnyside Avenue, Lawrence, KS 66045-7534, Telephone: (785) 864-7600 TTY: (785) 864-3434 Fax: (785) 864-7605 Web Site: http://www.beachcenter.org E-mail: beachcenter@ku.edu

Keywords: Children, Developmental disabilities, Family resource centers, Family support, Technology dependence

more information

Center for Injury Prevention Policy & Practice (CIPPP)

Annotation: The Center for Injury Prevention Policy & Practice (CIPPP) serves as a resource center for childhood injury prevention and is located within the Maternal and Child Health Division of the Graduate School of Public Health at San Diego University. The Center focuses on reducing child and adolescent injury, mortality, morbidity, and cost by facilitating increased capacity for childhood injury prevention at the state and local level. CIPPP hosts the Injury Prevention Web family of sites (see http://www.injuryprevention.org); provides a weekly update of injury research and prevention literature (see http://safetylit.org); provides technical assistance; conducts training workshops on injuries and prevention strategies; hosts an annual conference; and develops materials to assist government agencies, community organizations, and others with the development and implementation of injury prevention programs. Some materials are available in Spanish, Asian, and other languages.

Contact: San Diego State University, 6475 Alvarado Road, Suite 105, San Diego, CA 92120, Telephone: (619) 594-3691 Fax: (619) 594-1995 Web Site: http://www.cippp.org/ E-mail: kmjones@projects.sdu.edu

Keywords: Adolescent health, California, Child health, Data, Educational materials, Injury prevention, Prevention programs, Program development, Research, Resources for professionals

more information

Center for Law and Education

Annotation: The Center for Law and Education provides support services on education issues to advocates working on behalf of low-income students and parents. Its mission is to take a leadership role in improving the quality of public education for low-income students throughout the nation and to enable low-income communities to address their own public education problems effectively. Center activities include: advice and collaboration on cases, publications, training, litigation, and assisting parent and student involvement in education. Publications include a journal, and a quarterly newsletter that reports on legal developments in the field and several resources for special education advocates, such as Educational Rights of Children with Disabilities: A Primer for Advocates . A catalog is available. Some materials are available in Spanish, Asian languages and other languages.

Contact: 1875 Conneticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 510, Washington, DC 20009, Telephone: (202) 986-3000 Fax: (202) 986-6648 Web Site: http://www.cleweb.org E-mail: pweckstein@cleweb.org

Keywords: Education, Legal issues, Low income groups

more information

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)

Annotation: The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), a part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is the primary Federal agency responsible for conducting and supporting public health activities in the United States, including the prevention and control of infecious and chronic disease. The primary goals of the agency are to reduce health risks during every stage of life; spearhead efforts to improve global health; ensure that the places people live, work, and play have safe, healthy environments; and prepare for emerging health threats from mental health to environmental health. CDC´s top organizational components include the Office of the Director, the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health, and six coordinating Centers/Offices: The Coordinating Center for Environmental Health and Injury Prevention (CCEHIP), the Coordinating Center for Health Information Service (CCHIS); the Coordinating Center for Health Promotion (CoCHP)); the Coordinating Center for Infectious Diseases (CCID); the Coordinating Office for Global Health (COGH); and the Coordinating Office for Terrorism Preparedness and Emergency Response (COTPER). The Public Inquiries Office responds to inquiries in the areas of preventive medicine, immunization, disease control, and health education. Services to consumers include referrals, publications and reference information. The Web site covers a wide range of health & safety topics, including diseases & conditions, emergency rpeparedness, environmental health, life stages & populations, healthy living, injury and violence; travelers' health, and workplace health and safety. Also included are links to data and statistics, onlineaccess to CDC's journals and other publications; and tools & resources such as an image library, podcasts, and a Body Mass Index (BMI0 calculator. A Spanish-language version of the Web site is available, and some materials are available in Spanish, French, Asian languages and other languages. CDC also sponsors conferences, training seminars and workshops. I

Contact: 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: (404) 639-3534 Secondary Telephone: (800) 311-3435 Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov E-mail: cdc@cdcinfo.gov

Keywords: Adolescents, Data analysis, Data collection, Disease prevention, Environmental health, Federal agencies, Guidelines, Health education, Health promotion, Immunization, Listservs, Nutrition, Occupational safety and health, Online databases, Population surveillance, Preventive health services, Publications, Safety, Spanish language materials, Standards, Technical assistance, Training

more information

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Office of Minority Health and Health Disparities (CDC OMHD)

Annotation: CDC's Office of Minority Health and Health Disparities (OMHD) aims to accelerate CDC’s health impact in the U.S population and to eliminate health disparities for vulnerable populations as defined by race/ethnicity, socio-economic status, geography, gender, age, disability status, risk status related to sex and gender, and among other populations identified to be at-risk for health disparities.

Contact: Mailstop E-67, 1600 Clifton Road N.E., Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: (404) 498-2320 Fax: (404) 498-2355 Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/omhd/default.htm E-mail: omhd@cdc.gov

Keywords: Federal agencies, Health policy, Health programs, Information services, Minority groups, Minority health, Technical assistance

more information

Child Care Law Center (CCLC)

Annotation: The Child Care Law Center (CCLC) is a national non-profit legal services organization that focuses exclusively on complex legal issues concerning the establishment and provision of child care services. The Center's primary objective is to use legal tools to foster the development of quality, affordable child care programs. CCLC combines expert legal services with policy development, advocacy, training, and technical assistance education. The Center publishes a newsletter and sponsors workshops and training seminars. Referrals and publications are provided to consumers. Some materials are available in Spanish and Asian languages.

Contact: 221 Pine Street, Third Floor, San Francisco, CA 94104, Telephone: (415) 394-7144 Fax: (415) 394-7140 Web Site: http://www.childcarelaw.org E-mail: info@childcarelaw.org

Keywords: Child care, Legal aid, Legal issues, Policy, Special health care needs

more information

Children's Tumor Foundation (CTF)

Annotation: The Children's Tumor Foundation (CTF), formerly the National Neurofibromatosis Foundation, supports research on the causes, prevention, and treatment of neurofibromatosis. The foundation provides information on the disorder to patients and their families and helps them to find medical, social, and genetic counseling. It also provides information to health professionals and the public. Publications include Neurofibromatosis: A Handbook for Parents, Neurofibromatosis: Information for Kids, Neurofibromatosis: Information for Patients and Families, and a quarterly newsletter, neuro•fibroma•tosis news. Audiovisual materials include: The Many Faces of NF, video and also audiocassette of Information for patients and families. CTF also supports a Kids' Council for children to connect with other children with neurofibromatosis and to participate in running programs and fundraising activities. Materials are available in Spanish, French, Asian, and other select languages. The foundation also sponsors conferences.

Contact: 95 Pine Street, 16th Floor, New York, NY 10005, Telephone: (212) 344-6633 Secondary Telephone: (800) 323-7938 Fax: (212) 747-0004 Web Site: http://www.nf.org E-mail: info@ctf.org

Keywords: Information services, Medical research, Nervous system diseases, Neurofibromatosis

more information

Cyclic Vomiting Syndrome Association (CVSA)

Annotation: Cyclic Vomiting Syndrome Association provides services to families and professionals that include include referrals, publications, and reference information. CVSA provides materials in Spanish, French, Asian languages, and other languages; funds research; publishes a newsletter; sponsors conferences; and maintains a listserv for members.

Contact: 2819 West Highland Blvd, Milwaukee, WI 53208, Telephone: (414) 342-7880 Fax: (414) 342-8980 Web Site: http://www.cvsaonline.org E-mail: cvsa@cvsaonline.org

Keywords: Cyclic vomiting syndrome

more information

D.C. Community Prevention Partnership

Annotation: The D.C. Community Prevention Partnership is one of the District of Columbia's leading substance abuse and violence prevention agencies. The Partnership supports the efforts of residents and community groups to design and implement their own prevention initiatives. It also involves young people in prevention work, enabling them to plan community service activities that will reduce substance abuse and violence in their neighborhoods. In addition, the Partnership engages in technical assistance and training, coalition building and community organizing. The Partnership provides referrals, publications, and reference information (materials are available in Spanish and Asian languages). It also sponsors conferences and training seminars and publishes a newsletter.

Contact: 1612 K Street, N.W., Suite 1100, Washington, DC 20006, Telephone: (202) 898-4700 Fax: (202) 898-4707

Keywords: Community service, District of Columbia, Substance abuse prevention, Violence prevention

more information

Dental Health Foundation (DHF)

Annotation: The Dental Health Foundation (TDHF) works to promote oral health through community-based efforts. Publications include the Physician's Guide to Dental Emergencies and brochures and videotapes on early childhood caries. Materials are available in Spanish and some Asian languages. The foundation sponsors conferences, workshops, and training seminars.

Contact: 520 Third Street, Suite 108, Oakland, CA 94607, Telephone: (510) 663-3727 Fax: (510) 663-3733 Web Site: http://www.dentalhealthfoundation.org E-mail: info@tdhf.org

Keywords: Child health, Dental health, Infant health, Oral health, Young children

more information

EngenderHealth

Annotation: EngenderHealth, formerly AVSC International, works worldwide to improve the lives of individuals by making health services safe, available, and sustainable. They provide technical assistance, training, and information, with a focus on practical solutions that improve services where resources are scarce. This organization believes that individuals have the right to make informed decisions about their reproductive health and to receive care that meets their needs. It works in partnership with governments, institutions, and health care professionals to make this right a reality. EngenderHealth sponsors conferences and training seminars. The organization provides consumers with reference information and publications, including a catalog and a newsletter. Materials are available in Spanish, French, Russian, and Asian languages.

Contact: 440 Ninth Avenue, New York, NY 10001, Telephone: (212) 561-8000 Fax: (212) 561-8067 Web Site: http://www.engenderhealth.org E-mail: info@engenderhealth.org

Keywords: Contraception, Reproductive health, Sterilization, Vasectomy

more information

Family Planning Center of Hawaii

Annotation: Planned Parenthood of Hawaii (previously known as Family Planning Center of Hawaii) provides services to consumers including referrals, publications, and reference information. Materials are available in Spanish and some Asian languages. The organization publishes a newsletter.

Contact: 1350 South King Street #310, Honolulu, HI 96814, Telephone: (808) 589-1149 Fax: (808) 589-1160

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescent sexuality, Family planning, Hawaii, Information services, Spanish language materials

more information

Family Violence Prevention Fund (FVPF)

Annotation: The Family Violence Prevention Fund (FVPF) is a national nonprofit organization focusing on domestic violence prevention, education, advocacy, and public policy reform. FVPF disseminates information to consumers and professionals; sponsors campaigns to raise public awareness about domestic violence; provides referrals and other resources for battered women; sponsors conferences; and institutes model training programs. Publications include a newsletter, a catalog, and an electronic journal, Family Violence Prevention and Health Practice. Materials are available in Spanish, Asian languages, and other languages.

Contact: 383 Rhode Island Street, Suite 304, San Francisco, CA 94103-5133, Telephone: (415) 252-8900 TTY: (800) 595-4889 Fax: (415) 252-8991 Web Site: http://endabuse.org E-mail: info@endabuse.org

Keywords: Advocacy, Battered women, Domestic violence, Violence prevention

more information

Genetics Network of the New York State, Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands (GENES)

Annotation: The GENES represents providers and consumers of genetics services in New York State, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands. The network promotes the availability and development of quality genetics services within the region and encourages public and private support for research and education in the field of clinical genetics. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. Materials are available in Spanish, French, Asian, and other languages. GENES publishes a newsletter, directory and sponsors conferences.

Contact: New York State Department of Health, Wadsworth Center, Empire State Plaza, Room E-299, P.O. Box 509***DEFUNCT***, Albany, NY 12201-0509, Telephone: (518) 486-2215 Fax: (518) 473-1733

Keywords: Genetic counseling, Genetic services, Genetics, Health education, Medical research, New York, Regional genetics networks, Spanish language materials, Virgin islands

more information

Guttmacher Institute

Annotation: The Guttmacher Institute is a nonprofit corporation for research, policy analysis, and public education in the field of reproductive health. Services to consumers include publications and reference information. The institute publishes Perspectives on Sexual and Reproductive Health, International Family Planning Perspectives, The Guttmacher Policy Review, fact sheets, briefing papers, and special reports. A publications catalog is available. Some materials are available in Spanish, French, Asian, and other languages. The institute also has a list service, accessible through its Web site.

Contact: 125 Maiden Lane, New York, NY 10038, Telephone: (212) 248-1111 Secondary Telephone: (800) 355-0244 Fax: (212) 248-1951; Washington, D.C. Office (202) 223-5756 Web Site: http://www.guttmacher.org/ E-mail: guttmacher@guttmacher.org

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Data, Family planning, Foreign language materials, Information services, Listservs, Medical research, Online systems, Policy analysis, Pregnancy, Prenatal care, Public education, Publications, Reproductive health, Sexuality education

more information

Haemophilia Society

Annotation: Established in 1950, the Haemophilia Society is an international organization that provides information and support for people with hemophilia (or AIDS/HIV-related hemophilia and HEPC-related hemophilia) and their families and friends. The society advocates high treatment standards and campaigns for individuals with hemophilia. It holds an annual residential seminar for members, families, and professionals. Publications include a quarterly newsletter,The Bulletin, and other periodicals. Some materials are available in Asian languages.

Contact: Petersham House, First Floor, 57a Hatton Garden, London, England EC1N 8JG, Telephone: 020 7831 1020 toll free: 0800 018 6068 Fax: 020 7405 4824 Web Site: http://www.haemophilia.org.uk E-mail: info@haemophilia.org.uk

Keywords: AIDS, Advocacy, HIV, Hematologic diseases, Hemophilia, Overseas organization, Support groups

more information

Hawaii State Library

Annotation: The Hawaii State Library is the flagship library for the statewide public library system comprised of 50 public libraries, including a Library for the Blind and Physically Handicapped. Internet access is available to the public through each library statewide. Services to consumers include reference information. Materials are available in Asian languages.

Contact: 478 South King Street, Honolulu, HI 96813, Telephone: (808) 586-3500 Web Site: http://www.librarieshawaii.org/

Keywords: Hawaii, Libraries, State agencies

more information

Health Resource Center on Domestic Violence

Annotation: The Health Resource Center on Domestic Violence, a project of the Family Violence Prevention Fund, focuses on strengthening health care response to domestic violence. The Health Resource Center provides resources, training materials, and technical assistance to health care professionals and others serving victims of domestic violence. Some resources include: a comprehensive resource manual for health care providers to develop appropriate responses specific to their disciplines and settings; multidisciplinary protocols emphasizing routine screening and identification of domestic violence; comprehensive information packets for various health specialties; a national network of experts available for public speaking, training, and consultation; and a biannual Health Alert newsletter examining health policy issues and their potential impact on service delivery. The Health Resource Center also has program and information specialists available for technical assistance on how to develop successful training models and protocols. A catalog of training and education materials is also available. The Health Resource Center is funded by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and the Conrad N. Hilton Foundation. Materials are available in Spanish, Asian languages, and other languages.

Contact: Family Violence Prevention Fund, 383 Rhode Island Street, Suite 304, San Francisco, CA 94103-5133, Telephone: (415) 252-8900 Secondary Telephone: (800) 595-4889 Fax: (415) 252-8991 Web Site: http://endabuse.org/programs/healthcare E-mail: info@endabuse.org

Keywords: Asian language materials, Domestic violence, Foreign language materials, Information services, Injury prevention, Spanish language materials, Women's health

more information

HMA Associates

Annotation: HMA Associates provides immunization and other public health messages to major media networks that serve the information needs of the Spanish-speaking public. These culturally relevant public service announcements are also available to local community-based organizations and health departments. Publications are also provided to consumers, and some materials are available in Asian languages, as well as Spanish. HMA Associates also sponsors conferences.

Contact: 1101 17 Street, N.W., Suite 1102, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 342-0676, ext. 37 Fax: (202) 388-0086 Web Site: http://www.hmaassociates.com E-mail: info@hmaassociates.com

Keywords: Hispanic Americans, Immunization, Minority groups, Public service announcements

more information

Indoor Air Quality Information Clearinghouse (IAQ INFO)

Annotation: The Indoor Air Quality Information Clearinghouse provides information, referrals, and publications. Topics include asthma molds and moisture, radon, smoke-free homes and cars, environmental-health tools for schools, carbon monoxide, greenbuildings, disaster response, and related areas. Publications can be ordered through the Clearinghouse or downloaded from the Wed site. Some materials are available in Spanish and Asian languages.

Contact: EPA/Office of Radiation and Indoor Air, P.O. Box 37133, Washington, DC 20013-7133, Telephone: (202) 343-9370 Information hotline: (800)438-4318 Fax: 301/604-3408 (ordering) Web Site: http://www.epa.gov/iaq/ E-mail: nscep@bps-LMI.T.com

Keywords: Air pollution, Smoke

more information

International Childbirth Education Association (ICEA)

Annotation: The International Childbirth Education Association (ICEA) consists of groups and individuals interested in family-centered maternity and infant services. The association publishes a journal and pamphlets on topics relating to the childbearing years, certifies teachers, provides referrals, sponsors conventions and training seminars, and sells books and pamphlets on a wide range of topics, including pregnancy loss and bereavement. Some materials are available in Spanish, Asian languages and other languages. A catalog is available.

Contact: P.O. Box 20048, Minneapolis, MN 55420-0048, Telephone: (952) 854-8660 bookstore: (800) 624-4934 Fax: (952) 854-8772 Web Site: http://www.icea.org E-mail: info@icea.org

Keywords: Bereavement, Childbirth education, Family centered services, Pregnancy, Pregnancy loss

more information

International Life Sciences Institute (ILSI)

Annotation: The International Life Sciences Institute (ILSI) conducts and supports research on nutrition, toxicology, food safety, and environmental safety. Its divisions include the Human Nutrition Institute, Risk Science Institute, Health and Environmental Sciences Insitute, ILSI North America and ILSI Center for Health Promotion (Atlanta, GA). ILSI sponsors workshops, international conferences, and a research awards program, and produces publications including a catalog, newsletter, and journal. Services to consumers include referrals, inquiry responses, reference information, searchable databases, and publications. Some materials are available in Spanish, Asian, and other languages.

Contact: Ninth Floor, One Thomas Circle, NW, Washington, DC 20005-5802, Telephone: (202) 659-0074 Fax: (202) 659-3859 Web Site: http://www.ilsi.org E-mail: ilsi@ilsi.org

Keywords: Food safety, Nutrition research, Public health, Toxicology

more information

Job Corps

Annotation: The Job Corps is a national training and employment program administered by the Department of Labor to address barriers to employment faced by disadvantaged youth ages 16-24 throughout the United States. The purpose of Job Corps is to assist young people who need and can benefit from an intensive program, operated primarily in the residential setting of a Job Corps center, to become more responsible, employable, and productive citizens. The program targets severely disadvantaged youth and provides total support, including basic education and vocational classes; dental, medical, mental health and vision care; social and recreational programs; counseling; and student leadership activities. Services to consumers include referrals, publications and reference information. Some materials are available in Spanish, and some Asian languages. The program publishes an annual report. The program also sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Contact: U.S. Department of Labor, 200 Constitution Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20210, Telephone: (877) US-2jobs to join Job Corps: (800) 733-JOBS Web Site: http://jobcorps.doleta.gov E-mail: pagemaster@jobcorps.org

Keywords: Adolescents, Education, Employment, Training

more information

John Tracy Clinic

Annotation: The John Tracy Clinic, founded in 1942, offers families with young children up to the age of six correspondence education courses to help them meet the challenges of deafness. All courses are offered in both English and Spanish. (Materials are also available in French, Asian and 25 other languages as well). The clinic sponsors conferences, training seminars and workshops and offers intensive three-week summer courses for parents, their young deaf child, and siblings from age 6-12 to show them how to communicate with their sibling. For families in the Southern California, there is a parent/infant program, a preschool, parent classes and support groups, full audiological testing and graduate education for teachers of the deaf. All services are offered without charge. The organization also publishes a bulletin.

Contact: 806 West Adams Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90007, Telephone: (213) 748-5481 Secondary Telephone: (800) 522-4582 Fax: (213) 749-1651 Web Site: http://www.johntracyclinic.org

Keywords: Advocacy, Civil rights, Deafness, Disabilities, Hearing disorders, Information services

more information

Johns Hopkins Center for Communications Programs, Media/Materials Clearinghouse (M/MC)

Annotation: The Media/Materials Clearinghouse (M/MC) at the Johns Hopkins University Center for Communication Programs is an international resource for health professionals who seek samples of pamphlets, posters, videos, and other media/materials designed to promote public health. The clearinghouse provides access to Mediabank, a database of health communications materials; Netlinks, a database of internet health resources for public health; Photoshare, a database of health-related photographs available for nonprofit use; and Videoshare, a database of videos for public health. The M/MC also manages the Health Communications Materials Network (HCMN), an international network of professionals specializing in the development of health communication materials. HCMN serves as a forum for health communication specialists to share ideas, information, and samples of health communication materials with colleagues, and to seek advice and suggestions from others working in the field. HCMN also has an online database of clip art which can be used in developing health communication materials. The clearinghouse provides publications in both electronic and print form, and materials are available in Spanish, French, Asian, and other languages. M/MC publishes a newsletter.

Contact: 111 Market Place, Suite 310, Baltimore, MD 21202, Telephone: (410) 659-6300 Web Site: http://www.m-mc.org/ E-mail: mmc@jhuccp.org

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Clearinghouses, Health promotion, Listservs

more information

Lupus Foundation of America (LFA)

Annotation: The Lupus Foundation of America (LFA) is a nonprofit voluntary health organization dedicated wholly to lupus. LFA's mission is to improve the diagnosis and treatment of lupus, support individuals and families affected by the disease, increase awareness among public and health professionals, and find the causes and cure for lupus. LFA conducts research and provides education, advocacy, and support through a nationwide network of nearly 300 chapters, branches and support groups.

Contact: 2000 L Street, N.W., Suite 710, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 349-1145 Information Request: (800) 558-0121 Fax: (202) 349-1156 Web Site: http://www.lupus.org E-mail: info@lupus.org

Keywords: Autoimmune diseases, Immunologic diseases, Support groups, Systemic lupus erythematosus

more information

Marimed Foundation

Annotation: The Marimed Foundation provides comprehensive services to Hawaii youth and families through marine-based experiential treatment and education programs that help moderately or severely challenged adolescents in their personal development and family relationships, facilitating their successful reintegration into home, school, or appropriate community alternatives. Foundation publications include a newsletter; materials are available in Asian languages.

Contact: 45-021 Likeke Place, Kaneohe, HI 96744, Telephone: (808) 236-2288 Fax: (808) 235-1074 Web Site: http://www.marimed.org E-mail: Info@Marimed.org

Keywords: Education, Federated States of Micronesia, Health services, Minority groups, Pacific Islanders

more information

Massachusetts Department of Public Health, Bureau of Family and Community Health, Injury Prevention and Control Program (IPCP)

Annotation: The Unintentional Injury Prevention and Control Program offers services to consumers that include referrals, publications and reference information. Materials are available in Spanish, French, Asian languages, and other languages.

Contact: 250 Washington Street, Fourth Floor, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 624-5413 Web Site: http://www.mass.gov/dph/fch/injury/data.htm E-mail: Cindy.Rodgers@state.ma.us

Keywords: Curricula, Data, Educational materials, Injury Prevention, Injury surveillance systems, Massachusetts, Resources for professionals, State initiatives, Training, Training materials, Visual aids

more information

Minnesota Department of Health, R.N. Barr Library

Annotation: The Minnesota Department of Health's R.N. Barr Public Health Library assists public health professionals in protecting, maintaining and improving the health of all Minnesotans. The library serves MDH employees as well as staff of Minnesota county or city health departments and school nurses, psychologists, and social workers in Minnesota K-12 schools. The public is welcome to use materials on site or borrow them through their local library. Some materials are available in Spanish and Asian languages. Videos circulate to any Minnseota resident. The library also publishes a newsletter. The library has an additional location in St. Paul.

Contact: Orville L. Freeman State Office Building, Room C135, 625 Robert St. N, PO Box 64975, St. Paul, MN 55164, Telephone: (612) 201-5090 Library Director: (651) 201-5092 Fax: (612) 201-5099 Web Site: http://www.health.state.mn.us/library/ E-mail: library@health.state.mn.us

Keywords: Health sciences libraries, Minnesota, State agencies

more information

National Asian Women's Health Organization (NAWHO)

Annotation: The National Asian Women's Health Organization (NAWHO) is an organization that seeks to improve Asian women's health status, to promote a broader Asian women's health agenda, and to promote a multicultural perspective on women's health issues. It sponsors community forums to educate Asian women on issues of health, reproductive rights, and self-determination. The organization is a governing member of the Women of Color Coalition for Reproductive Health Rights.

Contact: One Embarcardero Center , Suite 500, San Francisco, CA 94111, Telephone: (415) 773-2838 Fax: (415) 773-2872 Web Site: http://www.nawho.org E-mail: info@nawho.org

Keywords: Asian Americans, Minority groups, Reproduction, Women Reproductive rights, Women's health

more information

National Cancer Institute (NCI)

Annotation: The National Cancer Institute's (NCI's) Web site Cancer.gov provides accurate, up-to-date information on many types of cancer, information on clinical trials, resources for people dealing with cancer, and information for researchers and health professionals. NCI offers referrals, inquiry responses, publications (including fact sheets, news updates, a journal, and an online catalog), reference information, searchable databases, and training seminars. Some materials are available in Spanish and Asian languages.

Contact: 6116 Executive Boulevard, MSC 8322, Room 3036A, Bethesda, MD 20892-8322, Telephone: (800) 422-6237 TTY: (800) 332-8615 Fax: (301) 402-0555 Web Site: http://www.cancer.gov

Keywords: Cancer, Government financing, Medical research, Online databases

more information

National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)

Annotation: The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) provides consumers with referrals, publications, and reference information. It publishes a catalog and sponsors conferences and training seminars. Materials are available in Spanish, French, Asian, and other languages.

Contact: 1990 K Street, N. W., Washington, DC 20006, Telephone: (202) 502-7300 Exe. Dir.: (202) 502-7442 Fax: (202) 219-1736 Web Site: http://www.nces.ed.gov E-mail: Mark.Schneider@ed.gov

Keywords: Data, Education, Statistical surveys, Statistics

more information

National Center for Fathering

Annotation: National Center for Fathering (NCF) seeks to inspire and equip men to be better fathers through seminars and small groups. It provides fathering resources through its newsletter and web page. NCF provides direct father training and resources as well as train-the-trainer seminars and resources for those who work with dads. Materials are available in Spanish and Asian languages.

Contact: P.O. Box 413888, Kansas City, MO 64141-3888, Telephone: (800) 593-3237 Fax: (913) 384-4665 Web Site: http://www.fathers.com E-mail: dads@fathers.com

Keywords: Fathers

more information

National Center for Missing and Exploited Children (NCMEC)

Annotation: The National Center for Missing and Exploited Children (NCMEC) provides professionals and the public with information and publications concerning missing children, child molestation, child pornography, and child prostitution. The center sponsors a hotline to assist the public in reporting missing and exploited children and in providing information leading to the location of these children. The center also maintains national statistics and information on the incidence of abductions; conducts a training and technical assistance programs; and provides news bulletins, fact sheets, and other resources for parents and guardians, childcare providers, law enforcement officers, and the media. Materials are available in Spanish, Asian languages, and other languages.

Contact: Charles B. Wang International Children's Building, 699 Prince Street, Alexandria, VA 22314-3175, Telephone: (703) 274-3900 Secondary Telephone: (800) 843-5678 Fax: (703) 274-2200 Web Site: http://www.missingkids.com/

Keywords: Assault, Child abuse, Child pornography, Child sexual abuse, Family violence, Homicide, Information services, Injury prevention, Intentional injuries, Missing children, Public education

more information

National Clearinghouse for Alcohol and Drug Information (NCADI)

Annotation: A service of the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA), SAMHSA’s National Clearinghouse for Alcohol and Drug Information (NCADI ) is the Nation’s primary resource for information about substance abuse prevention and addiction treatment. Free and low-cost information, publications, and multimedia resources are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, through toll-free phone service in English and Spanish. NCADI’s resources and Library databases are also accessible online. Materials are available in Spanish and Asian languages. Anyone can sign up to receive electronic news updates. The on-site Resource Library is open to the public, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday.

Contact: Telephone: (800) 729-6686 TDD: (800) 487-4889 Web Site: http://ncadi.samhsa.gov

Keywords: Alcohol abuse, Drug abuse, Substance abuse prevention programs

more information

National Coalition Against Domestic Violence (NCADV)

Annotation: The National Coalition Against Domestic Violence (NCADV) is a network of shelters and support services for battered women and their children. The coalition's Washington office handles public policy, while the national office handles membership, publications, public relations, and fundraising activities. The Coalition sponsors conferences and training seminars; publishes a newsletter, catalog, and journal; and provides referrals (however, NCADV does not provide direct services; if you need to locate a shelter or specific service in your area, contact your state coalition, posted on the NCADV Web site). Some materials are available in Spanish, Portuguese, and Asian languages. For public policy information, contact the Washington, DC office at 1633 Q St, NW, Washington, DC, 20009, (202) 745-1211(phone), (202) 745-0088 (fax).

Contact: 1120 Lincoln Street, Suite 1603, Denver, CO 80203, Telephone: (303) 839-1852 Fax: (303) 831-9251 Web Site: http://www.ncadv.org E-mail: mainoffice@ncadv.org

Keywords: Battered women, Children, Domestic violence, Support groups, Women

more information

National Coalition of Advocates for Students, Clearinghouse for Immigrant Education (NCAS / CHIME)

Annotation: Operated by the National Coalition of Advocates for Students (NCAS), the Clearinghouse for Immigrant Education (CHIME) is an interactive clearinghouse and networking service that facilitates access to educational materials, organizations, and individuals concerned with the effective education of immigrant students, students of color, low-income students or those with special needs. NCAS itself has a project on HIV/AIDS education with migrant farm workers. Publications include the Mobilization for Equity newsletter, free bibliographies on current educational topics, some articles, research reports on current education topics, and information on NCAS reports and projects. Some materials are available in Spanish, Haitian Creole, and Asian languages.

Contact: 100 Boylston Street, Suite 737, Boston, MA 02116, Telephone: (617) 357-8507 Secondary Telephone: (800) 441-7192 Fax: (617) 357-9549 Web Site: http://www.ncas1.org

Keywords: Adolescents, Children, Education, Immigrant health, Psychosocial development

more information

National Council on Patient Information and Education (NCPIE)

Annotation: The National Council on Patient Information and Education (NCPIE) is a nonprofit coalition of organizations working to stimulate and improve communication on the appropriate use of medicines to consumers and health care professionals. The Council provides materials in Spanish and Asian languages, publishes a catalog and a newsletter, and sponsors conferences.

Contact: 4915 St. Elmo Ave, Suite 505, Bethesda, MD 20814-6082, Telephone: (301) 656-8565 Fax: (202) 656-4464 Web Site: http://www.talkaboutrx.org E-mail: ncpie@ncpie.info

Keywords: Drug education, Medicine, Prescription drugs

more information

National Health Law Program (NHeLP)

Annotation: The National Health Law Program (NHeLP) is a national support center that provides technical assistance to advocates of low-income adults, minorities, the elderly, and people with disabilities. Attorneys provide expertise on Medicaid, managed care, EPSDT, rights of AIDS patients, insuring the uninsured, maternal and infant care access, and state and local government responsibility for care. Many of NHeLP's publications can be downloaded free of charge from the Web site. Services for consumers include referrals, reference information, and publications. Materials are available in Spanish and some Asian languages. NHeLP also maintains a consumer-oriented Web site, http://www.healthcarecoach.com, which provides information on keeping health care costs down, dealing with health insurance issues, and numerous health care issues. The program also has offices in Chapel Hill, North Carolina and in Washington, DC.

Contact: 2639 South La Cienega Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90034, Telephone: (310) 204-6010 Fax: (310) 204-0891 Web Site: http://www.healthlaw.org E-mail: nhelp@healthlaw.org

Keywords: EPSDT, Legislation, Managed care, Medicaid, Medicare, Public policies

more information

National Health Law Program, North Carolina Office (NHeLP)

Annotation: The National Health Law Program (NHeLP) is a national support center that provides technical assistance to advocates of low-income adults, minorities, the elderly, and people with disabilities. Attorneys provide expertise on Medicaid, managed care, EPSDT, rights of AIDS patients, insuring the uninsured, maternal and infant care access, and state and local government responsibility for care. Many of NHeLP's publications can be downloaded free of charge from the Web site. Services for consumers include referrals, reference information, and publications. Materials are available in Spanish and some Asian languages. NHeLP also maintains a consumer-oriented Web site, http://www.healthcarecoach.com, which provides information on keeping health care costs down, dealing with health insurance issues, and numerous health care issues. The program also has offices in Los Angeles, California (main office) and in Washington, DC.

Contact: 211 North Columbia Street, Second Floor, Chapel Hill, NC 27514-3503, Telephone: (919) 968-6308 Fax: (919) 968-8855 Web Site: http://www.healthlaw.org E-mail: nhelp@healthlaw.org

Keywords: EPSDT, Legislation, Managed care, Medicaid, Medicare, Public policies

more information

National Health Law Program, Washington, DC Office (NHeLP)

Annotation: The National Health Law Program (NHeLP) is a national support center that provides technical assistance to advocates of low-income adults, minorities, the elderly, and people with disabilities. Attorneys provide expertise on Medicaid, managed care, EPSDT, rights of AIDS patients, insuring the uninsured, maternal and infant care access, and state and local government responsibility for care. Many of NHeLP's publications can be downloaded free of charge from the Web site. Services for consumers include referrals, reference information, and publications. Materials are available in Spanish and some Asian languages. NHeLP also maintains a consumer-oriented Web site, http://www.healthcarecoach.com, which provides information on keeping health care costs down, dealing with health insurance issues, and numerous health care issues. The program also has offices in Los Angeles, California (main office) and in Chapel Hill, North Carolina.

Contact: 1441 I Street, N.W., 11th Floor, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 289-7661 Fax: (202) 289-7724 Web Site: http://www.healthlaw.org E-mail: nhelpdc@healthlaw.org

Keywords: EPSDT, Legislation, Managed care, Medicaid, Medicare, Public policies

more information

National Healthy Mothers, Healthy Babies Coalition (HMHB)

Annotation: The National Healthy Mothers, Healthy Babies Coalition (HMHB) improves the health and safety of mothers, infants, and families through education and collaborative partnerships of public and private organizations. Enhanced by a network of 90 Healthy Mothers, Healthy Babies State and Local Coalitions, HMHB creates partnerships among community groups, nonprofit organizations, professional associations, businesses, and government agencies. HMHB produces a weekly e-mail news alert, a newsletter, and educational materials and resources for professionals who serve communities in which women often do not receive early prenatal care and infant mortality rates are high. Topics include breastfeeding promotion, immunization promotion, adolescent health, and maternal and child health. Selected materials are available in Spanish.

Contact: 2000 North Beauregard Street, Sixth Floor, Alexandria, VA 22311-1748, Telephone: (703) 837-4792 Fax: (703) 684-5968 Web Site: http://www.hmhb.org E-mail: info@hmhb.org

Keywords: Advocacy, Child health, Health education, Infant health, Maternal health, Pregnant women, Prenatal care

more information

National Information Center on Health Services Research and Health Care Technology (NICHSR)

Annotation: The National Information Center on Health Services Research and Health Care Technology (NICHSR) at National Library of Medicine (NLM) coordinates NLM's activities in health services research (HSR) by improving access to HSR results, including practice guidelines and technology assessments; by improving access to data and other information needed by the creators of HSR; and by contributing to the information infrastructure needed to foster computer-based patient record systems. The HealthSTAR (Health Services, Technology, Administration, and Research) database contains references to the published literature of health services research. The HSRProj (Health Services Research Projects in Progress) database contains data on research in progress, before results are available in published form. HSTAT (Health Services Technology Assessment Text) provides free electronic access to the full text of clinical practice guidelines, technology assessments, and related documents. Services to consumers include referrals, publications and reference information. Some materials available in Spanish, French, Asian and other languages.

Contact: National Library of Medicine, Building 38A, 8600 Rockville Pike, Mailstop Code 3833, Bethesda, MD 20894, Telephone: (301) 496-0176 Fax: (301) 402-3193 Web Site: http://www.nlm.nih.gov/nichsr/nichsr.html E-mail: auston@nlm.nih.gov

Keywords: Health services, Information dissemination, Research

more information

National Lymphedema Network (NLN)

Annotation: The National Lymphedema Network is a non profit organization founded in 1988 to provide education and support to patients, health care professionals, and the general public by disseminating information on the prevention and management of primary and secondary lymphedema. Some materials are available in Spanish and Asian languages The NLN provides an on-line homepage; a quarterly Newsletter containing educational articles, a Resource Guide, Support Groups, Pen Pals/Net Pals, and updates on conferences and professional training courses; a toll-free hotline to give emotional support, provide education, and offer referrals to health care professionals and treatment centers, local support groups and exercise programs; and a computer data bank. The NLN also sponsors a biennial conference focusing solely on lymphedema.

Contact: 1611 Telegraph Avenue, Suite 1111, Oakland, CA 94612-2138, Telephone: (800) 541-3259 Secondary Telephone: (510) 208-3200 Fax: (510) 208-3110 Web Site: http://www.lymphnet.org E-mail: nln@lymphnet.org

Keywords: Blood and lymphatic diseases

more information

National Scoliosis Foundation (NSF)

Annotation: The National Scoliosis Foundation (NSF) is a nonprofit organization dedicated to the early detection and treatment of abnormal spinal curvatures such as scoliosis. NSF is focused on finding the cause, prevention, and cure of spinal deformities and seeks to minimize their affects through education, support, research, and advocacy. NSF provides physician referrals,public education, assists in school screening, and maintains a resource center on scoliosis. Publications include free information packets and a biannual newsletter, The Spinal Connection. NSF also hosts a Patient Forum on it's website. Some materials are available in Spanish, Asian, and other languages.

Contact: Five Cabot Place, Stoughton, MA 02072, Telephone: (781) 341-6333 Secondary Telephone: (800) 673-6922 Fax: (781) 341-8333 Web Site: http://www.scoliosis.org E-mail: nsf@scoliosis.org

Keywords: Scoliosis

more information

NERGG, Inc. (NERGG)

Annotation: NERGG, Inc., formerly known as the New England Regional Genetics Group, is a consortium of providers and consumers of genetic services in Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Vermont. Members include representatives of state health departments, university medical schools, genetic services laboratories, hospitals, private medical practices, and various consumer organizations. The group is a regional network that collects data, provides a forum for problem sharing and solving, promotes efficient use of resources, and facilitates improvement of the quality and quantity of genetic services offered in the New England region. The NERGG Web site was funded in part by a grant from the Maternal and Child Health Bureau.

Contact: P.O. Box 920288, Needham, MA 02492, Telephone: (781) 444-0126 Fax: (781) 444-0127 Web Site: http://www.nergg.org E-mail: mfgnergg@verizon.net

Keywords: Genetic counseling, Genetic services, Genetics, Regional genetics networks, Spanish language materials

more information

North Dakota State Library (NDSL)

Annotation: The North Dakota State Library provides information to all North Dakota citizens, coordinates the interlibrary loan process for the state, assists the reference departments of other libraries of North Dakota, offers continuing education classes, administers Library Services Construction Act funds, offers services to the blind and physically handicapped populations, and assists with the development of libraries in North Dakota. Some materials are available in Spanish, French, Asian and other languages. The organization publishes a newsletter and sponsors training seminars.

Contact: 604 East Boulevard Avenue, Bismarck, ND 58505-0800, Telephone: (701) 328-2492 Secondary Telephone: (800) 472-2104 Fax: (701) 328-2040 Web Site: http://ndsl.lib.state.nd.us E-mail: statelib@nd.gov

Keywords: Libraries, North Dakota, State agencies

more information

Office of Population Affairs Clearinghouse

Annotation: The Office of Population Affairs Clearinghouse (formerly the Family Life Information Exchange) provides referrals and distributes various federal publications on family planning, contraception, adolescent pregnancy, and adoption. Available materials include a catalog, manuals, directories, fact sheets, pamphlets, and summaries of Adolescent Family Life (AFL) projects. Some materials are available in Spanish and Asian languages

Contact: P.O. Box 30686, Bethesda, MD 20824-0686, Telephone: (866) 640-7827 Fax: (866) 592-3299 Web Site: http://www.hhs.gov/opa/pubs/ E-mail: info@opaclearinghouse.org

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Adoption, Contraception, Family planning

more information

PACER Center

Annotation: The PACER Center, founded in 1977, was created by parents of children and youth with disabilities to help other parents and families facing similar challenges. PACER strives to improve and expand opportunities that enhance the quality of life for children and adults with disabilities and their families. The center offers training and information about special education laws and procedures, parents' rights and responsibilities, and health and transition issues. PACER is staffed primarily by parents of children with disabilities and works with a coalition of 18 disability organizations. PACER offers programs for students, in-service training for professionals, and referral and reference information for the general public. The organization sponsors confeences, produces a variety of publications (with some materials available in Spanish and Asian languages), and develops and develops specialized Web sites.

Contact: 8161 Normandale Boulevard, Bloomington, MN 55437-1044, Telephone: (952) 838-9000 TTY: (952) 838-0190 Fax: (952) 838-0199 Web Site: http://www.pacer.org E-mail: pacer@pacer.org

Keywords: Affective disorders, Assistive devices, Behavior disorders, Children, Disabilities, Family resource centers, Mainstreaming, Parent education, Parenting, Parents, Special education, Supported employment, Training, Transitions, Young children

more information

ParentAbility (PA)

Annotation: ParentAbility is a contact network of people with physical or sensory impairments, those with long term illnesses, and people with learning difficulties. The group supports pregnancy and parenthood for people with disabilities and puts disabled parents and those considering parenthood in touch with one another to share experiences, joys, problems and frustrations, and to pass on practical tips and information. ParentAbility's other services (all run by parent volunteers from home) include information sheets, contact network for professionals working with disabled parents, a photographic exhibition available for loan, training of professionals, and campaigning and networking to improve services and support for disabled people in pregnancy and parenthood. Publications include a several information sheets, videotapes, and books, along with a quarterly newsletter containing articles by members, information about meetings, conferences and publications, and useful tips and ideas. Some materials are available in Asian languages.

Contact: P.O. Box 72, London, England HA46Xj, Telephone: (081) 992-8637

Keywords: Gynecology, Overseas organization, Parenting, Physical disabilities, Pregnancy, Special health care needs, Women

more information

Park Ridge Center for the Study of Health, Faith, and Ethics (PRC)

Annotation: The Park Ridge Center for the Study of Health, Faith, and Ethics is an independent not-for-profit organization supported by grants, foundations, and private and corporate contributors. The center explores the relationship between religious beliefs and health-related issues in collaboration with representatives from diverse cultures, religious communities, health care fields, and academic disciplines. Services provided to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. Some materials are available in Spanish, French, and Asian languages. The center also publishes a bulletin and a catalog and sponsors workshops.

Contact: 205 West Touhy Avenue, Suite 203, Park Ridge, IL 60068, Telephone: (837) 384-3507 Fax: (837) 384-3557 Web Site: http://www.parkridgecenter.org/ E-mail: al.hurd@advocatehealth.com

Keywords: Bioethics, Ethics, Faith, Health, Information services, Religion, Religious organizations

more information

Population Council (POPCOUNCIL)

Annotation: The Population Council is an international, nonprofit, nongovernmental organization founded in 1952. The council conducts biomedical, social science, and public health research and helps build research capacities in developing countries. The council is governed by an international board of trustees. Its New York headquarters supports a global network of regional and country offices. Services to consumers include referrals, inquiry responses, publications, reference information, and searchable databases. Materials are available in Spanish, French, and Asian languages, and the council has a listserv that is available to anyone. The council publishes a newsletter and a journal, and conducts conferences.

Contact: One Dag Hammarskjold Plaza, New York, NY 10017, Telephone: (212) 339-0500 Fax: (212) 755-6052 Web Site: http://www.popcouncil.org E-mail: pubinfo@popcouncil.org

Keywords: Medicine, Population dynamics, Public health, Research, Social sciences

more information

Postpartum Support, International (PSI)

Annotation: Postpartum Support, International (PSI) focuses on the mental health and social support needs of pregnant and postpartum women. The organization works to increase public and professional awareness of the emotional changes women often experience during pregnancy and after the birth of a baby. Referrals, reference information, and searchable databases are provided to consumers. PSI publishes a newsletter, maintains a lending library for its members and sponsors an annual conference, training seminars and workshops. Materials are available in Spanish, French, Asian languages, and other languages.

Contact: P.O. Box 60931, Santa Barbara, CA 93160, Telephone: (805) 967-7636 Help Line: (800) 944-4773 Fax: (323) 204-0635 Web Site: http://www.postpartum.net E-mail: PSIOffice@postpartum.net

Keywords: Postpartum depression

more information

Pregnancy Foresight Project

Annotation: The Pregnancy Foresight Project is a March of Dimes sponsored project administered by Swedish Medical Center aimed at assessing the current practice and improving the nature and scope of Washington State primary care providers (PCPs) education in four key areas: (1) discussion of family history of birth defects/genetic disorders; (2) prenatal testing for birth defects/genetic disorders;  (3) benefits of folic acid in preventing birth defects; and  (4) effects of alcohol and smoking on babies. The project's Web site provides professional resources and patient education materials in numerous languages, including Arabic, Assyrian, Chinese, Croatian, Farsi / Persian, Greek, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Khmer / Cambodian, Korean, Laotian, Macedonian, Polish, Portuguese, Punjabi, Russian, Samoan, Serbian, Somali, Spanish, Thai, Tigrinya, Tongan, Turkish, Ukrainian, and Vietnamese.

Contact: Swedish Medical Center, 747 Broadway, Seattle, WA 98122, Telephone: (206) 386-2101 Fax: (206) 386-3180 Web Site: http://www.swedishmedical.org/PregnancyForesight/Home.html E-mail: pfproj@swedish.org

Keywords: Asian language materials, Consumer education materials, Folic acid, Non English language materials, Preconception care, Prenatal education, Spanish language materials

more information

Prevention First, Inc. (PFI)

Annotation: Prevention First, Inc. (PFI) provides current, comprehensive information and training on alcohol and other drug abuse prevention for Illinois residents. Through training, consultation, information services, and advocacy, PFI tries to promote health and wellness among individuals, organizations, and communities. Services to consumers include reference information and publications. Some materials are available in Spanish and Asian languages. PFI publishes a catalog and newsletter. The organization also sponsors conferences, training seminars and workshops.

Contact: 2800 Montvale Drive, Springfield, IL 62704, Telephone: (217) 793-7353 Toll Free in Illinois Only: (800) 252-8951 Fax: (217) 793-7354 Web Site: http://www.prevention.org/ E-mail: ask@prevention.org

Keywords: Advocacy, Alcoholism, Fetal alcohol syndrome, Health promotion, Illinois, Information services, Substance abuse prevention, Training

more information

Resource Center on Domestic Violence: Child Protection and Custody

Annotation: Established in 1993, the Resource Center on Domestic Violence: Child Protection and Custody, part of the Family Violence Department of the National Council of Juvenile and Family Court Judges, offers technical and training services to judges, court workers, advocates, lawyers, child protective workers, law enforcement personnel, and other professionals working in the field of domestic violence. The resource center is one of five domestic violence resource centers in the Domestic Violence Resource Network. The resource center publishes a newsletter and makes publications on family violence of the Family Violence Department available. Some materials are available in Asian and Spanish. The resource center also houses a library of videotapes available for loan.

Contact: National Council of Juvenile and Family Court Judges, P.O. Box 8970, Reno, NV 89507, Telephone: (800) 527-3223

Keywords: Battered women, Child abuse, Child advocacy, Child custody, Child protective services, Domestic violence, Family violence

more information

SafetyBeltSafe U.S.A. (SBS USA)

Annotation: SafetyBeltSafe U.S.A. (SBS USA) is a national nonprofit organization that works to reduce the number of passengers, especially children, killed or injured as motor vehicle occupants. As a national resource center, the organization provides program and technical consultation, technical training, a speakers' bureau, and an audiovisual library. Other activities include the Safe Ride Helpline and a special annual event, Safety Seat Checkup Week. The Web site provides technically accurate material for both parents and professionals and offers subscription to a list service. Publications include a bimonthly newsletter,SafetyBeltSafe News, training materials, public information pieces, and other documents covering various aspects of child passenger safety. Some materials are available in other languages, including Spanish, Armenian, Asian languages, Farsi, and Russian.

Contact: Box 553, Altadena, CA 91003, Web Site: http://www.carseat.org

Keywords: Occupant protection, Car seats, Injury prevention, Listservs, Seat belts

more information

San Francisco AIDS Foundation (SFAF)

Annotation: The San Francisco AIDS Foundation (SFAF) works to end the HIV epidemic and to mitigate its impact on society. The foundation educates the public on prevention of HIV transmission, helps people to make informed choices about HIV-related concerns and defends the human rights of people with HIV disease. The Foundation also provides client services, for people with HIV disease in San Francisco, that include housing, financial benefits counseling, treatment advocacy and support. In cooperation with other agencies, it provides leadership in the creation of direct services, public policy initiatives, and innovative, non duplicative educational programs. The Foundation also publishes a journal. Services to consumers include referrals and publications. Some materials are available in Spanish and Asian languages.

Contact: 995 Market Street, #200, San Francisco, CA 94103, Telephone: (415) 487-3000 Spanish: (415) 487-3004 Fax: (415) 487-3009 Web Site: http://www.sfaf.org E-mail: feedback@sfaf.org

Keywords: AIDS, AIDS related complex, Financial support, HIV, Health education, Policy development, Prevention programs, Public education, Support groups

more information

Save the Children (SC/US)

Annotation: Save the Children Federation/US (SC/US) is a nonprofit, nonsectarian organization with a mission to make lasting, positive change in the lives of children in need, both in the United States and abroad. SC/US's core development philosophy stresses the importance of engaging community members in problem analysis, action planning, and concerted community and family efforts to address the variety of obstacles inhibiting the successful development of children and society, working through four key sectors: Health/Population/Nutrition; Education; Economic Opportunity; and the Division of Humanitarian Response. Services to consumers include publications and reference information. Some materials are provided in Spanish, French and Asian languages. The organization also sponsors training seminars.

Contact: 54 Wilton Road, Westport, CT 06880, Telephone: (203) 221-4030 Secondary Telephone: (800) 728-3843 Fax: (203) 637-9362 Web Site: http://www.savethechildren.org E-mail: twebster@savechildren.org

Keywords: Child health, Education, Nutrition

more information

Specialized Training of Military Parents (STOMP)

Annotation: The Specialized Training of Military Parents (STOMP) is a federally funded parent training and information center established to assist military families who have children with special educational and health needs. The organization provides information, referrals, assistance, and training about testing and assessment and Individual Education Plans (IEP's) to families who have children with disabilities. The center is staffed by parents of children who have disabilities and have experience in raising children in military communities and traveling with spouses to different locations. The organization also sponsors conferences and training seminars and produces publications (including a newsletter) and maintains an open listserv. Some materials are available in Spanish and Asian languages.

Contact: 6316 South 12th St., Tacoma, WA 98465, Telephone: (253)565-2266 voice /TTY: (800) -5-PARENT Fax: (253) 566-8052 Web Site: http://www.stompproject.org/ E-mail: stomp@washingtonpave.com

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Military, Parents

more information

STAND! Against Domestic Violence

Annotation: STAND! Against Domestic Violence, (formerly the Battered Women's Alternatives) serves battered women and their families and strives to eliminate domestic violence and help families flourish. The organization provides technical assistance and resources to other programs across the country and offers referrals, reference information, and other services to battered women, their children, and abusive partners. Some of the services offered include legal assistance, family/couples counseling, employment assistance, transitional housing, emergency shelter, and treatment for abusive men. Publications include a newsletter, and resources are available in Spanish and some Asian languages. The organization also sponsors training seminars.

Contact: 1410 Danzing Plaza, Second Floor, Concord, CA 94520, Telephone: (925) 676-2845 Fax: (510) 676-0532 Web Site: http://www.standagainstdv.org E-mail: standagainstdv.org

Keywords: Battered women, Domestic violence, Technical assistance, Violence prevention

more information

State Library of Louisiana

Annotation: Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. The library sponsors conferences and training seminars, publishes a newsletter, and provides materials in Spanish, French, Asian languages, and other languages.

Contact: 701 North Fourth Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802, Telephone: (225) 342-4923 Fax: (225) 219-4804 Web Site: http://www.state.lib.la.us/ E-mail: admin@state.lib.la.us

Keywords: Libraries, Louisiana, State agencies

more information

Sudden Arrhythmia Death Syndromes Foundation (SADS Foundation)

Annotation: Sudden Arrhythmia Death Syndromes Foundation (SADS Foundation) works to help save the lives of children and young people who are genetically predisposed to sudden death due to cardiac arrhythmias. The SADS Foundation acts as an information clearinghouse for the Long QT Syndrome (an area of particular concern for the Foundation), and publishes a newsletter for patients and families. The organization offers research services, physician referrals, care coordination and support groups, and act as a networking service.

Contact: 508 East South Temple, No. 20, Salt Lake City, UT 84102, Telephone: (801) 531-0937 Secondary Telephone: (800) 786-7723 Fax: (801) 531-0945 Web Site: http://www.sads.org E-mail: sads@mail.aros.net

Keywords: Heart defects

more information

Thalassemia Action Group (TAG)

Annotation: The Thalassemia Action Group (TAG) is a support group for people with thalassemia (major, intermedia, and sickle/thalassemia). It works to locate and identify people with thalassemia throughout the United States, to promote compliance with the treatment requirements of the disease, and to provide a better quality of life for people with thalassemia through the education of physicians, nurses, and patients. The group is sponsored by the Cooley's Anemia Foundation. Services to consumers include referrals and publications. Materials are available in Spanish and Asian languages. TAG publishes a newsletter and sponsors annual patient/parent conferences.

Contact: 330 Seventh Avenue, #900, New York, NY 10001, Telephone: (718) 321-2873 Secondary Telephone: (800) 522-7222 Fax: (718) 321-3340 Web Site: http://www.thalassemia.org/sections.php?sec=2&tab=83 E-mail: TAG@cooleysanemia.org

Keywords: Anemia, Health education, Health promotion, Information services, Professional education, Support groups, Thalassemia

more information

Twin to Twin Transfusion Syndrome Foundation (TTTSF)

Annotation: The Twin to Twin Transfusion Syndrome Foundation is an international, nonprofit organization solely dedicated to saving babies afflicted with Twin to Twin Transfusion Syndrome (TTTS), improving their future health and care, and keeping them together the way twins are meant to be. The foundation provides educational, emotional, and financial support to families and caregivers before, during, and after pregnancies diagnosed with TTTS, and helps to further medical research into this disease and its related complications. Services are also provided to help families and caregivers with multiple birth loss deliveries and recoveries as well as multiple birth babies born with physical challenges. Participation in their international TTTS registry is encouraged and support and education is provided through parent packets, telephone contact, hospital and home visitation, parent to parent connections, a referral database, books and articles, assistance to authors, researchers and lawyers, conferences, workshops, public speaking and the Internet. Materials on the web site will be available in 12 languages including Spanish, French, Asian, Dutch and German.

Contact: 411 Longbeach Parkway, Bay Village, OH 44140, Telephone: (440) 899-8887 Secondary Telephone: 800-815-9211 Fax: (440) 899-1184 Web Site: http://www.tttsfoundation.org E-mail: info@tttsfoundation.org

Keywords: Fetofetal transfusion, Twins

more information

U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)

Annotation: The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) offers health care information, research findings, and data to help consumers, health professionals, health insurers, researchers, and policymakers make informed decisions about health care issues. AHRQ provides information on specific populations (including women, children, minority groups, and those residing in inner cities and rural areas) and also disseminates resources and materials on public health preparedness, health information technology, funding opportunities, quality of care, and patient safety. Speeches and testimony, conference proceedings, evidence reports, and workshop summaries are among the materials that can be downloaded from the Web site, where users will also find an electronic catalog and database of current AHRQ research projects. Some materials are available in Spanish and Asian languages. The agency helped to established the National Guideline Clearinghouse (www.guideline.gov) -- a public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines -- and is a partner in the Child Health Insurance Research Initiative (CHIRI), which studies the Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP). It also sponsors QualityTools, a clearinghouse of tools for measuring and improving health care quality; the Patient Safety Network, which provides a collection of patient safety news, literature, tools, and resources; and the Effective Health Care Program, a collection of research centers working to provide evidence on health care interventions.

Contact: Office of Communications and Knowledge Transfer, 540 Gaither Road, Suite 2000, Rockville, MD 20850, Telephone: (301) 427-1364 AHRQ Clearinghouse: (800) 358-9295 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov E-mail: http://info.ahrq.gov

Keywords: Safety, Clearinghouses, Clinical medicine, Foreign language materials, Guidelines, Health care delivery, Health disparities, Health policy, Medical technology, Patient care management, Program evaluation, Referrals, Research, Research, Service delivery, Spanish language materials, State Children's Health Insurance Program, Training, Treatment outcomes

more information

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Pollution Prevention Information Clearinghouse (PPIC)

Annotation: The Pollution Prevention Information Clearinghouse (PPIC) is primarily a distribution center for Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) documents and fact sheets dealing with source reduction and pollution prevention. The clearinghouse provides a reference and referral service for pollution prevention questions and focuses on industry based pollution. Publications include a catalog, and some materials are available in Spanish and Asian languages.

Contact: 1200 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W. (Mail code: 7409-M), Washington, DC 20460-0001, Telephone: (202) 566-0799 Fax: (202) 564-8899 Web Site: http://www.epa.gov/opptintr/ppic/index.htm E-mail: ppic@epa.gov

Keywords: Clearinghouses, Environmental pollution

more information

U.S. Expanded Food and Nutrition Education Program (USDA)

Annotation: The Expanded Food and Nutrition Education Program (EFNEP) is a federally funded nutrition education program designed to assist low-income families and youth acquire the knowledge, skills, attitudes, and changed behaviors necessary for nutritionally sound diets and to contribute to their personal development and the improvement of total family diet and nutritional welfare. Extension professionals train and supervise paraprofessionals and volunteers who then teach food and nutrition information and skills to the participants. All nutrition education is tailored to the needs, interests, financial resources, ethnic backgrounds, and learning capabilities of EFNEP participants. Publications are available for consumers, and materials are available in Spanish, Asian languages, and other languages.

Contact: CSREE, Department of Agriculture, Waterfront Centre, Room 4469, 1400 Independence Avenue, S.W., Stop 2201, Washington, DC 20250-2201, Telephone: (202) 720-7441 Secondary Telephone: (202) 720 - 8067 Fax: (202) 690-2469 Web Site: http://www.csrees.usda.gov/nea/food/efnep/efnep.html E-mail: hchipman@csrees.usda.gov

Keywords: Adolescent health, Diet, Education programs, Food handling, Health education, Infants, Low income groups, Maternal nutrition, Nutrition, Training

more information

U.S. Office of Adolescent Pregnancy Programs (OAPP)

Annotation: The Office of Adolescent Pregnancy Programs (OAPP), a component of theOffice of Population Affairs, responds to inquiries from consumers and professionals. The office funds pregnancy prevention services for unmarried adolescents as well as demonstration programs that deliver comprehensive care services to pregnant and parenting adolescents. The office provides referrals, publications, and reference information to consumers. Select materials are available in Spanish and Asian languages. OAPP also offers conferences, training seminars and workshops.

Contact: 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite 700, Rockville, MD 20852, Telephone: (240) 453-2828 Fax: (240) 453-2829 Web Site: http://www.hhs.gov/opa/familylife/index.html E-mail: oapp@osophs.dhhs.gov

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Adolescents, Contraception, Financial support, Parenting

more information

United Nations Population Fund (UNFPA)

Annotation: The United Nations Population Fund (UNFPA) is an international source of funding for population and reproductive health programs that help women, men and young people plan their families and avoid unwanted pregnancies, undergo pregnancy and childbirth safely, avoid sexually transmitted infections(STIs), including HIV/AIDS, and combat violence against women. UNFPA also helps governments in the world's poorest countries and in other countries in need, to formulate population policies and strategies in support of sustainable development. UNFPA publications, exploring topics such as reproductive health, maternal mortality, gender equality and population and development strategies, can be downloaded from the Web site.

Contact: 220 East 42nd Street, New York, NY 10017, Telephone: (202 297-5000 Web Site: http://www.unfpa.org/about/index.htm E-mail: dungus@unfpa.org

Keywords: Population dynamics, International health, Maternal health, AIDS, Funding, Gender discrimination, Health promotion, International development, Maternal mortality, Prevention, Preventive health services, Reproductive health, advocacy

more information

Utah Department of Health, Pregnancy RiskLine

Annotation: The Pregnancy RiskLine is a telephone service for parents, potential parents, and medical professionals in Utah and Montana who request information, education, and counseling on the potential consequences of exposure to environmental hazards in pregnancy. Services include referrals, publications, and literature reviews. Materials are available in Spanish, French, Asian languages, and other languages. The organization also sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Contact: 44 North Medical Drive, P.O. Box 144691, Salt Lake City, UT 84114-2106, Telephone: (800) 822-BABY outside Utah: (866) 626-6847 Web Site: http://www.health.utah.gov/prl/index.htm E-mail: jrobertson@utah.gov

Keywords: Reproductive hazards, Teratogens, Teratology

more information

Washington PAVE (PAVE)

Annotation: Washington PAVE (Parents are Vital in Education) is a parent-directed organization that provides training, publications, information, referral, and support for consumers with special needs, their families, and their communities. It administers the national program Specialized Training of Military Parents (STOMP); and state or local programs such as the Fetal Alcohol Project, Parent to Parent Training Project, Infant Toddler Early Intervention Project. The organization maintains a database of more than 20,000 program participants and publishes a quarterly newsletter, The PAVE Pipeline and sponsors conferences, training seminars and workshops. A catalog is available. Some materials are available in Spanish, Russian and Asian languages.

Contact: 6316 South 12th Street, Tacoma, WA 98465-1900, Telephone: (253) 565-2266 voice/TTY: ( 800) 572-7368 Fax: (253) 566-8052 Web Site: http://www.washingtonpave.com E-mail: wapave9@washingtonpave.com

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Parent groups, Parenting

more information

Washington Poison Center (WAPC)

Annotation: The Washington Poison Center is a statewide provider of immediate, free and expert treatment advice and assistance on the telephone in the case of exposure to poisonous, hazardous or toxic substances. The WPC is accessible toll-free, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Topics include general safety, medicine, food, plants, pets, adolescents,seniors, hazards, first aid, and fun and games. The center provides Mr. Yuk stickers, prevention and treatment guides in various languages, fact sheets, coloring and activity books, a teacher's guide with lesson plans and activity ideas, mini-posters, videos, and other materials. Callers not residing in Washington state are referred automatically by the national poison help line to poison control centers in their state. Languages include Chinese, Korean, Russian, Spanish, and Vietnamese.

Contact: 155 NE 100th Street, #100, Seattle, WA 98125-8007, Telephone: (800) 222-1222 Education Department: (206) 517-2359 Fax: ((206) 526-8490 Web Site: http://www.wapc.org

Keywords: Hotlines, Poison control centers, Reproductive hazards, Risk assessment, Teratogens, Teratology, Washington

more information

Wesley Medical Center, Prenatal Diagnosis and Genetic Clinic

Annotation: The Prenatal Diagnosis and Genetic Clinic responds to queries from pregnant women and health professionals concerning medicinal, chemical, or environmental teratogens. Services to consumers include publications and reference information. Materials are available in Spanish and some Asian languages. The clinic publishes a newsletter and sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Contact: 550 North Hillside, Wichita, KS 67214, Telephone: (316) 962-2000

Keywords: Teratology

more information

Williams Syndrome Association (WSA)

Annotation: The Williams Syndrome Association (WSA) locates individuals with Williams Syndrome (WS) and their families and offers support with the most up to date information on WS and referral to professionals most familiar with WS in their area and other WS families nearby. The association provides information to affected families and concerned professionals, maintains print and audiovisual libraries with over 1,000 titles on WS and related topics, and sponsors a national convention every two years. Publications include a newsletter (three times a year), a facts brochure (in English and Spanish), a storybook about WS for children, publications on education testing and strategies, and parent and professional information packets. WSA sponsors conferences and provides materials in Spanish and Asian languages.

Contact: P.O. Box 297, Clawson, MI 48017-0297, Telephone: (248) 244-2229 Secondary Telephone: (800) 806-1871 Fax: (248) 244-2230 Web Site: http://www.williams-syndrome.org E-mail: info@williams-syndrome.org

Keywords: Aortic stenosis, Developmental disabilities, Elfin facies, Hypercalcaemia, Information services, Metabolic diseases, Parent groups, Support groups, Williams syndrome

more information

Women's Cancer Resource Center (WCRC)

Annotation: The Women's Cancer Resource Center (WCRC) provides information and referral, support groups, a newsletter, community events, in-home assistance, and other resources and services for women with cancer and their families and friends. WCRC maintains a library as well. Materials are available in Spanish, Asian languages, and audio formats. WCRC ASPE sponsors workshops. All services are provided free of charge.

Contact: 5741 Telegraph Avenue, Oakland, CA 94609, Telephone: (510) 601-4040 hotline: (510)420-7900 Fax: (510) 601-4045 Web Site: http://www.wcrc.org E-mail: wcrc@wcrc.org

Keywords: Cancer, Minority groups, Women, Women's health

more information

World Federation of Hemophilia (WFH)

Annotation: The World Federation of Hemophilia is an international not-for-profit organization dedicated to introducing, improving, and maintaining care for people with hemophilia and related bleeding disorders around the world. The WFH works with national hemophilia organizations, health care providers, and government officials to foster quality health care for people with bleeding disorders. The WFH focuses its activities in health care development programs, humanitarian aid, data collection, public affairs and publications. WFH publications include information on diagnosis and treatment, directories, general guides, hemophilia organization resources, and safety and supply. The organization also sponsors conferences, workshops, and training seminars and provides inquiry responses, reference information, and publications for consumers. Some materials are available in French, Spanish, and Asian languages.

Contact: Suite 1010, 1425 Rene-Levesque Blvd. West, Montreal, Quebec, Canada H3G 1T7, Telephone: (514) 875-7944 Fax: (514) 875-8916 Web Site: http://www.wfh.org E-mail: wfh@wfh.org

Keywords: AIDS, Developing countries, HIV, Health education, Health promotion, Hematologic diseases, Hemophilia

more information

YWCA of the U.S.A. (YWCA)

Annotation: The YWCA of the U.S.A. Encore Plus program provides breast and cervical cancer early detection services for medically underserved women age 50 and older. Services include breast health education seminars, referrals, provision of transportation to health centers, help for women navigating through the screening process, follow-up support for women with breast cancer, and women's health advocacy. Publications include a newsletter, and some resources are available in Spanish and Asian languages.

Contact: 1015 18th Street, N.W., Suite 1100, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 476-0801 Fax: (202) 467-0802 Web Site: http://www.ywca.org E-mail: info@ywca.org

Keywords: Breast cancer, Breast cancer screening, Preventive health services, Women's health

more information

Return to Previous Page | Go To Cross-Database Search | Advanced MCHLine® Search

Share |