Top Pages

A-Z Index (Resources & Services)

Resource Guides:
All | Families | Professionals | Schools | Non-English | Multimedia

MCH Alert Newsletter

Search

Top Pages
Home  ::  A - Z Index: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z   ::  Search

Arabic

Annotated Lists of Organizations on Key Topics in Maternal and Child Health

OrganizationsThis list of 19 organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations online database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Library. To identify additional materials on this topic, search the Organizations database using our online search form.

The MCH Organizations Database lists government, professional, and voluntary organizations involved in maternal and child health activities, primarily at a national level. Information available to consumers is indicated where known.

Displaying 19 records.

24 Languages Project

Annotation: The 24 Languages Project was founded in 2000 as a joint endeavor of the Spencer S. Eccles Health Sciences Library and the Utah Department of Health, to digitize translated consumer health brochures for online access. The 24 Languages Project is now supported by several organizations and provides information in audio formats as well as pdf documents. Most of the materials are also available as sound recordings for downloading or immediate listening. Native speakers of the respective languages furnish the narrations, which are recorded, encoded, and linked to the project's Web site for access. Languages represented on the site include Arabic, Armenian, Cambodian, Chinese, Croatian, English, Farsi, French, German, Haitian Creole, Hmong, Japanese, Korean, Laotian, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Samoan, Serbo-Croatian, Somali, Spanish, Tagalog, Thai, Tongan, and Vietnamese.

Contact: Spencer S. Eccles Health Sciences Library, 10 North 1900 East, Salt Lake City, UT 84112, Telephone: (866) 581-5534 Web Site: http://medlib.med.utah.edu/24languages E-mail: lworkman@lib.med.utah.edu

Keywords: Asian language materials, Audiovisual materials, Consumer education materials, Foreign language materials, Spanish language materials

more information

Canadian Institute of Child Health (CICH)

Annotation: The Canadian Institute of Child Health (CICH) is a national multidisciplinary, nonprofit organization dedicated to promote the health and well-being of Canadian children. The institute seeks to promote and improve the health and well-being of mothers and infants in all settings; to promote healthy physical development of children in a safe environment and reduce childhood injuries; to promote healthy psycho-social development of children in supportive and nurturing environments; to facilitate empowerment of individuals and communities to achieve the above goals for Canadian children and their families; and to facilitate collaborative work between consumers, professional, nonprofessional, and government agencies that result in appropriate actions for identified needs. The Institute sponsors conferences and produces a variety of publications, including Our Promise to Children; The Health of Canada's Children; National Breastfeeding Guidelines; Child Sexual Abuse Prevention; Survey of Routine Maternity Care and Practices in Canada; National Guidelines for Neonatal Resuscitation; Moving and Growing Series; Losing a Baby; Dear Parents of Premature Babies; as well as a quarterly newsletter, Child Health. Materials are produced in French and Spanish (The publication, First Years Last Forever: How you can make a difference in the life of your child, is available in other non-English languages as well, including Ojibway )

Contact: 384 Bank Street, Suite 300, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada K2P 1Y4, Telephone: (613) 230-8838 Fax: (613) 230-6654 Web Site: http://www.cich.ca E-mail: cich@cich.ca

Keywords: Child health, Injury prevention

more information

Federal Citizen Information Center (FCIC)

Annotation: The Federal Citizen Information Center (FCIC), formerly the Federal Consumer Information Center, publishes the quarterly Consumer Information Catalog. The catalog lists publications on topics such as parenting, nutrition, exercise, weight control, and child safety. In addition, the FCIC publishes the Consumer Action Handbook, which contains consumer advice and listings of contacts in business, trade associations, consumer organizations, and local, state, and federal government. The FCIC's National Contact Center serves as a single point of contact for individuals with questions about federal agencies, programs and services. The specially trained staff can answer questions in English and Spanish about all aspects of the federal government or direct callers to an appropriate contact.

Contact: Federal Citizen Information Center, Pueblo, CO Telephone: (888) 878-3256 Web Site: http://www.pueblo.gsa.gov/

Keywords: Child safety, Nutrition, Parenting, Patient education, Prenatal care, Weight management, Spanish language materials, Consumer education materials

more information

Health and Literacy Special Collection

Annotation: The Health and Literacy Special Collection supports the integration of health and literacy education on adult basic education programs and health literacy awareness in health care settings. The collection also strives to provide direct access to easy-to-read health information , and health resources in languages other than English. The Web site includes links to online listings of health information in 27 different languages: Amharic, Arabic, Bosnian, Cambodian/Khmer, Croatian, Chinese, Farsi/Persian, Filipino, French, Haitian Creole, Hindi, Hmong, Italian, Khmer/Cambodian, Korean, Laotian, Nuer, Portuguese, Punjabi, Russian, Samoan, Somali, Spanish, Tagalog, Thai, Tongan, and Vietnamese.

Contact: World Education, 44 Farnsworth Street, Boston, MA 02210, Telephone: (617) 482-9485 Web Site: http://www.healthliteracy.worlded.org

Keywords: Adult education, Health education, Health literacy, Literacy education, Non English language materials

more information

Health Information Translations

Annotation: This Web site provides health information in these languages: American Sign Language, Arabic, Bosnian, Chinese Simplified, Chinese Traditional, English, French, Hindi, Japanese, Korean, Marshallese, Portuguese Brazilian, Russian, Somali, Spanish, Tagalog, Ukrainian, and Vietnamese. Topics include disaster preparedness, diagnostic tests, diseases and conditions, exercise and rehabilitation, food and diet, general information, health and wellness, home care, pain and comfort, pediatrics, pregnancy and baby care, safety, stress and coping, and surgeries and treatments. It has been developed by nine Ohio-based and national health organizations.

Contact: Ohio State University Medical Center, Web Site: http://www.healthinfotranslations.org/index.php

Keywords: Asian language materials, Consumer health information, Non-English language materials, Spanish language materials

more information

Healthy Roads Media

Annotation: The Healthy Roads Media Web site contains free audio, written, and multimedia health education materials in a number of languages, including Arabic, Bosnian, Hmong, Khmer, Russian, Somali,Spanish, and Vietnamese. These materials are being developed in an effort to study the value of various formats in providing health information for diverse populations. Topics covered include domestic violence, asthma, cancer, dental health, diabetes, diseases and conditions, exercise, health services, heart health, immunization, nutrition, smoking, tuberculosis, and women's health. Partners in this project include Family HealthCare Center, Healthway Software, Fargo Cass Public Health, the Center for New Americans, the North Dakota State Data Center, and the North Dakota State University Library.

Contact: Bozeman, MO Telephone: (406) 556-5877 Web Site: http://www.healthyroadsmedia.org/ E-mail: magillispie@healthyroadsmedia.org

Keywords: Asian language materials, Audiovisual materials, Consumer education materials, Non English language materials, Spanish language materials

more information

Immunization Action Coalition (IAC)

Annotation: The Immunization Action Coalition works to increase immunization rates and prevent disease by creating and distributing educational materials for health professionals and the public that enhance the delivery of safe and effective immunization services. The Coalition publishes periodicals for health professionals (Needle Tips, Vaccinate Adults, and Vaccinate Women), and distributes two electronic newsletters (IAC Express provides weekly information about all vaccines and HEP Express is devoted to hepatitis issues). The coalition also develops print materials about immunization for providers and patients and offers these materials free-of-charge (many in multiple languages). The Coalition develops print materials about immunization for providers and patients and offers these materials free-of-charge, some in up to 33 languages. IAC has four websites. The site for health professionals, www.immunize.org, is a source of practical immunization information featuring a collection of vaccine-preventable disease photos and videos. The website for the public, www.vaccineinformation.org, presents straightforward information about vaccine-preventable diseases and their vaccines. The hepatitis prevention programs website, www.hepprograms.org, serves as a national database for model viral hepatitis prevention programs that address the needs of adult and adolescent populations at risk. The fourth website, www.izcoalitions.org, provides access to an interactive database of local, state, regional, national, and international immunization coalitions.

Contact: 1573 Selby Avenue, Suite 234, Saint Paul, MN 55104, Telephone: (651) 647-9009 Fax: (651) 647-9131 Web Site: http://www.immunize.org E-mail: admin@immunize.org

Keywords: Hepatitis B, Immunization

more information

Mid-Atlantic Regional Human Genetics Network (MARHGN)

Annotation: Established in 1982, the Mid-Atlantic Regional Human Genetics Network (MARHGN) is a consortium of providers and consumers of genetics services in Delaware, the District of Columbia, Maryland, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Virginia, and West Virginia. Members include representatives of state health departments and genetics centers. The network promotes the availability and development of quality genetics services within the region and encourages public and private support for research and education in the field of genetics and congenital disabilities. MARHGN provides referrals, publications, and reference information to consumers. Publications include a catalog and a newsletter. Some materials are available in Spanish, Portuguese, French, and Arabic.

Contact: UMDNJ--NJ Medical School, Center for Human and Molecular Genetics, 4755 Ogletown-Stanton Rod, P.O. Box 6001, Room 1988, Newark, DE 19718, Telephone: (302) 733-6732 Fax: (302) 733-3074 Web Site: http://www.pitt.edu/~marhgn E-mail: ccoughlin@christianacare.org

Keywords: Consortia, Delaware, District of Columbia, Genetic counseling, Genetic services, Genetics, Information services, Maryland, Medical research, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Regional genetics networks, Virginia, West virginia

more information

National Newborn Screening and Genetics Resource Center (NNSGRC)

Annotation: The National Newborn Screening and Genetics Resource Center (NNSGRC) is a cooperative agreement between the Maternal and Child Health Bureau (MCHB), Genetic Services Branch and the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio (UTHSCSA), Department of Pediatrics. The mission of the NNSGRC is to: 1) provide a forum for interaction between consumers, health care professionals, researchers, organizations, and policy makers in refining and developing public health newborn screening and genetics programs; and 2) serve as a national resource center for information and education in the areas of newborn screening and genetics. The NNSGRC serves as a focal point for national newborn screening and genetics activities, and provides related resources to benefit health professionals, the public community, consumers, and government officials. The center also provides technical assistance to assist states in refining their newborn screening activities and enhancing their capacity to incorporate new developments in genetics, health promotion, and disease prevention. The NNSGRC coordinates and facilitates national discussions of pertinent topics in the areas of newborn screening and genetics, assists in developing and implementing related demonstration projects of national interest., and produces annual national information reports on state and territorial newborn screening activities. The Web site provides downloadable newborn screening and disease-specific brochures in various languages, a guide to regional genetics and newborn screening collaboratives as well as state-specific contact information; and the National Newborn Screening Information System, which services as a information collection and reporting system for capturing state and territorial newborn screening information. In September 2009 it was funded to create the National Newborn Screening Clearinghouse.

Contact: University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio, 1912 West Anderson Lane, Suite 210, Austin, TX 78757, Telephone: (512) 454-6419 Fax: (512) 454-6509 Web Site: http://genes-r-us.uthscsa.edu E-mail: therrell@uthscsa.edu

Keywords: Genetics, National MCH resource center, Neonatal screening, Online databases, Regional genetics networks, Resource centers

more information

New South Wales Multicultural Health Communication Service

Annotation: The New South Wales Multicultural Health Communication Service provides information and services to help health professionals communicate with non-English speaking communities throughout New South Wales, Australia. Resources are provided in these languages: Albanian, Amharic, Arabic, Armenian, Assyrian, Bengali, Bosnian, Burmese, Chinese Simplified, Chinese Traditional, Creole, Croatian, Czech, Dari, Dinka, Dutch, English, Farsi, Fijian, Filipino, French, German, Greek, Hindi, Hmong, Hungarian, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Karen, Khmer, Kirundi, Koori, Korean, Kurdish, Lao, Macedonian, Malay, Maltese, Maori, Oromo, Polish, Portuguese, Punjabi, Pushto, Romanian, Russian, Samoan, Serbian, Sinhalese, Somali, Sorani, Spanish, Tamil, Tetum, Thai, Tigrigna, Tongan, Turkish, Ukrainian, Urdu, and Vietnamese. Materials include print, audio, and video.

Contact: Locked Mail Bag No. 5003, Gladesville, New South Wales, Australia 2111, Telephone: 02-9816-0347 Fax: 02-9816-0302 Web Site: http://www.mhcs.health.nsw.gov.au/ E-mail: mhcs@sesiahs.health.nsw.gov.au

Keywords: Asian language materials, Australia, Consumer education materials, Government agencies, International health, Non-English language materials, Spanish language materials

more information

Pregnancy Foresight Project

Annotation: The Pregnancy Foresight Project is a March of Dimes sponsored project administered by Swedish Medical Center aimed at assessing the current practice and improving the nature and scope of Washington State primary care providers (PCPs) education in four key areas: (1) discussion of family history of birth defects/genetic disorders; (2) prenatal testing for birth defects/genetic disorders;  (3) benefits of folic acid in preventing birth defects; and  (4) effects of alcohol and smoking on babies. The project's Web site provides professional resources and patient education materials in numerous languages, including Arabic, Assyrian, Chinese, Croatian, Farsi / Persian, Greek, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Khmer / Cambodian, Korean, Laotian, Macedonian, Polish, Portuguese, Punjabi, Russian, Samoan, Serbian, Somali, Spanish, Thai, Tigrinya, Tongan, Turkish, Ukrainian, and Vietnamese.

Contact: Swedish Medical Center, 747 Broadway, Seattle, WA 98122, Telephone: (206) 386-2101 Fax: (206) 386-3180 Web Site: http://www.swedishmedical.org/PregnancyForesight/Home.html E-mail: pfproj@swedish.org

Keywords: Asian language materials, Consumer education materials, Folic acid, Non English language materials, Preconception care, Prenatal education, Spanish language materials

more information

Refugee Health Information Network (RHIN)

Annotation: The Refugee Health Information Network (RHIN) is a national collaborative partnership managed by refugee health professionals whose objective is to provide quality multilingual, health information resources for those providing care to resettled refugees and asylees.RHIN strives to identify, collect, and make available on its Web site quality materials that have been produced in refugee languages. The emphasis is on materials in the public domain that can be downloaded free of charge (or at low cost); the materials are available in many languages. Sources of these materials include national organizations, health care agencies, community-based organizations, academic institutions, international organizations, and public health agencies. RHIN also strives to identify news and events, as well as other information resources useful to health providers serving refugees.

Contact: Center for Public Service Communications, 3221 North George Mason Drive, Arlington, VA 22207, Web Site: http://www.rhin.org/ E-mail: info@rhin.org

Keywords: Asian language materials, Consumer education materials, Health, Non English language materials, Refugees, Spanish language materials

more information

Rehabilitation International (RI)

Annotation: Rehabilitation International is a federation of 185 organizations in 85 countries whose programs assist people with disabilities. The federation works to prevent disability and offers support for rehabilitation and community integration of people with disabilities. Some materials are available in Spanish, French, and Arabic. The organization publishes a newsletter, catalog and journal and sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Contact: 25 East 21st Street, New York, NY 10010, Telephone: (212) 420-1500 TDD: (212) 420-1752 Fax: (212) 505-0871 Web Site: http://www.rehab-international.org E-mail: RI@riglobal.org

Keywords: Disabilities, Rehabilitation, Support groups

more information

Special Olympics (SO)

Annotation: Special Olympics (SO) is a program of year-round sports training and competition for children, adolescents, and adults with mental retardation and other closely related developmental disabilities. Services to consumers include referrals, publications and references information. Selected materials are available in Spanish, French, Arabic, Chinese and Russian. SO also publishes newsletters and a magazine, and sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Contact: 1133 19th Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20036-3604, Telephone: (202) 628-3630 toll free: (800) 700-8585 Fax: (202) 824-0200 Web Site: http://www.specialolympics.org E-mail: info@specialolympics.org

Keywords: Children with special health care needs, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Developmental disabilities, Information services, Mental retardation, Physical fitness, Sports

more information

U.S. Food and Nutrition Service, Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants and Children (WIC)

Annotation: The Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants, and Children - better known as the WIC Program - serves to safeguard the health of low-income women, infants, & children up to age 5 who are at nutritional risk by providing nutritious foods to supplement diets, information on healthy eating, and referrals to health care. The WIC program provides numerous educational materials for consumers and studies and reports for professionals. Materials are available in Arabic, Cambodian, Chinese, Haitian Creole, Croatian, Dakota, English, French, Hmong, Khmer, Korean, Laotian, Mandarin Chinese, Russian, Serbian, Somali, Spanish, Tagalog, Thai, and Vietnamese. Topics include breastfeeding, infant and child nutrition and health, childhood overweight and obesity, counseling and education, dietary guidance, food buying and preparation, food safety, fruits and vegetables, medical and nutritional risk assessment, multicultural audiences, oral health, outreach and marketing, physical activity, pregnancy, and vitamins and minerals.

Contact: Washington, DC 20250, Telephone: (202) 720-7327 TDD: (202) 720-1127 Web Site: http://www.fns.usda.gov/wic/

Keywords: Child nutrition, Federal agencies, Infant nutrition, Maternal nutrition

more information

U.S. Social Security Administration (SSA)

Annotation: The Social Security Administration (SSA) administers the federal government's social security programs, including retirement benefits, disability benefits, survivors' benefits, and Supplemental Security Income (SSI). Publications are available on the Web site; some are available in Arabic, Armenian, Chinese, Farsi, French, Greek, Haitian Creole, Italian, Korean, Polish, Portuguese, Spanish, Russian, Tagalog, and Vietnamese.

Contact: 6401 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21235, Telephone: (800) 772-1213 TTY: (800) 325-0778 Web Site: http://www.ssa.gov/

Keywords: Disabilities, Retirement, Social Security, Supplemental security income

more information

United Nations Population Fund (UNFPA)

Annotation: The United Nations Population Fund (UNFPA) is an international source of funding for population and reproductive health programs that help women, men and young people plan their families and avoid unwanted pregnancies, undergo pregnancy and childbirth safely, avoid sexually transmitted infections(STIs), including HIV/AIDS, and combat violence against women. UNFPA also helps governments in the world's poorest countries and in other countries in need, to formulate population policies and strategies in support of sustainable development. UNFPA publications, exploring topics such as reproductive health, maternal mortality, gender equality and population and development strategies, can be downloaded from the Web site.

Contact: 220 East 42nd Street, New York, NY 10017, Telephone: (202 297-5000 Web Site: http://www.unfpa.org/about/index.htm E-mail: dungus@unfpa.org

Keywords: Population dynamics, International health, Maternal health, AIDS, Funding, Gender discrimination, Health promotion, International development, Maternal mortality, Prevention, Preventive health services, Reproductive health, advocacy

more information

Urban Health Partners

Annotation: The primary goal of the Urban Health Partners program at Wayne State University is to promote and enhance health information services to Detroit’s public health professionals. The target audience for the program is public health providers lacking traditional access to a medical library serving hard-to-reach and underserved populations in southeastern Michigan. A secondary goal is to facilitate improved access to an online collection of organized, quality Arabic-language health education materials for providers and health information seekers; over 80 publications in Arabic are available at no charge on the Web site.

Contact: Wayne State University, Vera P. Shiffman Medical Library, 4325 Brush St., Detroit, MI 48201, Telephone: (313) 577-9593 Web Site: http://www.lib.wayne.edu/shiffman/urbanhealth E-mail: dcharbon@med.wayne.edu

Keywords: Information services, Materials for consumers, Medical libraries, Non English language materials, Underserved communities, Urban health

more information

Women's International Network (WIN)

Annotation: The Women's International Network (WIN) is a charitable organization that teaches about women's reproductive health and development worldwide. Publications include WIN News, a participatory quarterly journal and resource for women's development, and the Childbirth Picture Book Program (books and a flip chart in English, French, Arabic, Spanish, and other languages, including color slides).

Contact: 187 Grant Street, Lexington, MA 02420-2126, Telephone: (781) 862-9431 Fax: (781) 862-1734 Web Site: http://feminist.com/win.htm E-mail: winnews@igc.org

Keywords: Childbirth, Reproductive health

more information

Return to Previous Page | Go To Cross-Database Search | Advanced MCHLine® Search

Share |