Top Pages

A-Z Index (Resources & Services)

Resource Guides:
All | Families | Professionals | Schools | Non-English | Multimedia

MCH Alert Newsletter

Search

Top Pages
Home  ::  A - Z Index: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z   ::  Search

Substance Use

Annotated Lists of Organizations on Key Topics in Maternal and Child Health

OrganizationsThis list of 34 organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations online database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Library. To identify additional materials on this topic, search the Organizations database using our online search form.

The MCH Organizations Database lists government, professional, and voluntary organizations involved in maternal and child health activities, primarily at a national level. Information available to consumers is indicated where known.

Displaying 34 records.

African American Family Services (AAFS)

Annotation: African American Family Services (AAFS) provides culturally-specific, community-based mental health, chemical health, and family preservation services to African American youth, adults and families. A.A.F.S. consists of three divisions, including the Institute on Black Chemical Abuse, the African American Counseling Center, and the Institute for Resiliency and Culture: A Movement for Youth. AAFS provides referrals and inquiry responses and produces an electronic newsletter.

Contact: 2616 Nicollet Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN 55408, Telephone: (612) 871-7878 Fax: (612) 871-2811 Web Site: http://www.aafs.net E-mail: contact@aafs.net

Keywords: Blacks, Drug abuse, Mental health, Minority health, Substance abuse

more information

Al-Anon Family Groups (Al-Anon/Alateen)

Annotation: Al-Anon Family Groups (Al-Anon/Alateen) is a self-help fellowship that offers a program of recovery for the relatives and friends of alcoholics. Members share their experience, strength, and hope in order to solve their common problems. Al-Anon is not allied with any sect, denomination, political entity, organization, or institution. On behalf of the group it serves, the organization registers local meetings, sponsors training seminars, and develops education books, audiovisuals, booklets, and brochures about recovery from the effects of living with the disease of alcoholism. Some of these materials are available in Spanish and French. They also publish a newsletter and catalog.

Contact: 1600 Corporate Landing Parkway, Virginia Beach, VA 23454-5617, Telephone: (757) 563-1600 Fax: (757) 563-1655 Web Site: http://www.al-anon.alateen.org E-mail: wso@al-anon.org

Keywords: Alcohol abuse, Alcoholism, Educational materials, Family recovery, Substance abuse, Support groups

more information

Alcoholics Anonymous (AA)

Annotation: Alcoholics Anonymous (AA) is a fellowship of sober alcoholics. No membership dues or fees are required. AA is self-supporting, accepting no outside funds, and is unaffiliated. Its primary purpose is to carry the AA message to the alcoholic who still suffers.

Contact: Grand Central Station, P.O. Box 459, New York, NY 10163, Telephone: (212) 870-3400 Fax: (212) 870-3003 Web Site: http://www.aa.org

Keywords: Alcoholism

more information

American Council for Drug Education (ACDE)

Annotation: The American Council for Drug Education (ACDE) works to curb drug abuse by informing and motivating the public. The council has launched educational campaigns targeted to specific high-risk audiences and has developed and distributed more than 60 publications and five videotapes. In addition, it produces a catalog and newsletter and provides consumers with referrals and reference information, some available in Spanish.

Contact: 50 Jay Street, Brooklyn, NY 11201, Telephone: (718) 222-6641 Secondary Telephone: ( Web Site: http://www.acde.org/ E-mail: acde@phoenixhouse.org

Keywords: Drug abuse, Drug education, High risk groups, Substance abuse

more information

American Legacy Foundation (Legacy)

Annotation: The American Legacy Foundation is the national, independent public health foundation established by the 1998 tobacco settlement. Legacy is dedicated to reducing tobacco use in the United States with major initiatives reaching youth, women, and priority populations through grant awards, research initiatives, marketing campaigns, training programs, and collaboration with national and local partners. Legacy publishes a newsletter and provides referrals, inquiry responses and reference information for consumers.

Contact: 1724 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 454-5555 Web Site: http://www.americanlegacy.org

Keywords: Foundations, Prevention programs, Smoking cessation, Tobacco use

more information

American Lung Association (ALA)

Annotation: The American Lung Association (ALA) is a voluntary health organization dedicated to the prevention, cure, and control of all types of lung disease through public health education, advocacy, and research. ALA monitors air quality and reports trends related to environmental health issues. Publications include The American Lung Association Family Guide to Asthma and Allergies, 7 Steps to a Smoke-Free Life, and Residential Air Cleaning Devices: Types, Effectiveness and Health Impact. Some publications are available in Spanish. The Web site contains the State Tobacco Cessation Coverage Database, which provides state-by-state information about Medicaid and other cessation coverage and quitlines.

Contact: 61 Broadway, Sixth Floor, New York, NY 10006, Telephone: (212) 315-8700 Secondary Telephone: (800) LUNG-USA Fax: (212) 265-5642 Web Site: http://www.lungusa.org E-mail: info@lungusa.org

Keywords: Asthma, Infants, Public health education, Lung diseases, Prevention, Respiratory distress syndrome, SIDS, Smoking during pregnancy

more information

American Society of Addiction Medicine (ASAM)

Annotation: The American Society of Addiction Medicine (ASAM) is a national specialty organization of 3,500 physicians who are concerned about alcoholism and other drug dependencies. ASAM's Goals are to improve access to care and to increase its quality and effectiveness for patients and their families. Services to consumers include publications and reference information. Publications include a textbook,Principles of Addiction Medicine, practice guidelines, the Patient Placement Criteria: Second Edition (PPC-2), a quarterly journal, and a bimonthly newsletter, ASAM News. ASAM also sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Contact: 4601 North Park Avenue, Upper Arcade, Suite 101, Chevy Chase, MD 20815, Telephone: (301) 656-3920 Fax: (301) 656-3815 Web Site: http://www.asam.org E-mail: email@asam.org

Keywords: Access to health care, Alcoholism, Drugs, Substance abuse, Substance dependence

more information

BEST Foundation for a Drug Free Tomorrow (BEST)

Annotation: The BEST Foundation is a nonprofit organization committed to providing schools and their community partners with the necessary information, materials, and guidance to effectively implement Project ALERT, a skills-based substance abuse prevention curriculum for middle grade students. ALERT, which was researched and developed by RAND, a drug-policy think-tank, includes training, lesson plans, supporting videos and posters, and toll-free help with implementation. Teacher training is provided online.

Contact: 725 South Figueroa Street, Suite 1825, Los Angeles, CA 90017, Telephone: (213) 623-0580 Fax: (213) 623-0585 Web Site: http://www.best.org/ E-mail: info@best.org

Keywords: Adolescents, Alcoholic beverages, Substance abuse prevention, Tobacco

more information

Do It Now Foundation (DIN)

Annotation: Do It Now (DIN) Foundation is a national, nonprofit educational foundation working to provide adolescents and their families with timely, accurate information on a range of behavioral health issues, including alcohol and alcoholism, contraception, sexually transmitted diseases, drug use and abuse, parenting, eating disorders, suicide, and stress. Publications include pamphlets, booklets, books, reports, and posters. A publications catalog is available. Some publications are available in Spanish, Italian, French, German, and other languages. The DIN Web site is written for adolescents.

Contact: P.O. Box 27568, Tempe, AZ 85285-7568, Telephone: (480) 736-0599 Fax: (480) 736-0771 Web Site: http://www.doitnow.org E-mail: library@doitnow.org

Keywords: Adolescent health, Depression, Eating disorders, Mental health, Rape, Sexually transmitted diseases, Substance abuse, Suicide

more information

Entertainment Industries Council (EIC)

Annotation: The Entertainment Industries Council, Inc. (EIC) is a professional and corporate council addressing substance abuse and other health/safety issues, particularly as depicted in entertainment. Most of its efforts are focused on outreach and education for the entertainment industry's creative community. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. Some materials are available in Spanish. EIC publishes a newsletter, produces course oriented marketing campaigns and specialized video presentations. EIC offers a resource for the creative community at their website (eiconline.org). The Council also sponsors depiction briefing sessions for entertainment creatives; and the PRISM Awards (prismawards.com), which recognizes entertainment productions that accurately depict drug, alcohol, and tobacco use and addiction.

Contact: 1856 Old Reston Ave, Suite 215, Reston, VA 20190, Telephone: (703) 481-1414 toll free: 800-783-3421 Fax: (703) 481-1418 Web Site: http://www.eiconline.org E-mail: eiconline@eiconline.org

Keywords: Substance abuse

more information

Families Anonymous (FA)

Annotation: Families Anonymous (FA) serves parents, concerned relatives, and friends of loved ones who abuse drugs and/or alcohol and have related behavior problems. Services to consumers include referrals to support groups, inquiry responses, publications, and reference information. FA publishes a newsletter and sponsors conferences and workshops. Some materials are available in Spanish and other languages can be made available through the organization's international groups.

Contact: P.O. Box 3475, Culver City, CA 90231-3475, Telephone: (800) 736-9805 Fax: (310) 815-9682 Web Site: http://www.familiesanonymous.org E-mail: famanon@familiesanonymous.org

Keywords: Alcohol abuse, Bahavior problems, Drug abuse, Families, Information services, Self help clearing houses, Substance abuse

more information

Family Empowerment Network: Supporting Families Affected by FAS/FAE (FEN)

Annotation: The Family Empowerment Network (FEN) is a support, training and referral program for families affected by Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorders (FASD). The network strives to empower families by raising awareness, making referrals, providing resources and training for families affected by prenatal alcohol exposure and the professionals who work with them, Activities include sponsoring an annual family retreat, monthly FASTeN teleconferences for caregivers, maintaining a toll-free line, and providing reference information, resource materials and technical assistance. The organization also publishes a newsletter, the FEN Pen.

Contact: University of Wisconsin Medical School, Department of Family Medicine, 777 S. Mills Street, Madison, WI 53715, Telephone: (608) 262-6590 Secondary Telephone: (800) 752-3157 Fax: (608) 263-5813 Web Site: http://pregnancyandalcohol.org/index.asp?menuID=142&firstlevelmenuID=142&siteID=1

Keywords: Family support programs, Fetal alcohol effects, Fetal alcohol syndrome, Professional training

more information

Fetal Alcohol Syndrome Family Resource Institute (FAS*FRI)

Annotation: The Fetal Alcohol Syndrome Family Resource Institute (FAS*FRI) is a grassroots partnership of parents and other professionals working together to support families raising individuals disabled by prenatal alcohol exposure. The mission of FAS*FRI is to identify, understand, and care for individuals with FAS and to prevent future generations with this disability. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. FAS*FRI publishes a newsletter and sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Contact: P.O. Box 2525, Lynnwood, WA 98036, Telephone: (206) 531-2878 Secondary Telephone: (800) 999-3429 Web Site: http://www.fetalalcoholsyndrome.org/ E-mail: vicky@fetalalcoholsyndrome.org

Keywords: Fetal alcohol syndrome

more information

Join Together

Annotation: Join Together works to advance effective alcohol and drug policy, prevention and treatment. It provides publications and reference information for consumers, and maintains searchable databases. Join Together is a project of the Boston University School of Public Health.

Contact: 580 Harrison Avenue, Third Floor, Boston, MA 02118, Telephone: (617) 437-1500 Fax: (617) 437-9394 Web Site: http://www.jointogether.org E-mail: info@jointogether.org

Keywords: Community programs, Substance abuse prevention

more information

Motherisk

Annotation: The Motherisk Program answers questions from women and health professionals who are concerned about potential reproductive risks from exposure to drugs, chemicals, radiation, and infections during pregnancy and lactation. A telephone service handles questions about uncomplicated exposures. The service primarily receives inquiries from Ontario but will answer those from any center in Canada or the United States. Motherisk also offers three topic specific hotlines: Morning sickness, (800) 436-8477; HIV Healthline and Network, (888) 246-5840; Alcohol and Substance Use Line, (877) 327-I4636. The program also publishes a newsletter.

Contact: c/o Hospital for Sick Children, 555 University Avenue, Toronto, Ontario, Canada M5G 1X8, Telephone: (416) 813-6780 Web Site: http://www.motherisk.org

Keywords: Alcohol abuse, Canada, Drug use during pregnancy, Gynecology, High risk pregnancy, Hotlines, Lactation, Maternal fetal exchange, Nausea, Obstetrics, Occupational safety and health, Pregnancy, Public health, Publications, Reproductive hazards, Reproductive health, Substance abuse, Teratogens, Teratology, Vomiting

more information

Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD)

Annotation: Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD) is a nonprofit organization established in 1980 that works to solve the problems of drunk driving and underage drinking through education, prevention, and legislation. MADD also offers emotional support and guidance to drunk driving victims. The organization sponsors awareness and activism programs such as Youth In Action; Protecting You/Protecting Me; Multi-media school assembly shows; the Tie One On For Safety campaign; and the Designate A Driver Program. MADD produces a national magazines DRIVEN and MADDvocate and offers a speakers' bureau.

Contact: 511 East John Carpenter Freeway, Suite 700, Irving, TX 75062, Telephone: (214) 744-6233 Secondary Telephone: (800) GET-MADD Fax: (972) 869-2206/2207 Web Site: http://www.madd.org

Keywords: Alcohol, Impaired driving, Injury prevention, Victims

more information

NAADAC - The Association for Addiction Professionals (NAADAC)

Annotation: NAADAC --The Association for Addiction Professionals (formerly the National Association of Alcoholism and Drug Abuse Counselors) is a membership organization for addiction-focused health care professionals. Founded in 1972, NAADAC is committed to increasing general awareness of alcohol and drug disorders and enhancing care of individuals through treatment, education, and prevention programs. NAADAC offers educational and credentialing opportunities, as well as other support services for addiction professionals. Publications include a newsletter and magazine. NAADAC sponsors conferences and training seminars and offers materials in Spanish.

Contact: 1001 N. Fairfax St. Suite 201, Alexandria, VA 22314, Telephone: (800) 548-0497 Secondary Telephone: (703)741-7686 Fax: (800) 377-1136 Web Site: http://www.naadac.org E-mail: naadac@naadac.org

Keywords: Alcoholism, Substance abuse

more information

Narcotics Anonymous World Services (NAWS)

Annotation: Narcotics Anonymous (NA) is an international organization of recovering drug addicts who attend more than 33,000 weekly meetings worldwide. Publications include six books: Narcotics Anonymous, the fellowship's Basic Text; It Works: How and Why (a study of the Twelve Steps and Twelve Traditions of NA); Narcotics Anonymous Step Working Guides(a workbook for members); Just For Today (a daily meditation book); and Miracles Happen, (a full-color coffee table book chronicling the birth of NA); seven booklets and a collection of over twenty informational pamphlets on recovery topics. Periodicals include The NA Way Magazine, Meeting by Mail (newsletter for recovering addicts unable to attend meetings), and Reaching Out (newsletter for addicts seeking recovery in hospitals or other institutions). A catalog is available in several languages and in Braille.

Contact: P.O. Box 9999, Van Nuys, CA 91409, Telephone: (818) 773-9999 Fax: (818) 700-0700 Web Site: http://www.na.org

Keywords: Drug abuse, Drug addiction, Substance abuse, Substance dependence

more information

National Association for Children of Alcoholics (NACoA)

Annotation: The National Association for Children of Alcoholics (NACoA) serves as an advocate for children and families affected by alcoholism and other drug dependencies. The association provides educational materials and reference information to other resources. NACoA publishes a newsletter and sponsors conferences.

Contact: 11426 Rockville Pike, Suite 301, Rockville, MD 20852, Telephone: (301) 468-0985 Secondary Telephone: (888) 554-COAS Fax: (301) 468-0987 Web Site: http://www.nacoa.org E-mail: nacoa@nacoa.org

Keywords: Alcoholism, Children of alcoholics, Information services, Substance abuse

more information

National Association for Native American Children of Alcoholics (NANACOA)

Annotation: Founded in 1988, the National Association for Native American Children of Alcoholics (NANACOA) is a nonprofit organization that believes in the spirit of healing and recovery for Native people. The association maintains a national network for Native American children of alcoholics, provides educational and supportive information for Native American communities, holds a national conference for Native American children of alcoholics and people working in Native communities to come together to heal and recharge energies, and informs local and national policymakers about the needs of these children. NANACOA receives support from members, private corporations and foundations, and government sources.

Contact: P.O. Box 2708, Seattle, WA 98111-2708, Telephone: 206) 903-6574 Fax: (206) 624-4452 Web Site: http://www.whitebison.org/nanacoa/

Keywords: Alcoholism, Children of alcoholics, Information services, Minority groups, Minority health, Native Americans, Substance abuse

more information

National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Office on Smoking and Health (OSH)

Annotation: Established in 1978, the Office on Smoking and Health is the principal federal office for tobacco and health activities. The office administers a national public information program on the hazards of tobacco use, responds to inquiries from consumers and professionals, offers bibliographic and reference services, and publishes and distributes materials on smoking and health. Some publications are available in Spanish. It serves as a World Health Organization Collaborating Center on Tobacco and Health. The Smoking and Health Database is a comprehensive online resource covering the scientific, policy, legal, and historical literature related to smoking and tobacco use. The database contains over 56,000 records and is accessed by researchers, librarians, medical professionals, and the public nationwide.

Contact: 4770 Buford Highway, MS K-50, Atlanta, GA 30341-3717, Telephone: (800) 232-4636 TTY: (888) 232-6348 Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/tobacco E-mail: tobaccoinfo@cdc.gov

Keywords: Health education, Information services, Nicotine, Online databases, Public health, Smokeless tobacco, Smoking, Substance abuse, Tobacco

more information

National Center on Addiction and Substance Abuse at Columbia University (CASA)

Annotation: The National Center on Addiction and Substance Abuse at Columbia University is a think/action tank bringing together all the professional disciplines to deal with all substance abuse in all facets of society. The center's mission is to inform the public of the cost of abuse of all substances (legal and illegal drugs, alcohol, and tobacco) throughout society and its impact on their lives, to determine what works for whom in prevention and treatment, and to encourage each individual and institution to take responsibility to combat substance abuse. The center has a publications list.

Contact: 633 Third Avenue, 19th Floor, New York, NY 10017, Telephone: (212) 841-5200 Fax: (212) 956-8020 Web Site: http://www.casacolumbia.org/absolutenm/templates/article.asp?articleid=287&zoneid=32

Keywords: Substance abuse

more information

National Clearinghouse for Alcohol and Drug Information (NCADI)

Annotation: A service of the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA), SAMHSA’s National Clearinghouse for Alcohol and Drug Information (NCADI ) is the Nation’s primary resource for information about substance abuse prevention and addiction treatment. Free and low-cost information, publications, and multimedia resources are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, through toll-free phone service in English and Spanish. NCADI’s resources and Library databases are also accessible online. Materials are available in Spanish and Asian languages. Anyone can sign up to receive electronic news updates. The on-site Resource Library is open to the public, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday.

Contact: Telephone: (800) 729-6686 TDD: (800) 487-4889 Web Site: http://ncadi.samhsa.gov

Keywords: Alcohol abuse, Drug abuse, Substance abuse prevention programs

more information

National Council on Alcoholism and Drug Dependence (NCADD)

Annotation: The National Council on Alcoholism and Drug Dependence (NCADD) works to prevent and control alcoholism through programs of public and professional education, medical and scientific information, and public policy advocacy. The council refers callers to local affiliates for counseling and provides print information on alcoholism. Publications include a catalog and a newsletter.

Contact: 244 East 58th Street, Fourth Floor, New York, NY 10022, Telephone: (212) 269-7797 Secondary Telephone: (800) NCA-CALL Fax: (212) 269-7510 Web Site: http://www.ncadd.org E-mail: national@ncadd.org

Keywords: Alcoholism, Drug abuse, Substance abuse prevention programs, Substance abuse

more information

National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA)

Annotation: The National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA) conducts and supports biomedical and behavioral research on the causes, consequences, treatment, and prevention of alcohol-related problems. The institute disseminates research results through the Alcohol Epidemiologic Data System and ETOH, a bibliographic database of more than 100,000 records of alcohol research findings. Publications include the quarterly journal Alcohol Research and Health and reports, monographs, and bulletins such as Alcohol Alert for clinicians and other health professionals. Some materials are available in Spanish. A catalog is also available. The organization sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Contact: 5635 Fishers Lane, MSC 9304, Bethesda, MD 20892-9304, Telephone: (301) 443-3860 Fax: (301) 780-1726 Web Site: http://www.niaaa.nih.gov E-mail: NIAAAweb-r@exchange.nih.gov

Keywords: Alcohol related injuries, Alcoholism, Information dissemination, Medical research, Substance abuse

more information

National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA)

Annotation: The National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA) responds to inquiries from the community, professionals, and the media. NIDA supports more than 85 percent of the world's research on the health aspects of drug abuse and addiction. The institute produces and distributes information based on its own drug abuse research, maintains statistics and information on drug exposed infants, and provides support and technical assistance for efforts to increase public and professional awareness of the relationship between drug abuse and AIDS. Some materials are available in Spanish. The Web site includes a section, NIDA for Teens, that is geared to adolescents ages 11 to 15. The institute publishes a catalog and a newsletter. The institute also sponsors conferences, training seminars, and workshops.

Contact: 6001 Executive Boulevard, Room 5213, Bethesda, MD 20892-9561, Telephone: (301) 443-1124 Web Site: http://www.nida.nih.gov E-mail: Information@nida.nih.gov

Keywords: AIDS, Adolescents, Drug abuse, Research, Statistics, Substance abuse prevention, Substance dependance, Technical assistance

more information

Reproductive Toxicology Center (RTC)

Annotation: The Reproductive Toxicology Center (RTC), a nonprofit foundation, collects and disseminates information on the impact of drugs, chemical and physical agents, or other environmental factors on human fertility, pregnancy, and development. Unlimited access to our computerized database REPROTOX is available with an annual membership. Members can access REPROTOX on the Internet at http://reprotox.org and can download the database to their handheld devices.

Contact: 2710 Daniel Road, Chevy Chase, MD 20815-3151, Telephone: (301) 514-3081 Fax: (301) 907-6827 Web Site: http://reprotox.org E-mail: reprotox@reprotox.org

Keywords: Drug use during pregnancy, Environmental exposures, Fertility, Information services, Nonprescription drugs, Prescription drugs, Radiation, Recreational drug use, Teratogens, Teratology, Toxicology

more information

SAMHSA Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorders Center for Excellence

Annotation: The Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorders (FASD) Center for Excellence is a project of the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) devoted to preventing and treating FASD. The center has congressional mandates to: 1) study innovative clinical interventions and service delivery improvement strategies; 2) identify communities with exemplary comprehensive systems of care; 3) provide technical assistance to communities without comprehensive systems of care; 4) provide training to individuals in various service systems dealing with persons and families affected by FASD; 5) develop innovative techniques to prevent alcohol use by women in childbearing years; and 6) perform other functions, to the extent authorized by the Secretary of Health and Human Services, after consideration of recommendations made by the National Task Force on Fetal Alcohol Syndrome. The Information Resource Center within the FASD Center for Excellence maintains an online database of selected journal articles, reports, books, and other materials to identify evidence-based information on FASD. The FASD Center also publishes special reports and provides public access (by appointment) to its Viewing Library located in Rockville, Maryland.

Contact: 2101 Gaither Road, Suite 600, Rockville, MD 20850, Telephone: (866) 786-7327 Web Site: http://www.fasdcenter.samhsa.gov/ E-mail: patricia.getty@samhsa.hhs.gov

Keywords: Alcohol abuse, Alcohol use during pregnancy, Disorders, Drug affected children, Fetal alcohol effects, Fetal alcohol syndrome, Online databases, Preventive health services, Resource centers, Service delivery systems, Substance abuse prevention, Substance abuse treatment services, Technical assistance, Teratology

more information

Students Against Destructive Decisions (SADD)

Annotation: Students Against Destructive Decisions (SADD), previously known as Students Against Driving Drunk, is a national nonprofit organization founded in 1981. Its members include students in middle and high schools, college students, and concerned adults. The SADD mission is to provide students with the best prevention and intervention tools possible to deal with the issues of underage drinking, impaired driving, drug abuse and other destructive decisions. SADD publishes a newsletter and sponsors a National conference. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Contact: 255 Main Street, Marlborough, MA 01752, Telephone: (877)SADD-INC Fax: (508) 481-5759 Web Site: http://www.saddonline.com E-mail: info@sadd.org

Keywords: Adolescents, Alcohol, Children, Impaired driving, Injury prevention

more information

U.S. Center for Substance Abuse Prevention (CSAP)

Annotation: The Center for Substance Abuse Prevention (CSAP) was created by the Anti-Drug Abuse Act of 1986 to lead federal efforts to prevent alcohol and other drug problems and to reduce the demand for illicit drugs. The center is a component of the U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration. Activities and services include demonstration projects targeting pregnant and postpartum women, their infants, and other high-risk populations; a national clearinghouse of publications and other materials and services; development of media campaigns and other knowledge transfer programs; and technical assistance for communities and organizations that develop and implement prevention and intervention efforts.

Contact: Telephone: (240) 276-2420 National Clearinghouse for Alcohol and Drug information: (800) 729-6686 Web Site: http://prevention.samhsa.gov/

Keywords: Alcoholic beverages, Alcoholism, Drugs, High risk adolescents, Prevention programs, Self help clearinghouses, Substance abuse

more information

U.S. Center for Substance Abuse Treatment (CSAT)

Annotation: The Center for Substance Abuse Treatment (CSAT) is a component of the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, Department of Health and Human Services. The center works to improve and expand treatment and recovery programs for people with substance abuse addictions through a comprehensive approach involving treatment professionals as well as service providers in education, employment, housing, criminal justice, and primary health care. CSAT works with States and community-based groups to improve and expand existing substance abuse treatment services under the Substance Abuse Prevention and Treatment Block Grant Program. Its programs target major U.S. cities, critical populations (adolescents, racial and ethnic minorities, residents of public housing, the homeless, rural and migrant populations), the criminal justice system, and women, infants, and children. CSAT runs a 24 hour English and Spanish national help line for substance abuse information and treatment referral (800) 622-HELP. Publications, trainings and workshops are also provided through CSAT.

Contact: Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration, Rockwall II Building, One Choke Cherry Road, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (240) 276-2750 referral line: (800) 662-4357 Web Site: http://csat.samhsa.gov/

Keywords: Adolescent health, Substance abuse, Therapeutics

more information

U.S. Drug Policy Information Clearinghouse (ONDCPDCC)

Annotation: The ONDCP Drug Policy Information Clearinghouse supports drug control policy research and development. It provides policymakers with current data on illegal drug trafficking, drug law violators, drug use among offenders in the criminal justice system, and the impact of drugs on criminal justice administration. It also refers inquiries to the Center for Substance Abuse Prevention's National Clearinghouse for Alcohol and Drug Information and other federally sponsored clearinghouses that address drug-related issues. The data center was established in 1987 and is a component of the National Criminal Justice Reference Service, U.S. Department of Justice.

Contact: Office of National Drug Control Policy, P.O. Box 6000, Rockville, MD 20849-6000, Telephone: (800) 666-3332 Fax: (301) 519-5212 Web Site: http://www.whitehousedrugpolicy.gov/about/clearingh%5Fb.html

Keywords: Alcohol abuse, Clearinghouses, Crime prevention, Drug use behavior, Drugs, Policy development, Public policies, Substance abuse, legislation

more information

U.S. Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)

Annotation: The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) is an operating division within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS). SAMHSA consists of three centers - the Center for Mental Health Services (CMHS) which provides national leadership in the application of mental health services research; the Center for Substance Abuse Prevention (CSAP) provides a national focus for Federal efforts to demonstrate and promote effective strategies for preventing substance abuse; and the Center for Substance Abuse Treatment (CSAT) provides national leadership in efforts to enhance the quality of substance abuse treatment services and insure their availability to individuals who need them, including those with co-occurring drug, alcohol, mental, and physical problems. The CSAT sponsors a toll-free treatment referral line, that assists callers to find resources when they need help. The Office of Applied Studies (OAS) gathers, analyzes, and disseminates data on substance abuse practices in the United States. OAS is responsible for the annual National Household Survey on Drug Abuse and the Drug Abuse Warning Network. The SAMHSA Web site includes a National Registry of Evidence-based Programs and Practices (NREPP), which includes listings of promising, effective, and model programs. Collaboration lead by SAMHSA through the Federal Executive Steering Committee on Mental Health is focusing on priority issues, including suicide prevention, primary care/mental health integration, financing, employment, disaster and emergency response, chronic homelessness and services for older adults. A Spanish version of the Web site provides selected materials in Spanish.

Contact: One Choke Cherry Road Room 8, 1036, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (240) 276-2000 Media services: (240) 276-2130 Fax: (240) 276-2010 Web Site: http://www.samhsa.gov

Keywords: Alcohol abuse, Drug abuse, Mental health, Model programs, Substance abuse prevention programs, Substance abuse treatment services

more information

Underage Drining Enforcement Training Center

Annotation: The Underage Drinking Enforcement Training Center (formerly the Center for Enforcing Underage Drinking Laws) offers training and technical assistance to help states and communities involved in enforcing underage alcohol access and use laws. The center provides both telephone and onsite technical assistance to state coordinators and offers training on policy development, law enforcement procedures, and media campaign strategies. The center sponsors regional workshops, conducts an annual conference, and hosts other special events. Resource materials are available.

Contact: Pacific Institute for Research and Evaluation, 11720 Beltsville Drive, Suite 900, Calverton, MD 20705-3102, Telephone: (877) 335-1287 Fax: (301) 755-2799 Web Site: http://www.udetc.org E-mail: udetc@udetc.org

Keywords: ., Adolescents, Alcohol abuse, Law enforcement, Media campaigns, Policy development,, Substance abuse, Technical assistance, Training

more information

Return to Previous Page | Go To Cross-Database Search | Advanced MCHLine® Search

Share |