Top Pages

A-Z Index (Resources & Services)

Resource Guides:
All | Families | Professionals | Schools | Non-English | Multimedia

MCH Alert Newsletter

Search

Top Pages
Home  ::  A - Z Index: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z   ::  Search

Consumer Sources

Annotated Lists of Organizations on Key Topics in Maternal and Child Health

OrganizationsThis list of 79 organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations online database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Library. To identify additional materials on this topic, search the Organizations database using our online search form.

The MCH Organizations Database lists government, professional, and voluntary organizations involved in maternal and child health activities, primarily at a national level. Information available to consumers is indicated where known.

Displaying 79 records.

American Academy of Ambulatory Care Nursing (AAACN)

Annotation: The American Academy of Ambulatory Care Nursing (AAACN) is the association of professional nurses and associates who identify ambulatory care practice as essential to the continuum of high quality, cost-effective health care Their publications include ambulatory and telehealth standards, a Telehealth Nursing Practice Core Course, Guide to Ambulatory Competencies, an Annotated Staffing Bibliography, and Telehealth Resource Directory. Members receive a bi-monthly newsletter and choice of journals. AAACN holds an annual conference annually, usually in March or April.

Contact: East Holly Avenue, P.O. Box 56, Pitman, NJ 08071-0056, Telephone: (800) 262-6877 Fax: (856) 589-7463 Web Site: http://www.aaacn.org/ E-mail: aaacn@ajj.com

Keywords: Information services, Mobile health units, Nursing, Primary care

more information

American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP)

Annotation: The American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP) is a national association of more than 94,000 family doctors. It seeks to promote and maintain high standards for family doctors who provide continuing comprehensive health care to the public. AAFP publishes several family medicine publications and operates two Web sites. The Academy's physician-focused Web site provides resources for members and physicians, including the full text of the Academy's publications, clinical recommendations, research tools, training opportunities, and immunization resources. AAFP's patient Web site -- familydoctor.org -- features searchable information on more than 475 medical conditions and illnesses, population health centers, Spanish language content, a drug database and self-diagnosis flow-charts. To support its advocacy efforts, the AAFP maintains a Government Relations office in Washington, D.C.

Contact: 11400 Tomahawk Creek Parkway, Leawood, KS 66211-2672, Telephone: (913) 906-6000 Secondary Telephone: (800) 274-2237 Web Site: http://www.aafp.org E-mail: fp@aafp.org

Keywords: Child health, Conferences, Families, Immunization, Physicians, Preventive health services, Primary care, Professional societies, Professional training, Publications, Spanish language materials

more information

American Association of Family and Consumer Sciences (AAFCS)

Annotation: The American Association of Family and Consumer Sciences (AAFCS), formerly the American Home Economics Association, works to affect public policy on families and to improve the quality of personal and family life through education, research, cooperative programs, and public information. Publications include brochures, booklets, reference books, periodicals (The Journal of Family and Consumer Sciences, and Family and Consumer Sciences Research Journal (issued quarterly), and a publications & product catalog. AAFCS sponsors annual conferences and provides certification and accreditation programs. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information.

Contact: 400 North Columbus Street, Suite 202, Alexandria, VA 22314, Telephone: (703) 706-4600 Secondary Telephone: (800) 424-8080 Fax: (703) 706-4663 Web Site: http://www.aafcs.org

Keywords: Adolescent health, Consumer education, Family life education, Health promotion, School linked programs

more information

American College Health Association (ACHA)

Annotation: The American College Health Association (ACHA) was founded in 1920 to promote excellence in college health by setting standards and providing quality health programs and services to colleges and universities in the United States and abroad. Membership is open to all post secondary educational institutions and to individuals—health professionals as well as students—dedicated to health promotion on their campuses. ACHA represents more than 900 member institutions and more than 2,400 individual members.

Contact: P.O. Box 28937, Linthicum, MD 21240-8937, Telephone: (410) 859-1500 Fax: (410) 859-1510 Web Site: http://www.acha.org E-mail: contact@acha.org

Keywords: Adolescent health, Colleges, School health programs

more information

American Dental Association (ADA)

Annotation: The American Dental Association (ADA) encourages community health improvement, promotes the art and science of dentistry, and represents the interests of the dental profession and the public it serves. Activities include research, education, and promotion of legislation. Local societies provide referrals. A publications catalog is available. The association also publishes a newsletter, ADA News, and a journal, Journal of the American Dental Association.

Contact: 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611-2678, Telephone: (312) 440-2500 Fax: (312) 440-7494 Web Site: http://www.ada.org E-mail: info@ada.org

Keywords: Advocacy, American Dental Association, Consumer education, Dental hygiene, Dental societies, Dentists, Legislation, Oral health, Professional societies, Public awareness campaigns, Publications, Spanish language materials

more information

American Dietetic Association (ADA)

Annotation: The American Dietetic Association (ADA) is the advocate of the dietetics profession serving the public through the promotion of optimal nutrition, health, and well being. The association is involved in the credentialing of competent nutrition and dietetic professionals and provides continuing education for nearly 70,000 members. Key areas of interest include obesity and overweight (with a focus on children); healthy aging; Nutrigenetics and nutrigenomics; Integrative medicine (including supplements and alternative medicine; and safe, sustainable, and nutritious food supply. Through its Knowledge Center, ADA provides current food and nutrition information for consumers, health professionals, and ADA members.

Contact: 120 South Riverside Plaza, Suite 2000, Chicago, IL 60606-6995, Telephone: (800) 877-1600 Web Site: http://www.eatright.org

Keywords: Child nutrition, Consumer education, Dietetic technicians, Health promotion, Hotlines, Information sources, Maternal nutrition, Nutrition, Public health nutrition, Publications, Spanish language materials

more information

American Medical Women's Association (AMWA)

Annotation: The American Medical Women's Association (AMWA) promotes women's health through position statements and policy advocacy, physician education, and consumer education. Activities include continuing medical education and development of a women's health curriculum for physicians and a tobacco control and prevention program for women and girls. AMWA also sponsors conferences and training seminars. Publications include the bimonthly Journal of the American Medical Women's Association , a newsletter, and books on women's health available at bookstores.

Contact: 100 North 20th Street, Fourth Floor, Philadelphia, PA 19103, Telephone: (215) 320-3716 Secondary Telephone: (866) 564-2483 Fax: (215) 564-2175 Web Site: http://www.amwa-doc.org E-mail: info@amwa-doc.org

Keywords: Advocacy, Policy development, Smoking cessation, Women's health

more information

American Nurses Association (ANA)

Annotation: The American Nurses Association (ANA) represents the nation's 2.9 million registered nurses through its 54 constituent associations. It fosters high standards of nursing practice, promotes the economic and general welfare of nurses in the workplace through a comprehensive workplace advocacy program, projects a positive and realistic view of nursing, and lobbies Congress and regulatory agencies on issues affecting nurses and the public. The association promotes women's health research issues and investigates such issues as domestic violence, maternal and child health, immunization, reproductive health, and women and aging. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information (reports, policy statements, and resources are available on the Web site). ANA publishes a catalog, newsletter, and journal.

Contact: 8515 Georgia Avenue, Suite 400, Silver Spring, MD 20910, Telephone: (301)628-5000 Secondary Telephone: (800) 274-4ANA Fax: (301)628-5001 Web Site: http://www.nursingworld.org

Keywords: Adolescent health, Advocacy, Child health, Immunization, Infant health, Legislation, Nurses, Nursing services, Nursing societies, Professional societies, Public awareness campaigns, Publications, Women's health, Workplace

more information

American Public Health Association (APHA)

Annotation: The American Public Health Association (APHA) is the oldest and largest organization of public health professionals in the world, representing members from a broad array of occupations in public health. APHA brings together researchers, health service providers, administrators, teachers, and other health workers in a multidisciplinary environment of professional exchange, study, and action. APHA is concerned with a broad set of issues affecting personal and environmental health, including federal and state funding for health programs, pollution control, programs and policies related to chronic and infectious diseases, a smoke-free society, and professional education in public health. The association actively serves the public, its members, and the public health profession through its scientific programs, publications, annual meeting, awards program, educational service, and advocacy efforts. Its Web site includes a wide variety of resources, including the Community Solutions to Health Disparities database. Publications include the monthly American Journal of Public Health, manuals, directories, books, pamphlets, and a newspaper, The Nation's Health. Services to consumers include referrals, reference information, and access to searchable databases.

Contact: 800 I Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20001-3710, Telephone: (202) 777-APHA Secondary Telephone: (202) 777-2500 Fax: (202) 777-2534 Web Site: http://www.apha.org E-mail: comments@apha.org

Keywords: Access to health care, Community programs, Consumer education, Environmental health, Guidelines, Health promotion, Information sources, Mental health, Minority health, Model programs, Professional societies, Program evaluation, Public health, Publications, Standards

more information

American Red Cross (ARC)

Annotation: The American Red Cross (ARC) and its local chapters provide blood services, volunteer training for hospitals and other community agencies, and services for children and youth. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. Publications include pamphlets, brochures, and books on health and safety education, community disaster preparedness, babysitting, and baby and child care. Some materials are available in Spanish. Local chapters offer water safety programs, first aid and emergency training, birth classes, adult and youth health and safety courses, and community involvement activities.

Contact: 2025 E Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20006, Telephone: (202) 303-5000 Espanol: (800) 257-7575 Web Site: http://www.redcross.org

Keywords: Blood banks, Child care, Childbirth education, Educational materials, Emergency medical services for children, Emergency services, Health education, Information services, Training

more information

Association for Childhood Education International (ACEI)

Annotation: The Association for Childhood Education International (ACEI) is a not-for-profit professional educational organization whose mission is to promote and support in the global community the optimal education and development of children, from infancy through middle childhood, and to influence the professional growth of educators, and the efforts of others who are committed to the needs of children in a changing society. The association provides publications for consumers; some of the information is in Spanish. Publications include a catalogue, a newsletter, a journal, and several books. The association conducts conferences and workshops.

Contact: 17904 Georgia Avenue, Suite 215, Olney, MD 20832, Telephone: (301) 570-2111 Secondary Telephone: (800) 423-3563 Fax: (301) 570-2212 Web Site: http://www.acei.org E-mail: headquarters@acei.org

Keywords: Child care, Children rights,, Early childhood education

more information

Association of Asian Pacific Community Health Organizations (AAPCHO)

Annotation: The Association of Asian Pacific Community Health Organizations (AAPCHO) is a not-for-profit national association representing community health organizations primarily serving Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders in the United States, particularly the medically underserved. AAPCHO's mission is to promote advocacy, collaboration and leadership that improves the health status and access of Asian Americans, Native Hawaiians and Pacific Islanders within the United States, its territories and freely associated states, through member community health clinics. Association members are located in communities with high concentrations of medically underserved Asian and Pacific Islanders, and work to provide community responsive, financially affordable, and culturally appropriate primary health care services. Services to consumers include referrals and publications. AAPCHO's resources and services range from translated health education materials for patients, to maps detailing areas with medically underserved AAPIs, to listservs that electronically link individuals from across the country. Materials are available in Asian languages.

Contact: 300 Frank H.Ogawa Plaza, Suite 620, Oakland, CA 94612, Telephone: (510) 272-9536 Fax: (510) 272-0817 Web Site: http://www.aapcho.org

Keywords: Asian Americans, Minority groups, Minority health promotion, Minority health, Access to health care, Information dissemination, Pacific Islanders

more information

Association of Women's Health, Obstetric and Neonatal Nurses (AWHONN)

Annotation: The Association of Women's Health, Obstetric and Neonatal Nurses (AWHONN) is a not for profit association of 22,000 health care professionals who are dedicated to establishing and promoting the highest standards of nursing practice, education, and research to improve the health and health care of women and newborns. The association sponsors conferences and training seminars, and produces professional and consumer journals, publications, and other resources. Its Web site includes a Prematurity Resource Center which links to information about prematurity.

Contact: 2000 L Street, N.W., Suite 740, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 261-2400 Secondary Telephone: (800) 673-8499 Fax: (202) 728-0575 Web Site: http://www.awhonn.org E-mail: customerservice@awhonn.org

Keywords: Gynecology, Neonatal nursing, Nursing, Nursing specialties, Obstetrical nursing, Perinatal care, Premature infants, Prenatal care, Reproductive health

more information

Campfire USA

Annotation: Camp Fire USA, with national headquarters in Kansas City, Mo., provides coeducational programming for more than 670,000 participants annually, through 120 councils in 40 states and the District of Columbia. As a not-for-profit organization, Camp Fire provides programs that include mentoring opportunities through community clubs and environmental education through direct child care services. Other innovative activities include an in-school, community-service curriculum, gang peace programs, pregnancy prevention programs, and a course that teaches teens to provide respite care for children with disabilities. Publications include a catalog and newsletter. Some materials are available in Spanish. The organization sponsors some conferences and training seminars.

Contact: 1100 Walnut Street, Suite 1900, Kansas City, MO 64106, Telephone: (816) 285-2010 Fax: (816) 285-9444 Web Site: http://www.campfireusa.org E-mail: info@campfireusa.org

Keywords: Advocacy, Curricula, Mentors, Peer education, Peer support programs

more information

Center for Science in the Public Interest (CSPI)

Annotation: The Center for Science in the Public Interest (CSPI) is a national consumer organization that focuses on health and nutrition issues, including alcohol policy, biotechnology, food safety, integrity in science, international issues, and nutrition policy. The organization publishes books, posters, and a magazine, Nutrition Action Healthletter.

Contact: 1875 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 300, Washington, DC 20009-5728, Telephone: (202) 332-9110 Fax: (202) 265-4954 Web Site: http://www.cspinet.org E-mail: cspi@cspinet.org

Keywords: ? Public health, Consumer satisfaction, ?Child, Advocacy, Nutrition, Science

more information

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)

Annotation: The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), a part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is the primary Federal agency responsible for conducting and supporting public health activities in the United States, including the prevention and control of infecious and chronic disease. The primary goals of the agency are to reduce health risks during every stage of life; spearhead efforts to improve global health; ensure that the places people live, work, and play have safe, healthy environments; and prepare for emerging health threats from mental health to environmental health. CDC´s top organizational components include the Office of the Director, the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health, and six coordinating Centers/Offices: The Coordinating Center for Environmental Health and Injury Prevention (CCEHIP), the Coordinating Center for Health Information Service (CCHIS); the Coordinating Center for Health Promotion (CoCHP)); the Coordinating Center for Infectious Diseases (CCID); the Coordinating Office for Global Health (COGH); and the Coordinating Office for Terrorism Preparedness and Emergency Response (COTPER). The Public Inquiries Office responds to inquiries in the areas of preventive medicine, immunization, disease control, and health education. Services to consumers include referrals, publications and reference information. The Web site covers a wide range of health & safety topics, including diseases & conditions, emergency rpeparedness, environmental health, life stages & populations, healthy living, injury and violence; travelers' health, and workplace health and safety. Also included are links to data and statistics, onlineaccess to CDC's journals and other publications; and tools & resources such as an image library, podcasts, and a Body Mass Index (BMI0 calculator. A Spanish-language version of the Web site is available, and some materials are available in Spanish, French, Asian languages and other languages. CDC also sponsors conferences, training seminars and workshops. I

Contact: 1600 Clifton Road, Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: (404) 639-3534 Secondary Telephone: (800) 311-3435 Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov E-mail: cdc@cdcinfo.gov

Keywords: Adolescents, Data analysis, Data collection, Disease prevention, Environmental health, Federal agencies, Guidelines, Health education, Health promotion, Immunization, Listservs, Nutrition, Occupational safety and health, Online databases, Population surveillance, Preventive health services, Publications, Safety, Spanish language materials, Standards, Technical assistance, Training

more information

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Office of Minority Health and Health Disparities (CDC OMHD)

Annotation: CDC's Office of Minority Health and Health Disparities (OMHD) aims to accelerate CDC’s health impact in the U.S population and to eliminate health disparities for vulnerable populations as defined by race/ethnicity, socio-economic status, geography, gender, age, disability status, risk status related to sex and gender, and among other populations identified to be at-risk for health disparities.

Contact: Mailstop E-67, 1600 Clifton Road N.E., Atlanta, GA 30333, Telephone: (404) 498-2320 Fax: (404) 498-2355 Web Site: http://www.cdc.gov/omhd/default.htm E-mail: omhd@cdc.gov

Keywords: Federal agencies, Health policy, Health programs, Information services, Minority groups, Minority health, Technical assistance

more information

Child Welfare Information Gateway

Annotation: The Child Welfare Information Gateway was created when the National Adoption Information Clearinghouse and the National Clearinghouse on Child Abuse and Neglect Information were consolidated and expanded. The gateway promotes the safety, permanency, and well-being of children and families by connecting child welfare, adoption, and related professionals as well as concerned citizens to timely information. A service of the Children's Bureau, Administration for Children and Families, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, the gateway provides access to print and electronic publications, websites, and online databases covering a wide range of topics from prevention to permanency, including child welfare, child abuse and neglect, adoption, search, and reunion.

Contact: ICF International, 1250 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Eighth Floor, Washington, DC 20024, Telephone: (800) FYI-3366 Secondary Telephone: (703) 385-7565 Fax: (703) 385-3206 Web Site: http://www.childwelfare.gov E-mail: info@childwelfare.gov

Keywords: Adopted children, Adoptive parents, Biological parents, Child abuse, Child neglect, Children with special health care needs, Clearinghouses, Databases, Family violence, Information services, Information dissemination, Adoption, Injury prevention, Support groups

more information

Child Welfare League of America (CWLA)

Annotation: The Child Welfare League of America (CWLA) brings together more than 1000 public and private nonprofit voluntary child welfare agencies. The league provides reference information, publications and referrals to consumers, sets internationally recognized standards for child welfare practice, proposes public policy initiatives, and provides consultation, training, and technical assistance for its member agencies. Areas of concern include adolescent pregnancy and parenting, adoption, AIDS, chemical dependency, child abuse and neglect, child care, child poverty, cultural competence, developmental disabilities, foster care, family preservation, homelessness, juvenile justice, kinship care, and residential group care. Publications include a catalog, a newsletter, and a journal. Training seminars and conferences are sponsored by CWLA.

Contact: 2345 Crystal Drive, Suite 250, Arlington, VA 22202, Telephone: (703) 412-2400 Fax: (703) 412-2401 Web Site: http://www.cwla.org

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Adoption, Child abuse, Child care, Child health, Child neglect, Child welfare, Foster care, Nonprofit organizations, AIDS,

more information

Consumer Federation of America (CFA)

Annotation: The Consumer Federation of America (CFA) was established in 1968 as a nonprofit organization of national, state, and local groups committed to consumer advocacy and education. The federation lobbies for the passage of legislation to protect consumers in such areas as energy, food, health and safety, communications, handicaps, insurance, transportation, and the environment. Publications include CFA News, policy updates, studies, testimony, and more than a dozen consumer publications on topics ranging from managing consumer debt to resolving consumer complaints to safeguarding playgrounds. CFA's State and Local Resource Center, funded by Consumers Union and others, seeks to strengthen grassroots consumer organizations through grants, technical assistance, workshops, publications, and other services.

Contact: 1620 I Street, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20006, Telephone: (202) 387-6121 Web Site: http://www.consumerfed.org E-mail: cfa@consumerfed.org

Keywords: Advocacy, Bicycle helmets, Child health, Consumer Product Safety Network, Consumer education, Consumer education materials, Data, Injury prevention, National organization, Residential injuries

more information

Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC)

Annotation: The U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC) evaluates the safety of products sold to the public, including children's furniture and toys. The commission receives safety-related complaints about these products through its toll-free hotline (you may also file an incident report via the Web site). Safety-related publications can be downloaded from CPSC's Electronic Reading Room (searchable by subject) or ordered, free-of-charge, in print formats. Many materials are available in Spanish, while others are available in Chinese, Tagalog, Korean, and Portuguese. The Web site also provides access to consumer product-related statistics and the National Electronic Surveillance System(a national probability sample of hospitals in the U.S.). A special section of the Web site is designed for children.

Contact: 4330 East-West Highway, Bethesda, MD 20814, Telephone: (301) 504-7923 consumer hotline: (800) 638-2772 Fax: (301) 504-0124 Web Site: http://www.cpsc.gov E-mail: info@cpsc.gov

Keywords: Data, Data collection, Data profiles, Federal agencies, Hotlines, Injury prevention, Injury surveillance systems, NEISS, Product safety, Publications, Recreational injuries, Residential injuries, Safety, Spanish language materials, Toy injuries, Toy labeling, Toy safety, Transportation injuries

more information

Do It Now Foundation (DIN)

Annotation: Do It Now (DIN) Foundation is a national, nonprofit educational foundation working to provide adolescents and their families with timely, accurate information on a range of behavioral health issues, including alcohol and alcoholism, contraception, sexually transmitted diseases, drug use and abuse, parenting, eating disorders, suicide, and stress. Publications include pamphlets, booklets, books, reports, and posters. A publications catalog is available. Some publications are available in Spanish, Italian, French, German, and other languages. The DIN Web site is written for adolescents.

Contact: P.O. Box 27568, Tempe, AZ 85285-7568, Telephone: (480) 736-0599 Fax: (480) 736-0771 Web Site: http://www.doitnow.org E-mail: library@doitnow.org

Keywords: Adolescent health, Depression, Eating disorders, Mental health, Rape, Sexually transmitted diseases, Substance abuse, Suicide

more information

Education Resources Information Center (ERIC)

Annotation: The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) is a digital library of education-related resources sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education. The ERIC digital library, which was completely revamped and opened to the public in September 2004, consists primarily of electronic bibliographic records describing journal and non-journal literature selected by ERIC and dating from 1966 through the present. The database contains nearly 1.2 million bibliographic citations to a broad collection of education-related resources, from government reports to journal articles. Other materials include conference proceedings, project and program descriptions, curriculum guides, bibliographies, and studies produced by the What Works Clearinghouse in support of the Department of Education's initiative to identify the best scientifically based evidence of "what works" in education. A significant change in the redesigned ERIC is the introduction of full-text material (approximately 110,000 documents as of October 2006) in PDF image format. These materials are available at no cost.

Contact: ERIC Project, c/o Computer Sciences Corporation, 655 15th Street, N.W. Suite 500, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (800) 538-3742 Fax: (202) 205-7759 Web Site: http://www.eric.ed.gov

Keywords: Continuing education, Curricula, Education, Educational programs, Evaluation methods, Online databases, Professional education, Teachers

more information

ETR Associates (ETR)

Annotation: ETR Associates is a private, nonprofit health education organization, and one of the largest publishers of health education materials in the country. It develops and distributes maternal and child health pamphlets, booklets, videos, and charts, including more than 46 pamphlets on pregnancy and childbirth. Other topics include family life education, abstinence, birth control, reproductive health, sexual responsibility, self-esteem, drug use, and sexually transmitted disease. Publications include two baby care booklets in both English and Spanish; the Have a Healthy Baby bilingual pamphlet series,which is an innovative bilingual approach to prenatal education, with English on one side and Spanish on the reverse; a pamphlet on fetal alcohol syndrome; a series of Kid Care pamphlets for parents and caregivers of children ages 2 to 5; and illustrated childbirth charts and displays. A publication catalog is available.

Contact: 4 Carbonero Way, Scotts Valley, CA 95066-4200, Telephone: (831) 438-4060 Secondary Telephone: (800) 321-4407 Fax: (800) 435-8433 Web Site: http://www.etr.org

Keywords: Adolescents, Reproductive health, Sexually transmitted diseases

more information

Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD)

Annotation: The Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD) -- renamed by Congress in 2008 in honor of the Institute's founder -- supports and conducts research on topics related to the health of children, adults, families, and populations. The mission of the NICHD is to ensure that every person is born healthy and wanted; that women suffer no harmful effects from reproductive processes; that all children have the chance to achieve their full potential for healthy and productive lives, free from disease or disability; and to ensure the health, productivity, independence, and well-being of all people through optimal rehabilitation. Areas of emphasis include: events that happen prior to and throughout pregnancy and childhood, including infertility, pre-term birth, birth defects, developmental disabilities, and human learning and behavior; human growth and development across the lifespan, including nutrition, developmental biology, and congenital diseases; reproductive health and education about reproductive practices, including disorders affecting fertility and infertility, contraception, and sexually transmitted diseases/HIV/AIDS; and medical rehabilitation interventions for those affected by disabilities, including technology and assistive-device development, intervention evaluation, and health promotion and prevention of disabilities. The Center for Research for Mothers and Children, the Center for Population Research, the National Center for Medical Rehabilitation Research, the Division of Epidemiology, Statistics, and Prevention Research, and the Division of Intramural Research comprise the NICHD. The Institute offers a wide range of materials for various audiences, from researchers to parents; many publications are available in Spanish.

Contact: Building 31, 2A32, MSC 2425, 31 Center Drive, Bethesda, MD 20892-2425, Telephone: (301) 496-5133 Fax: (301) 402-1104 Web Site: http://www.nichd.nih.gov E-mail: NICHDInformationResourceCenter@mail.nih.gov

Keywords: Adolescent health, Child health, Congenital abnormalities, Infant health, Infant mortality, Maternal health, Medical research, Mental retardation, National Institutes of Health, Nutrition, Population dynamics, Publications, Reproductive health, Spanish language materials, Training

more information

Families and Work Institute

Annotation: The Families and Work Institute is a nonprofit organization that explores ways to balance continuing workplace productivity demands and the changing needs of families. The institute conducts research on issues related to the changing demographics of the workforce; child and elder care demands, services, and impacts on work; as well as workplace research that helps employers respond to identified needs. It provides information dissemination, strategic planning, technical assistance, and management training services for decision makers in business, communities, and government. It is conducting the I am Your Child Early Childhood Public Engagement Campaign, and also has a Fatherhood Project.

Contact: 267 Fifth Avenue, Floor 2, New York, NY 10016, Telephone: (212) 465-2044 Fax: (212) 465-8637 Web Site: http://www.familiesandwork.org

Keywords: Child care, Child health, Families, Fathers, Infant health, Working parents

more information

Federal Citizen Information Center (FCIC)

Annotation: The Federal Citizen Information Center (FCIC), formerly the Federal Consumer Information Center, publishes the quarterly Consumer Information Catalog. The catalog lists publications on topics such as parenting, nutrition, exercise, weight control, and child safety. In addition, the FCIC publishes the Consumer Action Handbook, which contains consumer advice and listings of contacts in business, trade associations, consumer organizations, and local, state, and federal government. The FCIC's National Contact Center serves as a single point of contact for individuals with questions about federal agencies, programs and services. The specially trained staff can answer questions in English and Spanish about all aspects of the federal government or direct callers to an appropriate contact.

Contact: Federal Citizen Information Center, Pueblo, CO Telephone: (888) 878-3256 Web Site: http://www.pueblo.gsa.gov/

Keywords: Child safety, Nutrition, Parenting, Patient education, Prenatal care, Weight management, Spanish language materials, Consumer education materials

more information

Genetic Alliance

Annotation: The Genetic Alliance works to build the capacity of advocacy groups and leverage the voices of the millions of individuals living with genetic conditions. The Alliance provides a forum for the discussion of cross-disability similarities and the identification of available resources; fosters a partnership among consumers and professionals to enhance education and service for and represent the needs of individuals affected by genetic disorders; and supports networking efforts of members with government agencies, professional groups, service providers, and organizations. The Alliance also provides technical assistance to genetic support groups and disseminates information to the public on available resources and referrals. Some materials are available in Spanish. The Alliance also hosts an online roundtable for genetics and health professionals; creates listservs for organizations and groups; publishes bulletins plus a quarterly e-newsletter; hosts monthly webinar series; offers the downloadable Guide to Understanding Genetics; hosts two Wiki's (WikiGenetics and WikiAdvocacy); and maintains Disease InfoSearch -- a continuously evolving online search tool and database of advocacy organizations and resources for genetic conditions.The Alliance was founded in 1986 as the Alliance of Genetic Support Groups.

Contact: 4301 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 404, Washington, DC 20008-2369, Telephone: (202) 966-5557 Secondary Telephone: (800) 336-GENE Fax: (202) 966-8553 Web Site: http://www.geneticalliance.org E-mail: info@geneticalliance.org

Keywords: Genetic disorders, Genetic services, Genetics, Genetics education, Online databases, Support groups

more information

Girls Incorporated

Annotation: Girls Incorporated has developed several programs and curricula to promote the health of girls and young women, including Friendly PEERsuasion and Preventing Adolescent Pregnancy. Programs may be licensed to youth-serving agencies. The Girls Incorporated National Resource Center furnishes research materials to organizations, individuals, and the media. The resource center is located at 441 West Michigan Street, Indianapolis, IN 46202; (317) 634-7546. The organization provides publications to consumers.

Contact: 120 Wall Street, Third Floor, New York, NY 10005-3905, Telephone: (212) 509-2000 Secondary Telephone: (800) 374-4475 Fax: (212) 509-8708-1253 Web Site: http://www.girlsinc.org

Keywords: Adolescent parents, Adolescent pregnancy, Advocacy, Curricula, Health promotion, Peer education, Peer support programs, Women

more information

Guttmacher Institute

Annotation: The Guttmacher Institute is a nonprofit corporation for research, policy analysis, and public education in the field of reproductive health. Services to consumers include publications and reference information. The institute publishes Perspectives on Sexual and Reproductive Health, International Family Planning Perspectives, The Guttmacher Policy Review, fact sheets, briefing papers, and special reports. A publications catalog is available. Some materials are available in Spanish, French, Asian, and other languages. The institute also has a list service, accessible through its Web site.

Contact: 125 Maiden Lane, New York, NY 10038, Telephone: (212) 248-1111 Secondary Telephone: (800) 355-0244 Fax: (212) 248-1951; Washington, D.C. Office (202) 223-5756 Web Site: http://www.guttmacher.org/ E-mail: guttmacher@guttmacher.org

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Data, Family planning, Foreign language materials, Information services, Listservs, Medical research, Online systems, Policy analysis, Pregnancy, Prenatal care, Public education, Publications, Reproductive health, Sexuality education

more information

Gynecologic Cancer Foundation

Annotation: The Gynecologic Cancer Foundation (GCF0 works to raise public awareness of gynecological cancer prevention, early diagnosis, and proper treatment, and supports research and training related to gynecologic cancers. Educational and promotional materials, including brochures, information sheets, bulletins, educational packets, and slide presentations can be downloaded from the Web site.

Contact: 230 West Monroe Suite 2528, Chicago, IL 60606, Telephone: (312) 578-1439 Secondary Telephone: (800) 444-4441 Fax: (312) 527-6640 Web Site: http://www.wcn.org/gcf E-mail: info@thegcf.org

Keywords: Foundations, Public awareness campaigns, Cancer, Gynecology, Ovarian cancer, Preventive health services, Reproductive health, Treatment services, Uterine cancer, Vaginal cancer

more information

Health Information Translations

Annotation: This Web site provides health information in these languages: American Sign Language, Arabic, Bosnian, Chinese Simplified, Chinese Traditional, English, French, Hindi, Japanese, Korean, Marshallese, Portuguese Brazilian, Russian, Somali, Spanish, Tagalog, Ukrainian, and Vietnamese. Topics include disaster preparedness, diagnostic tests, diseases and conditions, exercise and rehabilitation, food and diet, general information, health and wellness, home care, pain and comfort, pediatrics, pregnancy and baby care, safety, stress and coping, and surgeries and treatments. It has been developed by nine Ohio-based and national health organizations.

Contact: Ohio State University Medical Center, Web Site: http://www.healthinfotranslations.org/index.php

Keywords: Asian language materials, Consumer health information, Non-English language materials, Spanish language materials

more information

Health Sciences Consortium (HSC)

Annotation: The Health Sciences Consortium (HSC) is an international nonprofit educational publishing cooperative that enables health science institutions to develop and share quality instructional materials. The consortium works to increase the variety and quantity of instructional materials available to health science institutions and to offer these materials at a reduced cost to its members. More than 700 titles are offered in a variety of media formats, including videotapes, CD-Rom and DVD. A health sciences discipline catalog, and a newsletter are available.

Contact: 201 Silver Cedar Court, Chapel Hill, NC 27514-1517, Telephone: (919) 942-8731 Fax: (919) 942-3689 Web Site: http://www.healthsciencesconsortium.org E-mail: tony.penta@edtsi.com

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Consortia, Educational materials, Health education

more information

HRSA Information Center

Annotation: The HRSA Information Center provides publications, resources, and referrals on health care services for low-income, uninsured individuals and those with special health care needs. Topics include community health resources, health care quality, health professions training, HIV and AIDS, managed care, maternal and child health, minority health, organ and marrow donation, primary health care, rural health, telehealth, and women's health. Some materials are available in Chinese, Filipino (Tagalog), Hatian Creole, Korean, Laotian, Samoan, Spanish, Thai (Siamese), and Vietnamese.

Contact: P.O. Box 2910, Merrifield, VA 22116, Telephone: (888) 275-4772 TTY: (877) 489-4772 Fax: (703) 821-2098 Web Site: http://www.ask.hrsa.gov E-mail: ask@hrsa.gov

Keywords: Clearinghouses, Health services, Public health

more information

Johns Hopkins Center for Communications Programs, Media/Materials Clearinghouse (M/MC)

Annotation: The Media/Materials Clearinghouse (M/MC) at the Johns Hopkins University Center for Communication Programs is an international resource for health professionals who seek samples of pamphlets, posters, videos, and other media/materials designed to promote public health. The clearinghouse provides access to Mediabank, a database of health communications materials; Netlinks, a database of internet health resources for public health; Photoshare, a database of health-related photographs available for nonprofit use; and Videoshare, a database of videos for public health. The M/MC also manages the Health Communications Materials Network (HCMN), an international network of professionals specializing in the development of health communication materials. HCMN serves as a forum for health communication specialists to share ideas, information, and samples of health communication materials with colleagues, and to seek advice and suggestions from others working in the field. HCMN also has an online database of clip art which can be used in developing health communication materials. The clearinghouse provides publications in both electronic and print form, and materials are available in Spanish, French, Asian, and other languages. M/MC publishes a newsletter.

Contact: 111 Market Place, Suite 310, Baltimore, MD 21202, Telephone: (410) 659-6300 Web Site: http://www.m-mc.org/ E-mail: mmc@jhuccp.org

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Clearinghouses, Health promotion, Listservs

more information

Journeyworks Publishing

Annotation: Journeyworks Publishing produces health education promotion materials including pamphlets, brochures, posters, and bookmarks, in these topic areas: tobacco prevention, smoking cessation, secondhand smoke, sexual abstinence, pregnancy prevention, male involvement, HIV and STD prevention, birth control, prenatal care, child health and parenting, drugs and alcohol, violence prevention, stress, mental wellness, fitness and nutrition, date rape, gay youth, women's health, Alzheimer's disease, and materials in Spanish, Vietnamese, and Chinese. It also produces the Luann health series designed for the adolescent audience. Materials are directed at diverse audiences, and some are for low literacy audiences.

Contact: P.O. Box 8466, Santa Cruz, CA 95061-8466, Telephone: (800) 775-1998 Fax: (800) 775-5853 Web Site: http://www.journeyworks.com E-mail: jworks@journeyworks.com

Keywords: Cultural competence, Adolescent health, Brochures, Consumer education materials, Health education, Low literacy materials, Minority groups, Posters

more information

MELD

Annotation: Meld -- which has merged with the Parents as Teachers National Center -- is a program to enhance the capacity of those who parent to raise nurtured, competent children. Meld offers educational and support services for parents, trains family service providers to apply best practices in their work with families, and publishes a broad range of resource materials for parents and the people who work with them. Most Meld programs serve families during pregnancy and the child's first two years. The programs operate on a peer, self-help model, and have been replicated in over 100 sites in the U.S. and abroad. Services to consumers include publications and reference information, some of which is in Spanish.

Contact: Parents as Teachers National Center, 2228 Ball Drive, St. Louis, MO 63146, Telephone: 314-432-4330 Exe. Dir.: (314) 432-4330 ext. 208 Fax: 314-432-8963 Web Site: http://www.parentsasteachers.org E-mail: info@parentsasteachers.org

Keywords: Adolescent parents, Children with special health care needs, Deaf parents, Hispanic Americans, Hmong parents, Minority groups, Parenting, Parenting

more information

National Agricultural Library (NAL)

Annotation: The National Agricultural Library (NAL), created as the library of the U.S. Department of Agriculture in 1862 and designated a national library in 1962, works to increase the availability and use of current and accurate agricultural information among researchers, educators, policymakers, and consumers. Services include specialized information centers, a research collection, the AGRICOLA database, a food and nutrition information center, and publications.

Contact: Abraham Lincoln Building, 10301 Baltimore Avenue, Beltsville, MD 20705-2351, Telephone: (301) 504-5755 TTY: (301) 504-6856 Fax: (301) 504-6927 Web Site: http://www.nal.usda.gov/ E-mail: lmooney@nal.usda.gov

Keywords: Agricultural safety, Libraries, Library services, Online Databases

more information

National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC)

Annotation: The National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC) is the nation's largest membership organization of early childhood professionals and others dedicated to improving the quality of services for young children and their families. The Association hosts an annual conference, maintains searchable databases,provides policy-related information and legislative analyses, and administers the National Academy of Early Childhood Programs (a voluntary national accreditation system) and the National Institute for Early Childhood Professional Development. Publications include brochures, books, videotapes, posters, a catalog, a newsletter and the bimonthly journal Young Children. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Contact: 1313 L Street, N.W., Suite 500, Washington, DC 20005, Telephone: (202) 232-8777 Secondary Telephone: (800) 424-2460 Fax: (202) 328-1846 Web Site: http://www.naeyc.org/ E-mail: naeyc@naeyc.org

Keywords: Child care, Child health, Early childhood education

more information

National Audiovisual Center (NAC)

Annotation: The National Audiovisual Center (NAC) is the primary distribution point for federally produced audiovisual programs. The center responds to inquiries from consumers and professionals. The center's Web site offers online catalogs, product listings, product announcements, an online newsletter, and access to other sites. The Center's publications include a catalog and newsletter. Materials are also available in Spanish language.

Contact: National Technical Information Service, Springfield, VA 22161, Telephone: (703) 605-6000 Secondary Telephone: (800) 553-6847 Web Site: http://www.ntis.gov/products/nac/index.asp?loc=4-4-1 E-mail: helpdesk@ntis.gov

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Federal programs, Spanish language materials, Health education

more information

National Breast Cancer Foundation

Annotation: The National Breast Cancer Foundation works to increase public awareness through education and to provide funding for mammograms for those in need. Patient materials on prevention, signs, symptoms, and treatment options, including audio and video recordings, can be downloaded from the Web site. Spanish-language materials are available.

Contact: One Hanover Park, 2600 Network Blvd., Suite 300, Frisco, TX 75034, Telephone: (972) 248-9200 Fax: (972) 248-6770 Web Site: http://www.nationalbreastcancer.org E-mail: info@nationalbreastcancer.org

Keywords: Consumer education, Breast cancer, Foundations, Public awareness campaigns, Spanish language materials, Women's health

more information

National Clearinghouse for Alcohol and Drug Information (NCADI)

Annotation: A service of the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA), SAMHSA’s National Clearinghouse for Alcohol and Drug Information (NCADI ) is the Nation’s primary resource for information about substance abuse prevention and addiction treatment. Free and low-cost information, publications, and multimedia resources are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, through toll-free phone service in English and Spanish. NCADI’s resources and Library databases are also accessible online. Materials are available in Spanish and Asian languages. Anyone can sign up to receive electronic news updates. The on-site Resource Library is open to the public, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday.

Contact: Telephone: (800) 729-6686 TDD: (800) 487-4889 Web Site: http://ncadi.samhsa.gov

Keywords: Alcohol abuse, Drug abuse, Substance abuse prevention programs

more information

National Contact Center (NCC)

Annotation: The National Contact Center (NCC), formerly known as the Federal Information Center, responds to inquiries about federal programs, benefits, and services, and processes telephone requests for consumer publications. NCC uses an online knowledgebase to post frequently requested information and accepts e-mail inquiries through its partner, FirstGov.gov (the inquiry form is located at http://firstgov.gov/feedback/FeedbackForm.jsp).

Contact: Washington, DC 20407, Telephone: (800) 333-4636 Web Site: http://www.pueblo.gsa.gov/call/ncc.htm

Keywords: Federal government, Information services

more information

National Council on Patient Information and Education (NCPIE)

Annotation: The National Council on Patient Information and Education (NCPIE) is a nonprofit coalition of organizations working to stimulate and improve communication on the appropriate use of medicines to consumers and health care professionals. The Council provides materials in Spanish and Asian languages, publishes a catalog and a newsletter, and sponsors conferences.

Contact: 4915 St. Elmo Ave, Suite 505, Bethesda, MD 20814-6082, Telephone: (301) 656-8565 Fax: (202) 656-4464 Web Site: http://www.talkaboutrx.org E-mail: ncpie@ncpie.info

Keywords: Drug education, Medicine, Prescription drugs

more information

National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS)

Annotation: The National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) is a Federal Information Exchange on criminal justice, juvenile justice, and drug policy. NCJRS shares resources through a toll-free number, online resources, conferences, and mailings. Services include referrals, reference information, and publications (including a catalog).

Contact: P.O. Box 6000, Rockville, MD 20849-6000, Telephone: (301) 519-5500 Secondary Telephone: (800) 851-3420 Fax: (301) 519-5212 Web Site: http://www.ncjrs.org E-mail: askncjrs@ncjrs.org

Keywords: Crime, Criminal justice system, Drug abuse, Juvenile justice, Public policies

more information

National Dairy Council (NDC)

Annotation: The National Dairy Council (NDC) is the nutrition marketing arm of Dairy Management Inc. devoted to nutrition education. It works to encourage food selection patterns that include dairy foods and other major food categories, in accordance with scientific recommendations. Services include nutrition education programs and materials. The council publishes a variety of print and audiovisual materials, including a scientific review newsletter available on-line, Dairy Council Digest , a pregnancy calendar, Great Beginnings, and a feeding guide, Airplane, Choo-Choo and Other Games Parents Play. A free catalog is available upon request. Some publications are available in Spanish.

Contact: O'Hare International Center, 10255 West Higgins Road, Suite 900, Rosemont, IL 60018, Telephone: (312) 240-2880 Web Site: http://www.nationaldairycouncil.org E-mail: ndc@dairyinformation.com

Keywords: Adolescents, Educational materials, Food preferences, Nutrition, Nutrition education, Young children

more information

National Emergency Medicine Association (NEMA)

Annotation: The National Emergency Medicine Association (NEMA) provides information on a wide variety of health related topics. Its work is conducted through special programs including: National Heart Council, National Stroke Council, Seniors Life Council, and Kids Do Matter. NEMA is the producer of The Heart of the Matter, a daily radio health program. Through its special program, Kids Do Matter, it published The Little Book of Parenting. It also produced and distributes In A Flash, the youth gun violence prevention video and program targeted to middle school-aged youth. Brochures are available and some materials are available in Spanish. The organization also publishes a newsletter.

Contact: 306 West Joppa Road, Baltimore, MD 21204-4048, Telephone: (410) 494-0300 Fax: (410) 494-0725 Web Site: http://www.nemahealth.org E-mail: info@nemahealth.org

Keywords: Emergency medical services, Emergency medicine, Hospital emergency services, Prevention programs

more information

National Health Information Center (NHIC)

Annotation: The National Health Information Center (NHIC) is a health information referral service which links consumers and health professionals who have health questions with organizations that can provide answers. The center maintains an online directory of more than 1,100 health-related organizations that can provide information. They include Federal and State agencies, voluntary associations, self-help and support groups, trade associations, and professional societies. Spanish language information specialists are available. NHIC also produces three annual health information directories: Federal Health Information Centers and Clearinghouses, National Health Observances, and Toll-free Numbers for Health Information. The NHIC database of referral organizations is publicly accessible through www.healthfinder.gov and www.health.gov/nhic. Some information online is available in Spanish. The center also hosts a listservice. The NHIC staff do not diagnose, make direct referrals to health care professionals, or recommend treatment for medical conditions.

Contact: P.O. Box 1133, Washington, DC 20013-1133, Telephone: (800)336-4797 Maryland: (301) 468-1273 Fax: (301) 984-4256 Web Site: http://www.health.gov/nhic/ E-mail: info@nhic.org and healthfinder@nhic.org

Keywords: Databases, Federal agencies, Health education, Health promotion, Information sources, Online databases, Publications, Reference materials, Referrals, Referrals, Self help clearinghouses

more information

National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute Health Information Center (NHLBI)

Annotation: The National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute (NHLBI) Health Information Center is a federal information and referral resource that responds to inquiries and disseminates information and publications on cholesterol, high blood pressure, asthma, heart disease, exercise, obesity, sleep disorders, stroke, sarcoidosis, and Raynaud's phenomenon. Some materials are available in Spanish. Clinical practice guidelines for health professionals are available on high blood cholesterol, high blood pressure, asthma, and obesity. Serial publications include HeartMemo, which provides program updates for health professionals about cholesterol, high blood pressure, and heart attack, and AsthmaMemo, which describes the activities of the National Asthma Education and Prevention Program. Publications can be accessed using the online catalog or ordered from NHLB in print format.

Contact: P.O. Box 30105, Bethesda, MD 20824-0105, Telephone: (301) 592-8573 TTY: (240) 629-3255 Fax: (301) 592-8563 Web Site: http://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/health/infoctr/index.htm E-mail: NHLBIinfo@nhlbi.nih.gov

Keywords: Asthma, Blood and lymphatic diseases, Blood pressure disorders, Cardiovascular diseases, Heart diseases, Hematologic diseases, Hypertension, Information dissemination, Lung diseases, Respiratory diseases, Smoking

more information

National Injury Information Clearinghouse

Annotation: The National Injury Information Clearinghouse, part of the federal Consumer Product Safety Commission, collects and disseminates information on the causes and prevention of injury, illness, and death associated with household products. The clearinghouse responds to inquiries from consumers and professionals. The clearinghouse also provides referrals and publishes a newsletter.

Contact: 4330 East-West Highway, Bethesda, MD 20814-4408, Telephone: (301) 504-7921 Secondary Telephone: (800) 638-2772 Fax: (301) 504-0025 Web Site: http://www.cpsc.gov/about/clrnghse.html E-mail: clearinghouse@cpsc.gov

Keywords: Clearinghouses, Household injuries, Household safety, Injuries, Injury prevention

more information

National Institute of Child Health and Human Development Information Resource Center (NICHD IRC)

Annotation: The National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD) Information Resource Center is a resource for information on health issues and publications related to NICHD research. The center's trained information specialists offer information and referral services. NICHD produces a wide range of publications and materials for professional and public audiences. Materials in English and Spanish are available and can be viewed and ordered from the Web site.

Contact: P.O. Box 3006, Rockville, MD 20847, Telephone: (800) 370-2943 Fax: (301) 984-1473 Web Site: http://www.nichd.nih.gov/ E-mail: NICHDInformationResourceCenter@mail.nih.gov

Keywords: Child health, Clearinghouses, Research

more information

National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS)

Annotation: The National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS) works to reduce the burden of human illness and disability by understanding how the environment nfluences the development and proression of human disease. NIEHS publishes the peer-reviewed journal Environmental Health Perspectives and provides online access to downloadable resources such as studies and eports. The NIEHS Library maintains a searchable online catalog and provides links to consumer health materials and resources for researchers. Some materials are available in Spanish and Chinese.

Contact: P.O. Box 12233 , MD NH-10, Research Triangle Park, NC 27709, Telephone: (919)541-3345 Fax: (919)541-4395 Web Site: http://www.niehs.nih.gov/

Keywords: Chemicals, Environmental health, Information services, Lead poisoning, Medical research, Public health, Toxicology

more information

National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH)

Annotation: The National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH), a component of the National Institutes of Health, conducts and supports research that seeks to understand, treat, and prevent mental illness. The Institute's public inquiries line is staffed with information specialists who respond to requests from the lay public, clinicians, and the scientific community with a variety of publications. These include printed materials on such subjects as basic behavioral research, neuroscience of mental health, rural mental health, children's mental disorders, schizophrenia, depression, bipolar disorder, attention deficit hyperactivity disorder, eating disorders, autism, Alzheimer's disease, and panic disorder, obsessive-compulsive disorder, post-traumatic stress disorder, social phobia and other anxiety disorders. Information on NIMH-sponsored meetings, workshops, and symposia, and a list of NIMH publications, including several in Spanish, is available on the institute's Web site. The public can subscribe to the NIMH E-News listserv on the Web site for periodic updates on NIMH activities, programs, and publications.

Contact: MSC 9663, Room 8184, 6001 Executive Boulevard, Bethesda, MD 20892-9663, Telephone: (301) 443-4513 TTY: (301) 443-8431 Fax: (301) 443-4279 Web Site: http://www.nimh.nih.gov E-mail: nimhinfo@nih.gov

Keywords: Education, Health promotion, Listservs, Mental disorders, Mental health

more information

National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA)

Annotation: The National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA) responds to inquiries from the community, professionals, and the media. NIDA supports more than 85 percent of the world's research on the health aspects of drug abuse and addiction. The institute produces and distributes information based on its own drug abuse research, maintains statistics and information on drug exposed infants, and provides support and technical assistance for efforts to increase public and professional awareness of the relationship between drug abuse and AIDS. Some materials are available in Spanish. The Web site includes a section, NIDA for Teens, that is geared to adolescents ages 11 to 15. The institute publishes a catalog and a newsletter. The institute also sponsors conferences, training seminars, and workshops.

Contact: 6001 Executive Boulevard, Room 5213, Bethesda, MD 20892-9561, Telephone: (301) 443-1124 Web Site: http://www.nida.nih.gov E-mail: Information@nida.nih.gov

Keywords: AIDS, Adolescents, Drug abuse, Research, Statistics, Substance abuse prevention, Substance dependance, Technical assistance

more information

National Institutes of Health (NIH)

Annotation: The National Institutes of Health (NIH) is the principal medical research arm of the federal government. Its programs focus on basic and applied research on the causes, diagnosis, prevention, treatment, and rehabilitation of human diseases and disabilities; the fundamental biological process of growth, development, and aging; and the biological effects of the environment. NIH conducts research in its own laboratories and supports research in universities, hospitals, and other institutions across the country; it also supports the training of career researchers, and promotes effective ways to communicate biomedical information to scientists, health practitioners, and the public. NIH is organized into 27 components, including 19 research institutes. It also encompasses the National Library of Medicine, the Warren Grant Magnuson Clinical Center, the John E. Fogarty International Center for Advanced Study in the Health Sciences, and the National Center for Research Resources. Services to consumers include publications and reference information. Publications include a catalog and Almanac. Some materials are available in Spanish. An A-Z index of NIH health resources, clinical trials, health hotlines, MEDLINEplus, and drug information is posted on the NIH Web site. A data tool, RePORT, provides access to reports, data, and analyses of NIH research activities.

Contact: 9000 Rockville Pike, Bethesda, MD 20892, Telephone: (301) 496-4000 TTY: (301) 402-9612 Fax: (301) 496-0017 Web Site: http://www.nih.gov E-mail: NIHInfo@OD.NIH.GOV

Keywords: Disabilities, Diseases, Medical research, Nutrition, Public health

more information

National Library of Medicine (NLM)

Annotation: The National Library of Medicine (NLM) collects and disseminates biomedical information and serves as a national resource for all U.S. health science libraries. In addition to its collection of journals, monographs, and audiovisual materials, the library has extensive information for scientists, health professionals, and the general public available through its Web site. Lending and other services are provided through the 5000-member National Network of Libraries of Medicine. Services provided to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. The library also publishes a newsletter and a catalog, and provides training materials on using its resources.

Contact: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 8600 Rockville Pike, Bethesda, MD 20894, Telephone: (301) 594-5983 Secondary Telephone: (888) 346-3656 Fax: (301) 402-1384 Web Site: http://www.nlm.nih.gov E-mail: publicinfo@nlm.nih.gov

Keywords: Health sciences libraries, Libraries, Library services, Medical research, National Library of Medicine, Online databases, Online systems, Publications, Reference materials

more information

National Ovarian Cancer Coalition (NOCC)

Annotation: The National Ovarian Cancer Coalition (NOCC) is an ovarian cancer public information and education organization. NOCC provides toll-free information, online discussion forums, print and electronic materials, including news updates and research findings, and other ovarian cancer support resources and services.

Contact: 500 Spanish River Boulevard, N.E. Suite 8, Boca Raton, FL 33431, Telephone: (561) 393-0005 Secondary Telephone: (888) OVARIAN Fax: (561) 393-7275 Web Site: http://www.ovarian.org E-mail: NOCC@ovarian.org

Keywords: Cancer, Consumer education, Gynecology, Hotlines, Information sources, Ovarian cancer, Resource centers, Women's health

more information

National Safety Council (NSC)

Annotation: Founded in 1913, the National Safety Council (NSC) is a federally chartered nonprofit organization whose mission is to protect life and promote health. NSC sponsors many conferences which address safety and health issues in the workplace, at home, on the road, in schools, and through both work and leisure activities. The National Safety Council works with public and private sectors, providing training programs that focus on first aid and occupational health and safety, outreach and educational activities, public service efforts and consulting, and through educational materials including Safety and Health and Family Safety & Health magazines and The Journal of Safety Research. NSC maintains a library and provides materials for educators, professionals, children, and the general public covering topics such as air quality, climate change, hazardous chemicals, radioactive waste, and children's environmental health.

Contact: 1121 Spring Lake Drive, Itasca, IL 60143, Telephone: (630) 285-1121 Secondary Telephone: (800) 621-7619 Fax: (630) 285-1315 Web Site: http://www.nsc.org E-mail: info@nsc.org

Keywords: Health promotion, Injury prevention, Occupational safety and health, Traffic safety, Transportation injuries

more information

National Women's Health Resource Center (NWHRC)

Annotation: The National Women's Health Resource Center (NWHRC), is a not-for-profit, national clearinghouse for women's health information, an advocate for women's health issues, and a source of professional support and education programs. The center maintains a national computer database of health information, including referrals, resources and general information on a variety of women's health topics. Other services include conducting personalized research on behalf of women, information provided at the Center's website, and national education partnerships. Publications include the bimonthly newsletter National Women's Health Report.

Contact: 157 Broad Street, Suite 106, Red Bank, NJ 07701, Telephone: (877)-986-8472 Fax: (732) 530-3347 Web Site: http://www.healthywomen.org E-mail: snelson@healthywomen.org

Keywords: Consumer education materials, Menopause, Women's health

more information

Native American Women's Health Education Resource Center

Annotation: Founded in 1985, the Native American Women's Health Education Resource Center works to improve the overall health and economic status of Native Americans, especially women. As a 501 (c) (3) organization it provides programs on fetal alcohol syndrome, AIDS education and counseling, diabetic nutrition, domestic violence, reproductive health, adult learning, and child development. The center offers information and referrals; sponsors conferences, training seminars, and workshops; publishes a newsletter and a catalog; and produces educational materials which are distributed through the center's clearinghouse. Some materials are available in the Dakota language.

Contact: P.O. Box 572, Lake Andes, SD 57356, Telephone: (605) 487-7072 Fax: (605) 487-7964 Web Site: http://www.nativeshop.org/nawherc.html E-mail: casetoyer@yahoo.com

Keywords: Health education, Minority Health, Minority groups, Native Americans, Women's Health

more information

New York State Genetic Services Program and Newborn Screening Program

Annotation: New York State Genetic Services Program and Newborn Screening Program coordinates state grants to comprehensive and noncategorical clinical genetics units throughout the state. This assures that all residents of the state can access genetic diagnosis, testing, counseling and treatment regardless of their social, economic, or geographic circumstances. The state newborn screening program tests all newborns born in New York State for 40 congenital diseases and HIV. Program follow-up assures that all children identified by the program are properly referred to specialty care centers. These centers are approved by New York state to provide quality medical care to all children identified by the program. Educational materials are available in Spanish, French, Chinese, and other languages.

Contact: New York State Department of Health, Wadsworth Center, Empire State Plaza, P.O. Box 509, Albany, NY 12201-0509, Telephone: (518) 473-7552 Web Site: http://www.wadsworth.org/newborn/genes/ E-mail: nbsinfo@health.state.ny.us

Keywords: Genetic counseling, Genetic services, Genetics, Health education, Medical research, New York, Regional genetics networks, Spanish language materials, Virgin islands

more information

Office of Population Affairs Clearinghouse

Annotation: The Office of Population Affairs Clearinghouse (formerly the Family Life Information Exchange) provides referrals and distributes various federal publications on family planning, contraception, adolescent pregnancy, and adoption. Available materials include a catalog, manuals, directories, fact sheets, pamphlets, and summaries of Adolescent Family Life (AFL) projects. Some materials are available in Spanish and Asian languages

Contact: P.O. Box 30686, Bethesda, MD 20824-0686, Telephone: (866) 640-7827 Fax: (866) 592-3299 Web Site: http://www.hhs.gov/opa/pubs/ E-mail: info@opaclearinghouse.org

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Adoption, Contraception, Family planning

more information

Planned Parenthood Federation of America (PPFA)

Annotation: The Planned Parenthood Federation of America (PPFA) is dedicated to the principle that every person has the fundamental right to choose whether or when to have children. The federation works to ensure access to sexuality education and family planning services. Planned Parenthood health centers offer high-quality sexual and reproductive health care, including family planning, gynecological care, STI/STD testing and treatment, pregnancy testing, and abortion services. Its Web site offers information on birth control, emergency contraception, abortion, pregnancy, sexually transmitted infections and diseases, gynecological exams, teens, and sexuality. The online database of the PPFA Katharine Dexter McCormick Library includes books, brochures, programs, curricula, and audiovisual materials on sexuality education. PPFA publishes a catalog, newsletter, and journal, and some or its publications are available in Spanish.

Contact: 434 West 33rd Street, New York, NY 10001, Telephone: (212) 541-7800 Fax: (212) 245-1845 Web Site: http://www.plannedparenthood.org

Keywords: Abortion, Adolescent pregnancy, Advocacy, Contraception, Family planning, Health education, Internet, Online databases, Public awareness materials, Publications, Reproductive health, Reproductive rights, Sexuality education, Spanish language materials

more information

U.S. Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)

Annotation: The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) offers health care information, research findings, and data to help consumers, health professionals, health insurers, researchers, and policymakers make informed decisions about health care issues. AHRQ provides information on specific populations (including women, children, minority groups, and those residing in inner cities and rural areas) and also disseminates resources and materials on public health preparedness, health information technology, funding opportunities, quality of care, and patient safety. Speeches and testimony, conference proceedings, evidence reports, and workshop summaries are among the materials that can be downloaded from the Web site, where users will also find an electronic catalog and database of current AHRQ research projects. Some materials are available in Spanish and Asian languages. The agency helped to established the National Guideline Clearinghouse (www.guideline.gov) -- a public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines -- and is a partner in the Child Health Insurance Research Initiative (CHIRI), which studies the Children's Health Insurance Program (CHIP). It also sponsors QualityTools, a clearinghouse of tools for measuring and improving health care quality; the Patient Safety Network, which provides a collection of patient safety news, literature, tools, and resources; and the Effective Health Care Program, a collection of research centers working to provide evidence on health care interventions.

Contact: Office of Communications and Knowledge Transfer, 540 Gaither Road, Suite 2000, Rockville, MD 20850, Telephone: (301) 427-1364 AHRQ Clearinghouse: (800) 358-9295 Web Site: http://www.ahrq.gov E-mail: http://info.ahrq.gov

Keywords: Safety, Clearinghouses, Clinical medicine, Foreign language materials, Guidelines, Health care delivery, Health disparities, Health policy, Medical technology, Patient care management, Program evaluation, Referrals, Research, Research, Service delivery, Spanish language materials, State Children's Health Insurance Program, Training, Treatment outcomes

more information

U.S. Center for Nutrition Policy and Promotion (CNPP)

Annotation: The Center for Nutrition Policy and Promotion under the U.S. Department of Agriculture develops the Dietary Guidelines for Americans, the Food Guide Pyramid, the Interactive Healthy Eating Index, Expenditures on Children by Families, the Cost of Food at Home and the Nutrient Content of the U.S. Food Supply. The Center publishes a journal, Family Economics and Nutrition Review, and distributes publications for health professionals and consumers. Some materials are available in Spanish. The Center also sponsors conferences.

Contact: U.S. Department of Agriculture, 3101 Park Center Drive, Room 1034, Alexandria, VA 22302-1594, Telephone: (703) 305-7600 Fax: (703) 305-3300 Web Site: http://www.cnpp.usda.gov E-mail: infocnpp@cnpp.usda.gov

Keywords: Child nutrition, Conferences, Dietary guidelines, Family economics, Food consumption, Information dissemination, Information sources, Nutrition, Nutrition programs, Public policies, Publications, Spanish language materials

more information

U.S. Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS)

Annotation: The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), formerly the Health Care Financing Administration (HCFA), oversees Medicare, a health insurance program for people over 65 years old and for certain people with disabilities; Medicaid, a program that funds state medical services to the needy; and federal medical care quality control efforts related to these programs. It also provides technical assistance to the Public Health Service and other agencies to coordinate delivery and funding of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services' maternal and child health programs. The Adult Immunization section provides information and resources related to influenza, pneumococcal, and hepatitis B vaccinations. CMS publishes a newsletter; sponsors conferences and training seminars; and provides referrals, publications, and reference information for consumers. Materials are available in Spanish.

Contact: 7500 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (877) 267-2323 Secondary Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Web Site: http://cms.hhs.gov

Keywords: Conferences, Data analysis, Diagnosis related groups, EPSDT, Federal agencies, Health care financing, Health insurance, Medicaid, Medicare, Program evaluation, Publications, Quality assurance, Spanish language materials, State agencies, State children's health insurance program, State programs, Statistics, Training, immunization

more information

U.S. Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, Office of Oral Health (CMS/OHS)

Annotation: The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), formerly the Health Care Financing Administration (HCFA), oversees Medicare, a health insurance program for people over 65 years old and for certain people with disabilities; Medicaid, a program that funds state medical services to the needy; and federal medical care quality control efforts related to these programs. It also provides technical assistance to the Public Health Service and other agencies to coordinate delivery and funding of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services' maternal and child health programs. The Office of Oral Health provides guidance to states administering these programs and services to beneficiaries and providers.

Contact: 7500 Security Boulevard, C2-26-12, Baltimore, MD 21244, Telephone: (410) 786-3000 Fax: (410) 786-3194 Web Site: http://www.cms.hhs.gov/MedicaidDentalCoverage/ E-mail: adavis3@cms.hhs.gov

Keywords: Conferences, Data analysis, Diagnosis related groups, EPSDT, Federal agencies, Health care financing, Health insurance, Medicaid, Medicare, Oral health, Program evaluation, Publications, Quality assurance, Spanish language materials, State agencies, State children's health insurance program, State programs, Statistics, Training

more information

U.S. Department of Agriculture, Supplemental Food Programs Division (USDA)

Annotation: The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA), Food and Nutrition Service, oversees the Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants and Children (WIC). WIC programs (administered by state health departments or comparable agencies through federal grant funds) provide specified supplemental foods, nutrition education, and health care referrals for low-income pregnant, postpartum, and breastfeeding women and for infants and children up to age 5. WIC is not an entitlement program; that is, Congress does not set aside funds to allow every eligible individual to participate in the program. Instead, WIC is a Federal grant program for which Congress authorizes a specific amount of funding each year for program operations. The Food and Nutrition Service provides these funds to WIC State agencies (State health departments or comparable agencies) to pay for WIC foods, nutrition education, and administrative costs.

Contact: 3101 Park Center Drive, Room 520, Alexandria, VA 22302, Telephone: (703) 305-2746 Secondary Telephone: (703) 305-2680 Fax: (703) 305-2196 Web Site: http://www.fns.usda.gov/wic E-mail: wichq-web@fns.usda.gov

Keywords: Agriculture, Low income groups, Nutrition, Nutrition education, Postpartum, Pregnant women, Supplemental food programs, WIC Program

more information

U.S. Expanded Food and Nutrition Education Program (USDA)

Annotation: The Expanded Food and Nutrition Education Program (EFNEP) is a federally funded nutrition education program designed to assist low-income families and youth acquire the knowledge, skills, attitudes, and changed behaviors necessary for nutritionally sound diets and to contribute to their personal development and the improvement of total family diet and nutritional welfare. Extension professionals train and supervise paraprofessionals and volunteers who then teach food and nutrition information and skills to the participants. All nutrition education is tailored to the needs, interests, financial resources, ethnic backgrounds, and learning capabilities of EFNEP participants. Publications are available for consumers, and materials are available in Spanish, Asian languages, and other languages.

Contact: CSREE, Department of Agriculture, Waterfront Centre, Room 4469, 1400 Independence Avenue, S.W., Stop 2201, Washington, DC 20250-2201, Telephone: (202) 720-7441 Secondary Telephone: (202) 720 - 8067 Fax: (202) 690-2469 Web Site: http://www.csrees.usda.gov/nea/food/efnep/efnep.html E-mail: hchipman@csrees.usda.gov

Keywords: Adolescent health, Diet, Education programs, Food handling, Health education, Infants, Low income groups, Maternal nutrition, Nutrition, Training

more information

U.S. Food and Drug Administration, Office of Consumer Affairs (FDA)

Annotation: The Food and Drug Administration (FDA) Office of Consumer Affairs responds to inquiries and provides information, referrals, and publications on foods, drugs, medical devices, and medications. The FDA publishes a catalog and a newsletter. Some publications are available in Spanish.

Contact: 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, Telephone: (888) 463-6332 Fax: (301) 443-9767 Web Site: http://www.fda.gov/consumer/default.htm E-mail: consumerinfo@fda.hhs.gov

Keywords: Information services, Nonprescription drugs, Nutrition, Prescription drugs

more information

U.S. Food and Nutrition Information Center (FNIC)

Annotation: The Food and Nutrition Information Center (FNIC) provides on-line global nutrition information. FNIC is one of several information centers located at the National Agricultural Library (NAL), part of the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Agricultural Research Service (ARS). FNIC staff provide information on food, human nutrition, and food safety. FNIC's 1800+ links to nutrition information and databases can be accessed from the FNIC Web site. The organization also produces subject-specific bibliographies called Resource Lists that are available online at: http://www.nal.usda.gov/fnic/pubs_and_db.html. Services to consumers include inquiry responses, publications, reference information, and searchable databases. Some materials are available in Spanish and other languages.

Contact: National Agricultural Library, 10301 Baltimore Avenue, Room 105, Beltsville, MD 20705-2351, Telephone: (301) 504-5719 NAL Exe. Dir.: (301) 504-5248 Fax: (301) 504-6409 Web Site: http://www.nal.usda.gov/fnic E-mail: fnic@nal.usda.gov

Keywords: Adolescent pregnancy, Child nutrition, Food service, Food technology, Information services, Nutrition, Young children

more information

U.S. Food and Nutrition Service (FNS)

Annotation: The U.S. Department of Agriculture Food and Nutrition Service (FNS), formerly called Food and Consumer Service, responds to inquiries and provides information and publications on federal maternal and child nutrition programs, including the Special Supplemental Nutrition Program for Women, Infants and Children (WIC), Child Nutrition Programs, Food Stamp Program, and Commodity Supplemental Food Program (CSFP). Some materials are available in Spanish. FNS publishes a newsletter, sponsors conferences, training seminars, and workshops, and offers a variety of resources and information online, including links to related nutrition programs and access to e-mail discussion groups.

Contact: 3101 Park Center Drive, Alexandria, VA 22302, Web Site: http://www.fns.usda.gov/fns

Keywords: Child nutrition programs, Commodity food supplemental programs, Conferences, Federal programs, Maternal nutrition programs, Nutrition, Public awareness campaigns, Publications, Spanish language materials, Supplemental food programs, Training, WIC program

more information

U.S. Government Printing Office (GPO)

Annotation: The U.S. Government Printing Office, Superintendent of Documents (GPO, SuDocs) Sales Program sells publications produced by Congress and Federal Government agencies. A few titles are available in Spanish. The office neither initiates nor exercises editorial control over the information it distributes. The U.S. Government Online Bookstore (http://bookstore.gpo.gov) includes a searchable online database of all available sales titles, as well as a search by topic function, a number of special collections of sales products, and an e-mail alert service to notify customers of new titles in particular fields of interest.

Contact: 732 North Capitol Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20401, Telephone: (866) 512-1800 sales ordering and publication information (D.C. office): (202) 512-1800 Fax: (202) 512-2104 Web Site: http://www.gpo.gov E-mail: contactcenter@gpo.gov

Keywords: Information services, S, U, government publications

more information

U.S. Indian Health Service (IHS)

Annotation: The Indian Health Service (IHS) works to assure that comprehensive, culturally acceptable personal and public health services are available and accessible to American Indian and Alaska Native people. IHS provides medical, dental, and environmental health programs and other health services through IHS facilities, hospitals, health centers, school health centers, and health stations. Areas of emphasis include health promotion, injury prevention, maternal and child health, behaviorial health, nutrition and dietetic training, and consumer health information. Publications include reports, directories, clinical guidelines, and fact sheets highlighting IHS activities. Links to patient education protocols and codes, Native health databases, and affiliated services, agencies, and organizations are provided on the Web site.

Contact: 801 Thompson Avenue, Suite 400, Rockville, MD 20852, Telephone: (301) 443-1083 Fax: (301) 443-4794 Web Site: http://www.ihs.gov

Keywords: Advocacy, Contract services, Dental care, Disease prevention, Minority health promotion, Alcoholism, Substance abuse, Suicide, MCH, Nutrition, Health services, Minority groups, Native Americans, Nutrition, online databases

more information

U.S. Occupational Safety and Health Administration, Office of Information and Consumer Affairs (OSHA)

Annotation: Occupational Safety and Health Administration responds to inquires from consumers and professionals and prepares and distributes publications on a range of health and safety topics, including environmental exposures during pregnancy as they occur in the workplace. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. Materials are available in Spanish.

Contact: 200 Constitution Avenue, N.W., Room N-3647, Washington, DC 20210, Telephone: (202) 523-1452 Web Site: http://www.osha.gov

Keywords: Injury prevention, Occupational safety and health, Prenatal care, Workplace health promotion

more information

U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion (ODPHP)

Annotation: The Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion (ODPHP), in the Office of Public Health and Science, Office of the Secretary, stimulates and coordinates efforts in the public and private sectors to reduce the risk of disease and early death and to promote good health, including managing the Healthy People 2010 program and the Steps to a HealthierUS program. ODPHP directs the National Health Information Center, which refers people to public agencies and private organizations that provide information and materials on health-related issues. ODPHP also directs a collaborative consumer health Web site, http://www.healthfinder.gov. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. ODPHP publishes a newsletter and maintains the Prevention Communication Research Database, an online, searchable collection of audience communication research conducted or sponsored by HHS agencies on key prevention topics and that may not be widely known or published in peer-reviewed journals (i.e.,grey literature).

Contact: 1101 Wootton Parkway, Suite LL100, Rockville, MD 20852, Telephone: (240) 453-8280 Fax: (240) 453-8282 Web Site: http://odphp.osophs.dhhs.gov

Keywords: Consumer education, Health promotion, Healthy People 2010, Information sources, Prevention, Prevention programs, Program descriptions, Public awareness materials, Publications, Referrals, Self help clearinghouses, World Wide Web

more information

U.S. Office of Minority Health Resource Center (OMHRC)

Annotation: The Office of Minority Health Resource Center (OMHRC) serves as a repository of information on health issues specific to African Americans, American Indians/Alaska Natives, Asian Americans, Hispanics, Native Hawaiians, and other Pacific Islanders. The resource center collects and distributes information on a wide variety of health topics, including cardiovascular disease and stroke, diabetes, homicide, suicide, unintentional injuries, HIV/AIDS, infant mortality, and substance abuse. OMHRC offers customized responses to telephone, e-mail and mail inquiries. The resource center can provide database searches, funding searches, and current data and statistics on a variety of health conditions and issues affecting racial and ethnic minorities. The center also disseminates targeted publications, and provides referrals to local, state and national organizations.

Contact: P.O. Box 37337, Washington, DC 20013-7337, Telephone: (800) 444-6472 Secondary Telephone: (301) 251-1797 Fax: (301) 251-2160 Web Site: http://www.omhrc.gov/ E-mail: info@omhrc.gov

Keywords: AIDS, Access to health care, Asian Americans, Blacks, Cancer, Cardiovascular diseases, Diabetes, Ethnic groups, Hispanic Americans, Homicide, Infant mortality, Information sources, Injury prevention, Minority groups, Minority health, Native Americans, Pacific Islanders, Publications, Spanish language materials, Substance dependence, Suicide, Violence prevention

more information

U.S. Social Security Administration (SSA)

Annotation: The Social Security Administration (SSA) administers the federal government's social security programs, including retirement benefits, disability benefits, survivors' benefits, and Supplemental Security Income (SSI). Publications are available on the Web site; some are available in Arabic, Armenian, Chinese, Farsi, French, Greek, Haitian Creole, Italian, Korean, Polish, Portuguese, Spanish, Russian, Tagalog, and Vietnamese.

Contact: 6401 Security Boulevard, Baltimore, MD 21235, Telephone: (800) 772-1213 TTY: (800) 325-0778 Web Site: http://www.ssa.gov/

Keywords: Disabilities, Retirement, Social Security, Supplemental security income

more information

Zero To Three: National Center for Infants, Toddlers, and Families

Annotation: ZERO TO THREE, (formerly the National Center for Clinical Infant Programs), is a nonprofit organization that works to improve the chances for healthy physical, cognitive, and social development of infants, toddlers, and their families and to create a context for improved understanding of early intervention and prevention programs. The organization offers training programs and materials, produces publications, provides technical assistance to administrators at state, community, and program levels, and sponsors seminars and conferences. Other activities include research facilitation to advance knowledge concerning infants and toddlers, communication to foster awareness of the importance of the first three years of life, and leadership development programs. Publications include a catalog, a journal, and over 200 other publications. Some materials are available in Spanish.

Contact: 2000 M Street, N.W., Suite 200, Washington, DC 20036-3307, Telephone: (202) 638-1144 publications: (800) 899-4301 Web Site: http://www.zerotothree.org E-mail: 0to3@presswarehouse.com

Keywords: Child care, Child development, Child health, Cognitive development, Early childhood development, Early intervention, Infant health, Information sources, Physical development, Prevention programs, Program descriptions, Publications, Research, Social development, Spanish language materials

more information

Return to Previous Page | Go To Cross-Database Search | Advanced MCHLine® Search

Share |