Top Pages

A-Z Index (Resources & Services)

Resource Guides:
All | Families | Professionals | Schools | Non-English | Multimedia

MCH Alert Newsletter

Search

Top Pages
Home  ::  A - Z Index: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z   ::  Search

Child Abuse

Annotated Lists of Organizations on Key Topics in Maternal and Child Health

OrganizationsThis list of 23 organizations is drawn from the MCH Organizations online database. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Library. To identify additional materials on this topic, search the Organizations database using our online search form.

The MCH Organizations Database lists government, professional, and voluntary organizations involved in maternal and child health activities, primarily at a national level. Information available to consumers is indicated where known.

Displaying 23 records.

American Humane Association, Children's Services (AHA)

Annotation: The Children's Services of the American Humane Association (AHA) ensures that effective child protective service systems are in place in every part of America. The association provides comprehensive inservice training for professionals (social workers, physicians, teachers, law enforcement personnel, nurses, and judges), provides expert evaluation and technical assistance to community and statewide child protective programs, and promotes national standards for programs to protect children from abuse and neglect. Publications include professional resource for frontline workers, child welfare professionals, administrators, legislators, and the general public, and Protecting Children and Child Protection Leader , an advocacy newsletter, quarterly. It also provides referrals and reference information. Some materials are available in Spanish. The association also sponsors training seminars and national Roundtable Series on outcome measures, family group decision making, and the Adoption & Safe Families Act, among other topics.

Contact: 63 Inverness Drive, East, Englewood, CO 80112-5117, Telephone: (303) 792-9900 Secondary Telephone: (800) 227-4645 Fax: (303) 792-5333 Web Site: http://www.americanhumane.org/site/PageServer?pagename=pc_about E-mail: children@americanhumane.org

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, Child protection agencies, Child protective services, Information services, Technical assistance, Training

more information

American Professional Society on the Abuse of Children (APSAC)

Annotation: The American Professional Society on the Abuse of Children (APSAC) brings together psychologists, social workers, physicians, attorneys, nurses, law enforcement officers, child protective services workers, administrators, researchers, and allied professionals who have dedicated a substantial portion of their professional lives to alleviating the problems caused by child maltreatment. The mission of APSAC is to ensure that everyone affected by child abuse and neglect receives high quality professional response. APSAC is committed to providing continuing professional education which promotes effective, culturally sensitive, and interdisciplinary approaches to the identification, intervention, treatment and prevention of child abuse and neglect; to educating the public about the complex issues involved in child abuse and neglect; and to ensuring that public policy affecting America's response to child maltreatment is well informed and constructive. Publications include the quarterly APSAC Advisor and the journal Child Maltreatment as well as numerous practice guidelines and other books. The society also sponsors conferences, training seminars, and workshops.

Contact: c/o Daphne Wright & Associates, 350 Poplar Avenue, Elmhurst, IL 60216, Telephone: (877) 402-7722 Secondary Telephone: (630) 941-1235 Fax: (405) 271-2931 Web Site: http://www.apsac.org E-mail: mbandy@apsac.org

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, Health education, Public policies

more information

Boys Town

Annotation: Boys Town -- formerly known as Girls and Boys Town -- provides a second chance for thousands of abused, neglected, and abandoned children and adolescents (ages 8–18). In addition to its Nebraska campus, Boys Town has a National Research Hospital for children with speech and hearing problems. The organization provides off-campus residential care, shelter care, treatment, foster care, parent training, family crisis intervention, and a 24-hour crisis hotline, as well as technical assistance and referrals to other residential care programs across the nation. Publications include, a catalog, books, brochures, parenting videotapes, and organizational training materials.

Contact: 14100 Crawford Street, Boys Town, NE 68010, Telephone: (402) 498-1300 crisis hotline: (800) 448-3000 Fax: (402) 498-1348 Web Site: http://www.boystown.org

Keywords: Adolescents, Speech disorders, Hearing disorders,, Child abuse, Child neglect, Foster care, Residential programs

more information

Center for Parenting Studies

Annotation: The Center for Parenting Studies at Wheelock College provides educational seminars for professionals working with parents and families. Topics include parent counseling, child abuse and neglect, child development, families of diverse cultures, dysfunctional families, parental work-family conflicts, techniques for working with parents of children who are difficult to understand, and home visiting, a strategy for helping families.

Contact: Wheelock College, 200 The Riverway, Boston, MA 02215-4176, Telephone: (617) 734-5200, ext. 214 Fax: (617) 566-7531

Keywords: Child health, Parent education, Parenting, Professional education

more information

Child Welfare Information Gateway

Annotation: The Child Welfare Information Gateway was created when the National Adoption Information Clearinghouse and the National Clearinghouse on Child Abuse and Neglect Information were consolidated and expanded. The gateway promotes the safety, permanency, and well-being of children and families by connecting child welfare, adoption, and related professionals as well as concerned citizens to timely information. A service of the Children's Bureau, Administration for Children and Families, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, the gateway provides access to print and electronic publications, websites, and online databases covering a wide range of topics from prevention to permanency, including child welfare, child abuse and neglect, adoption, search, and reunion.

Contact: ICF International, 1250 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Eighth Floor, Washington, DC 20024, Telephone: (800) FYI-3366 Secondary Telephone: (703) 385-7565 Fax: (703) 385-3206 Web Site: http://www.childwelfare.gov E-mail: info@childwelfare.gov

Keywords: Adopted children, Adoptive parents, Biological parents, Child abuse, Child neglect, Children with special health care needs, Clearinghouses, Databases, Family violence, Information services, Information dissemination, Adoption, Injury prevention, Support groups

more information

Children's Research Center (CRC)

Annotation: The Children's Research Center is a division of the National Council on Crime and Delinquency (NCCD). The CRC works to reduce the incidence of child abuse and neglect by influencing public policies that affect the child welfare system, by conducting policy research and by assisting child welfare agencies in improve consistency and effectiveness in delivery systems. The center provides research to identify factors related to continued abuse and neglect, development of risk assessment instruments, protocols, and standards for case management, and evaluation and technical assistance to assure proper implementation. CRC sponsors conferences, workshops, and training seminars, and publishes a newsletter, journal, and research reports.

Contact: 426 South Yellowstone Drive, Suite 250, Madison, WI 53719, Telephone: (608) 831-1180 Secondary Telephone: (608) 831-8882 Fax: (608) 831-6446 Web Site: http://www.nccd-crc.org/crc/c_index_main.html E-mail: rfreitag@mw.nccd-crc.org

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, Children, Injury prevention, Standards, Technical assistance

more information

Committee for Children

Annotation: The Committee for Children promotes the safety, well-being, and social development of children through developing bullying, youth violence, and child abuse prevention curricula and videos for educators, families, and communities. The Committee sponsors Steps to Respect, a bullying prevention program geared towards children in the upper elementary grades; Second Step, a curriculum for preschool to junior high students which teaches social skills to reduce impulsive and aggressive behavior in children and increase their level of social competence; and Talking About Touching, a personal safety curriculum. Information is provided on foundations of research and outcome evaluations for individual programs. Consultation and technical assistance on program implementation is also available. Links to related conferences, funding opportunities, and statistics are provided.

Contact: 568 First Avenue South, Suite 600, Seattle, WA 98104-2804, Telephone: (800) 634-4449, ext. 6223 Secondary Telephone: (206) 343-1223, ext. 6223 Fax: (206) 438-6765 Web Site: http://www.cfchildren.org E-mail: clientsupport@cfchildren.org

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Bullying, Child abuse, Curriculum development, Program evaluation, Technical assistance, Violence prevention

more information

Cornell University, Family Life Development Center (FLDC)

Annotation: The Family Life Development Center was established to improve professional and public efforts to understand and respond to risk factors in the lives of children, youth, families, and communities that lead to violence and maltreatment. The center focuses on strategies to help vulnerable children and youth by strengthening families and communities through research, training, outreach, and education. Center programs include the Child Protective Services Training Institute; National Residential Child Care Project; National Data Archive on Child Abuse and Neglect; Strong Families, Strong Soldiers; Violence Prevention in Childhood; and Child Abuse Prevention Network. The Center offers publications and reference information to consumers, publishes a newsletter, and sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Contact: College of Human Ecology, Martha Van Rensselaer Hall, Ithaca, NY 14853-4401, Telephone: (607) 255-0834 (John Eckenrodes): (607) 255-8394 Fax: (607) 255-0467 (Stephen Hamilton) Web Site: http://www.human.cornell.edu/che/fldc/index.cfm E-mail: jje1@cornell.edu

Keywords: Child abuse prevention, Families, Research, Training, Violence prevention

more information

Duluth Visitation Center

Annotation: The Duluth Visitation Center provides supervised exchanges of children for visitation purposes between family members who have a history of domestic violence, and it provides monitored visits when the safety or welfare of children is uncertain or when the threat of abduction exists. The center publishes a newsletter and offers publications and parenting classes on how violence and abuse affect children and how parents can heal the effects of abuse.

Contact: Minnesota Program Development, 202 East Superior Street, Duluth, MN 55802, Telephone: (218) 722-2781, ext. 204 Web Site: http://www.duluth-model.org/ E-mail: pbeadle@duluth-model.org

Keywords: Child abuse, Domestic violence, Parenting, Visitation

more information

Juvenile Justice Clearinghouse (JJC)

Annotation: The Juvenile Justice Clearinghouse (JJC) is a component of the National Criminal Justice Reference Service that collects, synthesizes, and disseminates information on juvenile justice and delinquency prevention. The clearinghouse offers information on runaway, missing, and abducted children, sexual exploitation, the response of the criminal justice system to child abuse, and other topics related to child and adolescent maltreatment. Services to consumers include referrals, publications and reference information. The clearinghouse also publishes a catalog and a journal.

Contact: P.O. Box 6000, Rockville, MD 20849-6000, Telephone: (800) 638-8736 Fax: (301) 519-5600 Web Site: http://www.ojjdp.ncjrs.org/programs/ProgSummary.asp?pi=2 E-mail: askjj@ncjrs.org

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent parents, Clearinghouses, Homeless persons, Injury prevention, Juvenile delinquency, Missing children, Runaways, School dropouts, Sexual abuse, Substance abuse

more information

Kempe Childrens Center

Annotation: The Kempe Children's Center, formerly known as the Kempe National Center for the Prevention and Treatment of Child Abuse and Neglect, is a clinically based resource for training, consultation, program development and evaluation, and research on all forms of child abuse and neglect. The center uses a multidisciplinary approach. It provides referrals, publications, and reference information for consumers. It sponsors conferences and training seminars.

Contact: 13123 East 16th Avenue, B390, Aurora, CO 80045, Telephone: (303) 864-5300 Fax: (303) 864-5302 Web Site: http://www.kempecenter.org E-mail: questions@kempe.org

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, Information services, Professional education

more information

KidsPeace National Center for Kids in Crisis

Annotation: KidsPeace, The National Center for Kids Overcoming Crisis, is a private, not-for-profit organization dedicated to helping children overcome crisis through a variety of public education initiatives, prevention efforts, and treatment programs. KidsPeace offers public awareness outreach (including the distribution of public service information and free materials); research and development through the organization's Lee Salk Center; and a national referral network which connects parents, doctors and children to more than 20,000 sources of assistance nationwide. The KidsPeace Hospital, a division of KidsPeace, provides acute inpatient care for kids in crisis. KidsPeace National Centers for Kids in Crisis centers (also a division of KidsPeace) is dedicated to helping children overcome crisis through treatment, counseling and education. Thirty distinct treatment programs at 25 centers across the U.S. include intensive foster care, diagnostic services, education systems, and treatment facilities.

Contact: 5300 KidsPeace Drive, Orefield, PA 18069-9101, Telephone: (800) 257-3223 Secondary Telephone: (610) 799-8000 Fax: (610) 799-8900 Web Site: http://www.kidspeace.org E-mail: kpinfo@kidspeace.org

Keywords: Child abuse, Mental disorders, Mental health, Sexual abuse

more information

National Center for Missing and Exploited Children (NCMEC)

Annotation: The National Center for Missing and Exploited Children (NCMEC) provides professionals and the public with information and publications concerning missing children, child molestation, child pornography, and child prostitution. The center sponsors a hotline to assist the public in reporting missing and exploited children and in providing information leading to the location of these children. The center also maintains national statistics and information on the incidence of abductions; conducts a training and technical assistance programs; and provides news bulletins, fact sheets, and other resources for parents and guardians, childcare providers, law enforcement officers, and the media. Materials are available in Spanish, Asian languages, and other languages.

Contact: Charles B. Wang International Children's Building, 699 Prince Street, Alexandria, VA 22314-3175, Telephone: (703) 274-3900 Secondary Telephone: (800) 843-5678 Fax: (703) 274-2200 Web Site: http://www.missingkids.com/

Keywords: Assault, Child abuse, Child pornography, Child sexual abuse, Family violence, Homicide, Information services, Injury prevention, Intentional injuries, Missing children, Public education

more information

National Center for Prosecution of Child Abuse (NCPCA)

Annotation: Founded in 1985 by the American Prosecutors Research Institute in response to a dramatic increase in reported child abuse cases, the National Center for Prosecution of Child Abuse (NCPCA) works to improve the investigation and prosecution of child abuse through court reform, professional specialization, and interagency coordination. The center provides training and technical assistance, research services, a national network of child abuse prosecutors (through the National District Attorneys Association), and a clearinghouse on case law, court reforms, legislative initiatives, and trial strategies. Publications include a comprehensive manual, Investigation and Presecution of Child Abuse, and a monthly newsletter, Update.

Contact: 99 Canal Center Plaza, Suite 510, Alexandria, VA 22314, Telephone: (703) 549-4253 Secondary Telephone: (703) 549-9222 Fax: (703) 836-3195 Web Site: http://www.ndaa.org/apri/programs/ncpca/ncpca_home.html E-mail: ncpca@ndaa-apri.org

Keywords: Advocacy, Child abuse, Child advocacy, Clearinghouses, Information dissemination, Injury prevention, Legal issues, Resources for professionals, Training

more information

National Children's Alliance (NCA)

Annotation: The National Children's Alliance, previously known as National Network of Children's Advocacy Centers, is a not-for-profit organization that works to provide training, technical assistance, and networking opportunities to communities seeking to plan, establish, or improve children's advocacy centers. The organization stresses coordination of investigation and intervention services by bringing together professionals and agencies as a multidisciplinary team to create a child-focused approach to child abuse cases. Publications include Best Practices, a guide to establishing children's advocacy center programs, and a newsletter. The organization also sponsors conferences.

Contact: 516 C Street, N.E., Washington, DC 20002, Telephone: (202) 548-0090 Secondary Telephone: (800) 239-9950 Fax: (202) 548-0099 Web Site: http://www.nca-online.org/ E-mail: info@nca-online.org

Keywords: Advocacy, Child abuse, Child health, Infant health, Intervention, Investigations

more information

National Council of Juvenile and Family Court Judges (NCJFCJ)

Annotation: The National Council of Juvenile and Family Court Judges (NCJFCJ) represents America's judges who exercise jurisdiction over delinquency, abuse, and neglect, divorce, custody, support, domestic violence and similar types of cases throughout the country. The National Council, a 501 (c) (3) coroporation, conducts judicial education and training programs at the Louis W. McHardy National College of Juvenile and Family Justice, located on the Reno campus of the University of Nevada as well as at numerous sites throughout the country. Current focus issues of the National Council include juvenile and family law, serious and violent juvenile crime, child abuse and neglect, youthful sex offenders, family violence, substance abuse issues and a host of other subjects. Their services to consumers include referrals, publications, and reference information. NCJFCJ publishes a journal, newsletter, digest, and catalog. The association also sponsors conferences, workshops, and training seminars.

Contact: University of Nevada, P.O. Box 8970, Reno, NV 89507, Telephone: (775) 784-6012 Fax: (775) 784-6628 Web Site: http://www.ncjfcj.org/ E-mail: staff@ncjfcj.unr.edu

Keywords: Adolescent health, Adolescent parents, Homeless persons, Injury prevention, Juvenile delinquency, Runaways, School dropouts, Substance abuse, Violence prevention

more information

National Council on Child Abuse and Family Violence (NCCAFV)

Annotation: The National Council on Child Abuse and Family Violence (NCCAFV) is a national nonprofit organization that promotes private sector initiatives and private/public sector collaboration in preventing child abuse, spouse/partner abuse (domestic violence), and elder abuse. NCCAFV provides the Secretariat for the International Network on Family Violence (INFV), for the biennial World Congress on Family Violence (WCFV), and for Child Welfare Fund International (CWFI). NCCAFV seeks to elevate public awareness of intergenerational family violence; to serve as a catalyst in building national and international networks for collaborative action; to provide opportunities for development and enrichment to professionals in private and public agencies; to develop model programs in prevention and treatment of intergenerational family violence; to support research and evaluation efforts that expand knowledge in the field and translate it into better practice and programs for victims; and to provide statistical, program and research data on intergenerational family violence. Services to consumers include referrals, reference information, and publications that are available free of charge on NCCAFV's Web site.

Contact: 1025 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Suite 1000, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 429-6695 Fax: (831) 655-3930 Web Site: http://www.nccafv.org E-mail: info@NCCAFV.org

Keywords: Child abuse, Domestic violence, Family violence, Women

more information

National Resource Center on Child Maltreatment (NRCCM)

Annotation: The National Resource Center on Child Maltreatment (NRCCM) provides information, leadership initiatives, training, and technical assistance to state, local, and tribal child protection agencies. The Web site offers publications and links.

Contact: Child Welfare Institute, P.O. Box 441470, Aurora, CO 80044-2470, Telephone: (303) 369-8008 Fax: (303) 369-8009 Web Site: http://cbexpress.acf.hhs.gov/nonissart.cfm?issue_id=2003-02&disp_art=606&hlt=1 E-mail: NRCCM@gocwi.org

Keywords: Child abuse, Child welfare, Maltreated children, Resource centers

more information

Parents Anonymous (PA)

Annotation: Founded in 1970, Parents Anonymous, Inc. is the nation's oldest and largest child abuse and neglect prevention, education, and treatment program. The organization's mission is to promote mutual support and parent leadership in order to build and support strong, healthy families. Today, Parent's Anonymous leads an extensive national network of neighborhood-based support groups for parents and their children. Services to consumers include referrals, publications, reference information and research publications. The organization publishes a newsletter, sponsors conferences and training seminars, and provides materials in Spanish.

Contact: 675 West Foothill Boulevard, Suite 220, Claremont, CA 91711-3475, Telephone: (909) 621-6184 Fax: (909) 625-6304 Web Site: http://www.parentsanonymous.org E-mail: parentsanonymous@parentsanonymous.org

Keywords: Adolescents, Anticipatory guidance, Child abuse, Child neglect, Children, Counseling, Education, Family violence, Information services, Injury prevention, Parenting, Spanish language materials

more information

Parents United International

Annotation: Parents United International is a nonprofit organization with 54 chapters throughout the United States and Canada. These chapters exist under the auspices of the professional community-based Child Sexual Abuse Treatment Program. Parents United consists of adult family members who receive treatment through the program; the other program components are Daughters and Sons United (sexually molested children and their siblings) and Adults Molested as Children (adults who have never resolved the trauma of being sexually molested as children). Each Parents United guided self-help group is sponsored by a professional agency such as Child Protective Services or a professional mental health agency.

Contact: 615 15th Street, Modesto, CA 95354-2510, Telephone: (209) 572-3446 Fax: (209) 524-7780 Web Site: http://members.tripod.com/~Parents_United/Chapters/PUI.htm E-mail: parents.united@usa.net

Keywords: Child Abuse, Child sexual abuse, Mental health

more information

Prevent Child Abuse America (PCAA)

Annotation: Prevent Child Abuse America (PCAA), formerly the National Committee to Prevent Child Abuse, seeks to increase public awareness of the incidence, origins, nature, and effects of child abuse. The organization serves as a national advocate to prevent the neglect and physical, sexual, and emotional abuse of children. It sponsors their state chapters and the Healthy Families America home visitor prevention program and partners with the National Family Support Roundtable in establishing and supporting parent self-help mutual support groups across the country. The organization publishes a number of pamphlets and brochures on parenting for consumers. A publications catalog is available. PCAA sponsors training seminars and provides some materials in Spanish.

Contact: 500 North Michigan Avenue, Suite 200, Chicago, IL 60611, Telephone: (312) 663-3520 Information and Referral: (800) 244-5373 Fax: (312) 939-8962 Web Site: http://www.preventchildabuse.org E-mail: mailbox@preventchildabuse.org

Keywords: Advocacy, Child abuse, Injury prevention, Parent support services, Parenting, Peer support programs, Public education

more information

U.S. Children's Bureau (CB - ACF)

Annotation: Tthe Children's Bureau (CB) is located within the United States Department of Health and Human Services' Administration for Children and Families, Administration on Children, Youth and Families (ACF). It is responsible for assisting states in the delivery of child welfare services - services designed to protect children and strengthen families. The agency provides grants to states, tribes and communities to operate a range of child welfare services including child protective services (child abuse and neglect) family preservation and support, foster care, adoption, and independent living. In addition, the agency makes major investments in staff training, technology and innovative programs. A variety of fact sheets, reports, and resource lists can be downloaded from the Web site. The bureau also publishes an electronic newsletter called the Children's Bureau Express.

Contact: Administration on Children, Youth, and Families, 1250 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Eighth Floor, Washington, DC 20024, Web Site: http://www.acf.hhs.gov/programs/cb/

Keywords: Adoption, Child abuse, Child neglect, Child welfare, Domestic violence, Electronic publications, Family violence, Foster care, Injury prevention

more information

U.S. Office of Child Abuse and Neglect

Annotation: The U.S. Office of Child Abuse and Neglect, formerly the National Center on Child Abuse and Neglect, provides leadership and direction on the issues of child maltreatment and the prevention of abuse and neglect under the Child Abuse Prevention and Treatment Act (CAPTA). It is the focal point for interagency collaborative efforts, national conferences and special initiatives related to child abuse and neglect, and for coordinating activities related to the prevention of abuse and neglect and the protection of children at-risk. It supports activities to build networks of community-based, prevention-focused family resource and support programs through the Community-Based Family Resource and Support Program. It supports improvement in the systems which handle child abuse and neglect cases, particularly child sexual abuse and exploitation and maltreatment related fatalities, andimprovement in the investigation and prosecution of these cases through the Children's Justice Act. It funds the National Clearinghouse on Child Abuse and Neglect Information.

Contact: Children's Bureau, Administration on Children, Youth and Families, 1250 Maryland Avenue, S.W., Washington, DC 20024, Telephone: (202) 260-5140 Web Site: http://www.acf.hhs.gov/programs/cb/

Keywords: Child abuse, Child neglect, Family violence, Injury prevention

more information

Return to Previous Page | Go To Cross-Database Search | Advanced MCHLine® Search

Share |