Top Pages

A-Z Index (Resources & Services)

Resource Guides:
All | Families | Professionals | Schools | Non-English | Multimedia

MCH Alert Newsletter

Search

Top Pages
Home  ::  A - Z Index: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z   ::  Search

Netherlandish

Bibliography of Materials from MCHLine®

BibliographyThis bibliography of 5 items is drawn from MCHLine®, the MCH Library online catalog. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Library. To identify additional materials on this topic, search MCHLine® using our online search form.

The MCH Library focuses on publications from federal and state agencies, from grantees of federal and state agencies, and from professional and voluntary organizations. It contains unique materials on the history of maternal and child health in the United States, policy papers, reports, conference proceedings, manuals, survey instruments, guidelines, and curricula. The library does not collect materials on clinical medicine. Consumer health materials and commercially published materials are collected very selectively.

Displaying 5 records.

Center for Human and Molecular Genetics, Genetic Service Outreach Program. 1995. Catalog of multilingual patient education materials on genetic and related maternal/child health topics. Newark, NJ: Center for Human and Molecular Genetics, 245 pp.

Annotation: This catalog lists multilingual health materials on approximately 200 maternal and child health topics, particularly genetic disorders. This publication is designed for health professionals working in genetics, family planning, and prenatal and pediatric services. Entries include a brief description of the item, its intended audience, literacy level, ordering information, and the language in which it is written. Two indexes are included to help readers locate materials, one by topic and the other by language and ethnicity. Thirty-five languages including Spanish, French, and Vietnamese are represented. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 Fax: (202) 784-9777 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: http://www.mchlibrary.org Available for loan. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHH081 (1995, 2nd ed.).

Keywords: Asian language materials, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Genetic disorders, Non English language materials, Patient education materials, Spanish language materials

more information

Center for Multicultural Human Services. 1995. HIV/AIDS cross-reference directory for community educational materials. Falls Church,VA: Center for Multicultural Human Services, 56 pp.

Annotation: This bibliography lists over 400 consumer education materials about AIDS, HIV, and related topics such as condoms that are available in the following foreign languages (and most are also in English): Amharic, Arabic, Basque, Bengali, Braille, Cambodian, Chinese, Creole, Farsi, French, Fulani, German, Greek, Gujarati, Hindi, Hmong, Ilocano, Italian, Japanese, Khmer, Korean, Laotian, Netherlandish, Polish, Portuguese, Punjabi, Russian, Samoan, Sign Language, Spanish, Swahili, Tamil, Tagalog, Thai, Tongan, Turkish, Urdu, Vietnamese, and Visayan. A language index and a list of publishers' addresses are provided. The center will also translate materials into specific languages by request.

Contact: Center for Multicultural Human Services, 701 West Broad Street, Suite 305, Falls Church, VA 22046, Telephone: (703) 533-3302 E-mail: info@nvfs.org Web Site: http://www.nvfs.org/jump.htm $8.00 includes shipping and handling.

Keywords: AIDS, Asian language materials, Bibliographies, Consumer education materials, HIV, Non English language materials, Spanish language materials

more information

Cox J, Holden J. 2003. Perinatal mental health: A guide to the Edinburgh Postnatal Depression Scale (EPDS). London, UK: Gaskell, 128 pp.

Annotation: This book is intended to provide readers in different countries with updated and accessible information on the Edinburgh Postnatal Depression Scale (EPDS), a 10-item self-report scale devised as a screening questionnaire to improve the detection of postnatal depression in the community. The EPDS has been translated into a number of languages, and 20 of the translated versions appear in the book. The book also offers readers information on the use of the EPDS in primary and secondary care. It provides an overview of postnatal depression, discusses the origins and development of the EPDS, addresses international and cultural issues, addresses use of the EPDS in research, discusses counseling and other interventions, talks about EPDS screening and intervention services, and explains how to use the EPDS. Two appendices include the original EPDS and 20 translations, in Arabic, Chinese (Mandarin), Czech, Dutch, French, German, Greek, Hebrew, Hindi, Icelandic, Japanese, Maltese, Norwegian, Portuguese, Punjabi, Slovenian, Spanish, Swedish, Urdu, and Vietnamese.

Contact: Gaskell, Royal College of Psychiatrists, 17 Belgrave Square, London, England SW1X 8PG, Telephone: 020 7235 2351 Fax: 020 7245 1231 E-mail: rcpsych@rcpsych.ac.uk Web Site: http://www.rcpsych.ac.uk 12.00 British pound sterling, plus shipping and handling. Document Number: ISBN 1-901242-81-1.

Keywords: Asian language materials, Counseling, Cultural factors, I, International health, Intervention, Maternal health, Mental health, Non English language materials, Postpartum depression, Primary care, Questionnaires, Research, Screening, Secondary care, Spanish language materials, Translations, Women's health

more information

Hancock, L. (Ed.). 1995. Key guide to electronic resources: Health sciences. Medford, NJ: Information Today, 494 pp.

Annotation: This directory surveys online databases, CD-ROM products, magnetic media, electronic bulletin boards, listserv lists, and various Internet resources of interest to medical practitioners, researchers, and information specialists. It provides access to information on medicine and health care that is accessible by computers. Individual entries indicate languages included in the service (including English, Spanish, French, Asian, and other foreign languages), the type of database, a description of the contents, and information on vendors and pricing. Entries for the listservs, bulletin boards, and Internet resources include the electronic address, descriptions, and owners. The directory contains subject and title indexes, and contact information for the vendors.

Contact: Information Today, 143 Old Marlton Pike, Medford, NJ 08055-8750, Telephone: (609) 654-6266 Secondary Telephone: (800) 300-9868 Fax: (609) 654-4309 E-mail: custserv@infotoday.com Web Site: http://www.infotoday.com $39.50 plus $3.85 postage for the first book, $3.25 each additional book. Document Number: ISBN 1-57387-001-3.

Keywords: Asian language materials, Directories, Electronic bulletin boards, Electronic newsletters, Health education, Health occupations, Health services, Information sources, Information systems, Internet, Non English language materials, Online discussion groups, Spanish language materials

more information

Kashiwagi S (Ed.). ca. 2001. A functional manual for providing linguistically competent health care services as developed by a community health center. Los Angeles, CA: Asian Pacific Health Care Venture, 108 pp.

Annotation: This manual for health professionals serving diverse populations illustrates an example of the provision of linguistically and culturally competent services in compliance with Title VI of the Civil Rights Act. The manual outlines some of the practices used in a Los Angeles, California health services center to provide "reasonable, timely, and appropriate language assistance" on benefits and services to limited English proficient (LEP) community members, in this case, primarily Asian and Pacific Islanders. Chapter topics include the assessment of the linguistic needs of the community, the development of comprehensive written policy and procedures for the provision of oral and written language interpretation services to patients, the training of staff for interpretation competency, and quality assurance monitoring of the language assistance services and interpreter programs. Additional references are provided including resources for LEP services and medical interpreter professional associations. Tables and figures providing statistical data and sample forms, job descriptions, testing protocols, notices, and evaluation surveys are found throughout the manual. Selected sample forms are provided in Amharic, Arabic, Armenian, Bengali, Cambodian, Cantonese Chinese, Chamorro, Creole, Croatian, Czech, Dutch, Farsi, French, German, Greek, Hindi, Hmong, Hungarian, Ilocano, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Laotian, Mandarin Chinese, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Samoan, Serbian, Slovak, Spanish, Swahili, Tagalog, Thai, Tongan, Ukrainian, Urdu, Vietnamese, and Yiddish.

Contact: Association of Asian Pacific Community Health Organizations, 300 Frank H.Ogawa Plaza, Suite 620, Oakland, CA 94612, Telephone: (510) 272-9536 Fax: (510) 272-0817 Web Site: http://www.aapcho.org

Keywords: Asian Americans, Case studies, Community health centers, Cultural competence, Cultural diversity, Health policy, Health services delivery, Language barriers, Linguistic competence, Manuals, Pacific Islanders, Program development, Resources for professionals

more information

Return to Previous Page | Go To Cross-Database Search | Advanced MCHLine® Search

Share |