Top Pages

A-Z Index (Resources & Services)

Resource Guides:
All | Families | Professionals | Schools | Non-English | Multimedia

MCH Alert Newsletter

Search

Top Pages
Home  ::  A - Z Index: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z   ::  Search

Cambodian

Bibliography of Materials from MCHLine®

BibliographyThis bibliography of 54 items is drawn from MCHLine®, the MCH Library online catalog. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Library. To identify additional materials on this topic, search MCHLine® using our online search form.

The MCH Library focuses on publications from federal and state agencies, from grantees of federal and state agencies, and from professional and voluntary organizations. It contains unique materials on the history of maternal and child health in the United States, policy papers, reports, conference proceedings, manuals, survey instruments, guidelines, and curricula. The library does not collect materials on clinical medicine. Consumer health materials and commercially published materials are collected very selectively.

Displaying 54 records.

Asian and Pacific Islander American Health Forum; and California Department of Health Services, Office of Multicultural Health. 1994. Southeast Asian health information and resource directory of chronic diseases. [San Francisco, CA: Asian and Pacific Islander American Health Forum], 149 pp.

Annotation: This directory contains information about community-based organizations that provide health information or resources to Asians or Pacific Islanders who have chronic diseases. The database upon which the directory is based contains information on the following conditions: cancer, diabetes, heart diseases or stroke, tobacco, and nutrition. The programs described provide assistance to the following ethnic groups among others: Chinese, Vietnamese, Filipinos, Hmong, Japanese, Korean, Thai, Cambodian, Laotian, Mien, and Samoan. The entries list the name of the group and its contact information, program areas, ethnic groups and target populations served, language capabilities, information materials including those in languages other than English, program activities, goals and objectives, and funding sources for each. The directory provides indexes to the groups served and the diseases covered, but not to the information materials.

Contact: Asian and Pacific Islander American Health Forum, 450 Sutter Street, Suite 600, San Francisco, CA 94108, Telephone: (415) 954-9988 Contact Phone: (415) 541-0866 Fax: (415) 954-9999 E-mail: healthinfo@apiahf.org Web Site: http://www.apiahf.org/ Price unknown.

Keywords: Asian Americans, Asian language materials, Audiovisual materials, Cancer, Cardiovascular diseases, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Diabetes mellitus, Directories, Educational materials, Health education, Health services, Nutrition, Pacific Islanders, Strokes, Tobacco, Videotapes

more information

Association of Asian/Pacific Community Health Organizations. 1987. Health education materials in Asian languages: Maternal child health topics: Catalog of evaluated materials. Oakland, CA: Association of Asian/Pacific Community Health Organizations, 55 pp.

Annotation: This catalog identifies over 700 Asian health education audiovisuals, leaflets, booklets, and pamphlets dealing with maternal and child health topics including safety, prenatal care, family planning, childhood illnesses and immunizations, nutrition, and health concerns of women. Each item was evaluated for quality of content, language and readability, quality of translation, and visual appearance. Languages included are Chinese, Vietnamese, Laotian, Korean, Cambodian/Khmer, Japanese, Tagalog, Thai, Hmong, and Samoan. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 Fax: (202) 784-9777 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: http://www.mchlibrary.org Available for loan. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHB290.

Keywords: Asian Americans, Asian language materials, Health promotion, Minority health

more information

Association of Farmworker Opportunity Programs. 1993. Farmworker nutrition education resource guide. Arlington, VA: Association of Farmworker Opportunity Programs, 116 pp.

Annotation: This guide lists educational materials suitable for farmworker communities. The guide is intended to be used by service providers who want to begin or improve a nutrition-related health education program. Topics include general nutrition, pregnancy, breastfeeding, infant feeding, feeding the young child, cardiovascular-related issues, food preparation and storage, dental, diabetes, cancer, weight management, and alcohol and drugs. A list of organizations that may be contacted for additional information is included. The materials listed are in English, Spanish, and a number of Asian languages.

Contact: Association of Farmworker Opportunity Programs, 1726 M Street, N.W., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20036, Telephone: (202) 828-6006 Fax: (202) 828-6005 E-mail: afop@afop.org Web Site: http://www.afop.org/ $10.00.

Keywords: Asian language materials, Bibliographies, Culturally competent services, Educational materials, Farm workers, Low literacy materials, Migrants, Nutrition education, Spanish language materials

more information

Butcher, J. N. ca. 1987. Cross-cultural psychological assessment: Issues and procedures for the psychological appraisal of refugee patients. Minneapolis, MN: University of Minnesota, 173 pp.

Annotation: This report provides information on problems and issues of psychological assessments of refugees in mental health programs. It discusses limitations of cross-ethnic clinical assessment, highlights promising procedures, and includes recommendations. It includes an index of psychological tests for cross-cultural assessment, which lists psychological tests to be applied to different cultures, listed by test and by language. Some of these tests are available in Spanish, Vietnamese, Cambodian, Laotian, and Hmong.

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 Fax: (202) 784-9777 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: http://www.mchlibrary.org Available for loan.

Keywords: Asian language materials, Cultural barriers, Cultural sensitivity, Guidelines, Psychological characteristics, Psychological evaluation, Refugees, Spanish language materials

more information

California Department of Education. 2008. Oral health assessment [packet]. Sacramento, CA: California Department of Education,

Annotation: This packet contains information and sample notification and assessment waiver forms used in the oral-health- assessment program for children entering public school in California. The packet provides the legislative history, a guide for funding and district reporting, and sample letters and forms. Materials are provided in Spanish, Arabic, Eastern and Western Armenian, traditional and simplified Chinese, Hmong, Japanese, Khmer, Korean, Portuguese, Punjabi, Russian, Tagalog, and Vietnamese.

Contact: California Department of Education, 1430 N Street, Sacramento, CA 95814, Telephone: (916) 319-0800 Secondary Telephone: (916) 445-4556 Web Site: http://www.cde.ca.gov/ Available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: Assessment, California, Forms, Non English language materials, Oral health, School age children, Screening, Spanish language materials, State programs, Young children

more information

California Department of Health Services, Children's Medical Services. 1997. How to prevent baby bottle tooth decay. [Sacramento, CA]: California Department of Health Services, Children's Medical Services, 4 pp.

Annotation: This pamphlet describes what early childhood caries is and how it is caused. Illustrated sections discuss what parents and caregivers can do about early childhood caries, how to put a baby to bed without a bottle, how to check a baby's teeth, and what parents or caregivers should do if they think their baby has early childhood caries. This pamphlet is available in English, Spanish, Hmong, Vietnamese, Russian, Chinese, and Cambodian. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9771 Fax: (202) 784-9777 E-mail: OHRCinfo@georgetown.edu Web Site: http://www.mchoralhealth.org Single photocopies available at no charge.

Keywords: Asian language materials, Caregivers, Early childhood caries, Non English language materials, Oral health, Pamphlets, Parents, Patient education material, Prevention programs, Spanish language materials

more information

California State Department of Health Services, Genetic Disease Branch. 1988. The California AFP screening program. Berkeley, CA: Genetic Disease Branch, California State Department of Health, 28 pp.

Annotation: This flip chart discusses the alpha-fetoprotein blood test which is used during the fourth month of pregnancy and illustrates birth defects which the test can detect. It is printed in English and Spanish and also available in Chinese, Korean, Tagalog, Vietnamese, Cambodian, and Laotian.

Contact: California Department of Public Health, Genetic Disease Branch, 850 Marina Bay Parkway, F175, Berkeley, CA 94804, Telephone: (510) 412-1502 Web Site: http://www.dhs.ca.gov/pcfh/gdb/gdbindex.htm Price unknown.

Keywords: Alpha fetoprotein test, Amniocentesis, Asian language materials, Birth defects, Down syndrome, Mental retardation, Non English language materials, Screening tests, Spanish language materials, Spina bifida

more information

California State Department of Health Services, Genetic Disease Branch. 1988. The California alpha-fetoprotein screening program: Prenatal screening tests for neural tube and other birth defects. Berkeley, CA: California State Department of Health Services, 4 pp.

Annotation: This illustrated pamphlet gives information about the California Alpha Fetoprotein Screening Program and is designed to assist women in deciding whether they want to participate in the voluntary program. The booklet answers questions about the disorders for which alpha-fetoprotein analysis screens and explains the significance of elevated and low AFP levels. An informed consent/refusal form is included. The pamphlet is available in Spanish, English, Chinese, Korean, Tagalog, Vietnamese, Cambodian, and Lao.

Contact: California Department of Public Health, Genetic Disease Branch, 850 Marina Bay Parkway, F175, Berkeley, CA 94804, Telephone: (510) 412-1502 Web Site: http://www.dhs.ca.gov/pcfh/gdb/gdbindex.htm

Keywords: Alpha fetoprotein test, Asian language materials, Genetic services, Genetics branch collection, Prenatal diagnosis, Spanish language materials

more information

Center for Applied Linguistics, and Fuenzalida and Associates. 1996. Multilingual health education resource guide. (2nd ed.). Washington, DC: Center for Applied Linguistics; Silver Spring, MD: Fuenzalida and Associates, 153 pp.

Annotation: This bibliography lists health educational materials in 10 languages that have been identified as a priority by the Illinois state refugee health coordinators: Cambodian, Hmong, Lao, Vietnamese, Arabic, Bosnian, Russian, Haitian/Creole, Somali, and Spanish. Topics covered include infectious diseases (tuberculosis, hepatitis B, HIV/AIDS, and sexually transmitted diseases); dental care; and maternal and child health (immunization, breast health, family planning, and prenatal care). Appendices include cross-references by language, sources for materials, a directory of refugee health coordinators, and ordering information.

Contact: Center for Applied Linguistics, Refugee Service Center, 4646 40th Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20016-1859, Telephone: (202) 362-0700 Fax: (202) 362-3740 E-mail: cmahar-piersma@cal.org Web Site: http://www.cal.org/ $7.00 includes shipping and handling.

Keywords: Asian language materials, Bibliographies, Consumer education materials, Health education, Non English language materials, Spanish language materials

more information

Center for Human and Molecular Genetics, Genetic Service Outreach Program. 1995. Catalog of multilingual patient education materials on genetic and related maternal/child health topics. Newark, NJ: Center for Human and Molecular Genetics, 245 pp.

Annotation: This catalog lists multilingual health materials on approximately 200 maternal and child health topics, particularly genetic disorders. This publication is designed for health professionals working in genetics, family planning, and prenatal and pediatric services. Entries include a brief description of the item, its intended audience, literacy level, ordering information, and the language in which it is written. Two indexes are included to help readers locate materials, one by topic and the other by language and ethnicity. Thirty-five languages including Spanish, French, and Vietnamese are represented. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 Fax: (202) 784-9777 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: http://www.mchlibrary.org Available for loan. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHH081 (1995, 2nd ed.).

Keywords: Asian language materials, Chronic illnesses and disabilities, Genetic disorders, Non English language materials, Patient education materials, Spanish language materials

more information

Center for Multicultural Human Services. 1995. HIV/AIDS cross-reference directory for community educational materials. Falls Church,VA: Center for Multicultural Human Services, 56 pp.

Annotation: This bibliography lists over 400 consumer education materials about AIDS, HIV, and related topics such as condoms that are available in the following foreign languages (and most are also in English): Amharic, Arabic, Basque, Bengali, Braille, Cambodian, Chinese, Creole, Farsi, French, Fulani, German, Greek, Gujarati, Hindi, Hmong, Ilocano, Italian, Japanese, Khmer, Korean, Laotian, Netherlandish, Polish, Portuguese, Punjabi, Russian, Samoan, Sign Language, Spanish, Swahili, Tamil, Tagalog, Thai, Tongan, Turkish, Urdu, Vietnamese, and Visayan. A language index and a list of publishers' addresses are provided. The center will also translate materials into specific languages by request.

Contact: Center for Multicultural Human Services, 701 West Broad Street, Suite 305, Falls Church, VA 22046, Telephone: (703) 533-3302 E-mail: info@nvfs.org Web Site: http://www.nvfs.org/jump.htm $8.00 includes shipping and handling.

Keywords: AIDS, Asian language materials, Bibliographies, Consumer education materials, HIV, Non English language materials, Spanish language materials

more information

Dental Health Foundation. 1988. Protect your child's teeth!: Put your baby to bed with love, not a bottle. San Rafael, CA: Dental Health Foundation, 2 pp.

Annotation: This brochure, available in English, Spanish, Chinese, Vietnamese, Cambodian, Laotian, and Thai, describes what early childhood caries is and explains how to protect a baby's teeth. The brochure was developed for clients with low-literacy levels and was tested for cultural sensitivity. It has been evaluated (for reading level and understanding) among the target populations in clinics.

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9771 Fax: (202) 784-9777 E-mail: OHRCinfo@georgetown.edu Web Site: http://www.mchoralhealth.org Single photocopies available at no charge.

Keywords: Asian language materials, Dental care, Dental caries, Early childhood caries, Infant health, Low literacy materials, Non English language materials, Oral health, Spanish language materials

more information

Ellison, G. 1991?. Asian language health resource list. Salt Lake City, UT: Ethnic Health Project, Utah Department of Health, 14 pp.

Annotation: This bibliography lists resources on over 200 health topic areas. The list includes the title of the material, the Asian languages in which it is available, and the producer's address. Languages include Cambodian, Hmong, Vietnamese, Japanese, Thai, Tai Dam, Laotian, English, Tongan, Samoan, and other Asian languages.

Contact: Utah Department of Health, Center for Multicultural Health, PO Box 142001, Salt Lake City, UT 84114, Telephone: (888) 222-2542 Fax: (801) 538-6591 E-mail: cmh@utah.gov Web Site: http://www.health.utah.gov/cmh/ Available at no charge.

Keywords: Asian language materials, Patient education materials

more information

First Smiles Education and Training Project. 2005. Healthy teeth begin at birth. Sacramento, CA: California Dental Association Foundation; Oakland, CA: Dental Health Foundation, 2 pp.

Annotation: This brochure for parents explains the importance of primary teeth and early oral health care. Tips are provided that parents can use both before and after a child's teeth have erupted. Tips include information about the importance of visiting the dentist before age 1 and about the roles of fluoride and healthy eating in good oral health. The brochure is available in Armenian, Cambodian, Chinese, English, Hmong, Korean, Russian, Spanish, and Vietnamese.

Contact: California Dental Association Foundation, First Smiles Education and Training Project, 1201 K Street, Suite 1511, Sacramento, CA 95814, Telephone: (916) 554-4918 Fax: (916) 498-6182 E-mail: Rolande.Loftus@cda.org Web Site: http://www.First5OralHealth.org Available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: Asian language materials, Consumer education materials, Disease prevention, Early childhood caries, Non English language materials, Oral health, Spanish language materials, Young children

more information

Immunization Action Coalition, and Hepatitis B Coalition. 1993-. Needle tips and Hepatitis B Coalition news. Saint Paul, MN: Hepatitis B Coalition, and Immunization Action Coalition, semiannual.

Annotation: This newsletter is addressed to the health professional. It includes a variety of material about immunization against communicable diseases, with special emphasis on hepatitis B. The newsletter includes a catalog of publications, videos, and resources, many available in Spanish, Hmong, Cambodian, Laotian, Vietnamese, Tagalog, Russian, Chinese, or Korean, and designed for use with populations of foreign origin.

Contact: Immunization Action Coalition, 1573 Selby Avenue, Suite 234, Saint Paul, MN 55104, Telephone: (651) 647-9009 Contact Phone: (612) 647-9009 Fax: (651) 647-9131 E-mail: admin@immunize.org Contact E-mail: mail@immunize.org Web Site: http://www.immunize.org Price unknown.

Keywords: Asian language materials, Hepatitis B, Immunization, Non English language materials, Preventive health services, Spanish language materials

more information

Iowa Department of Human Services, Bureau of Refugee Services. 1993. Bureau of Refugee Services' resource bibliography. Des Moines, IA: Bureau of Refugee Services, Iowa Department of Human Services, 152 pp.

Annotation: This resource bibliography lists mainly printed materials available at no charge from the Iowa Bureau of Refugee Services to individuals and agencies on all aspects of life in the United States for refugees, with particular emphasis on health and health care. Foreign language materials represented in the list cover these languages: Albanian, Amharic, Arabic, Armenian, Burmese, Bulgarian, Cambodian, Cantonese, Chinese, Czech, Farsi, Filipino, French, Haitian Creole, Hmong, Hungarian, Indonesian, Ilocano, Japanese, Korean, Laotian, Mandarin, Malayan, Mien, Polish, Pashto, Russian, Romanian, Samoan, Slovak, Somali, Spanish, Tagalog, Taiwanese, Tai Dam, Thai, Tigrinya, Ukrainina, Vietnamese, and Visayan.

Contact: Iowa Department of Human Services, Bureau of Refugee Services, 1200 University Avenue, Suite D, Des Moines, IA 50314, Telephone: (515) 283-7999 Secondary Telephone: (800) 362-2780 Fax: (515) 283-9160 E-mail: refugee@dhs.state.ia.us Web Site: http://www.dhs.state.ia.us/refugee/bureau/default.asp Available at no charge.

Keywords: Asian language materials, Ethnic groups, Health education, Non English language materials, Non English language materials, Public health services, Spanish language materials

more information

Irvine C. 1999. Health and literacy compendium: An annotated bibliography of print and Web-based health materials for use with limited-literacy adults. Boston, MA: World Education, Health and Literacy Initiative, 78 pp.

Annotation: This annotated bibliography is intended for health care professionals and for literacy educators who work with low literacy adults. The bibliography is organized by categories of materials. Each category includes both print and Web site resources. The categories of materials are: background information about health and literacy; materials development and assessment; curricula, curriculum guides, and lessons; readers; and bibliographies and databases. The compendium also includes a list of organizational resources, publishers, and distributors. Several indexes allow access by subject, format, language, and reading level. Languages listed include: Arabic, Bosnian, Cambodian, Chinese, Filipino, French, Haitian Creole, Hmong, Khmer, Laotian, Portuguese, Russian, Somali, Sotho, Spanish, Thai, Vietnamese, Xhosa, and Zulu.

Contact: World Education, Health and Literacy Initiative, 44 Farnsworth Street, Boston, MA 02210, Telephone: (617) 482-9485 Fax: 617-482-0617 E-mail: skurtz@worlded.org Web Site: http://www.worlded.org/us/health/lincs/ Available at no charge; also available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: Bibliographies, Literacy education, Low literacy materials, Patient education

more information

Kashiwagi S (Ed.). ca. 2001. A functional manual for providing linguistically competent health care services as developed by a community health center. Los Angeles, CA: Asian Pacific Health Care Venture, 108 pp.

Annotation: This manual for health professionals serving diverse populations illustrates an example of the provision of linguistically and culturally competent services in compliance with Title VI of the Civil Rights Act. The manual outlines some of the practices used in a Los Angeles, California health services center to provide "reasonable, timely, and appropriate language assistance" on benefits and services to limited English proficient (LEP) community members, in this case, primarily Asian and Pacific Islanders. Chapter topics include the assessment of the linguistic needs of the community, the development of comprehensive written policy and procedures for the provision of oral and written language interpretation services to patients, the training of staff for interpretation competency, and quality assurance monitoring of the language assistance services and interpreter programs. Additional references are provided including resources for LEP services and medical interpreter professional associations. Tables and figures providing statistical data and sample forms, job descriptions, testing protocols, notices, and evaluation surveys are found throughout the manual. Selected sample forms are provided in Amharic, Arabic, Armenian, Bengali, Cambodian, Cantonese Chinese, Chamorro, Creole, Croatian, Czech, Dutch, Farsi, French, German, Greek, Hindi, Hmong, Hungarian, Ilocano, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Laotian, Mandarin Chinese, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Samoan, Serbian, Slovak, Spanish, Swahili, Tagalog, Thai, Tongan, Ukrainian, Urdu, Vietnamese, and Yiddish.

Contact: Association of Asian Pacific Community Health Organizations, 300 Frank H.Ogawa Plaza, Suite 620, Oakland, CA 94612, Telephone: (510) 272-9536 Fax: (510) 272-0817 Web Site: http://www.aapcho.org

Keywords: Asian Americans, Case studies, Community health centers, Cultural competence, Cultural diversity, Health policy, Health services delivery, Language barriers, Linguistic competence, Manuals, Pacific Islanders, Program development, Resources for professionals

more information

Massachusetts Department of Public Health, WIC Program, Nutrition Education Task Force. 1984. Breastfeeding: Getting started. Boston, MA: WIC Program, Nutrition Education Task Force, Massachusetts Department of Public Health, 2 pp.

Annotation: This brochure, the second in a series, was developed by the nutrition education task force of the Massachusetts WIC Program using empower low-literacy criteria. The brochure, written at an eighth-grade reading level, answers common questions that occur in the first few weeks postpartum. It addresses what to do in the hospital for the first feeding and provides information on how to start breastfeeding, how to hold the baby, how often to breastfeed, and when to offer a bottle. The brochure is available in several languages including Spanish and French.

Keywords: Maternal nutrition, Asian language materials, Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding promotion, Infant feeding, Infants, Lactation, Low literacy materials, Non English language materials, Spanish language materials

more information

Massachusetts Department of Public Health, WIC Program, Nutrition Education Task Force. 1988. Catch an iron star. Boston, MA: WIC Program, Nutrition Education Task Force, Massachusetts Department of Public Health, 2 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet, written at an eighth-grade reading level, explains who is at risk for developing iron deficiency anemia and identifies iron rich food sources to eat. For those at risk, the appropriate screening tests are reviewed. This fact sheet was developed for families in the Massachusetts WIC/MCH programs by the Massachusetts WIC Nutrition Education Task Force using low-literacy criteria and was field tested by WIC program nutritionists. The flyer is available in English, Cambodian, French, and Portuguese.

Contact: Massachusetts Department of Public Health, WIC Program, 250 Washington Street, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 624-6000 Secondary Telephone: (617) 624-6001 Web Site: http://www.mass.gov/?pageID=eohhs2terminal&L=5&L0=Home&L1=Government&L2=Departments+and+Divisions&L3=Department+of+Public+Health&L4=Programs+and+Services+T+-+Z&sid=Eeohhs2&b=terminalcontent&f=dph_wic_g_about&csid=Eeohhs2 Single copies available at no charge; may be photocopied.

Keywords: Anemia, Asian language materials, Child nutrition, Iron deficiency anemia, Low literacy materials, Non English language materials, Nutrition, Prevention, Treatment, WIC Program

more information

Massachusetts Department of Public Health, WIC Program, Nutrition Education Task Force. 1983. How to prepare concentrated formula. Boston, MA: WIC Program, Nutrition Education Task Force, Massachusetts Department of Public Health, 2 pp.

Annotation: This fact sheet guides caregivers with limited literacy skills through infant formula preparation. Action-oriented illustrations and simple captions provide step-by-step instructions for preparing formula from both powder and concentrate. It is written at a fifth-grade reading level, and is available in English, Cambodian, Laotian, Portuguese, and Spanish. The brochure was developed for parents and caregivers in the Massachusetts WIC/MCH programs by the Massachusetts WIC Nutrition Education Task Force using low-literacy criteria and was field tested by WIC program nutritionists.

Contact: Massachusetts Department of Public Health, WIC Program, 250 Washington Street, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 624-6000 Secondary Telephone: (617) 624-6001 Web Site: http://www.mass.gov/?pageID=eohhs2terminal&L=5&L0=Home&L1=Government&L2=Departments+and+Divisions&L3=Department+of+Public+Health&L4=Programs+and+Services+T+-+Z&sid=Eeohhs2&b=terminalcontent&f=dph_wic_g_about&csid=Eeohhs2 Single copies available at no charge; may be photocopied.

Keywords: Asian language materials, Infant nutrition, Low literacy materials, Non English language materials, Recipes, Spanish language materials

more information

Massachusetts Department of Public Health, WIC Program, Nutrition Education Task Force. 1985. Infant feeding guide. Boston, MA: WIC Program, Nutrition Education Task Force, Massachusetts Department of Public Health, 2 pp.

Annotation: This brochure outlines guidelines for feeding infants during the first year of life. The publication reviews which foods to start and when to start them, offers tips and advice for preventing allergic reactions, and promotes sound nutrition practices by caregivers. Written at an eighth-grade reading level, the flyer is available in Cambodian, Chinese, English, French, Laotian, Portuguese, Spanish, Russian, and Vietnamese. This brochure was developed for parents and caregivers in the Massachusetts WIC/MCH programs by the Massachusetts WIC Nutrition Education Task Force using low-literacy criteria and was field tested by WIC program nutritionists.

Contact: Massachusetts Department of Public Health, WIC Program, 250 Washington Street, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 624-6000 Secondary Telephone: (617) 624-6001 Web Site: http://www.mass.gov/?pageID=eohhs2terminal&L=5&L0=Home&L1=Government&L2=Departments+and+Divisions&L3=Department+of+Public+Health&L4=Programs+and+Services+T+-+Z&sid=Eeohhs2&b=terminalcontent&f=dph_wic_g_about&csid=Eeohhs2 Single copies available at no charge; may be photocopied.

Keywords: Asian language materials, Infant feeding, Infant nutrition, Low literacy materials, Non English language materials, Spanish language materials

more information

Massachusetts Department of Public Health, WIC Program, Nutrition Education Task Force. 1986. Kick the bottle habit. Boston, MA: WIC Program, Nutrition Education Task Force, Massachusetts Department of Public Health, 2 pp.

Annotation: This brochure covers the reasons for weaning a child from a baby bottle and outlines briefly how to do so. Health issues such as bad teeth, low-iron blood, ear infections, and the possibility of becoming overweight are addressed by the brochure. Written at an eighth-grade reading level, the brochure targets parents of preschool children and is available in Cambodian, English, Laotian, Portuguese, and Spanish. This brochure was developed for parents and caregivers in the Massachusetts WIC/MCH programs by the Massachusetts WIC Nutrition Education Task Force using low-literacy criteria and was field tested by WIC program nutritionists.

Contact: Massachusetts Department of Public Health, WIC Program, 250 Washington Street, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 624-6000 Secondary Telephone: (617) 624-6001 Web Site: http://www.mass.gov/?pageID=eohhs2terminal&L=5&L0=Home&L1=Government&L2=Departments+and+Divisions&L3=Department+of+Public+Health&L4=Programs+and+Services+T+-+Z&sid=Eeohhs2&b=terminalcontent&f=dph_wic_g_about&csid=Eeohhs2 Single copies available at no charge; may be photocopied.

Keywords: Anemia, Asian language materials, Child nutrition, Ear infections, Early childhood caries, Low literacy materials, Non English language materials, Nutrition, Oral health, Spanish language materials, Weaning, Weight management

more information

Massachusetts Department of Public Health, WIC Program, Nutrition Education Task Force. 1985. Prenatal nutrition guide. Boston, MA: Massachusetts WIC Program, 2 pp.

more information

Massachusetts Department of Public Health, WIC Program, Nutrition Education Task Force. 1991. Preschool feeding guide for. . .. Boston, MA: WIC Program, Nutrition Education Task Force, Massachusetts Department of Public Health, 2 pp.

Annotation: This flyer outlines the five food groups and the major nutrients within each group, and gives examples of foods in each of the five groupings. The guide reviews the number of servings of each of the food sources recommended for preschool children and outlines ideas on how to help children build good eating habits, enjoy vegetables, juices, and maintain good oral health. This flyer is available in Cambodian, Chinese, English, French, Laotian, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, and Vietnamese. This brochure was developed for parents and caregivers in the Massachusetts WIC/MCH programs by the Massachusetts WIC Nutrition Education Task Force using low-literacy criteria and was field tested by WIC program nutritionists.

Contact: Massachusetts Department of Public Health, WIC Program, 250 Washington Street, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 624-6000 Secondary Telephone: (617) 624-6001 Web Site: http://www.mass.gov/?pageID=eohhs2terminal&L=5&L0=Home&L1=Government&L2=Departments+and+Divisions&L3=Department+of+Public+Health&L4=Programs+and+Services+T+-+Z&sid=Eeohhs2&b=terminalcontent&f=dph_wic_g_about&csid=Eeohhs2 Single copies available at no charge; may be photocopied.

Keywords: Asian language materials, Child nutrition, Dietary guidelines, Low literacy materials, Non English language materials, Nutrition, Oral health, Spanish language materials

more information

Massachusetts Department of Public Health, WIC Program, Nutrition Education Task Force. 1984-1986. [Set of breastfeeding booklets]. Boston, MA: Office of Nutrition, Massachusetts Department of Public Health, 4-8 pp.

Annotation: This brochure, developed by the Massachusetts WIC program, highlights the very basics on how to nurse. It is available in Spanish, Cambodian and French. An eight-page breastfeeding promotion brochure was also developed for WIC participants. The information is presented in a question and answer format and available in Spanish, Portuguese, and Cambodian.

Contact: Massachusetts Department of Public Health, WIC Program, 250 Washington Street, Boston, MA 02108, Telephone: (617) 624-6000 Secondary Telephone: (617) 624-6001 Web Site: http://www.mass.gov/?pageID=eohhs2terminal&L=5&L0=Home&L1=Government&L2=Departments+and+Divisions&L3=Department+of+Public+Health&L4=Programs+and+Services+T+-+Z&sid=Eeohhs2&b=terminalcontent&f=dph_wic_g_about&csid=Eeohhs2 Single copies available at no charge and can be reproduced.

Keywords: Asian language materials, Breastfeeding, Infant health, Non English language materials, Nutrition education, Spanish language materials

more information

Massachusetts Department of Public Health, WIC Program, Nutrition Education Task Force. 1984. Thinking about breastfeeding. Boston, MA: WIC Program, Nutrition Education Task Force, Massachusetts Department of Public Health, 8 pp.

Annotation: This brochure is the first one in a series of three developed by the nutrition education task force of the Massachusetts WIC Program using empower low-literacy criteria. Designed for low-income pregnant women with an eighth-grade reading level who are undecided about breastfeeding, it lists the benefits of breastfeeding for both the baby and the mother and answers common questions. It also provides diet guidelines for nursing women. Given to all pregnant women enrolled in the WIC program in Massachusetts, the brochure is available in English, Cambodian, Portuguese, and Spanish.

Keywords: Asian language materials, Breastfeeding, Breastfeeding promotion, Infant feeding, Infants, Lactation, Low literacy materials, Maternal nutrition, Non English language materials, Spanish language materials

more information

McKinney J, Kurtz-Rossi S. 2000. Culture, health and literacy: A guide to health education materials for adults with limited English literacy skills. Boston, MA: World Education, 82 pp.

Annotation: This manual is intended for use by health care practitioners working with patients with limited English literacy skills, or adult literacy practitioners, particularly English as a Second Language teachers who wish to incorporate health topics into their curricula. This document is an addendum to Health and Literacy Compendium: An Annotated Bibliography of Print and Web-based Health Materials for Use with Limited Literacy Adults. The language index contains a list of health materials available in the following languages: Arabic, Bosnian, Cambodian/Khmer, Cantonese, Chinese, Farsi/Persian, French, Haitian Creole, Hindi, Hmong, Italian, Khmer, Korean, Laotian, Mandarin, Mien, Nuer, Portuguese, Punjabi, Russian, Samoan, Somali, Spanish, Tagalog, Thai, Tongan, Vietnamese.

Contact: National Institute for Literacy, 1775 I Street, N.W., Suite 730, Washington, DC 20006-2401, Telephone: (202) 233-2025 Fax: (202) 233-2050 E-mail: lreddy@nifl.gov Web Site: http://www.nifl.gov Available at no charge; also available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: Asian language materials, Bibliographies, Limited English speakers, Literacy education, Low literacy materials, Non English language materials, Patient education, Spanish language materials

more information

National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health. 1994. MCH program interchange: Focus on low literacy. Arlington, VA: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, 41 pp.

Annotation: This issue of the "MCH Program Interchange" lists brochures, pamphlets, videotapes, and other educational materials on maternal and child health topics prepared for low literacy audiences. Some of the materials are available in Spanish, French, or Asian languages. A resources section includes catalogs of educational materials and work that discuss how to prepare low literacy materials. [Funded by Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 Fax: (202) 784-9777 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: http://www.mchlibrary.info Photocopy available at no charge. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHG083 (Oct. 1994).

Keywords: Asian language materials, Audiovisual materials, Bibliographies, Consumer education materials, Low literacy materials, Non English language materials, Spanish language materials

more information

New York State Department of Health, Citizens, Task Force on Child Abuse and Neglect, Pre- and Post-natal Parent Education Hospital Program. 1989. Having a baby: A family guide to pregnancy. Albany, NY: New York State Department of Health, 20 pp.

Annotation: This booklet reviews a wide range of issues for pregnant women including pregnancy testing, provider access, prenatal care visits, and nutrition information. It reviews food sources, serving sizes, and numbers of servings per day to promote healthy weight gain in pregnant women. Advice is also offered for pregnant women who need to cope with nausea, constipation, and heartburn. Developed using low-literacy criteria, the publication is available in Cambodian, Chinese, English, French, Laotion, Russian, Spanish, Portuguese, and Vietnamese.

Keywords: Asian language materials, Low literacy materials, Maternal health, Maternal nutrition, Patient education materials, Prenatal care, Spanish language materials

more information

Nolan, K., and Horton-James, L. 1993. School safe: A program for injury prevention in primary schools. Melbourne, Australia: Child Accident Prevention Foundation of Australia, 78 pp.

Annotation: This book was developed as a guide for local school communities to address the issue of child safety and injury prevention within school settings. Common school accidents are described and solutions, including both maintenance issues and organizational ideas, are offered. A sample school safety audit is included. The second half of the book consists of curriculum ideas, activities, worksheets, etc. aimed at children of different age levels. A sample poster is included in English,Chinese, Vietnamese and Cambodian. Additional sources of safety information in Australia are listed, as are common poisonous plants.

Contact: KidSafe Australia, Building 2, Pearce Centre Collet Place, Pearce ACT, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia 2607, Telephone: (02) 6290-2244 Fax: (02) 6290-2241 E-mail: act@kidsafe.com.au Web Site: http://www.kidsafe.com.au/

Keywords: Asian language materials, Australia, Falls, Injuries, Playground injuries, Poisoning, School safety, Schools, Sports injuries

more information

North County Health Services. n.d.. Safety—For your child's sake. San Marcos, CA: North County Health Services, 4 flyers.

Annotation: This series of two-page flyers offers injury prevention information to parents which is developmentally appropriate for their child. The flyers present information for children from birth to six months, seven to twelve months, one to two years, and two to four years. The fact sheets are available in English, Spanish, Chinese, Vietnamese, Laotian, Cambodian, Arabic, and two Ethiopian languages.

Contact: CMS, 714 P Street, Room 708, Sacramento, CA 95814, Telephone: (916) 657-2929 Archived by the State of California. Reproduction masters available from the source listed here.

Keywords: Asian language materials, Child development, Injury prevention, Non English language materials, Patient education materials, Spanish language materials

more information

Ohio State University. 1992. Breastfeeding. [Columbus, OH]: Ohio State University, 1 videotape (7 min., 1/2 inch VHS).

Annotation: This videotape, available in English and Asian languages including Cambodian, Laotian,and Vietnamese, discusses the importance of breast milk for babies and mothers; diet the mother needs; breastfeeding during pregnancy; helping premature babies nurse; using both breasts; how often to feed; pumping; breastfeeding in public; when to start formula; and how long to breastfeeding. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Asian language materials, Audiovisual materials, Breastfeeding, Infant formula, Maternal nutrition, Pregnancy, Premature infants, Videotapes

more information

Pacific Northwest Regional Genetics Group. 1993. Will I have a healthy baby?. Portland, OR: Pacific Northwest Regional Genetics Group, 2 pp.

Annotation: This brochure provides information on genetic counseling for women who are pregnant or considering pregnancy. The brochure identifies reasons why women should consider genetic counseling. Reasons include familial or cultural history of genetic disorders, and behaviors or environmental conditions that could lead to birth defects. The brochure includes a separate insert listing phone numbers for genetic services available in Idaho, Alaska, Washington, and Oregon. The brochure is available in English, Cambodian, Chinese, Korean, Laotian, Vietnamese, Russian, and Spanish. This publication is intended to replace the previous brochure entitled "Healthy Babies: Thinking About Having a Baby?—If So, Here's Some Helpful Information." [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Keywords: Teratology, Asian language materials, Ethnic groups, Family planning, Genetic counseling, Genetic disorders, Health screening, Low literacy materials, Non English language materials, Pregnancy, Prenatal diagnosis, Spanish language materials, Women

more information

Philadelphia Department of Health, Office of Maternal and Child Health, and Asian/Pacific American Advisory Committee on Health Care. 1995. In their own words: Prenatal care and Southeast Asian women. Philadelphia, PA: Philadelphia Department of Health, Office of Maternal and Child Health, 1 videotape (20 minutes, VHS 1/2 inch), 1 fold-out brochure.

Annotation: This videotape is produced to encourage foreign language speaking Southeast Asian women to seek prenatal care early in their pregnancies. Women interviewed in the video speak frankly about Western health care practices that they find disturbing or unacceptable and how they have worked through these differences to find common ground with their health care providers. Topics discussed include an emphasis on good prenatal care, examination procedures, and talking with the health care staff. The videotape is available in Vietnamese, Laotian, and Cambodian. The enclosed brochure, in English, lists 20 suggested follow-up questions to discuss with patients in a culturally-sensitive context. A video synopsis is provided as well.

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 Fax: (202) 784-9777 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: http://www.mchlibrary.info Available for loan. Document Number: HRSA Info. Ctr. MCHN073.

Keywords: Audiovisual materials, Consumer education materials, Cultural beliefs, Cultural factors, Cultural sensitivity, Non English language materials, Pregnancy, Prenatal care, Prenatal education, Southeast Asians, Videotapes

more information

Providence Ambulatory Health Care Foundation. n.d.. HGB E, anemia and basic genetics. Providence, RI: Providence Ambulatory Health Care Foundation, 1 videotape (VHS 1/2 inch).

Annotation: This videotape provides information on hemoglobin E, anemia, and basic genetics. It describes how genes are inherited, and kinds of health problems different kinds of hemoglobin cause (anemia and thalassemia). It is supplemented by three pamphlets: Questions about thalassemia, Questions about hemoglobin E, and Genetics—The story of genes. The tapes and pamphlets are available in English, Laotian, and Cambodian. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Maternal and Child Health Library at Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 Fax: (202) 784-9777 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: http://www.mchlibrary.info Available for loan.

Keywords: Anemia, Asian language materials, Consumer education materials, Genetics, Thalassemia, Videotapes

more information

Providence Ambulatory Health Care Foundation. 1995. Protecting your child from lead poisoning. (Rev. ed.). Providence, RI: Women's and Infants Hospital of Rhode Island, 1 videotape (12 minutes, VHS 1/2 inch).

Annotation: This videotape for parents discusses what lead is, how it makes people sick, the need for testing young children for lead, information about the tests, symptoms some children with lead poisoning have, and how to protect children from lead poisoning. The video was originally published in 1989. It is available in English, Cambodian, Hmong, Laotian, Spanish, Portuguese, and Vietnamese. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Providence Ambulatory Health Care Foundation, 469 Angell Street, Providence, RI 02906-4490, Telephone: (401) 444-0400 Fax: (401) 444-0421 Price unknown.

Keywords: Asian language materials, Audiovisual materials, Consumer education materials, Lead poisoning, Non English language materials, Prevention, Spanish language materials, Videotapes

more information

Providence Ambulatory Health Care Foundation, and Rhode Island Department of Health. 1991. Genetics: The story of genes. Providence, RI: Providence Ambulatory Health Care Foundation, and Rhode Island Department of Health, 4 pp.

Annotation: This pamphlet simply explains what genes are, how they are inherited, and their basis for genetic diseases. It is available in English, Cambodian, and Laotian. It augments the information in a related videotape "HGB E, Anemia, and Basic Genetics." [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Providence Ambulatory Health Care Foundation, 469 Angell Street, Providence, RI 02906-4490, Telephone: (401) 444-0400 Fax: (401) 444-0421 Price unknown.

Keywords: Asian language materials, Consumer education materials, Genetics

more information

Providence Ambulatory Health Care Foundation, and Rhode Island Department of Health. 1991. Questions about hemoglobin E. Providence, RI: Providence Ambulatory Health Care Foundation, and Rhode Island Department of Health, 4 pp.

Annotation: This pamphlet simply explains how hemoglobin E can be inherited and how it causes thalassemia. It is available in English, Cambodian, and Laotian. It augments the information in a related videotape "HGB E, Anemia, and Basic Genetics." [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Providence Ambulatory Health Care Foundation, 469 Angell Street, Providence, RI 02906-4490, Telephone: (401) 444-0400 Fax: (401) 444-0421 Price unknown.

Keywords: Asian language materials, Consumer education materials, Thalassemia

more information

Providence Ambulatory Health Care Foundation, and Rhode Island Department of Health. 1991. Questions about thalassemia. Providence, RI: Providence Ambulatory Health Care Foundation, and Rhode Island Department of Health, 4 pp.

Annotation: This pamphlet simply explains the genetic basis for thalassemia. It is available in English, Cambodian, and Laotian. It augments the information in a related videotape "HGB E, Anemia, and Basic Genetics." [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: Providence Ambulatory Health Care Foundation, 469 Angell Street, Providence, RI 02906-4490, Telephone: (401) 444-0400 Fax: (401) 444-0421 Price unknown.

Keywords: Asian language materials, Consumer education materials, Thalassemia

more information

Rhode Island Department of Health, Rhode Island Childhood Lead Poisoning Control Program. ca 1984. "Lead is poison": 1983-1984, Screening and follow-up guide. RI: Rhode Island Childhood Lead Poisoning Control Program, Rhode Island Department of Health, 49 pp.

Annotation: This volume provides information on the Rhode Island lead poisoning control program, operated as a component of the Maternal and Child Health Block Grant. It provides information on lead paint poisoning screening, screening procedures, medical follow-up responsibilities, and environmental follow-up. Appendices provide the consent form for blood lead testing in English, Spanish, Portuguese, Cambodian, Laotian, Vietnamese, and Hmong.

Keywords: Asian language materials, Guidelines, Lead poisoning screening, Non English language materials, Rhode Island, Spanish language materials

more information

Southeast Asian Developmentally Disabled Prevention Program. n.d.. Outline for baby care. San Diego, CA: Southeast Asian Developmentally Disabled Prevention Program, 1 videotape (60 minutes).

Annotation: This video is available in Cambodian, Hmong, Laotian, Vietnamese and English. It shows basic procedures in caring for newborn babies. Included are directions for bathing, safety procedures, cord care, appropriate dress, feeding, breast feeding, immunization, mother care, temperature-taking, and preemie care. Instructions for when to call a physician and how to perform infant CPR are also given. [Funded by the Maternal and Child Health Bureau]

Contact: SEADD, San Diego Regional Center, 4355 Ruffin Road, San Diego, CA 92123, Telephone: (619) 576-2965

Keywords: Asian language materials, Audiovisual materials, Breastfeeding, Immunization, Infant care, Infant health, Infant nutrition, Maternal health, Newborn infants, Premature infants, Videotapes

more information

State Family Planning Administrators. 1993. Culturally relevant family planning resource guide. Seattle, WA: Center for Health Training, 19 pp.

Annotation: This directory provides access to organizations and government agencies that produce culturally relevant print materials on family planning and reproductive health. These include brochures and pamphlets, resource materials for professionals working with specific groups, and bibliographies and other resource lists. The directory lists and numbers the individual organizations and includes contact information, hours of operation, and a brief description of the types of materials they provide. The directory contains a table that lists the specific ethnic groups served or the language of the available materials and refers to the number of the organization. The directory lists the following groups and languages: Alaskan Native, Cambodian, Chinese, Farsi, Filipino, French, Haitian/Creole, Hmong, Japanese, Khmer, Korean, Laotian, Native American, Portuguese, Russian, Samoan, Spanish Hispanic, Tagalog, Tai Dam, Thai, Vietnamese, and multicultural.

Contact: Center for Health Training, 400 Tower Building, 1809 Seventh Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101, Telephone: (206) 447-9538 Fax: (206) 447-9539 E-mail: seattle@jba-cht.com Web Site: http://www.centerforhealthtraining.org/ Price unknown.

Keywords: Asian language materials, Culturally competent services, Directories, Educational materials, Ethnic groups, Family planning, Federal agencies, Minority groups, Non English language materials, Organizations, Reproductive health, Resource materials, Resources for professionals, Spanish language materials, State agencies

more information

Tufts University Health Sciences Library and South Cove Community Health Center. 2005. SPIRAL: Selected patient information resources in Asian languages. Boston, MA: Tufts University Health Sciences Library and South Cove Community Health Center,

Annotation: This Web site provides information in a variety of Asian languages to increase electronic access to health information for consumers and health care providers of the South Cove Community Health Center and its affiliates by developing a web site to meet the information needs of the South Cove community; (2) provide consumer information in the languages of the community served, specifically Chinese, Cambodian, Vietnamese, and Laotian; and (3) teach health care providers to use the wide variety of Internet resources available to them and their patients including National Library of Medicine and Tufts University resources. Additional languages include Hmong, Korean, and Thai. Information for over 30 different health topics is provided.

Contact: Tufts University, Hirsh Health Sciences Library, 145 Harrison Avenue, Boston, MA 02111, Telephone: (617) 636-6705 Fax: (617) 636-4039 E-mail: hhsl@tufts.edu Web Site: http://www.library.tufts.edu/hsl/ Available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: Asian Americans, Asian language materials, Asians, Consumer education materials, Health promotion, Non English language materials, Patient education materials, Resource materials

more information

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service, Centers for Disease Control. 1991. AIDS prevention guide. Atlanta, GA: Centers for Disease Control, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 10 items. (America responds to AIDS)

Annotation: This information packet was developed for parents and other adults who work with children and adolescents; it was developed by the Centers for Disease Control as part of the "America Responds to AIDS" series. Fact sheets for adults provide information about HIV infection, methods of transmission, and AIDS. Suggestions for talking to young people on the topic of HIV/AIDS and deciding what to tell them are included, as well as answers to questions that children and adolescents often ask about HIV/AIDS. Handouts for young people give age-appropriate information about HIV infection and AIDS, information about joining the community response to AIDS, and suggestions for obtaining further information and assistance. This is available in many languages including English and Vietnamese.

Contact: National Prevention Information Network, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, P.O. Box 6003, Rockville, MD 20849-6003, Telephone: (800) 458-5231 Secondary Telephone: (401) 679-3860 Fax: (888) 282-7681 E-mail: info@cdcnpin.org Web Site: http://www.cdcnpin.org/scripts/index.asp Single copies available at no charge.

Keywords: AIDS, Adolescents, Adults, Asian language materials, Children, Educational programs, HIV, Non English language materials, Prevention, Spanish language materials

more information

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service, Centers for Disease Control. 1991. Understanding AIDS. Atlanta, GA: Centers for Disease Control, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 8 pp. (America responds to AIDS)

Annotation: This brochure was developed by the Centers for Disease Control as part of the "America Responds to AIDS" brochure series. Written for the general public, it provides information about HIV transmission, high-risk behavior, recommended behaviors to prevent the spread of HIV and AIDS, and AIDS testing. The brochure is available in seven languages, including Spanish, Vietnamese, and Braille.

Contact: National Prevention Information Network, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, P.O. Box 6003, Rockville, MD 20849-6003, Telephone: (800) 458-5231 Secondary Telephone: (401) 679-3860 Fax: (888) 282-7681 E-mail: info@cdcnpin.org Web Site: http://www.cdcnpin.org/scripts/index.asp Single copies available at no charge.

Keywords: AIDS, Asian language materials, Educational materials, HIV, Non English language materials, Prevention, Spanish language materials

more information

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service, Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, National Health Information Center. ca. 1991. Minority health care. Washington, DC: National Health Information Center, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 16 pp. (Healthfinder)

Annotation: This bibliography lists materials aimed specifically at minority audiences to facilitate access for consumers and health professionals interested in minority health information. It groups the materials topically; and within each topic, it includes general information as well as items targeted to particular minority or ethnic groups. Topics covered include general health; AIDS; cancer; cardiovascular disease and stroke; chemical dependency; diabetes; homicide, suicide, and unintentional injuries; and infant mortality and low birthweight. The fact sheet includes entries in English, Spanish, and various Asian languages including Vietnamese. Descriptions of the materials, costs, and contact information are provided.

Contact: National Health Information Center, P.O. Box 1133, Washington, DC 20013-1133, Telephone: (800)336-4797 Secondary Telephone: (301) 468-1273 Fax: (301) 984-4256 E-mail: info@nhic.org and healthfinder@nhic.org Web Site: http://www.health.gov/nhic/ $1.00 shipping and handling; prepayment required. Document Number: NHIC A0025.

Keywords: Alaska natives, American Indians, Asian Americans, Asian language materials, Blacks, Ethnic groups, Health promotion, Hispanic Americans, Minority groups, Pacific Islanders, Patient education materials, Resources for professionals, Spanish language materials

more information

U.S. Food and Nutrition Information Center. 1990-. Sources of free or low-cost food and nutrition materials. Beltsville, MD: Food and Nutrition Information Center, U.S. Department of Agriculture, annual.

Annotation: This annual directory lists organizations that provide free or low-cost food and nutrition education materials for consumers. The list has three sections: 1) Nutrition, Medical, and Health Organizations; 2) Food-Related Associations; and 3) Food Companies. Organizations that have materials in non-English languages are identified. This is in many languages including English and Spanish.

Contact: U.S. Food and Nutrition Information Center, National Agricultural Library, 10301 Baltimore Avenue, Room 105, Beltsville, MD 20705-2351, Telephone: (301) 504-5719 Secondary Telephone: (301) 504-5248 Fax: (301) 504-6409 E-mail: fnic@nal.usda.gov Web Site: http://www.nal.usda.gov/fnic Available at no charge.

Keywords: Asian language materials, Consumer education materials, Directories, Non English language materials, Nutrition, Spanish language materials

more information

U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, Genetic Services Branch. 1990. Listing of genetic reference materials developed or utilized by genetic centers funded under the maternal and child health block grant and other sources. Rockville, MD: Genetic Services Branch, U.S. Maternal and Child Health Bureau, 36 pp.

Annotation: This listing gives the title, source and target audience of pamphlets and other materials on genetics, genetic counseling and testing, and specific genetic disorders. Some of the items are available in Spanish, Chinese, Vietnamese, French, Korean, Tagalog, Cambodian, Korean, and Laotian. Audiovisuals, directories, and newsletters are included.

Contact: National Center for Education in Maternal and Child Health, Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9770 Fax: (202) 784-9777 E-mail: mchgroup@georgetown.edu Web Site: http://www.mchlibrary.org Available at no charge.

Keywords: Asian language materials, Child health, Genetics education, Maternal health, Patient education materials, Spanish language materials

more information

U.S. Office of Minority Health Resource Center. 1996-. Asians: Sources of Asian language health materials. Washington, DC: Office of Minority Health, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, irregular.

Annotation: This directory, which is updated as new resources for materials are identified, lists producers or distributors of Asian language health promotion materials. The publishing sources are either public agencies or private organizations. The range of materials includes pamphlets, brochures, booklets, fact sheets, videotapes, and other items. Sources are listed alphabetically and a brief subject index is provided. Languages represented are Amharic, Cambodian, Cantonese, Chinese, Farsi, Hawaiian, Hindi, Hmong, Ilocano, Japanese, Khmer, Korean, Laotian, Mandarin, Punjabi, Russian, Samoan, Tagalog, Thai, Tongan, and Vietnamese. Prior to 1996, the directory was issued under a slightly different title: Asian Languages: Sources of Health Materials.

Contact: U.S. Office of Minority Health Resource Center, P.O. Box 37337, Washington, DC 20013-7337, Telephone: (800) 444-6472 Secondary Telephone: (301) 251-1797 Fax: (301) 251-2160 E-mail: info@omhrc.gov Web Site: http://www.omhrc.gov/ Available at no charge.

Keywords: Asian Americans, Asian language materials, Health education, Health promotion, Minority health, Patient education materials

more information

U.S. Office of Minority Health Resource Center. 1994. Audiovisuals: Sources of health materials. Washington, DC: Office of Minority Health, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 15 pp.

Annotation: This bibliography lists audiovisual materials covering some of the more serious health problems of minority populations. Materials are directed toward adolescents and adults within minority groups as well as the health professionals who work with them. Sources of audiovisual materials targeting minority groups are also listed. These sources include both public agencies and private organizations. Many of the materials are bilingual or in the native language of the specific targeted minority group. The languages represented include Spanish, Chinese, Cambodian, Hmong, Laotian, Vietnamese, Cantonese, Yoruba, and Creole.

Contact: U.S. Office of Minority Health Resource Center, P.O. Box 37337, Washington, DC 20013-7337, Telephone: (800) 444-6472 Secondary Telephone: (301) 251-1797 Fax: (301) 251-2160 E-mail: info@omhrc.gov Web Site: http://www.omhrc.gov/ Available at no charge.

Keywords: Asian language materials, Audiovisual materials, Health education, Health promotion, Minority health, Patient education materials, Spanish language materials

more information

Utah Department of Health, Community Health Services. 1992. Ethnic health materials resource list. Salt Lake City, UT: Community Health Services, Utah Department of Health, 13 pp.

Annotation: This publication is a listing of general and specific health care and daily living guides and materials available in Cambodian, Hmong, Vietnamese, Japanese, Thai, Tai Dam, Laotian, English, Tongan, Samoan, and other languages. The title, language(s), and source are given for each entry.

Contact: Utah Department of Health, Division of Community and Family Health Services, PO Box 142001, Salt Lake City, UT 84114, Telephone: (801) 538-6901 Contact Phone: (801) 538-6901 Fax: (801) 538-6510 Web Site: http://health.utah.gov/cfhs/ Price unknown.

Keywords: Asian language materials, Consumer education materials, Ethnic groups, Health education, Health promotion, Non English language materials

more information

Washington State Department of Social and Health Services. 1998. [Dental brochures and fact sheets]. [Olympia, WA]: Washington State Department of Social and Health Services, 5 items.

Annotation: These brochures and fact sheets provide parents with information about oral hygiene for infants and tips for preventing early childhood caries. The materials describe the importance of good oral health to infant health and development; how teeth develop, how proper nutrition and oral health care during pregnancy and postnatal periods help prevent tooth decay, tips for caring for the infant’s mouth and gums, and the importance of fluoride. Items are available in additional languages: Spanish, Russian, Cambodian, Chinese, Laotian, and Vietnamese.

Contact: Washington State Department of Social and Health Services, Medical Assistance Administration, P.O. Box 45505, Olympia, WA 98504-5505, Telephone: (800) 562-3022 Fax: (360) 753-7315 Web Site: http://maa.dshs.wa.gov Single copies available at no charge; also available in packages of 25.

Keywords: Asian language materials, Brochures, Consumer education materials, Dental caries, Dental hygiene, Disease prevention, Non English language materials, Oral health, Spanish language materials

more information

Wisconsin Department of Health and Human Services, Bureau of Community Health and Prevention, Section of Family and Community Health, Refugee Health Program. 1991. Catalog of bilingual health education materials available from the Wisconsin Refugee Health Program. Madison, WI: Wisconsin Division of Health, 7 pp.

Annotation: This catalog lists health education materials available in Vietnamese, Lao, Hmong, Cambodian, and Russian.

Contact: Wisconsin Department of Health Services, Refugee Health Program, 1 West Wilson Street, Madison, WI 53703, Telephone: (608) 266-1865 Secondary Telephone: (888) 701-1251 E-mail: dhswebmaster@wisconsin.gov Web Site: http://dhs.wisconsin.gov/international/index.htm Available at no charge.

Keywords: Asian language materials, Health education, Multicultural populations, Non English language materials

more information

Return to Previous Page | Go To Cross-Database Search | Advanced MCHLine® Search

Share |