Top Pages

A-Z Index (Resources & Services)

Resource Guides:
All | Families | Professionals | Schools | Non-English | Multimedia

MCH Alert Newsletter

Search

Top Pages
Home  ::  A - Z Index: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z   ::  Search

Bosnian

Bibliography of Materials from MCHLine®

BibliographyThis bibliography of 4 items is drawn from MCHLine®, the MCH Library online catalog. Contact information is the most recent known to the MCH Library. To identify additional materials on this topic, search MCHLine® using our online search form.

The MCH Library focuses on publications from federal and state agencies, from grantees of federal and state agencies, and from professional and voluntary organizations. It contains unique materials on the history of maternal and child health in the United States, policy papers, reports, conference proceedings, manuals, survey instruments, guidelines, and curricula. The library does not collect materials on clinical medicine. Consumer health materials and commercially published materials are collected very selectively.

Displaying 4 records.

Center for Applied Linguistics, and Fuenzalida and Associates. 1996. Multilingual health education resource guide. (2nd ed.). Washington, DC: Center for Applied Linguistics; Silver Spring, MD: Fuenzalida and Associates, 153 pp.

Annotation: This bibliography lists health educational materials in 10 languages that have been identified as a priority by the Illinois state refugee health coordinators: Cambodian, Hmong, Lao, Vietnamese, Arabic, Bosnian, Russian, Haitian/Creole, Somali, and Spanish. Topics covered include infectious diseases (tuberculosis, hepatitis B, HIV/AIDS, and sexually transmitted diseases); dental care; and maternal and child health (immunization, breast health, family planning, and prenatal care). Appendices include cross-references by language, sources for materials, a directory of refugee health coordinators, and ordering information.

Contact: Center for Applied Linguistics, Refugee Service Center, 4646 40th Street, N.W., Washington, DC 20016-1859, Telephone: (202) 362-0700 Fax: (202) 362-3740 E-mail: cmahar-piersma@cal.org Web Site: http://www.cal.org/ $7.00 includes shipping and handling.

Keywords: Asian language materials, Bibliographies, Consumer education materials, Health education, Non English language materials, Spanish language materials

more information

Irvine C. 1999. Health and literacy compendium: An annotated bibliography of print and Web-based health materials for use with limited-literacy adults. Boston, MA: World Education, Health and Literacy Initiative, 78 pp.

Annotation: This annotated bibliography is intended for health care professionals and for literacy educators who work with low literacy adults. The bibliography is organized by categories of materials. Each category includes both print and Web site resources. The categories of materials are: background information about health and literacy; materials development and assessment; curricula, curriculum guides, and lessons; readers; and bibliographies and databases. The compendium also includes a list of organizational resources, publishers, and distributors. Several indexes allow access by subject, format, language, and reading level. Languages listed include: Arabic, Bosnian, Cambodian, Chinese, Filipino, French, Haitian Creole, Hmong, Khmer, Laotian, Portuguese, Russian, Somali, Sotho, Spanish, Thai, Vietnamese, Xhosa, and Zulu.

Contact: World Education, Health and Literacy Initiative, 44 Farnsworth Street, Boston, MA 02210, Telephone: (617) 482-9485 Fax: 617-482-0617 E-mail: skurtz@worlded.org Web Site: http://www.worlded.org/us/health/lincs/ Available at no charge; also available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: Bibliographies, Literacy education, Low literacy materials, Patient education

more information

McKinney J, Kurtz-Rossi S. 2000. Culture, health and literacy: A guide to health education materials for adults with limited English literacy skills. Boston, MA: World Education, 82 pp.

Annotation: This manual is intended for use by health care practitioners working with patients with limited English literacy skills, or adult literacy practitioners, particularly English as a Second Language teachers who wish to incorporate health topics into their curricula. This document is an addendum to Health and Literacy Compendium: An Annotated Bibliography of Print and Web-based Health Materials for Use with Limited Literacy Adults. The language index contains a list of health materials available in the following languages: Arabic, Bosnian, Cambodian/Khmer, Cantonese, Chinese, Farsi/Persian, French, Haitian Creole, Hindi, Hmong, Italian, Khmer, Korean, Laotian, Mandarin, Mien, Nuer, Portuguese, Punjabi, Russian, Samoan, Somali, Spanish, Tagalog, Thai, Tongan, Vietnamese.

Contact: National Institute for Literacy, 1775 I Street, N.W., Suite 730, Washington, DC 20006-2401, Telephone: (202) 233-2025 Fax: (202) 233-2050 E-mail: lreddy@nifl.gov Web Site: http://www.nifl.gov Available at no charge; also available at no charge from the Web site.

Keywords: Asian language materials, Bibliographies, Limited English speakers, Literacy education, Low literacy materials, Non English language materials, Patient education, Spanish language materials

more information

Philley H. 1995. Kit goes to the dentist. Self published, 22 pp.

Annotation: This coloring book is designed to help children understand what to expect when they visit the dentist and to emphasize the importance of practicing good oral hygiene and eating healthy foods. The book includes a story about a kitten's first visit to the dentist, black-and-white drawings for children to color, and introductory material to help parents use the book with their child. The coloring book is available in English, Bosnian, Russian, Spanish, and Vietnamese.

Contact: National Maternal and Child Oral Health Resource Center, Georgetown University, Box 571272, Washington, DC 20057-1272, Telephone: (202) 784-9771 Fax: (202) 784-9777 E-mail: OHRCinfo@georgetown.edu Web Site: http://www.mchoralhealth.org Single photocopies available at no charge.

Keywords: Asian language materials, Coloring books, Materials for children, Non English language materials, Oral health, Spanish language materials

more information

Return to Previous Page | Go To Cross-Database Search | Advanced MCHLine® Search

Share |